Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. International Women's Day
Design

Рисуем портрет женщин из истории искусства в Adobe Photoshop

by
Length:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastasia (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

В этом году 8 марта празднуется международный женский день. И каждый год мир объединяется в выражении признания и любви к женщинам за их вклад в экономику, политику и социум.

И чтобы отметить невероятные достижения женщин в истории, сегодня я расскажу вам, как можно нарисовать портрет трех любимых мною женщин искусства.

Изучив простую технику цифрового рисунка, вы сможете успешно создавать невероятные иллюстрации в Adobe Photoshop.

Вам нравится рисовать в Photoshop? Тогда пополните вашу коллекцию кистей нашей замечательной подборкой кистей Adobe Photoshop из GraphicRiver и Envato Elements.

Ресурсы урока

При создании данного урока были задействованы следующие ресурсы:

1. Как сделать набросок портрета в Photoshop

Шаг 1

Для этой картины я буду пользоваться сериями архивных фотографий.

Т.к. мы рисуем исторические фигуры из прошлого, важно упомянуть, что мы используем фотографии из свободного доступа без требования лицензии. Мне повезло найти три красивых фото в цвете моих любимых женщин искусства, Фриды Кало, Эллы Фицджеральд и Зоры Нил Харстон.

Historial References Frida Kahlo Ella Fitzegrald and Zora Neale Hurston

Шаг 2

Даже при том, что главная цель - создать простой портрет, неплохо начать работу с определенной идеей. Фрида Кало, моя любимая художница, обладала уникальным стилем автопортрета, часто с яркими листьями и растениями, включенными в фон. Так что я думаю отдать должное ее стилю, разместив россыпь листьев позади изображения этих женщин.

И именно потому, что история Фриды Кало так меня привлекает, я размещу ее фигуру в центре рисунка, и в качестве обрамления Эллу и Нору немного позади нее.

Откройте Новый документ (New Document) в Adobe Photoshop. Создайте документ 850 х 1000px в разрешении 150dpi (можете использовать и более высокое разрешение, но мне нравится сохранять в file space). При помощи инструмента кисть Жесткая круглая, нажатие = непрозрачность (Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush) начните рисовать набросок изображения женщин, каждую фигуру на новом слое (New Layer).

Individual Portrait Sketches

Совет: вы можете копировать исходное фото, если сами не слишком хорошо умеете рисовать людей. Любая практика будет полезна.

Мне, как правило, удобно работать с двумя открытыми окнами: одно вспомогательное, а второе непосредственно для рисования. Держать исходные материалы рядом с рабочим окном помогает успешнее прорабатывать детали и добиваться большего общего сходства.

Photoshop Workstation Setup for Painting

Шаг 3

Делая наброски этих дам по отдельности, вы можете сконцентрироваться на достижении максимального сходства каждой прежде, чем объединить их портреты в одном. Не перегружайте себя слишком, если три портрета для вас многовато, сделайте два.

Когда вы закончите с каждым портретом по отдельности, создайте новые группы (New Group) с заголовком по имени каждой женщины и поместите соответствующий слой в каждую из них. Затем создайте ещё одну группу и все группы поместите туда.

Grouping the painting layers

Когда будете готовы, расположите портреты так, как вам бы хотелось, друг относительно друга, при помощи инструмента Свободное редактирование (Free Transform Tool (Control-T). Мною выбраны эти портреты таким образом, чтобы изображения Эллы и Зоры были зеркальными, и вы учитывайте такие маленькие нюансы при создании скетча. 

Portrait Sketch

Шаг 4

Набросаем несколько листьев, подражая стилю и типу листьев, какие изображала Фрида в своих картинах. Как вариант вы можете обратиться к любом другому символу, ассоциирующемуся с вашей любимой исторической личностью, и включить его в вашу работу. Элла, например, будет нарисована с микрофоном в руке.

Final sketch

2. Рисуем слои основы и текстуру.

Шаг 1

Давайте начнем со слоев фона. Создайте новый слой (New Layer) в каждой папке под скетчем. Выберите инструмент Кисть (Brush Tool) (B) и установите жесткость (Hardness100%. С помощью этой плотной кисти закрасьте каждую фигуру белым. Вам придется временно изменить фон на черный, чтобы проще было полностью закрасить каждый портрет.

