1. Design & Illustration
  2. Icon Design

如何在Adobe Illustrator中绘制一个奥利奥图标

by
Read Time:16 minsLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Clare Liu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

如果你很喜欢吃奥利奥饼干,和矢量插画,那么这个教程就是为你专门做的。 你将学会如何画一个由奥利奥得到灵感的图标,借助3D效果,以及映射选项,加上使用很多画笔,纹理效果以及更为细化的表面,我们来让这个图标更美味!

如果你需要更多食物矢量图或者类似的图标,一定要到GraphicRiver上看一下,在这里你能找到很多资源。

教程素材

为了完成这个教程,你需要以下素材:

1. 如何打开一个文件

打开Illustrator 找到文件>新建打开一个空白文件。输入你的文件名,设置尺寸,然后选择像素单位RGB模式为颜色模式。确保把新对象对齐到像素网格,没有被勾选。

接下来,打开编辑>首选项>通用,设置键盘增量1 px。这里找到单位,确保按照下图进行设置。我通常都是默认设置为这样,在绘制的过程中会帮助到你。

how to open new illustrator documenthow to open new illustrator documenthow to open new illustrator document

2.如何创建基本的奥利奥图标

步骤1

选择圆角矩形工具,参考下图绘制第一个形状,使用填充颜色(1)深棕色。

选中图标形状的同时,打开效果>3D>挤压与锥形,应用下面的参考设置(2)。

how to create the top Oreo biscuit with 3D effecthow to create the top Oreo biscuit with 3D effecthow to create the top Oreo biscuit with 3D effect

步骤2

选中图标形状,打开外观面板,在第一个的填充下面新增一个填充色,白色作为填充色,接下来再次打开效果>3D>挤压和锥形,应用下面的设置。

更多选项按钮看到整个窗口,将现有的光稍微向下移动,按照下图右侧图所示,更改设置。 点击新光源图标添加一个光源,把它移到中间偏左侧,使用同样的设置,但是将光照强度增加到100%,点击OK,你会得到奶油糖膏,但你将不会再看到它。-

打开效果>扭曲和变形>变换,在水平区域输入95%值,然后垂直移动区域输入20 px,点击OK,这将会使奶油糖膏向下移动。

how to create the Oreo cream filling with 3D effecthow to create the Oreo cream filling with 3D effecthow to create the Oreo cream filling with 3D effect

步骤3

图标形状依旧是被选中的,打开外观面板,在底部新增一个填充,使用深棕色作为填充色。 使用下面的设置,应用一个3D效果,然后应用变换效果。最后,你将会在底部得到一个饼干。

how to create the base Oreo biscuit with 3D effecthow to create the base Oreo biscuit with 3D effecthow to create the base Oreo biscuit with 3D effect

3.如何创建顶部的奥利奥设计

步骤1

使用多边形工具参考下面的尺寸画一个三角形,然后用直接选择选择工具(A)选中顶部锚点,按键盘上的向下箭头八次将它向下移动8px,这个新三角形就是下面蓝色的那个(1)。

现在,打开效果>风格化>圆角,应用一个半径5px(2);然后在对象菜单里选择扩展外观 (3)。

how to create a rounded triangle for Oreo designhow to create a rounded triangle for Oreo designhow to create a rounded triangle for Oreo design

步骤2

选中圆角矩形的同时,打开对象>变换>移动,在垂直位置输入-18 px。 点击复制,你会在上面得到另外一个三角形,不要释放选中第二个三角形,在外观面板扩展菜单里选择垂直翻转(1)。

将这两个三角形复制和粘贴在前面(Control-F) ,使用变换面板旋转90度角,最后,你会得到一组新的三角形(2)。

将顶部和底部的形状用同样的颜色填充(蓝色),将左边和右边的形状使用不同的颜色填充(粉色),最后在中间画一个4 x 4 px的圆,填充色为红色,这些颜色在本教程后面很关键。

how to create a square for Oreo designhow to create a square for Oreo designhow to create a square for Oreo design

步骤3

画四个填充为同样红色大小为5 x 5 px 的圆,然后删除各自的左右锚点把它们变成半圆,参照下图一进行放置。使用对齐面板确保对称结构。

使用矩形工具(M),参考半圆,画一个正方形,然后对所有的形状进行编组(Control-G),这将会是图案画笔的主要部分(1)。

将这个组复制一个,从左边删除两个半圆,这将会是图案画笔的起始砖形

将组合再复制一个,删除右边两个半圆,这将会是图案画笔的结尾砖形

开始砖形结尾砖形拖进色板,进行保存,一定要记得区分哪个是哪个。

how to create tiles for Oreo squares pattern brushhow to create tiles for Oreo squares pattern brushhow to create tiles for Oreo squares pattern brush

