Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Textures
Design

Comment créer une texture aquarelle dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Learn Adobe Illustrator.
10 Essential Tips & Tools All Adobe Illustrator Beginners Should Learn
How to Create a Solar System Planets Icon Pack in Adobe Illustrator

French (Français) translation by Daszie Chan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Soyez tendance avec des textures aquarelles dans Adobe Illustrator ! Dans ce tutoriel que nous allons créer nos propres textures aquarelles avec un simple set d'aquarelle, modifier nos images dans Adobe Photoshop et appliquer les textures dans Adobe Illustrator à l’aide de deux techniques différentes.

Vous pouvez également jeter un œil aux textures ou aux fonts dessinées à la main pour compléter certains des designs utilisés dans ce tutoriel de Envato Market.

1. Créez les textures aquarelles

Étape 1

Commençons avec les fournitures dont vous aurez besoin ou que vous pouvez utiliser pour créer des textures aquarelles :

  • Des peintures aquarelles
  • Du papier aquarelle
  • Un pinceau doux
  • Une tasse d’eau

Personnellement, je pense que des projets comme ceux-ci n’exigent pas les outils les plus sophistiqués. Vous pouvez créer d'amusantes textures aquarelles à partir d’un ensemble de fournitures d’art pour enfants ou des peintures Winsor & Newton. Ci-dessous, vous verrez les fournitures que j’avais dans ma boîte à outils pour la peinture.

Collect materials for watercolor painting

Étape 2

Mettez un peu d’eau sur votre brosse, trempez-la dans un plateau à aquarelle et commencez à peindre. Jouez avec la transparence et la saturation. Faites de grandes flaques d’eau ou des petites zones de nuages de couleur. Vous ne pouvez pas vraiment vous tromper en expérimentant l’aquarelle comme ça !

Start painting with your watercolors

Étape 3

Si vous peignez avec un pinceau humide sur une portion humide du papier, vous verrez votre aquarelle se répartir et créer d'amusants dégradés sur votre papier. N’hésitez pas à tamponner ou à épongez vos aquarelles avec un essuie-tout ou de donner un léger coup de brosse sur votre papier pour faire une texture d’éclaboussures.

Paint onto wet paper or create puddles of color

Étape 4

Superposez différents degrés de saturation de couleurs sur votre papier et jouez avec d’autres couleurs. Laisser une partie de votre peinture sèche et continuez de peinture jusqu'à ce que vous ayez des zones de couleur que vous aimez.

Add other colors and shapes into your designs

Étape 5

Créez des textures d'aquarelles sur autant de pages que vous le souhaitez. Lorsque vous êtes satisfait de vos choix de couleur et du design, laissez votre papier sécher complètement avant de passer à la section suivante de ce didacticiel.

Create as many pages of watercolor textures as you want

2. Éditer les Textures

Étape 1

Numérisez vos textures et importez-les dans Adobe Photoshop. Alternativement, vous pouvez prendre une photo. Puisque mon scanner est un peu vieux, il ne rend pas le papier aussi blanc que j’en ai besoin pour ce projet. Nous allons modifier cela.

Scan and import your watercolort extures

Étape 2

Pour lutter contre le jaunissement du papier, allez dans Image > Réglages > Niveaux et ajustez soigneusement les niveaux du jaunissement autour de vos projections d'aquarelle. En général, j’ajuste le curseur gris à gauche et le curseur blanc vers la droite.

Adjust the levels of your image

Étape 3

Maintenant que vos textures aquarelles sont lumineuses et propres, enregistrez votre fichier sous le format JPG haute résolution et importez-le dans Adobe Illustrator.

Save and import your image into Adobe Ilustrator

3. Faire des vecteurs de textures

Étape 1

Importez votre texture aquarelle dans un nouveau document Adobe Illustrator et ouvrez le panneau Vectoriser l’image. Pour le Mode, sélectionnez Couleur et pour la Palette, sélectionnez Ton plein. Cliquez sur Aperçu et patientez un peu.

Image Trace to get a vector watercolor texture

Étape 2

J’ai zoomé sur mon résultat de vectorisation ainsi vous pouvez voir les objets vectoriels un peu mieux. C’est un moyen remarquablement facile de convertir des textures de vrais médias en vecteur sans les recréer dans Adobe Illustrator à la main.

