Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Game Design
Design

Как создать игровой экран “3 в ряд” в Affinity Designer 

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Katharina Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

В этом уроке мы будем разрабатывать игровой экран для игры “3 в ряд”. Мы будем трансформировать основные геометрические фигуры, чтобы создать милые иконки животных и применить различные типы градиентных заливок, чтобы сделать объекты яркими и трехмерными.  Мы закончим созданием фона для настройки шаблона игрового экрана.

Игры “3 в ряд” очень популярны, особенно для мобильных устройств. Игра довольно проста, но захватывает: нужно поместить три одинаковых объекта подряд, чтобы набрать все больше и больше очков.  В этом уроке мы будем разрабатывать яркую игровую панель с многоцветными квадратными животными.  Более того, этот урок поможет вам вдохновиться и спроектировать любой другой тип игровых экранов “3 в ряд”, например игра с драгоценными камнями или плоскими фруктами. Не стесняйтесь просматривать Envato Market для новых идей дизайна плоского игрового экрана, и давайте начнем!

1. Создание квадратного медведя

Шаг 1

Начните с создания нового файла размером 600 x 800 пк. Если вам не нравится работать на белом фоне, используйте инструмент Rectangle Tool (M), чтобы создать фигуру, покрывающую холст, и заполнить ее желтым цветом. Заблокируйте ее на панели Layers, щелкнув по иконке миниатюры. Мы сохраним эту фигуру в нижней части, и сможем перекрасить ее позже.

Start by creating a New File

Шаг 2

Давайте начнем формировать голову нашего первого животного: милого медведя.  Возьмите Rounded Rectangle Tool (M) и сделайте сиреневую фигуру 200 x 200 пк. Помните, что вы можете настроить Corner Radius вашей фигуры на панели управления сверху. Давайте сохраним его на уровне 25%.

Возьмите инструмент Fill Tool (G), удерживайте Shift и поместите ползунок Fill вертикально поперек фигуры, применяя двухцветную заливку Linear gradient.

Мы можем настроить цвет заливки, щелкнув на концах слайдера и выбрав соответствующий цвет на панели Colour. Давайте выберем светло-лиловый цвет для верхней части и более темный цвет для нижней части фигуры, придавая тем самым объем.

shape the head from rectangle with linear fill

Шаг 3

Давайте начнем формировать глаз. Возьмите инструмент Ellipse Tool (M), удерживайте Shift и сделайте ровный круг размером 50 x 50 пк.  Переключитесь на инструмент Fill Tool (G) и измените Fill Type на Radial на панели управления сверху. Примените белый цвет к центру фигуры и серый по краю, делая глаз сферическим.

Теперь давайте сформируем радужную оболочку. Скопируйте и вставьте (Command-C > Command-V) глазное яблоко, удерживайте Command-Shift и уменьшите копию, до 35 x 35 пк с помощью Move Tool (V).  Заполните ее радиальной заливкой бирюзового цвета в центре и темно-бирюзовой по краю.

Дублируйте (Command-C > Command-V) радужную оболочку и уменьшите копию, образуя зрачок.  Заполните его темно-бирюзовым сплошным цветом.  Сделайте маленький белый блик на глазу, используя инструмент Ellipse Tool (M).

make an eye from circle with radial fill

Шаг 4

Теперь, когда глаз готов, сгруппируйте (Command-G) все его элементы, удерживайте Option-Shift и перетащите вправо, делая копию.  Сгруппируйте оба глаза, выберите их вместе с фигурой головы и используйте панель Align сверху, чтобы выровнять фигуры горизонтально по центру.

Продолжайте использовать инструмент Ellipse Tool (M), чтобы сделать приплюснутый нос размером 50 x 15 пк. Нанесите вертикальную линейную заливку от светло-розового цвета сверху до темно-розового внизу. Сделайте меньший темно-розовый эллипс сверху и переключите его Blend Mode на Screen на панели Layers, тем самым формируя полупрозрачный блик.

make a nose from ellipse

Шаг 5

Затем мы сформируем рот. Используйте Pen Tool (P) и удерживайте Shift, чтобы создать квадратную линию.  Установите цвет заливки на none на панели Colour и нанесите темно-лиловый цвет на Stroke. Направляйтесь на панель Stroke и установите ширину 2 pt, все остальные параметры оставьте по умолчанию.