步骤4

将画笔的主要部分拖进画笔面板,选择新增图案画笔,这个文件将会是选项窗口里的第一个。 对于开始砖形结尾砖形,在列表里面选正确的那个,然后输入画笔的名字,点击OK

how to save Oreo squares pattern brushhow to save Oreo squares pattern brushhow to save Oreo squares pattern brush

步骤5

在画布上画一个圆角矩形,填充为绿色,然后把它拖进画笔面板,存储为新增图案画笔,你可以命名为奥利奥边缘图案画笔

how to save Oreo edge pattern brushhow to save Oreo edge pattern brushhow to save Oreo edge pattern brush

步骤6

将图标形状复制一个,去除现有的外观效果,只有现有的棕色填充色,对它进行复制,粘贴在前面(Control-F) ,去除填充色,描边为奥利奥边缘图案画笔。

打开描边选项窗口,更改刻度和间距(1),接下来,打开对象>路径>偏移路径,应用偏移-2 px的值,将绿色边缘稍微向内收缩。

how to apply Oreo edge pattern brushhow to apply Oreo edge pattern brushhow to apply Oreo edge pattern brush

步骤7

将棕色矩形复制一个,放在前面,然后打开对象>路径>偏移路径,应用偏移-13 px的值,就会得到一个更小的形状。 将填充色去除,应用一个4 px的橙色描边,点击描边内的圆头端点图标,勾选虚线,输入下面所示的虚线间距值。

how to create dashed line for Oreo designhow to create dashed line for Oreo designhow to create dashed line for Oreo design

步骤8

使用钢笔工具(P)或者直线段工具(\),在顶部和底部画一条直线,描边为奥利奥正方形图案画笔,调整路径的长度。这样就每个上面就只有四个正方形。

接下来,画在两边画两个直线,应用奥利奥正方形图案画笔。这次每条路径上就只有三个正方形。

how to apply Oreo squares pattern brushhow to apply Oreo squares pattern brushhow to apply Oreo squares pattern brush

步骤9

在三条路径上面 (2),中间位置 (1)画一个椭圆,应用4 px的黄色描边,同时勾选圆头端点选项。

现在,选择文字工具(T) ,使用Anja Eliane字体输入“YUMM”,大小为22 px,上面画两个小的黄色三角形,下面是文字(3)。

椭圆周围画画出更多黄色三角形或者其他类似的装饰图案完成奥利奥设计(4)。

how to create the Oreo text logohow to create the Oreo text logohow to create the Oreo text logo

步骤10

选中四条描边为奥利奥正方形图案画笔的路径,在对象内选择扩展外观,将它们由描边改为填充(1),现在使用直接选择工具(A) 选中其中一个红色圆,在下图箭头所指的空缺位置放置四个副本(2)。 创健更多红色圆副本,把它们放在橙色虚线之间(3)。

最后,选中绿色边缘,再次选中扩展外观,将偏移效果进行扩展。

how to adjust Oreo designhow to adjust Oreo designhow to adjust Oreo design

步骤11

在这个时候,奥利奥图案设计就完成了,你可以删除掉棕色矩形。将所有的对象拖到符号面板内,输入一个名字,点击OK

how to save Oreo designhow to save Oreo designhow to save Oreo design

步骤12

我们再回到奥利奥图标,选中它,打开3D效果,应用一个顶部棕色填充属性,在选项窗口内,点击地图艺术按钮。 在对象的表面1,选择和应用保存的奥利奥设计符号,在饼干上看到设计图案就点击OK

how to map the Oreo designhow to map the Oreo designhow to map the Oreo design

步骤13

选中奥利奥图标,选择扩展外观对所有的外观属性和3D效果进行扩展,一旦取消编组(Shift-Control-G) 之后,你就会在图层面板内看到三个不同的分组,你可以选中进行命名,区分。 我们有“饼干结构”(1),还有“奶油填充”(2),现在,打开第三个分组,找到五颜六色的奥利奥图标设计,把它拖到图层顶部。将这个组余下的部分命名为“饼干顶部”

