We want to learn about your experience with Tuts+. Take part to earn $50! Help us out to earn $50! Get Started
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration

Как создать иллюстрацию Цеппелина в Adobe Illustrator

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called German Week.
How to Draw a Castle
How to Create a German Flag-Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator

Russian (Pусский) translation by Liliya (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

На этой неделе мы чествуем Германию, их язык и свою культуру в честь запуска немецкой версии Envato Elements!

В сегодняшнем учебнике мы рассмотрим процесс создания иллюстрации летающего цеппелина в Adobe Illustrator, используя не что иное, как пару геометрических фигур и инструментов.

Итак, предполагая, что вы уже приготовили себе свежую чашку кофе, давайте начнем.

Что нам понадобится

Прежде чем мы начнем, я хотел бы указать, что текстура, которую я закончил использовать для текущего проекта, является частью пакета тонких полутоновых текстур (точнее, полутонового номера пять), который вы можете найти в Envato Elements.

О, и не забывайте, что вы всегда можете расширить свою библиотеку ресурсов, направляясь к Envato Elements, где вы найдете большой выбор векторной графики.

example of subtle halftone texturesexample of subtle halftone texturesexample of subtle halftone textures
Тонкие полутоновые текстуры от Envato Elements

1. Как создать новый файл проекта

Как всегда, мы собираемся начать, установив новый файл проекта, выбрав File > New (или с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-N), а затем отрегулировав его следующим образом:

  • Количество монтажных панелей: 1
  • Ширина: 800 px
  • Высота: 600 px
  • Единицы измерения: пиксели

На вкладке «Advanced»:

  • Цветовой режим: RGB
  • Растровые эффекты: Экран (72ppi)
  • Режим предварительного просмотра: по умолчанию
setting up a new documentsetting up a new documentsetting up a new document

2. Как настроить слои

Как только мы закончим настройку нашего файла проекта, было бы неплохо структурировать наш документ с использованием нескольких слоев, поскольку это поможет нам поддерживать постоянный рабочий процесс, позволяя нам сосредоточиться на одной части иллюстрации за раз.

При этом поднимите панель Layers и создайте в общей сложности четыре слоя, которые мы переименуем следующим образом:

  • Слой 1: фон
  • Слой 2: цепелин
  • Слой 3: градиент
  • Слой 4: текстура
setting up the layerssetting up the layerssetting up the layers

3. Как создать фон

Как только мы закончим рисовать наш документ, мы можем начать работу над фактической иллюстрацией, и мы сделаем это, создав фон. Поэтому убедитесь, что вы позиционируете себя на первом слое, и давайте начнем прямо с него!

Быстрый совет: прежде чем мы начнем, я хотел бы указать, что весь проект был построен с улучшением пикселя, поэтому вы можете ознакомиться с моим учебным пособием «Как создать Pixel Perfect Artwork», который должен быстро вам поможет.

Шаг 1

Возьмите инструмент (Pen Tool (P)) «Перо» (P), а после установки цвета заливки на #7AC6F4 аккуратно нарисуйте основную форму нижнего фонового выреза с помощью эталонного изображения в качестве основного руководства.

creating the main shape for the lower background cutoutcreating the main shape for the lower background cutoutcreating the main shape for the lower background cutout

Шаг 2

Когда Pen Tool (P) все еще выбран, быстро нарисуйте меньший верхний вырез, позиционируя полученную форму, как показано на примере.

creating the upper background cutoutcreating the upper background cutoutcreating the upper background cutout

Шаг 3

Как только вы закончите рисовать фоновые сегменты, мы можем начать работу над облаками переднего плана, которые мы создадим с использованием некоторых кругов разных размеров. Расположите их по бокам нижней формы, окрашивая передние, используя #F0FBFF и задние, используя #D4F7FF.

creating the foreground cloudscreating the foreground cloudscreating the foreground clouds

Шаг 4

Поскольку мы хотим, чтобы фигуры оставались привязанными к поверхности фонового сегмента, мы собираемся группировать (Control-G), а затем маскировать их, используя копию (Control-C) базовой фигуры, которую мы будем вставлять спереди ( Control-F). Затем, как с выбранной копией, так и сгруппированными фигурами, просто щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> MakeClipping Mask.

