1. Design & Illustration
  2. Vehicles

如何在Adobe Illustrator中绘制一辆冲浪面包轿车的侧面图

by
Read Time:13 minsLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Clare Liu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

在这次教程肿,我将向你展示如何使用Adobe Illustrator肿最基本的形状和工具绘制一个多彩的冲浪面包车。

如果你想跳过本次教程,直接购买到不同修改版和颜色的结果图,请到GraphicRiver上我的旅行巴士作品集中获取。

Travel Van Bus CollectionTravel Van Bus CollectionTravel Van Bus Collection

1. 如何来新建一个文件

首先,我们需要新建一个文件文件>新建或者按Control/Command-N),设置如下:

  • 画板数:1
  • 宽:800
  • 高:600
  • 单位:像素

点开高级选项

  • 颜色模式:RGB
  • 光栅效果:屏幕
  • 预览模式:默认
  • 取消勾选将新对象对其到像素网格
Setting up new documentSetting up new documentSetting up new document

2. 如何绘制冲浪面包车的底座

步骤1

借助矩形工具(M),绘制一个红色#D0342C的,570 x 150 px大小的矩形,作为野营车的主体部分。

绘制完矩形之后,使用直接选择工具(A)选中右下方的锚点,按Enter 打开移动窗口。 水平位置值设为15 px垂直方向为0 px。 我们的锚点就移动到右边了。

Creating a base red shape for the bodyCreating a base red shape for the bodyCreating a base red shape for the body

步骤2

再绘制一个570 x 115 px 的矩形,颜色为#FFD633,把它放在红色形状的上方。 使用直接选择工具,选中右上角的锚点。 按Enter 再次打开移动窗口,设置水平位置值设为-50 px垂直方向为0 px。我们的锚点就移动到左边了。

对左上角的锚点也打开移动窗口。 设置水平位置值为30 px,垂直方向为0 px。我们的锚点就移动到右边了。

Making the yellow shape for the top van partMaking the yellow shape for the top van partMaking the yellow shape for the top van part

步骤3

再画一个矩形,大小为 490 x 25 px,颜色为黑色或者其他深色。 最后我们会重新给她涂成黄色作为汽车底座,但是这一步,最好还是让它的颜色凸显出来。

使用之前同样的方法,将右上角的锚点移到左边20 px,左上角的锚点移动5 px

Adding black shape for the roofAdding black shape for the roofAdding black shape for the roof

步骤4

使用直接选择工具选中黑色形状顶部的其中一个锚点。 在边角内部,你会看到一个实时转角部件。 轻轻抓住这个部件,拖动它,知道得到想要的结果。 拖动小部件让边角变圆。 对顶部另外一个锚点重复这个操作。

Rounding the corner of the roof shapeRounding the corner of the roof shapeRounding the corner of the roof shape

3. 如何使天窗和侧窗和后窗

现在我们来画天窗和窗户。 它们都将被放在面包车黄色部分的中间。

步骤1

绘制一个205 x 85 px的矩形,用#ABCFE7进行填充。 按住Shift同时选中这个矩形,以及面包车黄色大矩形。 再次在黄色对象点击一下(这一次,不要再按住Shift !) 黄色形状周围就会出现一个蓝色轮廓线。 在控制对齐面板内,对齐到所选对象就会被自动选中。

对齐面板内(窗口>对齐)或者控制面板,点击水平居右对齐,再点击垂直居中对齐。

Making the window and placing it to the van yellow partMaking the window and placing it to the van yellow partMaking the window and placing it to the van yellow part

步骤2

使用选择工具(V)选中我们上一步添加的窗户,按Enter键打开移动选项窗口。 设置水平位置值为-225 px垂直位置值为0 px,点击复制按钮。 现在我们有两个类似的矩形了。 这些将会是我们的挡风窗,还有主侧窗。

Copying the window for creating the second oneCopying the window for creating the second oneCopying the window for creating the second one