选中“奥利奥设计”组,打开对象>剪切蒙版>释放(Alt-Control-7)去除现有的蒙版(3).

how to expand the Oreo iconhow to expand the Oreo iconhow to expand the Oreo icon

步骤14

选择直接选择工具(A),选中图标前面的绿色圆角矩形,进行编组(Control-G)。 依然选中这个编组,打开效果>变形>壳下,应用5%水平弯曲,点击OK,然后打开对象>扩展外观,这将会使前面的绿色边缘变大。

how to modify the Oreo front edgehow to modify the Oreo front edgehow to modify the Oreo front edge

4. 如何对顶部奥利奥设计进行重新上色

步骤1

使用直接选择工具 (A)只选中其中一个圆角矩形,打开选择>同样>填充色。 最后,Illustrator 就会自动选择所有的绿色形状,对它们进编组(Control-G) ,应用一个线性渐变,如下图所示,90度角(2)。

how to recolor Oreo edgehow to recolor Oreo edgehow to recolor Oreo edge

步骤2

使用直接选择工具(A),选中橙色虚线,实际是一个复合路径(1),填充为棕色如下图所示(2)。

how to recolor Oreo dashed linehow to recolor Oreo dashed linehow to recolor Oreo dashed line

步骤3

使用直接选择工具(A),只选中其中一个红色圆,打开选择>相同>填充色。 现在选中了所有的红色圆,点击路径查找器里面(1) 的合并按钮,然后编组 (Control-G) ,使得它们在图层面板上有序组合,将所有的圆用下面的渐变进行填充(2)。

how to recolor Oreo small circleshow to recolor Oreo small circleshow to recolor Oreo small circles

步骤4

使用同样的方法选中中间的黄色形状,然后进行编组(Control-G)(1) ,填充一个径向渐变(2)。

how to recolor Oreo text logohow to recolor Oreo text logohow to recolor Oreo text logo

步骤5

使用直接选择工具(A) ,只选中其中一个粉色三角形,打开选择>相同>填充色(1),选中所有的三角形之后,编组(Control-G) ,应用下图所示的一个线性渐变(2)。

对蓝色三角形也重复相同的操作(3)。

how to recolor Oreo squareshow to recolor Oreo squareshow to recolor Oreo squares

步骤6

选中整个“奥利奥设计”组,打开效果>风格化>投影,应用下面的设置。

how to add shadow to Oreo designhow to add shadow to Oreo designhow to add shadow to Oreo design

步骤7

我们来给穿过奥利奥图标边缘的投影做个蒙版形状。

打开图层面板内的“饼干顶部”组,找到圆角矩形,位于图标的顶部描边,然后复制粘贴(Shift-Control-V) 在顶部(1)。

现在,在图层面板内选中“奥利奥图标”编组,点击复制粘贴在最前面(Shift-Control-V),得到一个副本,删除之前应用的投影效果。打开对象>复合路径>建立 (Control-8)。将所有的形状变成一个简单的复合路径(2)。

选中灰色形状,还有红色复合路径,点击路径查找器面板内的合并按钮,得到蒙版形状(3)。

how to create mask shape for Oreo design shadowhow to create mask shape for Oreo design shadowhow to create mask shape for Oreo design shadow

步骤8

选择“奥利奥设计”组,同时还有上一步的形状,应该位于前面,无描边,无填充,然后打开对象>剪切蒙版>建立 (Control-7)。现在图标的边缘很干净和有尖角。

how to mask the Oreo design shadowhow to mask the Oreo design shadowhow to mask the Oreo design shadow

5.如何添加在奥利奥饼干上添加纹理和细节

步骤1

在饼干前面边缘使用钢笔工具(P) 画几条短线,使用锥形混合艺术画笔作为描边色,大小为1 pt。我已经在如何创建糖果魔鬼形象教程(第10部分)中向大家展示如何创建这个有用的艺术画笔。 完成之后将所有的线条进行编组(Control-G)

how to add details on base Oreo biscuithow to add details on base Oreo biscuithow to add details on base Oreo biscuit

步骤2

使用钢笔工具(P)沿着饼干形状的底部边缘画一条路径,应用一个黑色,大小为2 pt描边,使用描边面板内的宽度文件1,接下来,打开效果>模糊>高斯模糊,应用2 px半径

how to add shading to base Oreo biscuithow to add shading to base Oreo biscuithow to add shading to base Oreo biscuit

