Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Textures
Design

Comment créer différentes textures vectorielles à l'aide d'Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Ahmad Fauzan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Créer des textures intéressantes peut parfois être une tâche difficile et ennuyeuse, surtout si vous ne savez pas exactement par où commencer.

Depuis que je suis là-bas, je voulais vous aider en construisant ce petit tutoriel qui vous montrera trois méthodes différentes, faciles à apprendre et à maîtriser.

Alors, si cela semble intéressant, rejoignez-moi pour apprendre à créer un vase décoratif simple et à utiliser des textures pour le rendre plus vivant.

1. Comment configurer un nouveau fichier de projet

Comme toujours, démarrons le projet en ouvrant Illustrator et en créant un nouveau document en allant dans Fichier> Nouveau (ou Control-N), que nous ajusterons comme suit:

  • Nombre de planches: 1
  • Largeur: 1200 px
  • Hauteur: 600 px
  • Unités: Pixels

Et à partir de l'onglet Avancé:

  • Mode de couleur: RVB
  • Effets raster: écran (72ppi)
  • Mode de prévisualisation: Par défaut
setting up a new document

2. Comment configurer les calques

Une fois que nous avons créé notre nouveau document, nous souhaitons le superposer de manière à pouvoir séparer nos vases (que nous utiliserons comme support pour les différentes textures) de l’arrière-plan.

Ouvrez le panneau Calques et créez un total de deux calques que nous renommerons comme suit:

  • couche 1: fond
  • couche 2: vases
setting up the layers

3. Comment créer le fond

Avec le document entièrement en couches, nous pouvons maintenant commencer à travailler sur le projet actuel et nous le ferons en créant un arrière-plan. Ceci dit, assurez-vous de vous positionner sur la première couche et de vous y plonger!

Etape 1

À l'aide de l'outil Rectangle (M), créez un rectangle de 1200 x 600 pixels que nous colorierons à l'aide de #FF8269, puis que nous alignerons au centre de la planche graphique sous-jacente à l'aide des options Alignement horizontal et Vertical du panneau Align, en vous assurant que l'alignement est bien effectué. à l'Artboard.

creating and positioning the background

Étape 2

Avec le fond en place, nous pouvons maintenant verrouiller le calque actuel et passer au suivant, où nous commencerons à travailler sur nos petits vases.

locking the background layer

4. Comment créer le vase

En supposant que vous vous soyez déjà positionné sur la deuxième couche, commençons par travailler sur les vases décoratifs sur lesquels nous allons afficher nos textures.

Étape 1

Commencez par créer la section inférieure du corps du vase à l’aide d’un cercle de 128 x 128 pixels, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #FFE7C5, puis centrer sur le grand tableau d’art en le positionnant à 178 pixels de son bord inférieur.

creating the main shape for the lower section of the vase

Étape 2

Ajoutez la forme principale de la section du cou en utilisant un rectangle de 24 x 88 px (#FFE7C5) et la base en utilisant un rectangle arrondi de 48 x 8 px (#FFE7C5), que nous allons positionner comme dans l’image de référence.

adding the neck and base section to the center vase

Étape 3

Ouvrez le tracé de la moitié supérieure du cercle et de celle du bas du rectangle, en les réunissant dans une seule forme plus grande à l'aide du raccourci clavier Ctrl-J, en veillant à ajuster la transition entre le col et le bas du corps, comme indiqué dans l'image de référence. .

adjusting the shape of the center vase

Étape 4

Prenez quelques instants et décorez rapidement le vase en utilisant #2A323D pour ses sections les plus sombres et #FFE7C5 pour ses parties les plus claires, en veillant à les masquer où vous le souhaitez (formes souhaitées sélectionnées> clic droit> Make Clipping Mask). Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez toutes ses formes en utilisant le raccourci clavier Control-G, avant de passer à l'étape suivante.

adding details to the center vase

Étape 5

Une fois que nous avons fini de travailler sur le vase, nous pouvons maintenant ajouter la ligne de premier plan à l’aide d’une ligne Stroke d’une largeur de 160 px et d’une épaisseur de 2 px (#2A323D). Après avoir regroupé (Control-G) les deux ensemble, ajoutez les instances restantes (Control-C> Control-F deux fois) que nous allons positionner à une distance de 160 px de l'original.

creating the remaining vases

Nous avons donc à peu près fini de travailler sur nos toiles vierges (les vases), ce qui signifie que nous pouvons maintenant passer à la partie qui intéresse la plupart d'entre vous et voir comment nous pouvons leur ajouter des textures à l'aide de trois méthodes.

