Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

Два притопа каблуками: как нарисовать блестящие рубиновые туфли

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Wizard of Oz.
Create a Hot Air Balloon Scene From The Wizard of Oz in Adobe Photoshop
How to Create a Vintage Typographic Illustration Poster in Adobe Illustrator

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Однажды бывшая в распоряжении Злой волшебницы Востока, теперь пара магических Рубиновых туфель принадлежит скромной Дороти Гейл. Рубиновые туфли дают огромную силу своему владельцу, и в этом руководстве я собираюсь показать вам, как создать свою собственную версию этих потрясающих туфель.

Что вам понадобится

Для этого руководства вам понадобятся следующие материалы и стоковое изображение:

Part 1 of the tools you will need for this tutorial
Part 2 of the tools you will need for this tutorial
  • Стоковое фото ног и ступней
  • Бумага для рисования или газетная бумага
  • Планшет для рисования (по желанию)
  • Маскировочная лента
  • Карандаши (от 6В до 2Н)
  • Механические карандаши (от 6В до 2Н)
  • Красные карандаши
  • Красные пастельные карандаши
  • Чёрный карандаш
  • Белый карандаш
  • Точилка
  • Металлическая линейка
  • Спрессованные угольные палочки (экстрамягкие)
  • Угольный карандаш
  • Салфетка/туалетная бумага
  • Ватные палочки
  • Ластик-клячка
  • Резиновый ластик
  • Квадратный и круглый ластики Tombow 
  • Растушёвывающие комки разных размеров
  • Баночка с графитовым порошком
  • Титановая белая краска
  • Мягкая кисть
  • Тонкая кисть
  • Художественный фиксатор

1. Готовим бумагу

В этом руководстве мы будем работать на бумаге размером А3 (11¾ x 8¼ дюймов). Если у вас под рукой есть планшет для рисования, закрепите бумагу на нём при помощи ленты, чтобы она не скользила во время рисования. Лично мне кажется, что стандартная гладкая бристольская бумага лучше всего подходит для этого вида рисунка.

How you should set up your canvas

2. Рисуем картинку

Шаг 1

Наметьте размеры вашего рисунка. Вы можете работать на всей поверхности бумаги или, как я буду делать сейчас, можете рисовать немного мельче. При помощи линейки измерьте коробку, чья ширина на полсантиметра меньше размера бумаги.

How to set up our parameters for our drawing

Шаг 2

Мы будем использовать фотообразец для нашего рисунка, который показан на картинке ниже. Более опытным художникам он может не понадобиться, и если вы чувствуете себя достаточно уверенно, то тоже можете не использовать образец. Но менее опытным художникам стоит использовать образец во время работы.

The reference you can use if you wish to do so

Шаг 3

Пользуясь образцом при необходимости, начнём с рисования простой изогнутой линии. Во время рисования используйте нажим на карандаш от умеренного до лёгкого касания, т.к. позже вам может понадобиться стереть некоторые линии.

Start drawing our legs using a simple curved line

Шаг 4

Далее нарисуйте два маленьких круга в верхней и нижней части кривой - это будут наметки для лодыжки и подушечки стопы.

Using simple circles these act as indicators for the ankle and the ball of the foot

Шаг 5

Нарисуйте простой треугольник в нижней части стопы остриём вверх и другой треугольник на пятке, остриём вниз. Начнёт проявляться приблизительный эскиз стопы. Для низа ног лучше всего подойдут простые цилиндры.

Creating a rough skeleton for the feet can be done simply using basic triangles

Шаг 6

Нам не нужно рисовать на второй стопе, находящейся за первой стопой, которую мы рисуем. Для этого вам нужно проделать всё то же самое, что и с передней стопой.

For creating the leg in the background use same methods we followed to make the foreground leg

Шаг 7

Теперь у нас есть две базовых зарисовки стоп и ног.  Вы можете нарисовать маленькие части, такие как пальцы и лодыжки при помощи простых кругов.

Now we have our two legs we can begin to flesh out the skeletons

Шаг 8

Когда все базовые фигуры будут на местах, начнём заполнять рисунок деталями. На этом этапе будьте осторожны при рисовании и постоянно следите за образцом, т.к. плохой рисунок на данном этапе проявится позже. Приведите в порядок все слабые линии при помощи пластичного ластика и убедитесь, что рисунок достаточно чистый для следующего шага.

