Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Global Influences
Design

Wie man ein traditionelles rumänisches folk inspiriertes Muster in Adobe Illustrator erstellt

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Das heutige Tutorial ist ein bisschen speziell, da ich Ihnen zeigen werde, wie man etwas baut, basierend auf einem traditionellen handgenähten rumänischen Dekorationsmuster.

Das Tutorial selbst verwendet das Rectangle-Tool in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Pixel-Vorschau-Modus, um ein personalisiertes Lesezeichen zu erstellen, das Sie später ausdrucken und verwenden.

Über Geschichte und Kultur

Bevor wir beginnen, möchte ich Ihnen ein wenig über die Geschichte des Kunstwerks erzählen, das wir reproduzieren werden.

Als eine Person rumänischer Nationalität wurden die frühen Jahre meines Lebens immer irgendwie in die traditionelle Handwerkskunst eingezogen.

Meine Mutter, eine Designerin für Damenbekleidung, war schon immer sehr daran interessiert, Elemente aus verschiedenen Regionen des Landes zu verwenden.

Mein Vater, der in einem kleinen Dorf geboren wurde, wollte immer, dass ich sehe, wie sich das Leben auf dem Land im Vergleich zu den Großstädten verändert. So hat er mir bei seiner Suche Dinge gezeigt, die zu seinem Teil der Familie gehörten: Kleidung Teppiche und Sandalen, die handgefertigt waren und völlig anders waren als heute.

Obwohl ich mir nicht vorstellen konnte, solche Sachen zu tragen, war ich immer fasziniert von den komplizierten Mustern, die die älteren Frauen von Hand in die Stoffe nähten, die von ganzen Familienmitgliedern getragen wurden, Muster, die später Symbole für die verschiedenen rumänischen Verwaltungsstrukturen wurden Regionen.

Aus historischer Sicht haben Archäologen Stücke solcher dekorativer Kunst vor über 6000 Jahren gefunden, die Licht auf das werfen, was heute als ein wichtiger Teil des Lebens, der Mentalität und des Glaubens der Menschen, die während dieser Zeit lebten, betrachtet wurde.

Durch diese Linien haben Rumänen eine Kunst geschaffen, die sich heute in ein wichtiges touristisches Element verwandelt hat, mit Tausenden von Menschen aus der ganzen Welt, die durch die Flure von Dimitrie Gustis Nationalem Dorfmuseum gehen, um einen Blick auf seine Schönheit zu werfen.

Romanian traditional pattern painted eggs

Das Muster, das ich zum Nachbauen ausgewählt habe, stammt aus der Grafschaft Muscle in der Region Muntenia und wurde hauptsächlich im 19. Jahrhundert verwendet. Der Stil, der in dieser Region verwendet wurde, basierte stark auf geraden Linien, die geometrische Motive bilden, und dunkleren, kühleren Farben (schwarz, rot und später auf lila und grün).

Es ist erwähnenswert, dass je nach Alter der Person, die den Stoff tragen sollte, die Muster und Farben so angepasst wurden, dass dieser soziale Indikator durch sie reflektiert werden konnte. Jüngere Menschen hätten hellere Farben und weniger raffinierte Muster, während der Ältere dunklere, kompliziertere tragen würde.

Das Segment, das ich nahm, wurde von meiner eigenen Hand leicht angepasst, um ihm einen letzten Schliff zu geben, da ich das Gefühl hatte, dass das Muster Abgrenzungsabschnitte für die oberen und unteren Abschnitte benötigte.

Jetzt gebe ich Schritt für Schritt einen Prozess, bei dem dieses Muster mit einigen grundlegenden Werkzeugen und Funktionen in Adobe Illustrator neu erstellt wird.