Возьмите инструмент Corner Tool (C) и закруглите углы фигуры, потянув за угловые точки вверх.

Дублируйте фигуру и используйте функцию Flip Horizontal с панели управления инструментов сверху, чтобы отразить фигуру.

shape the mouth with pen tool

Шаг 6

Теперь мы добавим уши. Используйте Ellipse Tool (M), чтобы сделать круг 70 x 70 пк.  Давайте сделаем, чтобы они хорошо сочетались с головой, выбрав правильный цвет. Найдите инструмент Color Picker на панели Colour, удерживайте и перетащите его над головой медведя. Вы увидите лупу, которая поможет вам найти нужный цвет. Выберите светло-лиловый цвет рядом с ухом и отпустите кнопку мыши.  Теперь вы можете выбрать ухо и применить цвет образца рядом с Color Picker. Вот, что у нас поучилось! 

Теперь давайте посмотрим, как мы можем скопировать сложный стиль заливки других объектов. Дублируйте (Command-C > Command-V) ухо и уменьшите копию. Скопируйте (Command-C) голову, выберите верхний элемент уха и перейдите в Edit > Paste Style. Измените положение заливки с помощью Fill Tool (G).  Добавьте второе ухо на противоположной стороне головы.

Как вы видите, мы можем копировать не только сами объекты, но и их внешний вид.

shape the ears from circles

Шаг 7

Давайте закончим медведя, добавив еще один элемент: стилизованный животик. Используйте Ellipse Tool (M), чтобы сделать овал и заполните его темно-лиловым цветом, переключите the Blend Mode на Screen на панели Layers.

Мы можем разместить созданный эллипс внутри фигуры головы, таким образом скрывая ненужные части. Выберете созданный овал на панели Layers и растяните его по фигуре головы, пока не увидите узкую синюю полосу, как показано на изображении ниже. Отпустите эллипс, разместив его на слое головы. 

Мы закончили!  Перейдем к следующей иконке животного. 

place one object inside the other

2. Создание квадратной панды

Шаг 1

Давайте используем иконку медведя, которую мы уже создали, чтобы создать новый элемент.  Дублируйте ее и давайте изменим цвета линейной заливки на белый сверху и серый внизу. Затем перекрасим уши с лилового на темно-серый. Измените линейную заливку носа на темно-серый, а также отрегулируйте цвет изгиба рта, переключив его на розовый. 

Наконец, отрегулируйте цвет глаз, изменив радиальную заливку на светло-коричневый цвет в центре и темно-коричневый по краю, примените темно-коричневый цвет к зрачку. 

recolor the bear icon

Шаг 2

Далее мы добавим темные пятна вокруг глаз, чтобы наш персонаж больше походил на настоящую панду.  Используйте инструмент Ellipse Tool (L), чтобы сделать фигуру размером 75 x 95 пк, заполняя ее линейной заливкой темно-серого оттенка. 

Поверните фигуру на 45 градусов и поместите ее ниже глаза, перетащив фигуру на панель Layers

Отметьте разницу между размещением одной фигуры внутри другой и размещением одной фигуры ниже другой. а этот раз вы увидите более длинный синий маркер, как показано на рисунке ниже. 

add a spot around the eye

Шаг 3

Дублируйте (Command-C > Command-V) пятно и поверните его горизонтально с другой стороны, используя функцию Transforms на панели управления инструментов сверху.  Переместите копию пятна, чтобы оно соответствовало второму глазу. 

И вот у нас есть панда!   Давайте двигаться дальше. 

Flip the spot Horizontal

3. Создайте квадратного енота

Шаг 1

Давайте продублируем персонажа панду и превратим его в милого енота! Прежде всего, измените цвет фигуры головы вертикальной линейной заливкой от светло-голубого сверху до более темного синего цвета в нижней части. 