Dont forget to add the toes on the feet

Шаг 9

Теперь, когда у нас есть чистый рисунок стоп и нижней части ног, нам нужно нарисовать рубиновые туфли, которые достаточно просто создать. Сначала нарисуем ещё один простой треугольник, чья основа соединена с пяткой.

Our finished feet with all our construction lines erased

Шаг 10

Затем нам нужно создать область, где стопа переходит в туфлю. Это будет простая нисходящая линия с закруглением влево в конце.

Still using simple lines and shapes begin drawing in the slippers

Шаг 11

Для туфли на задней стопе я собираюсь использовать все те шаги, которые были сделаны для создания передней туфли. Для каблука нарисуйте линии, закруглённые для создания "перехода" к туфле, и в конце доведите линию до задника туфли.  Не забудьте нарисовать маленькие бантики на передней части каждой туфли!

Our completed slippers complete with little bows

Шаг 12

Теперь, для придания нашим туфлям реального ощущения силы, я считаю, что лучше всего с созданием этого эффекта справятся несколько вспышек молнии, исходящих от туфель. Для их создания мы нарисуем несколько простых неровных линий, исходящих из туфель - они будут служить нам ориентиром.

Для привлечения внимания важную роль сыграют молнии, перекрывающие переднюю и заднюю туфли. Можете добавить туфлям эффект "галло", чтобы показать электрическое напряжение.

These slippers hold a great deal of power just make sure they stay in the right hands

Шаг 13

Когда вспышки молний будут готовы, возьмите пластичный ластик и удалите все эскизные линии, которые вы нарисовали. Помните о перекрытии, созданном в предыдущем шаге, и удалите все ненужные линии, которые мешают.

Если чувствуете смелость, можете изменить размер вспышек и создать ощущение, что они направлены в сторону зрителя. Я бы рекомендовал это, только если у вас уже есть понимание базовой перспективы в рисунке. Для удаления более жирных линий вам понадобится резиновый ластик, а если вы случайно стёрли какие-нибудь линии, можете их нарисовать заново.

Our clean line art ready for rendering

3. Рисуем изображение

Теперь, когда у нас есть контур картинки, можем начать заполнять её деталями и создавать эффекты. Если вы правша, работайте слева направо на бумаге, чтобы избежать смазывания картинки. Если вы левша, делайте наоборот.

Мой совет на данном этапе - работайте только над одним участком, не перепрыгивая на разные части рисунка. Если вы одновременно работаете над несколькими участками, смазывание может стать угрозой при наполнении рисунка деталями.

Мы будем использовать следующие методы нанесения графита на бумагу при помощи карандашей и графитового порошка:

  • Циркулизм
  • Перекрёстная штриховка
  • Перекрытие
The blending methods we shall be using for this tutorial

Циркулизм

Циркулизм - это вращение карандаша с умеренным нажатием круговыми движениями, передвигая карандаш по листу, как показано ниже. Как и штриховка, этот метод можно использовать для наращивания тона в зависимости от применяемого нажатия и количества повторяемых движений. Я использую циркулизм для работы с пастельным карандашом, цветными карандашами и при передаче тёмных оттенков. В данном руководстве этот метод мы будем использовать чаще всего.

Перекрёстная штриховка

Перекрёстная штриховка применяется путём наложения серии диагональных штрихов, идущих в одном направлении, а затем повторения тех же действий в противоположном направлении. Уровни оттенка могут наращиваться в этом методе путём наложения более плотной штриховки или повторения действий. Вы также можете растушевать заштрихованную область ватной палочкой или салфеткой, если хотите.

Перекрытие

Перекрытие - это первоначальное наложение слоя графитового порошка или пастельного карандаша на бумагу, а затем растушёвка ватной палочкой или куском салфетки. Затем возьмите один из красных карандашей (тон которого вам больше нравится) и осторожно нарисуйте очень маленькие круги, которые означают вид отражающей поверхности рубиновых туфель. Рисование этих кругов поверх друг друга создаёт лучший эффект, чем просто рисование их рядом друг с другом, что выглядит очень просто.  Однако, предупреждаю! Как на показанном примере, применяйте только ограниченный объём этой техники, т.к. избыточное использование может привести к плохому результату, который никто не оценит. Также не забывайте про тени, т.к. странное свечение может смутить зрителей.

