Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design
Design

Comment créer une illustration sur le the thème du printemps dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:

French (Français) translation by New Lune (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Un grand acteur a dit un jour: "Le printemps est la façon naturelle de dire que nous allons faire la fête." C'est tellement vrai —nous pouvons tous ressentir l'influence du printemps, surtout si vous êtes un artiste visuel. Dans une saison pleine de couleurs et de détails, il est presque impossible de rester sans inspiration. Commençons donc ce printemps avec une jolie illustration d'une jolie fille aux cheveux de fleurs.

Si vous cherchez à acheter une illustration similaire, vous pouvez trouver de nombreux personnages vectoriels plus de GraphicRiver.

1. Comment créer un nouveau document

Après avoir ouvert Adobe Illustrator, accédez à File > New (Control-N). Dans la boîte de dialogue, définissez le Profile sur le Web, le Width à 800 px et le Height à 900 px.

Create a new document

2. Comment créer une palette de couleurs

Avant de commencer à illustrer, prenons un moment pour définir une palette de couleurs. C'est l'une des étapes les plus importantes parce que la palette de couleurs nous donne l'atmosphère du thème et nous rapproche de l'humeur que nous essayons d'atteindre.

Dans ce cas, nous allons aller pour huit couleurs: trois sombre, trois moyens et deux tons clairs. J'ai décidé d'utiliser des tons pastels doux, mais vous pouvez aller avec les plus forts si c'est comme ça que vous vous sentez au printemps.

Create a color palette

3. Comment créer un personnage

Pour créer le personnage, nous utiliserons principalement le Pen Tool (P). Les débutants peuvent avoir besoin de temps pour s'habituer à cela, mais il vaut la peine de l'apprendre car une fois que vous maîtrisez, vous pouvez créer toutes sortes d'art vectoriel étonnant.

Étape 1

À l'aide du Pen Tool (P), créez une forme ovale. Ce sera le visage de notre personnage, alors essayez de faire des courbes lisses au fond de l'objet. La plupart du haut sera couvert de cheveux plus tard, donc il suffit de faire attention à la partie inférieure. Coloriez-le avec du #a67c52 de notre palette de couleurs.

Use the Pen Tool to create the head

Étape 2

Dessinez l'objet suivant: le corps. Parce que nous ne montrerons pas le personnage de la poitrine vers le bas, créez une forme de bouteille. Essayez de ne pas ajouter beaucoup de points d'ancrage afin que la forme semble lisse et élégante.

Use the Pen Tool to create the body

Étape 3

Afin de distinguer la tête du corps, nous devrons créer une sorte de frontière entre ces deux parties. Sélectionnez et Copiez (Control-C) la forme de la tête et la forme du corps et Collez-les à l'avant (Control-F).

Maintenant, déplacez la forme de la tête légèrement plus bas. Sélectionnez à nouveau les deux formes et utilisez la commande Intersect du panneau Pathfinder. Cela se traduira par une petite nouvelle forme qui servira d'ombre juste sous le menton. Coloriez-le de #754c24.

Use the Intersect Command of the Pathfinder panel to create a shadow

Étape 4

Les yeux sont la première chose que nous faisons en dessinant un visage. Pour rendre les choses plus faciles, nous allons créer un œil, puis le dupliquer. Créez une longue forme ovale et un autre qui se croisent avec elle. La deuxième forme doit indiquer où l'iris sera. Copiez et Collez en avant les deux formes ovales et utilisez la commande Intersect du panneau Pathfinder. Coloriez l'œil blanc et l'iris avec #754c24 brun.

Create the iris using the Intersect Command of the Pathfinder panel to create

Étape 5

Utilisez le Pen Tool (P) pour créer trois formes pointu que nous utiliserons comme cils. Placez-les dans un coin derrière l'œil.

Use the Pen Tool to draw the eye lashes

Étape 6

Faites une copie de l'objet de l'œil et placez les deux yeux sur la tête. Retournez les cils (Object > Transform > Reflect) de l'autre côté de l'œil droit. Coloriez-les avec #40333c, gris foncé.

Duplicte the eye and postion them on the head shape

Étape 7

Créez des formes simples pour ajouter des détails sur le visage comme les sourcils, le nez et la bouche. Ces formes simples ne doivent pas contenir plus de trois ou quatre points d'ancrage. Coloriez-les avec #754c24, brun foncé.