Теперь задайте новым слоям (New Layers) обтравочные маски (Clipping Masks) для каждой из белых основ. Эти слои позволят нам смело красить, не опасаясь выйти за рамки базового слоя. Это не только сэкономит нам время, но и избавит от некоторых проблем в дальнейшем.

Photoshop Portrait Layers
Обтравочные маски (Clipping Masks) помогают удерживать рисунок в рамках белого фона.

Шаг 2

Загрузите кисть темная пастель 20 пикселей (Pastel Dark 20 Pixels Brush) из пресета Природные кисти 2 (Natural Brushes 2), расположенного в инструменте кисть (Brush Tool) (B). При помощи кисти нанесите базовые тона на ваши слои под обтравочными масками. Держите слои по отдельности, так вы сможете продолжать рисовать каждый портрет в его собственной группе.

Paint the base layers

3. Как нарисовать фон

Шаг 1

Прежде чем перейти к другим деталям, давайте сперва нарисуем фон. Выберите в качестве основного цвета (Foreground Color) темно-серый #3d3d3d и при помощи инструмента Заливка (Paint Bucket Tool) (G) закрасьте фон этим цветом.

Painting Background Fill

Шаг 2

Выберите ту же пастельную кисть (Pastel Brush), как и прежде, и начните закрашивать черным новый слой (New Layer). Убедитесь, что нажим пера (Pen Pressure) для непрозрачности (Opacity) настроен, сделав хаотичные мазки. Просто поводите на полях широкими, большими полосами, чтобы нанести немного текстуры на фон.

Background Painting Strokes

Шаг 3

Выберите инструмент Градиент (Gradient Tool) (G) и нанесите легкий серый радиальный градиент (Radial Gradient) в верхнем левом углу рисунка. Несмотря на то, что источник света будет слабым, небольшое изменение тона даст нам достаточный отблеск света.

Radial Gradient Background

Шаг 4

Чтобы закончить с фоном, слегка растушуйте его. Зайдите в Фильтр>Размытие>размытие по Гауссу (Filter > Blur > Gaussian) и установите радиус (Radius) в 6 пикселей.

Blur the Background

Хотя это изменение кажется незначительным, но по мере продвижения в процессе рисования вы заметите изменение в общей глубине поля, добавляющей реализм этому участку рисунка. 

4. Рисуем Фриду Кало

Шаг 1

Настало время усовершенствовать портреты! Я сосредоточусь на каждом по отдельности, чтобы достичь понимания деталей каждого. Но сперва Фрида Кало.

Фрида - главный персонаж этого портрета, и не только потому, что она мой любимый художник, но и по той причине, что она является ярким выражением силы женщины в истории. Установите режим наложения (Blend Mode) скетча как Мягкий свет (Soft Light). И придайте больше текстуры пастельной кистью (Pastel Brush), какую вы использовали ранее.

Frida Base Layers

Постарайтесь сперва нанести основные тени. Объем и форму мы можем придать позднее.

Шаг 2

Разнесите текстуру также по листьям и розам. Добавить цветы было моей идеей, так как она нередко носила красивые головные уборы из цветов.

Каждая деталь займет немало времени. Изучите тени каждой детали, прежде чем рисовать ее саму. Это позволит задать четкую форму прежде, чем наносить новые тона.

Frida Base Painting Continued

Шаг 3

Наконец, вернитесь к инструменту кисть Жесткая круглая, нажатие = непрозрачность (Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush), чтобы выделить ею лицо. Убавьте жесткость (Hardness), чтобы выровнять тон кожи и слегка убавить текстуру, нанесенную ранее.

Терпение - ключ к созданию тройного портрета. Пока что мы прервем работу над изображением Фриды. Освежим наше восприятие, рисуя кого-то другого.

Define Fridas Face

5. Рисуем Эллу Фицджеральд

Шаг 1 

Легенда джаза Элла Фицджеральд известна своим абсолютным слухом и знаменитым исполнением "ската". Ее музыка сопровождала мои подростковые годы, и она навсегда заняла особое место в моем сердце.

Изо всех портретов Эллы станет самым сложным по причине ее затейливых аксессуаров и реквизита. Измените слой скетча портрета Эллы на Перекрытие (Overlay). На новом слое под обтравочной маской (New Layers Clipped) начните наносить больше теней.

Ella Painting Base Layers

Шаг 2

Большую часть портрета Эллы занимает ее роскошное черное платье. И к концу работы вы оцените ее выбор костюма. Т.к. платье настолько темное, вы можете повременить с лицом, занявшись сперва прорисовкой богатых темно серых тонов ее платья.