Как только вы закончите, не забудьте выбрать и сгруппировать все составляющие фигуры текущего раздела с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

masking the foreground cloudsmasking the foreground cloudsmasking the foreground clouds

Шаг 5

Переместитесь на меньший фоновый сегмент и начните работать над солнцем, создав его светящийся ореол, используя круг 112 x 112 px (#FFCF83), за которым следуют два меньших (#FFCF83), каждый 12 px меньше последнего. Наложите их поверх друг друга, следя за тем, чтобы их непрозрачность уменьшилась всего на 16%. Как только вы закончите, добавьте фактическое солнце, используя круг 40 x 40 px (#FFCF83), убедившись, что вы выбираете и группируете все четыре фигуры вместе с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

creating the suncreating the suncreating the sun

Шаг 6

Как только вы закончите создавать солнце, замаскируйте его, используя тот же процесс, что и для передних облаков, так что он останется привязан к поверхности лежащей ниже формы.

masking the sunmasking the sunmasking the sun

Шаг 7

Начните работать с меньшими плавающими облаками, создав три разных эллипса формы (#FFFFFF) для каждого экземпляра. Сделайте их перекрытием(1), а затем отрегулируйте их, предварительно зафиксировав их боковые опорныеточки с помощью инструмента Anchor Point Tool(Shift-C) (2). Продолжайте регулировать свою форму, индивидуально выбирая их нижние опорные точки с помощью инструмента Direct Selection Tool (A),а затем удаляя их, нажав (Delete) «Удалить»,убедившись, что они закрывают результирующие пути с помощью сочетания клавишControl-J (3). Как только вы закончите, выберите и сгруппируйте каждую из составляющих фигуры облаков с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

Быстрый совет: для достижения разных вариаций просто увеличивайте или уменьшайте ширину и/или высоту эллипсов, пока не получите желаемую форму.

example of creating a floating cloudexample of creating a floating cloudexample of creating a floating cloud

Шаг 8

Закончите фон, позиционируя полученные облака, как показано на эталонном изображении, после этого выбирая и группируя все составляющие фигуры текущего раздела с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

positioning the smaller floating clouds onto the upper background cutoutpositioning the smaller floating clouds onto the upper background cutoutpositioning the smaller floating clouds onto the upper background cutout

1. Как создать Цеппелин

Теперь, когда мы закончили работу над фоном, мы можем заблокировать его слой, а затем перейти к следующему (это будет второй), где мы займем свое время и постепенно построим наш маленький Цеппелин.

Шаг 1

Начните с создания основной формы для гондолы с использованием прямоугольника размером 48 x 12 px, который мы будем раскрашивать, используя #664240, а затем разместим на более крупном сегменте фона на расстоянии 288 px от его левого края и 208 px от его верхней части.

creating the main shape for the gondolacreating the main shape for the gondolacreating the main shape for the gondola

Шаг 2

Отрегулируйте форму, которую мы только что создали, открыв панель Transform, а затем установив радиус ее нижних углов на 8 пикселей изRectangle Properties.

adjusting the shape of the gondolaadjusting the shape of the gondolaadjusting the shape of the gondola

Шаг 3

Добавьте оконные панели, используя восемь квадратов 2 x 2 px (#F7C263), расположенных горизонтально на расстоянии 2 px друг от друга,которые мы будем группировать (Control-G), а затем положение, как показано на эталонном изображении. Как только вы закончите, убедитесь, что вы выбрали и сгруппировали (Control-G) как окна, так и большую основную форму вместе, прежде чем перейти к следующему шагу.

adding the windows to the gondolaadding the windows to the gondolaadding the windows to the gondola

Шаг 4

Начните работу над секцией шара, создав эллипс размером 400 x 112 px, который мы будем раскрашивать, используя #F99178, а затем расположим его поверх гондолы, чтобы он перекрывал его.

creating the main shape for the balloon section of the zeppelincreating the main shape for the balloon section of the zeppelincreating the main shape for the balloon section of the zeppelin