步骤3

绘制一个85 x 85 px的正方形。 按住Shift同时选中正方形和之前创建的窗户。 然后再次点击大窗户(记住这次不需要按住Shift)。 点击外观面板里面水平向右对齐,和垂直底对齐按钮。 然后使用移动窗口将矩形向左移动225 px

再次按Enter,复制一个正方形,把它向左移动到105 px。 这将是我们的后窗。 你可能会注意到窗户之间的距离是相等的,这样我们的面包车会看起来更整洁。 因此,这将有助于我们接下来绘制门。

Adding two squares for the side and rear windowsAdding two squares for the side and rear windowsAdding two squares for the side and rear windows

步骤4

将我们上一步绘制的正方形复制一个 (Control/Command-C > Control/Command-F),将它和侧边大窗户中央对齐,把它放在面包车的顶部,部分和黑色顶盖重叠。 这就是天窗。

Copying the square window and placing it to the topCopying the square window and placing it to the topCopying the square window and placing it to the top

步骤5

现在该给窗户添加细节了。 使用选择工具(V),按住Shift选中所有的窗户,打开对象>路径>偏移路径。 在偏移值内输入4 px。 设置填充色为#E3E3D4

Adding outlines for the windows with Offset PathAdding outlines for the windows with Offset PathAdding outlines for the windows with Offset Path

步骤6

我们来对位于主体形状外面的窗户部分进行裁剪。 同时选中交叉重叠的窗口,它们的框线,还有面包车相应的基础形状。 然后点击形状生成工具(Shift-M)。 按住Alt键,在靠近窗户不需要的部分点击和按住鼠标左边按钮,沿着突出的部分拖拽,将鼠标释放删掉它。 对所有有交叉重叠的窗户都重复此类操作。

Cutting of the outstanding window parts with Shape BuilderCutting of the outstanding window parts with Shape BuilderCutting of the outstanding window parts with Shape Builder

4. 如何绘制车轮,缓冲器和侧踏

我们开始来绘制汽车的底部。

步骤1

绘制一个255 x 8 px的圆角矩形,填充颜色为#DAD8CC。 通过外观面板,将矩形和中央的大窗户,以及红色底部形状对齐。 这只是其中一小步。

绘制两个颜色一样的矩形,大小为100 x 25 px,把它们和底部边缘对齐,每个矩形都延伸到面包车外10 px。 这些就是缓冲器。

然后绘制一个小一点的矩形,将它对齐前面缓冲器的左边和底部边缘,使用对象>排列>后移一层, 把它放在后面。 使用直接选择工具,选中缓冲器的交叉边角处。 使用实时转角工具,拉动圆形标记,使得边角变圆,设置边角半径大概为10 px

Creating narrow rectangles for the bumpersCreating narrow rectangles for the bumpersCreating narrow rectangles for the bumpers

步骤2

选择椭圆工具 (L),绘制一个105 x 105 px的圆,颜色为#4D4B4A,作为轮子。 在内部再画两个小圆:一个大小为70 x 70 px,颜色为#dad8cc,另一个大小为62 x 62 px ,没有填充,但是描边大小为2 px,颜色为#b2ba6

再给轮子添加更多的细节,在内部再画两个圆合金:一个亮一点的圆形,大小为22 x 22 px,颜色为#f1eee5,另一个深一点的圆形,半径大小为32 x 32 px ,颜色为#b2ba6,放在后面。

完成之后,选择轮子包含的所有形状,进行编组(Control-G) 。 将轮子复制换一个,把它放在巴士上,将它们的中心点比面包车底部边缘高出几个像素。

Making the wheels and placing them to the vanMaking the wheels and placing them to the vanMaking the wheels and placing them to the van

步骤3

为了让我们的轮子更真实,我们准备在轮子后面绘制一些暗部,在轮子周围添加一些圆圈。

绘制两个130 x 130 px的圆( #333130)。 选择轮子,打开对象>排列>置于顶层。 将我们刚刚绘制的黑色圆孔,借助对齐面板,把它们和轮子对齐。 将圆孔超出超出主体形状外面的部分进行删除。 全选他们以及面包车红色形状,使用形状生成工具Shift-M),按住Alt键,点击我们想要删除部分。

