1. Design & Illustration
  2. Digital Painting

Wie man Gesichter mit unglaublicher Ähnlichkeit digital malt

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Malen in Photoshop ist nichts anderes als Arbeiten auf Papier oder Leinwand.  Und da Sie sich keine Sorgen um Papierverschwendung machen müssen, gibt es so viele coole Tricks, mit denen Sie bessere Porträts malen können, ohne jemals nachverfolgen zu müssen.

In diesem Tutorial zeige ich Ihnen, wie Sie in Adobe Photoshop zwei Porträts mit einem Wacom Intuos Draw Tablet und Referenzen von PhotoDune zeichnen. 

1. Was ist Ähnlichkeit?

Ähnlichkeit ist wirklich einfach.  Es bedeutet nur, wie sehr Ihr Gemälde dem eigentlichen Motiv entspricht.  Wenn Sie ein Künstler sind, werden Sie eine Million Mal gefragt, ob Sie Portraits, Charaktere oder Entwürfe von echten Menschen machen möchten. Daher ist es sehr praktisch, die Ähnlichkeit zu verstehen, um Ihre Kunden glücklich zu machen.

Digitally Paint Faces without Tracing in Adobe Photoshop Art by melody nievesDigitally Paint Faces without Tracing in Adobe Photoshop Art by melody nievesDigitally Paint Faces without Tracing in Adobe Photoshop Art by melody nieves
Je mehr Sie üben, desto näher kommen Sie dem echten Foto!    

Selbst wenn Sie das Gesicht einer Person nicht vollständig kopieren möchten, ist das Studium der Ähnlichkeit immer noch eine sehr gute Übung in der allgemeinen Anatomie des Gesichts. 

2. Zuerst einige Regeln aus dem Weg räumen

Die 5-Augen-Regel

In jedem Kunstunterricht, den Sie besuchen, erfahren Sie eine ganze Reihe von Regeln für Porträts.  Einige dieser Regeln sind großartig, aber viele von ihnen können Sie verwirren.

Sie haben vielleicht die klassische Regel gehört oder gesehen: "Der Kopf sollte 5 Augen haben."

Warum es nicht funktioniert 

Nicht jedes Gesicht ist dasselbe, so dass Sie es nicht mit einem Cookie-Cutter-Ansatz malen können.  Ihr Motiv hat vielleicht große Augen für sein Gesicht oder Sie mögen einfach die Idee haben, sie in einem karikaturartigen Stil zu zeichnen.  In jedem Fall ist es wichtig, dass Sie Ihr Gemälde genau auf das einstellen, was Sie tatsächlich vor sich sehen.

Draw Faces by Measuring Eyes AcrossDraw Faces by Measuring Eyes AcrossDraw Faces by Measuring Eyes Across

Quadratische Köpfe 

Eine andere Regel oder Technik, die traditionell gelehrt wird, besteht darin, den Kopf zu zeichnen, indem er zuerst als Würfel gezeichnet wird.  Der Würfel stellt die Richtung dar, in die der Kopf zeigt, um verschiedene Winkel zu überwinden. 

Warum es nicht funktioniert

Im Allgemeinen sind diese beiden Regeln nicht unbedingt schlecht, aber sie helfen in der Ähnlichkeitsabteilung nicht gerade.  Würfelköpfe zum Beispiel sind besser für das Verständnis der Gesamtkopfposition und der verschiedenen Ebenen des Gesichts, die später zum Schattieren verwendet werden können.  Wenn wir uns jedoch auf bestimmte Regeln beschränken, konzentrieren wir uns manchmal mehr auf die Regel als auf unser Thema.

Drawing Heads with Cubes or Squares in Photoshop Drawing Heads with Cubes or Squares in Photoshop Drawing Heads with Cubes or Squares in Photoshop
Etwas als "einfaches" als herauszufinden, wie man den Würfel zeichnet, kann eine Aufgabe für sich selbst sein! 

Sparen Sie sich die Verwirrung!  Ich zeige Ihnen, wie Sie die Dinge sehr einfach halten, denn wir brauchen nur ein paar Zeilen. 

3. Erzielen Sie eine Übereinstimmung mit Rastern und Richtlinien

Wenn Sie wirklich lernen möchten, wie Sie ein Gesicht malen, sollten Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Rastern und Richtlinien vertraut machen. 