5. Comment ajouter des textures en utilisant l'effet de grain

La première méthode, et ma préférée, utilise l’effet de grain, dérivé de Photoshop.

Étape 1

Positionnez-vous sur le premier vase (celui de gauche), puis à l'aide de l'outil Sélection directe (A), sélectionnez les formes pour son corps et sa base, que nous copierons (Control-C) puis collons au premier plan (Control -F) où ils seront utilisés comme masque d'écrêtage.

creating the clipping mask for the grain effect texture

Étape 2

Puisque nous voulons que les deux formes se comportent comme une seule plus grande, nous devrons les transformer en forme composée en allant dans le menu avancé de Pathfinder, puis en cliquant sur l’option Créer une forme composée.

creating the compound shape

Étape 3

Nous souhaitons ensuite appliquer un dégradé linéaire à la forme composée, en définissant la couleur de la butée de gauche sur blanche (#FFFFFF) et celle de la droite sur la même valeur utilisée pour nos sections plus sombres (#2A323D).

creating the gradient for the grain effect texture

Étape 4

Une fois que vous avez appliqué le dégradé, vous pouvez ajouter la texture du grain en allant dans Effet> Effets Photoshop> Texture> Grain, dans lequel vous souhaitez définir le type de grain sur Pointillé, puis ajuster les niveaux d’intensité et de contraste jusqu’à obtenir un résultat intéressant. résultat. Dans mon cas, je suis allé avec une valeur de 40 pour l'intensité et de 50 pour le contraste, ce qui me donne une texture assez lourde pour travailler.

adjusting the settings of the grain effect

Étape 5

Selon le résultat, vous pouvez ajuster la position de la texture en ouvrant le panneau Dégradé, puis en faisant glisser le curseur supérieur vers la gauche pour ajouter des détails ou vers la droite pour les supprimer. Une autre chose à ne pas oublier est de régler le niveau d'opacité de la couleur la plus claire (dans notre cas, celle de gauche) sur 0% (ou une valeur suffisamment proche de 10%), sinon le blanc finira par endommager la texture .

adjusting the position of the grain texture

Étape 6

Tout ce que nous devons faire maintenant, c'est mélanger notre texture à notre vase en ouvrant le panneau Transparence et en choisissant un mode de fusion qui fonctionne. Pour l'exemple actuel, je suis allé avec Overlay, qui, comme vous pouvez le constater, produit une belle et subtile transition entre la texture et le vase, ce qui correspond exactement à ce que je veux. Selon le projet, il se peut que vous utilisiez un mode de fusion et un niveau d'opacité différents. Je vous recommande donc vivement de les utiliser jusqu'à ce que vous en trouviez un qui produit un effet intéressant.

choosing a blending mode for the grain effect texture

6. Comment créer des textures en utilisant un pinceau à pointillé personnalisé

Une fois que nous avons fini d'ajouter de la texture à notre premier vase, passez au deuxième, où nous verrons comment créer un pinceau à pointillé, puis l'utiliser pour décorer notre deuxième toile.

