Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Drawing
Design

如何学习绘画:第一阶段,手部练习

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Learn to Draw.
How to Learn to Draw: Stage Two, Precision

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by infoVsion_wonderful (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

我们小时候都喜欢画画。 那时候画画很简单,不管你用的是彩色铅笔,还是一根棍子,还是用你的手指在蒙着雾气的窗户上。 但即便如此,你也可能注意到有些孩子比你画得好。 其实你并不知道“更好”的含义——你所知道的只是赞美的程度。 每当你听到别人赞美人家的孩子,而你自己的作品被忽视时,你的感觉就会越来越糟。 最终,你放弃了画画。 既然没有人关心你,你为什么还要继续?

现在,不管什么原因,你想重新拿起画笔,虽然这个主意看起来很疯狂。 那些从未半途而废的孩子现在已经是大师了,他们的艺术作品看起来如此神奇。 你该如何弥补这个差距呢? 你能赶上他们么?

答案就是:没人知道。 但是你要追上的不是他们。 你的梦想是,你可以随心所欲地画出你想要的东西,而不是不断地批评你的错误。 这个“未来的你”应该是你的理想,因为变得和他或者她一样好是取决于你的,而不是别人的技能/决心。

一旦你把未来的自我设定为你的目标,你就会不断进步。 比昨天更好是你的目标。 这可能是是不是听起来比立刻变得和别人一样好要靠谱得多? 如果你同意我的观点,那就加入我的行列吧。 我不会告诉你怎么画画——这不是你想要的! 相反,我将告诉你如何学习绘画。 我将带领你用自己的步伐来循序渐进,经历四个大阶段。

这是第一阶段。 如果你想知道如何在经过了这么长时间的中断以后重新开始,在这里你会找到答案。 我将为绝对的初学者提供一套练习——有些是显而易见的,但这只意味着你比你想象的要先进一些! 准备好了么?

调整你的专注力

当你决定学习一些东西的时候,正确的态度比世界上所有的教科书都重要得多。 我已经给了你第一条建议,把你的技能与未来的自己相比,而不是别人。 在开始练习之前,请仔细阅读这部分内容。

完美并不存在

当你设定你的目标时,它可能看起来完全可信。 “这是今天的我,这是达成了最终目标的我,”这就是你要在脑海中想象的。 在这两点之间有一条特定的路线,这似乎就是是你要做的。 然而,你错过了最重要的一点——你需要改变你自己。

今天,能够画出火柴人似乎已经是奇迹了,但这只是因为你还不能画。 一旦你达到你的目标,它就失去了它的意义,你在寻找新的目标,一些更强大的东西。 你不会渴望你已经拥有的东西。 这就是为什么你可能会抱怨你不能画出火柴人,就好像它是一种有价值的技能,而一个能画出火柴人的人则会抱怨他们不能画出一个真正的人体。

我们不可能做到事事完美面面俱到, 我们就是这样构建的,所以接受吧。 你永远不会这样来认可你的技能:“我是一个伟大的艺术家,我不需要学习任何东西,我只是为了好玩才做这个。” 这是不可能的! 总会有一些你做不到的事情,会让你变得完整……一旦你明白了这一点,那新事物就会打开你的眼界,让你进入一个尚未学习的新世界。

drawing how much do you know
当你认为你知道99%的事情时,那最后1%会告诉你你是错得有多离谱。

如果有一种办法可以做到完美,那就是停止尝试。 你必须明白,无论你多么擅长绘画,它都不会使你成为一个比现在更好、更有价值的人。 从另一方面来说,不管你画得有多糟糕,它也不会让你变得那么一钱不值。 这就引出了另一个问题:

为自己奋斗。

如果你只是想画得漂亮,收获一大堆古老而甜蜜的赞美,那就准备好去承受那些痛苦。 你还记得当你为自己的工作感到自豪的时候,直到有人批评它得感觉么? 为什么你的满足感会如此轻易地消失,仅仅是因为一个陌生人说出了他们的意见?

why critique hurts so much

当你依赖于别人的意见时,你永远不会满足。 更重要的是,你把你的情绪交给那些并不在乎它的人! 即使它让你成为一个优秀的艺术家,最终,你也会因为不够好而不断受到压力。 你愿意成为一个伟大的,承受这巨大心理压力的艺术家,还是仅仅是一个马马虎虎的,但充实的人?

