Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Hand Lettering

手写体:如何将你字体进行矢量化

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Hand Lettering Fundamentals.
Hand Lettering: Mastering Brush Script
Hand Lettering: How to Stylize Your Letters
This post is part of a series called Learn Adobe Illustrator.
The A to Z of Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Game Boy Illustration Using Adobe Illustrator

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Clare Liu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

我记得一年前,将我的手写体进行矢量化的时候,我遇到了很多麻烦。 我对钢笔工具的使用很了解,但是我不知道还有一些小技巧。可以对你的字体产生不错的效果,创建一些你正在寻找的平滑曲线。

这次教程关于手写体矢量化,还有几乎所有需要矢量化的事物,希望能够回答你所有的疑问。 在Illustrator,都同样可以实现。 关于字体的,最关键的一点就是在使用正确锚点的位置,还有各种技巧对这些曲线,角度,宽度等等进行优化的时候,尽量减少相关的锚点。

开始之前,有三件事情需要注意:

首先,下面的过程使用到我之前教程里面创建的一些工作。 为了练习和积累经验,我建议你创建/使用你自己的文字,而不是按照我的重新创建。 这的确是最好的学习方法! 我想要你们提取下面的信息,把它应用到自己的手写体上,这样的话,你就有真正属于自己的完成作品。

第二,这次教程不是教你如何使用/理解钢笔工具。 如果你不理解它怎么使用的或者它的功能,我建议你开始之前了解一下—它仅仅会让后面的操作更简单。

第三,我想要你们知道这次教程可能看起来有一点乱七八糟的,全是文字,但是我保证,这都是教学需要! 我只是想要分享一切有助于矢量化操作的事情。  长话短说,这次教程不是一个流线型的开始和结尾。 这会有一个开始,这还会有一个结尾,但是需要耗费一些时间到达那里。

保持一个开放的心态,我保证我们将会创造出不错的作品。 我们开始吧!

1. 需要准备的工具

  • 电脑—PC 或者 Mac. 任意一台就行!
  • Adobe Illustrator
  • 最初的草图/你想要矢量化文字的扫描
  • 钢笔或者铅笔

对于本次教程,你要使用之前教程里创建的手写字体的草图。 我们主要专注于使用那个草图,以矢量的形式对它重新绘制。

2. 将你的锚点放在Extrema上

在电脑上操作之前,我们将要通过手动来练习矢量化! 使用纸! 疯狂,不是吗? 我向你保证,它会让你加深对神奇钢笔工具的理解和使用。

现在,"extrema" 是什么意思呢? 首先,它是extremum的复数形式。 在数学里面,它的大概意思就是最大的,或者最小的。 在手写体的案例里,我们要说的就是手写体的极端,使用贝塞尔曲线对它进行构成。 比如,字母“O”的极值就是南北锚点形成的曲线。 侧边的东西两个锚点决定重量和宽度。

看看下面的这个圆。 你可以看到这个形状是由四个主要锚点均匀构成的。 这些就是字母“O”的“极值”。

HandlingBezier_Circle_Construction

注意看,所有的手柄都很平衡,分布均匀。 在你的手写体内,应该也使用同样的方法。 确保你的手柄均衡承重,不会出现某个手柄特别长,承载整个重量。  

步骤1

如果你想使用我的话,就下载附件。 如果不呢,就任意使用自己的! 从这里开始,我们开始画出锚点的走向。 使用一支铅笔或者钢笔,在你认为需要在Adobe Illustrator放置锚点的地方画个圆。

不但担心自己是否对错—做就行了,你现在认为正确的地方。 后面通过本次教程,和进一步的联系,你会对自己的进步感到很惊讶。

HandlingBezier_Anchor_Point_Placement

步骤2

接下来,还是在同一个手写体上,围绕每个字母开始画矩形。 我们现在是使用一种简单的方法来理解在字母“极值”上该放置的锚点位置。 和字母连接到的位置就是放锚点的地方。 现在,不是说你的字母应该就有四个锚点,因为矩形有四个边。 这只是给你一个不错的开始。

之后,我们会在Illustrator中放置极值,然后为了特殊的曲线添加额外的锚点,或者可能在你的字母内增加一些厚度。 每个字母都不一样,那么这个过程不是一成不变的。 最后,这只是给你一个正确的方向,然后由你来决定怎样做“好看”,或者看起来是“正确的”。

HandlingBezier_Rectangle_Technique

3.  0°, 45°, 90°: 手柄角度

现在,我们在深入本次教程之前,我想说0°, 45° 和90°不是一定的,你可以选择其他角度调整手柄。 怎么处理才好看,你还是要用自己的判断决定使用一个任意角度,比如15°。

那么,为什么水平,垂直,对角的(45度)就这么特殊呢? 首先,使用类似的角度能够让手写体看起来更整齐,一致。 第二,这些角度对形成平滑的曲线很关键。 你有没有注意到在手写字母中小点或者边角锚点比较多。 放置正确的锚点和手柄的角度这个问题就能轻易解决了。

我们开始吧!