Étape 1

Comme nous l’avions fait avec la méthode précédente, nous voudrons d’abord créer une copie du corps principal et du support du vase, que nous transformerons en une forme composée que nous utiliserons plus tard comme masque de découpage.

creating the clipping mask for the stipple brush texture

Étape 2

Ensuite, nous devons créer le pinceau personnalisé en traçant deux cercles de tailles différentes (#000000) affichés dans une formation circulaire (surlignés en vert), en positionnant les plus petits vers l’extérieur et les plus grands à l’intérieur.

creating the main shapes for the stipple brush

Petit conseil: comme vous pouvez le constater, j'ai créé un nouveau document afin que mes éléments de pinceau ne chevauchent pas les vases, mais vous pouvez également le faire sur le même fichier de projet, à condition de faire attention.

Étape 3

Une fois que toutes les formes sont en place, tout ce que vous avez à faire est d’afficher le panneau Pinceau et, toutes sélectionnées, de cliquer simplement sur Nouveau pinceau, en veillant à définir le type de pinceau sur Scatter Brush. Une nouvelle fenêtre devrait s’ouvrir vous permettant d’ajuster certains de ses paramètres, mais pour l’instant, laissez-les tels quels car vous ne pourrez pas prévisualiser les modifications. Cela dit, attribuez-lui un nom personnalisé et cliquez sur OK, car nous allons l’ajuster à la prochaine étape.

creating the custom stipple brush

Étape 4

Si vous examinez de plus près le panneau Pinceaux, vous devriez maintenant voir le pinceau à pointillé personnalisé que nous venons de créer, que vous devez sélectionner puis utiliser pour tracer une ligne horizontale à l'aide de l'outil Pinceau (B). Cela nous aidera à avoir un aperçu de tous les changements que nous allons apporter à ses différentes options.

Dès que vous avez la ligne, vous pouvez revenir au panneau et double-cliquer sur la brosse, ce qui devrait ouvrir une nouvelle fenêtre, où vous pouvez ajuster ses différentes fonctionnalités et les prévisualiser en direct.

Dans mon cas, j’ai réglé la taille sur Pression et abaissé son niveau à 28%. J'ai ensuite ajusté l'espacement à 40%, en m'assurant que le Scatter est à 0% et que la rotation est définie sur Aléatoire avec un angle de -120 °. Enfin et surtout, je me suis assuré de régler la colorisation sur Teintes, car je veux pouvoir changer la couleur de mon pinceau plus tard, au moment opportun.

fine tuning the custom stipple brush

Étape 5

Une fois que j’ai fini d’ajuster mon pinceau, je peux retourner dans mon fichier de projet et l’utiliser pour ajouter de la texture sur les côtés de mon vase en utilisant #000000 pour son côté gauche et #FFFFFF pour son côté droit. En fonction de vos objectifs, vous pouvez régler le poids du trait afin d’obtenir l’effet souhaité. Puisque je voulais obtenir un résultat subtil, je l'ai abaissé à une valeur de seulement 0,3 px.

adding texture to the second vase using the stipple brush

Étape 6

Une fois que vous êtes satisfait du résultat, il vous suffit de positionner la forme composée sous-jacente devant la texture (clic droit> Arranger> Amener au premier plan), puis de l'utiliser comme masque d'écrêtage (formes souhaitées sélectionnées> droit cliquez sur> Make Clipping Mask) afin de le contraindre à la surface du vase.

masking the custom stipple brush texture

7. Comment créer des textures en utilisant des échantillons de motifs

Notre troisième et dernière méthode est une méthode que vous n'avez probablement jamais pensé à utiliser. C'est pourquoi je voulais vraiment la souligner, car elle est extrêmement facile à utiliser et vous donne des résultats vraiment intéressants.

Ceci dit, placez-vous sur le dernier vase et voyons de quoi je parle!

Étape 1

Comme nous l'avons fait avec les méthodes précédentes, commencez par créer une forme composée en utilisant une copie (Control-C> Control-F) de son corps et de sa base.

creating the clipping mask for the pattern swatch texture

Étape 2

Une fois la forme composée sélectionnée, ouvrez le panneau Nuancier, puis cliquez sur le menu Bibliothèques de nuances et naviguez jusqu'à Patterns> Basic Graphics> Basic Graphics_Textures. Comme vous pouvez le constater, nous pouvons choisir parmi de nombreuses options, mais pour ce projet, nous allons utiliser celui appelé Ripple.

applying the swatch pattern texture to the third vase

Étape 3

Ensuite, il suffit d’ajuster la visibilité de la texture en définissant son mode de fusion sur Superposition et en abaissant son opacité à 60%, ce qui devrait nous donner un résultat final intéressant.

choosing a blending mode for the swatch pattern texture

C’est un tour!

