Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer

Как создать спрайт-лист с игровым персонажем в Affinity Designer

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Easy Character Design.
How to Create a Character Kit in Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Cute Gingerbread Man in Adobe Illustrator

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Если вы когда-нибудь хотели попробовать себя в разработке игр и дизайне персонажей, это руководство для вас!  Сегодня мы будем создавать спрайт-лист для сказочного птицеобразного существа для мобильных и видеоигр при помощи различных инструментов и функций в Affinity Designer.  Мы пройдём через весь процесс от создания контура эскиза до раскраски и создания ряда поз, которые можно будет использовать в анимации.  Давайте начнём! 

1. Рисуем базовые части персонажа 

Шаг 1

Я обычно начинаю создавать персонажа с эскиза и попытки найти нужное изображение, интересную форму и необычный внешний вид.  В поиске оригинальных и необычных решений объединяйте вымышленные детали животных или объектов, которых встречаете в реальности.  Вы можете вдохновиться просмотром разделов с игровыми персонажами или игровыми спрайтами на Envato Market, либо поискать спрайты с игровыми персонажами на Pinterest.  Попытайтесь придумать свои собственные оригинальные идеи, создавая неожиданные комбинации. 

Когда создадите несколько вариаций, выберите одну, которая понравится больше всего, и продолжайте с ней работать. Протестируйте различные позы и выражения лиц.

Я делаю множество приблизительных эскизов, и это помогает мне понять, как двигается мой персонаж, выглядит ли он интересно и оригинально, вписывается ли в окружающую среду или концепт нашей будущей игры и т.д. 

making sketches

Когда я, наконец, довольна сказочным, загадочным видом этого маленького парня, то могу представить эскиз, с которым мы будем работать в этом руководстве.  Можете скачать его прямо отсюда – просто кликните правой кнопкой мыши на картинке и сохраните её на свой компьютер. 

character sketch

Шаг 2

Мы будем работать с Векторным режимом Affinity Designer, используя его  векторные функции для создания спрайт-листа нашего персонажа для видеоигр, которого легко можно анимировать в различных положениях. 

Давайте создадим Новый документ размером 600 х 800 пикселей.  Используйте Инструмент «Поместить изображение» для импорта эскиза и расположения в середине холста. 

Давайте обведём персонажа.  Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (М) и создайте фигуру, подходящую под размер лица.  Возьмите Инструмент «Карандаш» (N) и нарисуйте клюв, следуя эскизу.  . Можете изменить линии при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А), чтобы сделать их более плавными.  

outlining the sketch

Шаг 3

Выделите обе созданные нами фигуры и примените Операцию добавления на верхней контекстной панели инструментов.  Таким образом мы объединили оба элемента в единую фигуру. 

Теперь возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (М) для создания глаза и добавьте ещё пару эллипсов, чтобы сделать глаз более детальным.  Следуйте линиям эскиза, чтобы фигуры соответствовали эскизу. 

merging the shapes with add operation

Шаг 4

При помощи Инструмента «Карандаш» (N) нарисуйте длинную, дугообразную линию поперёк лица и, если необходимо, измените её при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А).  Мы можем изменить Стиль, Ширину и другие параметры нашей линии на панели Обводки (вы найдёте её в одной из вкладок возле панели Цветов).  

Здесь давайте установим Ширину на 11 и перейдём вниз к выпадающему окну «Нажатие».  Здесь мы можем изменить ширину отдельных сегментов линии при помощи графика. Выделите правую точку кривой на графике и перетащите её вниз, чтобы сделать правую часть обводки тоньше (нос персонажа).  

adding details with Stroke panel

Шаг 5

Теперь возьмите Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М) – перейдём к телу.  Создайте прямоугольник, подстроив его под тело, и Преобразуйте его в Кривые на верхней контекстной панели инструментов.  Перейдите к Инструменту «Узел» (А) и начните сдвигать нижние узлы в разные стороны друг от друга, сделав нижнюю часть шире. 

