1. Design & Illustration
  2. Hand Lettering

手寫字母:字體,旋轉和美化

by
Read Time:17 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Hand Lettering Fundamentals.
Hand Lettering: Understanding Types of Type
Hand Lettering: Mastering Brush Script

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Stypstive (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

這個教程可能是我個人最喜愛的,因為我喜歡用字體來傳達各種信息。 在本教程中,你將學習非正式(也稱為休閒體)和正式字體的基礎知識。 最後,你將掌握用於繪製字體的筆劃粗細,對比度,字距,展開,速度,角度和其他技術。

我們首先處理字體部分,然後再進入美化階段。 我們首先會介紹基本知識,然後我們將添加裝飾和其他花哨的效果,使你的排版從其餘部分脫穎而出,凸顯其“個性化定制效果”。 畢竟,這就是字體設計的精華所在:自定義和手寫

教程前需要的閱讀

在我們開始這個教程之前,我將像你提供一些一定要知道的信息讓你更好的了解下面的設計方法。

在正式進入這個課程之前,我強烈建議你查看我之前的兩篇文章,因為這次這個教程是屬於中級教程。 有個對字體設計比較好的了解總是很有用的! 在這裡可以找到這些教程:手寫字體: 字形及其核心理解不同類型的字體

所以,什麼確切地定義"手寫字體"? 手寫體,草書,書法等術語都可互換使用。 書寫基本上是指由一個單一的手運動而結合在一起的藝術。 但是,在這種情況下,由於我們在繪製,它是鉛筆描邊的積累的過程。 它將包括許多很多筆劃,用於完善字體形式,而不是像書法一樣完成一個動作的形式。

現在,你們中的一些可能會納悶,正式和非正式的字體之間的區別什麼? 正式字體與16世紀左右開始的書法事情實際上是一回事。 但可悲的是,因為技術,書法是即將銷聲匿跡。 公立學校 (這裡指在美國) 甚至不需要書寫作為課程的一部分!

無論如何,回到我們的主題上,因為其構建和形成字母的方法,諸如Roundhand(圓體),Spencerian(斯賓字體)和Copperplate(銅板體)都被認為是正式字體。 他們都用尖頭筆尖和墨水書寫。 這些字形具有特定的傾斜率,角度(大約50度以上 - 表現的是它們在筆鋒之間變化),速度等。 如果你想知道在哪裡可以看到如此美妙的筆法,獨立宣言是銅版的雕刻字體! 可口可樂標誌甚至包含了Spencerian(斯賓字體)的一些特徵。

然後我們也有 informal script(非正式字體),這樣更加有多變性。 它源自正式字體,如字體構造,但它具有從其起源完全獨特的能力。整體速度,組成,顏色,大小和其他因素隨非正式字體而變化。 更改字體的寬度,角度,大小,對比度和其他特徵可以創建獨特的非正式字體。

如果您在本教程中或之後對字體有任何疑問,請隨時問! 我很樂於與你分享我的經驗。

現在,讓我們開始吧!

1.準備好你需要的工具

  1. 透寫紙(硫酸紙)
  2. 方格紙
  3. 鉛筆
  4. 這個 pdf 文件 (當我們想要將其複雜化的時候)

我們將好好完善我們的字體! 所以透寫紙(硫酸紙)越多越好。 因為我們只繪製,用你最喜歡的鉛筆、 橡皮擦、 削筆刀等。你需要可以幫助你繪製的任何工具。

下載附加的PDF供你欣賞 。 我的建議是你可以印刷出來。 (這樣你就有將字體複雜化參照)在你完成本教程作品時可以把它作為參照!