1. Einrichten des Dokuments

Wenn Sie bereits Illustrator aktiviert haben, erstellen Sie ein neues Dokument (Datei > Neu) mit den folgenden Einstellungen:

  • Anzahl der Zeichenflächen: 1
  • Breite: 120 px (1,67 in)
  • Höhe: 600 px (8.33 in)
  • Einheiten: Pixel

Und von der Registerkarte Erweitert:

  • Farbmodus: CMYK
  • Rastereffekte: Hoch (300 ppi)
  • Neue Objekte zum Pixelraster ausrichten: aktiviert
setting up a new document

Wow, warte eine Sekunde. Habe ich gerade ein Dokument erstellt, das gedruckt werden soll, und die Einheiten auf Pixel setzen? Ja, genau das habe ich getan. Warum fragst du dich vielleicht? Nun, weil das Muster, das wir erstellen werden, auf quadratischen Formen basiert, die einfacher zu positionieren sind, sobald wir den Pixel-Vorschau-Modus nutzen. Außerdem habe ich die Abmessungen meines Zeichenbretts bereits von Zoll zu px konvertiert.

2. Einrichten unserer Schichten

Gehen Sie zum Ebenenbedienfeld und erstellen Sie zwei Ebenen, indem Sie sie wie folgt benennen:

  1. Name
  2. Muster
layering our document

3. Erstellen des Musters

Sobald wir unser Dokument eingerichtet und in Schichten angeordnet haben, können wir damit beginnen, das eigentliche Muster zu erstellen.

Schritt 1

Positionieren Sie sich auf der Musterebene, stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die andere sperren, und erstellen Sie ein 4 x 4 Quadrat, das wir rot färben werden (#E94849). Wählen Sie im Bedienfeld Transformieren das Objekt aus, das Sie mit den folgenden Koordinaten erstellt haben, und platzieren Sie es:

  • X: 60 px
  • Y: 524 px
positioning our patterns base element

Schritt 2

Rufen Sie den Pixelvorschau-Modus auf, indem Sie zu Ansicht > Pixelvorschau (Alt-Strg-Y) gehen und dann unser kleines Quadrat vergrößern.

Jetzt kommt der schwierige Teil. Da das Muster selbst aus einer ziemlich großen Anzahl einzelner Quadrate besteht, müssen wir eine Basisreihe dieser Objekte erstellen, die wir kopieren und einfügen werden, wobei wir jede doppelte Reihe näher an die Spitze positionieren. Während wir uns nach oben bewegen, werde ich Ihnen genau sagen, welche Quadrate Sie entfernen müssen, um das Muster richtig zu machen.

Wählen Sie also unser ursprüngliches Quadrat und erstellen Sie sieben Kopien links und sieben weitere rechts, indem Sie bei gedrückter Alt-Taste nach links oder rechts ziehen. Sobald Sie alle 15 Objekte haben, wählen Sie sie aus und kopieren Sie sie in die Zwischenablage (Control-C).

creating the base row of elements for the pattern

Schritt 3

Bevor wir unsere zweite Reihe schaffen, müssen wir das dritte Quadrat von links und das dritte von rechts und das siebte von beiden Seiten entfernen. Wählen Sie sie einfach aus und drücken Sie Löschen.

adjusting the first row of the pattern

Schritt 4

Erstellen Sie die zweite Zeile, indem Sie einfach (Strg-V) einfügen und über die erste Zeile ziehen.

creating the patterns second row of elements

Schritt 5

Passe die Kopie an, indem du das zweite und vierte Quadrat von jeder Seite und die drei in der Mitte entfernst.

adjusting the second row of the pattern

Schritt 6

Erstellen Sie die dritte doppelte Zeile, indem Sie den gleichen Prozess des Einfügens aus der Zwischenablage (Control-V) verwenden, und entfernen Sie dann das dritte und fünfte Quadrat von jeder Seite.

adjusting the third row of the pattern

Schritt 7

In Zeile 4 löschen Sie das vierte und die sechs Quadrate.

adjusting the fourth row of the pattern

Schritt 8

Für die fünfte Reihe müssen wir die Quadrate fünf und sieben entfernen.

adjusting the fifth row of the pattern

Schritt 9

In Reihe sechs müssen wir das Quadrat Nummer zwei, drei und sechs von jeder Seite und das in der Mitte löschen.

adjusting the sixth row of the pattern

Schritt 10

Sobald Sie die siebte Zeile erstellt haben, löschen Sie die dritten und siebten Quadrate von der linken und rechten Seite.