我在这篇文章中详细阐述了关于他人评价方面的问题,所以如果你觉得这是你的问题所在,一定要读一读。 记住:你不一定非要成为一个伟大的艺术家。 你只是想对自己的工作感到满意,而你恰好认为自己需要和专业人士一样出色。 没必要 不要拿自己和他们比较,看看你是否能比昨天做得更好——这样你就能获得极大的满足感。

你为你设定了一个目标,并不是为了痛苦不堪地去达到这个目的 你只是要把自己变得更好! 保持它的趣味性,放轻松,不要苛求自己能画得像一个已经练习了多年的人那么好。 你是为了自己,并且只为自己而做。 学会为自己小小的进步而高兴,不要管别人怎么想。 毕竟,他们到底知道什么呢?

只有一个目标

你可能有很多理由开始学习画画,但你只有一个目标。 就是要学会画画!“学习”是这里的关键词,因为你不可能真正一次就全部学会。 这是一个持续不断的过程。 因此,如果你设定的目标是“能够100%真实地画出我想要的东西”,你必定失败——因为这个目标取决于你想要什么,而不是你能画什么。 随着你技能的发展,你想要的东西也在不断改变,知道你的憧憬100%地实现。

learning never ends how to learn to draw
那种认为有某种终点的感觉只是一种幻觉。

重要的是要明白旅程永远不会结束。 只要你秉承着这样的目标,唯有艺术让你快乐,那么你将永不止步! 学会欣赏每一个微小的进步,享受这段旅程。 学习是你唯一能做的事情,而且它是唯一一个不会改变的目标。

如果你真的需要更明确的目标,那就去创造它们吧。 然而,不要依赖任何其他人来获得你所有的幸福和信心——这是毫无意义的。 即使是沿着这些小目标循序渐进的时候,也要记住这都是过程,一旦你达成了之后,就不再重要。

手工技能

总的来说,画得越简单,你的技能等级就越低。 这听起来很滑稽,但有一条规则,这就是所谓的“达克效应”。 简而言之,你对某件事了解得越少,你就越觉得自己知道得越多。 这是因为你不知道的知识也是知识!

你可能会说:“我知道绘画没那么简单——如果简单的话,我早就能画了!” 然而,当你的画不像你希望的那样时,你几乎要哭了。 如果你真的知道画出正确的东西有多难,你就不会那么沮丧——这对你来说是很明显的,那一定很难!

当你看到一个技艺高超的艺术家绘制一幅杰作时,你无法理解它是如何完成的,你可能会忍不住将其归咎于天赋。 这些迹象表明你是个初学者。 当你技能等级提升了的时候,哪怕只是一点点——比方说你只是试着学习如何画画——你就会发现这不过是一种技能。

why is drawing so hard
当你是一个完全的初学者时,你认为所有的一切都是为了它。

我把最重要的绘画技巧分为四个阶段:

第一阶段:画出你能想到的。

这都是关于绘画最基本的定义:在某种媒体上上创造记号。 训练你的手,无论拿起什么工具都能自动画出来。 初学者经常把它看作是唯一的绘画技巧,但实际上它只是一个基础。 关键字:刻意练习

simple drawing course for beginners 1

第二阶段:画出你画的

就是能刻意地使用工具,而不是胡乱摸索。 比方说你画了一些漂亮的东西,但是你下一次不一定还能画这么好,这就是现在这个阶段的水平。 同时如果不是描线的话,你还不能很精确地复制出来。 关键词:精度

simple drawing course for beginners 2

第三阶段:画出你想画的

这其实和你有多了解你的绘画对象无关,而是考验你的记忆能力。 这篇文章中中包含了主要的内容,但也有一些其他的练习可以使它更容易。 前一个阶段是要在你的头脑中画东西,这一阶段关于把这些东西画在那里。 关键字:视觉数据库