Для этой задачи возьмите жесткую круглую кисть (Hard Round Brush), которую использовали прежде.

Defining Ellas Dress

Шаг 3

Так же как и с Фридой, мы на этом прервем рисование портрета Эллы, чтобы лучше распределить наше время. Воспользуйтесь паузой, чтобы привнести как можно больше деталей в изображение микрофона. Хорошенько прорисуйте складки. Нанесите изображение белой вышивки - так много всего, с чем вам захочется разобраться побыстрее!

Еще добавьте текстуру ее шляпе. Вернитесь в пастельной кисти (Pastel Brush), чтобы рисовать текстуру шляпы. Текстура становится все реалистичнее, а случайные разбросанные мазки добавят жизни вашему рисунку.

Refining Ellas details

6. Рисуем Зору Нил Харстон

Шаг 1

Теперь давайте перейдем к Зоре. Зора прославилась как одна из величайших писательниц Гарлемского возрождения. Как афро-американская писательница, она создавала короткие новаторские рассказы об афро-американском фольклоре.

Как в случае с Эллой, портрет Зоры требует уверенного использования черного цвета.

Zora Base Painting

Ее традиционная стильная шляпа отбрасывает густую тень на лицо, особенно вокруг глаз. При помощи все той же пастельной кисти (Pastel Brush) нанесите немного текстуры на блузу, а также тенями придайте очертания лицу.

Шаг 2

И опять же, вам придется переключаться между портретами, чтобы эффективно расходовать время и освежать свое восприятие. Продолжите наносить тени от шляпы, при этом выделяя детали лица жесткой круглой кистью (Hard Round Brush). 100% жесткость (Hardness) на этом этапе поможет выделить резкие линии шляпы, лица и волос.

Zora Painting Progress

7. Завершаем рисунок

Шаг 1

Как вы могли убедиться, цифровой рисунок не всегда так уж прямолинеен. Я стараюсь оценить освещение каждого портрета с той точки зрения, как он повлияет на остальные. Теперь, когда каждый достаточно хорошо проработан, мы можем приступить к завершению нашей работы.

Время доводить все до совершенства! Пользуйтесь поочередно (Hard Round Brush) жесткой круглой кистью и кистью Жесткая круглая, нажатие = непрозрачность (Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush), подравнивая поля каждого портрета. Мягкие кисти делают изображение расплывчатым, так что важно наносить и жесткие, четкие линии, особенно на лице.

Если вы застряли в процессе рисования, сразу же переключитесь на кисть с более жестким мазком. В чистых линиях есть что-то такое, что моментально преображает рисунок и позволяет вновь почувствовать, что вы на правильном пути.

Это относится и к успеху с изображением Эллы. Обратите внимание, как четкие линии помогают обозначить ее линию подбородка, микрофон, лицо.

Ella Painting Progress

Шаг 2

Проделайте то же с остальными портретами. Следом переходите к Фриде. Жесткой круглой кистью (Hard Round Brush) очертите ее лицо, блузу и розы. Ранее мы решили сделать отражение схемы освещения исходного изображения.

Хотя это затруднит работу над рисунком, но зато позволит сочетать ее портрет с портретами других женщин.

Fridas Painting Progress

Шаг 3

Опять же, сделайте то же с портретом Зоры. Сфокусируйтесь на деталях и сделайте четкие края. Добавьте слабые отблески света на ее лице, что позволит вывести его из тени шляпы.

И вот вам возможность  научиться на одной моей ошибке. Ранее я позабыла набросать остальную часть ее блузы, в основном потому, что она малозаметна на исходном изображении. Это создало проблемы в дальнейшем, потому что я не имею представления о том, каковы ее пропорции.

Попробуем решить эту проблему, поискав больше изображений в интернете. Я в конечном итоге смогла нарисовать ее корпус. И детали блузы получились достаточно близко к оригиналу, чтобы выглядеть вполне естественно.

Zoras Painting Progress

Шаг 4

Продолжи совершенствовать изображение. Это может привести к новым и новым изменениям в деталях до тех пор, пока они не будут смотреться гармонично. Изучите внимательно исходные изображения, постарайтесь подметить как можно больше маленьких черт и легких изменений в тоне.