ScriptLettering-ToolsScriptLettering-ToolsScriptLettering-Tools

2.正式字體

我們將首先了解創建正式字形的基本形狀和筆觸。 對於本教程這個部分,我們將重點繪製的單詞"design"(全部小寫) 。 這個詞裡面有你以後可以利用的基本筆劃大的組合。

利用這個文檔中的筆劃並嘗試理解他們的形成方法將有助於你對任何字母/詞的理解,因為它們都包含了相同的基本筆劃。

我亦提供了一些gifs,所以你可以看到每個字母筆劃組合的細節。 掌握這些筆劃是成功的關鍵! 讓我們開始吧。

第 1 步

為本教程的這一部分準備一張方格紙 ! 讓我們創建我們的基本參考線,設置大寫字母高度和 x軸的高度,讓我們的字體放置在其中。 在頁面的中間添加一條虛線為x的高度。 下一步,從中間,向上數三個藍色方塊,畫一條線。 之後,在三個藍色方格之下再畫一條實線。

好了 !現在你設置好了大寫字母的高度, x軸的高度和基本參考線。

ScriptLettering-GuideScriptLettering-GuideScriptLettering-Guide

第 2 步

 第 2 步之後,我們需要為字體建立一定的角度/坡度。 在每一個方塊或兩個正方形之間畫傾斜角度的線 (約 45 度)。 一旦你完成了,應該如下圖所示。

ScriptLettering-Slope-GuideScriptLettering-Slope-GuideScriptLettering-Slope-Guide

第 3 步

好了 ! 準備一張空白的透寫紙(硫酸紙)放置在你準備好的有參考線的方格紙上方

現在讓我們開始構建設計這個"d"字母。 小寫字母"d"包含兩個筆劃。 一個是橢圓形的形狀 ("d"的圓圈形狀) 而另一個是"d"的枝幹。 在我們方格紙 x 高度上開始橢圓形的圖案。 然後,添加d的枝幹,這將延伸到字母頂的高度。 你的結果將如下圖所示。

ScriptLettering-Formal-dScriptLettering-Formal-dScriptLettering-Formal-d

第 4 步

現在我們轉向字母“e”,你會發現這個字母會使用相同的橢圓。 注意“e”的斜率/角度,並將其與你剛繪製的“d”的角度相匹配。

ScriptLettering-Formal-eScriptLettering-Formal-eScriptLettering-Formal-e

第 5 步

接下來,我們來繪製"s"。 由於其複雜的結構,這個字母可能是最難掌握的。 小提示:“s”的底部應該出現圓而不是太扁平。 此外,“s”結構的頂部實際上在x高度之上。 這是為了平衡它與其他字母之間的負空間和重量。 如果“s”的頂部剛剛滿足x高度,它的尺寸會顯得相當小。

ScriptLettering-Formal-sScriptLettering-Formal-sScriptLettering-Formal-s

第 6 步

好了,現在我們繪製了複雜的“S”,現在我們來書寫一個簡單的“i”字母。 這基本上是一個半枝幹(類似於“d”的枝幹,但大約只有d一半的大小)  作為一個完美的“i”,注意點和枝幹的距離(畫龍點睛之筆)。 如何他們之間的距離太遠的話,就有太多負空間。 觀看由點的距離創建的負面空間,只是點金之筆。

ScriptLettering-Formal-iScriptLettering-Formal-iScriptLettering-Formal-i

第 7 步

讓我們繼續,這個“g”不應該太難了。 它在大小和結構方面幾乎都是倒置的“d”。 需要注意的一個問題是“g”尾部重量的變化,因為它之後向上延伸到“n”。 經過一些練習,這種處理方式對你而言應該是小菜一碟。 它包含另一個橢圓形的“g”和一個枝幹形成結尾。

ScriptLettering-Formal-gScriptLettering-Formal-gScriptLettering-Formal-g

第 8 步

完成啦! 最後一個字母是“n”。 這個字母的結構由兩個筆劃組成。 一個短枝幹(連接到g,在這種情況下)將第二枝干連接到第一枝幹上。

ScriptLettering-Formal-nScriptLettering-Formal-nScriptLettering-Formal-n

下面是書寫完畢的"design"。 再次,這個單詞中提到的這些基本筆劃亦適用於所有其他字母/單詞。 請持續練習,你會越來越熟悉字體結構的! 多練習是關鍵!

