Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Typography

كيفية إنشاء صورة ثابتة مطبوعة مستوحاة من فيلم نوير في كل من فوتوشوب و إلوستراتور

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

الأشرار الغامضون، المحققون المتشددون، النساء الغامضات - هذه هي مادة فيلم نوير، نوع الفيلم الذي يمثل مصدر إلهام لهذا البرنامج التعليمي. فيلم نوير، الأكثرارتباطًا بالدراما الغامضة والجريئة التي تم إنتاجها في الأربعينيات من القرن العشرين، عادةً ما يتميز بتصوير سينمائي عالي التباين، أبيض وأسود، مظلل بشكل كبير.

كما ظهر نمط متميز من الطباعة من هذا النوع المرئي على بطاقات العنوان أو الإطارات التي تعرض عنوان الفيلم في بداية الفيلم. كانت هذه العناوين مرسومة يدويًا، غالبًا في شكل ثلاثي الأبعاد، وصُنعت بطريقة تعكس في كثير من الأحيان أسلوب الإضاءة والظل المستخدم في الفيلم نفسه. يمكنك أن ترى بعض الأمثلة في فئة فيلم Noir من مجموعة الصور الثابتة لعنوان الفيلم.

كما يشرح جوناثان هاولز في المحدد الرسومي:

"كان فنانو الاستوديو غير المعتمدين إلى حد كبير، هم الذين ابتكروا هذه التركيبات المطبوعة، حيث كانوا رجال النهضة التصميميين الحقيقيين، الذين لم يرسموا فقط الخلفيات ذات المناظر الخلابة [و] خلقوا صورًا للنجوم، ولكن بطريقتهم الخاصة المجهولة، أنجبوا طباعة تصويرية جديدة إلى الأبد مترافقة مع نوير ".

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سنكون بصدد إنشاء بطاقة عنوان أفلام مستوحاة من فيلم noir- مستوحاة من فوتوشوب و إلوستراتور، والتي تجمع بين التصوير الفوتوغرافي القديم الأصلي والنسيج والخطوط الرقمية لتكرار مظهر الطباعة الغامق المليء بالحبوب من العصر الكلاسيكي.

سأقوم بإنشاء بطاقة لفيلم حقيقي، وبعد ذلك لن يكون هناك شيء (1945)، استنادا إلى رواية أغاثا كريستي الغامضة التي تحمل الاسم نفسه. لا تتردد في المتابعة على طول، أو إنشاء الطباعة للفيلم الكلاسيكي (أو الحديث) المفضل لديك، أو إنشاء عنوان خاص بك.

قبل البدء، تأكد من التحقق من اختيار الخطوط القديمة وحزم الأنسجة على GraphicRiver لمشاريعك ذات الطراز القديم.

ماذا ستحتاج

سترغب في تنزيل و / أو حفظ هذه الموارد قبل البدء حتى تتمكن من العمل من خلال خطوات البرنامج التعليمي بسهولة أكبر:

1. كيفية إعداد المستند الخاص بك في برنامج فوتوشوب

افتح مستندًا جديدًا وحدد الأبعاد إلى 1000 بكسل × 750 بكسل.

new Photoshop document

2. كيفية دمج الصور في مشهد واحد

إن الجو المظلم المشؤوم هو مفتاح مظهر الفيلم، لذلك فهو يساعد على اختيار الصور التي تساعدك على تحقيق هذا المزاج. في ذلك الوقت لم يكن هناك شيء، يجري العمل في مقاطعة عبارة عن جزيرة منعزلة حيث يدعى ثمانية أشخاص (لا يعرفون بعضهم البعض) من قبل رجل تعارف ثري لقضاء عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. عند وصولهم، لم يكن مضيفهم فقط في عداد المفقودين، ولكن الأحداث الغامضة الأخرى تبدأ في الحدوث. لذلك سنعمل مع الصور التي تضفي مشهدًا عاصفًا على الجزيرة.