步骤3

打开图层面板,找到,只选中饼干顶部边缘 (1),然后复制粘贴在顶层 (Shift-Control-V) ,得到一个副本。 点击路径查找器里面的合并按钮将形状合并为一个(2),将现有的形状设置为无描边,为填充,我们将把它用来对线条组还有上一步的暗影路径进行遮罩(3)。

how to mask details on Oreo base biscuithow to mask details on Oreo base biscuithow to mask details on Oreo base biscuit

步骤4

在饼干边缘前面使用钢笔工具(P)画一些任意的路径,应用画笔库菜单>艺术>艺术_粉笔炭笔中的粉笔艺术画笔,大小为1 pt,将他们设置混合模式为叠加(1)。

将上一步的遮罩形状进行复制,得到一个副本,再次用它来对这些路径进行遮罩(2),最后,你会得到在饼干上得到纹理 (3)。

how to add texture on Oreo base biscuithow to add texture on Oreo base biscuithow to add texture on Oreo base biscuit

步骤5

打开图层面板,找到并选择饼干顶部形状,然后复制,粘贴在最前面(Shift-Control-V),进行复制。打开效果>纹理,应用渐变效果,然后设置混合模式为柔光不透明度10%(1)。

将同样的形状复制粘贴在顶层(Control-F) ,将所有现有的外观属性进行去除。 选中这个新建的副本,同时选中带有渐变效果的形状,打开对象>剪切蒙版>建立(Control-7) (2)。将现有的编组移到右边,就在图层面板内的“饼干基础形状”的上面。

how mask texture on Oreo base biscuithow mask texture on Oreo base biscuithow mask texture on Oreo base biscuit

6.如何在奥利奥饼干上添加纹理和细节

步骤1

使用钢笔工具(P)或者直线段工具(\),在“饼干顶部”画几条、条直线,描边为粉笔艺术画笔使用下图所示的暗棕色为描边色 (1)。

对所有这些路径进行编组(Control-G),设置整个组为混合模式为叠加不透明度为20%(2)。

how to add dark texture on Oreo top biscuithow to add dark texture on Oreo top biscuithow to add dark texture on Oreo top biscuit

步骤2

将路径组进行复制粘贴在顶层(Control-F),保持同样的外观,但是这次将混合模式设置为屏幕不透明度为20%

how to add light texture on Oreo top biscuithow to add light texture on Oreo top biscuithow to add light texture on Oreo top biscuit

步骤3

打开图层面板,选择“饼干顶部”组,然后复制粘贴在顶层(Shift-Control-V)。点击路径查找器里面的合并按钮将所有的形状变成一个(1)。

选择“奥利奥设计”编组,然后复制粘贴在顶层(Shift-Control-V),在顶部创建一个副本,去除投影效果,打开对象>复合路径>建立(Control-8) (2)。

现在,选中新得到的蓝色和橙色形状,点击路径查找器内合并按钮得到我们需要的形状(3)。

how to create mask shape for texture on top Oreo biscuithow to create mask shape for texture on top Oreo biscuithow to create mask shape for texture on top Oreo biscuit

步骤4

将上一步得到的形状填充为棕色,应用一个和“饼干基本形状”一样的渐变效果,设置混合模式柔光不透明度10%(1)。

创建一个同样形状的副本放在顶层,设置为无描边和无填充。 选中这个副本,同时选中线条的两个编组,以及应用渐变效果的形状。打开对象>剪切蒙版>建立(Control-7),最后,你会在“饼干顶部”周围得到干净的边缘(3)。

how to mask textures on Oreo top biscuithow to mask textures on Oreo top biscuithow to mask textures on Oreo top biscuit

步骤5

使用钢笔工具(P)沿着“饼干顶部”画一条路径,但是稍微在上方一点(1),在“饼干顶部”边缘再画一条路径(2)。 应用一个大小为2 pt的黑色描边,使用描边面板内的宽度文件1,然后应用一个2 px的高斯模糊,最后你会在“顶部饼干”和“奶油填充”的之间创建一些投影(3)。

how to create shadow between top biscuit and Oreo creamhow to create shadow between top biscuit and Oreo creamhow to create shadow between top biscuit and Oreo cream

7.如何给奥利奥奶油填充添加细节

步骤1

我们先来从“奶油填充”组下面的投影开始。沿着填充底部边缘画一条路径,把它放在它后面,应用一个大小为2 pt的黑色描边,使用宽度文件1,应用一个1 px的高斯模糊

how to create shadow under Oreo creamhow to create shadow under Oreo creamhow to create shadow under Oreo cream