Mit Rastern können Sie Ihre Referenz in Abschnitten anzeigen.  Wenn Sie also mit dem Malen aus dem Foto beginnen, konzentrieren Sie sich darauf, diesen Bereich des Gitters an den vor Ihnen liegenden anzupassen.  Dies hilft, den Prozess etwas unkomplizierter zu gestalten, indem Sie das Foto in einem anderen Licht sehen.  Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, dass Sie "keine Gesichter zeichnen" können. 

Digitally Paint Faces with Grids in Photoshop Digitally Paint Faces with Grids in Photoshop Digitally Paint Faces with Grids in Photoshop
Teen Referenz von PhotoDune

Richtlinien sind auch sehr gut geeignet, um zu verstehen, wo jedes Detail platziert werden muss.

Ihre grundlegenden Richtlinien werden wahrscheinlich die Positionen für Augen, Nase, Mund und Gesichtsmitte festlegen.  Sobald Sie diese Richtlinien festgelegt haben, können Sie sie verwenden, um die Beziehung zwischen den einzelnen Details zu verstehen, um Ihr Motiv besser ausmalen zu können.

Digitally Paint Faces with Guidelines and Rulers in Photoshop Digitally Paint Faces with Guidelines and Rulers in Photoshop Digitally Paint Faces with Guidelines and Rulers in Photoshop
Referenz des jungen Mannes von PhotoDune 

4. Warum in Schwarzweiß malen? 

Ich weiß, Sie möchten so schnell wie möglich unglaublich detaillierte Porträts zeichnen, aber es ist wichtig, dass Sie vor dem Gehen das Krabbeln lernen.  Nehmen Sie nicht zu viel auf einmal auf.  Meisterliche Ähnlichkeit vor dem Einarbeiten von Farbe. 

Um den Begriff der Ähnlichkeit richtig zu fokussieren, werden beide Portraits in Schwarz und Weiß gemalt.  Viele digitale Künstler nennen dieses Gemälde auch "Graustufen".  Ganz gleich, wie Sie es nennen, der Zweck des Malens ist es, sicherzustellen, dass Sie die Beleuchtung, die Schattierung und die allgemeinen Töne Ihrer Motive perfekt neu erstellen. 

5. Wie man Gesichter digital malt: Einfache Winkel

Beginnen wir mit einer klassischen Pose.  Wenn das Malen von Menschen Sie einschüchtert, beginnen Sie mit weiblichen Motiven und zentrierten Kopfpositionen.  Frauen und vor allem junge Menschen sind leichter zu malen, weil ihre Eigenschaften weicher sind und Sie sich nicht um zusätzliche Details wie Falten oder Gesichtsbehaarung kümmern müssen. 

Schritt 1 

Öffnen Sie Ihre weibliche Referenz in Photoshop.  Ändern Sie das Foto in Schwarzweiß, indem Sie zu Bild> Anpassungen> Farbton und Sättigung gehen und die Sättigung auf -100 verringern.

Damit die Abmessungen dem Originalfoto (590 x 886 Pixel) entsprechen, erstelle ich ein neues Dokument mit 600 x 900 Pixel.  Positionieren Sie beide Fenster nebeneinander, um die Referenzierung zu erleichtern.

How to Position References for Painting in PhotoshopHow to Position References for Painting in PhotoshopHow to Position References for Painting in Photoshop
Lösen Sie jedes Fenster für das Referenzdokument und das Maldokument, und legen Sie sie in Photoshop nebeneinander ab.   

Schritt 2 

Jetzt fügen wir einige Anleitungen hinzu.  Es gibt zwei verschiedene Arten, die helfen können.  Bei einem Raster handelt es sich um ein Raster, in dem alle Abschnitte gleich sind wie Blaupausen, und das andere erstellt Richtlinien, die sich speziell auf die Hauptformen in Ihrem Referenzfoto konzentrieren.

Ich mag die zweite besser.