A zoomed in version of the watercolor texture

Étape 3

Vous pouvez également limiter la quantité de détails dans le résultat de votre recherche en choisissant Limité (à gauche en-bas) pour votre Palette au lieu de Ton plein (à droite en-bas). Cela vous donnera un look plus vectorisé et une taille de fichier réduite.

Décomposez votre texture aquarelle et Dissociez-la pour utiliser l’Outil Lasso (Q) pour sélectionner une section de votre texture. Copiez (Ctrl + C) et collez (Ctrl-V) la texture sur un Nouveau calque dans le panneau Calques. Cachez les autres textures de sorte à être uniquement focalisé sur votre section copiée. Associez (Ctrl-G) la texture ensemble.

A comparison between watercolor textures

4. Créer un Style graphique

Étape 1

Les styles graphiques sont fantastiques. Ils vous permettent d’appliquer facilement toutes sortes de modèles, effets, etc. avec un simple clic. Ils vont main dans la main avec des Actions pour accélérer votre processus dans Adobe Illustrator.

Sélectionnez votre groupe de texture et, dans le panneau des Motifs, créez un Nouveau motif. Réglez la Largeur et la Hauteur des limites du motif afin que la texture se chevauche. Dans le panneau Aspect, définissez le Mode de fusion du groupe à Produit. Lorsque vous êtes satisfait des chevauchements et des répétitions, cliquez sur Terminé.

Puisque c’est une texture vecteur complexe, vous pouvez constater qu’il faut du temps pour faire le modèle. J’ai tendance à tricoter tandis que ma machine réalise ma création. L'enregistrement de sécurité aide à ne pas être anxieux à propos d'Adobe Illustrator qui pourrait planter.

Create a simple pattern

Étape 2

Vous trouverez votre modèle nouvellement formé dans le panneau Nuancier. Appliquez-le à une forme de rectangle simple. Ouvrez le panneau Styles graphiques et, avec le rectangle étant sélectionné, faites Nouveau Style graphique. Cela vous permet de conserver tout ce que vous mis en place dans le panneau Aspect et de l'appliquez rapidement et facilement à n’importe quel objet sans avoir à refaire le modèle et ses autres attributs. Veillez à enregistrer votre Style graphique afin de pourvoir y accéder depuis n’importe quel document.

Create a graphic style

Étape 3

Nous allons tester un texte avec le nouveau Style graphique. À l’aide d'une police script amusante, j’ai écrit une de mes phrases favorites de l'artiste Alyssa Edwards. Vous pouvez trouver des polices de caractères similaires dans la section police de Envato Market.

Tapez votre texte avec l’outil de Texte (T) et Décomposez (objet > décomposer) votre texte en texte vectorisé. Appliquez votre Style graphique nouvellement créé. Prenez des notes des façons d’améliorer votre modèle ou le style, si besoin.

Easily apply your graphic style

5. Créer un design typographique

Étape 1

Nous allons faire quelque chose d’un peu plus intéressant que l’application d’un Style graphique à une police simple. Esquissez une composition typographique. Envisagez d’utiliser le script, serif et sable-serif comme exemples pour votre écrit à la main.

Alternativement, vous pouvez organiser le texte comme vous le voyez au lieu de faire un autre design. J'ai fait le design illustré ci-dessous dans Adobe Photoshop et l'ai importé dans mon document Adobe Illustrator. Jouez avec une variété de styles de lettrage et de compositions avec la citation de choix. Si vous n’utilisez pas de tablette graphique, vous pouvez aller aux designs de polices pré-faits pour ce tutoriel.

Create some fun typographic compositions

Étape 2

Sur un nouveau calque, utilisez l’Outil Pinceau Goutte d'Eau (Maj-B) pour redessiner en douceur votre design. Faites votre possible pour renforcer votre ligne et garder les lignes droites et les courbes droites.

Carefully draw smooth text designs

Étape 3

Variez la largeur de votre typographie. C’est là où regarder des exemples d’autres typographie vous aidera à décider quelles parties de chaque lettre doit être épaisse ou mince. Expérimentez les deux et voyez de quel façon change votre design.