Шаг 5

Отрегулируйте форму, которую мы только что создали, выбрав и нажимая ее центральные опорные точки на левую сторону на 32 пикселя с помощью инструмента «Перемещение» (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> Transform > Move > Horizontal > -32 px),убедившись, что вы сократите правый якорь обрабатывает 15 px, чтобы выровнять его задний конец.

adjusting the shape of the balloon sectionadjusting the shape of the balloon sectionadjusting the shape of the balloon section

Шаг 6

Добавьте нижнюю темную секцию шара, создав копию (Control-C> Control-F) полученной фигуры, которую мы отрегулируем, выбирая и удаляя верхнюю опорную точку. Не забудьте закрыть результирующий путь с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-J, окрашивая новую фигуру с помощью #C15142.

adding the darker outer segment to the balloon sectionadding the darker outer segment to the balloon sectionadding the darker outer segment to the balloon section

Шаг 7

Добавьте внутреннюю, более легкую секцию, используя вторую копию (Control-C) большого шара, которую мы вставим спереди (Control-F).Измените его цвет на #EA7B65, а затем индивидуально выберите и надавите его верхние и нижние анкеры на внутреннюю сторону на 16 пикселей (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> Transform > Move > Vertical >+/- 16 px в зависимости от того, с какого якоря вы начинаете).

adding the lighter inner segment to the balloon sectionadding the lighter inner segment to the balloon sectionadding the lighter inner segment to the balloon section

Шаг 8

Создайте более темную нижнюю половину с помощью копии (Control-C> Control-F) полученной фигуры, которую мы отрегулируем, с начала изменив ее цвет на #D86552, а затем удалив верхнюю опорную точку, немедленно закрыв путь, используя Control- J. После того, как вы закончите, убедитесь, что вы выбрали и сгруппировали (Control-G) все составляющие фигуры воздушного шара, прежде чем перейти к следующему шагу.

adding the inner darker segment to the balloon sectionadding the inner darker segment to the balloon sectionadding the inner darker segment to the balloon section

Шаг 9

Добавьте цветной наконечник, используя прямоугольник размером 8 x 112 px , который мы будем раскрашивать, используя #664240, а затем центрируем его по левому краю воздушного шара, следя за тем, чтобы замаскировать его (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> Make Clipping Mask) с помощью копии (Control-C > Control-F) большей основной формы.

adding the colored nose section to the balloonadding the colored nose section to the balloonadding the colored nose section to the balloon

Шаг 10

Создайте носовой конус, используя прямоугольник размером 12 x 4 px (#664240), который мы отрегулируем, индивидуально выбрав и нажимая его левые опорные точки на внутреннюю сторону на 1 пиксель с помощью клавиш со стрелками направления, позиционируя полученную фигуру так, чтобы она перекрывала увеличенный воздушный шар на 2 пикселя.

adding the nose cone to the balloon sectionadding the nose cone to the balloon sectionadding the nose cone to the balloon section

Шаг 11

Добавьте основную форму для верхнего руля, используя прямоугольник 40 x 32 px (#D86552), который мы отрегулируем, установив Радиус его верхнего левого угла на 32 px, его верхний правый - 4 px, от одного до 20px из свойств прямоугольника панели Transform.

creating and positioning the upper ruddercreating and positioning the upper ruddercreating and positioning the upper rudder

Шаг 12

Быстро украсьте руль, добавив более темный вертикальный участок, используя прямоугольник размером 8 x 32 px (#664240), который мы будем маскировать, используя копию базовой фигуры, а затем круг 8 x 8 px (#664240), который мы будем располагать как показано на изображении. После того, как вы закончите, убедитесь, что вы выбрали и сгруппировали (Control-G) все три фигуры вместе, прежде чем перейти к следующему шагу.

adding details to the upper rudderadding details to the upper rudderadding details to the upper rudder

Шаг 13

Добавьте нижний руль с помощью копии (Control-C> Control-F) той, над которой мы только что закончили работу, которую мы будем горизонтально отражать (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> ransform > Reflect > Horizontal), а затем расположите ее на нижней стороне воздушного шара. Обязательно отправьте их под всеми другими формами, как только вы закончите (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> Arrange > Send to Back).