simple drawing course for beginners 3

第四阶段:画所想画的

这是最难的,最难以说清的部分。 你怎么能画出你想要的东西,无视其他人的看法? 你怎么能让一些不存在的东西,仍然真实可信? 注意这是在掌握了现实风格之后! 关键词:风格

simple drawing course for beginners 4

如何学习

当然,今天我们要讲的是第一阶段,这是一个很长的介绍。 你需要意识到这不是一个严格意义上的教程——这些练习可以帮助你达到下一个层次,但这都取决于你如何使用它们。

为了本教程的目的,我将假设您使用的是一支简单的铅笔和一张纸。 初学者常常想知道他们是否应该从铅笔开始,或者用数位板,但是方法越多入门也就变得越复杂。 这里有一个很好的机会,就用你熟悉的铅笔——不需要增加你学习使用其他工具的成本。

但是,如果你有传统绘画的经验,并且想用数字绘画来开始你的冒险,这些练习可以帮助你适应手绘板的运笔模式。 如果你想用另一只手画画(比如因为受伤或者只是为了好玩),它们也会有帮助!

现在,其他先不管,先来说说如何来握住铅笔。 就从你平时书写的姿势开始,如果你觉得不够精确或者足够舒服,那就修改一下你的握笔姿势。 所有的练习都是你的游乐场,不要强迫自己,测试你的能力,不要把它们和你想象的做比较。

记住:

  • 练习时间不要长(5到15分钟),但要经常锻炼——至少每天一次。
  • 你的不会受伤——但它可能会疲劳,但如果你想做的更好,那就找一个更舒服的运笔方法。
  • 保持你的手放松——不要用你所有的力量去压铅笔。 你的工作就是做标记,仅此而已。
  • 不要使用任何特别的纸张或素描本。 你可以随意画在一页废纸的背面,或者是最便宜的复印纸。
  • 放一首好听的音乐,或者是有声读物——没有必要完全专注于你所做的事情。 这里的目标是让这些动作成为你手部肌肉的习惯动作。
  • 永远不要忘记你为什么这样做。 不要把它当成一件麻烦事——如果你不想要它,你可以随时停下来!

说够了,现在上手试试吧!

1、涂鸦

轻松地开始——画点简单的东西。 不管你信不信,你已经可以画画了,你只是想获得更多的控制权。 让自己找点乐子,然后画画,就好像这是一个无聊的课,你无事可做。 不要画任何具体的东西,也不要去评判它!

how to learn to draw

这个练习

  • 手部的热身
  • 让你的手更加放松
  • 提醒你画的是什么。
  • 让你解放思想。
how to learn to draw 2
这是一个热身运动,所以不要强迫自己!

所有的案例,比如上面的例子,都是用我的左手画的(我是右撇子)。 您的常用手可能更熟练,因为您使用它(至少有时)用于手写。 尽管如此,一位经验丰富的艺术家用非常用手清楚地展示了绘图的过程。

2。控制方向

画一堆点,或者星空。 然后玩一个贪吃蛇的游戏! 试着平稳地移动,不要急转弯。 如果你想使它更具挑战性, 使用更多的点, 并首先连接他们对角。

how to learn to draw 3

这个练习

  • 教你如何平稳地改变方向。
  • 让你可以控制线条的方向——这是达到精确的第一步。
  • 训练你的手在不同的位置的运动。
  • 检查一下握笔在不同的位置是否感觉舒服。
how to learn to draw 4
这是一种有趣的运动,你可以把它当作游戏来对待。

3、画线条

对于未经训练的手来说,直线是很困难的,所以练习它们就更重要了。 不要追求完美的直线度——向不同的方向轻轻地画线。 有些人会觉得比别人舒服,这没什么。 这就是为什么我要把我画的生物面向左!