adjusting the seventh row of the pattern

Schritt 11

Wie Sie sehen können, nimmt unser Muster langsam aber sicher Form an und erzeugt wiederholbare Sprünge in der Positionierung unserer kleinen Quadrate. Da wir an dieser Stelle einen größeren Abschnitt haben, mit dem wir unseren Prozess vereinfachen können, kopieren wir einfach (Control-C) alles, was wir bis zu diesem Punkt erstellt haben, fügen es ein (Control-F) und kippen dann das Objekte horizontal (Rechtsklick > Transformieren > Reflektieren > Horizontal) und stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie sie über die Nummer sieben (die letzte, die wir erstellt haben) bewegen.

duplicating the bottom start section of our pattern

Schritt 12

Sobald unser erster großer Abschnitt des Musters erstellt ist, können wir ihn gruppieren (Control-G) und ihn dann duplizieren, indem Sie bei gedrückter Alt-Taste die Kopie mit nur einer Zeile nach unten (4px) zum Original positionieren, so dass der Die obere Reihe des Originals geht unter die untere Reihe des Duplikats (ich habe die Überlagerung mit einem roten halbtransparenten Rechteck markiert).

Wir tun das, weil die mittlere Dekoration des Musters Quadrate sind, die uns zwingt, die Kopien zu überlagern, um sie richtig zu machen.

duplicating the base section of the pattern

Schritt 13

Nachdem Sie unseren unteren Teil des Musters erstellt haben, selektieren und gruppieren Sie seine Elemente (Control-G) und erstellen Sie dann eine Kopie (Strg-C> Strg-F) und positionieren Sie sie mit folgenden Koordinaten nach oben auf unserem Zeichenbrett:

positioning the top section of our pattern

Ihre Abbildung sollte in etwa so aussehen.

basic pattern look

Schritt 14

Da der obere Teil unseres Musters länger ist als der untere, müssen wir den gleichen Duplizierungstrick wiederholen, während Sie die Alt-Taste gedrückt halten. Drücken Sie dann einmal die Taste Control-D (Wiederholung), um zwei weitere Kopien zu erstellen die Kopien in etwas dunkleren Schattierungen, damit Sie sie besser sehen können).

creating the taller top section pattern

Du solltest jetzt so etwas haben.

pattern almost finished

Schritt 15

Sobald wir das Muster erstellt haben, müssen wir einige Feinschliffe hinzufügen, damit es attraktiver aussieht. Das erste, was wir tun müssen, ist auf die Seitenstreifenmuster zu achten.

Erstellen Sie mit dem Rechteck-Werkzeug (M) ein kleineres 2 x 2 px großes Quadrat, färben Sie es mit der gleichen roten Tönung (#E94849) und positionieren Sie es dann in einem Abstand von 4 px auf die untere linke Seite unseres unteren Musterabschnitts.

creating the base element for the side pattern

Schritt 16

Erstellen Sie ein weiteres 2 x 2 px großes Quadrat und positionieren Sie es in der oberen rechten Ecke der zuvor erstellten Form.

creating the second element for the side pattern

Schritt 17

Erstellen Sie ein etwas größeres Rechteck von 4 x 2 px, und richten Sie es mithilfe des Ausrichtungsbedienfelds an der unteren linken Seite des unteren kleineren Quadrats aus.

positioning the third element of the side pattern

Schritt 18

Passen Sie die zuvor erstellte Form an, indem Sie darauf doppelklicken, um in den Isolationsmodus zu gelangen (Rechtsklick > Ausgewählten Pfad isolieren), und wählen Sie mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A) die rechten Ankerpunkte aus und verschieben Sie sie um 2 px nach oben.

Wenn Sie Pixel Preview ausschalten, sollten Sie etwas ähnliches haben.

basic preview of the side pattern element

Kurzer Tipp: Versuchen Sie, sich daran zu gewöhnen, den Pixel-Vorschau-Modus ein- und auszublenden (Alt-Strg-Y), da er Ihnen hilft, mit höherer Genauigkeit zu entwerfen, da Sie genau sehen können, welchen Platz Ihre Formen einnehmen.

