Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Hand Lettering

Ручная пропись: освоение Brush-Script

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Hand Lettering Fundamentals.
Hand Lettering: Scripts, Swirls, & Flourishes
Hand Lettering: How to Vector Your Letterforms

Russian (Pусский) translation by Yuri Yuriev (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Предварительное чтение

Прежде, чем начать урок, я хочу предложить информацию, которая поможет вам понять не только конструкцию кисти, но её происхождение и некоторые другие детали. Кроме того, этот урок в значительной степени опирается на предыдущие из Script-Lettering tutorial. Почти каждый метод, описанный в прошлом классе, будет применяться и в этом руководстве.

Существует множество способов создания кистей для письма. Всё зависит от стиля, используемых инструментов, формы букв и т. д. Выражение «Brush-lettering» буквально означает здесь «надпись, сделанная кистью». С учетом этого, Roman Capitals, другие заглавные буквы и даже sans-serif буквы могут быть сделаны кистью. Технически все они будут brush-lettering.

Brush-lettering датируются временами, когда римляне и греки писали свои письма. Но в то время, я уверен, это просто называлось «письмом» или «почерком» и не обязательно кистью.

Brush letterforms (в частности, пропись кистью) стали широко популярными в 1800-х и начале 1900-х годов, когда рисование знаков потребовалось для рекламы, витрин и т. д. Ими широко пользовались из-за скорости и удобства. Почему пропись кистью быстрее по сравнению с другими методами? Как правило (зависит от писаря), строчный и верхний регистры могут быть записаны одним-четырьмя ударами кисти. Для serif, sans serif, slab serif, etc., требуется несколько дополнительных штрихов на букву.

Эта же конструкция используется до сих пор, потому что традиция была передана через ученичество. Что действительно здорово, так это то, что все знаковые художники имеют свои собственные причуды и методы в изготовлении кистей. Это означает, что почти каждая буква прописи выглядит совершенно уникальной (если ее писать/рисовать вручную).

Теперь вернемся к уроку - мы не будем фокусироваться на формировании букв кистью, поскольку для этого требуется многолетняя практика (и мастер для обучения). Кроме того, у нас есть возможность создавать brush-letterforms без кисти!

Вместо кистей мы будем использовать brush-pens, которые создадут тот же эффект и конструкцию. Эти современные инструменты берегут время, которое обычно требуется для создания прописи буквы. Поскольку мы пишем ручкой, не надо доставать краски, тонкие кисти, чашки dixie и т. д.

Остались вопросы относительно прописи кистью или brush-letterforms в целом? Пишите в комментариях. Ну, начинаем!

1. Готовим необходимые инструменты

MasteringBrushLettering-Tools-You-Need
  1. Калька ИЛИ бумага для маркера (подходит, поскольку прозрачна и позволит увидеть надписи)
  2. Tombow Brush Pen или Copic Marker (оба подходят для brush lettering)
  3. Карандаш
  4. This PDF
  5. По желанию: если вы действительно хотите сделать этот урок кистью, я настоятельно рекомендую Mack 6 Lettering Quill и краску Tempera.

Мы будем править наши надписи, поэтому понадобится много кальки. Поскольку мы собираемся рисовать буквы, возьмите любимый карандаш, ластик, точилку и всё, что вам нужно.

Загрузите файл PDF для образца. Распечатайте его (чтобы иметь возможность обводки линий), чтобы он был под рукой до конца занятия.

2. Упражнения с базовыми штрихами

Прежде чем мы начнём выписывать какие-либо буквы, нам нужно понять конструкцию brush-letterforms. В этом разделе вы узнаете о правильных углах, скорости, пропорции, окончаниях линии и многом другом.

Я не могу точно сказать, как правильно держать ручку, потому что «правильный» и «неправильный» способ держать кисть зависит от того, как вам это нравится. Независимо от того, правша вы или левша, описанный ниже метод одинаков для всех. Я левша и работаю справа налево, чтобы не размазывать. Сквозь пробы и ошибки, а также практику, вы найдете то, что лучше всего вам подходит.