Voilà, collègues accros à la texture: un tutoriel simple et agréable sur la création de textures pour vos différents projets à l'aide de trois méthodes différentes.

Comme toujours, si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à les poster dans la section commentaires et je vous recontacterai dès que possible!

finished project preview

Besoin de plus de textures?

Étant donné que le processus de création d'une collection de textures personnalisées peut prendre beaucoup de temps, j'ai pensé pouvoir vous aider en partageant certaines de mes préférées avec celles que vous pouvez obtenir sur Envato Elements.

Textures de demi-teintes vintage

Ce pack de textures en demi-teintes comprend 10 fichiers EPS et PNG vectoriels de haute qualité, dérivés de photos haute résolution. Ces textures capturent la sensation des impressions de la vieille école et vous rappellent le jour où vous pourrez facilement repérer les textures en demi-teinte des impressions. Ils peuvent fournir une sensation authentique et classique à presque tous les projets. Cliquez sur la vue agrandie de chacune des images du produit pour mieux voir les détails.

vintage halftone textures by envato elements
Textures de demi-teintes vintage par Envato Elements

Exemple de textures de demi-teintes Vintage appliquées sur des vases.

vintage halftone textures vase example

Textures Vintage Grit

Cette collection authentique offre une sensation vintage d'autrefois avec une variété de textures allant du grain très subtil au grain plus épais, de sorte que vous puissiez trouver la texture adaptée à votre travail. Déposez facilement ces textures finement détaillées sur votre conception et ajoutez plusieurs textures à une conception pour un look en détresse encore plus intense.

vintage grit textures by envato elements
Textures Vintage Grit par Envato Elements

Exemple de textures à grain vintage appliquées sur des vases.

vintage grit textures vase example

Textures peintes à la vague

Présentant une collection unique de textures de vagues peintes à la main avec un look percutant. Cette collection est parfaite pour les projets nécessitant un fond abstrait avec une touche dramatique.

painted wave textures by envato elements
Wave Painted Textures par Envato Elements

Exemple de Wave PaintedTextures appliqué sur des vases.

wave painted textures vase example

Textures de l'eau ridée

Des textures haute résolution pour tous vos projets. Ce pack comprend huit textures Rippled Water pour les photographes, les graphistes et les créatifs qui vous aideront à créer des cartes, des arrière-plans, des bannières ou d’autres projets.

rippled water textures by envato elements
Rippled Water Textures par Envato Elements

Exemple de ridée eau Textures appliquées sur les vases.

rippled water textures vase example

Textures Vintage en Tissu

Voici un ensemble de textures de tissu pleine page de haute qualité pour un bon vieux goût vintage. L'ensemble couvre une gamme de tissus allant des variétés de denim au tissu de t-shirt standard. Chacune de ces textures peut être utilisée dans Photoshop ou Illustrator (ou tout programme utilisant Vector EPS ou PNG transparent).

vintage fabric textures by envato elements
Textures Vintage en Tissu par Envato Elements

Exemple de textures de tissu vintage appliquées sur des vases.

vintage fabric textures by envato elements

Maintenant, même si les textures ci-dessus ont été créées en utilisant des méthodes différentes de celles présentées dans cet article, vous les appliquerez de la même manière, en les positionnant d'abord sur la forme souhaitée, puis en les masquant, en vous assurant de jouer avec couleurs, modes de fusion et niveaux d'opacité.

Conclusion

Comme vous l'avez vu, le processus de création et d'utilisation de textures vectorielles personnalisées n'est pas si difficile, surtout lorsque vous maîtrisez les outils et les méthodes.