adding the bottom rudderadding the bottom rudderadding the bottom rudder

Шаг 14

Создайте боковой лифт с помощью эллипса 40 x 8 px (#664240), который мы отрегулируем, выбирая и выдвигая его внутренние опорные точки влево на 4 px, позиционируя полученную форму 16 px с заднего конца воздушного шара.

creating and positioning the side elevatorcreating and positioning the side elevatorcreating and positioning the side elevator

Шаг 15

Добавьте небольшие сегменты поддержки, используя четыре набора из трех эллипсов 4 x 2 px (#664240), следуя линии внутренних секций воздушного шара, как показано на эталонном изображении. Не спешите, и как только вы закончите, убедитесь, что вы выбрали и сгруппировали их вместе с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

adding the support segments to the balloon sectionadding the support segments to the balloon sectionadding the support segments to the balloon section

Шаг 16

Завершите работу zeppelin, добавив боковой движок, используя эллипс 12 x 8 px (#664240), который мы отрегулируем, выбрав и нажимая его внутренние опорные точки влево на 2 px. Поместите результирующую фигуру, как показано на эталонном изображении, следя за тем, чтобы впоследствии выбрать и сгруппировать все составляющие секции дирижабля, с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

creating and positioning the side enginecreating and positioning the side enginecreating and positioning the side engine

Шаг 17

Как только мы закончим работу над цеппелином, мы можем добавить небольшие тропы, используя три круглых прямоугольника толщиной 1 px(#FFFFFF), которые мы будем размещать вокруг корабля на расстоянии 8 px.

adding the trail linesadding the trail linesadding the trail lines

Шаг 18

Закончите рисунок, добавив несколько плавающих облаков (#FFFFFF), следуя тому же методу, который используется для создания фоновых.Как только вы закончите, не забудьте выбрать и сгруппировать все фигуры в месте с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-G.

adding the larger floating cloudsadding the larger floating cloudsadding the larger floating clouds

5. Как создать наложение градиента

Прежде чем мы заблокируем текущий слой и перейдем к следующему (это будет третий), нам нужно будет добавить копию (Control-C) двух вырезов фона и основного тела цеппелина в буфер обмена, поскольку мы будем использовать их для создания наложения.

Шаг 1

Мы хотим начать с вставки копий, которые мы только что добавили в буфер обмена, на текущий уровень с помощью сочетания клавиш Control-F.

pasting the main shapes for the gradient compound shapepasting the main shapes for the gradient compound shapepasting the main shapes for the gradient compound shape

Шаг 2

Далее, нам нужно сделать наши фигуры быть как один большой, превратив их в составную форму. Сначала выберите их, а затем откройте панельPathfinder и перейдите в свое расширенное меню и нажмите Make Compound Shape.

creating the compound shape for the gradient overlaycreating the compound shape for the gradient overlaycreating the compound shape for the gradient overlay

Шаг 3

После того, как мы создали нашу составную форму, мы можем открыть панель Gradient и применить гладкий линейный градиент, используя #662D91 для левой остановки цвета и #FBB03B для правой.

adding the gradient to the compound shapeadding the gradient to the compound shapeadding the gradient to the compound shape

Шаг 4

Все, что нам нужно сделать теперь, чтобы сделать поп цвета,открыть панель «Прозрачность» и установить Blending Mode на«Цветной ожог», чтобы снизить его непрозрачность до 30%.

adjusting the blending modeadjusting the blending modeadjusting the blending mode

6. Как добавить текстуру

Когда мы добавим наложение градиента, мы можем заблокировать текущий слой, а затем перейти к последнему (это будет четвертый), где мы закончим нашу маленькую иллюстрацию, применив к ней приятную тонкую текстуру.

Шаг 1

Сначала мы начнем с первого копирования (Control-C), а затем вставим (Control-V) пользовательскую текстуру на наш текущий слой, сделав так, чтобы он изменил ее размер так, чтобы он покрывал весь Artboard.

pasting the custom texture onto the current documentpasting the custom texture onto the current documentpasting the custom texture onto the current document

Шаг 2

Когда у нас текстура на месте, все, что нам нужно сделать,это маска (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> Make Clipping Mask), используя сложную форму, созданную из фона и основные фигуры цеппелина (три, которые мы использовали несколько шагов назад) , чтобы снизить его Opacity до 60%,прежде чем нажать «Save».

adjusting the opacity of the textureadjusting the opacity of the textureadjusting the opacity of the texture

Замечательная работа!