步骤1

下面这个简单的过程将会向你展示水平和垂直锚点手柄的重要性。 这个过程可以几乎应用到所有矢量项目中。 我们先从下面的“The”开始。 我想要打破本次矢量化进程,因为你可以看到我一般开始矢量化,先从简单的字母开始,如这个。

如果你想的话,在决定极值放在哪里之前使用“矩形”技巧。

HandlingBezier_The_Sketch

步骤2

画完“The”之后,我们现在开始把它分成几部分,进行矢量化。

我准备先从“T”开始。 正如你能看到的,我在使用是这些水平锚点手柄,还有两个不是特殊的数学角度。 记住,不是每个手柄都需要是水平方向。 你认为合适的就是最好看的。 对于这个主干,我开始让所有的手柄是水平方向的,然后根据自己的喜好,对其中两个进行扭曲。

总的来说,整个主干是由仅仅四个锚点,通过反复尝试调整完成的。

HandlingBezier_The_Stem_Vector

步骤3

这里开始就变得有点复杂了。 对于这个特定的例子,我决定让“Th”连接在一起,形成一个简单的形状。 每个锚点都是很均衡的,均匀分布曲率。 关于在哪放置锚点,纯属个人偏好的问题。 字母形式一般能确定从哪开始。 对我来说,我从左到右,因此我从画“T”环形连接开始,最后以“h”主干结束。

我们继续!

HandlingBezier_The_Th_Vector

步骤4

接下来,我开始调整“h”的肩部位置(如果你想要做的话,第二个主干)。 字母的每个部分都被分成单独的形状,因此你可以之后对某个单独的部分进行编辑,而不是整个进行编辑。

HandlingBezier_The_Completed_Th_Vector

步骤5

最后一步就是创建“E”。 只需要使用8个锚点,我就能创建正确的形式,而没有添加更多锚点来调整宽度,对比等等。

根据自己喜欢位置开始,但是对我个人来说,我先从“e”中间横条开始,绕着这个形状形成碗状,然后添加个尾巴结束。

然后就得到了这个字母! 完成的“The”。 记得将锚点放在极值上,对它们的手柄进行进一步优化,做的太棒了! 耐心很重要!

HandlingBezier_The_Completed_Vector
HandlingBezier_The_Colored_Completed_Vector

我也列出了下面的一个例子,因此你可以看到一个完全不同风格的单词“The”,也是使用类似的水平和垂直手柄。

HandlingBezier_Additional_The_Vector_Example

4. 其他矢量化技巧

即使对于一个专业者来说,矢量化很耗费时间。 无论怎样,无非就是转折点优化,曲线,锚点等等的矫正。

这一部分,我希望能够分享一些加速进程的技巧。 为了简化,我打算使用字母“O”,或者一个圆形来演示其中的很多技巧。 即使这是个简单的形状,技巧背后的方法和实践同样适用每个简单的字母。

步骤1

我把这个技巧称为转线路。 当你开始对手写字进行矢量化的时候,你会发现应用这种转线的方法控制宽度和字母部分形式角度的技巧会更容易。 在下面的例子中,你可以看到我创建了一个额外的锚点,这样能够控制“N”字母,所谓的“交叉处”。 基本上,它能够让你移动和转换字母某个部分,而没有影响到其他部分。

在gif 例子的底部,向你正确演示了我所要表达的意思,通过调整一侧,而对另一侧没有影响。 现在,这个“A”结构很正确。 这只是一种展示转线技巧的一种完美方法。

HandlingBezier_Crossover_Technique

HandlingBezier_Crossover_Gif

步骤2

如果你想到组成这些字母需要什么形状,Illustrator内的 椭圆工具和矩形工具能够成为你的好帮手。 例如,字母“O”有两个椭圆:一个代表着宽度,内部的一个形成厚度,那么你只需要创建两个椭圆,一个堆积在另一个的上面。只需要几秒钟的时间就能组成字母“O”。