Schritt 19

Gruppieren Sie die zuvor erstellten drei Objekte und erstellen Sie dann eine Kopie und positionieren Sie sie im oberen Bereich des mittleren größeren Musters.

positioning the two elements for the side pattern blend

Schritt 20

Wählen Sie die oberen und unteren Elemente aus, und erstellen Sie dann eine Überblendung zwischen ihnen, um den leeren Bereich zu füllen, indem Sie zu Objekt > Überblenden > Überblendungsoptionen gehen. Hier sehen Sie ein Pop-up, in dem Sie gefragt werden, welche Art von Mischung Sie machen möchten. Wir müssen es auf Angegebene Schritte setzen und 23 in das Werteingabefeld eingeben.

setting up the blend for the side pattern

Tipp: Wenn Sie noch nie mit Mischungen gearbeitet haben, sollten Sie jetzt, nachdem Sie die Mischoptionen eingestellt haben, noch einmal zum Menü Objekt > Mischen wechseln und Make auswählen, damit die Mischung Gestalt annimmt.

side pattern finished using blend tool

Schritt 21

Da es sich bei der Überblendung tatsächlich um eine Linie handelt, müssen Sie sie erweitern, indem Sie in der Popup-Liste auf Objekt > Erweitern klicken und sowohl Objekt als auch Füllung prüfen.

Dieser Schritt ist nicht obligatorisch, sondern eher eine persönliche Vorliebe, da ich es immer bevorzuge, alle Elemente als Objekte einzurichten.

expanding the side pattern blend

Schritt 22

Kopieren Sie das linke Seitenmuster rechts von unserem mittleren größeren und positionieren Sie es im gleichen Abstand von 2 px.

positioning the right side pattern

Schritt 23

Beenden Sie den unteren Abschnitt unseres Musters, indem Sie zwei 4 x 100 px Linien auf jeder Seite des Zickzackmusters hinzufügen, indem Sie 2 px davon positionieren.

bottom pattern section finished

Schritt 24

Kopiere das untere Element des Seiten-Zickzack-Musters und erstelle zwei Kopien, die wir dann auf die untere und obere Seite der längeren Dekoration ausrichten.

positioning the blend elements for the top section side pattern

Schritt 25

Wählen Sie sowohl die oberen als auch die unteren Objekte aus und erstellen Sie dann eine andere Überblendung, aber verwenden Sie diesmal 71 für die angegebenen Schritte. Machen Sie die Überblendung, erweitern Sie sie und erstellen Sie anschließend ein Duplikat und positionieren Sie es auf der rechten Seite des mittleren Musters.

top pattern section wide side patterns

Schritt 26

Fügen Sie zwei 4 x 292 px Linien auf jeder Seite hinzu, so dass unser Design ein Gefühl der Kontinuität behält.

patterns finished

Schritt 27

Da unser Muster vollständig ist, müssen wir den oberen, mittleren und unteren Teil hinzufügen. Rufen Sie den Pixelvorschau-Modus auf und erstellen Sie mit dem Rechteck-Werkzeug (M) ein 92 x 4 Pixel großes Objekt und positionieren Sie es mit dem Ausrichten-Bedienfeld in einem Abstand von 4 Pixel zum oberen Rand des Musters.

positioning the first element of the top section delimiter

Schritt 28

Fügen Sie ein etwas kleineres 84 x 2 px großes Objekt hinzu und positionieren Sie es um 2 px vom vorherigen Objekt.

positioning the second element of the top section delimiter

Schritt 29

Erstellen Sie ein Rautenmuster, indem Sie acht kleinere 4 x 4 px große Quadrate zeichnen, die in einem Winkel von 45° gedreht werden (wählen > Rechtsklick > Transformieren > Drehen > 45) und dann in einen linken und rechten Abschnitt gruppieren und die inneren Elemente positionieren in einer Entfernung von 2 px voneinander. Fügen Sie ein größeres Quadrat von 8 x 8 px hinzu, drehen Sie es genauso wie bei den kleineren und zentrieren Sie es dann horizontal und vertikal mit den beiden Gruppen. Wählen Sie alle neun rautenförmigen Objekte aus und achten Sie darauf, sie um 2 px von der nächsten Linie unter ihnen zu entfernen.

