Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Drawing

Быстрый совет: очищаем традиционные рисунки в Photoshop

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Masha Kolesnikova (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Традиционные эскизы часто ценятся больше, чем цифровые. Они кажутся более живыми, более «реальными», и в них есть какая-то «душа». Однако, если вы хотите представить более широкой аудитории свой рисунок, сделанный карандашом, используя Интернет, вы наткнетесь на одну большую проблему. Любой инструмент, который вы используете для преобразования традиционного искусства в цифровую форму, будет иметь некоторое влияние (обычно отрицательное) на его качество.

Adobe Photoshop приходит на помощь! Если вы считаете, что делать что-либо со сканированием/фотографией - это обман, позвольте мне заверить вас - хотите вы этого или нет, преобразование само по себе уже меняет исходное изображение. Вы можете оставить все так как есть (с плохим качеством), или сделать что-то, чтобы вернуть его к традиционному состоянию. Посмотрим как это сделать!

Оцифруйте свой традиционный рисунок

Я создал свою фотографию, используя три урока:

Сканер - лучший инструмент, который вы можете здесь спользовать. Он даст вам «нулевую перспективу», которая уберет хотя бы одну проблему. Однако, если у вас его нет, используйте камеру. Чем больше разрешение, тем легче добиться резкого изображения. Оба способа в итоге дадут вам цифровой файл с содержанием, не похожим на ваш эскиз.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop
На самом деле, это не похоже на то что я нарисовал, клянусь!

1. Исправляем перспективу

Чем больше изображение, тем сложнее фотографировать его без искажений объектива. Давайте посмотрим, как исправить даже самый экстремальный случай.

Шаг 1

Откройте файл в Photoshop. Используйте инструмент Кадрирование (C), удерживая клавиши Alt и Shift, и немного растяните границы, чтобы увеличить размер холста. Таким образом мы получим больше места для преобразований, не уменьшая изображение.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 2how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 2how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 2

Шаг 2

Щелкните правой кнопкой мыши слой и выберите Преобразовать в смарт-объект. Это даст вам возможность несколько раз трансформировать изображение без потери качества. Перейдите в меню Фильтр>Коррекция объектива и перейдите на вкладку Пользовательские.

Здесь вы можете немного поиграть с ползунками Трансформирования, чтобы удалить искажения, вызванные камерой.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 3how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 3how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 3

Шаг 3

У предыдущего метода есть свои недостатки, поэтому нам нужно добавить еще одну поправку. В моем случае картина получилась слишком «сплющенной» по вертикали. Если это также и ваш случай, щелкните правой кнопкой слой, растрируйте его, а затем используйте свободное трансформирование (Control-T), чтобы растянуть его до нужных пропорций.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 4how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 4how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 4

2. Удалите цвета.

Во многих случаях ваш черно-белый эскиз превращается в массу случайных цветов, как правило, из-за неправильного баланса белого. Давайте исправим это одним простым способом.

Откройте панель Окно>Коррекция. Выберите Черно-белый.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 5how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 5how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 5

Готово!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 6how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 6how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 6

3. Удалите грязный фон

Пятна, грязь, неровное освещение - вот фон вашего эскиза - это то, с чем вы бы с радостью распростились. Так давай сделаем это!

Шаг 1

Добавьте маску слоя к эскизу. Убедитесь, что фоновый слой белый, а если нет, добавьте его.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 7how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 7how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 7

Шаг 2

Нажмите белый прямоугольник рядом с картинкой эскиза. Используйте мягкую круглую кисть, чтобы нарисовать примерно область вокруг персонажа. Помните: черный удаляет, белый возвращает.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 8how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 8how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 8

Шаг 3

Сделайте нажим меньше и работайте точно по краям, переключаясь между черным и белым, чтобы получить правильный эффект. Фон пропал!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 9how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 9how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 9

4. Исправьте контраст

Контраст, как правило, является единственной вещью, которую художник меняет перед отправкой отсканированного изображения. Однако это гораздо более сложная проблема, чем кажется на первый взгляд, и игра с ползунком Контраст может принести вам больше вреда, чем пользы. Я покажу вам, как правильно им управлять.

