1. Design & Illustration
  2. Font Design

Основы рисования и создания собственного рукописного шрифта

by
Read Time:18 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Svetlana (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Вы когда-нибудь хотели придать своим цифровым макетам и дизайну по-настоящему индивидуальный подход? В этом уроке мы рассмотрим, как вы можете создать шрифт из вашего собственного почерка для использования на вашем компьютере.

Учебник будет разделен на три части. Во-первых, мы рассмотрим основы рисования шрифта. Затем, как только мы разогреемся, мы увидим, как вы можете оптимизировать свой почерк для обеспечения высокого качества и универсальности. И, наконец, мы проанализируем несколько различных способов переноса шрифта на компьютер и преобразования нарисованных от руки букв в цифровой шрифт.

1. Практика рисования Тип

Что вам нужно для первой части этого урока:

  • бумага для рисования (белая)
  • заостренный карандаш HB или 1H
  • линейка с миллиметровыми измерениями

Вероятно, вы пишете набросанные заметки или списки каждый день, но редко замечаете свой почерк. Когда вы вдруг начинаете осознавать свой собственный почерк, он начинает выглядеть неестественно.

Вы должны сначала войти в более естественный способ письма. Я считаю, что лучший способ сделать это - попрактиковаться в рисовании шрифта. Это также очень полезно, так как позволяет вам лучше понять ключевые характеристики гарнитуры и дает вам возможность распознавать общие черты (согласованности) между различными символами внутри гарнитуры. Это окажется полезным, когда мы начнем улучшать свои собственные рукописные символы и оптимизировать их для оцифровки.

Шаг 1

Положите линейку поперек страницы под горизонтальным углом настолько прямо, насколько это возможно. Возьмите заостренный карандаш и, слегка надавливая, нарисуйте линию над верхним краем линейки.

Если ваша линейка представляет собой стандартизированную линейку шириной 30 мм, вы можете оставить линейку на месте и провести вторую линию вдоль нижнего края линейки. Это дает преимущество в том, что обе линии идеально параллельны. В противном случае просто создайте две горизонтальные линии на расстоянии 30 мм друг от друга. Нижняя линия представляет базовую линию, а верхняя линия - высоту кепки.

Выделите верхнюю треть 10 мм от общей высоты между линиями и нарисуйте третью горизонтальную линию линейкой и карандашом, нажимая более слегка, чтобы сделать слегка более тусклую линию. Эта линия представляет высоту х. Подчеркните ваши типографские термины, такие как x-height и baseline, в моей статье о типографии от A до Z.

drawing baselinedrawing baselinedrawing baseline

Шаг 2

Вы можете повторить последовательность строк, используя те же измерения из шага 1, чтобы создать страницу, заполненную линиями. Это ваша собственная сетка для письма, на которой вы можете попрактиковаться в рисовании шрифтов.

sequence of linessequence of linessequence of lines

Шаг 3

Откройте программу, в которой вы можете легко редактировать текст, например, Adobe InDesign или даже Microsoft Word или Pages.

Выберите классический шрифт с засечками, такой как Adobe Caslon Pro, который показан здесь, или Garamond. Чтобы попрактиковаться в рисовании шрифта, лучше сначала выбрать шрифт с засечками, так как шрифт без засечек имеет более тонкие особенности и может быть сложнее рисовать точно, если вы новичок.

Введите следующие символы: «H n o y» с пробелом между ними. Это хорошие символы для выбора, так как они отображают ряд различных функций: два вертикальных стержня и поперечина на «H», апертура и засечки на «n», полностью закрытый счетчик на «o» и стремительный спуск и диагональные рычаги в нижнем регистре 'у'.

caslon pro samplecaslon pro samplecaslon pro sample

Если вы работаете в InDesign, вы также можете включить базовую сетку («Просмотр»> «Сетки и направляющие»> «Показать базовую сетку»), чтобы легче было видеть, как пропорции символов совпадают друг с другом.

view baselineview baselineview baseline

Взорвать символы в большом масштабе на экране или увеличить. Теперь вы можете начать рисовать символы. Чередуйте использование линейки и рисование штрихов от руки. Не беспокойтесь, если ваши попытки выглядят немного сумбурно - цель этого упражнения состоит в том, чтобы вы освоились с типом рисунка и наблюдали характеристики шрифта и сходства (или различия) между каждым символом.

drawing caslondrawing caslondrawing caslon

Вы заметите, что шрифты с засечками основаны на принципах симметрии и порядка. Вытяните штрихи от края символов и обратите внимание на углы и пропорции. Стебли почти всегда имеют одинаковую ширину, независимо от символа, но вы можете заметить, что размер засечек немного больше в верхнем регистре «H». Также обратите внимание, что некоторые части персонажей тоньше; эти виды инсульта называются волосками.