Продолжайте, меняя цвета глаз на розовато-красный, и давайте заменим рот.  Используйте Pen Tool (P) для создания угловой формы рта темно-серым штрихом

change the color of the head shape

Шаг 2

Теперь давайте модифицируем уши. Выберите больший круг фигуры уха и Convert to Curves, используя кнопку на панели управления инструментов сверху.  Возьмите инструмент Node Tool (A) и выберите верхнюю точку фигуры.  Convert в Sharp с панели управления сверху, делая ухо заостренным. Сделайте то же самое для внутренней части уха: Convert to Curves и Convert верхнюю точку в Sharp.

modify the ears making them pointed

Шаг 3

Измените цвет уха, чтобы он подходил к голове и поверните ухо на 45 градусов. Дублируйте ухо и поверните горизонтально, поместив копию на противоположную сторону. 

Duplicate the ear and Flip Horizontal

Шаг 4

Выберите пятно вокруг глаза с помощью Fill Tool (G) и отрегулируйте цвета заливки, изменив их на более светлые и темные оттенки синего.  Скопируйте (Command-C) пятно, выберите второе пятно и Edit > Paste Style, примените новый внешний вид. 

Завершите персонажа, добавив светло-серый эллипс в область под носом.  С енотом это все!  Перейдем к нашей последней иконке! 

recolor the elements and finish the icon

4. Создайте квадратного попугая

Шаг 1

Давайте дублируем нашу самую первую иконку - фиолетового медведя - и используйте его, чтобы сделать забавного попугая. Измените цвет головы линейной заливкой от светло-зеленого сверху до более темного зеленого в нижней части. Удалите эллиптическую фигуру животика и рот медведя, так как они нам больше не нужны. 

Измените цвет глаз на оранжево-коричневый. 

recolor the head to green

Шаг 2

Давайте превратим нос медведя в клюв попугая! Поверните его на 90 градусов и Convert to Curves. Выберите нижнюю точку с помощью Node Tool (A) и Convert to Sharp с панели управления инструментов сверху.

Измените цвета линейной заливки на желтый сверху и оранжевый снизу. 

turn the bears nose into a beak

Шаг 3

Возьмите инструмент Ellipse Tool (M) и сделайте узкую фигуру размером 15 x 40 пк. Залейте ее светло-зеленым цветом и измените Blend Mode на Multiply, сделав темное полупрозрачное перо. 

Удерживайте Option-Shift и перетащите перо вправо, сделав копию.  Нажмите Command-J пару раз, чтобы сделать еще две копии. 

make feathers in multiply blend mode

Шаг 4

Давайте добавим последнюю деталь нашему попугаю. Используйте Ellipse Tool (M), чтобы сделать фигуру размером 40 x 70 пк посередине лба, выбрав подходящий цвет из самого светлого пятна на лбу и применяя светло-зеленый цвет к фигуре. 

Добавьте два меньших эллипса с обеих сторон от средней фигуры. Выберите все три фигуры и используйте Add Operation с панели управления сверху, чтобы объединить все эллипсы в одну фигуру. 

Дублируйте (Command-C > Command-V) фигуру и переместите нижнюю копию немного вниз, нажав клавишу Стрелка вниз несколько раз. Измените цвет фигуры на темно-зеленый, создавая плоскую тень. 

add elliptical feathers to the forehead

И вот он готов!  Наша иконка попугая готова!

Our parrot icon is ready

Шаг 5

Вот наш набор симпатичных квадратных животных, которых мы будем использовать в качестве элементов игры “3 в ряд”.  Давайте передвинемся и создадим простой игровой экран, чтобы увидеть, как они будут работать вместе! 

set of square flat animal icons is finished

5. Создание игрового экрана “3 в ряд”

Шаг 1

Давайте разблокируем нашу фигуру фона и изменим ее цвет на нежный оранжевый.  Используйте Rounded Rectangle Tool (M), чтобы сделать желтую фигуру размером 415 x 600 пк с Corner Radius 10%.

unlock our background shape and change its color

Шаг 2

Дублируйте (Command-C> Command-V) фигуру и сделайте копию меньше, изменив цвет заливки на более темный желтый. 