步骤2

画一些不同大小的黑色形状,然后把它们拖进画笔面板,保存为新建散点画笔。你可以命名为零散画笔(1)。

选择铅笔工具 (N),在“奶油填充”上任意画一条圆形路径,打开描边选项窗口,参考下图更改设置,或者任意调整得到你想要的效果(2)。

你对饼干屑比较满意的时候,选择对象菜单里面的扩展外观,然后设置得到的编组混合模式为叠加(3)。

how create crumbs on Oreo creamhow create crumbs on Oreo creamhow create crumbs on Oreo cream

步骤3

打开图层面板,选择“奶油填充”组,创建副本在前面,点击路径查找器里面的合并按钮,把它们合并为一个简单的形状,如果有必要的话,同时打开对象>复合路径>建立 (Control-8)

how to create mask shape for Oreo crumbshow to create mask shape for Oreo crumbshow to create mask shape for Oreo crumbs

步骤4

现在,选中饼干屑编组还有上一步得带的形状,应该是在前面一层,设置为无描边,无填充,打开对象>剪切蒙版>建立(Control-7)

how to mask Oreo crumbshow to mask Oreo crumbshow to mask Oreo crumbs

8. 如何在奥利奥图标下面创建投影

图层面板内选择“饼干结构”,然后复制粘贴在最前面 (Shift-Control-V)。将副本移到奥利奥图标的下面一个新图层内(1)。 点击路径查找器里面的合并按钮,或者打开对象>复合路径>建立(Control-8) ,得到一个简单的形状,选择深棕色作为填充色,应用两次投影效果得到投影(3)。

how to create shadow under Oreo iconhow to create shadow under Oreo iconhow to create shadow under Oreo icon

祝贺你,完成了!

这就是奥利奥图标最终图片,我希望你们喜欢这个“甜蜜”的教程,不要忘了来分享下你的创作哦,我会很高兴看到它们。

Oreo Icon Final ImageOreo Icon Final ImageOreo Icon Final Image
关注我们的公众号
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Icon Design
Design

How to Create an Oreo-Inspired Icon in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

If you love Oreo cookies and vector drawing then this tutorial is for you. You will learn how to draw an Oreo-inspired icon with the help of the 3D effect and Mapping option, plus you'll use a lot of brushes and effects for texture and a more detailed look. Let's make this icon as delicious as possible!

If you are hungry for more food vectors or icons in general, be sure to check out GraphicRiver, where you'll find plenty of resources to choose from.

Tutorial Assets

To complete the tutorial, you will need the following assets:

1. How to Open a New Document 

Launch Illustrator and go to File > New to open a blank document. Type a name for your file, set up the dimensions, and then select Pixels as Units and RGB as Color Mode. Make sure that Align New Objects to Pixel Grid is not checked.

Next, go to Edit > Preferences > General and set the Keyboard Increment to 1 pxand while there, go to Units to make sure they are set as in the following image. I usually work with these settings, and they will help you throughout the drawing process.

how to open new illustrator document

2. How to Create the Basic Oreo Icon

Step 1

Grab the Rounded Rectangle Tool and draw the first shape with the dimensions shown. Use dark brown as the fill color (1).

While the shape of the icon stays selected, go to Effect > 3D > Extrude & Bevel and apply the settings indicated (2).

how to create the top Oreo biscuit with 3D effect

Step 2

With the icon shape still selected, go to the Appearance panel and add a New Fill under the first one. Use white as the fill color. Next, go to Effect > 3D > Extrude & Bevel again and apply the settings indicated.

Press the More Options button to see the entire window. Move the existing light very slightly downwards and change the settings as shown on the right side. Press the New Light icon to add another one, and move it to the middle left side. Use the same settings, but increase the Light Intensity to 100%. Hit OK and you'll get the cream filling, but you won't be able to see it yet.

Go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Transform, type 95% in the Scale Horizontal field, and then type 20 px in the Move Vertical field. Hit OK and this will bring the cream filling downwards.

how to create the Oreo cream filling with 3D effect

Step 3

While the icon shape stays selected, go to the Appearance panel and add a New Fill at the bottom. Use dark brown as the fill color. Apply the 3D effect using the settings shown, and then apply the Transform effect. As a result, you will get the second biscuit at the bottom.

how to create the base Oreo biscuit with 3D effect

3. How to Create the Top Oreo Design

Step 1

Use the Polygon Tool to draw a triangle with the dimensions shown. Then select only the top anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move it 8 px downwards by pressing the Down Arrow key eight times. The new triangle is the blue one (1).