How to Digitally Paint Faces with Grids and Guidelines in PhotoshopHow to Digitally Paint Faces with Grids and Guidelines in PhotoshopHow to Digitally Paint Faces with Grids and Guidelines in Photoshop
Raster vs. Richtlinienvergleich: Auf der linken Seite befindet sich ein Raster mit gleichen Leerzeichen, während sich die rechten Richtlinien nur auf die wichtigsten Details konzentrieren. 

Drücken Sie die Tastenkombination "Control-R", um die Lineale für jedes Dokument anzuzeigen.  Ziehen Sie dann den Cursor aus den vertikalen und horizontalen Linealen, um die Hilfslinien zu positionieren.  Erstellen Sie dieselben Richtlinien für Ihr leeres Dokument so, dass sie nebeneinander liegen.

Using Rulers and Guidelines for Painting in Photoshop CC Using Rulers and Guidelines for Painting in Photoshop CC Using Rulers and Guidelines for Painting in Photoshop CC

Schritt 3

Beginnen Sie nun mit einem großen runden Pinsel (B), um Ihre Referenz mit Grundformen zu zeichnen.  Mach dir keine Sorgen über die Details oder eine saubere Skizze.  Sehen Sie, jetzt haben Sie ein besseres Verständnis dafür, wohin der Kopf nur aufgrund der Richtlinien gehen soll.

Digitally Sketching Faces in Adobe Photoshop Digitally Sketching Faces in Adobe Photoshop Digitally Sketching Faces in Adobe Photoshop

Schritt 4

Kommen wir zu den Hauptfunktionen.  Unter Verwendung der Richtlinien platziere ich kleine Punkte, um zu markieren, wo jedes Feature beginnt und endet.  Wenn die Punkte an Ort und Stelle sind, fange ich an, die Nase, den Mund und das rechte Auge auf separaten Ebenen zu zeichnen.

Digitally Paint Face Details in Photoshop Digitally Paint Face Details in Photoshop Digitally Paint Face Details in Photoshop

Augen können knifflig sein.  Um den Prozess ein wenig zu betrügen, und ein zweites Auge aus dem bereits vorhandenen zu schaffen.  Duplizieren Sie einfach die erste Augenebene und drehen Sie sie dann über Bearbeiten> Transformieren> Horizontal spiegeln.  Verwenden Sie nun das Verschiebungswerkzeug (V), um das linke Auge zu positionieren. 

Creating Rough Portrait Sketches in Adobe Photoshop Creating Rough Portrait Sketches in Adobe Photoshop Creating Rough Portrait Sketches in Adobe Photoshop

Erstellen grober Portraitskizzen in Adobe Photoshop Beenden Sie die letzten Details, um die grobe Skizze abzuschließen.  Sie können die Richtlinien jederzeit ausblenden, indem Sie auf Ansicht> Anzeigen> Hilfslinien klicken. 

Schritt 5 

Ich weiß, was du denkst ... es sieht noch nicht wirklich so aus, richtig?  Die Skizze ist noch nicht fertig.

Rough Sketch to Clean Drawing Progression in Photoshop Rough Sketch to Clean Drawing Progression in Photoshop Rough Sketch to Clean Drawing Progression in Photoshop
Verwenden Sie eine grobe Skizze als Leitfaden, bereinigen Sie sie und fügen Sie vor dem Schattieren weitere Details hinzu. 

Versuchen Sie Ihr Bestes, um nicht faul zu sein.  Möglicherweise müssen Sie ein Gesicht zwei oder drei Mal oder sogar mehr zeichnen, bevor Ihre Zeichnung dem Foto ähnelt.  Verringern Sie die Deckkraft für die grobe Skizze auf 30%, erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene darüber und verwenden Sie die grobe als Richtlinie.  Um möglichst saubere Zeichnungen zu zeichnen, verwenden Sie einen kleinen runden Pinsel (B) mit 5 Pixeln und nehmen Sie sich Zeit.

Sketching and Drawing in Photoshop Art Tutorial by Melody Nieves Sketching and Drawing in Photoshop Art Tutorial by Melody Nieves Sketching and Drawing in Photoshop Art Tutorial by Melody Nieves
Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, wenn Ihre Skizze noch keine vollständige Kopie des Fotos ist.  Sie haben noch Raum, um es mit dem Bild zu verbessern. 

Hier ist mein Endergebnis.  Jetzt kann ich mit dem Schattieren fortfahren.