how to learn to draw 5

这个练习

  • 练习控制的稳定性
  • 加强了先前的练习
  • 让你发现你的手的“流向”的是你的线条最舒服的方向。
how to learn to draw 6
不要担心,如果他们真的发生了,作为新手,这是完全正常的。

当你找到完美的方向,在未来继续使用它。 如果有必要,旋转纸张,但要坚持最喜欢的方向——这将是你走向舒适绘画的第一步。

4、画椭圆

我故意不说“圆”,因为圆跟直线一样吓人。 画一个椭圆,而且是不用那么完美的一个。 把它们画得有大有小,有快有慢,不要担心它们是否完美。 这里的目标是在你开始的地方结束它。

how to learn to draw 7

这个练习:

  • 在一个小范围内练习手的旋转。
  • 教你如何在旋转过程中控制握笔。
  • 控制方向的下一步是什么?
how to learn to draw 8
忘掉完美的圆圈吧——它们在绘画中很少用到。

排线练习

排线是一种用于画阴影的技术,但它也是基于手的一个非常重要的动作。 在同一个方向上画出一系列快速、短的线,然后再用另一个系列画出来。 你也可以使用“毛球”技术,或者其他版本的排线方式。 如果很难,那就慢慢开始,但不要只专注于一行!

how to learn to draw 9

这个练习:

  • 让你不断重复一个你刚刚使用过的动作。
  • 训练你的手快速,但是用刻意的动作。
  • 训练“小而尖锐”的动作
  • 迫使你找到反复但没那么累的方法
  • 教你如何用“面”而不是“线”来思考
how to learn to draw 10
这种方法总是有点累人,但是要设法找到一种不需要花费更多精力的方法。

6.填充封闭区域

让我们尝试两个练习。 画出椭圆形,然后快速地用排线把它们填满。 这里的目标是不能超过轮廓线,如果你画得太快,这可能会非常困难。 不要去修补那些空档,一直画下去直到空档全部消失。

how to learn to draw 11

这个练习:

  • 扩展“线条”练习,训练握笔的稳定性。
  • 增加你对线条控制的信心。
  • 组合一些不同的练习。
  • 训练你的精确地连接起点和终点。
how to learn to draw 12
这比你想象的要难!

7、控制压力水平

对于一个完美主义的初学者来说,放手是很难的。 在他们看来,每一行都必须是完美的,没有任何修正。 这个练习是打破这个“规则”的第一步。 用不同的压力画水平线和一些涂鸦。 划线的时候试着改变力道,看看你能不能逐渐加深。 你甚至可以用线条中画出一个渐变!

how to learn to draw 13

这个练习:

  • 给你自由!
  • 教导你关键的垂直运动,以及如何将它与普通水平运动相结合。
  • 训练你的“感觉”控制。
  • 这是他们里面最重要的一条
how to learn to draw 14
软铅笔(B)比硬铅笔(H)可以产生更多的压力值,检查它们并找到你最喜欢的值。

8、重复线条

让我们继续之前的练习。 现在你要学习一个非常重要的技巧,这是大多数初学者都不知道的。

轻轻地画一条短线条。 然后再画一次,再画一次。 对于最后一笔,你可以使用更高的压力。 用不同的线条做同样的事情,速度要快,如果一开始效果不太好,也不要担心。 这是一项艰苦的练习,但它能创造奇迹!

how to learn to draw 15

这个练习:

  • 训练你的精确性
  • 让你完全控制这条线。
  • 让你达到更高的精确度。
  • 让你对你能画出的东西有信心——线条开始呈现出你想要的样子,它们不再简单地“出现”。
how to learn to draw 16
别画得太慢,否则会影响你的。

9、画“软”的形状

所有这些练习都应该为你准备好最后一个。 如果没有辅助工具的画,圆圈或长线条几乎不可能一下子画出来, 事实是,艺术家们很少画有长条线的东西——短的线条更容易控制。

学学这种方法,可以更加自由,举起铅笔不停地移动,画出各种各样的形状。 这个练习:

how to learn to draw 17

这个练习:

  • 让你摆脱最限制初学者的习惯。
  • 让你真正的计划你的线条的走向,而不是让你的手决定。
  • 为你准备另一个阶段。
how to learn to draw 18
你可以用这个技巧来画任何东西——看看它有多大的变化。

我们走吧!