Use thick and think lines in your design

Étape 4

Continuer à travailler sur votre composition. Si vous trouvez que votre dessin n’était pas juste, vous pouvez ajuster votre contenu maintenant. Alternativement, vous pouvez également utiliser d'autres outils de dessin, tels que l’outil Plume (P), afin de retracer votre croquis.

Continue redrawing your text design

Étape 5

Pour les plus grandes sections de lettre, décrivez le contour tout d’abord puis remplissez chaque forme. Accélérez votre processus en utilisant l’Outil Shaper (Maj-N) pour remplir dans les sections. Dessinez tout simplement un gribouillis entre objets et ils se rempliront comme vous pouvez le voir ci-dessous.

Use the shaper tool to fill in objects

Étape 6

Lorsque vous avez terminé votre texte, supprimez votre couche de croquis et sélectionnez vos nouvelles formes de texte. Fusionnez ces formes dans la fenêtre Pathfinder, en veillant à les développer en une forme Composée. Comme nous l’avons fait avant, n’hésitez pas à appliquer votre Style graphique à votre design nouvellement créée.

Apply your graphic style to the newly created design

6. Créez un masque d’écrêtage

Étape 1

Comme méthode alternative au Style graphique, vous pouvez Créer un masque d’écrêtage (Ctrl-7) pour appliquer votre texture. Comme nous l’avons fait en vue de créer le modèle, sélectionnez une partie de la texture de votre Image tracée avec l’Outil Lasso et Copiez-la.

J’ai décidé de séparer les textures d'aquarelles en plusieurs documents donc mon document de travail n'utilisait pas beaucoup de mémoire sur ma machine.

Select your texture

Étape 2

Collez votre texture dans votre document de travail. J’ai mis la couleur de remplissage de mon texte à gris clair pour que la texture qui le chevauche soit facilement visible. Définissez le Mode de fusion de la texture à Produit, dans la fenêtre Transparence.

Overlap your text with your watercolor texture

Étape 3

Répétez ce processus de collage des sections de texture d'aquarelle sur votre texte. N’hésitez pas à les remettre à l’échelle, à les tourner et à les placer de la meilleure manière selon vous.

Overlap your text with various color and textures

Étape 4

Lorsque vous êtes satisfait avec le placement de vos textures, Regroupez-les au-dessus de votre design. Assurez-vous également que le du design de votre texte soit couvert avec la texture. Vous ne voulez pas des lettres entières disparaissent lorsque nous ferons notre Masque d’écrêtage.

Group together your watercolor textures

Étape 5

Copiez et Collez le design de votre texte au-dessus de votre groupe de texture d'aquarelle. Cachez votre design original de texte dans le panneau Calques. Sélectionnez les deux et faites un Masque d’écrêtage en appuyant sur Ctrl-7. Si vous trouvez que vous souhaitez modifier ou ajouter du contenu à votre Masque d’écrêtage, ouvrez simplement le panneau Calques et sélectionnez des portions de votre groupe au sein du Groupe d'écrêtage pour les réorganiser dans votre Plan de travail ou même ajouter de nouvelles textures en les faisant glisser dans le groupe.

create a clipping mask and adjust its contents

Bravo, vous avez fini !

Jouez avec les textures d'aquarelles autant que vous le souhaitez. Que vous souhaitiez créer un Style graphique ou un Masque d’écrêtage, vous disposez des options pour appliquer votre texture ainsi que d’autres éléments comme les éclaboussures d'aquarelle ou les textures supplémentaires.

Vous pouvez partager vos créations dans la section commentaire ci-dessous ! Que vous ayez créé chaque élément vous-même ou utilisé des ressources d'Envato Market dans votre composition, nous voulons les voir !

The final design
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Textures
Design

How to Create a Watercolor Texture in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Learn Adobe Illustrator.
10 Essential Tips & Tools All Adobe Illustrator Beginners Should Learn
How to Create a Solar System Planets Icon Pack in Adobe Illustrator
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Get on trend with watercolor textures in Adobe Illustrator! In this tutorial we'll create our very own watercolor textures with a simple watercolor set, edit our images in Adobe Photoshop, and apply the textures in Adobe Illustrator using two different techniques. 