Выделите оба верхних узла и перетащите их вверх, чтобы закрыть голову нашего персонажа.  Затем выделите верхний правый узел и используйте функцию «Конвертировать в плавную линию» на верхней контекстной панели инструментов, сделав правую часть прямоугольника плавной и скруглённой. 

shaping the body with rectangle tool 1

Шаг 6

Теперь используйте Инструмент «Узел» (А) для изменения левой части тела, добавив больше узлов, сделав углы плавными и контур – соответствующим эскизу. 

shaping the body with rectangle tool 2

Шаг 7

Давайте добавим перья в нижней части тела, сформировав что-то вроде юбки.  Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (М) и сформируйте сжатую фигуру в нижней левой части тела.  Нажмите Option-Shift и перетащите фигуру вправо, создав копию.  Повторите то же действие, создав больше копий и заполнив всю нижнюю часть.  

Наконец, выделите фигуру тела и перья, перейдите к верхней контекстной панели инструментов и примените «Добавить операции».  Отлично! Теперь мы объединили элементы в единую фигуру. 

add feathers with ellipse tool

Шаг 8

Теперь переходим к ноге.  Давайте сделаем её простой: нарисуйте прямую вертикальную линию с маленькой ступнёй внизу.  Перейдите на панель Обводки и добавьте больше глубины ноге, сделав её толще.  Установите значение Ширины на 60 и примените график Нажатия, чтобы сделать нижнюю часть тоньше, как показано на скриншоте ниже.  

make legs with stroke

Шаг 9

Теперь нам нужно превратить обводку в фигуру, чтобы мы могли изменять её, добавлять детали, контуры и т.д.  Выделив ногу, перейдите в Слой > Разобрать обводку.  Фигура выглядит достаточно хорошо, хотя у неё могло бы быть множество узлов. 

expand stroke of leg

Т.к. фигура всё ещё выглядит плавной, может быть достаточно затруднительно и времязатратно удалять все ненужные узлы вручную. Здесь у нас есть два варианта: либо оставить фигуру как есть с кучей узлов, либо, если вы – за качество, создать новую фигуру. 

Здесь мы можем использовать один из инструментов рисования – либо Инструмент «Карандаш» (N), либо Инструмент «Перо» (P).  Я предпочитаю Инструмент «Перо» (P). Просто обведите созданную ногу по верху, создав плавную, скруглённую фигуру, и при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А) двигайте узлы вокруг. 

Скопируйте ногу. 

use pen tool to outline the leg

Шаг 10

У нас есть двухслойная перьевая «юбка» на нашем эскизе, давайте добавим второй слой с телом, покрытым перьями.  Скопируйте фигуру тела и вытяните её вниз, сделав фигуру высокой, чтобы она вписалась в эскиз.  Удалите верхнюю часть вытянутой фигуры, оставив только юбку. Удалите верхнюю часть растянутой фигуры, оставив только юбку.  Можете сделать это при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А), выделив все ненужные верхние узлы и удалив их. 

Как вариант, вы просто можете стереть верхнюю часть фигуры Инструментом «Векторная обрезка».  Однако, я предпочитаю первый метод, т.к. Инструмент «Векторная обрезка» оставляет стёртую часть спрятанной внутри обтравочной маски.  Во многих случаях это может быть достаточно полезно, например, когда вам нужно сохранить фигуру, но сейчас нам это не нужно. 

add second feathers layer

Шаг 11

Теперь давайте сформируем стилизованную руку или крыло нашего птицеобразного персонажа.  Создайте эллипс под размер руки на эскизе и Преобразуйте его в Кривые.  Слегка перетащите обе боковые опорные точки, сделав фигуру шире внизу.  Добавьте ещё один эллипс, сделав руку согнутой в локте. 

make arm from ellipses

Шаг 12

Преобразуйте второй эллипс в Кривые и используйте Инструмент «Узел» (А), чтобы двигать линии и подогнать их под эскиз.  При помощи Операции добавления объедините фигуры и сделайте все узлы плавными. 

make arm from ellipses 2

Шаг 13

Наконец, при помощи Инструмента «Карандаш» (N) нарисуйте маленькую кисточку перьев на локте и объедините её с рукой.  