Дублируйте новую фигуру и уменьшите размер копии снова, переключая цвет на тот же светло-желтый, что и у большего закругленного прямоугольника. 

Наконец, дублируйте самый большой закругленный прямоугольник и немного переместите нижнюю копию вниз, нажав клавишу Стрелка вниз несколько раз.  Сделайте копию несколько крупнее и измените Blend Mode на Multiply на панели Layers, образуя неуловимую тень.  В целом у нас есть четыре закругленных прямоугольника для игровой панели.

make a game panel from rounded rectangles

Шаг 3

Используйте Ellipse Tool (M) и удерживайте Shift, чтобы сделать большой зеленый круг в нижней части холста.  Поместите его между экраном игры и фигурой фона.  Добавьте больше кругов, закрывающих нижнюю часть холста. 

add circles in the bottom of the screen

Шаг 4

Выберите более светлый зеленый оттенок и продолжайте использовать Ellipse Tool (M), чтобы сделать меньшие и более светлые круги, изображая простые стилизованные кусты. 

continue using the Ellipse Tool to make circles

Шаг 5

Продолжайте использовать ту же технику и заполните верхнюю часть холста светло-оранжевыми кругами, изображающими стилизованные облака. 

depict stylized clouds from circles

Шаг 6

Теперь мы можем начать размещать иконки животных на игровой панели.  Здесь я использую простой трюк, чтобы все элементы были равны.  Как вы, наверное, заметили, наш попугай немного меньше остальных персонажей, потому что у него нет ушей.  Это может сделать выравнивание фигур немного сложнее, и именно поэтому я копирую уши с иконки панды и прикрепляю их попугаю.  Сделайте уши полностью прозрачными, установив цвета Fill и Stroke на none, а затем сгруппируйте элементы вместе. 

Теперь мы можем поместить иконки в ряд и уменьшить размер, чтобы они соответствовали игровому экрану. Сохраняя выбранные иконки, перейдите к панели управления инструментов сверху и откройте панель Arrange.  Из этого пункта щелкните Space Horizontally и снимите флажок с Auto Distribution, установив значение пробела равным 0 пк

Вы также можете выровнять фигуры в нижней части, используя ту же панель Arrange.

start arranging the icons

Шаг 7

Сгруппируйте (Command-G) ряд иконок, удерживайте Option-Shift и перетащите его, создав копию. Нажмите Command-J несколько раз, заполняя экран игры иконками. Выберите все ряды, перейдите на панель Arrange и нажмите Space Vertically. Снимите флажок с Auto Distribute и установите значение пробела в 2 пк, делая узкие промежутки между краями иконок. 

Вы можете отрегулировать макет, уменьшая или увеличивая иконки и регулируя расстояние между рядами, чтобы иконки подходили к игровой панели.  

Сразу после этого мы можем случайным образом перетасовывать значки, делая всю сцену похожей на настоящий игровой экран.  Дважды щелкните ряд иконок, чтобы изолировать группу и перемещать значки внутри группы по горизонтали, удерживая Shift

add icons and shuffle them

Поздравляю! Вы поднялись на уровень выше! 

Отличная работа! Наш игровой экран “3 в ряд” готов! Надеюсь, вам понравилось следовать этому уроку, и вы нашли полезные советы и приемы, работая с основными фигурами, градиентными заливками и различными трансформирующими операциями Affinity Designer.  Не стесняйтесь применять свои знания, создавать новые игровые и персональные проекты, и не забывайте делиться своими потрясающими результатами! 

Если вы заинтересованы в том, чтобы научиться создавать другие элементы дизайна игр в Affinity Designer, обязательно посмотрите следующие уроки: 

Match Three Games Screen with Flat Animals in Affinity Designer is ready
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Game Design
Design

How to Design a "Match Three" Game Screen in Affinity Designer

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial we’ll be designing a game screen for a “match three” kind of game. We’ll be transforming basic geometric shapes to create lovely animal icons and applying various types of gradient fills to make the objects vivid and three-dimensional. We’ll finish up by creating a background to set up a game screen template.