You can also check out textures or hand-drawn fonts to supplement some of the designs used in this tutorial from Envato Market.

1. Create the Watercolor Textures

Step 1

Let's begin with the supplies you need or may want to use for creating watercolor textures:

  • Watercolor paints
  • Watercolor paper
  • A soft paint brush
  • Water cup

Personally, I think projects like these don't require the most sophisticated tools. You can create fun watercolor textures from a set of children's art supplies just as well as using Winsor & Newton paints. Below you'll see the supplies I had in my painting toolkit.

Collect materials for watercolor painting

Step 2

Get some water on your brush, dip it into a watercolor pan, and start painting. Play with transparency and saturation. Make big puddles or little cloud areas of color. You really can't go wrong with experimenting with watercolors like this!

Start painting with your watercolors

Step 3

If you paint with a wet brush onto a wet portion of paper, you'll find your watercolor will spread and create fun gradients on your paper. Feel free to dab or blot your watercolors with a paper towel or flick your brush over your paper to make a splatter texture.

Paint onto wet paper or create puddles of color

Step 4

Layer up different degrees of color saturation on your paper, and play with other colors. Let some of your paint dry, and then continue painting until you have areas of color that you like.

Add other colors and shapes into your designs

Step 5

Create as many pages of watercolor textures as you want. When you're satisfied with your color and design choices, let your paper dry fully before moving on to the next section of this tutorial.

Create as many pages of watercolor textures as you want

2. Edit the Textures

Step 1

Scan your textures and import them into Adobe Photoshop. Alternatively, you can snap a photo. Since my scanner is a bit old, it doesn't always do the best job at making sure the paper is as white as I need for this project. Let's edit this further.

Scan and import your watercolort extures

Step 2

To combat the yellowing of the paper, go to Image > Adjustments > Levels and carefully adjust the levels of the yellowing around your watercolor splashes. Typically I adjust the gray slider to the left and the white slider to the right a bit.

Adjust the levels of your image

Step 3

Now that your watercolor textures are bright and clean, save your file as a high-resolution JPG, and let's import it into Adobe Illustrator.

Save and import your image into Adobe Ilustrator

3. Make Vectors From the Textures

Step 1

Import your watercolor texture into a new Adobe Illustrator document and open the Image Trace panel. For Mode, select Color, and for Palette, select Full Tone. Hit Preview and wait a bit for your vector to render.

Image Trace to get a vector watercolor texture

Step 2

I've zoomed in on my tracing result so you can see the vector objects a bit better. It's a remarkably easy way of converting real media textures into vector without recreating them in Adobe Illustrator by hand.

A zoomed in version of the watercolor texture

Step 3

You can also limit the amount of detail in your tracing result by choosing Limited (on the left below) for your Palette instead of Full Tone (on the right below). This will give you a more vectored look and a smaller file size.

Expand your watercolor texture and Ungroup it so you can use the Lasso Tool (Q) to select around a section of your texture. Copy (Control-C) and Paste (Control-V) the texture onto a New Layer in the Layers panel. Hide the other textures so you're only focused on your copied section. Group (Control-G) the texture together.

A comparison between watercolor textures

4. Create a Graphic Style

Step 1

Graphic Styles are fantastic. They allow you to easily apply all sorts of pattern, effects, and the like with a simple click of a button. They go hand-in-hand with Actions for speeding up your process in Adobe Illustrator.

Select your texture group and, in the Pattern Options panel, create a New Pattern. Adjust the Width and Height of the pattern tile boundaries so the texture overlaps itself. In the Appearance panel, set the group's Blending Mode to Multiply. When satisfied with how your pattern overlaps and repeats, hit Done.

Since this is such a complex vector texture, you may find that it takes a while to make the pattern. I tend to knit while my machine catches up to what I'm creating. Safety saves also help with any anxiety over Adobe Illustrator suddenly crashing.