Отлично!  Контуры готовы.  Теперь добавим цвета! 

add feathers to the arm

2. Применяя цвета и варьируя позы 

Шаг 1

Мы будем работать с тёмно-фиолетовой палитрой.  Я обычно выбираю цвета при помощи панели Цветов и Инструмента «Пипетка», которые можно найти над цветовым колесом на панели Цветов

character color palette

Постарайтесь сделать верхние части персонажа светлее нижний частей, чтобы отделить элементы друг от друга, сделав их выделяющимися. Сделайте лицо светло-бежевым, создав яркий контраст, чтобы показать главный элемент персонажа, привлекающий внимание зрителей. 

apply colors to the body and face

Шаг 2

Теперь давайте поработаем над лицом.  Примените цвета к всем трём эллипсам глаза, сделав его внутреннюю часть темнее, создав дыру. Давайте изменим красную линию поперёк лица.  Сделайте её толще, увеличив Толщину обводки на панели ОбводкиВырежьте (Command-X) линию, выделите бежевую фигуру лица и перейдите в Редактировать > Вставить внутрь.  Отлично! Теперь линия находится внутри фигуры лица, как внутри обтравочной маски. Мы всё ещё при желании можем изменить её.  

paste the stroke inside the face

Шаг 3

Давайте добавим немного теней, сделав персонажа более детальным.  Возьмите Инструмент «Карандаш» (N) и начните рисовать фигуру, частично закрывающую левую сторону тела.  Она не должна быть идеальной, т.к. мы её Вырежем (Command-X) и затем перейдём в Редактировать > Вставить внутри фигуры тела.  Сделайте тень слегка темнее тела.  

draw the shadows

Шаг 4

Используйте Инструмент «Эллипс» (М) для добавления группы мелких кругов вдоль края тени, перекрывающих друг друга и придающих тени текстурный вид.  Удерживайте клавишу Shift, чтобы сделать круги идеально ровными. 

Добавьте тёмно-фиолетовый эллипс для тени за овалом лица (несколько раз нажмите Command-[, чтобы сдвинуть эллипс за фигуру лица).  Добавьте больше деталей, сформировав тёмную тень на нижней «юбке», и добавьте синий оттенок с пёстрыми кругами на правой стороне тела персонажа.  Наконец, сделайте руку намного светлее тела, отделив её от остальных элементов.  

Не забудьте добавить две маленькие, скруглённые тени на ногах, сделав их более трёхмерными. 

add details and shadows

Шаг 5

Снизьте Непрозрачность ярко-синего блика на панели Слоёв, чтобы сделать его более мягким. 

Если вы хотите поэкспериментировать с цветами, сделать их более яркими, используйте Инструмент «Пипетка», чтобы взять цвет одного элемента и применить его к другому элементу.  Если вы ещё не пользовались этим инструментом в Affinity Designer, сначала он может показаться сложным, однако и очень удобным. 

Найдите иконку Пипетки на панели Цвета и перетащите её прямо на свою картинку.  Вы увидите линзу, которая поможет выбрать нужный цвет, который появится возле иконки Пипетки на панели Цвета.  Теперь можете применить его к любой выбранной фигуре, просто кликнув на маленьком цветном кружке на панели Цвета

edit the colors with the color box and opacity

Шаг 6

Давайте добавим больше деталей нашему персонажу.  Добавьте тени ко всем частям тела, включая голову и руку (если ещё не добавили) и создайте ещё несколько пятен на лице, чтобы сделать его более текстурным. 

Поместите ещё пару эллипсов внутри глаза, понемногу делая цвета ярче, чтобы глаза получились сияющими.  Вы можете видеть мою панель Слоёв на скриншоте ниже, на котором изображены все части группы глаза. 

add details to the face

Шаг 7

Наш персонаж уже выглядит хорошо на этом этапе, но если мы хотим видеть его на детальном фоне для видеоигры, он может сливаться с фоном, если цветовая палитра элементов похожа.  Нам нужно сделать нашего персонажа более выделяющимся на любом фоне.  Он должен быть привлекательным и хорошо видимым при первом взгляде.  Вот простой способ визуально отделить персонажа: нам нужно использовать контуры!  Чем толще контур вокруг персонажа, тем более выделяющимся он становится! 

Выделите руку, перейдите на панель Цветов и примените чёрную Обводку со значением Ширины 3.  Добавьте контур лицу и ногам.  Вам может понадобиться выделить элементы внутри группы при помощи панели Слоёв, чтобы применить Обводку.  

add outline strokes to the body parts

Шаг 8

Что касается тела, я хочу применить единую обводку ко всей фигуре.  Тело состоит из двух элементов, поэтому мы применим небольшой приём.  Выделите обе части тела и скопируйте их (Command-C > Command-V).  Вы увидите копии на панели Слоёв.  Выделите копии и объедините их в единую фигуру при помощи Операции добавления.  