Как всегда, я надеюсь, вам понравилось работать над этим маленьким проектом и, самое главное, научиться чему-то новому и полезному в процессе.

При этом, если у вас есть какие-либо вопросы, не стесняйтесь публиковать их в разделе комментариев, и я свяжусь с вами, как только смогу!

finished project previewfinished project previewfinished project preview

Хотите узнать больше?!

Если вы хотите расширить свои навыки и узнать что-то новое и полезное, я потратил время на подбор нескольких учебников, которые я настоятельно рекомендую вам изучить!

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

How to Create a Zeppelin Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called German Week.
How to Draw a Castle
How to Create a German Flag-Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

We're honouring the German language and culture this week in celebration of the launch of the German version of Envato Elements

In today’s tutorial we’re going to take a look at the process of creating a floating zeppelin illustration in Adobe Illustrator, using nothing more than a couple of geometric shapes and tools.

So, assuming you already prepped yourself with a fresh cup of coffee, let’s jump straight into it.

What You'll Need

Before we begin, I wanted to point out that the texture that I ended up using for the current project is part of the Subtle Halftone Textures pack (more precisely halftone number five) which you can find over at Envato Elements.

Oh, and don't forget you can always expand your resource library by heading over to Envato Elements, where you'll find a great selection of vector graphics.

example of subtle halftone textures
Subtle Halftone Textures by Envato Elements

1. How to Set Up a New Project File

As always, we’re going to kick things off by setting up a new project file by heading over to File > New (or using the Control-N keyboard shortcut), and then adjusting it as follows:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 800 px
  • Height: 600 px
  • Units: Pixels

And from the Advanced tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: Screen (72ppi)
  • Preview Mode: Default
setting up a new document

2. How to Set Up the Layers

Once we’ve finished setting up our project file, it would be a good idea to structure our document using a few layers, since this will help us maintain a steady workflow by allowing us to focus on one section of the illustration at a time.

That being said, bring up the Layers panel and create a total of four layers, which we will rename as follows:

  • layer 1: background
  • layer 2: zeppelin
  • layer 3: gradient
  • layer 4: texture
setting up the layers

3. How to Create the Background

As soon as we’ve finished layering our document, we can start working on the actual illustration, and we will do so by creating the background. So make sure you’ve positioned yourself on the first layer, and let’s jump straight into it!

Quick tip: before we start, I wanted to point out that the entire project was built with pixel perfection in mind, so you might want to check out my How to Create Pixel Perfect Artwork tutorial, which should get you up to speed in no time.

Step 1

Grab the Pen Tool (P), and after setting your Fill color to #7AC6F4, carefully draw the main shape for the lower background cutout using the reference image as your main guide.

creating the main shape for the lower background cutout

Step 2

With the Pen Tool (P) still selected, quickly draw the smaller upper cutout, positioning the resulting shape as seen in the reference image.

creating the upper background cutout

Step 3

Once you’ve finished drawing the background segments, we can start working on the foreground clouds, which we will create using some circles of varying sizes. Position them on the sides of the bottom shape, coloring the front ones using #F0FBFF and the back ones using #D4F7FF.

creating the foreground clouds

Step 4

Since we want the shapes to remain constrained to the surface of the background segment, we’re going to group (Control-G) and then mask them using a copy (Control-C) of the underlying shape which we will paste in front (Control-F). Then, with both the copy and the grouped shapes selected, simply right click > Make Clipping Mask