Хорошо, давайте начинать!

Шаг 1

Используя готовый PDF и ваш Tombow Brush-Pen или Copic Marker, давайте начнем с обводки толстых мазков кисти. Эти штрихи помогут сформировать каждую из ваших букв. Они, как правило, будут нисходящими (когда вы проносите кисточку вниз и прижимаете).

Обратите внимание, что к нижней части штрих сужается и становится немного тоньше. Почему так? Это сужение позволяет letterforms не становиться слишком тяжёлыми при соединении штрихов.

MasteringBrushLettering-Thick-Stroke-Practice

Шаг 2

Если вы освоились, давайте перейдём к тонким штрихам. Эти тонкие штрихи - восходящие штрихи букв (когда вы поднимаете кисть вверх и слегка прикасаетесь).

Немного поупражняйтесь, обводя тонкие линии снова и снова, пока не начнёте схватывать угол и скорость. Вес ваших тонких штрихов может слегка уменьшаться в зависимости от letterforms. Когда вы формируете буквы, обращайте внимание на тяжёлую/толстую область и распределяйте цвет (комбинацию положительного и отрицательного пространства), если он становится слишком тяжёлым.

Попробуйте рисовать сверху вниз и снизу вверх для разнообразия. Поддерживайте последовательность, расстояние и вес.

MasteringBrushLettering-Thin-Stroke-Practice

Шаг 3

Следующей непрерывной линией, которую вы нарисуете, будет овал. Рисуйте сверху или снизу, как вы привыкли. Начните с обводки по образцу, а затем попробуйте самостоятельно, чтобы приучить мышцы кисти и руки.

Эта линия немного сложнее, так как ваша кисть не должна отрываться - это один непрерывный ход. По сути, это всего лишь вопрос нажима, чтобы сформировать ваши толстые и тонкие места.

MasteringBrushLettering-Oval-Stroke-Practice

Шаг 4

Последний практический штрих по существу является строчным «n». Эта базовая буква объединяет знания того, что вы только что узнали о толстых и тонких штрихах. Единственная разница здесь в соединениях штрихов.

Вспомните, что я говорил о сужении толстых штрихов - это важно для поддержания равномерного веса. Кроме того, обратите внимание, где кончик первого «n» подключается к следующему «n» в строке. Если вы посмотрите внимательно, то увидите, что выходной хвостик соединяется довольно высоко и очень плавно с вертикальным ходом следующего «n». Используйте эти знания для всех letterforms. Убедитесь, что ваши соединения гладкие и совпадают со следующей формой в строке.

MasteringBrushLettering-n-Stroke-Practice

3. Круглый Brush Script

Хорошо, ребята, после того, как вы научились основам штриха, я думаю, вы готовы применить эти методы к целому кусочку brush-script . Сначала мы создадим круглый brush-script, затем переходим к более угловатой прописи. Замечательная вещь в изучении обоих типов заключается в том, что вы увидите, как легко сделать небольшие изменения наклона, угла, скорости ваших надписей, чтобы они казались более уникальными и разнообразными. Начнём с базового круглого brush-script.

Шаг 1

Как и в Script-Lettering tutorial, мы собираемся записать кучу фраз/крючков на выбор. Я рекомендую то, что имеет для вас смысл, потому что тогда рисование становится более личным и приятным. Я напишу "New York City", потому что собираюсь туда переехать и это мне очень близко. Но вы можете рисовать что-то значимое для себя. Получайте от этого удовольствие!

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Selecting-Phrase

Шаг 2

Теперь, когда мы выбрали фразу, давайте скомпонуем образ этого типа. Используя карандаш и бумагу, быстро нарисуйте столько идей, сколько сможете, чтобы как-то скрепить слова. Возможно, вы измените базовый уровень, расцветки и т. д. - всё, что вы можете придумать, чтобы создать приятную композицию.