Шаг 4

Хотя мы не будем применять все эти характеристики к нашему рукописному шрифту, очень важно признать, что все шрифты регулируются набором правил, будь то формальный, который чаще встречается с типом засечек и без засечек, или неформальный, который чаще встречается у нарисованных от руки, нарисованных или рукописных шрифтов.

После того, как вы потренировались рисовать шрифт или несколько шрифтов, если хотите, вы должны начать немного изучать рукописные шрифты, чтобы помочь вам подумать о том, как вы хотите, чтобы ваш рукописный шрифт был организован.

Перейдите на сайт ресурсов шрифтов, например FontSquirrel или DaFont, и посмотрите на доступные там рукописные шрифты. Выберите шрифт, который, по вашему мнению, разделяет качества с вашим собственным почерком, и загрузите его.

Выберите программу, которая позволит вам просмотреть полный набор символов шрифта. Adobe InDesign - хороший выбор, но вы также можете использовать Glyphs, о чем мы рассмотрим позже.

В InDesign создайте текстовую рамку и установите  шрифт вновь только, что загруженный шрифт. Здесь я выбрал Wagnasty. Перейдите в Window> Type & Tables> Glyphs, чтобы открыть панель Glyphs. Вы сможете увидеть полный набор символов, доступных в гарнитуре.

glyphs panelglyphs panelglyphs panel

Запишите, какие типы символов присутствуют, а какие отсутствуют. Например, в Wagnasty мы получили:

  • полный набор букв, от A до Z
  • без строчных букв
  • полный набор чисел, 1-9
  • точка (.), запятая (,), двоеточие (:), точка с запятой (;), восклицательный знак (!), знак вопроса (?)
  • апостроф (')
  • круглые скобки () (скобки), квадратные скобки [], фигурные скобки {} и скобки угловые <>
  • некоторые основные математические символы / символы уравнений (= +%)
  • hashtag -  (знак фунта стерлингов)(#)
  • Некоторые символы валют
  • звездочка (*)
  • вперед, косая черта (/), обратная косая черта (\), тире (-), волнистое тире (~), вертикальная черта (|)

Это основной набор характеров, которые позволили бы вам написать больше всего вещей на Английском языке без слишком большого от проблемы.

Вы должны также отметить, если шрифт имеет любой дополнительный вес, например bold или курсивный. Чаще, чем нет, написанный от руки шрифт будет иметь только один регулярный вес, так как шрифту нужно выглядеть подлинным. Обращение различного веса, возможно, выглядело бы неестественным.

Самые написанные от руки шрифты имеют так же основной набор характеров. Подобно Руке Callie :

Callie Hand fontCallie Hand fontCallie Hand font

Или некоторые, возможно, включали бы несколько больше, подобно Журналу, который включает некоторые изворотливые не-решенные символы или изображения :

Journal fontJournal fontJournal font

2. Написание Ваших Собственных Характеров

Теперь, когда вы практиковали тянущие шрифты, и обратил взгляд в ряд написанных от руки шрифтов там и характеры, доступные в пределах каждого набора шрифта, вы можете начать думать о соединении вашего собственного personalised шрифта.

Для этой секции обучающей программы вам будет нужно следующее:

  • линованная бумага (грязная старая записная книжка, говорит сама за себя )
  • бумага для рисования (белая; с некоторой текстурой, если вы хотите придать своим персонажам более неформальный, деревенский вид)
  • заостренный карандаш HB или 1H
  • линейка с миллиметровыми измерениями
  • ручка с жидкими чернилами с мелкими точками черного цвета (мне нравится использовать Pilot Hi-TecPoint)
  • Ластик

Шаг 1

Многие люди со временем разработали два или более вариантов своего почерка. Когда я записываю более длинные отрывки текста, мой почерк имеет тенденцию соединяться и слегка наклоняться вправо, создавая курсивный шрифт курсивом.

italic cursive writingitalic cursive writingitalic cursive writing

Однако существует ряд проблем, связанных с попыткой преобразования рукописного или рукописного рукописного текста в цифровой шрифт. Вы должны убедиться, что кернинг (пробел между символами) установлен очень точно, чтобы символы всегда выглядели идеально соединенными. Вы также должны убедиться, что каждая комбинация символов будет выглядеть идеально объединенной, что очень сложно, не тратя часы на редактирование сценария на вашем компьютере.