Use the Pen Tool to create the face detials

Étape 8

Il est temps d'ajouter des vêtements aussi, donc la création d'une simple chemise sans manches fera très bien. Utilisez le Pen tool pour faire un objet de chemise simple sur le corps. Ensuite, sélectionnez le corps et la chemise, copiez-les (Control-C) et collez en avant (Control-F). Ensuite, utilisez la commande Intersect du panneau Pathfinder. Coloriez la chemise en #dfa856, orange.

Use the Pen Tool and the Pathfinder Panel to create a shirt

Étape 9

Il est temps d'ajouter une belle coiffure bouclée. Utilisez le Pen Tool pour créer une ligne ondulée qui va dans un cercle et finalement se fermer dans une forme ronde.

Create a wavy hair in outline

Étape 10

Une fois que vous avez terminé de créer les cheveux, coloriez-le en #40333c, gris foncé. Sélectionnez-le et placez-le derrière tout le caractère (Objet > Arrange > Send Backward). Maintenant, pour couvrir le front, créez une autre forme ondulée qui va commencer à partir du plus haut point milieu de la tête et descendre en vagues en diagonale.

Use the Pen Tool to create bangs

Étape 11

Continuez à dessiner les bangs jusqu'à ce que vous avez fermé la ligne. Essayez de garder la symétrie tout en la créant. Coloriez-le de la même couleur que les cheveux, gris foncé: #40333c.

Cover the forehead with the bangs

Nous avons terminé avec la construction de ce personnage mignon. Maintenant, ajoutons quelques détails.

4. Comment créer des détails

Étape 1

Dessinez quelques fleurs, et essayez de faire au moins dix d'entre eux. J'ai fait quelques marguerites simples, tournesols, roses et tulipes. Si vous utilisez une tablette stylo, essayez d'utiliser une couleur gris clair afin que le dessin sera plus facile à suivre.

Sketch ten flowers

Étape 2

Utilisez le Pen Tool (P) et commencez à tracer les fleurs une par une. Essayez de le garder simple et ne soyez pas stressé sur le résultat parce que ces éléments floraux sont pour la décoration seulement. Toujours commencez avec les pétales et finissez avec le cercle du milieu. Une fois que vous avez terminé, utilisez des couleurs de notre palette de couleurs pour les colorier.

Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them

Étape 3

Passez aux fleurs suivantes dans le croquis. Encore une fois, commencez par les parties plus grandes et finissez par les détails. N'oubliez pas de supprimer le croquis une fois que vous avez terminé le traçage. Utilisez quelques-unes des belles couleurs que nous avons choisi de les colorier.

Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them
Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them

Étape 4

Continuez à tracer le reste des dessins de fleurs.

Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them
Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them

Étape 5

Une fois que vous avez terminé, Multipliez toutes les fleurs une fois. Changez les couleurs sur leurs copies. De cette façon, vous obtiendrez plus de diversité dans les couleurs, et l'œil humain les percevra comme des objets différents.

Duplicate the flowers and change their color

Étape 6

Comme détail final, dessinez un oiseau simple. À l'aide du Pen Tool (P), tracez d'abord les parties les plus grosses (corps, ailes et œil) puis les plus petites (bec et jambes). Lorsque vous avez terminé, utilisez certaines des couleurs plus lumineuses de notre palette de couleurs.

Sketch a bird trace and the color it

5. Comment organiser les détails

Étape 1

C'est la dernière étape de l'illustration. Commencez à ajouter les fleurs sur la surface des cheveux. Vous remarquerez comment les couleurs vives et chaudes vont bien au-dessus du fond sombre. Ajoutez l'oiseau, puis commencez à ajouter les fleurs.

Start adding the flowers over the hair

Étape 2

Continuez à ajouter les fleurs un par un. Faites attention à chacun d'entre eux et à l'espace dont il a besoin. Redimensionnez-les si nécessaire afin qu'ils s'adaptent bien dans la forme des cheveux. Le redimensionnement de celles-ci entraînera également une plus grande diversité dans l'illustration, alors n'hésitez pas à le faire.