“Match three” games are very popular, especially for mobile devices. The gameplay is quite simple yet addictive: put three identical objects in a row to score more and more points. In this tutorial we’ll be designing a vivid game panel with fancy square animals. What is more, this lesson will help you to get inspired and design any other type of match three game screen, for example a game with precious gems or flat fruits. Feel free to browse Envato Market for more ideas of flat game screen design, and let’s get started!

1. Create a Square Bear

Step 1

Start by creating a New File of 600 x 800 px. If you don’t like working on a white background, use the Rectangle Tool (M) to create a shape covering the canvas and fill it with yellow. Lock it in the Layers panel by clicking a tiny lock icon on top. We’ll keep this shape in the bottom and will be able to recolor it later.

Start by creating a New File

Step 2

Let's start forming the head of our first animal: a cute bear. Take the Rounded Rectangle Tool (M) and make a 200 x 200 px lilac shape. Remember that you can adjust the Corner Radius of your shape from the control toolbar on top. Let’s keep it at 25%.

Take the Fill Tool (G), hold Shift and place the Fill slider vertical across the shape, applying a two-colored Linear gradient fill.

We can adjust the color of the fill by clicking the tips of the slider and picking the appropriate color in the Colour panel. Let’s pick a light lilac color for the upper tip and a darker color for the bottom of the shape, thus adding dimension.

shape the head from rectangle with linear fill

Step 3

Let’s start forming the eye. Take the Ellipse Tool (M), hold Shift and make an even circle of 50 x 50 px. Switch to the Fill Tool (G) and change the Fill Type to Radial in the control panel on top. Apply a white color to the center of the shape and grey color to the edge, making the eye spherical.

Now let’s shape the iris. Copy and Paste (Command-C > Command-V) the eyeball, hold Command-Shift and make the copy smaller, shrinking it down to about 35 x 35 px with the help of the Move Tool (V). Fill it with radial fill of turquoise color in the center and dark turquoise at the edge.

Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the iris and make the copy smaller, forming a pupil. Fill it with dark-turquoise solid color. Make a small white highlight on top of the eye, using the Ellipse Tool (M).

make an eye from circle with radial fill

Step 4

Now that the eye is ready, Group (Command-G) all of its elements, hold Option-Shift and drag to the right, making a copy. Group both eyes, select them together with the head shape and use the Align panel on top to Align the shapes Horizontal to the Centre.

Continue using the Ellipse Tool (M) to make a squashed nose of 50 x 15 px size. Apply a vertical linear fill from light pink on top to darker pink at the bottom. Make a smaller dark-pink ellipse on top and switch its Blend Mode to Screen in the Layers panel, thus forming a semi-transparent highlight.

make a nose from ellipse

Step 5

Next we’ll form a mouth. Use the Pen Tool (P) and hold Shift to make a squared line. Set the Fill color to none in the Colour panel and apply a dark-lilac color to the Stroke. Head to the Stroke panel and set the Width to 2 pt, leaving all other options as default.

Take the Corner Tool (C) and make the corners of the shape fully rounded by pulling the corner nodes up.

Duplicate the shape and use the Flip Horizontal function from the control toolbar on top to mirror the shape.

shape the mouth with pen tool

Step 6

Now we’ll add the ears. Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to make a 70 x 70 px circle. Let’s make it blend nicely with the head by picking the proper color. Find the Color Picker tool in the Colour panel, hold and drag it over the bear’s head. You will see a magnifier, helping to locate the color you need. Pick the light-lilac color next to the ear and release the mouse button. Now you can select the ear and apply the color from the swatch next to the Color Picker. There we have it!

Now let’s see how we can copy the complex fill style from other objects. Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the ear and make the copy smaller. Copy (Command-C) the head, select the top element of the ear and go to Edit > Paste Style. Edit the position of the fill using the Fill Tool (G). Add a second ear at the opposite side of the head.