Я также добавлю плоские фигуры, обрамляющие портрет. Они не были задуманы с самого начала, но они добавят больше равновесия. Экспериментируя, можно достичь большого успеха в работе!

Overall Painting Progress

Не забудьте нарисовать листья! Начните с двух темно серых линий, а по центру положите одну более светлую. Это простой процесс, дающий мгновенный эффект 3D.

Painting the Leaves

Шаг 5

Завершим рисунок легкой растушевкой. Я хочу достичь эффекта старого Голливуда, добавив немного тона сепия так, чтобы он не был слишком кричащим. Выберите новый корректирующий слой (New Adjustment Layer) - Поиск цвета (Color Lookup), используйте приведенные ниже настройки. Затем понизьте непрозрачность (Opacity) до 45%.

Color Lookup Adjustment Layer

Переходите к карте градиента нового корректирующего слоя (New Gradient Map Adjustment Layer). Выберите темный градиент, который переходит из черного #111111 в #2d2a27 в темно коричневый. По завершении уменьшите непрозрачность (Opacity) до 57%.

Gradient Map Adjustment Layer

Последнее, но не менее важное, это добавить еще один новый корректирующий слой (New Adjustment Layer), на этот раз Яркости и Контраста (Brightness and Contrast). Повысьте интенсивность следующими настройками:

Brightness and Contrast Adjustment Layer

И все! Посмотрите на готовую работу!

Заключение

Поверьте мне, если вы когда-нибудь хотели заняться цифровым рисунком, лучше начинать с черно-белых иллюстраций. Рисунки  серых тонах позволят вам освоить свет и тень прежде, чем вы приступите к сложным цветным портретам.

Беритесь за фото работы или увлекательные проекты вроде этого рисунка, чтобы совершенствоваться в прорисовке разных тонов.

Надеюсь, вам понравился этот урок. Старайтесь демонстрировать свою любовь особенным женщинам в вашей жизни. Не стесняйтесь оставлять вопросы и комментарии ниже!

Frida Kahlo Ella Fitzgerald Zora Hurston Painting Photoshop Tutorial
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. International Women's Day
Design

How to Paint a Portrait of Historic Creative Women in Adobe Photoshop

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

This year, International Women's Day falls on 8 March. And each year, the world unites in appreciation and love towards women for their economic, political, and social contributions.

To celebrate the amazing advances women have made throughout history, today I'll be showing you how to paint a portrait of three of my favorite creatives in "herstory."

Learn simple digital painting techniques to pull off incredible illustrations in Adobe Photoshop.

Love painting in Photoshop? Upgrade your brush collection with our amazing selection of Adobe Photoshop Brushes from GraphicRiver and Envato Elements.

Tutorial Assets

The following assets were used in the production of this tutorial:

1. How to Sketch a Portrait in Photoshop

Step 1

For this painting I'll be using a series of photo references archived in history. Most of these photos can be obtained from the Library of Congress and are completely royalty free.

Because we're painting iconic figures in time, it's important that we reference free images without any licensing issues. I was lucky enough to find three beautiful photos of my favorite creative women of color, Frida Kahlo, Ella Fitzgerald, and Zora Neale Hurston.

Historial References Frida Kahlo Ella Fitzegrald and Zora Neale Hurston

Step 2

Even though the major goal is to create a simple portrait, it's nice to go into any painting with a specific concept. Frida Kahlo, my favorite artist, had a unique style of self-portraiture that often featured vibrant leaves and plants in the background. So I've decided to highlight her style, by paying homage with a collection of leaves behind these women.

Since the story of Frida Kahlo is so dear to me, I'll keep her as the main figure of the painting, with special cameo appearances from Ella and Nora slightly underneath her.

Open a New Document in Adobe Photoshop. Create an 850 x 1000 px document at 150 dpi (feel free to use a higher resolution, I just like to save on file space). Use a Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush to begin sketching each woman by herself on a New Layer.

Individual Portrait Sketches

Tip: Feel free to trace over the original photos if you're not yet comfortable with drawing people. Any practice is good practice.

What usually helps me is to have two windows open: one dedicated to references and the other dedicated to the painting. Keeping the references this close to your document allows you to measure details more effectively for better overall likeness.

Photoshop Workstation Setup for Painting

Step 3

Sketching these ladies by themselves allows you to concentrate on getting their likeness as perfect as possible before combining the portraits together. Try not to distract yourself by taking too much on; if three portraits is too much, then just do two.