Так что, если вы не ищете головную боль, рекомендуем вам оцифровывать рукописный текст, который не является скорым. Вместо этого он должен иметь отдельные символы, которые не нужно уточнять, чтобы точно соответствовать любому заданному соседнему символу.

К счастью, я часто использую другой вариант моего почерка, обычно для аннотирования документов или написания быстрых заметок. Все указано в верхнем регистре и не объединено. У этого также есть небольшой наклонный курсив.

block capital writingblock capital writingblock capital writing

Выберите короткий отрывок из книги и скопируйте текст на линованную бумагу, используя свой естественный почерк. Прилагая все усилия, чтобы сохранить естественность письма, постарайтесь убедиться, что персонажи не соединены или не касаются слишком сильно. Неважно, если вы смешиваете прописные и строчные буквы. Но учтите, что если вы хотите это сделать, вам придется в конечном итоге создать полный набор символов в верхнем регистре и полный набор символов в нижнем регистре.

book passagebook passagebook passage

Вы также можете попрактиковаться в написании нескольких символов, таких как восклицательные знаки или скобки.

punctuation markspunctuation markspunctuation marks

Вы можете использовать этот отрывок книги как полезный справочник, когда начинаете создавать свой окончательный образец почерка. Не всегда естественно писать отдельные символы в порядке от A до Z, поэтому вы можете посмотреть на отрывок и посмотреть, как вы создали «G» или «F», например, когда вы писали в плавный, естественный путь.

Шаг 2

Вернитесь к своей бумаге для рисования. Возьмите карандаш и линейку и, следуя шагам 1 и 2 первой части урока (выше), нарисуйте последовательность из трех линий, представляющих высоту колпачка, высоту х и базовую линию.

В первой части мы создали группу линий с общей высотой 30 мм. Однако, если вы попытаетесь писать естественным образом в таком масштабе, вы наверняка будете бороться!  Уменьшите общую высоту между высотой курса и базовой линией до 6 мм;отметьте  2 мм, треть к верху, чтобы показать высоту х.

line widthsline widthsline widths

Вы можете даже обнаружить, что это все еще слишком велико, чтобы позволить вам писать естественно, не напрягаясь. Напишите пару символов на бумаге, чтобы увидеть, какого размера вы естественным образом пишете свои символы.

Уменьшите общую высоту до 4 или 5 мм, если вам удобнее писать в меньшем масштабе.

Повторяйте последовательность строк, пока не заполните страницу.

drawing narrow linesdrawing narrow linesdrawing narrow lines

Шаг 3

Возьмите чернильную ручку (черные чернила создадут хороший контраст для последующего сканирования) и немного поверните бумагу против часовой стрелки. Это сделано для того, чтобы не напрягать руку слишком сильно, когда вы пишете.

В том же темпе, который вы обычно пишете, пишите заглавные буквы от A до Z за один раз, вдоль той же строки, если у вас есть место.

handwriting letter sethandwriting letter sethandwriting letter set

Если вы допустили какие-либо ошибки, попробуйте еще раз на следующей строке. Но не беспокойтесь ни о каких незначительных ошибках или извращениях в написании. Вы хотите, чтобы письмо выглядело органично и естественно, и слишком много его усовершенствования избавит от этого.