Помните: эскиз маленький и быстрый - вы экономите время и создаёте множество вариантов, не принимая во внимание, как выглядят все буквы. Позже мы доведём letterforms, чтобы они отображались именно так, как вы хотите. Сейчас мы просто думаем о композиции и формируем «скелет» наших надписей.

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Selected-Phrase-Concepts

Шаг 3

После создания концепции выберите ту, которая, по вашему мнению, лучше всего подходит. Затем отсканируйте или сделайте копию, увеличьте для настройки деталей. Свою форму я просмотрел в компьютере и увеличил, чтобы она поместилась на листе размером 8.5 "x 11".

Увеличенный фрагмент письма, который вы только что создали, считается «скелетом» или основой. Возьмём это в качестве образца, когда мы начнём использовать Tombow Brush-Pen.

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Selected-Phrase-Enlarged

Шаг 4

Теперь, когда ваш скелет (каркас) готов, положим сверху лист кальки и вернёмся к работе. Начните с перерисовки вашей надписи кистью. Обратите внимание на угол, промежутки между буквами, общий цвет, хвостики и т. д.

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Traced-Skeleton

Шаг 5

Начинаем править, править и править до совершенства. На этом этапе возьмите предыдущую lettering  и накройте ещё одним листом кальки. Постарайтесь исправить то, что вас беспокоит. Я пытаюсь поработать с базовой линией и исправить некоторые проблемы кернинга. Я ищу, как сделать этот кусок более живым и плавным.

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Refining-Baseline

Шаг 6

Следуя дальше, продолжайте обводить и переделывать свои буквы, пока не добьётесь прочной основы. Устраните недочёты кернинга и углов (чтобы они были однообразными), и убедитесь, что все соединения гладкие и с высокой талией. Продолжайте рисовать фразу снова и снова, пока она не будет готова к следующему этапу: карандашу.

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Correcting-Kerning

Шаг 7

Теперь мы в точке, когда можно взять нарисованные кистью надписи и начать обводку карандашом, исправляя стыки, хвостики и любые другие проблемные области. Как вы можете видеть на фотографии, я все ещё устраняю некоторые проблемы кернинга с предыдущего шага.

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Pencil-Sketch

Шаг 8

Мы дошли до конца! Я исправил много мелких проблемных областей и закрепил надпись по своему вкусу. Заштрихуйте готовую надпись карандашом, чтобы вы могли увидеть положительное и отрицательное пространство. Если нужно, обведите свои надписи один или два раза, пока не достигнете заключительной стадии.

Из .gif ниже вы можете видеть, что lettering  - это долгий путь достижения идеала. Это требует времени!

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Final-Project

MasteringBrushLettering-Roundhand-Process

4. Угловатый Brush Script

Давайте теперь повторим тот же базовый процесс/концепт, но вместо округления стыков мы сделаем их очень плоскими и угловатыми. Для этой надписи вы можете использовать ту же фразу, что и раньше или выбрать новую. Я опять возьму "New York City", чтобы вы могли видеть, насколько просто создать совершенно другой lettering точно такими же инструментами.

Начинаем!

Шаг 1

Как и раньше, быстро набросайте различные способы написания фразы. Когда вы рисуете letterforms очень быстро, появляются уникальные чёрточки, которые исчезают, когда вы рисуете медленно и думаете об этом. Набросайте столько наборов, сколько возможно, чтобы выбрать вариант для продвижения.

И не беспокойтесь о том, как это выглядит: отполируем в процессе правок.

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Selecting-A-Phrase

Шаг 2

Выберите одну концепцию связки, которая лучше всего подходит для дальнейшей работы. Затем сканируйте и увеличьте его, чтобы вы могли точно настроить детали. Свой я увеличил, чтобы он поместился на листе бумаги размером 8.5 "x 11".