When you're finished with each individual portrait, create a New Group named after each woman and place their corresponding layer inside it. Then create another New Group, to place all the others within it.

Grouping the painting layers

Once you're ready to move on, layout the portraits how you would like them to appear with the Free Transform Tool (Control-T). I specifically chose these portraits so that Ella and Zora would mirror each other, so try to keep small details like this in mind when creating your sketch.

Portrait Sketch

Step 4

Sketch a few leaves, mimicking the same exact style and type of leaf Frida would use in her paintings. Alternatively, you can use any type of symbol associated with your favorite historical women to represent them in your portrait. Ella, for instance, will be painted with her mic in hand.

Final sketch

2. How to Paint the Base Layers and Texture

Step 1

Let's start with the base layers. Create a New Layer in each of your folders underneath the sketch. Select the Brush Tool (B) and set the Hardness to 100%. Use this solid brush to fill each woman with white. You may have to change the background to black temporarily to help fill each portrait fully.

Now set New layers as Clipping Masks to each white base. These layers will allow us to paint without fear of going outside of the base layer. Not only will it save us time, but plenty of headache later down line.

Photoshop Portrait Layers
Clipping Masks help contain your painting within the white bases.

Step 2

Load the Pastel Dark 20 Pixels Brush from the Natural Brushes 2 presets found in your Brush Tool (B). Use that brush to paint the base tones on your clipped layers. Keep the layers separated so that you can continue to paint that individual portrait in its own Group.

Paint the base layers

3. How to Paint the Background

Step 1

Before we move on to more details, let's paint the background first. Set the Foreground Color as a dark gray color #3d3d3d and use the Paint Bucket Tool (G) to fill the background with this color.

Painting Background Fill

Step 2

Select the same Pastel Brush from before and begin painting black on a New Layer. Make sure that the Pen Pressure for Opacity is enabled before painting with chaotic strokes. Just scribble on your canvas with wide, large strokes to put a bit of texture as the background.

Background Painting Strokes

Step 3

Select the Gradient Tool (G) and create a light gray Radial Gradient in the upper left corner of the painting. Although the light source won't be intense, the slight tonal change will provide us with enough hint of light.

Radial Gradient Background

Step 4

To finish the background, blur the background slightly. Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian and set the Radius to 6 pixels.

Blur the Background

This change is subtle, but as you progress further into the painting you'll notice a change in the overall depth of field, contributing to the realism of this piece.

4. How to Paint Frida Kahlo

Step 1

Time to tackle these portraits! I'll be concentrating on each woman by herself so that we can focus on understanding the details of each portrait. Up first, Frida Kahlo.

Now Frida is the main character of this painting, not only because she's my favorite artist but also because she's a powerful reflection of the strength of women in history. Set the Blend Mode of the sketch layer to Soft Light. Paint more texture using the Pastel Brush from before.

Frida Base Layers

Try to establish the main shadows that you see first. We'll be able to create volume and form later.

Step 2

Let texture spill off onto the leaves and roses. I decided to add the flowers on my own because she's known for wearing beautiful flower headpieces.

Each detail will take considerable time. Study the shadows of your details before defining the details themselves. This allows you to set a stable foundation before laying more tones on top.

Frida Base Painting Continued

Step 3

Eventually, switch back to the Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush to define her face. Lower the Hardness to smooth out her skin and remove some of the texture applied earlier.

Patience is key with a three-portrait painting. For now we will stop painting Frida. Refresh your eyes by painting someone new.

Define Fridas Face

5. How to Paint Ella Fitzgerald

Step 1

Jazz legend Ella Fitzgerald is known for her pitch-perfect voice and notorious scatting. Her music kept me lots of company in my teens, so she will always hold a dear place in my heart.

Out of all the portraits, Ella becomes the most complicated because of her intricate outfit and prop. Set the sketch layer for Ella to Overlay. On New Layers Clipped to the base, begin painting more shadow.

Ella Painting Base Layers

Step 2

The majority of Ella's portrait is taken up by her rich, black dress. And by the end of this painting, you'll love her for this outfit choice. Because the dress is so dark, you can procrastinate on the face by laying in the rich, dark gray and black tones of her dress first.

Use the Hard Round Brush from before to tackle this task.

Defining Ellas Dress

Step 3

Just like with Frida, we're going to temporarily stop painting Ella after this step so that we can manage our time well. So take this opportunity to lay in as much detail as possible for her microphone. Nail those wrinkle folds as best as you can. Include those white embroidered details as well—there are so many that you will want to get it out of the way as soon as possible!