另外,如果你想继续创建另一个字母,比如“H”,可以使用矩形工具。 下面的“H”是由三个单独的矩形组成的。 如果你想要一个完整的形状,可以在后面把它们进行扩展合并。

希望下面这个加速gif操作过程能够准确展示我想要表达的意思。 我只是使用一些简单的形状组成这些字母。

HandlingBezier_Shape_Building
HandlingBezier_Shape_Building_Complete

步骤3

在下面的例子中,我使用到了Illustrator中的宽度工具。 它时不时的就能派上用场。 有了这个工具,你基本上可以绘制你想要的宽度分布。 在这个例子中,我想让描边左右两侧的大小为0.525英寸,而顶部和底部保持在0.125英寸。 这让粗细均匀分布,形成一个不错的高对比字母“O”。

正如你所看到的例子,左边只是一个描边—在我应用宽度工具之前的,而右边的是使用宽度工具之后的。

这个工具可以大大加速某些矢量化字母的进程,尤其是手写体。 要记住的一点就是使用“描边”绘制,之后使用宽度工具给字母形状添加差异。

HandlingBezier_Width_Tool

宽度工具的缺陷就是当你对描边进行扩展的时候,就会形成大量的不需要的锚点。 下图可以看到我说的意思。 所有这些红色点都是锚点!

因此如果你想在扩展之后进行编辑,而且没有之前的描边能够编辑,就很难了。

HandlingBezier_Expanded_WidthTool

5. 最终的矢量部分

好吧,朋友们,现在该敲定最终的矢量化项目了,因为我们刚刚学会了如何进行矢量化! 我们准备从这次教程之前剩余的部分开始,将这个New York City字完成。

步骤1

一部分一部分来,先一次对一个字母进行矢量化。 使用转线方法能够调整文字的区域而不影响其他部分。 对这个特别的字体,垂直和水平手柄我使用的很少。 但是我还是将锚点放在极点上,这样能够让我绘制你看到的那些形状。

HandlingBezier_NEW_Vector

步骤2

完成“New”的矢量化之后,我们接着下一个单词“York”。 使用同样的方法,一个字母一个字母进行矢量化。 你可能会看到“K”内的锚点集。 这是因为我将“K”分成几个形状进行编辑处理,以防后面需要修改。 因此主干和两条腿都是单独画出的,总共三个形状组成“K”。

注意如果都出现了重叠,没有关系,因为我们之后会对这些形状进行填充。

HandlingBezier_York_vector

步骤3

最后一个单词“City”。 你知道怎么做:先放置锚点,按照自己的想法对手柄进行调节优化。 如下图所示对每个字母单独处理—会对后面的编辑修改有所帮助。

HandlingBezier_City_Vector

步骤4

这样我们就完成了! 在完成整个矢量化操作后,你可以给这些字母一个填充色,而不是描边,就你可以看到有利的和不利的空间的互相影响。

HandlingBezier_Filled_Vector_NYC

步骤5

即使你认为自己完成了矢量化的操作,但是可能还没有哦

对形状“填充”之后,还需要大量的编辑,因为你会看到哪些地方还需要更多的对比反差,字距调整等等。 比如,我进行了多次的希望编辑修改,来调节整体颜色。 另外,我将“Y”形状延伸到“N”的留白空间内。

HandlingBezier_Filled_Vector_NYC_Edited

步骤6

最后一步! 在这一步,我在字形的入口和出口处添加了“V型痕迹”。 怎么会这样的矢量形状呢? 只需要记得再次将对象拆分成简单的形状和描边。 对我来说,我知道使用钢笔工具画出一些简单的笔画再好不过了,但是我改变了描边的“可变宽度”来得到一个三角形。 在下面你可以看到我所要表达的意思。

HandlingBezier_Vector_NYC_Notches
HandlingBezier_VariableWidthTool
HandlingBezier_Angular_VariableWidthTool

总结

我擅自对整个字母矢量化过程录了个加速版的视频, 花了我两个小时。 再次强调,如果你想让你的矢量化字体和你草图画的一样,耐心很重要! 看看下面的整个过程,我另外将矢量化字体进行进一步细化,达到下一个水平。

下面的字体New York City,是添加很多额外细节之后得到的结果。 如果你对如何创建厚度感,纹理,颜色结合等等很好奇,那么我接下来的教程对你来说太合适不过了! 在接下来的一两月内,敬请期待。

HandlingBezier_Finished_NYC_Vector

在这一点上,对于矢量化操作,我相信你们加强了练习之后,肯定能够比之前更得心应手。 我们已经涵盖了很多资料,现在该你们将所学知识应用到实践中了。 对所学的东西一定要坚持练习,我保证只要功夫深,铁杵磨成针。 坚持!