Теперь мы можем удалить цвет Заливки объединённой фигуры на панели Цветов и применить жирную Обводку 4, сохраняя контур поверх тела.  

add outline strokes to the body parts 2

Шаг 9

Давайте посмотрим, что у нас получилось.  Мы создали фантазийного персонажа, состоящего из тела (вместе с лицом), пары крылатых рук и пары забавных ног.  И этого нам хватит для создания двигающегося игрового спрайта!  Убедитесь, что вы Сгруппировали (Command-G) все части на панели Слоёв, чтобы работа оставалась аккуратной и единой. 

group the body parts in the layers panel

Теперь мы можем создать определённый набор поз, которые будет показывать наш персонаж во время игры. Вы можете поискать раздел со спрайт-листом для игрового персонажа на GraphicRiver, чтобы увидеть, какие позы обычно используются в играх, или создать свои.  

Здесь я представила базовые позы, просто двигая части нашего спрайта – стоя, в беге, в прыжке или в обмороке.  Обратите внимание, что я удалила сияние из глаз в обморочной позе, чтобы персонаж выглядел более бессознательным. 

character sprite sheet poses

Победа! Наш спрайт-лист для персонажа фантазийной игры готов! 

Отличная работа!  Мы только что закончили создание нашего птицеобразного создания и сделали спрайт-лист из нескольких простых поз, которые можно использовать в анимации.  Надеюсь, вы нашли для себя полезные приёмы и советы, которые помогут вам получше узнать Affinity Designer или создать несколько новых, уникальных персонажей и спрайт-листы для игр для ПК, браузера или телефонов. 

Если хотите получить готовый векторный EPS-файл с нашей птичкой, включая детальные рамки для каждой позы, взгляните на этот спрайт-лист.  Его можно использовать для простой анимации. 

Наслаждайтесь созданием новых персонажей и не забудьте поделиться своими результатами! 

game character sprite sheet in affinity designer
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer

How to Create a Game Character Sprite Sheet in Affinity Designer

This post is part of a series called Easy Character Design.
How to Create a Character Kit in Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Cute Gingerbread Man in Adobe Illustrator
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

If you've ever wanted to try out game development and character design, then this tutorial is for you! Today we’ll be creating a sprite sheet for a fancy bird-like creature for video and mobile games, using various tools and functions of Affinity Designer. We’ll go through the full process, from outlining the sketch to coloring and creating a set of poses that can be used for animation. Let’s get started!

1. Draw the Basic Parts of the Character

Step 1

I usually start making up a character by sketching and trying to find the proper image, an interesting form, and an unusual appearance. Try combining some fictional details of animals or objects that you meet in real life, searching for original and extraordinary solutions. You can get inspired by browsing through the game characters or game sprites sections of Envato Market or searching game character sprite on Pinterest. Try to make up your own original ideas, creating unexpected combinations.

When you’ve made several variations, select the one you like most and continue working with it. Try different poses and facial expressions.

I make a lot of rough sketches, which help me to understand how my character moves, whether it looks interesting and original, whether it fits the surrounding environment or concept of our future game and so on.

making sketches

Finally, I’m quite satisfied with the fantasy mysterious look of this little guy, and here’s the sketch we’ll be working with in this tutorial. You can download it directly from here—just right mouse click on the picture and save it to your PC.

character sketch

Step 2

We’ll be working with the Drawing Persona of Affinity Designer, using its vector features to create our character sprite for video games, which can be easily animated in different poses.

Let’s create a New Document of 600 x 800 px size. Use the Place Image Tool to import our sketch and position it in the center of the canvas.

And let’s start outlining the character. Take the Ellipse Tool (M) and make a shape, fitting the size of the face. Arm yourself with the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a beak, tracing the sketch. You can edit the stroke using the Node Tool (A) to make it more smooth and flowing.

outlining the sketch

Step 3

Select both shapes that we’ve created and use the Add Operation in the upper context toolbar. This way we’ve merged both elements into a single shape.

Now use the Ellipse Tool (M) to make an eye and add a couple more ellipses to make it more detailed. Follow the lines of the sketch, making the shapes fit the sketch.

merging the shapes with add operation

Step 4

Use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw a long, curved line across the face and edit it, if needed, using the Node Tool (A). We can change the Style, Width and other parameters of our line in the Stroke panel (you’ll find it in one of the tabs next to the Colour panel). 