Возвращаясь к списку символов, которые мы отметили в первой части руководства, запишите другие символы в том же естественном стиле и в том же масштабе. При желании вы также можете написать набор строчных букв от a до z.

numbers and punctuation marksnumbers and punctuation marksnumbers and punctuation marks

Шаг 4

Дайте чернилам полностью высохнуть, а затем возьмите ластик и аккуратно сотрите линии карандаша вокруг символов, чтобы у вас остался прекрасный набор чистых символов, готовых для сканирования.

erase pencil lineserase pencil lineserase pencil lines

3. Сканирование и оцифровка вашего шрифта

Для этой заключительной части урока вам понадобятся:

  • сканер (или, альтернативно, штатив и цифровая камера)
  • Иллюстратор Adobe
  • имейте доступ к программе программного обеспечения конверсии редактора шрифтов/, например Студия Fontlab или Глифы (вы можете получить бесплатную 30-дневную проверку Глифов, и mini версия доступна на приложениях Mac)

Примечание. В этом руководстве мы расскажем вам о том, как использовать Glyphs, но есть множество отличных программ для редактирования шрифтов. Лично я нахожу, что Glyphs очень удобны для пользователя, но многие типографы также предложат веские аргументы в пользу FontLab и RoboFont.

Шаг 1

Установите для сканера высокое разрешение (я сканировал с разрешением 1600 точек на дюйм), отсканируйте образец почерка.

Сохраните файл в формате TIFF или JPEG. Затем откройте Adobe Illustrator и создайте новый документ.

Выберите «Файл»> «Поместить» и выберите отсканированное изображение. Выбрав изображение, откройте панель «Фиксировать изображения» («Окно»> «Фиксировать изображения»). С установленным флажком «Предварительный просмотр» установите режим «Черно-белый» и настройте уровни «Начало», «Контуры» и «Углы», пока вы не будете удовлетворены точностью трассировки. Нажмите Trace.

image trace windowimage trace windowimage trace window

Затем, с выбранным изображением, перейдите в Object> Image Trace> Expand. В качестве последнего шага нажмите Control-Click (Mac OS) или щелкните правой кнопкой мыши (Windows)> Разгруппировать.

Теперь вам нужно избавиться от всех белых участков на изображении. Откройте панель «Слои» («Окно»> «Слои») и создайте новый слой. Перетащите его вниз, чтобы разместить новый слой под слоем изображения. Выберите Rectangle Tool (M) и перетащите, чтобы создать прямоугольник, который простирается по всей области работы. Установите заливку на контрастный яркий цвет.

Сейчас вы можете посмотреть легче, где там белый на изображении. Выберите белую область вокруг наружной части и delete. Выберите меньшие белые области внутри шаров и прилавков характеров, и delete.

deleting white from vectordeleting white from vectordeleting white from vector

Вы успешно векторизовали свой почерк, отличная работа!

Шаг 2

Теперь откройте свое программное обеспечение для редактирования шрифтов. Здесь я собираюсь провести вас через процесс оцифровки вашего рукописного шрифта с помощью Glyphs.

Перейдите в File> New, чтобы создать новый шрифт Glyphs. В левой части окна Glyphs, которое открывается, вы увидите меню параметров, в котором перечислены группы символов, которые можно добавить к шрифту.

Нажмите Письмо, чтобы просмотреть полный набор параметров меню. Чтобы вставить заглавные буквы, выберите Верхний регистр. Полный набор символов в верхнем регистре, от A до Z, появляется в окне.

Дважды щелкните по персонажу, чтобы редактировать его напрямую.

Glyphs new windowGlyphs new windowGlyphs new window

Вернитесь в Illustrator и выберите соответствующий векторный символ. Перейдите в «Изменять»> «Копировать».

vector of charactervector of charactervector of character

Вернитесь к Glyphs и перейдите в «Изменять»> «Вставить». Символы разместят вектор в окне, готовый для вас, чтобы масштабировать и корректировать. Числовые значения внизу экрана доступны для редактирования, что позволяет вам регулировать пространство слева и справа от символа, влияя на кернинг.

editing character in Glyphsediting character in Glyphsediting character in Glyphs

Слева от окна вы можете видеть символы «-» и «+», которые позволяют масштабировать персонажа. Вы также можете вручную отрегулировать масштаб, используя инструмент «Масштаб» (S), доступный на панели инструментов, идущей вдоль верхней части окна.

increasing scaleincreasing scaleincreasing scale

Вы должны использовать направляющие на экране в качестве ориентира, располагая нижнюю часть символа на базовой линии, а верхнюю часть символа (если это верхний регистр), встречая линию высоты курса.

Шаг 3

Вы можете отбросить, чтобы рассмотреть полный набор знаков, щелкнув по вкладке Font к вершине окна.