一如既往,如果你有任何的问题,请在下面评论,我能够帮你解决。 好运!

另外的资源

如果你的手写字体需要一些帮助,Envato Studio上有一系列你可能感兴趣的文字&书法行家收藏集。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Hand Lettering
Design

Hand Lettering: How to Vector Your Letterforms

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Hand Lettering Fundamentals.
Hand Lettering: Mastering Brush-Script
Hand Lettering: How to Stylize Your Letters
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

I remember a year ago I was having so much trouble vectoring my letterforms. I had a decent understanding of the Pen Tool, but had no idea that there are minor techniques that do wonders for your type to create those smooth curves you're looking for. 

This tutorial will hopefully answer all your questions regarding vectoring letterforms and vectoring nearly anything for that matter. The same process can be utilized for anything you compose within Illustrator. In the case of lettering, the key is to have relatively few anchor points while utilizing proper point placement and a variety of other tricks to perfect those curves, angles, widths, etc.

Three things to note before we get started:

First, the process below is utilizing some work I already created in a previous tutorial. For your practice and experience, I suggest creating/using your own piece of lettering, rather than recreating mine. It's truly the best way to learn! I want you to take the information below and apply it to your very own lettering so you'll have a finished piece that you can truly call yours! 

Second, this tutorial isn't about teaching you how to use/understand the Pen Tool. If you don't understand how it works or its functionality, I suggest reading up on that before you begin—it'll only make things easier later on.

Third, I want you all to know that this tutorial might seem a bit jumbled up and all over the place, but I promise it's for the sake of teaching! I just want to share everything and anything to help your vectoring process. Long story short, it won't be a streamlined beginning and end. There will be a beginning and there will be an end, but it'll take us some time to get there!

Keep an open mind, and I promise we'll create great things. Let's begin!

1. Preparing the Tools You Will Need

  • Computer—PC or Mac. Either one will get the job done!
  • Adobe Illustrator 
  • Initial sketch/scan of the lettering you want to vector
  • Pen or pencil

For this tutorial, you're going to use a sketch of some previous lettering you may have done from the previous tutorials. We're going to focus on taking that sketch and redrawing it in vector format. 

2. Plotting Your Points on the Extrema

Before we begin working on the computer, we're going to practice vectoring by hand! With paper! Crazy, right? I promise you it'll give you a much larger understanding and appreciation for the wonderful Pen Tool.

Now, what does "extrema" mean? Firstly, it's plural for extremum. In mathematics, that generally means the maximum or minimum. In the case of lettering, we're talking about the extreme opposites of the letter to compose it with bezier handles. For example, the extrema of the letter "O" would be the north and south anchor points that form the curve. The east and west anchor points on the side allow you to distribute weight and width.

Take a look at this circle below. You can see the shape is being evenly created by four main points. Those are the "extrema" of the letter "O".

HandlingBezier_Circle_Construction

Notice that the handles are evenly balanced and distributed as well. This same technique should be applied within your lettering. Make sure your handles are all balancing the workload and not allowing just one handle to be extremely long and carrying all of the weight.

Step 1

Download the attached lettering if you'd like to use mine. If not, feel free to use your own! From here, let's begin drawing where the anchor points would go. Go ahead and use a pencil or pen and draw circles wherever you think you would place those anchor points in Adobe Illustrator. 

Don't worry about if you're right or wrong—just go for it and see what you currently think may be right. Later throughout this tutorial and further practice, you'll be amazed at your growth / new knowledge.

HandlingBezier_Anchor_Point_Placement

Step 2

Next, take that same piece of lettering and begin to draw rectangles around each letterform. We're using an easy trick to understand where you'll plot your points on the "extrema" of your letterforms. Wherever the rectangles touches your letter is where the anchor point should lie. Now, that's not to say that your letterform should only have four anchor points since there are four sides to a rectangle. This just gives you a great starting point. 

Later on, we will begin with plotting the extrema in Illustrator, and then adding additional anchor points for particular curves or maybe increasing some weight in your letterform. Every letterform will differ, so this process isn't set in stone. Ultimately it'll give you a head start in the right direction, and then it's up to you to determine what looks "good" or what looks "correct". 