Шаг 1

Начнём с использования небольшого количества графитового порошка на мягкой кисти для наложения светлого базового тона на переднюю ногу и верх ступни.  Примените метод циркулизма, описанный ранее. Продолжайте окунать кисть в порошок и втирать его в бумагу. Помните, что нужно покрыть только ограниченную область рисунка.

Our base layer of graphite that can be applied using a soft paintbrush

Шаг 2

Когда первый слой будет уложен на бумагу, возьмите ватную палочку и обработайте верх этого слоя методом циркулизма, снова использовав графитовый порошок для выделения тёмных тонов. На данном этапе следуйте своему эскизу, чтобы проверять, где находятся тёмные области. Продолжайте накладывать больше графитового порошка, где это нужно для наращивания тона.

To render the legs further you can continue using a combination of graphite powder and cotton buds

Шаг 3

На данном этапе взгляните на образец и, если ваш рисунок не очень на него похож, можно добавить ещё немного тона. Для этого я бы использовал мягкий стержень (или ) и применил технику лёгкого циркулизма. Здесь может понадобиться дополнительная растушёвка салфеткой.

For more finer details you can use either a 4 or 5B pencil and tissue paper cotton buds or blending knubs

Шаг 4

Чтобы создать поры кожи, сначала возьмите пластичный ластик и лёгкими похлопываниями осторожно удалите области тона там, куда падает свет, и где лучше всего видны поры.

Для более детальной работы возьмите круглый ластик tombow и таким же похлопывающим способом создайте больше мелких пор. Для более тёмных пятен возьмите механический карандаш 2В и осторожно нарисуйте мелкие линии для обозначения маленьких теней, которые создадут эффект пор на коже по мере наращивания тона.

Our first leg virtually complete for the fine pores of the skin carefully use your putty eraser then your Tombow eraser to create these

Шаг 5

Для создания ноги на заднем плане следуйте такому же процессу, который я использовал для изображения передней ноги, но вы можете затемнить эту ногу ещё немного, чтобы сфокусировать взгляд зрителя больше на ноге на переднем плане. Также, помня о расположении источников освещения, мы можем оставить заднюю ногу в тени.

Now we have some lovely slender legs and feet

4. Работаем в цвете

Шаг 1

Сейчас на нашем рисунке есть серые тона, и мы переходим к работе в цвете. Я обнаружил, что лучше всего работать пастельными карандашами, т.к. можно растушёвывать цвет для создания эффектов, и если сделать ошибку этими карандашами, её можно стереть.

Чтобы найти наиболее подходящий цвет, может быть очень полезно начать с чистого листа принтерной бумаги А4 и протестировать несколько цветов на этой бумаге. Если вы используете набор с разными карандашами, как я, вам может быть сложно выбрать нужный карандаш из такого разнообразия цветов и оттенков. Для первого слоя мы ищем стандартный красный цвет.

To find the right colour for our image you might find it very useful to test your colours on a spare sheet of paper

Шаг 2

Когда найдёте подходящий цвет, возьмите красный пастельный карандаш и, при помощи метода лёгкой перекрёстной штриховки, осторожно нанесите область цветного тона на часть туфли. Что касается ног, сохраняйте тона светлыми на данном этапе - мы поработаем над ними в процессе.

Our base colour layer note the cross hatching method used for application

Шаг 3

Возьмите кусок салфетки или ватную палочку и методом циркулизма осторожно растушуйте красный цвет, который вы наложили. Помните, что на этом этапе нужно покрыть только отмеренную область изображения.

Our pastel layer now blended using a cotton bud and tissue paper

Шаг 4

Далее возьмите пастельный карандаш более тёмного оттенка или обычный цветной карандаш и пройдитесь по базовому цветному слою, используя перекрёстную штриховку.

На этом этапе вы можете захотеть выделить светлые области, которые мы обработаем позже. Если вы их сразу отметите, они помогут вам в дальнейшем.