positioning the diamond shaped objects

Kurztipp: Ihnen ist vielleicht aufgefallen, dass die gedrehten Objekte nach dem Aufrufen des Pixelvorschau-Modus alle verschwommen wirken. Das liegt daran, dass ihre Ankerpunkte aufgrund des Rotationsprozesses nicht mehr in das Pixelraster einrasten. Um dies zu beheben, isolieren Sie sie einfach, und verwenden Sie das Direktauswahl-Werkzeug, um jeden Anker auszuwählen und an seinen nächsten Gitterschnittpunkt zu verschieben.

adjusting the diamond shaped objects

Schritt 30

Wähle die beiden unteren Linien unter dem Rautenmuster aus, kopiere sie (Strg-C) und füge sie dann ein (Strg-F). Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie das Duplikat an die Spitze der Rauten verschieben und horizontal spiegeln (Rechtsklick > Reflektieren > Horizontal). Sobald Sie dies getan haben, wählen Sie die oberen und unteren Linien und das innere Rautenmuster und gruppieren sie alle zusammen (Control-G).

top section delimiter finished

Schritt 31

Erstellen Sie eine Kopie der zuvor gruppierten Objekte (Control-C > Control-F) und positionieren Sie sie unter dem unteren Abschnitt in einem Abstand von 4 px.

positioning the bottom section delimiter

Schritt 32

Bewegen Sie sich in Richtung des mittleren Abschnitts, der zwischen den beiden Abschnitten unseres dekorativen Musters bleibt, und erstellen Sie zwei Rechtecke mit den Maßen 92 x 2 Pixel, wobei Sie 4 px vom oberen und unteren Musterabschnitt positionieren.

positioning the smaller name delimiters

Schritt 33

Fügen Sie zwei weitere Rechtecke mit den Maßen 92 x 4 px hinzu und positionieren Sie jeweils 2 px von den zuvor erstellten.

positioning the taller name delimiters

Schritt 34

Wählen Sie mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A) eines der größeren rautenförmigen Objekte aus und kopieren (Strg-C), richten Sie eine Kopie links und rechts neben den soeben erstellten Liniensegmenten aus und zentrieren Sie diese sowohl horizontal als auch vertikal.

positioning the diamond shaped objects onto the name zone

An diesem Punkt ist unsere Illustration fast fertig. Alles, was wir tun müssen, ist den Namen (Ihren eigenen Namen) mit unserer speziell ausgewählten Schriftart hinzufügen, und wir sind gut zu gehen.

illustration without name applied

4. Hinzufügen einer benutzerdefinierten Touch zu unserem traditionellen Lesezeichen

Da das Projekt darauf abzielt, etwas Persönliches zu schaffen, das jeder von Ihnen als praktisches Instrument nutzen kann, besteht der letzte Schritt unseres Prozesses darin, Ihren Namen auf das Gesicht des Lesezeichens zu setzen. Ich habe sorgfältig eine benutzerdefinierte Schriftart ausgewählt, die Sie herunterladen und installieren müssen, um dieses kleine Projekt zu beenden.

Der Name der Schriftart ist ArhaicRegular und kann von dafont.com heruntergeladen werden.

Angenommen, Sie haben die Schrift auf Ihren Computer geladen, entsperren Sie die Namensebene und klicken Sie mit dem Textwerkzeug (T) auf eine beliebige Stelle, um mit dem Schreiben zu beginnen. Geben Sie Ihren eigenen Namen ein und ändern Sie die Schriftart in ArhaicRegular, indem Sie die Schriftgröße auf 14 pt setzen. Wählen Sie den Text aus und richten Sie ihn mit den Optionen des oberen Absatzes auf die Mitte aus. Ändern Sie die Farbe in #6B6B6B.

Zuletzt positioniere den Text zwischen den zwei Liniengruppen (die mit den rautenförmigen Objekten auf jeder Seite).

type settings

Drucken!

Das ist es! Wenn Sie das Tutorial Schritt für Schritt befolgt haben, sollten Sie jetzt ein eindeutiges Lesezeichen für den Druck bereithalten. Sie haben auch etwas über die Ursprünge dieser traditionellen rumänischen dekorativen Kunst und den Prozess, der mit Adobe Illustrator erstellt wurde, gelernt.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Global Influences
Design

How to Create a Traditional Romanian Folk Inspired Pattern in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Today’s tutorial is a little bit special, as I am going to show you how to build something based on a traditional hand-sewed Romanian decorative pattern.