الخطوة 1

اذهب إلى ملف > موقع وحدد موقع الصورة 1. اسحب مقابض الزاوية للصورة لجعل عرضها بنفس عرض اللوحة القماشية الخاصة بك (تأكد من الاستمرار في الضغط على Shift أثناء قيامك بذلك للحفاظ على أبعاد الصورة).

placing photo 1

الخطوة 2

نحتاج أولاً إلى تحويل هذه الصورة من ملونة إلى الأبيض والأسود. اختر التعديلات من اللوحات الخاصة بك أو اذهب إلى نافذة> التعديلات لسحبها للاعلى. حدد أبيض و أسود (تأكد من عدم تحديد خانة اختيار الصبغة في الأعلى) واضبط منزلقات اللون حسب رغبتك.

converting photo to black and white

الخطوه 3

ضع صورة 2 وحاذيها إلى المنحدرات في الصورة الأولى. سنزيل السماء والمياه في هذه الصورة بعد ذلك.

placing photo 2

مع استمرار تحديد الصورة 2، انتقل إلى طبقة> تنقيط> كائن ذكي لجعلها قابلةً للتحرير بالكامل.

الخطوة 4

قم بالتكبير إلى 100٪ لرؤية عملك بشكل أفضل، ثم اختر أداة التحديد السريع (يمكن الوصول إليها باستخدام أداة النقر على أداة العصا السحرية. في شريط الأدوات الذي يظهر في الجزء العلوي من الشاشة، تأكد من عدم تحديد عينة كل الطبقات.

ثم، مع حجم فرشاة صغيرة إلى حد ما (قمت بتعيين فرشاتي على 8)، انقر واسحب الأداة على طول المنزل والمنحدرات حتى تحيط تلك المنطقة فقط بخط متقطع وامض.

quick selection tool

انتقل إلى تحديد> معكوس (والذي سيحدد كل شيء خارج المنطقة المحددة) ثم اضغط على "حذف" - يجب أن يتم ترك المنزل والمنحدرات فقط. قم بإلغاء تحديد كل شيء عن طريق نقر Control / Command-D.

الخطوة 5

حدد أداة الممحاة؛ سنستخدم هذا لتلطيف حواف الصورة الثانية ومزجها. اختر إحدى فرش فوتوشوب الميكانيكية الافتراضية من فوتوشوب (أستخدم الحجم 45 بكسل) وقم بتغيير التعتيم إلى 50٪. اسحب الفرشاة على قاع وجوانب الصورة التي تم اقتصاصها لجعلها تبدو جزءًا من أول صورة خلفية. يجب أن تنتهى مع بعض الأشياء مثل هذه:

blending with eraser tool

الخطوة 6

خطواتنا الأخيرة القليلة لدمج الصور هي إضافة بعض الغيوم الدرامية إلى المشهد. لذلك، ضع الصورة 3 وقم بتكبيرها بحيث لا تبدو الحدود مرئية على اللوحة القماشية الخاصة بك. استخدم أداة الخيمة المستطيلة لتحديد الجزء العلوي من الصورة، وصولاً إلى خط الأفق، واحذف الباقي (تحديد> معكوس> حذف).

cropping photo with marquee tool

الخطوة 7

اضغط على Control / Command-D لإلغاء تحديد كل شيء. الآن بعد أن أصبح بإمكانك رؤية جزء من الصور الأساسية، استخدم ذلك كمرجع لضبط درجة الصورة الثالثة. كرر المعالجة في الخطوة 2 لضبط اللون.

black and white photo adjustment

الخطوة 8

انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن فوق اسم الطبقة في لوحة الطبقات وحدد طبقة التنقيط، ثم استخدم أداة الممحاة مرة أخرى لمزج وتنعيم الحافة السفلية لصورة السحابة. ابدأ بمحو أي من المنحدرات المتروكة في الصورة تمامًا (مع استخدام الفرشاة بتعتيم بنسبة 100٪)، ثم التبديل إلى تعتيم 50٪ لتنعيم الحواف.