HandlingBezier_Rectangle_Technique

3. 0°, 45°, 90°: Handle Angles

Now, before we get too deep into this section of the tutorial, I want to say that 0°, 45° and 90° aren't necessarily the only angles you should place your handles at. Again, it all comes down to what looks good and using your own judgement to determine if it could use a random angle of 15°, for example.

So, what's so special about horizontal, vertical, and diagonal (45 degree) angles? First, utilizing similar angles keeps things consistent across your lettering. Second, those angles are key to forming the smoothest curves. Ever noticed little points or edges in your lettering that are caused by anchor points? Well, that can easily be fixed with proper anchor point placement and the proper angle of your handles. 

Let's get to work!

Step 1

This simple process below will show the importance of horizontal and vertical anchor point handles. This process should be used for nearly any vectoring project you have from here on out. Let's start out by vectoring the below "The". I want to break down the vectoring process so you can see how I would normally go about vectoring a simple word such as this.

If you'd like, you can begin by applying the "rectangle" technique with your lettering before you begin so you can determine where your extrema should be placed.

HandlingBezier_The_Sketch

Step 2

After drawing out your "The" lettering, we're now going to begin taking it apart piece by piece to vector. 

I'm going to start with the stem of the "T". As you can tell, I'm utilizing those horizontal anchor point handles as well as two not so mathematical angles. Remember, not every handle needs to be horizontal. It's truly what you think may look best. For this stem, I started with all of the handles horizontal, and then tweaked the two to fit my liking.

All in all, this entire stem was created with just four anchor points and a little trial and error. 

HandlingBezier_The_Stem_Vector

Step 3

This is where things get a little crazy. For this particular example, I decided to vector the "Th" connection together to create one single shape. Each anchor point is equally balanced and equally distributing the curvature. As for where to begin plotting your anchor points, it's all a matter of preference. The letterforms generally dictate where to begin. For me, I work left to right, so I began by drawing the loop connection of the "T" and ended at the stem of the "h".

Let's keep pushing forward!

HandlingBezier_The_Th_Vector

Step 4

Next, I formed the shoulder of the "h" (the second stem if you will). Every piece of this lettering is broken down into separate shapes so you can later make edits to individual pieces rather than the entire piece.

HandlingBezier_The_Completed_Th_Vector

Step 5

The last step is to create the "e". Utilizing just eight anchor points, I was able to create the right form without adding more points to adjust the width, contrast, etc.

Begin wherever you'd like, but for me personally, I began by forming the crossbar of the "e", circled that shape around to form the bowl, and finished it off with the tail.

And there we have it! Our finished "The". Remember to plot those points on the extrema, finesse those handles until perfection, and you're golden! Patience is key!

HandlingBezier_The_Completed_Vector
HandlingBezier_The_Colored_Completed_Vector

I've included the below example as well, so you can see a completely different style of the word "The" while still using similar horizontal and vertical handles.

HandlingBezier_Additional_The_Vector_Example

4. Additional Vectoring Tips & Tricks

Vectoring sure is time-consuming even for a master. No matter what, it's a lot of fine-tuning and correcting those curves, anchor points, etc.

In this section of the tutorial, I hope to shed some more wisdom to speed up the process just a bit more. For simplicity, I'm going to be utilizing the letter "O" or a circle shape to demonstrate a lot of these tricks. Even though it's a simple shape, the methodology and practice behind the tip can be used for every single letter.

Step 1

I call this technique the crossover. As you begin to vector your lettering, you may find it easier to apply this crossover technique to control the widths and angles of parts of your letterforms. In the example below, you can see I created an extra anchor point to allow me to control what is called the "crotch" of the "N". Essentially, it allows you to move and alter one portion of your letterform without disturbing another. 

In the bottom gif example, this shows exactly what I mean by altering one side without disturbing another. Now, this "A" construction definitely isn't correct by any means. It's just a perfect way to display what the crossover technique can accomplish.

HandlingBezier_Crossover_Technique

HandlingBezier_Crossover_Gif

Step 2

The Ellipse Tool and Rectangle Tool within Illustrator can become your best friends if you just think about what shapes are composing each letterform. For example, the letter "O" has two ellipses: one for the width and another ellipse on the inside to form weight. So, if you just create two ellipses, stacked on top of each other, you can form the letter "O" within seconds. 

Additionally, if you wanted to continue and create another letter such as an "H", you can utilize the Rectangle Tool. Each stem and the crossbar of the below "H" was formed with three separate rectangles. You can later expand and merge them if you'd like one complete shape.