Bien que nous n’ayions aujourd’hui exploré que trois des différentes méthodes disponibles, vous serez étonné de tout ce que vous pouvez réaliser avec ces techniques simples.

Cela étant dit, vous pouvez toujours développer vos compétences en texturation en consultant ces tutoriels incroyables, vraiment amusants et faciles à suivre.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Textures
Design

How to Create Different Vector Textures Using Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Creating interesting textures can sometimes be a difficult and annoying task, especially if you don’t know exactly where to start.

Since I’ve been there, I wanted to help you out by putting together this little tutorial which will show you three different methods that are easy to learn and master.

So, if that sounds interesting, join me as we learn how to create a simple decorative vase and use textures to bring it to life.

1. How to Set Up a New Project File

As always, let’s kick off the project by opening Illustrator and setting up a New Document by going to File > New (or Control-N), which we will adjust as follows:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 1200 px
  • Height: 600 px
  • Units: Pixels

And from the Advanced tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: Screen (72ppi)
  • Preview Mode: Default
setting up a new document

2. How to Set Up the Layers

Once we’ve created our new document, we’ll want to layer it so that we can separate our vases (that we’ll use as support for the different textures) from the background.

So open up the Layers panel and create a total of two layers, which we will rename as follows:

  • layer 1: background
  • layer 2: vases
setting up the layers

3. How to Create the Background

With the document all layered, we can now start working on the actual project, and we will do so by creating the background. That being said, make sure you position yourself onto the first layer and let’s jump straight into it!

Step1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a 1200 x 600 px rectangle, which we will color using #FF8269 and then align to the center of the underlying Artboard using the Align panel’s Horizontal and Vertical Align Center options, making sure that the alignment is made to the Artboard.

creating and positioning the background

Step 2

With the background in place, we can now lock the current layer and move on to the next one, where we will start working on our little vases.

locking the background layer

4. How to Create the Vase

Assuming you’ve already positioned yourself on the second layer, let’s start working on the actual decorative vessels that we are going to display our textures on.

Step 1

Start by creating the lower section of the vase’s body using a 128 x 128 px circle, which we will color using #FFE7C5 and then center align to the larger Artboard, positioning it 178 px from its bottom edge.

creating the main shape for the lower section of the vase

Step 2

Add the main shape for the neck section using a 24 x 88 px rectangle (#FFE7C5) and the base using a 48 x 8 px rounded rectangle (#FFE7C5), which we will position as seen in the reference image.

adding the neck and base section to the center vase

Step 3

Open up the path of the circle's upper half and the rectangle's bottom one, uniting them into a single larger shape using the Control-J keyboard shortcut, making sure to adjust the transition between the neck section and the lower body as seen in the reference image.

adjusting the shape of the center vase

Step 4

Take a couple of moments and quickly decorate the vase using #2A323D for its darker sections and #FFE7C5 for its lighter ones, making sure to mask them where needed (desired shapes selected > right click > Make Clipping Mask). Once you're done, select and group all its composing shapes using the Control-G keyboard shortcut, before moving on to the next step.

adding details to the center vase

Step 5

Once we’ve finished working on the vase, we can now add the foreground line using a 160 px wide, 2 px thick Stroke line (#2A323D). After grouping (Control-G) the two together, add the remaining instances (Control-C > Control-F twice) which we will position at a distance of 160 px from the original.

creating the remaining vases

So at this point, we’ve pretty much finished working on our blank canvases (the vases) which means we can now move on to the part that most of you are interested in, and see how we can add textures to them using three different methods.

5. How to Add Textures Using the Grain Effect

The first method, and my personal favorite, is using the Grain Effect, which is actually derived from Photoshop.