Шаг 1

Добавьте корректировку Уровней.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 10how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 10how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 10

Шаг 2

Эта панель показывает гистограмму - распределение черного и белого на рисунке. Идеальная гистограмма выглядит как гора с пологими склонами, но «совершенная» не означает, что она наиболее желательна. Чем короче (по горизонтали) гистограмма, тем выше контраст. Перетащите правый ползунок влево, чтобы светлые серые оттенки стали белыми, а левый ползунок вправо, чтобы сделать черный серым.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 11how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 11how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 11

Здесь вас ждет ловушка. Может быть очень соблазнительно дать много черного цвета вашему изображению, но посмотрите на свой традиционный эскиз. Много ли в нем богатых черных очертаний? Если нет, изменение гистограммы, чтобы получить их, лишит вашу картину тонких изменений серого. Помните: вы хотите, чтобы цифровой эскиз выглядел так же хорошо, как оригинал, а не «лучше»!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 12how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 12how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 12

Шаг 3

Иногда из-за неравномерного освещения или пятен некоторые части изображения будут более темные, чем остальные. Нам нужно выбрать их и отдельно изменить их гистограмму.

Используйте инструмент Быстрая маска (Q) и закрасьте область, которую хотите изменить.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 13how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 13how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 13

Нажмите Q еще раз, чтобы вернуться в нормальный режим и инвертировать (Control-Shift-I) выбор. Затем снова добавьте настройку Уровни - она будет применена только к выбору. Поиграйте с ползунками, пока элемент не сравняется с контрастом остальных.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 14how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 14how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 14

Вы можете применить тот же контраст к другим частям, просто щелкнув маску (прямоугольник рядом с миниатюрой слоя).

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 15how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 15how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 15

Шаг 4

Проблема с редактором уровней заключается в том, что они меняют оттенки равномерно. Есть большая вероятность того, что ваш сканер/камера потерял лучшие темные оттенки, а они были очень важны для окончательного «ощущения» картины. Вы не можете вернуть их с помощью гистограммы, но есть еще один инструмент - редактор кривых.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 16how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 16how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 16

Этот редактор очень мощный. Фактически, здесь вы можете настроить уровни! Давайте посмотрим, о чем идет речь.

По умолчанию нижний левый угол отображает самые темные участки изображения, а верхний правый угол - самые яркие. Добавляя точку на линии и перетаскивая ее вниз, вы делаете область, которую она представляет более темной; Перетащив ее вверх, вы сделаете область ярче.

Если вы хотите сделать темные детали более темными, добавьте точку около «черного» конца и перетащите ее вниз. Линия на самом деле кривая, поэтому вам нужно выровнять (сбалансировать) ее с другими точками. Не стесняйтесь играть с ним, чтобы получить желаемый эффект!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 17how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 17how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 17

Если вы сделаете все правильно, только самые тонкие детали станут темнее - а не все серые.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 18how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 18how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 18

5. Кадрирование изображения

Это самая интуитивная часть, но давайте в любом случае поговорим об этом.

При традиционном рисовании вам приходится работать с размерами листа бумаги. В цифровом виде вы можете использовать любые. При использовании Кадрирования (C) обратите внимание на сетку «правило третей» и заставьте ее работать на вас.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 19how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 19how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 19

6. Придайте картине ощущение традиционного рисунка

Есть один аспект традиционно-цифровых эскизов, который в основном игнорируется. У бумаги есть текстура, поэтому ваши штрихи - это не гладкие линии, они всегда немного оборваны. С другой стороны, ваш цифровой фон совершенно гладкий. Это не оправдывает оборванные линии, заставляя их выглядеть просто грязными, а не стильными.

У Photoshop тоже есть для этого решение! Сначала щелкните правой кнопкой мыши на любом из слоев и выберите выполнить сведение. Затем перейдите в Фильтр > Галлерея. Раскройте список Текстуры и выберите Texturizer. Используйте текстуру песчаника с тонким рельефом и соответствующим масштабированием.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 20how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 20how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 20

Теперь тонкая текстура на заднем плане оптически оправдывает текстурированные штрихи. Это не просто напоминание о том, что вы создали рисунок традиционно - так на самом деле должно быть, если вы хотите, чтобы оно выглядело так, как было до оцифровки!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 21how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 21how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 21

7. Подготовьте его для просмотра

И последнее, но не менее важное: огромный файл, который вы, вероятно, получили после оцифровки эскиза, - это не то, что вы должны показывать другим. Там действительно не нужно представлять все 1 мм штрихи в виде 20 пикселей! Вы не смотрите на эскиз, придерживая свой взгляд на бумаге, поэтому не заставляйте других это делать.

Другим преимуществом масштабирования эскиза является то, что чем меньше изображение, тем более детальным оно выглядит (из-за небольших промежутков между линиями). Кроме того, если ваш цифровой оригинал был немного размытым, масштабирование может помочь уменьшить этот эффект.