Schritt 6 

Legen Sie die ersten Töne für Ihr Porträt mit einem weichen runden Pinsel (B) ein.  Zu dieser Zeit sollten Sie immer überprüfen, wie gut Sie das Bild mit dem Bild aussehen lassen.  Wenn etwas nicht richtig aussieht, vertrauen Sie Ihrem Bauch und nehmen Sie einige Änderungen vor.

Shading Sketches in Adobe Photoshop Shading Sketches in Adobe Photoshop Shading Sketches in Adobe Photoshop
Beachten Sie, wie die Schattierung einer Tonne geholfen hat?  Wir können dies noch verbessern, indem wir einige Problembereiche korrigieren. 

Wenn ich auf das Originalfoto zurückblicke, ist ihr Gesicht nicht so symmetrisch wie ich es dargestellt habe.  Tatsächlich ist ihr Kopf leicht nach links geneigt, was die Position von Augen und Kopf abwirft.  Um dies zu beheben, verwende ich das Rechteck-Auswahlwerkzeug (M), um eine Auswahl um den Kopf zu treffen. 

Als sichere Maßnahme werde ich ein Duplikat des Kopfs erstellen, indem Sie mit der rechten Maustaste die Ebene über Kopieren auswählen. Drehen Sie den Kopf jetzt leicht zur Seite, indem Sie die Tastenkombination "Control-T" auf "Free Transform" drücken.

Use the Marquee Tool to Fix Portraits in Photoshop Use the Marquee Tool to Fix Portraits in Photoshop Use the Marquee Tool to Fix Portraits in Photoshop

Schritt 7 

Malen Sie weiter und studieren Sie das Originalfoto, um Licht und Schatten zu verstehen.  Da ich die Augen zu groß gezeichnet habe, werde ich das Gesicht mit Liquify fixieren. Fassen Sie alle Ebenen zusammen und erstellen Sie mit Control-J eine Kopie Ihres Gemäldes.  Gehe zu Filter> Verflüssigen und verkleinere die Augen mit dem Pucker-Werkzeug (S).  Sei vorsichtig, du willst nicht zu viel tun.

Use Liquify to Fix Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop Use Liquify to Fix Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop Use Liquify to Fix Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop
Hier ist eine kurze Animation der subtilen Änderungen, die mit Hilfe von Liquify erstellt wurden.

Sie können auch feststellen, dass ich auch den Kiefer fixiert habe.  Bewegen Sie es einfach mit dem Forward Warp Tool (W) in die richtige Position. 

Schritt 8 

Jetzt, da wir die Hauptlast der Schlacht angenommen haben, müssen Sie jetzt nur noch das Bild fertigstellen.  Die letzten Details helfen wirklich dabei, das Porträt zu transformieren. Passen Sie es also einfach weiter an, bis Sie mit dem Ergebnis zufrieden sind.

Digitally Paint Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop Tutorial by Melody NievesDigitally Paint Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop Tutorial by Melody NievesDigitally Paint Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop Tutorial by Melody Nieves

Nicht so schlimm, richtig? Mal sehen, wie wir es in unserem nächsten Portrait machen können.

6. Wie man Gesichter digital malt: harte Winkel

Ah, das gefürchtete Profil.  Wenn Sie das Malen von Gesichtern, die gedreht werden, nicht hassen, beginnen Sie mit einem Profil, um die Arbeit zu erleichtern. 

Schritt 1 

Genau wie zuvor werden wir unsere männliche Referenz direkt neben unserem leeren Dokument in Photoshop einrichten.  Dieses Gemälde wird mit Abmessungen von 1250 x 1667 Pixeln bei 150 dpi viel größer sein.

Painting Male Faces in Photoshop Painting Male Faces in Photoshop Painting Male Faces in Photoshop

Schritt 2 

Erstellen Sie erneut Richtlinien und ändern Sie Ihr Foto in Schwarzweiß.  Diesmal werde ich diese Linien mit dem Stiftwerkzeug (P) nachzeichnen, sodass sie viel einfacher zu bearbeiten sind.  Striche die Linien mit einem kleinen runden Pinsel (B).