Resume adding the flowers over the hair

Étape 3

Une fois que vous avez terminé d'ajouter les fleurs, prenez un moment pour observer toute la composition des cheveux. Déplacez certains d'entre eux afin que vous puissiez remplir certains des espaces vides.

Add all of the flowers over the hair

Étape 4

Dessinez quelques petits cercles et coloriez-les dans différentes couleurs de la palette de couleurs. Placez-les dans les zones vides des cheveux, entre les fleurs. Essayez de couvrir la plupart des lacunes notables dans la zone des cheveux.

Add colorfull circles as details between the flowers

Étape 5

Une fois que tout est fait, groupez (Control-G) le caractère entier et placez-la sur le plan de travail avec la partie inférieure légèrement hors de lui. Pour finir, ajoutez un rectangle simple derrière le caractère et colorez-le en #f1eac7.

Postion the image over the artboard and draw a simple rectangle as a background

Bon travail, vous êtes maintenant terminé!

Félicitations sur le (je l'espère) pas trop dur travail. Dans ce tutoriel nous avons créé un personnage mignon et minimaliste avec une caractéristique assez complexe: les cheveux. Lorsque la simplicité et la complexité se rencontrent, le résultat est généralement agréable parce que nous percevons l'image comme simple, mais nos yeux sont occupés à explorer les détails. En outre, nous avons utilisé le Pen Tool beaucoup et espérons maîtrisé ces points d'ancrage et les chemins. N'hésitez pas à partager vos résultats dans les commentaires ci-dessous.

Spring Girl
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design
Design

How to Create a Spring-Themed Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

A great actor once said, “Spring is nature's way of saying let's party.” This is so true—we can all feel spring’s influence, especially if you are a visual artist. In a season full of colors and details, it’s almost impossible to stay uninspired. So let’s start this spring with a nice illustration of a cute flower-haired girl.

If you're looking to purchase a similar illustration, you can find many vector characters over on GraphicRiver.

1. How to Create a New Document

After opening Adobe Illustrator, go to File > New (Control-N). In the dialog box, set the Profile to Web, the Width to 800 px, and the Height to 900 px.

Create a new document

2. How to Create a Color Palette 

Before we start illustrating, let’s take a moment to define a color palette. This is one of the most important steps because the color palette gives us the atmosphere of the theme and brings us closer to the mood we're trying to achieve. 

In this case, we’ll go for eight colors: three dark, three medium, and two light tones. I decided to use soft pastel tones, but you can go with stronger ones if that’s how you feel about spring.

Create a color palette

3. How to Create a Character 

To create the character, we will use mostly the Pen Tool (P). Beginners might need some time to get used to it, but it’s worth the time spent learning it because once you master it, you can create all sorts of amazing vector art.

Step 1

Using the Pen Tool (P), create an oval shape. This will be the face of our character, so try to make smooth curves at the bottom of the object. Most of the top will be covered with hair later on, so just pay attention to the lower part. Color it in #a67c52 from our color palette.

Use the Pen Tool to create the head

Step 2

Draw the next object: the body. Because we won’t show the character from the chest down, create a bottle-like shape. Try not to add many anchor points so the shape looks smooth and elegant.

Use the Pen Tool to create the body

Step 3

In order to distinguish the head from the body, we will need to create some sort of a border between those two parts. Select and Copy (Control-C) the head shape and the body shape and Paste Them in Front (Control-F)

Now, move the head shape slightly lower. Select both shapes again and use the Intersect command of the Pathfinder panel. This will result in a small new shape which will serve as a shadow right beneath the chin. Color it #754c24.

Use the Intersect Command of the Pathfinder panel to create a shadow

Step 4

The eyes are the first thing we do when drawing a face. To make things easier, we will create one eye and then duplicate it. Create a long oval shape and another one which will intersect with it. The second shape should indicate where the iris will be. Copy and Paste in Front the two oval shapes and use the Intersect command of the Pathfinder panel. Color the eye white and the iris #754c24 brown.

Create the iris using the Intersect Command of the Pathfinder panel to create

Step 5

Use the Pen Tool (P) to make three spiky shapes which we will use as eyelashes. Position them in a corner behind the eye.

Use the Pen Tool to draw the eye lashes

Step 6

Make a copy of the eye object and place both of the eyes on the head. Flip the eyelashes (Object > Transform > Reflect) on the other side of the right eye. Color them #40333c, dark grey.