From here, let’s set the Width to 11 pt and move down to the Pressure drop-down window. Here we can vary the width of separate segments of the line, using the graph. Select the right point of the curve on the graph and drag it down to make the right part of the stroke (which is at the nose of the character) thinner.

adding details with Stroke panel

Step 5

Now take the Rectangle Tool (M) and let’s move on to the body. Make a rectangle, aligning it to the body, and Convert it to Curves in the top context toolbar. Switch to the Node Tool (A) and start moving the bottom nodes away from each other, making the bottom part wider. 

Select both upper nodes and drag them up to cover the head of our character. Then select the top right node and use the Convert to Smooth function from the top context toolbar, making the right part of the rectangle smooth and rounded.

shaping the body with rectangle tool 1

Step 6

Now use the Node Tool (A) to modify the left side of the body, adding more nodes, making the corners smooth and making the outline fit the sketch.

shaping the body with rectangle tool 2

Step 7

Let’s add the feathers to the bottom part of the body, forming a kind of skirt. Take the Ellipse Tool (M) and form a squashed shape at the bottom left side of the body. Press Option-Shift and drag the shape to the right, making a copy. Repeat the same action, making more copies and filling all the bottom part.

Finally, select the body shape and the feathers, head to the top context toolbar and apply the Add Operations. Great! Now we’ve merged the elements into a single shape.

add feathers with ellipse tool

Step 8

Now we move on to the leg. Let’s make it simple: draw a straight vertical line with a small foot at the bottom. Head to the Stroke panel and let’s add more dimension to the leg by making it thicker. Set the Width value to 60 pt and use the Pressure graph to make its bottom part thinner, as shown in the screenshot below.

make legs with stroke

Step 9

Now we need to turn the stroke into a shape so that we’re able to edit it, to add details, outlines and so on. Keeping the leg selected, go to Layer > Expand Stroke. The shape looks good enough, although it might have a bunch of nodes.

expand stroke of leg

While the shape still looks smooth, it may become very tricky and time-consuming to delete all the unneeded nodes manually. We have two options here: either to leave the shape as it is with a bunch of nodes, or, if you’re particular about quality, to make a new shape. 

We can use one of the drawing tools here—either the Pencil tool (N) or the Pen Tool (P). I prefer the Pen Tool (P). Just trace the created leg above, making a smooth, rounded shape, and using the Node Tool (A) to move the nodes around.

Copy the leg to add another one.

use pen tool to outline the leg

Step 10

We have a two-layered feather “skirt” on our sketch, so let’s add a second feathered body layer. Copy the body shape and extend it down, making the shape tall, so that it fits the sketch. Delete the top part of the extended shape, leaving only the skirt. You can do this with the help of the Node Tool (A) by selecting all the unneeded upper nodes and deleting them. 

As an option, you can also erase the upper part of the shape with the Vector Crop Tool. However, I prefer the first method, because the Vector Crop Tool leaves the erased part hidden inside a clipping mask. This can be quite helpful in many cases, when you need to restore the shape, but we won’t need to do it.

add second feathers layer

Step 11

Now let’s form a stylized arm or a wing for our bird character. Make an ellipse, fitting the wing on the sketch, and Convert it to Curves. Drag both side anchor points down a bit, making the shape wider at the bottom. Add another ellipse, making the arm bent at the elbow.

make arm from ellipses

Step 12

Proceed by Converting the second ellipse to Curves, and use the Node Tool (A) to move the lines around, making them fit the sketch. Use the Add Operation to merge the shapes and make all the nodes smooth.

make arm from ellipses 2

Step 13

Finally, use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw a small tuft of feathers at the elbow and merge it together with the arm as well.

Great! The outlines are ready. Now let’s add the colors!

add feathers to the arm

2. Applying Colors & Varying Poses

Step 1

We’ll be working with a dark-purple palette. I usually pick the colors with the help of the Colour panel and the Eyedropper Tool, which can be found right above the color wheel in the Colour panel.

character color palette

Try making the top parts of the character lighter than the bottom parts in order to separate the elements from each other, making them pop out. Make the face light beige, creating a striking contrast in order to make it the main element of the character, which attracts the viewer's attention.

apply colors to the body and face

Step 2

Now let’s work with the face. Apply the colors to all three ellipses of the eye, making its inner part darker, creating a hole. And let’s edit the red line across the face. Make it thicker, increasing the Stroke Weight in the Stroke panel. Cut (Command-X) the line, select the beige face shape and go to Edit > Paste Inside. Great! Now the line is inside the face shape, like being inside a clipping mask, and we still can edit it, if needed.

paste the stroke inside the face

Step 3

Let’s add some shadows to our character, making it more detailed. Take the Pencil Tool (N) and start drawing a shape, partially covering the left side of the body. It doesn’t have to be perfect, because we’re going to Cut (Command-X) it and then Edit > Paste Inside of the body shape. Make the shadow a bit darker than the body.

draw the shadows

Step 4

Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to add a group of small circles along the edge of the shadow, overlapping each other and making the shadow textured. Hold down Shift to make the circles perfectly even.