Convert Guidelines to Lines with the Pen Tool in Photoshop Convert Guidelines to Lines with the Pen Tool in Photoshop Convert Guidelines to Lines with the Pen Tool in Photoshop
Die Hilfslinien von Photoshop können sich beim Zeichnen auf die Pinselstriche auswirken. Erstellen Sie stattdessen Linien mit dem Stiftwerkzeug, um dieses Problem zu vermeiden. 

Jetzt blenden Sie die ursprünglichen Hilfslinien aus.  Ich verwende auch das Zeichenstift-Werkzeug (P), um die verschiedenen Winkel in diesem Bild hervorzuheben, indem auf einer neuen Ebene helle rote Linien erzeugt werden.  Da diese Winkel komplizierter sind als das erste Porträt, sorgen diese Linien dafür, dass ich in die richtige Richtung male. 

Digitally Painting Faces in Adobe Photoshop with Guides Digitally Painting Faces in Adobe Photoshop with Guides Digitally Painting Faces in Adobe Photoshop with Guides
Gesichter in Adobe Photoshop mit Guides digital malen Hilfslinien für Gesichtsposition, Merkmale und Winkel.  Durch das Erstellen verschiedener Arten von Hilfslinien können Sie noch besser zeichnen. 

Schritt 3

Kopieren Sie diese Hilfslinien und fügen Sie sie in Ihr leeres Dokument ein. Beginnen Sie mit einem großen runden Pinsel (B).  Blättern Sie durch die verschiedenen Hilfslinien, um Ihren Fortschritt zu vergleichen, während Sie zu jeder Stufe der Skizze weitergehen.

Sketching Male Faces Accurately in Photoshop Sketching Male Faces Accurately in Photoshop Sketching Male Faces Accurately in Photoshop
Wenn Sie die Fenster direkt nebeneinander haben, können Sie wirklich sicherstellen, dass Sie das Gesicht des Mannes richtig zeichnen. 

Wählen Sie die Ebene für die grobe Skizze aus und verringern Sie die Deckkraft auf 25%.  Erstellen Sie erneut eine neue Ebene, um die Skizze mit einem kleinen runden Pinsel (B) aufzuräumen.

Sketching Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop Sketching Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop Sketching Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop

Das Wichtigste beim Bemalen von Männern ist es, ihre Knochenstruktur zu verstehen. Machen Sie sich also keine Sorgen, ob Sie eine Skizze erstellen, die sehr detailliert ist. 

Schritt 4 

Beginnen Sie jetzt mit dem Malen.  Männer haben Gesichter, die eckiger sind als Frauen. Nehmen Sie sich also die Zeit, die Anleitungen zu studieren, damit Sie nicht aus den Linien treten.  Und da ihre Gesichter nicht so glatt sind, habe ich auch eine schöne Textur mit einem Grunge-Pinsel eingefügt.  Diese subtile Änderung verleiht dem Gemälde sofort einen maskulinen Charakter.

Digitally Painting Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop Tones and LightDigitally Painting Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop Tones and LightDigitally Painting Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop Tones and Light
Verwenden Sie eine Kombination aus glatten und Grunge-Pinseln, um beim Malen von Männern die Textur effektiv zu simulieren. 

Schritt 5 

Dieses Mal war ich mit der Platzierung der einzelnen Funktionen viel erfolgreicher, sodass ich nicht zu viel zu optimieren hatte.  Der Winkel seines Halses scheint ein wenig nach unten zu sein, daher bringe ich das Bild erneut in Liquify, um den Hals mit dem Forward Warp Tool (W) zu begradigen.

Use Liquify When Digitally Painting Faces Use Liquify When Digitally Painting Faces Use Liquify When Digitally Painting Faces
Mit Liquify können Sie die Anatomie in Sekundenschnelle korrigieren. 

Schritt 6 

Sie müssen Ihre Fotos wirklich vergrößern, um die subtilen Unterschiede in Schatten, Texturen und Licht zu verstehen.  Und da wir nur in Graustufen malen, verwenden Sie das Pipettenwerkzeug (I), um mit den Farben des Fotos zu malen. 