لمزيد من المزج مع مظهر أكثر ظلاما وأكثر شؤماً، قم بإنهائها عن طريق الانتقال إلى طبقة> نمط الطبقة> خيارات المزج وتحديد متعدد من القائمة المنسدلة وضع المزج.

blending options

يجب أن تتشابه ملصقة الصورة النهائية مع هذه الصورة:

photo collage

3. كيفية إضافة ملمس إلى صورة الخلفية الخاصة بك

الآن بعد أن قمنا بتجميع صورة خلفية لتهيئة المشهد للطباعة لدينا، سنقوم بإضافة بعض الملمس والتظليل حتى تبرز الكتابة أكثر.

الخطوة 1

اضغط على Command-Option-Shift-E على جهاز Mac أو Control-Alt-Shift-E على جهاز الكمبيوتر الشخصي لدمج كل طبقاتك الموجودة في طبقة واحدة جديدة. يحافظ هذا على جميع الأعمال ذات الطبقات الخاصة بك بحيث يمكنك الرجوع إليها وتغييرها إذا أردت ذلك، ولكن أيضًا يدمج جميع صورنا في واحدة حتى يمكننا العمل عليها كصورة واحدة.

الآن، مع تحديد هذه الطبقة الجديدة، انتقل إلى مرشح> نسيج> حبيبي وحدد عمودي من القائمة المنسدلة نوع الحبوب. عيّن السطوع على 3 والتباين على 5، أو جرّب وقم بالتعديل حسب رغبتك.

applying grain filter

الخطوة 2

ضع صورة النسيج واسحب المقابض العلوية والسفلية حتى تملأ اللوحة بالكامل؛ سيغطي صورة الخلفية في الوقت الحالي.

استخدم أداة الضباب ذات الحجم الكبير، حوالي 300 بيكسل مع قوة 50٪، للتخلص من الجزء الأوسط، الجزء الأفتح من صورة النسيج.

ثم قم بالتبديل إلى أداة النسخ، مع حجم فرشاة يبلغ حوالي 150، مع ضبط النطاق إلى درجة متوسطة والتعرض إلى 40٪ (يجب اختيار درجات حماية). ضع الفرشاة حول حواف الصورة باتجاه الوسط لتمديد التظليل (أو المناطق المظللة والمظلمة حول الحواف) أبعد قليلاً. يجب أن تنتهى مع أشياء مثل هذا:

using blur tool and burn tool

الخطوه 3

الغرض من هذا النسيج هو تعتيم الصورة بأكملها قليلاً وإضافة مظهر مظلل أكثر. هذا سيساعدنا على تمييز طباعتنا البيضاء أكثر. لذا، كنهاية نهائية، سنخفض السطوع والتباين قبل أن نراكبها على صورتنا مع خيارات المزج.

اذهب إلى لوحة الضبط وحدد السطوع/ التباين. وقم بتقليل السطوع إلى حوالي -60 والتباين إلى حوالي -50. كما ترون، هذا يفسد ويغمق النسيج كله، وهو ما نريده.

adjusting texture brightness and contrast

الخطوة 4

أخيرًا، انتقل إلى طبقة> أسلوب الطبقة> خيارات المزج. حدد ضوء قوي كوضع المزج.

texture blending options

وهناك لديك: خلفية مظلمة وغامضة لبطاقة عنوان الفيلم نوير الخاصة بك. الآن، إلى الطباعة!

4. كيفية إنشاء الطباعة على الطراز القديم

عند التصميم للرجوع إلى حقبة معينة، تكون إحدى أفضل الطرق لإنشاء فترة زمنية بشكل مرئي هي من خلال اختياراتك لمحرف الطباعة. تستند جميع الأنواع التي اخترتها لهذا البرنامج التعليمي إلى أو تم نسخها من الأنماط المستخدمة في أوائل إلى منتصف القرن العشرين.

بعض الأماكن الجيدة للبحث عن الخطوط الالكلاسيكية أو القديمة المجانية هي فئات خط Retro Squirrel الرجعية والتاريخية (مجانًا لأي استخدام)، وفئات العقد والعام الماضي من الخطوط 1001 (مجانًا إما للاستخدام الشخصي أو التجاري)، والمشاركة في الكتابة المفقودة (مجانًا / ادفع ما تريد للاستخدام الشخصي).

