Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe Illustrator

How to Group and Ungroup Objects in Illustrator

Scroll to top
Read Time: 2 min

In the following tutorial, you will learn how to group objects in Illustrator, and then how to ungroup in Illustrator.

Once you've learned how to group and ungroup in Illustrator, you can head over to Envato Elements where you can get unlimited downloads of stock videos, music, graphics, photos, fonts, and much more.

What You'll Learn in This Tutorial

  • How to group objects in Illustrator
  • How to ungroup paths in Illustrator

How to Group in Illustrator

Select the objects that you wish to group, right-click to open the menu, and go to Group.

Alternatively, you can go to Object > Group or you can use the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

group illustratorgroup illustratorgroup illustrator

Keep in mind that Illustrator groups can also be stacked within other groups.

group stack illustratorgroup stack illustratorgroup stack illustrator

How to Ungroup in Illustrator

Select the group that you wish to ungroup, right-click, and go to Ungroup.

Alternatively, you can go to Object > Ungroup or you can use the Shift-Control-G keyboard shortcut.

ungroup illustratorungroup illustratorungroup illustrator

Congratulations! You're Done!

Now that you've learned to make Illustrator groups and how to ungroup in Illustrator, feel free to use these techniques in your future projects.

You can find some great sources of inspiration at Envato Elements, with interesting solutions to improve your design portfolio.

Want to Learn More?

We have loads of tutorials on Envato Tuts+, from beginner to intermediate level. Take a look!

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.