Используя этот скелет, выполним тот же процесс, что и в случае с круглым brush-script.

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Enlarging-Phrase

Шаг 3

Возьмите, как и раньше, Tombow Brush Pun или Copic Marker и обведите каркас. На этот раз обратите внимание на соединения и углы суставов ваших букв. На этот раз мы собираемся сделать их более суровыми и плоскими.

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Tracing-Skeleton

Шаг 4

Двигаясь вперёд, возьмите надпись из «Шаг 3» и начните обводку поверх неё, чтобы исправить ошибки. На этот раз я исправляю углы, наклон, точки соединения и хвосты, чтобы всё было более плоскими и резкими.

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Correcting-Composition

Шаг 5

Мы приближаемся к тому моменту, когда сможем продолжить работу с карандашом. Обводите brush-lettering ещё и ещё раз, пока не останетесь довольны результатом.    Если композиция, интервалы, цвет и т. д. выглядят хорошо, давайте начнём обводку карандашом!

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Correcting-Kerning

Шаг 6

На этом этапе у вас должен быть грубый карандашный эскиз с заштрихованными буквами, чтобы увидеть, как работает цвет. Вы знаете, что надо перерисовывать вашу фразу для устранения проблемных областей. Как видно по наброску, я исправляю вопросы кернинга, снова меняя базовую линию и исправляю концы / углы штрихов.

Мы почти у цели! Продолжайте править. Нужны терпение и настойчивость!

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Making-Minor-Edits-To-Kerning

Шаг 7

Это оно! Начните перерисовывать свои lettering начисто, потому что вы уже у цели.

Хорошо, ребята, у нас получилось - законченная надпись. После многих правок я достиг ровного цвета, красивой композиции и последовательных углов и мазков.

Но я думаю пройти подальше, чтобы сделать его более «ручным» на следующем шаге.

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Final-Pencil-Drawing

Шаг 8

Взяв надпись, которую вы только что закончили, вы можете сделать то же самое и удалить немного веса из хвостов букв. Я слегка подрезал lettering, чтобы удалить немного веса и облегчить нагрузку на эти довольно тяжёлые мазки.

Смотреть весь процесс от начала до конца - это всегда круто. Предоставляю .gif для вашего удовольствия. Вы можете посмотреть начало и конец проекта lettering - всегда приятно видеть свой прогресс!

MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Additional-Customization
MasteringBrushLettering-Angular-Process

Но подождите, надпись «Что вы будете создавать» белая на чёрном? Точно! Если вы хотите повторить, то всё, что я сделал, это инвертировал цвета в Photoshop. Если инвертировать белый лист бумаги с чёрными буквами, то бумага станет чёрной, а буквы белыми!

Заключение

Brush-script  - это вызов! Мне потребовалось немало времени, чтобы узнать ходы-выходы. Не теряйтесь, если получилось не так, как хотелось. После хорошей практики вы будете готовы к созданию проектов с индивидуальным brush-script lettering. Если у вас есть какие-либо вопросы, напишите и я смогу вам помочь. Удачи!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Hand Lettering

Hand Lettering: Mastering Brush-Script

This post is part of a series called Hand Lettering Fundamentals.
Hand Lettering: Scripts, Swirls, & Flourishes
Hand Lettering: How to Vector Your Letterforms
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Pre-Tutorial Reading

Before we dive too deep into the tutorial, I want to provide you with some information to help you understand not only brush-lettering construction, but also its origin and some other details. Also, this tutorial relies heavily on previous learned techniques in my Script-Lettering tutorial. Just about every technique explained in that previous class will be used throughout this tutorial.

To begin, there are a wide variety of ways one can create some brush-lettering. It all depends on the style, tools used, letterforms being created, etc. The word "Brush-lettering" is fairly broad and that literally means, "lettering created with a brush". With that said, Roman Capitals, other serif letterforms, and even sans-serif letterform can all be formed with a brush. So, technically, they can all be considered brush-lettering.