Повторите процесс выше, дважды щелкнув по знакам в Глифах, чтобы открыть их, и щелкающий назад и вперед между Иллюстратором и Глифами, копируя и приклеивая знаки через.

completing the set of characterscompleting the set of characterscompleting the set of characters
character setcharacter setcharacter set

Вы можете также начать добавлять в других видах знаков, используя левое меню в окне Глифов. Вы должны будете вручную добавить, что Числа и Знаки препинания, выбирая их из поп-меню и выбирая Производить.

adding numbersadding numbersadding numbers
adding punctuationadding punctuationadding punctuation
exclamation markexclamation markexclamation mark

Шаг 4 

После того, как вы добавили все символы для своего шрифта, вы можете дать ему имя.

Перейдите в File> Font Info, чтобы открыть новое окно.

Font InfoFont InfoFont Info

Дайте шрифту подходящее имя, и вы также можете добавить дополнительные сведения, такие как ваше имя, ваш веб-сайт и ваши данные об авторских правах. Когда вы закончите, просто закройте окно.

Font nameFont nameFont name

Шаг 5

После того, как вы отредактировали символы в вашем шрифте, вы можете экспортировать его как цифровой шрифт.

Перейдите в Файл> Экспорт.

Export to digital fontExport to digital fontExport to digital font

Оставьте параметры по умолчанию такими, какие они есть, чтобы создать шрифт OpenType, затем нажмите «Далее». Сохраните шрифт в папке, в которой легко найти.

OpenType FontOpenType FontOpenType Font

Вы можете выйти из Glyphs и перейти к выбранной папке, чтобы просмотреть файл шрифта.

otf font in folderotf font in folderotf font in folder

Затем вы можете установить его на свой компьютер, как и любой стандартный шрифт .otf.

installing with Font Bookinstalling with Font Bookinstalling with Font Book

Заключение

Ваш рукописный шрифт теперь готов и готов к использованию в качестве цифрового шрифта в ваших собственных документах. Используйте его, чтобы добавить индивидуальный подход к заметкам или аннотациям, или включите его в макеты дизайна, чтобы сделать ваши работы действительно уникальными!

typing your characterstyping your characterstyping your characters

Давайте вспомним, какие уроки мы рассмотрели в этом уроке. Мы смотрели на:

  • как практиковать тип рисования и распознавать общие элементы и правила для гарнитур
  • как применять эти уроки рисования к собственному почерку, оптимизируя его для оцифровки
  • как отсканировать ваше произведение искусства и векторизовать его в Illustrator
  • как конвертировать ваши векторы в цифровой шрифт, редактировать его с помощью Glyphs или другого программного обеспечения для редактирования шрифтов

Потрясающая работа! Получайте удовольствие, создавая больше собственных шрифтов - почему бы не поэкспериментировать с различными стилями, нарисованными от руки или нарисованными?

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Font Design
Design

The Basics of Drawing Type & Creating Your Own Handwritten Font

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Ever wanted to give your digital layouts and designs a truly personal touch? In this tutorial we’ll look at how you can create a font from your own handwriting, for use on your computer. 

The tutorial will be split into three parts. Firstly, we’ll look at the basics of drawing a typeface. Then, once we’re warmed up, we'll see how you can optimise your handwriting to ensure high quality and versatility. And lastly, we’ll analyse some different methods for getting your font onto the computer and converting your hand-drawn letters into a digital font.

1. Practice Drawing Type

What you’ll need for the first part of this tutorial:

  • drawing paper (white)
  • sharpened HB or 1H pencil
  • ruler with millimetre measurements

You probably write scribbled notes or lists every day, but you’re rarely conscious of your handwriting. When you suddenly become very aware of your own handwriting, it can start to look unnatural.

You should first get into a more natural mode of writing. I find the best way to do this is to practice drawing a typeface. This is also really useful as it makes you more aware of the key characteristics of a typeface, and makes you more able to recognise common features (consistencies) between different characters within a typeface. This will prove useful when we start to refine our own handwritten characters, and optimise them for digitisation.

Step 1

Lay your ruler flat across the page, at a horizontal angle, as straight as you can make it. Take your sharpened pencil and, pressing down moderately hard, draw a line above the top edge of the ruler. 