Now you have worked in your first layer of pastel you can go and work in a second layer with either your pastel or colour pencils

Шаг 5

На этом этапе вы можете пойти одним или двумя путями. Вы можете либо продолжить использовать более тёмный пастельный карандаш, чтобы нарастить тон, либо, как я собираюсь это сделать, вы можете взять острый цветной карандаш и начать обрабатывать более мелкие детали, которые ещё больше выделят туфли. Чтобы добавить тона этим деталям, вы можете применить либо плотную перекрёстную штриховку, либо метод циркулизма.

Now we have finished using pastel pencils we now move into using pure colour pencils

Шаг 6

Затенённые области туфли могут превратиться в чёрный, т.к. рубиновый цвет является тёмным оттенком красного в своём нормальном состоянии, поэтому для этих затенённых областей используйте либо чёрный пастельный карандаш, либо угольную палочку.

Т.к. туфли окружены молниями, тени не будут слишком большими. Помните об этом в процессе работы, иначе в конце у вас получится очень неубедительная картинка.

В итоге у вас должен получиться такой результат, который вы видите на образце ниже. Помните о том, что нужно работать только в отмеренных областях бумаги и осторожно передвигаться по холсту, пока не заполните нужную область.

Notice how we build up our shadow using little overlapping circles this is a tedious process but will be worth it at the end

Шаг 7

Т.к. мы начали с туфли на заднем плане, теперь перейдём к туфле на переднем. Как и с предыдущей туфлей, следуйте тем же методам, которые мы использовали для создания нужных эффектов, но в этот раз нам не нужно делать переднюю туфлю такой же тёмной, как задняя, т.к. на ней сосредоточен фокус картинки.

Our finished shoes Now all we need to do is add various highlights

5. Добавляем яркие блики

Шаг 1

Теперь, когда мы наложили цвет, нам нужно перейти к ярким бликам, которые являются главной изюминкой этого изображения.

Для этого нам понадобится немного титановой белой краски, а также обычная и тонкая кисти. Для последующих шагов вам потребуется устойчивая рука, как при нанесении цвета. Будет лучше, если вы немного попрактикуетесь в раскраске на отдельном листе бумаги А4 перед тем, как продолжить рисунок.

Когда почувствуете себя достаточно уверенно, возьмите обычную кисть и с отмеренным количеством белой краски осторожно проставьте точки-блики вокруг туфель.

Варьируйте размер точек, чтобы сделать рисунок интересным. Мне кажется, что лучше сделать большие блики вокруг пальцев и подъёма передней туфли и маленькие блики - на каблуке и на фоне.

To create highlights simply dot in white paint with your paintbrush

Шаг 2

Теперь, когда у нас есть большие блики, возьмём тонкую кисть и расставим маленькие блики. Для добавления большего сияния бликам снова возьмите тонкую кисть и осторожно нарисуйте тонкие линии, как те, которые показаны на картинке ниже, чтобы создать впечатление сияющей, отражающей поверхности туфель.

It takes a steady hand to dot in finer highlights and add glare so make sure you practice first

6. Создаём фон и фиксируем рисунок

Шаг 1

Сейчас рисунок наполовину готов. Одна из финальных стадий - заполнить чисто чёрные участки и наложить базу для фона.

Для этого шага возьмите спрессованную угольную палочку (помните, что нужно использовать экстрамягкую палочку, т.к. она даёт лучшее покрытие и ею легко растушёвывать) и начните рисовать ею на чёрных областях - слева направо и в обозначенных секциях. Левши могут работать справа налево.

As when we rendered our legs render the background in measured sections

Шаг 2

Для областей вокруг молний и уголков холста лучше использовать угольный карандаш. Также нужна будет устойчивая рука.

Very careful use of your charcoal pencil will be needed when working on lightning bolts

Шаг 3

Теперь, когда вы обработали первую секцию, продолжайте двигаться вокруг изображения, заполняя чёрные области. Возможно, на сложных участках нужно будет применить угольный карандаш. Однако, для действительно мелких деталей и сложных углов используйте один из острых чёрных карандашей.

Когда фон будет закончен, возьмите художественный фиксатор и побрызгайте на картинку для избежания смазывания, т.к. мы переходим к следующей секции.