As you can see, we can copy not only the objects themselves, but also their appearance.

shape the ears from circles

Step 7

Let’s finish up with the bear by adding one more element: a stylized tummy. Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to make an oval and fill it with dark-lilac color, switching the Blend Mode to Screen in the Layers panel.

We can place the created ellipse inside the head shape, this way hiding the unneeded pieces. Select the created oval in the Layers panel and drag it over the head shape until you see a narrow blue stripe as shown in the image below. Drop the ellipse, placing it inside the head layer.

And we’re done! Let’s move to the next animal icon.

place one object inside the other

2. Create a Square Panda

Step 1

Let’s use the bear icon that we’ve already created to make a new element. Duplicate it and let’s change the colors of the linear fill to white on top and grey at the bottom. Then recolor the ears from lilac to a very dark grey. Change the linear fill of the nose to dark grey as well, and adjust the color of the mouth Stroke, switching it to pink.

Finally, adjust the color of the eyes by changing the radial fill to light brown in the center and darker brown at the edges, applying the dark-brown color to the pupil as well.

recolor the bear icon

Step 2

Next we’ll add dark spots around the eyes to make our character look more like a real panda. Use the Ellipse Tool (L) to make a 75 x 95 px shape, filling it with linear fill of dark-grey tints.

Rotate the shape about 45 degrees and place it beneath the eye by dragging the shape down in the Layers panel.

Notice the difference between placing one shape inside the other and placing one shape beneath the other. This time you’ll see a longer blue marker, as in the image below.

add a spot around the eye

Step 3

Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the spot and Flip it Horizontal to the other side, using the Transforms function in the control toolbar on top. Move the copy of the spot, making it fit the second eye.

And there we have our panda! Let’s move on.

Flip the spot Horizontal

3. Create a Square Raccoon

Step 1

Let’s duplicate the panda character and turn it into a cute raccoon! First of all, change the color of the head shape to a vertical linear fill from light blue on top to darker blue at the bottom.

Proceed by changing the colors of the eyes to pinkish-red, and let’s replace the mouth. Use the Pen Tool (P) to create a cornered mouth shape with dark-grey Stroke.

change the color of the head shape

Step 2

Now let’s modify the ears. Select the bigger circle of the ear shape and Convert to Curves, using the button in the control toolbar on top. Take the Node Tool (A) and select the top node of the shape. Convert to Sharp from the control panel on top, making the ear pointed. Do the same for the inner part of the ear: Convert to Curves and Convert the top node to Sharp.

modify the ears making them pointed

Step 3

Change the color of the ear, making it fit the head and rotate the ear 45 degrees. Duplicate the ear and Flip Horizontal, placing the copy on the opposite side.

Duplicate the ear and Flip Horizontal

Step 4

Select the spot around the eye with the Fill Tool (G) and adjust the colors of the fill, changing them to lighter and darker tints of blue. Copy (Command-C) the spot, select the second spot and Edit > Paste Style, applying a new appearance.

Finish up with the character by adding a light-grey ellipse beneath the nose area. And that’s it for the raccoon! Let’s proceed to our last icon!

recolor the elements and finish the icon

4. Design a Square Parrot

Step 1

Let’s duplicate our very first icon—the purple bear—and use it to make a funny parrot. Change the color of the head to linear fill from light green on top to darker green at the bottom. Delete the elliptical tummy shape and the bear's mouth as we won’t need them any more.

Change the color of the eyes to orange-brown.

recolor the head to green

Step 2

Let’s turn the bear’s nose into a parrot’s beak! Rotate it 90 degrees and Convert to Curves. Select the bottom node with the Node Tool (A) and Convert to Sharp from the control toolbar on top. 

Change the colors of the linear fill to yellow on top and orange at the bottom.

turn the bears nose into a beak

Step 3

Take the Ellipse Tool (M) and make a narrow shape of 15 x 40 px. Fill it with light-green color and change the Blend Mode to Multiply, making a dark semi-transparent feather.