If your ruler is a standardised 30 mm-wide ruler, you can keep the ruler in place, and draw a second line along the bottom edge of the ruler. This has the benefit of ensuring both lines are perfectly parallel. Otherwise, simply create two horizontal lines, 30 mm apart. The lower line represents the Baseline, and the top line is the Cap Height

Mark out the top 10 mm third of the total height between the lines and draw a third horizontal line with your ruler and pencil, pressing down more lightly to make a slightly fainter line. This line represents the x-height. Swot up on your typography terms, such as x-height and baseline, in my article on The A to Z of Typography.

drawing baseline

Step 2

You can repeat the sequence of lines, using the same measurements from Step 1, to create a page filled with lines. This is your own writing grid, on which you can practice drawing typefaces.

sequence of lines

Step 3

Open a software program where you can easily edit text, such as Adobe InDesign, or even Microsoft Word or Pages

Select a classic Serif typeface, such as Adobe Caslon Pro, which is shown here, or Garamond. To practice drawing a typeface it’s best to pick a serif to draw at first, as sans serif typefaces have more subtle features, and can be more tricky to draw accurately if you’re a beginner.

Type the following characters: ‘H n o y’, with a space between each. These are good characters to pick, as they display a range of different features: two vertical stems and a crossbar on the ‘H’, an aperture and serifs on the ‘n’, a fully enclosed counter on the ‘o’, and a sweeping descender and diagonal arms on the lowercase ‘y’.

caslon pro sample

If you’re working in InDesign you can also switch on the baseline grid (View > Grids & Guides > Show Baseline Grid) to more easily see how the proportions of the characters line up with each other.

view baseline

Blow up the characters at large scale on your screen, or zoom in. Now you can start to draw the characters. Alternate between using your ruler and drawing strokes by hand. Don’t worry if your attempts look a little messy—the aim of this exercise is for you to become comfortable with drawing type, and to observe the characteristics of the typeface and the similarities (or differences) between each character.

drawing caslon

You will notice that serif typefaces are based on the principles of symmetry and order. Extend the strokes from the edge of the characters and notice the angles and proportions. Stems are almost always the same width, whatever the character, but you might notice that the size of the serifs is slightly larger on the uppercase ‘H’. Notice also that some parts of the characters are thinner; these sorts of stroke are called hairlines.

Step 4

Though we won’t apply all of these characteristics to our handwritten font, it’s really important to recognise that all typefaces are governed by a set of rules, whether formal, which is more common with serif and sans serifs type, or informal, which is more common with hand-drawn, painted or handwritten typefaces.

Once you’ve practiced drawing a typeface, or several typefaces if you want, you should start to do a bit of research on handwritten typefaces, to help you think about how you want your handwritten font to be organised.

Go to a font resource site like FontSquirrel or DaFont and take a look at the handwritten fonts available there. Pick a font that you think shares qualities with your own handwriting and download it. 

Choose a software programme that will allow you to view the full set of characters in the font. Adobe InDesign is a good choice, but you could also use Glyphs, which we'll take a closer look at later on.

In InDesign, create a text frame and set the Font to your newly downloaded font. Here, I’ve chosen Wagnasty. Go to Window > Type & Tables > Glyphs to open the Glyphs panel. You’ll be able to see the full set of characters available in the typeface. 

glyphs panel

Make a note of the types of characters that are present, and what’s notably absent. For example, in Wagnasty we’ve got:

  • a full set of uppercase letters, A to Z
  • no lowercase letters
  • a full set of numbers, 1 to 9
  • full-stop (.), comma (,), colon (:), semi-colon (;), exclamation mark (!), question mark (?)
  • apostrophe (‘)
  • round (parentheses) brackets (), square brackets [], braces/curly brackets {}, and chevrons <>
  • some basic maths/equation symbols (= + %)
  • hashtag (#)
  • some currency symbols
  • asterisk (*)
  • forward slash (/), backslash (\), dash (-), swung dash (~), vertical bar (|)

This is a basic set of characters that would allow you to write most things in the English language without too much of a problem.

You should also note if the font has any additional weights, e.g. bold or italic. More often than not, a handwritten font will have only one regular weight, as the font needs to look authentic. Applying a different weight might look unnatural.