Zoom into Photos to Study for Digital Paintings Zoom into Photos to Study for Digital Paintings Zoom into Photos to Study for Digital Paintings

Vergrößern Sie die Fotos, um digitale Bilder zu studieren Wenn Sie bis zum Endergebnis zeichnen, müssen Sie sich wirklich bemühen, so viel wie möglich zu malen.  Hier ist mein fertiges Gemälde mit diesen Techniken.  Beim zweiten Mal konnte ich ein viel besseres Abbild erzielen, ohne jemals ein Foto nachzeichnen zu müssen.

How to Digitally Paint Male Faces in Photoshop Tutorial How to Digitally Paint Male Faces in Photoshop Tutorial How to Digitally Paint Male Faces in Photoshop Tutorial

Jetzt sind Sie dran! 

Fazit 

Sie wissen nie, welche Türen geöffnet werden können, wenn Sie lernen, besser zu malen.  Üben Sie diese Portraits weiterhin in Graustufen und machen Sie weiter mit der Farbe, wenn Sie mehr Selbstvertrauen gewinnen. 

Experimentiere weiter mit verschiedenen Blickwinkeln, um dich zu einem stärkeren Künstler zu machen.  Ich hoffe wirklich, dass diese Tipps geholfen haben, und falls Sie weitere Fragen haben, zögern Sie nicht, mich in den Kommentaren zu fragen!

Ich hoffe wirklich, dass diese Tipps geholfen haben, und falls Sie weitere Fragen haben, zögern Sie nicht, mich in den Kommentaren zu fragen!

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Digital Painting

How to Digitally Paint Faces With Incredible Likeness

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Painting in Photoshop is nothing like working on paper or canvas. And since you don't have to worry about wasting paper, there are so many cool tricks you can use to paint better portraits without ever tracing. 

In this tutorial, I'll show you how to paint two portraits in Adobe Photoshop, using a Wacom Intuos Draw Tablet and references from PhotoDune.

1. So What Is Likeness?

Likeness is really simple. It just means how much your painting looks like the actual subject. When you're an artist, you'll be asked a million times to do portraits, characters, or designs based on real people. So understanding likeness is incredibly handy in order to make your clients happy.

Digitally Paint Faces without Tracing in Adobe Photoshop Art by melody nieves
The more you practice, the closer you can get to the real photo!

Even when you don't want to copy someone's face completely, studying likeness is still really great practice in general face anatomy.

2. First Throw Out Some Rules

The 5 Eyes Rule

In any art class you take, you'll learn a whole bunch of rules about portraits. Some of those rules are great, but a lot of them can end up confusing you.

You might have heard or seen the classic rule: "The head should be 5 eyes wide."

Why It Doesn't Work

Not every face is the same, so you can't paint them with a cookie-cutter approach. Your subject might have really big eyes for their face, or you might just like the idea of drawing them in a caricature-like style. Either way, it's important to fine-tune your painting to what you actually see in front of you.

Draw Faces by Measuring Eyes Across

Square Heads

Another rule or technique taught traditionally is to draw the head by first drawing it as a cube. The cube represents the direction that the head faces in order to help you conquer different angles.

Why It Doesn't Work

Generally speaking, both of these rules are not necessarily bad, but they just don't exactly help in the likeness department. Cube heads, for instance, are better for understanding the overall head position and the different planes of the face, which can then be used later for shading. But sometimes when we limit ourselves to certain rules, we end up focusing more on the rule rather than our subject.

Drawing Heads with Cubes or Squares in Photoshop
Something as "simple" as figuring out how to draw the cube can end up being a task in itself!

Save yourself the confusion! I'll show you how to keep things very simple because all we really need is a couple of lines.

3. Achieve Likeness With Grids & Guidelines

If you really want to learn how to paint any face, then you should actually get comfortable with using grids and guidelines.

Grids allow you to see your reference in sections. So as you begin to paint from the photo, you concentrate on matching that area of the grid to the one in front of you. This helps to make the process a little less complicated by allowing you to see the photo in a different light. Don't worry that you "can't draw faces"—just focus on doing your best to match the grids up.

Digitally Paint Faces with Grids in Photoshop
Teen Reference from PhotoDune

Guidelines are also great for understanding where to place each detail.

Your basic guidelines will probably establish the positions for the eyes, nose, mouth, and center of the face. Once you have these guidelines in, you can use them to understand the relationship between each detail in order to paint your subject better.