Create a simple pattern

Step 2

You'll find your newly made pattern in the Swatches panel. Apply it to a simple rectangle shape. Open the Graphic Styles panel and, with the rectangle selected, make a New Graphic Style. This allows you to retain anything you set up in the Appearance panel and apply it quickly and easily to any object without having to reapply the pattern and its other attributes. Make sure to save your Graphic Style so you can access it from any document.

Create a graphic style

Step 3

Let's test out some text with the new Graphic Style. Using a fun script font, I've written out one of my favorite phrases courtesy of drag entertainer Alyssa Edwards. You can find similar typefaces in the font section of Envato Market.

Type out some text with the Type Tool (T) and Expand (Object > Expand) your text to Outlines. Apply your newly created Graphic Style. Take note of ways to improve your pattern or style, if any.

Easily apply your graphic style

5. Create a Typographic Design

Step 1

Let's make something a bit more interesting than applying a Graphic Style to a simple font. Sketch out a typographic composition. Consider using script, serif, and sand-serif typefaces as examples of your hand-drawn type.

Alternatively, you can arrange text as you see fit rather than drawing out a separate design. I drew the design seen below in Adobe Photoshop and imported it into my Adobe Illustrator document. Play with a variety of compositions and lettering styles with your quote of choice. If you're not using a graphic tablet, you may want to go with pre-made font faces for this tutorial.

Create some fun typographic compositions

Step 2

On a new layer, use the Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B) to smoothly redraw your design. Do your best to tighten up your line work and keep curves smooth and straight lines straight.

Carefully draw smooth text designs

Step 3

Vary your line width in your lettering. This is where looking at examples of other lettering and typography will do wonders in helping you decide which portions of each letter should be thick and which should be thin. Experiment with both and see how it changes your design.

Use thick and think lines in your design

Step 4

Continue working around your composition. If you find that your sketch wasn't just right, you can adjust your content now. Alternatively, you can also use a different drawing tool, such as the Pen Tool (P), in order to trace your sketch.

Continue redrawing your text design

Step 5

For larger letter sections, outline the contour first and then fill in each shape. Speed up your process by using the Shaper Tool (Shift-N) to fill in sections. Simply draw a scribble between objects and it will fill in as you can see below.

Use the shaper tool to fill in objects

Step 6

When you've completed your text, delete your sketch layer and select your new text shapes. Unite these shapes in the Pathfinder panel, making sure to expand them into a Compound shape. As we did before, feel free to apply your Graphic Style to your newly created design.

Apply your graphic style to the newly created design

6. Create a Clipping Mask

Step 1

As an alternative method to the Graphic Style, you can Create a Clipping Mask (Control-7) to apply your texture. As we did in preparation for creating the pattern, select a portion of your Image Traced texture with the Lasso Tool and Copy it.

I decided to keep watercolor textures separate in their own documents so my working document wasn't as much of a memory hog on my machine. 

Select your texture

Step 2

Paste your texture into your working document. I've set my fill color of my text to a light gray so both it and the overlapping texture can be easily seen. Set the texture's Blending Mode to Multiply in the Transparency panel.

Overlap your text with your watercolor texture

Step 3

Repeat this process of pasting watercolor texture sections over your text. Feel free to ScaleRotate, and place them in whatever manner you find best.

Overlap your text with various color and textures

Step 4

When satisfied with your texture placement, Group them together over your design. Also make sure that most of your text design is covered in some way with a texture. You don't want whole letters to disappear when we make our Clipping Mask.

Group together your watercolor textures

Step 5

Copy and Paste your text design over your watercolor texture group. Hide your original text design in the Layers panel. Select both and Make a Clipping Mask by hitting Control-7. If you find you'd like to change or add content to your Clipping Mask, simply open the Layers panel and select portions of your group within the Clip Group to rearrange them in your Artboard or even add new textures by dragging them into the group. 

create a clipping mask and adjust its contents

Well Done, You're Through!

Play with watercolor textures in whatever way you see fit. Whether you're creating a Graphic Style or a Clipping Mask, you have options in how you apply your texture as well as other elements such as watercolor splatter or additional wash textures.

Share your designs in the comment section below! Whether you've created every element yourself or have used assets from Envato Market within your poster composition, we want to see them!

The final design
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.