總結

ScriptLettering-Formal-completeScriptLettering-Formal-completeScriptLettering-Formal-complete

你有沒有覺得完成的詞有點奇怪?  “g”和“n”之間的字距比其餘字間距部分顯得更遠,對吧? 對於正式的字體,需要稍大的空間來連接相應的筆劃。 你希望你的所有字母是coulée的(法語單詞,意為流暢)連接他們而不是牽強的連接上。

3正式/非正式字體

第 1 步

當你了解到一些正式字體的知識,讓我們來應用這些基本技巧來繪製一些非正式的字體。

對於這整個教程來說,我們將一遍又一遍地重複繪製相同的短語。 現在,完全由你決定你想用哪句短語。 但是,我非常歡迎您使用與我相同的短語,即:Bury The Past.(掩埋過去)。

所以,如果你不想使用我提供的上述短語,那麼請花點時間來集思廣益,或者在歌詞,電影中搜索一個短語。

ScriptLettering-PhraseScriptLettering-PhraseScriptLettering-Phrase

第 2 步

就像大多數字體項目一樣,我們從概念化和頭腦風暴階段開始。 我們將開始排版,以真正發揮字體設計的全部潛力。 快速勾畫出想法的最佳方式是利用形狀,弧線,線條等方式來實現或跟隨。 就像下面的例子,草繪一些想法,以幫助您決定哪種佈局最適合你選擇的短語

在這個階段,最好縮小化你的想法,這樣你可以快速地在紙上實現你想法。 然後,稍後,微調這些字體的大小。

ScriptLettering-ConceptsScriptLettering-ConceptsScriptLettering-Concepts

第 3 步

接下來,在勾畫出一些組合風格後,選擇一個你覺得最合適的組合繼續下一步的工作。 在這個階段,我喜歡把這個草圖字體組合掃描到電腦裡,放大它,然後在大尺寸下開始繪製。

所以,要么將它掃描到計算機中,要么打印出來,或者只用更大的尺寸重新繪製字體,用對你來說最簡單的方法來執行就好。

ScriptLettering-Selected-ConceptScriptLettering-Selected-ConceptScriptLettering-Selected-Concept

第 4 步

一旦你放大你的字體草圖後,現在可以進一步將其改進。 準備好要反复繪製你的字母。 在這個階段,我們將努力調整字間距,字體之前的負空間,字體聯接點和整體構圖。 一旦你完善,細化,再細化,你將有擁有一個完成的字體“骨架”。

ScriptLettering-Informal-1ScriptLettering-Informal-1ScriptLettering-Informal-1

第 5 步

接下來,我們將繼續完善並添加與字母之間的對比。 這是你可以按任何你想要的方向進行字體繪製。 對我來說,我傾向於繪製一種真正流線和筆刷般的感覺。 我想要組合一個合適的韻律和獨特的風格,並添加一些“骨幹”的垂直的筆劃效果。

花點時間開始增加你字體的厚重感。 這是由你決定字體筆劃的粗幼,高低對比度的時候。

ScriptLettering-Informal-2ScriptLettering-Informal-2ScriptLettering-Informal-2

第 6 步

再次,我們將繼續完善字母,直到它變得完美。 基於這點,我需要繼續增加字體厚重感,並註意字母間距,負空間和字母之間的連接點。 當你增加字體厚重感的時候,這些所有的變量都會改變! 如果你發現在你增加字體厚重感後整個組合變暗了,你可以適當增加一些字母之間的空間。