Step 1

Position yourself onto the first vase (that would be the left one), and then using the Direct Selection Tool (A) select the shapes for its body and base, which we will copy (Control-C) and then paste in front (Control-F) where they will be used as a Clipping Mask.

creating the clipping mask for the grain effect texture

Step 2

Since we want the two shapes to behave as a single larger one, we’ll have to turn them into a Compound Shape by going over to Pathfinder’s advanced menu and then clicking on the Make Compound Shape option.

creating the compound shape

Step 3

Next, we’ll want to apply a linear gradient to the Compound Shape, setting the color of the left stop to white (#FFFFFF) and that of the right one to the same value used for our darker sections (#2A323D).

creating the gradient for the grain effect texture

Step 4

Once we’ve applied the gradient, we can add the grain texture by going to Effect > Photoshop Effects > Texture > Grain, where we will want to set the Grain Type to Stippled and then adjust the Intensity and Contrast levels until we get an interesting result. In my case, I went with a value of 40 for the Intensity and 50 for the Contrast, which gives me a heavy enough texture to work with.

adjusting the settings of the grain effect

Step 5

Depending on the result, you can adjust the position of the texture by opening up the Gradient panel and then dragging the top slider either to the left to add more details or to the right to remove them. Another thing that you should always remember to do is set the Opacity level of the lighter color stop (in our case the left one) to 0% (or a close enough value like 10%) since otherwise the white will end up ruining the texture.

adjusting the position of the grain texture

Step 6

All we need to do now is blend our texture to our vase by opening up the Transparency panel and choosing a Blending Mode that works. For the current example, I went with Overlay, which as you can see produces a nice, subtle transition between the texture and the vase, which is exactly what I want. Depending on the project, you might end up using a different Blending Mode and Opacity level, so I strongly recommend you play around with them until you find one that produces an interesting effect.

choosing a blending mode for the grain effect texture

6. How to Create Textures Using a Custom Stipple Brush

Once we’ve finished adding texture to our first vase, move on to the second one, where we will see how we can create a stipple brush and then use it to decorate our second canvas.

Step 1

As we did with the previous method, we’ll first want to create a copy of the vase’s main body and stand, which we will turn into a Compound Shape that we will later on use as a Clipping Mask.

creating the clipping mask for the stipple brush texture

Step 2

Next, we need to create the custom brush by drawing a couple of different sized circles (#000000) displayed in a circular formation (highlighted with green), positioning the smaller ones towards the outside and the larger ones on the inside.

creating the main shapes for the stipple brush

Quick tip: as you can see, I went and created a new document so that my brush elements don't overlap with the vases, but you can just as well do it on the same project file as long as you are careful.

Step 3

Once you have all the shapes in place, all you need to do is bring up the Brush panel and, with all of them selected, simply click on New Brush, making sure to set the brush type to Scatter Brush. A new window should pop up letting you adjust some of its settings, but for now just leave them as they are since you won’t be able to preview any changes. That being said, give it a custom name and hit OK, since we’re going to fine tune it in the next step.

creating the custom stipple brush

Step 4 

If you take a closer look at your Brushes panel, you should now see the custom stipple brush that we’ve just created, which you need to select and then use to draw a horizontal line using the Paintbrush Tool (B). This will help us get a preview of all the changes that we're going to make to its different options. 

As soon as you have the line, you can go back to the panel and double click on the brush, which should bring up a new window, where you can adjust its different features and preview them live. 

In my case, I’ve set the Size to Pressure and lowered its level to 28%. I then adjusted the Spacing to 40%, making sure the Scatter is on 0% and the Rotation set to Random with a -120º angle. Last but not least, I’ve made sure to set the Colorization to Tints since I want to be able to change the color of my brush later on when I need to.

fine tuning the custom stipple brush

Step 5

Once I’ve finished adjusting my brush, I can go back to my project file and use it to add texture to the sides of my vase using #000000 for its left side and #FFFFFF for its right one. Depending on what you are trying to achieve, you can adjust the Weight of the Stroke in order to get the desired effect. Since I wanted to get a subtle result, I lowered it to a value of just 0.3 px.

adding texture to the second vase using the stipple brush

Step 6

Once you’re happy with the result, all you have to do is position the underlying Compound Shape in front of the texture (right click > Arrange > Bring to Front), and then use it as a Clipping Mask (desired shapes selected > right click > Make Clipping Mask) in order to constrain it to the surface of the vase.

masking the custom stipple brush texture

7. How to Create Textures Using Pattern Swatches

Our third and last method is one that you probably never even thought of using, which is why I really wanted to point it out since it's super easy to use and gives you really interesting results.