Once you’re done, don’t forget to select and group all of the current section's composing shapes using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

masking the foreground clouds

Step 5

Move over to the smaller background segment, and start working on the sun by creating its glowing halo using a 112 x 112 px circle (#FFCF83) followed by two smaller ones (#FFCF83), each 12 px smaller than the last. Stack them on top of one another, making sure to lower their Opacity to just 16%. Once you’re done, add the actual sun using a 40 x 40 px circle (#FFCF83), making sure to select and group all four shapes together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

creating the sun

Step 6

As soon as you’ve finished creating the sun, mask it using the same process used for the foreground clouds, so that it will remain bound to the surface of the underlying shape.

masking the sun

Step 7

Start working on the smaller floating clouds by creating three different shaped ellipses (#FFFFFF) for each instance. Make them overlap (1), and then adjust them by first pinching their side anchor points using the Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) (2). Continue adjusting their shape by individually selecting their lower anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then removing them by pressing Delete, making sure to close the resulting paths using the Control-J keyboard shortcut (3). Once you’re done, select and group each of the clouds’ composing shapes using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

Quick tip: to achieve different variations, simply increase or decrease the width and/or height of the ellipses until you get the desired shape.

example of creating a floating cloud

Step 8

Finish off the background by positioning the resulting clouds as seen in the reference image, selecting and grouping all of the current section’s composing shapes afterwards using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

positioning the smaller floating clouds onto the upper background cutout

4. How to Create the Zeppelin

Now that we’ve finished working on the background, we can lock its layer and then move on to the next one (that would be the second one), where we will take our time and gradually build our little Zeppelin.

Step 1

Start by creating the main shape for the gondola using a 48 x 12 px rectangle, which we will color using #664240 and then position on the larger background segment, at a distance of 288 px from its left edge and 208 px from its top one.

creating the main shape for the gondola

Step 2

Adjust the shape that we’ve just created by opening up the Transform panel and then setting the Radius of its bottom corners to 8 px from within the Rectangle Properties.

adjusting the shape of the gondola

Step 3

Add the window panels using eight 2 x 2 px squares (#F7C263) horizontally spaced 2 px from one another, which we will group (Control-G) and then position as seen in the reference image. Once you’re done, make sure you select and group (Control-G) both the windows and the larger underlying shape together before moving on to the next step.

adding the windows to the gondola

Step 4

Start working on the balloon section by creating a 400 x 112 px ellipse, which we will color using #F99178 and then position on top of the gondola so that it ends up overlapping it.

creating the main shape for the balloon section of the zeppelin

Step 5

Adjust the shape that we’ve just created by selecting and pushing its center anchor points to the left side by 32 px using the Move tool (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > -32 px), making sure to shorten the right anchor’s handles by 15 px in order to thin out its rear end.

adjusting the shape of the balloon section

Step 6

Add the balloon’s bottom darker section by creating a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the resulting shape, which we will adjust by selecting and then removing its top anchor point. Make sure to close the resulting path using the Control-J keyboard shortcut, coloring the new shape using #C15142.

adding the darker outer segment to the balloon section

Step 7

Add the inner, lighter section using a second copy (Control-C) of the larger balloon, which we will paste in front (Control-F). Change its color to #EA7B65, and then individually select and push its top and bottom anchors to the inside by 16 px (right click > Transform > Move > Vertical > +/- 16 px depending on which anchor you start with).

adding the lighter inner segment to the balloon section

Step 8

Create the darker bottom half using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the resulting shape, which we will adjust by first changing its color to #D86552 and then removing its top anchor point, immediately closing the path using the Control-J keyboard shortcut. Once you’re done, make sure you select and group (Control-G) all of the balloon’s composing shapes before moving on to the next step.

adding the inner darker segment to the balloon section

Step 9

Add the colored tip using an 8 x 112 px rectangle, which we will color using #664240 and then center align to the balloon’s left edge, making sure to mask it (right click > Make Clipping Mask) afterwards using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the larger underlying shape.

adding the colored nose section to the balloon

Step 10

Create the nose cone using a 12 x 4 px rectangle (#664240), which we will adjust by individually selecting and pushing its left anchor points to the inside by 1 px using the directional arrow keys, positioning the resulting shape so that it overlaps the larger balloon by 2 px.

adding the nose cone to the balloon section

Step 11

Add the main shape for the upper rudder using a 40 x 32 px rectangle (#D86552), which we will adjust by setting the Radius of its top-left corner to 32 px, its top-right one to 4 px and its bottom-right one to 20 px from within the Transform panel’s Rectangle Properties.