每天使用这些练习来练习你的手艺。 他们带给你的进步完全取决于你的决心和纪律。 在进入下一阶段之前,要一直坚持练下去。 这个顺序是非常重要的,没有一个好的基础,你以后学到的东西将会更加难以掌握。

这可能很无聊,但要记住目的是什么——你正在教会你的手如何移动,即使是最复杂的图画这也是基础。 这就好像你在为一个新的、令人惊奇的食谱购买原料。 你可以投入更多,拥有你渴望的美味食物,或者尝试着存钱,最终失望。 没有什么比这更容易了!

记住:重复是关键。 你所训练的是肌肉记忆,就像“正常的”记忆一样,它需要不断的、规律的练习来让让这些东西成为烙印。 所以继续训练,继续关注下一阶段——关于意图和准确性的问题。

how to learn to draw final
您可以把这张图打印出来,快速提醒所有的练习。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Drawing
Design

How to Learn to Draw: Stage One, Manual Skills

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Learn to Draw.
How to Learn to Draw: Stage Two, Precision
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

We all used to draw as kids. It was easy back then, no matter if you used color pencils, a stick, or your finger on a steamy window. But even then you might have noticed that some children drew better than you. Not that you knew what "better" meant—all you knew was the sweetness of praise. Whenever you heard someone else being praised, and your own work ignored, you felt worse and worse. Eventually, you gave up on drawing. Why would you continue if nobody cared?

Now, whatever the reason, you want to come back, but it seems so scary. Those children who never gave up are working as professionals now, and their art looks almost magical. How could you possibly bridge that gap? Will you ever catch up on them?

The answer is, nobody knows. But it's not them you should be catching up on. There's your dream about you drawing what you want, in any style you want, without being constantly critiqued for your mistakes. That "future you" should be your ideal, because becoming as good as him or her is what depends on you, not the skill/determination of others.

Once you set your future self as your point of reference, you'll be constantly progressing. Being better than yesterday is your goal. Doesn't it sound more possible than becoming as good as someone else in no time? If you agree with me, join me in this great quest. I won't show you how to draw—you wouldn't even want that! Instead, I'll show you how to learn to draw. I'll lead you through four big stages that you'll reach at your own pace.

This is stage one. If you've wondered how to start after such a long break, here you'll find the answer. I'll present a set of exercises for absolute beginners—some of them you may find obvious, but it will only mean you're a bit more advanced than you thought! Ready?

Set Your Mind

When you decide to learn something, the right attitude is far more important than all the textbooks in the world. I've already given you one piece of advice—compare your skills to your future self, not to others. There are more, so read this part carefully before starting the exercises.

Perfection Doesn't Exist

When you set up your goal, it may look completely plausible. "This is me today, and this is me when I reach the goal," that's what you imagine. There's a certain way to go between these two points, and it seems like something you can do. However, you miss one important point—your needs change with you.

Today it may seem so amazing to be able to draw a stick figure, but only because you can't do it yet. Once you reach your goal, it loses its power and you're looking for something else, something stronger. You can't want what you already have. That's why you may whine that you can't draw a stick figure as if it were some worthy skill, and someone who can draw a stick figure whines that they can't draw a real human.

There is no point where you'll be good enough. That's how we're constructed, so just accept it. You'll never think of your skills: "I'm a great artist and I don't need to learn anything else, I just do it for fun at this point." It's not going to happen! There will always be something you can't do, something that would complete you... and once you get it, that new thing opens your eyes to a new world of things yet to learn.

drawing how much do you know
When you think you know 99% of something, that last 1% shows you how wrong you were

If there is a way to be perfect, it's to stop trying. You must understand that no matter how good you are at drawing, it will not make you a better, more valuable person than you are now. It's also true from the other side—no matter how bad you are at drawing, it doesn't make you less worthy. This brings us to another point:

Do It For Yourself

If you want to draw beautifully only to feel that old sweetness of praise, prepare for a lot of suffering. Do you remember that feeling when you were so proud of your work until someone critiqued it? Why does your satisfaction go away so easily only because a random stranger stated their opinion?

why critique hurts so much

When you rely for your satisfaction on the opinion of others, you'll never be fulfilled. More, you give power over your mood to people who don't really care about it! Even if it makes you a good artist, eventually, you'll be constantly stressed about not being good enough. And would you rather be a great, stressed artist, or just be a bad, but fulfilled one?