ScriptLettering-Informal-3ScriptLettering-Informal-3ScriptLettering-Informal-3

第 7 步

你可能不會注意到上一步和這一之間的差異。 但是,如果你仔細觀察,發現我改變了某些字母的字距和位置。 正如你看到的,在上一張圖片上,我告訴自己要適當打開一些字間距。 此外,我還繪製了斜線,以確保所有字母形狀都遵循相同的角度。 對這些字母進行更多的調整和改進,直到顏色(整體的正負空間)和結構很流暢為止。 

花點時間重新繪製可能需要調整的字體。 你可能需要調整間距或連接,或者如果它們都沒有按照相同的角度,你需要進行更正。

ScriptLettering-Informal-3ScriptLettering-Informal-3ScriptLettering-Informal-3

第 8 步

現在是我字體設計的最後階段! 我已經很好地調整了這些字母,使整個色彩均勻,平衡,節奏和構圖均勻。

請花一點時間清理各字母,直到完全完成。 經過多次重繪,我們已經有了一個很好的字母組合整體了!

ScriptLettering-Informal-4ScriptLettering-Informal-4ScriptLettering-Informal-4

下面是完整的過程。 都是精煉字體的過程!

ScriptLettering-Informal-ProcessScriptLettering-Informal-ProcessScriptLettering-Informal-Process

矢量?

想在你電腦上進一步優化字體? 需要更好地掌握Illustrator中的鋼筆工具? 在將來的教程中,我將使用這個字體繪製技巧向矢量圖形更進一步。 請繼續關注我!

4.裝飾字體

在我們開始本教程的這一部分之前,我想提供一些你需要要記住的規則和事項。 首先,裝飾字體不會自動使你的字體變得更好,也不需要對你的每個字母進行裝飾。 請小心應用裝飾到你的字體裡面。

接下來,要記住的另一個重要規則是從你字母的開筆端和收筆端增加裝飾。 筆劃的開端和末端是完美的裝飾地方。 請確保要讓這個過程不僵硬,自然而然的形成。

在我們開始之前最後需要注意的事情是:裝飾字體是需要平衡和精煉的,就像你完成上面的字體書寫過程一樣。 裝飾亦創造正負的空間,所以需要平衡你創造的正負空間來美化字體。 裝飾的關鍵是平衡感。

第 1 步

我們由基礎的裝飾筆劃開始。 下載我提供的PDF並打印出來觀察基本的筆劃。 我們只是專注於筆劃本身。 一旦你掌握了這些技術,你可以將它們應用到你的字體。

讓我們由螺旋裝飾開始吧! 在您的打印的PDF上放置一張空白紙。 開始重複螺旋的裝飾,直到你了解你手臂和手腕的肌肉運動方式。 一旦你已經練習反復和描摹它後,試著不要臨摹,徒手畫!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-SpiralScriptLettering-Flourish-SpiralScriptLettering-Flourish-Spiral

第 2 步

現在我們來做下一個裝飾筆劃:循環。 將一張新的白紙打印出來放在參考圖上,並開始臨摹循環的筆劃。 好好練習,直到你覺得你可以脫離這個參考圖片。

這一筆劃的關鍵是平衡由重疊線創建的正負空間。 另外,注意筆劃粗細和粗細交叉之間的比例。 不要讓兩個一樣粗的筆劃相交,因為它會產生極度厚重的正空間。 再次,平衡是這裡的關鍵 !

ScriptLettering-Flourish-LoopScriptLettering-Flourish-LoopScriptLettering-Flourish-Loop

第 3 步

然後,讓我們來練習收尾筆劃。 這不是一個正確的術語,是我對這個特定筆劃進行分類的方法。 不管怎麼樣,就像之前一樣開始描摹。 如果你覺得你在這個筆劃上有很好的把握,請接著繪製多個筆劃。 注意縮放大小,對比度以及一致性!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-TailScriptLettering-Flourish-TailScriptLettering-Flourish-Tail

第 4 步

接著,我們練習s曲線。 它可能看起來很簡單,但觀察筆觸厚度的微妙變化以及高度的微妙變化。 就像我們之前一樣,一遍又一遍地練習這個筆劃,直到你很好地掌握了這個技術。