الخطوة 1

أولاً، نحتاج إلى وضع النص الخاص بنا قبل تطبيق التأثير ثلاثي الأبعاد. هناك طريقتان يمكنك اتباعهما في هذا الجزء:

  1. إذا كنت تستخدم فوتوشوب CS6 أو CC، فيمكنك وضع النص في فوتوشوب مباشرةً واستخدام وظيفة 3D Extrusion.
  2. إذا كنت تستخدم إصدارًا سابقًا من فوتوشوب أو تفضل فقط العمل باستخدام الكتابة في إلوستراتور كما أفعل، فإن إلوستراتور يمتلك مجموعة خاصة به من الأدوات ثلاثية الأبعاد سهلة الاستخدام.

سأقوم بعرض طريقة إلوستراتور حتى يتمكن أي شخص من المتابعة معنا. للبدء، افتح مستندًا جديدًا في إلوستراتور بنفس حجم مستند فوتوشوب (1000 × 750 بكسل). التقط لقطة شاشة لخلفيتك في فوتوشوب أو احفظها كملف وضعه في مستند إلوستراتور - سيكون هذا مجرد مرجع في وضع الطباعة.

الخطوة 2

في إلوستراتور، قم بإقفال الطبقة التي توجد بها صورة الخلفية الخاصة بك وقم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة. في الطبقة الجديدة، اكتب عنوان الفيلم الخاص بك في المساحة الفارغة حيث تكون السماء. إذا كنت تتابع مع هذا التصميم:

  • يتم تعيين "من ثم" في Dafoe عند 80 نقطة
  • تم تعيين "كان هناك" في يلوستون عند 80 نقطة
  • يتم تعيين "لا أحد" في Poller One عند 120 نقطة

يتكدس كل جزء من النص عبر الصفحة لملء طول لوح الرسم بشكل أفضل.

placing title in Illustrator

الخطوه 3

إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك، فقم بإضافة بعض اللمسات الأخيرة، مثل علامات الاقتباس حول العنوان. يمكنك العثور على الخط الذي يأتي مع علامات مكتنزة (استخدمت مرساة جاك) أو ارسم بنفسك باستخدام أداة القلم.

يمكنك أيضًا إضافة بعض النص في الجزء السفلي لموازنة التكوين. هناك بعض السمات الشائعة لبطاقات العنوان مثل اسم المؤلف إذا كان الفيلم يستند إلى كتاب أو قصة قصيرة، أو اسم استوديو أو منتج الفيلم (مثل إنتاج صور باراماونت)، أو بيان حقوق الطبع والنشر.

typesetting in Illustrator

5. كيفية إضافة تأثير 3D إلى النص الخاص بك في إلوستراتور

الخطوة 1

حدد جميع أجزاء العنوان، بما في ذلك علامات الاقتباس إذا كانت لديك. تجاهل أي نص ثانوي في الوقت الحالي. انتقل إلى تأثيرات> 3D> قذف & شطبة. في النافذة المنبثقة، حدد مربع الاختيار معاينة على اليسار. من خلال النقر على المكعب وسحبه في منتصف النافذة، يمكنك التحكم في إمالة عنوانك وتدويره. يمكنك رؤية الإعدادات التي انتهيت بها أدناه:

3D extrude effect

يمكنك أيضًا تجربة عمق القذف، التي لها التأثير الأكبر على كيفية ظهور الحروف ثلاثية الأبعاد الخاصة بك: كلما زاد العدد، كلما اتسعت حروفك إلى الفضاء. لقد استقريت على عمق 38.

الخطوة 2

لمزيد من التحكم في مظهر العنوان، انقر على زر المزيد من الخيارات على اليسار. هناك، ستجد خيارات لضبط الإضاءة على كائناتك ثلاثية الأبعاد، مما سيساعدها على أن تبدو أكثر دراماتيكية وواقعية.