Hopefully the sped-up gif process below shows exactly what I mean. I'm just using simple shapes to form these letters. 

HandlingBezier_Shape_Building
HandlingBezier_Shape_Building_Complete

Step 3

In the below example, I utilized the Width Tool within Illustrator. It definitely can come in handy at times. With this tool, you're essentially plotting where you want your width to be distributed. In this example, I wanted the left and right sides of the stroke to be .525in while the top and bottom remained .125in. This distributed the weight evenly and formed a nice high contrasted letter "O".

As you can see from the example, the left is just a stroke—that was before I applied the Width Tool, while the right is after the Width Tool has been applied.

This tool can definitely help speed up vectoring certain letterforms, especially script. Just remember to draw with "strokes" and add the contrast to your letterforms with the Width Tool after.

HandlingBezier_Width_Tool

The downside to the Width Tool is that when you go to expand your stroke, it forms a massive amount of extra anchor points that you don't need. You can see what I mean in the image below. All those tiny red dots are anchor points!

So if you wanted to make edits after it was expanded, it would be rather difficult if you didn't have the original stroke to edit.

HandlingBezier_Expanded_WidthTool

5. Final Vector Piece

Alright guys, it's time to knock out the final vectoring project since we just learned all about how to vector! We're going to begin where we left off earlier in the tutorial and take this New York City piece to completion.

Step 1

Taking this piece by piece, begin vectoring your letterforms one at a time. Utilize the crossover technique to be able to adjust an area of your lettering without disturbing another part of it. For this particular piece of lettering, I had very few vertical and horizontal handles. But I still plotted my points on the extrema which allowed me to create the shapes you see. 

HandlingBezier_NEW_Vector

Step 2

After vectoring the "New", let's start the next word: "York". Use the same process and vector each piece by piece. You can probably see the collection of anchor points within the "K". That is because I drew each part of the "K" as separate shapes to edit later if need be. So the stem and the two legs are all individually drawn, creating a total of three shapes to form the "K". 

Note that it's okay if everything overlaps, since we'll be filling these shapes later on.

HandlingBezier_York_vector

Step 3

The last word to vector, "City". You know what to do: begin plotting those points and carefully finesse your handles to your liking. Draw each letter separately as you can see below—it'll help the editing process later on.

HandlingBezier_City_Vector

Step 4

There we have it! After you've completed vectoring the whole piece, you can give the lettering a fill instead of a stroke so you can see how the positive and negative space are interacting.

HandlingBezier_Filled_Vector_NYC

Step 5

Even after you think you're done vectoring, you're probably not!

There's tons of editing to do after you "fill" the shapes because you can then see what needs more contrast, more kerning, etc. In this instance, I made lots of minor edits to help the overall color. Additionally, I altered the shape of the "Y" to extend into the negative space of the "N".

HandlingBezier_Filled_Vector_NYC_Edited

Step 6

The last step! For this piece, I added little "notches" to the enter and exit strokes of the letterforms. How would one vector something like this? Just remember to break things down into simple shapes or strokes again. For me, I knew it would be perfect to utilize some simple strokes created with the Pen Tool, but I changed the "Variable Width Profile" of the stroke to create the triangular shape. You can see what I mean in the process below.

HandlingBezier_Vector_NYC_Notches
HandlingBezier_VariableWidthTool
HandlingBezier_Angular_VariableWidthTool

Conclusion

I took the liberty of filming a very sped-up video of the whole lettering process. It took me a good two hours to complete this piece. Again, patience is key if you want your vector lettering to look exactly how you sketched it out! Feel free to watch the process below and see the extra step I took to take the vectored lettering to the next level.

The below New York City piece is the finished vector after adding lots of extra details. If you're curious as to how to create depth, texture, color combinations, etc., then my next tutorial will be perfect for you! Stay tuned for that in the next month or two.

HandlingBezier_Finished_NYC_Vector

I'm sure at this point you've practiced a good amount to hopefully become even more comfortable with vectoring than you already were. We've covered a lot of material, and now it's time for you to put this knowledge to the test. Keep practicing what you've learned because it only gets better with time, I promise! Keep it up!

As always, if you have any issues or questions, feel free to leave a comment below and I'll be able to help you out. Good luck!

Extra Resources

If you're interested in getting some help with your lettering, Envato Studio has a great collection of Lettering & Calligraphy Specialists that you might like to explore. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?

Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.