The tutorial itself will rely on using the Rectangle Tool in collaboration with the Pixel Preview Mode in order to create a personalized bookmark, that you later print and use.

On History and Culture

Before we begin, I want to tell you a little about the history of the artwork that we are going to reproduce. 

As a person of Romanian nationality, the early years of my life have always been somehow drawn into what is considered traditional handmade art. 

My mother, who is a women’s clothing designer, has always been keen on using elements inspired from different regions of the country. 

My father, who was born in a small village, had always wanted me to see how life twists and flows differently in the countryside compared to the big cities, so in his quest he showed me things that belonged to his part of the family: clothes, carpets and sandals that were handmade and completely different from what you would wear today. 

Even though I wouldn’t have imagined myself wearing such items, I was always intrigued by the intricate patterns that the older women would hand-sew into the fabrics that were worn by entire family members, patterns that later became symbols for the different Romanian administrative regions.

From a historical point of view, archaeologists have found pieces of such decorative art dating from over 6,000 years ago, casting light on what is now considered an important part of the life, mentality, and beliefs of the people that lived during that period. 

Through these lines, Romanians have crafted an art that has been transformed today into an important touristic element, with thousands of people from all over the world passing through the hallways of Dimitrie Gusti’s National Village Museum in order to have a glimpse of its beauty.

Romanian traditional pattern painted eggs

The pattern that I have selected to recreate comes from the county of Muscel, located in the Muntenia Region, and was mostly used in the 19th century. The style that was used in that region was based heavily on straight lines that form geometric motifs, and darker, cooler colors (black, red, and later on purple and green). 

It is worth mentioning that depending on the age of the person that was intended to wear the cloth, the patterns and colors were adapted so that this social indicator could be reflected through them. Younger people would have brighter colors, and less sophisticated patterns, while the elder would wear darker, more complicated ones.

The segment I took was slightly adapted by my own hand in order to give it a finishing touch, as I felt that the pattern needed delimiting sections for both its top and bottom sections.

Now I'll give a step by step process of recreating this pattern by using some basic tools and functions in Adobe Illustrator.

1. Setting Up the Document

Assuming you’ve already powered up Illustrator, create a New Document (File > New) with the following settings:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 120 px (1.67 in)
  • Height: 600 px (8.33 in)
  • Units: Pixels

And from the Advanced tab:

  • Color Mode: CMYK
  • Raster Effects: High (300 ppi)
  • Align New Objects to Pixel Grid: checked
setting up a new document

Wow, wait a second. Did I just create a document intended to be printed and set the Units to pixels? Yup, I did just that. Why, you may wonder? Well, because the pattern we are going to build is based on square shapes, which are easier to position once we take advantage of the Pixel Preview mode. Also, I’ve already converted my Artboard’s dimensions from inches to px, so don’t worry about sizing problems once printed.

2. Setting Up Our Layers

Go to the Layers panel and create two layers, naming them as follows:

  1. name
  2. pattern
layering our document

3. Creating the Pattern

Once we’ve set up our document and layered it, we can start building the actual pattern.

Step 1

Position yourself on the pattern layer, making sure to lock the other one, and create a 4 x 4 square which we will color red (#E94849). Using the Transform panel, select and then place the object we’ve just created using these coordinates:

  • X: 60 px
  • Y: 524 px
positioning our patterns base element

Step 2

Enter Pixel Preview mode, by going to View > Pixel Preview (Alt-Control-Y), and then zoom in on our little square. 

Now comes the tricky part. Because the pattern itself is composed of a fairly large number of individual squares, we will have to create a base row of these objects, which we will copy and paste, positioning each duplicate row closer to the top. As we make our way up, I will tell you exactly which squares you need to remove in order to get the pattern right.