That being said, position yourself onto the last vase, and let’s see what I’m talking about!

Step 1

As we did with the previous methods, start out by creating a Compound Shape using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of its body and base.

creating the clipping mask for the pattern swatch texture

Step 2

With the Compound Shape selected, open up the Swatches panel, and then click on the Swatch Libraries menu and navigate down to Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Textures. As you can see, there are a bunch of options that we can choose from, but for this project we’re going to use the one called Ripple.

applying the swatch pattern texture to the third vase

Step 3

Next, all we need to do is adjust the visibility of the texture by setting its Blending Mode to Overlay and lowering its Opacity to 60%, which should give us an interesting final result.

choosing a blending mode for the swatch pattern texture

It’s a Wrap!

There you have it, fellow texture addicts: a nice, easy tutorial on how to create textures for your different projects using three different methods.

As always, if you have any questions, feel free to post them within the comments section and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can!

finished project preview

Need More Textures?

Since the process of creating a collection of custom textures can end up taking a lot of time, I thought that I could help you out by sharing some of my favorite ones which you can get over at Envato Elements.

Vintage Halftone Textures

This Halftone Texture pack includes 10 high-quality vector EPS and PNG files derived from high-resolution photos. These textures capture the feel of old-school prints and hearken back to the day when you could easily spot the halftone textures in prints. They can provide an authentic and classic feel to almost any project. Click on the larger view of each of the product images to better see the detail.

vintage halftone textures by envato elements
Vintage Halftone Textures by Envato Elements

Example of Vintage Halftone Textures applied on vases.

vintage halftone textures vase example

Vintage Grit Textures

This authentic collection features an old-time vintage feel with a variety of textures ranging from very subtle grit to heavier grit so you can find the right texture for the job. Easily drop these finely detailed textures onto your design and add multiple textures onto one design for an even heavier distressed look.

vintage grit textures by envato elements
Vintage Grit Textures by Envato Elements

Example of Vintage Grit Textures applied on vases.

vintage grit textures vase example

Wave Painted Textures

Presenting a unique collection of hand-painted wave textures with a high-impact look. This collection is perfect for projects where you need an abstract background with some dramatic flair.

painted wave textures by envato elements
Wave Painted Textures by Envato Elements

Example of Wave PaintedTextures applied on vases.

wave painted textures vase example

Rippled Water Textures

High-resolution textures for all your designing purposes. This pack includes eight Rippled Water textures for photographers, graphic designers, and DIY creatives to help you create cards, backgrounds, banners, or other projects.

rippled water textures by envato elements
Rippled Water Textures by Envato Elements

Example of Rippled Water Textures applied on vases.

rippled water textures vase example

Vintage Fabric Textures

Here’s a set of high-quality full-page fabric textures for some good old vintage flavor. The set covers a range of fabrics from denim varieties to standard t-shirt fabric. Any of these textures can be used in either Photoshop or Illustrator (or any program that uses either Vector EPS or Transparent PNGs).

vintage fabric textures by envato elements
Vintage Fabric Textures by Envato Elements

Example of Vintage Fabric Textures applied on vases.

vintage fabric textures by envato elements

Now, even though the above textures were created using different methods than those presented in this article, you'll be applying them in the same way, by first positioning them on the desired shape, and then masking them, making sure to play around with colors, Blending Modes, and Opacity levels.

Conclusion

So, as you saw, the process of creating and using custom vector textures isn't all that hard, especially when you have a basic understanding of the tools and methods involved.

Even though today we explored just three of the different available methods, you'll be amazed at how much you can achieve using these simple techniques.

That being said, you can always expand your texturing skills by checking out these amazing tutorials that are really fun and easy to follow.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.