Now, go to Effect > Stylize > Round Corners and apply a Radius of 5 px (2); then select Expand Appearance from the Object menu (3).

how to create a rounded triangle for Oreo design

Step 2

While the rounded triangle stays selected, go to Object > Transform > Move and type -18 px in the Position Vertical field. Hit Copy and you will get another triangle above. Do not release this second triangle, and choose Flip Vertical from the fly-out menu of the Appearance panel (1).

Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) these two triangles and Rotate them 90 degrees using the Transform panel. As a result, you will get a new pair of triangles (2).

Fill the top and bottom shapes with the same color (blue), fill the left and right shapes with a different color (pink), and finally, draw a 4 x 4 px circle in the center filled with a third different color (red) (3). The colors will be important later in the tutorial.

how to create a square for Oreo design

Step 3

Draw four 5 x 5 px circles filled with the same red color, and then turn them into semi-circles by deleting the right and left anchor points respectively. Arrange them as shown in the image below and use the Align panel to make sure they are symmetrical.

Use the Rectangle Tool (M) to draw a square using the semi-circles as guides, and then Group (Control-G) all the shapes. This will be the main part of the pattern brush (1).

Make a copy of the group and delete the two semi-circles from the left side. This will be the Start Tile of the pattern brush (2).

Make another copy of the group and delete the two right semi-circles. This will be the End Tile of the pattern brush (3).

Drag the Start Tile and the End Tile into the Swatches panel to save them, and make sure to remember which one is which.

how to create tiles for Oreo squares pattern brush

Step 4

Drag the main part of the brush into the Brushes panel and choose New Pattern Brush. This tile will be the first one in the Options window. For the Start Tile and the End Tile, select the correct one from the list; then type a name for your brush and hit OK.

how to save Oreo squares pattern brush

Step 5

Draw a small rounded rectangle on your artboard filled with green, and then drag it into the Brushes panel to save it as a New Pattern Brush. You can name it Oreo Edge Pattern Brush.

how to save Oreo edge pattern brush

Step 6

Make a copy of the icon shape and remove all the existing appearances and effects. It should only have the brown fill color. Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) this shape, remove the fill color, and stroke it with the Oreo Edge Pattern Brush

Open the Stroke Options window and change the Scale and Spacing settings (1). Next, go to Effect > Path > Offset Path and apply an Offset of -2 px to bring the green edge slightly inwards (2).

how to apply Oreo edge pattern brush

Step 7

Make another copy in front of the brown rectangle; then go to Object > Path > Offset Path and apply an Offset of -13 px. You will get a smaller shape. Remove the fill color and give it a 4 pt orange Stroke. Press the Round Cap icon in the Stroke panel and check the Dashed Line option. Enter the dash and gap values indicated.

how to create dashed line for Oreo design

Step 8

Use the Pen Tool (P) or the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw a straight path at the top and bottom, and stroke them with the Oreo Squares Pattern Brush saved earlier. Adjust the length of the path so you have only four squares on each.

Next, draw two straight paths on the sides and apply the Oreo Squares Pattern Brush again. You should have only three squares per path this time.

how to apply Oreo squares pattern brush

Step 9

Draw an ellipse in the center (1) followed by the three paths above (2) and give them a 4 pt yellow Stroke. Also select the Round Cap option.

Now, grab the Type Tool (T) and write “YUMM” using the font Anja Eliane, size of 22 pt, followed by two small yellow triangles above and below the text (3).

Finish the Oreo design with more yellow triangles or other similar decorations around the ellipse (4).

how to create the Oreo text logo

Step 10

Select the four paths stroked with the Oreo Squares Pattern Brush and choose Expand Appearance from the Object menu to turn them from strokes into fills (1). Now, select one of the red circles using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and arrange four copies of it in the empty spots indicated by the arrows (2). Make more copies of the red circle and arrange one in between the orange dashed line (3). 