So select our original square, and create seven copies to the left and another seven to the right, by dragging to the left or right while holding down Alt. Once you have all 15 objects, select them, and then copy them to the Clipboard (Control-C).

creating the base row of elements for the pattern

Step 3

Before we create our second row, we need to get rid of the third square from the left, and the third from the right, and the seventh one from both sides. Simply select them and hit Delete.

adjusting the first row of the pattern

Step 4

Create the second row by simply pasting (Control-V) and moving it on top of the first one.

creating the patterns second row of elements

Step 5

Adjust the copy by removing the second and fourth squares from each side, and the three in the middle.

adjusting the second row of the pattern

Step 6

Create the third duplicate row by using the same process of pasting from the Clipboard (Control-V), and then remove the third and fifth squares off each side.

adjusting the third row of the pattern

Step 7

On row four, delete the fourth and six squares.

adjusting the fourth row of the pattern

Step 8

For row five, we need to get rid of squares five and seven.

adjusting the fifth row of the pattern

Step 9

On row six, we need to delete square number two, three and six from each side and the one in the middle.

adjusting the sixth row of the pattern

Step 10

Once you have created the seventh row, delete the third and seventh squares off both the left and right side.

adjusting the seventh row of the pattern

Step 11

As you can see, our pattern is slowly but surely taking shape, creating repeatable jumps in the positioning of our little squares. Because at this point we have a larger section that we can use to simplify our process, we will simply copy (Control-C) everything that we have created until this point, paste it in place (Control-F), and then flip the objects horizontally (right click > Transform > Reflect > Horizontal), making sure to move them on top of row number seven (the last one we created).

duplicating the bottom start section of our pattern

Step 12

Once our first large section of the pattern is created, we can group it (Control-G) and then duplicate it by dragging while holding down Alt, positioning the copy with just one row down (4 px) towards the original, so that the original’s top row goes under the duplicate’s bottom row (I’ve marked the overlay using a red semi-transparent rectangle).

We do this because the pattern’s middle decoration are squares, which forces us to overlay the copies to get them right.

duplicating the base section of the pattern

Step 13

Having created our bottom section of the pattern, select and group its elements (Control-G) and then make a copy (Control-C > Control-F) and position it towards the top of our Artboard using these coordinates:

positioning the top section of our pattern

Your illustration should look something like this.

basic pattern look

Step 14

Because the top part of our pattern is longer than the one at the bottom, we need to repeat the same trick of duplicating while holding down Alt, and then press Control-D (repeat) once to create two more copies (I've colored the copies in slightly darker shades so you can see them better).

creating the taller top section pattern

You should now have something like this.

pattern almost finished

Step 15

Once we’ve created the pattern, we need to add some finishing touches so that it will look more attractive. The first thing we need to do is take care of the side stripe patterns.

Using the Rectangle Tool (M) create a smaller 2 x 2 px square, color it using the same red tint (#E94849) and then position it to the bottom-left side of our lower pattern section, at a distance of 4 px.

creating the base element for the side pattern

Step 16

Create another 2 x 2 px square, and position it towards the top-right side of our previously created shape.

creating the second element for the side pattern

Step 17

Create a slightly larger 4 x 2 px rectangle, aligning it to the bottom-left side of the bottom smaller square using the Align panel.

positioning the third element of the side pattern

Step 18

Adjust the previously created shape by double clicking on it to enter Isolation Mode (right click > Isolate Selected Path), and using the Direct Selection Tool (A) select its right side anchor points, moving them upwards by 2 px.

If you turn off Pixel Preview you should have something like this.

basic preview of the side pattern element

Quick tip: try to get used to going in and out (Alt-Control-Y) of Pixel Preview mode as it helps you design with higher accuracy, as you can see exactly what space your shapes occupy.

Step 19

Group the previously created three objects, and then create a copy and position it towards the top section of the center larger pattern.

positioning the two elements for the side pattern blend

Step 20

Select both the top and bottom elements, and then create a blend between them to fill in the blank space by going to Object > Blend > Blend Options. Here you will see a pop-up asking you what type of Blend you want to make. We need to set it to Specified Steps and enter 23 in the value input box.

setting up the blend for the side pattern

Quick tip: If you’ve never worked with blends, you should now that once you’ve set up the Blend Options you need to go to the Object > Blend menu one more time and select Make in order for the blend to take shape.

side pattern finished using blend tool

Step 21

Since the blend is actually a line, we need to expand it by selecting and then going to Object > Expand and checking both Object and Fill in the pop-up box.