绘制两个大小为150 x 150 px的圆,没有填充颜色,描边大小为2 px,描边颜色为 (#8f1e18)。 将它们和轮子对齐,然后删除掉突出的部分,方法同之前步骤对圆孔做法一样。 将轮圈隐藏在缓冲器的后面侧边。

Adding dark parts behind the wheels and the circle rimsAdding dark parts behind the wheels and the circle rimsAdding dark parts behind the wheels and the circle rims

5. 如何设计侧条纹以及修改面包车的车身

步骤1

选中所有面包车窗户以及黄色的部分,进行编组(Control/Command-G)。 打开对象>排列>置于顶层,将这个组放在最前面。

Grouping yellow shape with the windows and placing them to frontGrouping yellow shape with the windows and placing them to frontGrouping yellow shape with the windows and placing them to front

步骤2

使用直接选择工具(A)选中巴士黄色部分,再用添加锚点工具(+),在它的底部边缘添加两个锚点。 使用直接选择工具(A)按住右边锚点到朝右边拖动,把它放在红色形状边缘上。

Changing the yellow shape with the help of the additional pointsChanging the yellow shape with the help of the additional pointsChanging the yellow shape with the help of the additional points

步骤3

选中另一个锚点,向左下拖拽实时转角小部件标识,让边角变圆。

Rounding the corner of the new yellow shapeRounding the corner of the new yellow shapeRounding the corner of the new yellow shape

步骤4

给我们刚才绘制的形状创建一个8 px的轮廓线,选中它然后使用偏移路径的方法。 将轮廓填充颜色和描边颜色进行一下对换 (Shift-X)。

Adding the outline to the yellow shape and making it strokedAdding the outline to the yellow shape and making it strokedAdding the outline to the yellow shape and making it stroked

步骤5

选中描边,打开对象>扩展,勾选描边选项,取消勾选填充选项。 点击OK,我们的描边就被填充了。 选中这个条纹,以及面包车最大的红色部分。 使用形状生成工具(Shift-M)将超出红色形状部分的条纹删掉。

Expanding the stroke and cutting of the outstanding partExpanding the stroke and cutting of the outstanding partExpanding the stroke and cutting of the outstanding part

6. 如何绘制门,侧镜,还有小细节

步骤1

我们来画侧门。 选中中间的窗户,打开对象>路径>偏移路径,将偏移值设为10 px。 在颜色面板内,将大的轮廓形状填充色改为描边颜色为#e3b710。 设置描边大小2 px

Creating the outline for the side windowCreating the outline for the side windowCreating the outline for the side window

步骤2

使用直接选择工具(A)在带有描边的矩形底边点击一下,然后进行删除。 选中余下形状底部锚点,把它们拖到黄色形状的底部边缘。

Deleting the bottom side of the stroke and aligning it to the yellow shapeDeleting the bottom side of the stroke and aligning it to the yellow shapeDeleting the bottom side of the stroke and aligning it to the yellow shape

步骤3

使用直线段工具(\) ,按住Shift画两条垂直的线条(#8f1e18)。 从我们上一步拖拽的下边锚点开始,到侧边的顶部。

绘制一个圆角矩形(#87877d)作为门把手。 然后借助矩形圆形工具,添加前面和后视灯(#f99555)。把灯放在面包车的后面。

Finishing the door with lines and creating the handleFinishing the door with lines and creating the handleFinishing the door with lines and creating the handle

步骤4

现在该画侧镜了。

选择钢笔工具 (P),把它放在车外面的自由区域,点击一下来确定起始锚点。 按住Shift,将锚点向右移动几个香色,再次点击,完成这条线的第一部分。

然后释放Shift,将钢笔工具向下移动,挪到右边。再次点击,绘制一个有角度的线。 在颜色面板上,将线条的填充色设为描边颜色为#52524c。 设置描边大小为6 px,在描边面板内将描边的端点和边角分别设为圆头和圆角。 它将成为镜子座。