ScriptLettering-Flourish-SCurveScriptLettering-Flourish-SCurveScriptLettering-Flourish-SCurve

第 5 步

最後,我們練習圖中的8種筆劃。 這是更複雜的筆劃之一,因為需要平衡一切以及注意筆劃交叉的位置。 就像循環圈一樣,注意筆觸相交時的厚度。 通過描摹或手繪來練習其中的一些技巧!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-Figure8ScriptLettering-Flourish-Figure8ScriptLettering-Flourish-Figure8

第 6 步

將這些技術應用到你下一個字體設計作品中 !

你可能已經註意到我的Bury The Past設計中,它有一個誇張的s曲線蓬勃發展的小寫字母的出口筆劃。 這就是通過“自然地”方式豐富它而不是牽強的豐富字體。 簡單的s形曲線平衡負的空間,創造了一個美麗和緊緻的整體。

Bury the Past finished compositionBury the Past finished compositionBury the Past finished composition

結論

看起來很複雜,對不對? 練習和重複是成功的關鍵 ! 我向你保證,不停地臨摹,不斷地繪圖、 不斷地完善和你會看到你的進步。 手寫字體是絕對需要多年練習才能完全掌握其外觀和精髓,所以不要氣餒。 如果你有任何問題,請在下面留下你的問題,我可以為你排憂解難。 祝你好運!

关注我们的公众号
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Hand Lettering
Design

Hand Lettering: Scripts, Swirls, & Flourishes

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Hand Lettering Fundamentals.
Hand Lettering: Understanding Types of Type
Hand Lettering: Mastering Brush-Script
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Alright guys, this tutorial is probably my personal favorite because of my love for script lettering and its ability to communicate a wide variety of messages. In this tutorial you’re going to learn the basics of informal (also known as casual) and formal script lettering.  By the end, you will have a grasp of stroke weights, contrast, kerning, flourishing, speed, angle, and other techniques that are used to develop script lettering.

Let’s tackle the script lettering first, and then move forward into flourishing. We'll cover the basics to begin, and then we’ll add on the embellishments and other bells and whistles so that your typography stands out from the rest and appears more “custom”. After all, that is what “lettering” is all about: custom and unique hand-drawn typography! 

Pre-Tutorial Reading

Before we actually begin this tutorial, I want to provide you all with some much-needed information that will help your overall understanding of the below methods. 

I highly recommend you look into my previous two classes before beginning this one, since this material is for an intermediate level letterer. A good knowledge of typography sure is useful! Those classes can be found here: Hand Lettering: Letterforms at Their Core and Understanding Types of Type.

So, what exactly defines "script lettering"? Script, cursive, calligraphy and other terms are all used interchangeably. Script essentially refers to letterforms that are joined together by a single movement of the hand. But, in this case, since we're drawing, it will be the buildup of pencil strokes. It will consist of many, many strokes that will be made to develop and refine the letterforms... rather than completing the letterforms in one movement as you would with calligraphy.

Now, some of you may be wondering, what's the difference between formal and informal script lettering? Formal script is connected back to the good old days of penmanship when it was actually a thing, beginning around the 16th century and onwards. Sadly, penmanship is a dying art due to technology. Public schools (here in the US) don't even require cursive as part of the curriculum any longer! 

Anyway, back on topic, scripts such as Roundhand, Spencerian and Copperplate are all considered formal script because of the construction and methods to form the letters. All of them were written with a pointed nib and ink. These letterforms had a specific slope, angle (around 50+ degrees—it varies between penmen), speed, etc. If you're wondering where you can see such wonderful penmanship, The Declaration of Independence was written in Copperplate script! The Coca-Cola logo even contains some characteristics of Spencerian script. 