creating and positioning the upper rudder

Step 12

Quickly decorate the rudder by adding the darker vertical section using an 8 x 32 px rectangle (#664240), which we will mask using a copy of the underlying shape, followed by an 8 x 8 px circle (#664240), which we will position as seen in the reference image. Once you’re done, make sure you select and group (Control-G) all three shapes together before moving on to the next step.

adding details to the upper rudder

Step 13

Add the bottom rudder using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the one that we’ve just finished working on, which we will horizontally reflect (right click > Transform > Reflect > Horizontal) and then position on the bottom side of the balloon. Make sure to send them underneath all the other shapes once you’re done (right click > Arrange > Send to Back).

adding the bottom rudder

Step 14

Create the side elevator using a 40 x 8 px ellipse (#664240), which we will adjust by selecting and pushing its inner anchor points to the left by 4 px, positioning the resulting shape 16 px from the balloon’s rear end.

creating and positioning the side elevator

Step 15

Add the little support segments using four sets of three 4 x 2 px ellipses (#664240), following the line of the balloon’s inner sections as seen in the reference image. Take your time, and once you’re done, make sure you select and group all of them together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding the support segments to the balloon section

Step 16

Finish off the zeppelin by adding the side engine using a 12 x 8 px ellipse (#664240), which we will adjust by selecting and pushing its inner anchor points to the left by 2 px. Position the resulting shape as seen in the reference image, making sure to select and group all of the airship’s composing sections afterwards using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

creating and positioning the side engine

Step 17

As soon as we’ve finished working on the zeppelin, we can add the little trail lines using three 1 px thick rounded rectangles (#FFFFFF), which we will position around the ship at a distance of 8 px.

adding the trail lines

Step 18

Finish off the illustration by adding a few floating clouds (#FFFFFF), following the same method used to create the background ones. Once you’re done, don’t forget to select and group all of the shapes together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding the larger floating clouds

5. How to Create the Gradient Overlay

Before we lock the current layer and move on up to the next one (that would be the third one), we’ll need to add a copy (Control-C) of the background’s two cutouts and the zeppelin’s main body to the Clipboard since we’re going to be using them to create the overlay.

Step 1

We want to start by pasting the copies that we’ve just added to the Clipboard onto the current layer using the Control-F keyboard shortcut.

pasting the main shapes for the gradient compound shape

Step 2

Next, we need to make our shapes behave as a single larger one by turning them into a Compound Shape. First select them, and then open up the Pathfinder panel and head over to its advanced menu and hit Make Compound Shape.

creating the compound shape for the gradient overlay

Step 3

Once we’ve created our compound shape, we can open up the Gradient panel and apply a smooth linear gradient using #662D91 for the left color stop and #FBB03B for the right one.

adding the gradient to the compound shape

Step 4

All we have to do now in order to make the colors pop is open up the Transparency panel and set the gradient’s Blending Mode to Color Burn, making sure to lower its Opacity to just 30%.

adjusting the blending mode

6. How to Add the Texture

Once we’ve added the gradient overlay, we can lock the current layer and then move on up to the last one (that would be the fourth one), where we will finish our little illustration by applying a nice subtle texture to it.

Step 1

We’ll want to start by first copying (Control-C) and then pasting (Control-V) the custom texture onto our current layer, making sure to resize it so that it ends up covering the entire Artboard.

pasting the custom texture onto the current document

Step 2

Once we have the texture in place, all we have to do is mask (right click > Make Clipping Mask) it using a compound shape created from the background and the zeppelin’s main shapes (the three that we’ve used a few steps ago), making sure to lower its Opacity to 60% before hitting finally hitting that Save button.

adjusting the opacity of the texture

Great Work!

As always, I hope you had fun working on this little project and most importantly managed to learn something new and useful during the process.

That being said, if you have any questions, feel free to post them within the comments section and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can!

finished project preview

Want to Learn More?!

If you want to expand your skill set and learn something new and useful, I've taken the time to handpick a few tutorials which I strongly recommend you check out!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.