Our completed background ready for final touches

7. Добавляем финальные штрихи

Шаг 1

Теперь наша картинка почти закончена. Возьмите тонкую кисть и титановую белую краску и осторожно окрасьте очень тонкие вспышки молнии, которые тянутся от основных вспышек на всём изображении.

Если вы когда-нибудь изучали фотографии настоящих молний, то могли заметить, что эти вспышки содержат так много энергии, что тысячи, если не миллионы очень тонких зарядов выходят из основных вспышек, и эти выбросы энергии мы стараемся здесь изобразить.

It takes a steady hand to draw these fine lightning bolts so be careful and have confidence

Шаг 2

Когда закончите с раскрашиванием, возьмите карандаш белого цвета и нарисуйте ещё несколько мелких вспышек. Вы заметите, что линии, которые вы рисуете, будут очень тонкими, но этот эффект нам и нужен, поэтому не думайте, что делаете что-то неверно!

Take note on how many bolts you paint and draw in Try not to do too many and overload the image

Нет ничего лучше дома

Наконец, наша работа готова!

Работа с цветом всегда сложна, особенно если вы не знакомы с материалом и сопутствующими процессами, но я надеюсь, что объяснил то, что вы не должны переходить сразу к краскам. При помощи цветных карандашей вы можете создавать цвета и текстуры так же, как если бы вы работали с углём и графитом.

Практика в этих техниках поможет вам создать потрясающие Рубиновые туфли, которые будет гордо носить Дороти Гейл, а Злая волшебница будет хотеть украсть!

Our completed ruby slippers Dorothy Gale would be proud to wear these
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

Click Your Heels Twice: How to Draw Sequin Ruby Slippers

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Wizard of Oz.
Create a Hot Air Balloon Scene From The Wizard of Oz in Adobe Photoshop
How to Create a Vintage Typographic Illustration Poster in Adobe Illustrator
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Once the prized jewel in the evil crown of the Wicked Witch of the East, a pair of magical Ruby Slippers now belong to humble Dorothy Gale. The Ruby Slippers give great power to whoever possesses them, and in this tutorial I am going to show you how you can create your own version of these striking shoes.

What You Will Need

In order to complete this tutorial, you'll need the following equipment and stock image:

Part 1 of the tools you will need for this tutorial
Part 2 of the tools you will need for this tutorial
  • Stock photo of legs and feet
  • Drawing paper or newsprint
  • Drawing board (optional)
  • Masking tape
  • Pencils (Types, 6B to 2H)
  • Mechanical pencils (Types 6B to 2H)
  • Red colour pencils
  • Red pastel pencils
  • Black colour pencil
  • White colour pencil
  • Pencil sharpener
  • Steel ruler
  • Compressed charcoal sticks (Extra soft)
  • Charcoal pencil
  • Tissue/toilet paper
  • Cotton buds
  • Kneaded eraser
  • Gum eraser
  • Tombow Square and Circular detailed erasers
  • Varied size blending nubs
  • Tub of graphite powder
  • Titanium White paint
  • Soft paint brush
  • Fine paint brush
  • Artists fixative

1. Prepare Your Paper

For this tutorial we will be working on A3 size paper (11¾ x 8¼ inches). If you have a drawing board to hand, secure your paper onto it with tape so that it does not slide around as you are drawing. Personally I find a standard smooth Bristol board is best for this type of drawing.

How you should set up your canvas

2. Draw Your Image

Step 1

Start by measuring out how big you want this drawing to be. You can either work to the exact size of the paper or, as I will be doing for this tutorial, you can work slightly smaller. With your steel ruler, measure out a box whose width is half a centimetre smaller than the size of the paper.

How to set up our parameters for our drawing

Step 2

We shall be using a reference photo for our drawing, which is shown in the picture below. More experienced artists may not need to use this, and if you feel confident enough you do not have to either. But for less experienced artists you may find it very worth your while to use this reference as you work. 

The reference you can use if you wish to do so

Step 3

Using the reference if you prefer, we shall start by drawing a simple curved line. Use a moderate to light touch with your pencil when drawing, as you may need to erase some lines later on.