On the other hand, we have informal script, which is much more flexible. It has some roots within formal script, such as letterform construction, but it has the ability to be completely unique from its origin.The overall speed, composition, color, size, and other factors vary with informal script. Altering the width, angle, size, contrast and other characteristics of a letterform can create unique informal script letterforms.

If you have any questions regarding script during or following this tutorial, feel free to ask! I'm always willing to share more knowledge with you.

Now, let's get to it! 

1. Preparing the Tools You Will Need

  1. Tracing paper
  2. Graph paper
  3. Pencil
  4. This PDF (for when we tackle flourishing)

We're going to refine our lettering a lot! So, lots and lots of tracing paper is necessary. Since we'll just be drawing letterforms, grab your favorite pencil, eraser, sharpener, etc. Anything you need to help you draw.

Download the attached PDF for your viewing pleasure. My advice is to print it out (you have the option to trace flourishes later on) to have it in front of you while completing this tutorial!

ScriptLettering-Tools

2. Formal Script

We're going to begin by understanding basic shapes and strokes that create formal script letterforms. For this whole portion of the tutorial, we're going to focus on drawing the word "design" (all lowercase). This word has a large combination of basic strokes that you can later utilize for formal lettering pieces. 

Utilizing the strokes in this word and understanding their formation will provide you with the understanding to draw nearly any letter/word, since they're all comprised of the same basic strokes.

I provided some gifs so you can see a breakdown of each stroke that composes each letterform. Mastering these strokes is the key to success! Let's get started.

Step 1 

Prepare a piece of graph paper for this portion of the tutorial! Let's create our baseline, cap-height, and x-height for our letters to sit within. Start in the middle of the page and add a dotted line to form the x-height. Next, from the middle, count out three squares upwards and draw a line. Then, three squares downwards and draw a line.  

Boom! You've now got yourself your cap-height, x-height, and baseline.

ScriptLettering-Guide

Step 2

From here, we need to establish an angle/slope for all of our letters to follow. Begin drawing angled lines (around a 45 degree) angle every one or two squares. Once you're done, it should look something like the below photo.

ScriptLettering-Slope-Guide

Step 3

Alright! Now that you have your graph paper ready with your guides, place a blank piece of tracing paper over the guide you just created.

Let's now begin constructing the "d" of  the word design. The lowercase "d" contains two strokes. One is an oval shape (this forms the bowl of the "d") while the other is the stem. Begin forming the oval shape up to the x-height of our graph paper. Then, add the stem, which will extend to the cap-height. It should look something like the below photo.

ScriptLettering-Formal-d

Step 4

Moving onward to the "e", you'll notice this letterform utilizes the same oval shape. Pay attention to the slope/angle of the "e" and match it to the angle of the "d" you just drew.

ScriptLettering-Formal-e

Step 5 

Next, let's tackle the "s". This letterform is probably the most difficult to master due to its complex structure. A little tip to watch for: the bowl of the "s" should appear round and not too flat. Additionally, the top of the "s" structure actually extends above the x-height. This is to balance the negative space and weight of the letterform compared to the others. It would appear rather small in scale if the top of the "s" just met with the x-height.

ScriptLettering-Formal-s

Step 6

Alright, now that we've practiced that complex "s", let's draw a much easier letterform: the "i". This is essentially a half stem (similar to the stem of the "d" but about half the size). For a successful "i", pay attention to the distance of the tittle (the dot of the eye) and the stem. If it's too far, it'll have too much negative space around it. Watch the negative space created by the distance of the tittle and you'll be golden.

ScriptLettering-Formal-i

Step 7

Continuing onward, this "g" shouldn't be too difficult. It's almost an upside-down "d" in terms of size and structure. One thing to pay attention to is the change in weight in the descender of the "g" as it extends upward towards the "n". This form should be a piece of cake after some practice. It contains yet another oval shape for the bowl of the "g" and a stem to form the descender.