I've elaborated on the topic of critique in this article, so if you're feeling it's something you have a problem with, make sure to read it. Remember: you don't want to be a great artist. You just want to be satisfied with your works, and you happen to think you need to be as great as professionals for it. You don't! Stop comparing yourself to them, and instead see if you can be better than you were yesterday—that's all you need to be satisfied.

It's you who sets your goals, so don't make them painfully hard to reach on purpose. You need to set the good enough yourself. Keep it fun, take it easy, and don't be hard on yourself for not being as good as someone who has practiced for years. You do it for yourself, and yourself only. Learn to be glad about your small progress, no matter what others think about it. What do they know, after all?

There's Only One Goal

You may have a lot of reasons to start learning to draw, but you only have one goal. It's to learn how to draw! "Learn" is the key word here, because you can't really be taught to draw once and for all. It's a constant, never-ending process. Thus, if you set your goal to "be able to draw anything I want 100% realistically", you'll fail—because this goal depends on what you want, not what you're able to draw. And what you want changes as your skill develops, along with your vision of 100% realism.

learning never ends how to learn to draw
That feeling that there is some end point is only an illusion

It's important to understand that the journey never ends. As long as you stay under the impression that there is a goal you need to reach to be happy with your art, you will never be! Learn to appreciate every little sign of progress and just enjoy the journey. Learning is the only thing you'll always be doing, and it's the only goal that won't move anywhere.

If you really need more definite goals, feel free to create them. However, don't rely on any of them for all your happiness and confidence—that's pointless. And even when following these small goals, keep in mind that it's all about the process, and it doesn't really matter when you reach them.

Manual Skills

The simpler drawing as a whole seems, the less advanced you probably are. Funny as it may sound, there is a rule for it, and it's called the Dunning-Kruger effect. In short, the less you know about something, the more you think you know. It's because the knowledge about what you don't know is knowledge, too!

You may say "I know drawing isn't simple—if it was, I could do it!" Yet you're almost crying when your drawing doesn't turn out as you'd like it to. If you really knew how hard it is to draw something right, you wouldn't be so frustrated—it would be obvious for you that it must be hard!

When you look at a skilled artist drawing his masterpiece and you can't understand how it's done, you may be tempted to blame it all on talent. This is a clear sign that you're a beginner. When you're more advanced than this, even just a little bit—if you only tried to learn how to draw—you can see it's not about one skill.

why is drawing so hard
When you're an utter beginner, you think all it takes is to draw it

I divided the most important drawing skills into four stages:

Stage 1: Draw What You Want

This is all about the most basic definition of drawing: creating marks on something. It's about training your hand to work almost automatically with the tool you want to use. Beginners often see it as the one and only drawing skill, but in fact it's just a base. Keyword: physical exercise.

simple drawing course for beginners 1

Stage 2: Draw What You Want

This is about using the tool intentionally, avoiding guesswork. If after drawing something pretty you are afraid you couldn't ever draw it again, this is probably the stage you should work on. It's also for you if you can't copy references properly unless you trace them. Keyword: precision.

simple drawing course for beginners 2

Stage 3: Draw What You Want

This is less about drawing as you may know it, and more about memory. The main idea has been included in this article, but there are also other exercises that will make it easier. While the previous stage was about drawing things from your head, this is about putting these things there. Keyword: visual database.

simple drawing course for beginners 3

Stage 4: Draw What You Want

This is the hardest, the vaguest part. How can you draw anything just as you want it, no matter what others might expect? How can you make something not realistic, but still plausible? Notice that it comes after mastering realism! Keyword: style.

simple drawing course for beginners 4

How to Learn

Of course, today we're working on stage 1, hence such a long introduction. You need to be aware that it's not a tutorial in a strict sense—these are exercises that will help you get to the next level, but it's all up to you how you use them.