Duplicte the eye and postion them on the head shape

Step 7

Create simple shapes to add details on the face such as eyebrows, nose, and mouth. These simple shapes should contain no more than three or four anchor points. Color them #754c24, dark brown.

Use the Pen Tool to create the face detials

Step 8

It is time to add some clothes too, so creating a simple sleeveless shirt will do just fine. Use the Pen Tool to make a simple shirt object over the body. Then Select both the body and shirt, Copy them (Control-C) and Paste in Front (Control-F). Then use the Intersect command of the Pathfinder panel. Color the shirt in #dfa856, orange.

Use the Pen Tool and the Pathfinder Panel to create a shirt

Step 9

It is time to add a nice curly hairstyle. Use the Pen Tool to create a wavy line which will go in a circle and eventually close in a round shape.

Create a wavy hair in outline

Step 10

Once you are done creating the hair, color it #40333c, dark grey. Select it and arrange it behind the whole character (Object > Arrange > Send Backward). Now to cover the forehead, create another wavy shape which will start from the highest middle point of the head and go down in waves diagonally.

Use the Pen Tool to create bangs

Step 11

Continue drawing the bangs until you've closed the line. Try to keep the symmetry while creating it. Color it in the same color as the hair, dark grey: #40333c.

Cover the forehead with the bangs

We are done with building this cute character. Now, let’s add some details.

4. How to Create Details

Step 1

Sketch some flowers, and try to make at least ten of them. I did some simple daisies, sunflowers, roses, and tulips. If you use a pen tablet, try using a light grey color so the sketch will be easier to trace. 

Sketch ten flowers

Step 2

Use the Pen Tool (P) and start tracing the flowers one by one. Try to keep it simple and don’t get stressed over the result because these floral elements are for decoration purposes only. Always start with the petals and finish with the middle circle. Once you are done, use colors from our color palette to color them.

Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them

Step 3

Move on to the next flowers in the sketch. Again, start with the bigger parts and end with the details. Don’t forget to delete the sketch once you are done tracing. Use some of the nice colors we chose to color them. 

Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them
Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them

Step 4

Keep tracing the rest of the flower drawings.

Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them
Use the Pen Tool to trace the flowers sketch and color them

Step 5

Once you are done, Multiply all the flowers once. Change the colors on their copies. This way you will get more diversity in colors, and the human eye will perceive them as different objects.

Duplicate the flowers and change their color

Step 6

As a final detail, sketch a simple bird. Using the Pen Tool (P), trace the bigger parts first (body, wings, and eye) and then the smaller ones (beak and legs). When you are done, use some of the brighter colors from our color palette.

Sketch a bird trace and the color it

5. How to Arrange the Details

Step 1

This is the final stage of the illustration. Start adding the flowers over the hair surface. You will notice how the bright, warm colors go well over the dark background. Add the bird, and then start adding the flowers.

Start adding the flowers over the hair

Step 2

Keep adding the flowers one by one. Pay attention to each one of them and the space it needs. Resize them if necessary so they will fit well in the hair shape. Resizing them will also result in more diversity in the illustration, so don’t hesitate to do that.

Resume adding the flowers over the hair

Step 3

Once you are done adding the flowers, take a moment to observe the whole hair composition. Move some of them so you can fill some of the empty spaces.

Add all of the flowers over the hair

Step 4

Draw a few small circles and color them in various colors from the color palette. Position them in the empty areas of the hair, between the flowers. Try to cover most of the noticeable gaps in the hair area. 

Add colorfull circles as details between the flowers

Step 5

Once it's all done, Group (Control-G) the whole character and place her on the artboard with the bottom part slightly out of it. As a final touch, add a simple rectangle behind the character and color it #f1eac7.

Postion the image over the artboard and draw a simple rectangle as a background

Great Work, You're Now Done!

Congrats on the (I hope) not too hard work. In this tutorial we created a cute, minimalistic character with quite a complex feature: the hair. When simplicity and complexity meet, the outcome is usually nice because we perceive the image as simple but our eyes are busy exploring the details. Also, we used the Pen Tool a lot and hopefully mastered those anchor points and paths. Feel free to share your results in the comments below. 

Spring Girl
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.