Hold Option-Shift and drag the feather to the right, making a copy. Press Command-J a couple of times to make two more copies.

make feathers in multiply blend mode

Step 4

Let’s add one final detail to our parrot. Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to make a 40 x 70 px shape in the middle on the forehead, picking the proper color from the lightest spot of the forehead and applying a light-green color to the shape.

Add two smaller ellipses on both sides of the middle shape. Select all three shapes and use the Add Operation from the control panel on top to merge all the ellipses into a single shape.

Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the shape and move the bottom copy down a bit by pressing the Down Arrow key a few times. Change the color of the shape to dark green, making a flat shadow.

add elliptical feathers to the forehead

And there we have it! Our parrot icon is ready!

Our parrot icon is ready

Step 5

Here is our set of cute square animals that we’re going to use as the elements of a “match three” game. Let’s move on and make a simple game screen to see how it works together!

set of square flat animal icons is finished

5. Design a Match Three Game Screen

Step 1

Let’s unlock our background shape and change its color to a gentle orange. Use the Rounded Rectangle Tool (M) to make a 415 x 600 px yellow shape with 10% Corner Radius.

unlock our background shape and change its color

Step 2

Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the shape and make the copy smaller, changing the fill color to darker yellow. 

Duplicate the new shape and decrease the size of the copy again, switching the color to the same light yellow as we have for the larger rounded rectangle.

Finally, duplicate the largest rounded rectangle and move the bottom copy down a bit by pressing the Down Arrow key a few times. Make the copy somewhat larger and change the Blend Mode to Multiply in the Layers panel, forming a subtle shadow. All in all we have four rounded rectangles for the game panel.

make a game panel from rounded rectangles

Step 3

Use the Ellipse Tool (M) and hold down Shift to make a large green circle in the bottom part of the canvas. Place it between the game screen and the background shape. Add more circles, covering the bottom part of the canvas.

add circles in the bottom of the screen

Step 4

Select a lighter green tint and continue using the Ellipse Tool (M) to make smaller and lighter circles, depicting simple stylized bushes.

continue using the Ellipse Tool to make circles

Step 5

Continue using the same technique and fill the top of the canvas with light-orange circles, depicting stylized clouds.

depict stylized clouds from circles

Step 6

Now we can start placing the animals icons onto the game panel. Here I use a simple trick to make all the elements equal. As you probably noticed, our parrot is slightly smaller than the rest of the characters, because it doesn’t have ears. This can make aligning the shapes a bit complicated, and that’s why I copy the ears from the panda icon and attach them to the parrot. Make the ears completely transparent by setting the Fill and Stroke colors to none, and then group the elements together.

Now we can place the icons in a row and decrease the size, making them fit the game screen. Keeping the icons selected, head to the control toolbar on top and open the Arrange panel. From here, click Space Horizontally and untick the Auto Distribution checkbox, setting the gap value to 0 px.

You can Align the shapes to Bottom as well, using the same Arrange panel.

start arranging the icons

Step 7

Group (Command-G) the row of icons, hold Option-Shift and drag it up, making a copy. Press Command-J multiple times, filling the game screen with icons. Select all the rows, head to the Arrange panel, and click Space Vertically. Uncheck Auto Distribute and set the gap value to 2 px, making narrow gaps between the edges of the icons.

You can adjust the layout by making the icons smaller or bigger and adjusting the distance between the rows, making the icons fit the game panel.

Right after that, we can shuffle the icons randomly, making the whole scene look like a real game screen. Double-click the row of icons to isolate the group and move the icons inside the group horizontally while holding Shift.

add icons and shuffle them

Congratulations! You’ve Got a Level Up!

Great job! Our match three game screen is ready! I hope you’ve enjoyed following this tutorial and discovered some useful tips and tricks while working with basic shapes, gradient fills, and various transforming operations of Affinity Designer. Feel free to apply your knowledge while creating new game and character designs, and don’t forget to share your awesome results!

If you're keen on learning how to create some more game design stuff in Affinity Designer, be sure to check the following tutorials as well:

Match Three Games Screen with Flat Animals in Affinity Designer is ready
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.