Brush-lettering dates back centuries to when the Romans and Greeks were forming their letterforms. But, back then, I'm sure it was just called "writing" or "handwriting" and not necessarily brush-lettering.

Brush letterforms (specifically brush script) became widely popular in the 1800s and early 1900s when sign-painting was needed for nearly all advertising needs, storefronts, etc. It was widely used because of its speed and functionality. Why was brush script so fast compared to other letterforms? Generally (depending on the sign-painter), the lowercase and uppercase brush script could be written in one to four strokes of the brush. Serif, sans serif, slab serif, etc., all required a couple of extra strokes to form just one letter.

That same construction is still used to this day because the tradition was passed down through apprenticeships. What's really cool is that all sign-painters have their own quirks and techniques to make their brush script. That means that nearly every brush-script letterform looks completely unique (if painted/drawn by hand that is).

Now, back to this tutorial—we won't be focusing on forming letterforms with a paintbrush since that requires many years of practice (and a master to apprentice with) to perfect. Additionally, we have the ability to create brush-letterforms without the need of a brush! 

So instead of paintbrushes, we will be using brush-pens, which will create the same effect and construction as a regular brush. These modern-day tools help speed up the time it would generally take to create a brush-script letterform. Since we're using a pen, there's no need to get out paints, paint thinner, dixie cups, etc.

Have any other questions regarding brush-script or brush-letterforms in general? Feel free to leave a comment below. Now, let's get started!

1. Preparing the Tools You Will Need

  1. Tracing paper OR Marker paper (either will be fine since they're transparent and will allow you to trace your lettering)
  2. Tombow Brush Pen OR Copic Marker (both allow you to create brush lettering)
  3. Pencil
  4. This PDF
  5. Optional: If you do indeed want to do this tutorial with a paintbrush, I highly recommend a Mack 6 Lettering Quill and some Tempera paint

We're going to refine our lettering, so lots of tracing paper is necessary. Since we'll just be drawing letterforms, grab your favorite pencil, eraser, sharpener, etc. Anything you need to help you draw.

Download the attached PDF for your viewing pleasure. My advice is to print it out (you have the option to trace basic brush-strokes later on) to have it in front of you while completing this tutorial.

2. Practicing Basic Strokes

Before we begin creating any letters, we need to understand the construction of brush-letterforms. In this section, you will learn about proper angles, speed, proportion, stroke endings, and much more.

As for how to hold/use the pen, I can't exactly say there is a "right" and "wrong" way of holding the brush-pen, because honestly, it's all up to you to determine just how you like it. Whether you're left- or right-handed, the process below will work for anyone. I'm left-handed so I just work right to left to prevent smearing. Through trial and error, as well as practice, you'll find what works best for you. 

Alright, let's get to it!

Step 1 

Using the downloadable PDF I provided and your Tombow Brush-Pen or Copic Marker, let's begin by tracing over the thick brush strokes. These strokes will help form every single one of your letterforms. They're generally going to be the downward strokes (when you bring the brush-pen downward and apply pressure).

Notice with the thick strokes that towards the bottom of the stroke, the weight tapers and gets slightly thinner. Why is that? That tapering allows the connections of your letterforms not to get too heavy when joined with another stroke.


Step 2

If you're feeling comfortable with your thick strokes, let's move on to drawing the thin strokes. These thin strokes are the upward strokes of letterforms (when you bring the brush-pen upward and apply very little pressure).

Let's now practice by tracing the thin strokes over and over until you get a good grasp on angle and speed. The weight on your thin strokes can taper ever so slightly depending on your letterforms. When you begin forming letters, just pay attention to the heavy/thicker area and begin to distribute the color (the combination of both positive and negative space) if it gets too heavy.