Чтобы уменьшить масштаб изображения, просто перейдите в «Изображение» > «Размер изображения» и введите более подходящую ширину. Все рисунки в этом учебнике имеют ширину 600 px; Ширина 700-800 пикселей может быть отличным выбором для иллюстрации (в зависимости от того, насколько она детализирована). Кроме того, выберите Билинейная для метода интерполяции. Масштабирование никогда не проходит полностью без потерь, но выбор правильного метода может помешать вам потерять слишком много.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 22how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 22how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 22

Если изображение масштабируется и выглядит несколько размытым, выберите «Фильтр»> «Резкость»> «Умная резкость». Поиграйте с ползунками, чтобы получить хорошую резкость. Этот фильтр, как правило, довольно бесполезен, когда дело доходит до подробных, цветных участков, но он творит чудеса с карандашными эскизами!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 23how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 23how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 23

Не нужно сохранять изображение в том же формате, в каком файл был до этого. Выберите «Файл»> «Сохранить для Интернета», чтобы выбрать лучшие настройки для вашего изображения. Большую часть времени вам не нужно заботиться о размере - просто убедитесь, что качество остается неизменным!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 24how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 24how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 24

Мы сделали это!

Теперь вы можете с гордостью представить свое искусство онлайн! Возможно, эти трюки были не так просты, как изменение контраста, но эффект несравненно более привлекателен.

Знаете ли вы другие трюки, которые можно использовать, чтобы традиционные эскизы выглядели лучше в цифровом формате? Напишите комментарий - вы можете помочь другим!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Drawing
Design

Quick Tip: Clean Up Your Traditional Drawings in Photoshop

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:QuickLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Traditional sketches are often appreciated more than digital ones. They seem more lively, more "real", and they have some kind of "soul". However, if you want to present your pencil art to a wider audience using the same medium as digital art—the Internet—you stumble upon one great problem. Any tool you use to convert traditional art into digital form will have some influence (usually negative) on its quality.

Adobe Photoshop comes to your aid! If you think that doing anything to a scan/photo is cheating, let me reassure you—whether you want it or not, the conversion itself changes your original picture. You can only leave it as (bad) as it is, or do something to bring it back to its traditional glory. Let's see how!

Digitize Your Traditional Art

I've created my picture using three tutorials:

A scanner is the best tool you can use here. It will give you "zero perspective", which takes away at least one problem. However, if you don't have one, use a camera. The bigger the resolution, the easier it'll be to achieve a sharp picture. Both ways will give you a digital file with the content looking nothing like your sketch.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop
It doesn't look like this in reality, I swear!

1. Fix the Perspective

The bigger the picture, the harder it is to take a picture of it without any lens distortion. Let's see how to fix even the most extreme case of it.

Step 1

Place your file into Photoshop. Use the Crop Tool (C), hold Alt and Shift, and drag the borders away a bit to make the canvas bigger. This way we'll get more space for the transformations without scaling the picture down.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 2

Step 2

Right click the layer and Convert to Smart Object. It'll let you transform the image multiple times without losing quality. Go to Filter > Lens Correction and switch to the Custom tab.

Here you can play with the Transform sliders to remove the distortion caused by the camera.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 3

Step 3

The previous method has its flaws, so we need to add one more correction. In my case, the picture turned out too "squished" vertically. If that's also your case, right click the layer, Rasterize it, and then use the Free Transform Tool (Control-T) to stretch it to the proper proportions.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 4

2. Remove the Colors

In many cases your black-and-white sketch will be turned into a mass of random colors, usually because of incorrect white balance. Let's fix it with one simple step.

Open the Window > Adjustments panel. Select Black & White.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 5

It's done!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 6

3. Remove the Messy Background

Smudges, dirt, uneven lighting—the background of your sketch is something you'd gladly say goodbye to. Let's do it!

Step 1

Add the Layer Mask to the sketch. Make sure your background layer is white, and if not, add it.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 7

Step 2

Click the white rectangle next to your sketch's thumbnail. Use the Soft Round brush to paint roughly the area around the character. Remember: black removes, white brings back.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 8

Step 3

Make the stroke smaller and work precisely on the edges, switching between black and white to get the right effect. The background is gone!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 9

4. Fix the Contrast

Contrast is usually the one and only thing an artist changes before posting a scanned artwork. However, it's a far more complicated issue than it seems, and playing with the Contrast slider only may bring more harm than good. I'll show you how to manage it properly.