Finally, select the green edge and choose Expand Appearance again to expand the Offset effect applied.

how to adjust Oreo design

Step 11

At this point, the Oreo design is ready, and you can delete the brown rectangle. Drag everything into the Symbols panel, type a name, and hit OK.

how to save Oreo design

Step 12

Let's return to the Oreo icon and, while it stays selected, open the 3D effect applied to the top brown Fill attribute. In the Options window, press the Map Art button. On Surface 1 of the object, select and apply the Oreo design symbol saved. Hit OK and you should see the design on the top biscuit.

how to map the Oreo design

Step 13

Select the Oreo icon and choose Expand Appearance to expand all the appearances and 3D effects. Ungroup (Shift-Control-G) once and you should see three separate groups in the Layers panel. You can select and rename them to see which one is which. We have the “base biscuit” (1) and “cream filling” (2). Now, open the third group and find only the colorful Oreo design in there and drag it out at the top of the layer. Name what's left of this group “top biscuit”.

Select the “Oreo design” group and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Release (Alt-Control-7) to remove the existing mask (3).

how to expand the Oreo icon

Step 14

Grab the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select only the green rounded rectangles in front of the icon and Group (Control-G) them. While the group stays selected, go to Effect > Warp > Shell Lower and apply a 5% Horizontal Bend. Hit OK and then go to Object > Expand Appearance. This will make the green border bigger in the front.

how to modify the Oreo front edge

4. How to Recolor the Top Oreo Design

Step 1

Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select only one of the green rounded rectangles and go to Select > Same > Fill Color. As a result, Illustrator will select all the green shapes for you (1). Group (Control-G) them and fill them with the linear gradient shown at a 90 degrees Angle (2).

how to recolor Oreo edge

Step 2

Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select the orange dashed line which is a compound path (1), and fill it with the shade of brown indicated (2).

how to recolor Oreo dashed line

Step 3

Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) again to select only one of the red circles and go to Select > Same > Fill Color. Now that you have all the red circles selected, press Unite in the Pathfinder panel (1) and then Group (Control-G) them to keep things organized in the Layers panel (1). Fill all the circles with the radial gradient shown (2).

how to recolor Oreo small circles

Step 4

Use the same technique to select all the yellow shapes in the center, and then Group (Control-G) (1). Fill the shapes with the radial gradient shown (2).

how to recolor Oreo text logo

Step 5

Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select only one of the pink triangles, and go to Select > Same > Fill Color (1). Once you have all of them selected, Group (Control-G) and fill them with the linear gradient shown (2).

Repeat the same technique for the blue triangles (3).

how to recolor Oreo squares

Step 6

Select the entire “Oreo design” group, go to Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow, and apply the settings shown.

how to add shadow to Oreo design

Step 7

Let's create a mask shape for the shadow that goes over the edges of the Oreo icon.

Open the “top biscuit” group in the Layers panel and find the rounded rectangle that is the top face of the icon and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy of it in front of everything (1).

Now, select the “Oreo design” group from the Layers panel and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy and delete the Drop Shadow effect applied earlier. Go to Object > Compound Path > Make (Control-8) to turn all the shapes into a single compound path (2).

Select the gray shape along with the red compound path and press Unite in the Pathfinder panel to obtain the mask shape (3).

how to create mask shape for Oreo design shadow

Step 8

Select the “Oreo design” group along with the shape from the previous step, which should be in front, and set to stroke-none, fill-none. Then go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). Now the edges around the icon are clean and sharp.

how to mask the Oreo design shadow

5. How to Add Texture and Details on the Base Oreo Biscuit

Step 1

Use the Pen Tool (P) to draw a bunch of short vertical lines on the front border of the base biscuit and stroke all of them with the Tapered Blend Art Brushweight of 1 pt. I've shown how to create this useful blend brush in the How to Create a Candy Monster Character tutorial (section 10). Group (Control-G) all the lines after you are done.

how to add details on base Oreo biscuit

Step 2

Use the Pen Tool (P) to draw a path following the bottom edge of the base biscuit. Give it a 2 pt black Stroke and use Width Profile 1 in the Stroke panel. Next, go to Effect > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply a Radius of 2 px.

how to add shading to base Oreo biscuit

Step 3

Go to the Layers panel, find and select only the front border of the base biscuit (1), and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy of it. Press Unite in the Pathfinder panel to merge the shapes into one (2). Set the resulting shape to stroke-none and fill-none, and we'll use it to mask the group of lines and the shading path from the previous step (3).

how to mask details on Oreo base biscuit

Step 4

Use the Pen Tool (P) to draw a few random paths on the front border of the base biscuit and stroke them with the Chalk Art Brush from the Brush Libraries Menu > Artistic > Artistic_ChalkCharcoalPencil, weight of 1 pt. Set all of them to Blending Mode Overlay (1).