This step isn’t mandatory but more like a personal preference, as I always prefer having all the elements set up as objects.

expanding the side pattern blend

Step 22

Copy the left side pattern to the right of our center larger one and position it at the same distance of 2 px.

positioning the right side pattern

Step 23

Finish off the bottom section of our pattern by adding two 4 x 100 px lines on each side of the zigzag patterns, positioning them 2 px from them.

bottom pattern section finished

Step 24

Copy the bottom element of the side zigzag pattern and create two copies, which we will then align to the bottom and top sides of the longer decoration.

positioning the blend elements for the top section side pattern

Step 25

Select both the top and bottom objects and then create another Blend, but this time use 71 for the Specified Steps. Make the blend, expand it and then create a duplicate and position it on the right side of the center pattern.

top pattern section wide side patterns

Step 26

Add two 4 x 292 px lines on each side so that our design keeps a sense of continuity.

patterns finished

Step 27

Seeing as our pattern is complete, we need to add the top, mid and bottom sections to it. Enter Pixel Preview mode, and using the Rectangle Tool (M) create a 92 x 4 px object and position it towards the top of our pattern, at a distance of 4 px using the Align panel.

positioning the first element of the top section delimiter

Step 28

Add a slightly smaller 84 x 2 px object, and position it 2 px from the previous one.

positioning the second element of the top section delimiter

Step 29

Create a diamond pattern by drawing eight smaller 4 x 4 px squares, which we will rotate at a 45° angle (select > right click > Transform > Rotate > 45), and then group into a left and right section, positioning the inner elements at a distance of 2 px from one another. Add one larger 8 x 8 px square, rotate it the same way we did with the smaller ones, and then center it both horizontally and vertically with the two groups. Select all nine diamond shaped objects, and make sure to distance them at 2 px from the nearest line underneath them.

positioning the diamond shaped objects

Quick tip: you might have noticed that once you enter Pixel Preview mode, the rotated objects seem all fuzzy. That’s because their anchor points aren’t snapping to the pixel grid any more due to the rotation process. To fix this, simply isolate them, and using the Direct Selection Tool select and move each anchor to its nearest grid intersection.

adjusting the diamond shaped objects

Step 30

Select the two bottom lines underneath the diamond pattern, and copy them (Control-C) and then paste them in place (Control-F). Make sure to move the duplicate towards the top of the diamond shapes, reflecting them horizontally (right click > Reflect > Horizontal). Once you’ve done this, select both the top and bottom lines and the inner diamond pattern and group them all together (Control-G).

top section delimiter finished

Step 31

Create a copy of the previously grouped objects (Control-C > Control-F) and position it just under the bottom section pattern at a distance of 4 px.

positioning the bottom section delimiter

Step 32

Move towards the middle section that stays between the two sections of our decorative pattern, and create two 92 x 2 px rectangles, positioning them 4 px from the top and bottom pattern sections.

positioning the smaller name delimiters

Step 33

Add another two 92 x 4 px rectangles, and position each one 2 px from the previously created ones.

positioning the taller name delimiters

Step 34

Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select and copy (Control-C) one of the larger diamond-shaped objects, aligning one copy to the left and another to the right of the line segments we just created, making sure to center them both horizontally and vertically.

positioning the diamond shaped objects onto the name zone

At this point our illustration is almost done. All we need to do is add the name (your own name) using our specially picked font, and we’re good to go.

illustration without name applied

4. Adding a Custom Touch to Our Traditional Bookmark

As the project revolves around creating something personal that each of you can use as a practical instrument, the last step of our process involves putting your name onto the face of the bookmark. I’ve carefully picked a custom font which you will need to download and install in order to finish this small project.

The name of the font is ArhaicRegular and it can be downloaded from dafont.com.

Assuming you’ve managed to load the font onto your machine, unlock the name layer, and using the Type Tool (T) click anywhere to start writing. Type in your own name, and then change the font to ArhaicRegular, setting the Font Size to 14 pt. Select the text and then align it to the center using the Paragraph top panel options, changing the color to #6B6B6B.

Lastly, position the text between the two line groups (the ones with the diamond-shaped objects on each side).

type settings

Print!

That’s it! If you’ve followed the tutorial step by step, you should now have a unique bookmark piece ready for printing. You've also learned something about the origins of this traditional Romanian decorative art, and the process involved in recreating it using Adobe Illustrator.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.