Start drawing our legs using a simple curved line

Step 4

Next, draw two little circles at the top and the bottom of the curve; these will act as guidelines for the ankle and the ball of the foot.

Using simple circles these act as indicators for the ankle and the ball of the foot

Step 5

Using simple triangles, draw one at the bottom of the foot pointing upward and another at the heel of the foot pointing downward, and you should now start to see a rough layout of a foot emerging. For the bottom of the legs, simple cylinders will work best to begin to make these up.

Creating a rough skeleton for the feet can be done simply using basic triangles

Step 6

We now need to draw in the second foot behind the one we have been working on. To do this you need to follow the same process as for the foreground foot.

For creating the leg in the background use same methods we followed to make the foreground leg

Step 7

Now we have two basic sketched feet and legs. You can make up the smaller parts such as the toes and ankles by using simple circles.

Now we have our two legs we can begin to flesh out the skeletons

Step 8

Once you have all the basic shapes in place, we now begin to fill in the details. At this point, take care when drawing and be sure to go back to your reference regularly, as a poor drawing at this stage will reflect when we come to rendering. Clean up any loose lines with your putty eraser and make sure you have a clean image to work with for the next stage.

Dont forget to add the toes on the feet

Step 9

Now that we have a clean image of the feet and lower legs, we need to draw in the ruby slippers, which are fairly simple to construct. Firstly, we will draw another simple triangle with its base connected to the heel of our foot.

Our finished feet with all our construction lines erased

Step 10

We then need to construct where the foot goes into the slipper, and this is made up with a simple downward line with a curve at the end going to the left.

Still using simple lines and shapes begin drawing in the slippers

Step 11

For the slipper on the background foot, I am going to follow the same process I have used for the foreground one. To complete the heel of our slippers, draw in lines that curve to make up the “bridge” of the shoe and will eventually lead up to the back of the slipper too. Don't forget to draw in the little bows that go on the front of each slipper!

Our completed slippers complete with little bows

Step 12

Now to give our slippers some real sense of power, I believe nothing will produce this effect better than some shocking lightning bolts coming off them. To create these, we are looking to draw some simple crooked lines that are coming off the slippers—these will act as a guideline. 

To add more interest for our viewers, having the bolts overlapping both on the front and background slippers will make a big difference. For added impetus, you can add a “halo” effect to the slippers to show the build-up of electrical charge on them.

These slippers hold a great deal of power just make sure they stay in the right hands

Step 13

Once you are happy with your lightning bolts, take your putty eraser and remove any guidelines you have drawn. Remember the overlapping we did in the previous step and erase any unwanted lines that will get in the way. 

If you are feeling adventurous, you can adjust the size of your bolt to give the impression that the bolt is coming towards the viewer. I would only suggest attempting this if you already have a grasp of basic perspective drawing. For erasing harder lines, you need to use your gum eraser and if any lines are accidentally erased, you can redraw these in.

Our clean line art ready for rendering

3. Render Your Image

Now we have the outline of the image, we can begin to fill in the details and create our effects. If you are right-handed, work from left to right on the paper to avoid smudging your image. If you are left-handed you can do the opposite to this. 

My best advice to you at this point is to only work a section at a time and avoid working on too much of the image. If you do work on too much of the image at one time, you will find smudging becomes more of a hazard as you fill in the details.

We will be using the following methods of applying graphite to the paper with pencils and graphite powder:

  • Circulism
  • Cross hatching
  • Overlaying
The blending methods we shall be using for this tutorial

Circulism

Circulism involves rotating your pencil with moderate pressure in a circular motion whilst moving the pencil across the page as shown below. Like hatching, this can be used to build up tone depending on pressure applied to the paper and how many times you repeat the motions. I use circulism for working with our pastel pencil, colour pencils and also when rendering dark tones. It is this method we shall be using most in this tutorial.

Cross Hatching

Cross hatching is applied by a series of strokes in a diagonal direction going one way, then repeating the motion in the opposite direction. Levels of tone can be built up in this method by bringing hatchings closer together or repeating the motions time and again. You can also choose to blend the area you have shaded afterwards with a cotton bud or tissue paper if you so wish.