Most handwritten fonts have a similarly basic set of characters. Like Callie Hand:

Callie Hand font

Or some might include a few more, like Journal, which includes some quirky hand-drawn symbols or images:

Journal font

2. Writing Your Own Characters

Now that you’ve practiced drawing typefaces, and had a look at the range of handwritten typefaces out there and the characters available within each typeface set, you can start to think about putting your own personalised typeface together.

For this section of the tutorial you’ll need the following:

  • lined paper (a scruffy old notebook will suffice)
  • drawing paper (white; and with some texture if you want to give a more informal, rustic appearance to your characters)
  • sharpened HB or 1H pencil
  • ruler with millimetre measurements
  • a fine-point liquid ink pen in black (I like to use a Pilot Hi-TecPoint)
  • eraser

Step 1

Many people will have developed over time two or more variations of their handwriting. When I write down longer passages of text, my handwriting tends to join together, and slant slightly to the right, creating an italicised cursive type.

italic cursive writing

However, there are a number of problems with trying to convert cursive, or script, handwriting to a digital font. You would have to ensure that the kerning (space between characters) is set down very precisely, so that the characters always appear perfectly joined up. You would also have to ensure that every combination of characters would look perfectly joined up, which is very difficult without having to spend hours post-editing the script on your computer.

So, unless you’re looking for a headache, it’s recommended that you look to digitise handwriting that is not cursive. Instead, it should have stand-alone characters that will not need to be refined to correspond precisely with any given neighbouring character. 

Luckily, I often use a different variation of my handwriting, usually for annotating documents or writing quick notes. It’s all set in uppercase, and is not joined up. It too has a slight italic slant.

block capital writing

Pick out a short passage from a book, and copy out the text onto lined paper using your natural handwriting style. While doing your best to keep the writing natural, try to make sure the characters are not joined up or touching too much. It doesn’t matter if you mix upper- and lowercase letters. But note, if you want to do that, you will have to eventually create a full set of uppercase characters and a full set of lowercase characters.

book passage

You can also practice writing out a few symbols, such as exclamation marks or brackets.

punctuation marks

You can use this book passage as a useful reference for when you start to create your final handwriting sample. It doesn’t always feel natural to write individual characters, in an A to Z order, so you can look over to the passage and see how you created a ‘G’ or an ‘F’, for example, when you were writing in a flowing, natural way.

Step 2

Return to your drawing paper. Take your pencil and ruler and, following Steps 1 and 2 of Part One of the tutorial (above), draw a sequence of three lines, representing the cap height, x-height and baseline. 

In Part One, we created a group of lines that measured 30 mm in total height. However, if you tried to write naturally at this scale, you would certainly struggle! Reduce the total height between the Cap Height and Baseline to 6 mm; mark out the top 2 mm third of that to show the x-height

line widths

You might even find that this is still too large to allow you to write naturally without straining. Write a couple of characters onto the paper, to see what size you naturally write your characters. 

Reduce the total height to 4 or 5 mm if you’re more comfortable writing at a smaller scale.

Repeat the sequence of lines until you have filled the page.

drawing narrow lines

Step 3

Take your ink pen (the black ink will create good contrast for scanning later on) and rotate the paper just a little anti-clockwise. This is to avoid straining the arm too much as you write.

At the same pace you would normally write, write the uppercase characters from A to Z in one go, along the same line if you have room. 

handwriting letter set

If you make any mistakes, simply try again on the next line down. But don’t worry about any minor errors or quirks in the writing. You want the writing to look organic and natural, and perfecting it too much will get rid of that.

Referring back to the list of characters we noted in Part One of the tutorial, write down other characters in the same natural style, and at the same scale. If you want to, you can also write a set of lowercase letters, a to z, as well.

numbers and punctuation marks

Step 4

Allow the ink to dry completely, and then take an eraser and carefully rub out the pencil lines around the characters so that you are left with a lovely set of clean characters, ready to be scanned.

erase pencil lines

3. Scanning and Digitising Your Font

For this final part of the tutorial you will need:

  • a scanner (or alternatively a tripod and digital camera)
  • Adobe Illustrator
  • access to a font editor/conversion software programme, e.g. FontLab Studio or Glyphs (you can get a free 30-day trial of Glyphs, and a mini version is available on Mac apps)

Note: We’ll take you through the process of using Glyphs in this tutorial, but there are loads of great type editing programmes out there. I personally find Glyphs to be very user-friendly, but many typographers will also put forward strong cases for FontLab and RoboFont.