يمكنك إضافة المزيد من مصادر الضوء عن طريق النقر على زر الضوء الجديد (الخيار الأوسط أسفل الكرة) وتغيير مواقعها عن طريق السحب حول النقاط البيضاء على الكرة، والتي تمثل مصادر الضوء. طالما تم تحديد معاينة، ستتمكن من مراقبة تأثيرات هذه الإعدادات على عملك.

3D text effect

استمتع بتجربة ممتعة حتى تحصل على النتيجة التي تريدها. يمكنك دائمًا الإغلاق من النافذة والبدء من جديد إذا ما خرجت الأمور عن نطاق السيطرة.

الخطوه 3

استخدم نفس خيارات القذف و الشطبة لإعطاء أي نص ثانوي تأثير ثلاثي الأبعاد أكثر خفوتًا، مثل الظل أكثر من ثلاثي الأبعاد الكامل.

3D text shadow

قبل مغادرة إلوستراتور، انسخ كل النص عن طريق سحب المؤشر لإحاطة لوحة الرسم ونقر Command/ Control-C.

6. كيف تنصص المطبوعة الخاصة بك في برنامج فوتوشوب

الخطوة 1

قم بالتبديل إلى مستند فوتوشوب الموجود لديك. اضغط على Command / Control-V للصق مطبوعتك، وفي نافذة لصق كـ المنبثقة، حدد كائن ذكي واضغط على OK. قم بتغيير الحجم وإعادة توضعها إذا لزم الأمر.

الخطوة 2

أولاً نريد أن ننعم المطبوعة قليلاً، بما يجعلها بحواف أقل حدة وتخفي المظهر الرقمي. في طبقة كائن ذكي موجه الجديدة التي تحتوي على نصك بها، اضغط على Command / Control-J لعمل نسخة منها. انقر فوق تلك الطبقة المنسوخة واسحبها إلى أسفل طبقة النص الأصلية.

انتقل إلى المرشح> ضباب> ضباب قطري وعيّن القدر إلى 30 وطريقة الضباب إلى تكبير؛ اضغط OK.

applying radial blur

الخطوه 3

ارجع إلى لوحة الطبقات وقم بتقليل تعتيم الطبقة الضبابية إلى 40٪. تضيف هذه العملية بعض الضبابية وتأثيرًا متوهجًا تقريبًا، مشابهة للجودة التي تراها في الأفلام القديمة.

reducing layer opacity

الخطوة 4

كلمسة نهائية، سنضيف بعض النسيج إلى المطبوعة. ضع ملف نسيج الحبوب وحجمه لملء اللوحة بأكملها. انتقل الآن إلى طبقة > إنشاء قناع قص. سيؤدي ذلك إلى قص النسيج إلى الطبقة الموجودة تحته (طبقة الطباعة). سيبدو الأمر مضحكًا إلى أن نطبق خيارات المزج في الخطوة التالية.

applying clipping mask to texture

الخطوة 5

انتقل إلى طبقة> أساليب الطبقة> خيارات المزج. حدد تراكب كوضع للمزج وقم بتقليل التعتيم إلى 45٪. سترى أن الحواف الرمادية للحروف تحتوي الآن على نسيج جميل محبب.

texture blending options

الخطوة 6

مع استمرار تحديد طبقة نسيج حبيبات الفيلم، انتقل إلى المعايرات> السطوع / التباين وانقر على الزر في أسفل النافذة الذي يشبه دائرتين متداخلتين. سيطبق هذا التعديلات على الطبقة المحددة فقط بدلاً من المستند بأكمله. قم بتغيير السطوع إلى -15 والتباين إلى 35 لإعطاء النسيج المزيد من التباين.

adjusting texture contrast

عمل جيد! إليك بطاقة العنوان المنتهية:

film noir title card

ومظهر قريب من المطبوعة:

film noir typography final

و هذا هو الغلاف

آمل أن تكون قد استمتعت باستكشاف النمط الطباعي الكلاسيكي للفيلم نوير- وحصلت على بعض التقنيات الجيدة للقيام ببعض التلاعب الأساسي في الصور، والتركيب، والطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد. كما هو الحال دائمًا، لا تتردد في مشاركة كيف تحول مشروعك أو طرح أسئلة في قسم التعليقات. تصميم سعيد!