Digitally Paint Faces with Guidelines and Rulers in Photoshop
Young man reference from PhotoDune

4. Why Paint in Black and White?

I know you want to paint incredibly detailed portraits as soon as possible, but it's important to learn how to crawl before you walk. Don't take on too much all at once. Master likeness before incorporating color.

To focus properly on the concept of likeness, we'll be painting both portraits in black and white. Many digital artists also call this painting in "grayscale". But no matter what you call it, the point of painting this way is to make sure you recreate the lighting, shading, and general tones of your subjects perfectly.

5. How to Digitally Paint Faces: Easy Angles

Let's start off with a classic pose. If painting people intimidates you, start off with female subjects and centered head positions. Women and especially young people are easier to paint because their features are softer and you don't have to worry about extra details like wrinkles or facial hair throwing you off.

Step 1

Open your female reference in Photoshop. Change the photo to black and white by going to Image > Adjustments > Hue & Saturation and bringing down the Saturation to -100.

To keep the dimensions similar to the original photo (590 x 886 pixels), I'll create a new document at 600 x 900 pixels. Position both windows next to each other to make the referencing process much easier.

How to Position References for Painting in Photoshop
Undock each window for both the reference and painting document, and place them side by side in Photoshop.

Step 2

Now let's add some guides. There are two different types that can help. One is a grid where the sections are all equal like blueprint lines, and the other is creating guidelines that specifically focus on the major shapes in your reference photo.

I like the second better.

How to Digitally Paint Faces with Grids and Guidelines in Photoshop
Grid vs. Guideline Comparison: On the left there is a grid with equal spaces, while the right guidelines just focus on the main details.

Hit Control-R to bring up the Rulers for each document. Then drag your cursor from the Vertical and Horizontal Rulers to position your guidelines. Recreate the same guidelines for your blank document so that they measure up side by side.

Using Rulers and Guidelines for Painting in Photoshop CC

Step 3

Now start drawing your reference with basic shapes using a large Round Brush (B). Don't worry about the details or having a clean sketch just yet. See, now you have a better understanding of where the head should go just because of the guidelines.

Digitally Sketching Faces in Adobe Photoshop

Step 4

Let's move on to the main features. Using the guidelines, I place small dots to mark where each feature begins and ends. With the dots in place, I then begin drawing the nose, mouth, and right eye on separate layers.

Digitally Paint Face Details in Photoshop

Eyes can be tricky. So to cheat the process a little, and create a second eye from the one you already have. Just Duplicate the first eye layer, and then flip it by going to Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal. Now use the Move Tool (V) to position the left eye in place.

Creating Rough Portrait Sketches in Adobe Photoshop

Finish up the last details to complete the rough sketch. You can hide the guidelines at any time by going to View > Show > Guides.

Step 5

I know what you're thinking... it doesn't really look like her yet, right? Well we're still not done with the sketch.

Rough Sketch to Clean Drawing Progression in Photoshop
Use a rough sketch as a guide, then clean it up and add more details before shading.

Try your best to not be lazy. You might have to sketch a face two or three times or even more before your drawing looks like the photo. Lower the Opacity to 30% for the rough sketch, and then create a New Layer above it and use the rough one as a guide. To sketch the cleanest drawing possible, use a small Round Brush (B) at 5 pixels and take your time.

Sketching and Drawing in Photoshop Art Tutorial by Melody Nieves
Don't worry if your sketch isn't a complete copy of the photo just yet. You still have room to improve it with the painting.

Here is my final result. Now I can move on to shading.

Step 6

Lay in the initial tones for your portrait using a Soft Round Brush (B). Around this time you should always check to see how well you're doing with making the painting look like the photo. If something doesn't look right, trust your gut and make some edits.

Shading Sketches in Adobe Photoshop
Notice how the shading helped a ton? We can push to make this look even better by fixing some problem areas.

Looking back at the original photo, her face isn't as symmetrical as I've portrayed it. In fact, her head is tilted slightly to the left, which throws off the position of her eyes and head. To fix this, I'll use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to make a selection around the head.

As a safe measure, I'll create a duplicate of the head by Right-clicking to select Layer via Copy. Now just slightly Rotate the head to the side by hitting Control-T to Free Transform. 