Step 1

Add the Levels adjustment.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 10

Step 2

This panel shows you the histogram—a distribution of blacks and whites in the picture. A perfect histogram looks like a mountain with gentle slopes, but "perfect" doesn't mean the most desirable. The shorter (horizontally) the histogram, the higher the contrast. Drag the right slider to the left to turn light grays into white, and the left slider to the right to make dark grays black.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 11

There's a trap here waiting for you. It may be very tempting to give rich blacks to your image, but take a look at your traditional sketch. Does it have rich, hard-edged blacks? If not, changing the histogram to get them will deprive the picture of subtle changes of grays. Remember: you want to make the digital sketch look as good as the original—not "better"!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 12

Step 3

Sometimes, because of uneven lighting or smudges, some parts of the picture are darker than the rest. We need to pick them and change their histogram individually.

Use the Quick Mask Tool (Q) and paint over the area you want to change.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 13

Press Q once again to go back into normal mode and invert (Control-Shift-I) the selection. Then add the Levels adjustment once again—it will be applied to the selection only. Play with the sliders until the element matches the contrast of the rest.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 14

You can apply the same contrast to other parts just by clicking the mask (the rectangle next to the layer's thumbnail) and painting with white over them.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 15

Step 4

The problem with the Levels editor is that it changes the shades evenly. There's a big chance your scanner/camera lost the finest dark shades, and they're very important for the final "feel" of the picture. You can't bring them back with the histogram, but there's another tool—the Curves editor.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 16

This editor is a very powerful one. In fact, you could adjust the Levels here! Let's see what it is about.

By default, the lower left corner represents the darkest areas of the picture, and the upper right corner represents the brightest ones. By adding a point on the line and dragging it down you make the area it represents darker; by dragging it up, you make it brighter. 

If you want to make the fine dark details darker, add a point near the "black" end and drag it down. The line is actually a curve, so you'll need to straighten (balance) it with other points. Feel free to play with it to get the effect you want!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 17

If you do it properly, only the finest details will become darker—not all the grays.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 18

5. Crop the Picture

This is the most intuitive part, but let's talk about it anyway.

When drawing traditionally, you are forced to work on the dimensions of the sheet of paper. Digitally, you are free to use any. When using the Crop Tool (C), pay attention to the "rule of thirds" grid and make it work for you.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 19

6. Give It a Traditional Feel

There's one aspect of traditional-digital sketches that's mostly ignored. Paper has a texture—that's why your strokes aren't smooth lines, they're always a bit ragged. Your digital background, on the other hand, is perfectly smooth. It doesn't justify the ragged lines, making them look simply unclean instead of stylish.

Photoshop has a solution for this, too! First, right click any of the layers and select Flatten Image. Then go to Filter > Filter Gallery. Expand the Texture list and select Texturizer. Use the Sandstone texture with a subtle Relief and a proper Scaling.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 20

Now the subtle texture in the background optically justifies the textured strokes. It's not just a fancy reminder that you've created it traditionally—it's actually a must, if you want to make it look as it did before digitalizing!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 21

7. Prepare It for View

Last but not least, the huge file you've probably got after digitizing the sketch isn't what you're supposed to show to others. There's really no need to present all the 1 mm strokes in a form of 20 px! You don't look at the sketch by sticking your eye to the paper, so don't force others to do it.

The other advantage of scaling the sketch down is that the smaller the picture, the more detailed it looks (because of small gaps between the lines). Also, if your digital original was a bit blurry, scaling it down may help may reduce this effect.

To scale the picture down, simply go to Image > Image Size and type a width that is more appropriate. All the pictures in this tutorial are 600 px wide; 700-800 px wide may be a better choice for an artwork (depending on how detailed it is). Also, choose Bilinear for the resample method. Scaling (even down!) is never completely lossless, but choosing a proper method may prevent you from losing too much.

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 22

If the picture is scaled and still looks a bit blurry, go to Filter > Sharpen > Smart Sharpen. Play with the sliders to get a subtle sharpening. This filter is usually pretty useless when it comes to detailed, colored pieces, but it works miracles with pencil sketches!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 23

There is no need to save the picture in the same format as your "digitizer" tool. Go to File > Save for Web to choose the best settings for your image. Most of the time you don't need to care about the size—just make sure the quality stays intact!

how to clean scan photos contrast sketch pencil traditional photoshop 24

We're Done!

You can now proudly present your art online! Maybe these tricks weren't as simple as sliding the contrast up, but the effect is incomparably more attractive.

Do you know other tricks you can use to make your traditional sketches look better in digital form? Write a comment—you may help others!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.