给镜子支撑添加一个垂直放置的小圆角矩形(#87877d),将对象进行编组,把镜子放在面包车第一个窗户下面。

在窗户上放置一个细长的矩形(#87877d) ,作为汽车窗户的橡胶条。

Creating the side mirror and the rubber stripCreating the side mirror and the rubber stripCreating the side mirror and the rubber strip

步骤5

在面包车左边轮子上方添加一个小圆(#b82921),作为加油门。

现在在加油门的左侧创建一个通风口。 先来画一个细长的,大小为60 x 2 px的矩形,带有圆角。 选中这个矩形,按Enter键,在弹出的移动窗口里面设置垂直值为6 px。 点击复制按钮,将矩形复制一个,多次按Control/Command-D来得到6个副本。

Making the fuel door and forming the ventilation holesMaking the fuel door and forming the ventilation holesMaking the fuel door and forming the ventilation holes

步骤6

现在我们准备给面包车加一个冲浪板,在车顶处进行操作。

首先创建一个445 x 12 px矩形,然后使用移动选项,将两个顶部的锚点分别向中央移动大概60 px。 选择整个形状,打开效果>变形>弧形。 勾选水平方向,设置弯曲值为4%

保持选中这个板形状,打开对象>扩展外观

Making the surfboard main shapeMaking the surfboard main shapeMaking the surfboard main shape

我们需要给冲浪板添加一个翅膀。

椭圆工具(L)画一个40 x 75 px 的红色椭圆。 借助直线段工具(\),穿过椭圆中央绘制两条垂直的线,将它们和椭圆一起选中。

打开路径查找器面板,使用分割功能。 这个椭圆就会被分成四个部分。 删掉其中的三个,留下右上角的部分,把它放在冲浪板上面。

将展翅的颜色更改为一个比大形状深一点的颜色,把它放在主体板的后面。

Adding the fin to finish the surfboardAdding the fin to finish the surfboardAdding the fin to finish the surfboard

步骤7

绘制两个细长的矩形(#b2b2a6),作为冲浪板的支撑物,将它和滑板形状交叉,把它们放在后面。 选中所有的形状并进行编组(Control/Command-G),把它们放在面包车顶。 支撑物底部的线条应该是和面包车黄色顶部边缘在一条线上。

在黄色底部形状顶部边缘上方放置一个细长的垂直矩形(#e3b710)作为装饰边沿。将支撑物的底部隐藏在它后面。 然后在外观面板内,将黑色车顶的填充颜色改为#ffd633。 我们几乎要完成了。

Placing the surfboard to the van and recoloring the roofPlacing the surfboard to the van and recoloring the roofPlacing the surfboard to the van and recoloring the roof

7. 如何给面包车添加暗影和亮光

为了看起来更真实,面包车需要更多暗影和亮光部分。

步骤1

我们先来给中间的窗户添加反光。 用直接选择工具(A)选中它,然后右击在下拉菜单中选择隔离所选路径。 被隔离的窗户就会被填充,同时画板其他区域就会显示为灰色。 在窗户形状外面,绘制三个不同宽度的长条矩形(#abcfe7)。

Isolating the side window and making the rectangles for the reflectionIsolating the side window and making the rectangles for the reflectionIsolating the side window and making the rectangles for the reflection

选中所有的矩形,选择对象>变换>旋转。 设置角度值为45%,点击OK,将旋转后的矩形放在我们的窗户上。 将多余的部分删掉。 按Esc键,退出隔离模式,或者使用选择工具(V),在隔离组外面进行双击鼠标。

对其他窗户也使用同样的方法创建反光效果。 在操作之前不要忘了将它们隔离。

Placing the rectangles to the window and cutting them off finishing other reflectionsPlacing the rectangles to the window and cutting them off finishing other reflectionsPlacing the rectangles to the window and cutting them off finishing other reflections