For the purpose of this tutorial I'm going to assume you're using a simple pencil and a sheet of paper. Beginners often wonder if they should start with a pencil, or maybe with a graphics tablet, but the other way makes it more complicated than necessary. There is a good chance you're familiar with a pencil—no need to add another tool you need to learn from scratch.

However, if you're experienced at traditional drawing and want to start your adventure with digital drawing, these exercises may help you get used to the specific stylus movement. If you want to draw with your other hand (for example because of injury or just for fun), they will be helpful, too!

Now, there is no one and and only proper pencil grip. Start with the one you use for writing and then, if it doesn't feel precise/comfortable enough, modify the stance. All the exercises are a playground for you—don't press yourself, test your abilities, and don't compare them to any imagined ones.

Remember:

  • Exercise in short sessions (5 to 15 minutes), but regularly—at least once a day.
  • Your hand shouldn't hurt—it may get tired, but if it's more than this, find a more comfortable version of the movement.
  • Keep your hand relaxed—don't press the pencil with all your power. Your job is to make marks, nothing more.
  • Don't use any special paper or a sketchbook. Feel free to draw on one-side-printed pages you were going to throw away, or the cheapest copy paper.
  • Turn on good music, or even an audio-book—there's no need to focus fully on what you're do. The goal here is to make these movements automatic for your hand.
  • Never forget why you're doing it. Don't treat it as a chore—you can stop at any time if you don't want it!

Enough talking, let's get to work already!

1. Draw Doodles

Start loosely—simply draw something. Whether you believe it or not, you already can draw, you just want to gain more control over it. Let yourself have some fun and just draw, as if it were a boring lesson and you had nothing to do. Don't draw anything specific, and don't judge it!

how to learn to draw

This exercise:

  • warms up your hand
  • makes your hand relaxed
  • reminds you what drawing is about
  • lets you free your mind
how to learn to draw 2
This is a warm-up exercise, so don't push yourself!

All the examples, like the one above, were drawn with my left hand (I'm right-handed). Your primary hand is probably more proficient, because you use it (at least sometimes) for hand-writing. Still, the non-trained hand of an experienced artist clearly shows the manual side of the drawing process.

2. Control Direction

Draw a bunch of dots, or a starry sky. Then play Snake! Try to move smoothly, and don't take sharp turns. If you want to make it more challenging, use more dots and first connect them diagonally.

how to learn to draw 3

This exercise:

  • teaches you how to change direction smoothly
  • lets you gain control over the direction of the line—this is the first step in reaching precision
  • trains your hand for various positions
  • lets you check whether the grip feels comfortable in every position
how to learn to draw 4
This is a funny exercise you can treat like a game

3. Draw Any Lines

Straight lines can be very difficult for the untrained hand, so it's all the more important to practice them. Don't go for perfect straightness—draw the lines quickly, lightly, using various directions. Some of them you'll find more comfortable than others, and it's OK. It's the reason why I draw my creatures facing left!

how to learn to draw 5

This exercise:

  • practices stable grip
  • extends the previous exercise
  • lets you find the "flow" of your hand—the most comfortable direction for your lines
how to learn to draw 6
Don't worry if they turn out shaky—it's completely normal when you start

When you find that perfect direction, keep using it in future. Rotate the sheet if necessary, but stick to that favorite flow—it will be your first step towards comfortable drawing.