Lay in the texture for her hat as well. Switch back to the Pastel Brush from before to paint texture on her hat. Texture equates to realism, so sprinkling it here and there automatically brings life to your painting

Refining Ellas details

6. How to Paint Zora Neale Hurston

Step 1

Now let's move on to Zora. Zora emerged as one of the great writers of the Harlem Renaissance. As an African-American female writer, her work features groundbreaking short stories about African-American folklore.

Just like with Ella, Zora will require you to be pretty heavy-handed with the color black.

Zora Base Painting

Her iconic, stylish hat leads to a heavy shadow on her face, especially around her eyes. Use the Pastel Brush from before to lay in some texture to her blouse, while building her facial structure with shadow.

Step 2

Again, you've got to jump around with your different portraits to manage time effectively while keeping your eyes fresh. Continue to push the darkness of her hat as you define details in her face with a Hard Round Brush. 100% Hardness at this stage will allow you to carve the sharp lines of her hat, face, and hair. 

Zora Painting Progress

7. How to Finish the Painting

Step 1

You just saw how the process of a digital painting isn't always linear. I like to gauge the lighting of each portrait by how they affect others in the painting. Now that everyone is carved out relatively well, we can work on finalizing this portrait.

Time to clean things up! Juggle both the Hard Round Brush and the Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush to start cleaning the edges on each portrait. Soft brushes make your painting look blurry, so it's important to create hard, straight lines, especially in the face. 

If you're ever stuck on your painting, immediately transition to a brush with a harder edge. There's something about cleaner lines that instantly transforms a painting and makes you feel right on track again.

Here's a side by side of Ella's progress. Notice how cleaner lines help to define her jawline, mic, and face.

Ella Painting Progress

Step 2

Continue to do this with the rest of your portraits. Move on to Frida next. Use a Hard Round Brush to chisel out her face, blouse, and roses. Early on I decided to flip the lighting scheme from the original reference.

Although this made the painting more difficult to figure out, it allows her portrait to complement the other women. Now they all have light coming from the left side of the portrait, and it's always important to work these kinds of issues out. 

Fridas Painting Progress

Step 3

Again, do the same for Zora. Zero in on those details and create crisp edges. Add subtle highlights on her face to pull her out of the shadow created from her hat.

Here's an opportunity to learn from one of my mistakes. Early on I forgot to sketch the rest of her blouse, mostly because it's hard to see in the reference. This caused problems down the line because I had no clue what her proportions or body actually looked like.

Try to solve problems like these by searching for more references online. I eventually worked out her body. And her blouse details are close enough to the original to seem like the same person.

Zoras Painting Progress

Step 4

Continue to refine your painting. This may result in details changing over and over again until they feel right. Study your references closely to pick up on as many cues as possible to understand subtle changes in tone.

I also carved flat shapes to help frame the portraits. These weren't intentional in the beginning of this painting, but they allow for more balance. Experimentation is key to achieving greater work!

Overall Painting Progress

Don't forget to paint the leaves as well! Start with two dark gray lines and place a lighter gray within the center. It's a simple process that has an instant 3D effect.

Painting the Leaves

Step 5

Finish this painting with a little tinting. I want to go for that old Hollywood effect, giving it a slight sepia tone that isn't overwhelming. Start with a New Adjustment Layer of Color Lookup with the following settings below. Then lower the Opacity to 45%.

Color Lookup Adjustment Layer

Follow up with a New Gradient Map Adjustment Layer. Use a dark gradient that goes from black #111111 to #2d2a27 a deep brown. Lower the Opacity to 57% when you're done.

Gradient Map Adjustment Layer

Last but not least, add one more New Adjustment Layer, this time of Brightness and Contrast. Pump up the intensity with the following settings:

Brightness and Contrast Adjustment Layer

And that's it! Check out the final painting below!

Conclusion

Trust me, if you've ever wanted to get into digital painting, one of the best ways to start is with a grayscale illustration. Grayscale paintings help you master light and shadow before taking on a complicated color portrait.

Tackle photo studies or fun projects like this painting to help you become better at painting different tones.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! Make sure to show love to the special women in your life today. Feel free to leave me any questions or comments below!

Frida Kahlo Ella Fitzgerald Zora Hurston Painting Photoshop Tutorial
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.