Make a copy of the mask shape from the previous step and use it again to mask these paths (2). As a result, you will get some texture on the base biscuit (3).

how to add texture on Oreo base biscuit

Step 5

Go to the Layers panel, find and select the top shape of the base biscuit, and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy of it. Go to Effect > Texture and apply the Grain effect; then set it to Blending Mode Soft Light and 10% Opacity (1).

Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the same shape and remove all existing appearances. While this new copy stays selected, also select the shape with the Grain effect applied to it and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7) (2). Move the resulting group right above the “base biscuit” in the Layers panel.

how mask texture on Oreo base biscuit

6. How to Add Texture and Details on the Top Oreo Biscuit

Step 1

Use the Pen Tool (P) or the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw a bunch of straight paths above the “top biscuit” and stroke them with the Chalk Art Brush. Use the shade of brown indicated as the stroke color (1).

Group (Control-G) all these paths and set the entire group to Blending Mode Multiply and 20% Opacity (2).

how to add dark texture on Oreo top biscuit

Step 2

Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the group of paths, keeping the same appearances but setting the group to Blending Mode Screen and 20% Opacity this time.

how to add light texture on Oreo top biscuit

Step 3

Go to the Layers panel, select the “top biscuit” group, and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V). Press Unite in the Pathfinder panel to merge all the shapes into one (1).

Select the “Oreo design” group and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy of it in front of everything. Remove the Drop Shadow effect and go to Object > Compound Path > Make (Control-8) (2).

Now, select the newly obtained blue and orange shapes and press Unite in the Pathfinder panel to obtain the shape that we need (3).

how to create mask shape for texture on top Oreo biscuit

Step 4

Fill the shape obtained in the previous step with brown, and apply the Grain effect using the same settings as for the "base biscuit". Set the Blending Mode to Soft Light and the Opacity to 10% (1).

Make a copy of the same shape in front of everything, and set it to stroke-none and fill-none. While this copy stays selected, also select the two groups of lines and the shape with the Grain effect applied to it, and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). As a result, you will get clean edges all around the “top biscuit” (3).

how to mask textures on Oreo top biscuit

Step 5

Use the Pen Tool (P) to draw a path following the front edge of the “top biscuit” but slightly above it (1), followed by another path right on the edge of the “top biscuit” (2). Give them a 2 pt black Stroke and use the Width Profile 1 in the Stroke panel; then apply a 2 px Gaussian Blur. As a result, you'll create some shadow between the “top biscuit” and “cream filling” (3).

how to create shadow between top biscuit and Oreo cream

7. How to Add Details to the Oreo Cream Filling

Step 1

Let's start with the shadow under the “cream filling” group. Draw a path following the bottom edge of the filling and send it behind it. Give it a 2 pt black Stroke and use Width Profile 1. Apply a 1 px Gaussian Blur.

how to create shadow under Oreo cream

Step 2

Draw a few random black shapes of different sizes and then drag them into the Brushes panel to save them as a New Scatter Brush. You can name it Crumbs Scatter Brush (1).

Grab the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a random circular path over the “cream filling” and stroke it with the newly saved brush. Open the Stroke Options window and change the settings as shown or until you get the desired look (2).

When you are happy with the look of your crumbs, select Expand Appearance from the Object menu and then set the resulting group to Blending Mode Overlay (3).

how create crumbs on Oreo cream

Step 3

Go to the Layers panel, select the “cream filling” group, and make a copy of it in front. Press Unite in the Pathfinder panel to merge it into a single shape. If necessary, also go to Object > Compound Path > Make (Control-8).

how to create mask shape for Oreo crumbs

Step 4

Now, select the group of crumbs along with the shape obtained in the previous step, which must be in front and set to stroke-none, fill-none, and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7).

how to mask Oreo crumbs

8. How to Create the Shadow Under the Oreo Icon

Select the “base biscuit” group from the Layers panel and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V). Move the copy to a New Layer under the Oreo icon (1). Press Unite in the Pathfinder panel or go to Object > Compound Path > Make (Control-8) to obtain a single shape (2). Select dark brown as the fill color and apply the Drop Shadow effect twice to obtain the shadow (3).

how to create shadow under Oreo icon

Congratulations, You're Done!

Here is the final image of the Oreo icon. I hope you enjoyed this “sweet” tutorial, and don't forget to share an image with your recreation. I would love to see it.

Oreo Icon Final Image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.