ScriptLettering-Formal-g

Step 8

This is it! The last letterform in our word, the "n". The structure of this letterform is comprised of two strokes. One short stem (connected to the g, in this case) and a second stem connected to the first.

ScriptLettering-Formal-n

And here is our completed word, "design", below. Again, these basic strokes you drew within this word can be used for all other letters/words. Just keep practicing and you'll begin to understand the structure even more! It's all about practice!

Conclusion

ScriptLettering-Formal-complete

Notice anything strange about the completed word? The kerning between the "g" and "n" appears a bit more open than the rest of the letterform pairings, right? With formal script, a slightly larger space is needed to accommodate the joining stroke. You want all your letterforms to connect gracefully with a coulée (French word, meaning to flow) join rather than an abrupt join. 

3. Informal/Casual Script

Step 1 

Taking what you know about formal script, let's now apply those basic techniques to draw some informal lettering.

For this entire tutorial we’re going to draw and redraw the same phrase over and over. Now, it's entirely up to you to decide what your phrase should say. But, you’re more than welcome to use the same phrase as me, which is: Bury The Past.

So, if you’re not using the above phrase I provided, take this time to brainstorm a phrase or search for one within song lyrics, movies, etc.

ScriptLettering-Phrase

Step 2

Just like most lettering projects, we'll start out in the conceptualizing and brainstorming phase. We’re going to begin drawing out comps for the typography to really reach its full potential. The best way to quickly sketch out ideas is to utilize shapes, arcs, lines, etc., for the type to live in or follow. Just like the below example, sketch some ideas out to help you decide which layout would be best for your chosen phrase.

For this stage of the process, it's great to begin working small so you can quickly get all your ideas onto the page. Then, later on, increase scale for fine-tuning those letterforms.

ScriptLettering-Concepts

Step 3

Next, after you've sketched out some varieties, select one of those that you think is working best to continue working further on it. At this stage, I like to scan that piece of lettering into the computer and enlarge it to begin working on a larger scale. 

So, either scan it into the computer and print it out, or just redraw the lettering at a larger size, whatever method is easiest for you.

ScriptLettering-Selected-Concept

Step 4

Once you've got your large-scale lettering good to go, you can now refine even further. Be prepared to draw and redraw your lettering. At this stage, we're trying to fine-tune your kerning, negative space, connections, and overall composition. Once you refine, refine, refine, you're going to have a finished "skeleton" of your lettering.

ScriptLettering-Informal-1

Step 5

Next, we're going to continue to refine and add contrast to the lettering. This is the stage where you can take the lettering in any direction you'd like. For me, I'm leaning towards a really fluid and brush-like feel. I want to incorporate a nice rhythm and distinctive style, adding on some "spurs" to the vertical strokes. 

Take this time to begin adding weight to your lettering. This is where you decide if you'd like your lettering to have a high contrast or low contrast between the thick and thin strokes.

ScriptLettering-Informal-2

Step 6

Again, we're just going to continue refining the letterforms until perfection. At this point, I'm continuing to add weight as well as paying attention to the kerning, negative space and connections between letterforms. As you add weight to your lettering, all those variables will change! Open up the space between the letterforms if the areas get too dark with the extra weight you're adding to your letters.

ScriptLettering-Informal-3

Step 7

You might not notice many differences between the previous step and this one. But if you look closely I'm altering the kerning and placement of certain letterforms. As you can see, on the previous image I made notes to myself to open up the kerning. Additionally, I drew angled lines to make sure all the letterforms follow the same angle throughout. Make more adjustments and refinements to those letterforms until the color (overall positive and negative space) and composition are working fluidly.

Take this time to redraw letterforms that might need more adjustments. You might need to tweak the spacing or connections, or make corrections if they're all not following the same angle.

ScriptLettering-Informal-3

Step 8

This is the final stage of my lettering! I've fine-tuned the letters enough to have an even color throughout, nice balance, rhythm, and an even composition as well.