Overlaying

Overlaying involves first putting down a layer of either graphite powder or pastel pencil on the paper and then blending it with either a cotton bud or piece of tissue paper. Then you take one of your red colour pencils (which tone of colour is up to you) and carefully draw in very small circles that will indicate the type of reflective surface that make up the ruby slippers. Drawing these circles over the top of each other creates a better effect than just drawing them side by side, which would look very plain. A word of caution, though! As in the example shown, only use measured amounts of this technique, as an overuse of it may end up leaving you with a bad image that no one will treasure. Be sure to take note of your shadows too, because odd lighting may confuse viewers.

Step 1

We start by using a small amount of graphite powder on your soft paint brush to lay down a light base tone on the paper on the forward leg and top of the feet.  Apply using the circulism method described earlier. Continue reloading your brush with powder and working into the paper. Remember to only cover a limited area of the drawing.

Our base layer of graphite that can be applied using a soft paintbrush

Step 2

Once the first layer is put down on the paper, take a cotton bud and work over the top of this layer using the circulism method, again using graphite powder to pick out darker tones. Be sure to follow your reference at this stage to check where these are. Continue applying more graphite powder where needed to build up tone.

To render the legs further you can continue using a combination of graphite powder and cotton buds

Step 3

At this point check your reference and, if your image is not quite matching the reference, additional tone may need to be added. For this I would use a soft lead (either a 4B or a 5B) and use a light circulism technique.  Additional blending with your tissue paper may be needed here.

For more finer details you can use either a 4 or 5B pencil and tissue paper cotton buds or blending knubs

Step 4

To create pores on the skin, firstly take your putty eraser and using a light tapping carefully remove areas of tone where our light sources will fall and where pores might be most visible. 

For more detailed work, take your circular tombow eraser and, using the same tapping method, create more fine pores. For darker spots, take your mechanical 2B pencil and carefully draw in little lines to indicate small shadows that will give the impression of pores on the skin as we build up.

Our first leg virtually complete for the fine pores of the skin carefully use your putty eraser then your Tombow eraser to create these

Step 5

For the leg in the background, follow the same process I used to render the foreground leg, but you may want to darken this leg a little more so as to focus the viewer’s eye more on the leg in the foreground. Also, keeping in mind where our light sources are, this could leave our background leg in shadow, so be mindful of that as you work.

Now we have some lovely slender legs and feet

4. Work in Colour

Step 1

Now we have our grey tones rendered in our picture, we will now move on to working in colour. I have found it best to work with pastel pencils, as you can blend the colour to create effects, and if you do make a mistake with these pencils you can still erase them.

To find what colour might work best for you, it will be very useful for you to start by taking a blank sheet of A4 printer paper and testing out a few colours on this paper. If you are using a varied pencil set as I am, there are so many different colours and shades to choose from, and you can get a bit confused as to which pencil might be the right one to use. For this first round of tones we are looking for a standard red colour.

To find the right colour for our image you might find it very useful to test your colours on a spare sheet of paper

Step 2

Once you have found a suitable colour, take your red pastel pencil and, using a light cross hatching method, carefully build up a section of coloured tone on a section of the slipper. As with the legs, only keep the tones light at this stage, and we shall work more into them as we proceed.

Our base colour layer note the cross hatching method used for application

Step 3

Take a piece of tissue paper or a cotton bud and, using the circulism method, carefully blend out the red colour you have laid down. Remember at this stage to only cover a measured section of the image.

Our pastel layer now blended using a cotton bud and tissue paper

Step 4

Next, take a darker tone pastel pencil or a regular coloured pencil and go over our base colour layer, still using cross hatching. 

At this stage you might want to pick out areas of highlight that we will work into later. If you mark them out early, they will help you in the long run. 

Now you have worked in your first layer of pastel you can go and work in a second layer with either your pastel or colour pencils

Step 5

With this step, you can now go in one of two ways. You can either choose to continue using a darker pastel pencil to build up your tones or, as I am going to do, you can take a sharp coloured pencil and begin working in more fine details that will define the slippers that bit more. To build these details up, you can use either the tight cross hatching or circulism methods.