Add a darker-purple ellipse for the shadow beneath the face (press Command-[ several times to move the ellipse beneath the face shape). Make more details, forming a dark shadow on the lower “skirt”, and add a blue overtone with speckled circles at the right side of the character’s body. Finally, make the arm much lighter than the body, separating it from the rest of the elements.

Don’t forget to add two small, rounded shadows to the legs, making them more three-dimensional.

add details and shadows

Step 5

Lower the Opacity of the bright-blue highlight in the Layers panel to make it more subtle.

If you want to play around with the colors, making them more vivid, use the Eyedropper Tool to pick the color from one element and apply it to the other. If you haven’t tried this tool in Affinity Designer yet, it may be a bit tricky but still very convenient. 

Find the Eyedropper icon in the Colour panel and drag it right onto your image. You will see a magnifier that helps to select the desired color, which appears next to the Eyedropper icon in the Colour panel. Now you can apply it to any shape you select, simply by clicking the tiny colored circle in the Colour panel.

edit the colors with the color box and opacity

Step 6

Let’s add more details to our fancy guy. Add the shadows to all the body parts, including the head and the arm (if you haven’t added yet) and make some more spots on the face to make it more textured.

Place a couple more ellipses inside the eye, gradually brightening the colors to make it look glowing. You can see my Layers panel in the screenshot below, demonstrating all the parts of the eye group.

add details to the face

Step 7

Our character already looks good at this stage, but if we imagine putting it above a detailed video-game background, it might blend with the background if the color palettes of the elements are similar. We need to make our character more distinct above any kind of a background. It must be attractive and clearly visible at first glance. And here is a simple way to visually separate the character: we should use outlines! The thicker the outline around the character is, the more distinct it becomes!

Select the arm, go to the Colour panel and apply a black Stroke with 3 pt Width value. Add the outline to the face and legs as well. You might need to select the elements inside the group using the Layers panel, in order to apply the Stroke.

add outline strokes to the body parts

Step 8

As for the body, I want to apply a single outline to the whole shape. However, the body consists of two elements, so we’ll do a little trick. Select both body parts and duplicate them (Command-C > Command-V). You will see the copies in your Layers panel. Select the copies and merge them into a single shape using the Add Operation.

Now we can actually set the Fill color of the merged shape to none in the Colour panel and apply a nice thick 4 pt Stroke, keeping the outline shape on top of the body.

add outline strokes to the body parts 2

Step 9

Let’s see what we have so far. We’ve created a fancy fantasy character, which consists of the body (together with the face), a pair of winged arms and a pair of funny legs. And that’s actually all we need to make a moving game sprite! Make sure you’ve Grouped (Command-G) all the parts properly in the Layers panel, keeping your work neat and consistent.

group the body parts in the layers panel

Now we can make a certain set of poses that can be performed by our character during the game. You can browse the game character sprite sheet section at GraphicRiver to see what poses are usually used in games, or make up your own.

Here I’ve presented the basic poses by simply moving the parts of our sprite, making it stand, run, jump or faint. Notice that I’ve removed the glowing eyes in the faint pose to make it look more unconscious.

character sprite sheet poses

Victory! Our Fantasy Game Character Sprite Is Ready!

Great job! We’ve just finished creating our fancy bird creature and made a sprite sheet of several simple poses that can be used for animation. I hope you’ve found some useful tips and tricks that will help you to get to know Affinity Designer better or will inspire you to create some new unique characters and sprite sheets for PC, browser or mobile games.

If you want to get a ready-to-use vector EPS file with our fancy bird, including the detailed frames for each pose, check out this bird creature sprite sheet. It can be used for simple animation.

Have fun designing new characters, and don’t forget to share your results!

game character sprite sheet in affinity designer
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.