Try drawing from top to bottom as well as bottom to top for an extra challenge. Maintain the same consistency, spacing, and weight throughout.


Step 3

Moving forward, the next continuous stroke you'll draw is the oval shape. Begin at the top or the bottom, whichever you prefer. Start by tracing the guide page provided, and then try some on your own to really nail down the muscle movements your hand and arm make. 

This stroke can be a bit tricky, since your brush should never leave the page—it's one continuous stroke. Essentially, it's just a matter of determining when and how much pressure to apply to form your thicks and thins.


Step 4

The last practice stroke we will be completing is essentially a lowercase "n". This basic letterform combines the knowledge you just learned about thick and thin strokes. The only difference here is that you have to be aware of the stroke connections.

Recall when I mentioned the tapering of the thick strokes—this is essential when connecting strokes to maintain an even weight. Additionally, notice where the exit stroke of the first "n" is connecting to the following "n" next in line. If you look closely, you'll see that the exit stroke is connecting fairly high and very smoothly with the vertical stroke of the following "n". Use this knowledge from here on out with all your letterforms. Make sure your connections are smooth and begin near the entry stroke of the letterform next in line.


3. Roundhand Brush Script

Alright guys, after you've practiced enough of your basic strokes, I think you'll be ready to apply those techniques to a finished brush-script piece. We're first going to create a roundhand brush-script, then move onward to a more angular brush script. The wonderful thing about learning both types is that you'll be able to see just how easy it is to make minor edits to the slope, angle, speed, etc., of your lettering to make it appear more unique and give it variety. Let's now begin some basic roundhand brush-script.

Step 1

Just as we did in the previous Script-Lettering tutorial, we're going to write down a bunch of phrases/quotes that we might choose to draw. I recommend something that resonates or has meaning to you because it then becomes more personal and enjoyable to draw. I am going to select the words, "New York City", because in a short while, I'll be moving there—it seems fitting for me to draw this at this time. But, for you, select something that means something to you. Have fun with it!


Step 2

Now that we have our phrase selected, let's move onward to conceptualizing some lockups for that type. Using a pencil and paper, quickly sketch out as many ideas as you can to somehow fit the words together nicely. Maybe you could use an alternating baseline, flourishes, etc.—anything and everything you can think of to form a nice composition. 

Remember: sketch small and fast—this way you save time and create a wide variety of options without taking into consideration how all the letterforms look. Later on we will finesse the letterforms to appear exactly how you want them. For now, we're just worried about composition and forming the "skeleton" of our lettering.


Step 3

After conceptualizing some type lockups, select one of them that you think is working best to move forward with. Next, use a copy machine or scanner and enlarge that piece of lettering so you can fine-tune the details. For the lettering I selected below, I scanned it into the computer and enlarged it enough to fit on a 8.5" x 11" piece of printer paper.

The enlarged piece of lettering you just created is considered the "skeleton" or the framework for what's to come. We will be using this as a guide when we begin using the Tombow Brush-Pen.


Step 4

Now that your skeleton (framework) is good to go, let's throw a piece of tracing paper on top and get to work. Begin by redrawing your lettering with your brush-pen. Pay attention to angle, letter-spacing, overall color, stroke endings, etc.


Step 5

Next, we will begin to refine, refine, refine until perfection. At this point, take your previous lettering and place another piece of tracing paper on top. Try to fix things that might be bothering you. For me, I'm trying to develop an alternating baseline with the letterforms as well as fix some kerning issues. I'm looking to make this piece more lively and give it some flow.


Step 6

Continuing further, keep tracing and retracing your letters until you reach a solid foundation. Fix your kerning issues and angles (so they're all uniform and consistent), and make sure your connections are smooth and high-waisted. Keep drawing the phrase over and over until it's ready to move onto the next stage: pencil.


Step 7

We've now reached the point where we can take our brush-drawn lettering and begin redrawing the lettering with pencil to perfect connections, stroke endings, and any other problem areas. As you can see with the below photo, I'm still working out some kerning issues from the previous step.