Now we have finished using pastel pencils we now move into using pure colour pencils

Step 6

For shaded areas of the slipper, you may find the colours turn to black as the colour ruby is a dark shade of red in its normal state, so for these shaded areas use either a black pastel pencil or a charcoal stick

Because our slippers are surrounded by lightning, our shadows will not be too great. Remember to keep this in mind as you work, otherwise you will be left with a very unconvincing image at the end of the tutorial. 

Eventually, after continued rendering, you should be left with a result like the sample below. Remember to work only in measured sections of the paper, and carefully work across canvas until you have filled the area required.

Notice how we build up our shadow using little overlapping circles this is a tedious process but will be worth it at the end

Step 7

As we started on the slipper in the background, we shall now move on to the slipper in the foreground. As with the previous slipper, follow the same methods we have been using to create the effects we are after, but with this slipper we do not want it to be as dark as the slipper in the background due to there being a lot of focus on this part of the image.

Our finished shoes Now all we need to do is add various highlights

5. Add Bright Highlights

Step 1

Now that we have our colours laid down, we need to focus on bright highlights, which are a main feature of this image. 

To make these we are going to use a little titanium white paint and our regular and fine paintbrushes. You will require a steady hand for this next set of steps so, as we did with our colours, it might be well worth your while practicing your painting on a separate piece of A4 paper before continuing. 

Once you feel you are confident enough, take your regular paintbrush and with a measured amount of white paint carefully “dot in” our white specular highlights around the slippers. 

Be sure to vary the size of these, as we want to keep viewers interested, and varying our specular highlights is a good way to do this. I find that it is better to have the larger highlights around the toes and ball of the foreground slipper and the lesser ones on the heel of the slipper and in the background.

To create highlights simply dot in white paint with your paintbrush

Step 2

Now that we have our larger highlights established, we shall now go and take our fine paintbrush and dot in smaller highlights. For additional glare in the highlights, again using your fine paintbrush carefully paint in fine lines like the ones shown in the image below to give the impression of the shiny, reflective surface of the slippers.

It takes a steady hand to dot in finer highlights and add glare so make sure you practice first

6. Make a Background and Fix Your Image

Step 1

You should now have a semi-rendered image. One of the final stages is to fill in the pure blacks and put a base down for our background. 

To do this step, take your compressed charcoal stick (remember to use an extra soft one as it gives better coverage and is easier to blend with) and simply begin drawing in your black areas, going from left to right and in measured sections. Left-handers may want to go right to left.

As when we rendered our legs render the background in measured sections

Step 2

For the tight areas around the lightning bolts and the corners of the canvas, it is best to use a charcoal pencil to work on these sections. It will also require a steady hand.

Very careful use of your charcoal pencil will be needed when working on lightning bolts

Step 3

Now that you have worked your first section, continue moving around the image, filling the black areas that need doing. You may find that in tight areas you need to break out your charcoal pencil to cover these sections. However, for really fine details and really tight corners, use one of your sharp black colour pencils to fill these little sections in. 

Once you feel you have completed your background, take your artists fixative and spray this onto the image to prevent any smudging as we proceed to the next section.

Our completed background ready for final touches

7. Add Finishing Touches

Step 1

Now we have an almost complete image. Take your fine paintbrush and titanium white paint and carefully paint in very fine lightning bolts that extend off the main bolts around the image. 

If you have ever studied photographs of real lightning, you may have also seen that these bolts contain so much energy that thousands if not millions of very fine charges extend from the main bolts as this energy is expelled, and this is what we are trying to replicate here. 

It takes a steady hand to draw these fine lightning bolts so be careful and have confidence

Step 2

Once you have finished your painting, take your white colour pencil and continue drawing in a few more fine bolts. You will notice that the lines you draw will be very fine, but this is the effect we want, so don't think you are getting it wrong!

Take note on how many bolts you paint and draw in Try not to do too many and overload the image

There's No Place Like Home

Finally, we have a complete work of art!

Working in colour is always difficult, especially if you are not familiar with the media and the processes involved, but I hope I have shown you don’t have to go straight for the paints. By using coloured pencils you can build up colours and textures in very much the same way you would work with charcoal and graphite. 

With a lot of practice with these techniques, it will help you create stunning Ruby Slippers that Dorothy Gale would be proud to wear and the Wicked Witch would want to steal!

Our completed ruby slippers Dorothy Gale would be proud to wear these
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.