Take this time to cleanly redraw the letterforms until completion. After many stages of redrawing, we've got ourselves a nicely composed group of letters! 

ScriptLettering-Informal-4

Here's the entire process. It's all about the refinements!

ScriptLettering-Informal-Process

What about vectoring?

Looking to take your lettering further on the computer? Need a better grasp of the Pen Tool in Illustrator? In a future tutorial, I'll be using this piece of lettering to progress further into vector format. Stay tuned!

4. Flourishing

Before we begin this section of the tutorial, I want to provide a few rules and things to remember. First and foremost, flourishing doesn't automatically make your lettering better, nor is it needed in every lettering piece that you complete. Use caution when deciding the appropriate time to add flourishing to your next lettering piece. 

Next, another important rule to remember is to add flourishing from the exit and entry strokes of your letterforms. Ascenders and descenders are perfect places. But make sure you do so naturally instead of forcing it to happen.

Last thing to note before we get started: flourishing is something that needs to be balanced and refined, just as you did above with your lettering. Flourishing creates positive and negative space, so of course you need to balance those positive and negative spaces you create with your flourishes. Balance is key to flourishing.

Step 1

We're going to begin practicing basic flourishing strokes. Download the provided PDF and print it out to view the basic strokes. We're just going to focus on the strokes themselves. Once you nail down these techniques, you can then apply them to your lettering. 

Let's begin drawing the Spiral flourish. Place a blank piece of paper over your printed PDF. Begin tracing the spiral flourish until you've nailed down the muscle movement your arm and wrist perform. Once you've practiced tracing it over and over, try to draw it without tracing!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-Spiral

Step 2

Let's now do the same with the next flourish stroke, the loop. Place a new piece of paper over your printed out reference sheet and begin tracing the loop stroke. Practice until you feel you can take it on without tracing.

The key to perfecting this stroke is balancing the positive and negative space created by the overlapping lines. Additionally, make sure heavier and more weighted portions of the stroke cross over the light-weight portion of the stroke. Never allow two heavy strokes to interact because that creates an eyesore of extremely weighted positive space. Again, here it's all about balance!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-Loop

Step 3

Next, let's tackle the tail stroke. This isn't a correct term, it's just my way of classifying this particular stroke. Anyway, feel free to begin tracing just as we have before. If you feel that you have a good grasp on this stroke, practice drawing multiple strokes one after another. Pay attention to scale, contrast, and of course, consistency!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-Tail

Step 4

Continuing further, we'll be practicing the s-curve. It may seem simple enough, but watch the subtle change in weight as well as the subtle change in height. Just as we did before, practice this stroke over and over until you've got a good grasp on the technique.

ScriptLettering-Flourish-SCurve

Step 5

Lastly, let's practice the figure 8 stroke. This is one of the more complicated strokes because of the need to balance everything as well as paying attention to stroke intersections. Just as with the loop, make sure you watch the weight of the strokes as they intersect. Practice drawing a few of these by tracing or practicing freehand!

ScriptLettering-Flourish-Figure8

Step 6

Apply these techniques to your next lettering piece! 

You may have noticed in my Bury The Past piece, it has a exaggerated s-curve flourish extending off the exit stroke of the lowercase s. This is what I mean by applying flourishing "naturally" instead of forcing it. The simple s-curve flourish balances the negative space and fits everything nice and tight to create a much better overall composition.

Bury the Past finished composition

Conclusion

It's definitely difficult, right? Practice and repetition are the keys to success! Keep tracing, keep drawing, keep refining and you'll see your progress, I promise you. Script lettering is something that definitely takes years of practice to fully grasp all the ins and outs, so don't get discouraged. If you have any questions at all, feel free to post below and I'll be able to help you out. Good luck!

Extra Resources

If you're interested in getting some help with your lettering, Envato Studio has a great collection of Lettering & Calligraphy Specialists that you might like to explore. 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.