4. Draw Ovals

I intentionally didn't say "circles", because circles are as scary as straight lines. Go for ovals, and not even perfect ones. Draw them big and small, fast and slow, and don't worry about their perfection. The goal here is to keep turning and end where you started.

how to learn to draw 7

This exercise:

  • practices rotation of the hand in a small and big range
  • teaches you how to manage the grip during rotation
  • is the next step in gaining control over direction
how to learn to draw 8
Forget about perfect circles for a while—they're rarely needed in drawing

5. Practice Hatching

Hatching is a technique used for shading, but it is also based on a very important movement of the hand. Draw a series of fast, short lines all in the same direction, and then cross them with another series. You can also use the "hairball" technique, or other versions of hatching. If it's hard, start a bit more slowly, but never focus on one line!

how to learn to draw 9

This exercise:

  • lets you re-create a motion you've just used
  • trains your hand for fast, but deliberate motion
  • trains "small and sharp" motion
  • forces you to find ways for non-tiring repetition
  • teaches you how to think in terms of "area" instead of "line"
how to learn to draw 10
This technique will always be a little bit tiring, but try to find a way that takes no more effort than necessary

6. Fill Closed Areas

Let's link two exercises. Draw ovals, and then quickly fill them with hatching. The goal here is not to cross the outlines, which may be very difficult if you do it fast enough. Don't fix the gaps—rather practice it until they stop appearing.

how to learn to draw 11

This exercise:

  • extends the "line drawing" exercise—trains stable grip
  • increases your confidence about line control
  • groups up a few different exercises
  • trains your precision for both the start and end point of the line
how to learn to draw 12
It's harder than you think!

7. Master Pressure Levels

It's very hard for a perfectionist beginner to let go. It's somehow imprinted in them that every line must be perfect at once, with no corrections. This exercise is the first step towards breaking this "rule". Draw lines and some doodles using various pressure levels. Change it as you go, and see if you can make it gradual. You can even draw a gradient out of the lines!

how to learn to draw 13

This exercise:

  • gives you freedom!
  • teaches you the crucial vertical movement and how to combine it with the common horizontal movement
  • trains your "feel" of the grip
  • is the most important of them all
how to learn to draw 14
Softer pencils (B) have more pressure levels than hard ones (H)—check them and find your favorite

8. Repeat Lines

Let's continue the previous exercise. Now you're going to learn a very important trick, something that most beginners aren't even aware of.

Draw a short line with low pressure. Then draw over it once again, and again. For the last stroke you're allowed to use higher pressure. Do the same with various lines, quickly, and don't worry if it doesn't turn out too well at first. It's a hard exercise, but it works miracles!

how to learn to draw 15

This exercise:

  • trains your precision
  • gives you complete control over the line
  • gets you to a higher level of accuracy
  • gives you confidence about what you can draw—the lines start appearing as intended, they don't simply "turn out" any more
how to learn to draw 16
Don't go too slow, or it will give you no effect

9. Draw "Soft" Shapes

All these exercises should prepare you for this last one. Circles or long lines are almost impossible to draw all at once, without any additional tools. The truth is that artists rarely draw anything with long lines—short lines are much easier to control. 

Learn this and become free—draw various shapes, lifting and shifting back the pencil all the time. Do it quickly and try not to force your hand too much.

how to learn to draw 17

This exercise:

  • lets you get rid of the most restricting beginner's habit
  • lets you truly plan where your line goes, instead of letting your hand decide
  • prepares you for another stage
how to learn to draw 18
You can draw anything with this technique—see for yourself how much it changes

Here We Go!

Use these exercises to practice your manual skills every day. The progress they will give you depends solely on your determination and discipline. Do them until they're child's play before moving on to the next stage. The order is very important here—without a good foundation, everything you'll learn later will be harder to master.

This may be boring, but remember what it's all about—you're teaching your hand moves that are the base of even the most complicated drawings. It's as if you were buying ingredients for a new, amazing recipe. You can invest more and have the tasty food you're craving, or try to save and get disappointed in the end. Nothing worth having comes easy!

Remember: repetition is the key here. What you're training is called muscle memory, and like "normal" memory it requires constant, regular practice for something to get imprinted for longer. So keep training and stay tuned for the next stage—the one about intention and precision.

how to learn to draw final
You can print this image for a quick reminder of all the exercises

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.