Use the Marquee Tool to Fix Portraits in Photoshop

Step 7

Continue painting more, and really study the original photo to understand the light and shadow. Since I may have drawn the eyes too big, I'll fix the face with Liquify. Merge all your layers together, and then Control-J to create a copy of your painting. Go to Filter > Liquify and use the Pucker Tool (S) to make the eyes smaller. Be gentle—you don't want to do too much.

Use Liquify to Fix Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop
Here's a quick animation of the subtle changes created with the help of Liquify.

You may also notice that I fixed the jaw too. Simply move it into the right position with the Forward Warp Tool (W).

Step 8

Now that we've taken on the brunt of the battle, all you have to do now is finish the painting. The last details really help to transform the portrait, so just keep tweaking it until you're comfortable with the result.

Digitally Paint Faces and Portraits in Adobe Photoshop Tutorial by Melody Nieves

Not too bad, right? Let's see how we can do in our next portrait.

6. How to Digitally Paint Faces: Hard Angles

Ah, the dreaded profile. If you hate painting faces that are turned, then start with a profile to make things much easier.

Step 1

Just like before, we're going to set up our Male Reference right next to our blank document in Photoshop. This painting will be much bigger, with dimensions of 1250 x 1667 pixels at 150 dpi.

Painting Male Faces in Photoshop

Step 2

Create guidelines again and change your photo to black and white. This time I'm going to trace these lines with the Pen Tool (P) so that they're much easier to work with. Stroke the lines with a Small Round Brush (B).

Convert Guidelines to Lines with the Pen Tool in Photoshop
Photoshop's guides can affect your brush strokes as you draw, so create lines with the Pen Tool instead to avoid this problem.

Now Hide the original guides. I also use the Pen Tool (P) to highlight the different angles in this painting by creating bright red lines on a New Layer.  Since these angles are more complicated than the first portrait, these lines will help make sure I'm painting in the right direction.

Digitally Painting Faces in Adobe Photoshop with Guides
Guides for face position, features, and angles. Creating different types of guides will help you draw even better.

Step 3

Copy and Paste those guides onto your blank document and start sketching with a Large Round Brush (B). Flip through the different guides to compare your progress as you move on to each stage of the sketch.

Sketching Male Faces Accurately in Photoshop
Having the windows right next to each other really allows you to make sure you're drawing the man's face correctly.

Select the layer for the rough sketch and lower the Opacity to 25%. Again, create a new layer to clean up the sketch with a Small Round Brush (B).

Sketching Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop

The important thing about painting men is to understand their bone structure, so don't worry about creating a sketch that is very detailed.

Step 4

Now begin your painting. Men have faces that are more angular than women, so make sure you take the time to study the guides so that you don't step out of the lines. And since their faces aren't as smooth, I also incorporated some nice texture with a grunge brush. This subtle change instantly gives the painting a more masculine vibe.

Digitally Painting Male Faces in Adobe Photoshop Tones and Light
Use a combination of smooth and grunge brushes to effectively simulate texture when painting men.

Step 5

This time around I was much more successful with the placement of each feature, so I didn't have too much to tweak. The angle of his neck does seem to be a little off, so once again I bring the painting into Liquify to straighten the neck using the Forward Warp Tool (W).

Use Liquify When Digitally Painting Faces
You can fix anatomy in a matter of seconds with Liquify.

Step 6

You really have to zoom in on your photos to understand the subtle differences in shadows, textures, and light. And since we're only painting in grayscale, feel free to use the Eyedropper Tool (I) to paint with the colors from the photo.

Zoom into Photos to Study for Digital Paintings

As you draw to the final result, really push yourself to paint as much as you can. Here is my finished painting using these techniques. By the second time around, I was able to achieve much better likeness without ever tracing a photo.

How to Digitally Paint Male Faces in Photoshop Tutorial

Now it's your turn!


You never know what doors can be opened just by learning how to paint better. Keep practicing those portraits in grayscale, and move on to color as you gain more confidence.

Continue experimenting with different angles to make you a stronger artist. I really hope these tips have helped, and if you have any more questions feel free to ask me in the comments!

And if you'd like to see more tutorials on painting portraits, check out the ones below!

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.