film noir title card display
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Typography
Design

How to Create a Film Noir–Inspired Typography Still in Photoshop and Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Shadowy villains, tough detectives, mysterious women—this is the stuff of film noir, the movie genre that serves as inspiration for this tutorial. Film noir, most associated with mystery and crime dramas produced in the 1940s, usually features high-contrast, black-and-white, dramatically shadowed cinematography.

A distinct style of typography also came out of this genre, visible on the title cards, or the frames that display the film’s title at the beginning of a movie. These titles were hand-painted, often in a three-dimensional style, and crafted in such a way that they often reflected the style of lighting and shadow used in the movie itself. You can see some examples in the Film Noir category of the Movie Title Stills Collection

As Jonathan Howells at Graphic Definer explains: 

“The largely uncredited studio staff artists who created these typographic compositions were true graphic design renaissance men, who not only painted the scenic backgrounds [and] created portraits of the stars, but in their own anonymous way, gave birth to a new, pictoral typography style forever associated with noir.” 

For this tutorial, we’ll be creating our own film noir–inspired title card in Photoshop and Illustrator, combining authentic vintage photography, textures, and digital fonts to replicate the shadowy, grainy look of typography from the classic noir era.

I’ll be creating a card for an actual film, And Then There Were None (1945), based on the Agatha Christie mystery novel of the same name. Feel free to follow along, create typography for your favorite classic (or modern) film, or make up a title of your own. 

Before we get started, make sure to check out the selection of retro fonts and texture packs on GraphicRiver for your own vintage-style projects.

What You'll Need

You’ll want to download and/or save these resources before getting started so you can work through the tutorial steps more easily:

1. How to Set Up Your Document in Photoshop

Open a new document and set the dimensions to 1000 px by 750 px.

new Photoshop document

2. How to Combine Photos Into a Single Scene

A dark, ominous atmosphere is key to the film noir look, so it helps to choose photos that will help you achieve that mood. In And Then There Were None, the action takes place on an isolated island estate where eight people (none of whom know each other) are invited by a rich acquaintance to spend the weekend. When they arrive, not only is their host missing, but other mysterious events start happening. So we'll be working with photos that set a stormy island scene.

Step 1

Go to File > Place and locate photo 1. Drag the corner handles of the photo to make its width the same width as your canvas (making sure to hold down Shift as you do so to maintain the dimensions of the photo).

placing photo 1

Step 2

First we need to convert this photo from color to black & white. Choose Adjustments from your panels or go to Window > Adjustments to pull it up. Select Black & White (make sure the Tint checkbox at the top is not checked) and adjust the color sliders to your liking.

converting photo to black and white

Step 3

Place photo 2 and align it to the cliffs in the first photo. We’ll be removing the sky and the water in this image next.

placing photo 2

With photo 2 still selected, go to Layer > Rasterize > Smart Object to make it fully editable.

Step 4

Zoom in to 100% to better see your work, then choose the Quick Selection Tool (accessed with a click-hold on the Magic Wand Tool). In the toolbar that appears at the top of the screen, make sure Sample All Layers is not checked. 

Then, with a fairly small brush size (mine is set at 8), click and drag the tool along the house and cliffs until just that area is surrounded by a flashing dashed line.

quick selection tool

Go to Select > Inverse (which will select everything outside that outlined area) and hit Delete—you should be left with only the house and cliffs. Deselect everything by hitting Control/Command-D.