Step 8

We've reached the end! I've fixed a lot of the minor problem areas and finessed the lettering to my liking. Begin to fill in your finished piece of lettering with pencil so you can truly see the positive and negative space. If need be, begin to trace your lettering once or twice more until it reaches its final stage.

From the process .gif below, you can see that lettering sure is a long and lengthy process to really perfect. These things take time! 



4. Angular Brush Script

Let's now begin the same basic process/concepts, but instead of rounding our connections, we're going to make them very flat and angular. For this piece of lettering, you may either utilize the same phrase as before, or choose a new one. But I'll be using "New York City" again so you can see just how easy it is to create an entirely different piece of lettering while utilizing exactly the same tools.

Let's get started!

Step 1

Beginning in exactly the same way as before, quickly sketch out various ways to draw your phrase. When you draw your letterforms very quickly, sometimes unique characteristics with your letters can occur, things you wouldn't normally draw when you're slowly thinking about what you're drawing. Jot down as many lockups as possible before selecting a final to progress further with. 

Again, don't worry about what it looks like—we'll make it look more polished and complete through the process.


Step 2

After conceptualizing type lockups, select one of them that you think is working best to move forward with. Next, use a copy machine or scanner and enlarge that piece of lettering so you can fine-tune the details. For the lettering I selected below, I scanned it into the computer and enlarged it enough to fit on a 8.5" x 11" piece of printer paper.

Let's now use this skeleton and complete the same process as we did with the roundhand brush-script.


Step 3

Just as you did before, get out your Tombow Brush Pun or Copic Marker and begin tracing your skeleton. This time, pay attention to the connections and angles of the joints of your letterforms. We're going to be making them harsher and flatter this time around. 


Step 4

Moving onward, take your Step 3 lettering and begin tracing on top of it to correct any mistakes you have made. This time, I'm fixing the angles, slope, connecting points, and stroke endings to be flatter and more drastic. 


Step 5

I believe we're nearing the point where we can continue further with pencil. Trace and retrace your brush-lettering until you're happy with where it's heading. If the composition, spacing, color, etc., are looking good, let's begin redrawing with pencil!


Step 6

At this point, you should have an early rough pencil sketch with filled in letterforms to see how the color is working throughout. You know the drill—keep redrawing your phrase to perfect the problem areas. As you can see in the below sketch, I'm fixing kerning issues, alternating my baseline again, and correcting some stroke endings/angles.

We're almost there! Keep on redrawing. It'll be worth the patience and persistence, I promise!


Step 7

This is it! Begin to redraw your lettering more precisely and cleanly because you're coming in for the home stretch.

Alright guys, there we have it—a finished piece of lettering. After many edits, I think I've achieved an even color, nice composition, and consistent angles and stroke weights.

But I think I'm going to take it one step further to make it a bit more "custom" in the next step.


Step 8

Taking the lettering you just finished, you can do as I've done below and remove a bit of weight from the entry and exit strokes of your letters. I've made minor "cuts" into the lettering to remove a bit of weight and lighten the load on these rather heavy brush-strokes.

Seeing the whole process from start to finish is always cool. I've provided a .gif for your viewing pleasure. You should now be able to see the start and finish of your lettering project—always a treat to see the progress you've made!


But wait, the lettering in the "What You'll Be Creating" photo is white on black? True! If you're wanting to do the same with your lettering, all I did was invert the colors in Photoshop. If you're inverting a white piece of paper with black lettering, it'll make your lettering white and paper black!


Brush-script sure is a challenge! It took me a good while to grasp the ins and outs. Don't get discouraged if you're lettering isn't turning out the way you want it to. After a good amount of practice, you'll be well on your way to creating some jaw-dropping custom brush-script lettering. If you have any questions at all, feel free to post below and I'll be able to help you out. Good luck!

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.