Step 1

Setting the scanner to a high dpi (I scanned at 1600 dpi), scan in your handwriting sample. 

Save the file as a TIFF or JPEG. Then open Adobe Illustrator and create a New Document.

Go to File > Place and select your scanned image. With the image selected, open the Image Trace panel (Window > Image Trace). With the Preview box checked, set the Mode to Black and White, and adjust the Threshold, Paths and Corners levels until you’re happy with the accuracy of the trace. Click Trace.

image trace window

Then, with the image still selected, go to Object > Image Trace > Expand. As a final step, Control-Click (Mac OS) or Right-Click (Windows) > Ungroup. 

Now you need to get rid of all the white sections on the image. Open the Layers panel (Window > Layers) and create a new layer. Drag it down to sit the new layer below the image layer. Select the Rectangle Tool (M) and drag to create a rectangle that extends across the whole artboard. Set the Fill to a contrasting bright color.

Now you can see more easily where there is white on the image. Select the white area around the outside and delete. Select the smaller white areas inside the bowls and counters of characters, and delete.

deleting white from vector

You’ve successfully vectorized your handwriting, great work! 

Step 2

Now open your font editing software. Here, I’m going to take you through the process of digitising your handwritten font using Glyphs.

Go to File > New to create a new Glyphs font. On the left-hand side of the Glyphs window that opens you’ll see a menu of options, listing groups of characters you can add to the font. 

Click Letter to view the full set of menu options. To insert uppercase letters, select Uppercase. A full set of uppercase characters, from A to Z, appears in the window.

Double-click a character to edit it directly. 

Glyphs new window

Hop back over to Illustrator and select the relevant vector character. Go to Edit > Copy.

vector of character

Return to Glyphs, and go to Edit > Paste. Glyphs will place the vector in the window, ready for you to scale and adjust. The numeric values at the bottom of the screen are editable, allowing you to adjust the space to the left and right sides of the character, affecting the kerning. 

editing character in Glyphs

To the left of the window you can see ‘-’ and ‘+’ symbols, which allow you to scale the character. You can also manually adjust the scale, using the Scale (S) tool accessible in the tools panel running along the top of the window.

increasing scale

You should use the guides on the screen as a guide, sitting the bottom of the character on the Baseline, and the top of the character (if it’s uppercase) meeting the Cap Height line.

Step 3

You can flick back to view the full set of characters by clicking the Font tab towards the top of the window.

Repeat the process above, double-clicking characters in Glyphs to open them, and flicking back and forth between Illustrator and Glyphs, copying and pasting characters across.

completing the set of characters
character set

You can also start to add in other sorts of characters, using the left-hand menu in the Glyphs window. You will have to manually add Numbers and Punctuation marks, selecting them from the pop-out menus and selecting Generate.

adding numbers
adding punctuation
exclamation mark

Step 4

Once you’ve added in all the characters for your font you can give it a name. 

Go to File > Font Info to open a new window. 

Font Info

Give the font a suitable name, and you can also add in additional details, such as your name, your website and your Copyright info. Once you’re done, simply close the window.

Font name

Step 5

Once you’ve edited the characters in your font you can export it as a digital font. 

Go to File > Export

Export to digital font

Keep the default options as they are, to create an OpenType Font, then click Next. Save the font in a folder that’s easily searchable.

OpenType Font

You can exit Glyphs and navigate to your chosen folder, to view the font file. 

otf font in folder

You can then install this on your computer, as you would any standard .otf font.

installing with Font Book

Conclusion

Your handwritten font is now complete, and ready to use as a digital font across your own documents. Use it to add a personal touch to notes or annotations, or incorporate it into design layouts to make your artwork truly unique!

typing your characters

Let’s recap what lessons we’ve covered in this tutorial. We looked at:

  • how to practice drawing type, and recognise common elements and rules across typefaces
  • how to apply those drawing lessons to your own handwriting, optimising it for digitisation
  • how to scan your artwork and vectorise it in Illustrator
  • how to convert your vectors to a digital font, editing it using Glyphs or other font editing software

Awesome work! Have fun creating more of your own fonts—why not experiment with different hand-drawn or painted styles?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.