Step 5

Select the Eraser Tool; we’ll use this to soften and blend the edges of the second photo. Choose one of Photoshop’s default Soft Mechanical brushes (I’m using the 45 pixel size) and change the Opacity to 50%. Drag the brush along the bottom and sides of the cropped photo to make it look like part of the first background image. You should end up with something like this:

blending with eraser tool

Step 6

Our last few steps for combining photos are to add some dramatic clouds to the scene. For that, place photo 3 and enlarge it so the borders are no longer visible on your canvas. Use the Rectangular Marquee Tool to select the top portion of the photo, down to the horizon line, and delete the rest (Select > Inverse > Delete).

cropping photo with marquee tool

Step 7

Hit Control/Command-D to deselect everything. Now that you can see a portion of the underlying photos, use that as a reference to adjust the tone of the third image. Repeat the process of Step 2 to adjust the color.

black and white photo adjustment

Step 8

Right-click the layer name in the Layers panel and select Rasterize Layer, and then use the Eraser Tool again to blend and soften the bottom edge of the cloud photo. Start by completely erasing any cliffs left in the photo (with your brush at 100% opacity), and then switch over to 50% opacity to soften the edges. 

For further blending and a darker, more ominous look, finish it off by going to Layer > Layer Style > Blending Options and selecting Multiply from the Blend Mode drop-down menu. 

blending options

Your finished photo collage should resemble this one:

photo collage

3. How to Add Texture to Your Background Image

Now that we’ve compiled a background image to set the scene for our typography, we’re going to add some texture and shadowing so the type will stand out even more.

Step 1

Hit Command-Option-Shift-E on a Mac or Control­-Alt-Shift-E on a PC to merge all your existing layers into one new layer. This preserves all your layered work so you can go back and change it if you want, but also merges all our photos into one so we can work on it as a single image. 

Now, with that new layer selected, go to Filter > Texture > Grain and select Vertical from the Grain Type drop-down menu. Set the Intensity to 3 and the Contrast to 5, or experiment and adjust to your liking.

applying grain filter

Step 2

Place the texture image and drag the top and bottom handles so it fills the whole canvas; it will cover up the background photo for now. 

Use the Blur Tool at a large size, around 300 px with a Strength of 50%, to smooth out and de-emphasize the middle, lighter portion of the texture image. 

Then switch to the Burn Tool, with a brush size of about 150, setting the Range to Midtones and the Exposure to 40% (Protect Tones should be selected). Brush around the edges of the image toward the center to extend the vignetting (or the shadowed, darker areas around the edges) in a little further. You should end up with something like this:

using blur tool and burn tool

Step 3

The purpose of this texture is to darken up the whole photograph a bit and add a more shadowed look. This will help our white typography stand out more. So as a final touch, we’re going to reduce the brightness and contrast before we overlay it on our photo with blending options. 

Go to the Adjustment panel and select Brightness/Contrast. Reduce the Brightness to about -60 and the Contrast to about -50. As you can see, this evens out and darkens the whole texture, which is just what we want.

adjusting texture brightness and contrast

Step 4

Finally, go to Layer > Layer Style > Blending Options. Select Hard Light as the Blend Mode.

texture blending options

And there you have it: a dark and mysterious backdrop for your film noir title card. Now, on to the typography!

4. How to Create Vintage-Style Typography

When designing to reference a particular era, one of the best ways to visually establish a time period is through your typeface choices. The ones I’ve chosen for this tutorial are all based on or copied from styles used in the early- to mid-1900s.

Some good places to look for free retro or vintage fonts are Font Squirrel’s Retro and Historical categories (free for any use), 1001 Fonts’ Decade and Yesteryear categories (free for either personal or commercial use), and Lost Type Co-Op (free/pay-what-you-want for personal use).

Step 1

First, we need to place our text before applying a 3D effect. There are two ways you can approach this part: 

  1. If you’re using Photoshop CS6 or CC, you can place your text straight in Photoshop and use the 3D Extrusion functionality. 
  2. If you’re using an earlier version of Photoshop or just prefer to work with type in Illustrator as I do, Illustrator has its own set of easy-to-use 3D tools.

I’ll be demonstrating the Illustrator method so anyone can follow along. To start, open a new document in Illustrator the same size as your Photoshop document (1000 x 750 px). Take a screenshot of your background in Photoshop or save it as a file and place it in your Illustrator document—this will just be for reference in placing the typography.

Step 2

In Illustrator, lock the layer your background image is in and create a new layer. In the new layer, type out your movie title in the blank space where the sky is. If you’re following along with this design:

Each portion of text is staggered across the page to better fill up the length of the artboard.

placing title in Illustrator

Step 3

If you like, add a few finishing touches, like quotation marks around the title. You can find a font that comes with chunky marks (I used Anchor Jack) or draw your own with the Pen Tool

You can also add some text at the bottom to balance out the composition. Some common features for title cards were an author name if the film was based on a book or short story, the name of the movie studio or producer (e.g. A Paramount Pictures Production), or a copyright statement.

typesetting in Illustrator

5. How to Add a 3D Effect to Your Text in Illustrator

Step 1

Select all the parts of your title, including quotation marks if you have them. Ignore any secondary text for now. Go to Effects > 3D > Extrude & Bevel. In the window that pops up, select the Preview checkbox on the right. By clicking and dragging the cube in the middle of the window, you can manipulate the tilt and rotation of your title. You can see the settings I ended up with below:

3D extrude effect

You can also experiment with the Extrude Depth, which has the biggest effect on how 3D your letters look: the bigger the number, the farther your letters will stretch back into space. I settled on a depth of 38.

Step 2

For even more control over the appearance of your title, click the More Options button on the right. There, you’ll find options for adjusting the lighting on your 3D objects, which will help them look more dramatic and realistic. 

You can add more light sources by clicking the New Light button (the middle option beneath the sphere) and change their locations by dragging around the white dots on the sphere, which represent the light sources. As long as Preview is selected, you’ll be able to observe the effects of these settings on your work.

3D text effect

Have fun experimenting until you get a result you like. You can always just close out of the window and start over if things get out of hand.

Step 3

Use the same Extrude & Bevel options to give any secondary text a subtler 3D effect, more like a shadow than full-on 3D.

3D text shadow

Before leaving Illustrator, copy all your text by dragging your cursor to surround the artboard and hitting Command/Control-C.

6. How to Texturize Your Typography in Photoshop

Step 1

Switch over to your existing Photoshop document. Hit Command/Control-V to paste your typography, and in the Paste As window that pops up, select Smart Object and hit OK. Resize and reposition if needed.

Step 2

First we want to soften the typography a bit, making it a little less sharp-edged and digital-looking. With your new Vector Smart Object layer that has your text in it selected, hit Command/Control-J to make a copy of it. Click over to that copied layer and drag it below your original text layer.

Go to Filter > Blur > Radial Blur and set the Amount to 30 and the Blur Method to Zoom; hit OK. 

applying radial blur

Step 3

Go back to the Layers panel and reduce the Opacity of the blurred layer to 40%. This process adds a little blur and an almost glowing effect, similar to the quality you see in old films.

reducing layer opacity

Step 4

As a final touch, we’ll add some texture to the typography. Place the film grain texture file and size it to fill your whole canvas. Now go to Layer > Create Clipping Mask. This will clip the texture to the layer below it (our typography layer). It will look a little funny until we apply blending options in the next step.

applying clipping mask to texture

Step 5

Go to Layer > Layer Styles > Blending Options. Select Overlay as the Blend Mode and reduce the Opacity to 45%. You’ll see the gray edges of the letters now have a nice, grainy texture.

texture blending options

Step 6

With the film grain texture layer still selected, go to Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast and click the button at the bottom of the window that looks like two overlapping circles. This will apply the adjustments to only your selected layer rather than the whole document. Change the Brightness to -15 and the Contrast to 35 to give the texture more contrast.

adjusting texture contrast

Good work! Here's our finished title card:

film noir title card

And an up-close view of the typography:

film noir typography final

And That's a Wrap

I hope you’ve had fun exploring the classic typographic style of film noir—and have picked up some good techniques for doing some basic photo manipulation, texturing, and 3D typography. As always, feel free to share how your project turned out or ask questions in the comments section. Happy designing!

film noir title card display
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.