步骤2

选择侧边镜,进入隔离模式 。 在镜子内画一个对角线,选中所有的对象(Control/Command-A),选择路径查找器里的分割选项。 设置右半部分填充颜色为#52524c,作为暗影。 退出隔离模式。

Creating the shadow for the side mirrorCreating the shadow for the side mirrorCreating the shadow for the side mirror

步骤3

选中面包车红色底部部分,进入隔离模式。 再创建一个大一点的矩形,盖住红色形状的大约一半,用形状生成器(Shift-M)删掉凸出来的部分。 退出隔离模式,将刚刚绘制的矩形设置填充色为#b82921

Adding the shadow to the red van shapeAdding the shadow to the red van shapeAdding the shadow to the red van shape

步骤4

使用同样的方法,给侧跨(侧面的)台阶,缓冲器,以及门把手都添加暗影。 在轮子下方,后面,添加黑色圆角矩形创建底部的投影。

Creating the shadows for the bumpers and adding the ground shadowCreating the shadows for the bumpers and adding the ground shadowCreating the shadows for the bumpers and adding the ground shadow

步骤5

使用直接选择工具(A),选中其中一个轮胎,用Control/Command-C把它复制一个。 然后在面包车的自由区域点击一下,取消选择,使用Control/Command-F,将轮胎的圆形形状粘贴在轮子上方。 再按一次Control/Command-F,在第一个圆形的上方就会的到一个相同的圆。

现在我们需要使用直接选择工具(A)选中圆形顶部的锚点,按住Shift,将它向下移动几个像素。 同时选中我们之前创建的两个圆,点击路径查找器面板里面的减去顶层选项。得到投影。 将得到的形状用颜色#454342填充。

把暗影复制一个,使用对齐面板,放在第二个轮子的上面,

Creating the shadows for the wheelsCreating the shadows for the wheelsCreating the shadows for the wheels

旅行时间到了!

我们最终完成了。 冲浪面包车已经准备好带我们去新的地方,去冒险。

我希望你们能喜欢这个冲浪车的绘制,学到新的技巧,使用Adobe Illustrator基本的工具和形状。

The final result of our workThe final result of our workThe final result of our work

现在你可以创建一些你自己的不同类型和颜色的面包车。 试试吧,玩的开心!

这个冲浪车只是我的旅行巴士集的一部分,在我的个人主页里面,你可以看到更多旅行和冒险的插画作品。

Travel Van Bus CollectionTravel Van Bus CollectionTravel Van Bus Collection
关注我们的公众号
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Vehicles
Design

How to Create a Side View Surfing Van in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial I will show you how to create a colorful surfing van using the most basic shapes and tools of Adobe Illustrator. 

If you would like to skip the tutorial and just purchase the result in different modifications and colors, just go to GraphicRiver to get my Travel Van Bus Collection.

Travel Van Bus Collection

1. How to Create a New Document

First we need to set up a New Document (File > New or Control/Command-N) with these settings:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 800
  • Height: 600
  • Units: pixels

From the Advanced Tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: Screen
  • Preview Mode: Default
  • Uncheck Align New Objects to Pixel Grid
Setting up new document

2. How to Make the Base of the Surfing Van

Step 1

Let's start building the camper van's body from a 570 x 150 px red #D0342C rectangle made with the help of the Rectangle Tool (M). 

After creating the rectangle, pick the bottom right anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and press Enter to open the Move window. The Horizontal Position value should be set to 15 px and the Vertical value to 0 px. Our anchor is moving to the right.

Creating a base red shape for the body

Step 2

Create another 570 x 115 px rectangle with #FFD633 color and place it on top of our red part. Using the Direct Selection Tool, select the upper right anchor point. Press Enter to open the Move options window again, and set the Horizontal Position value to -50 px and Vertical position value to 0 px, moving the point to the left. 

Open the same window for the upper left anchor point. Set the Horizontal value to 30 px and vertical to 0 px, moving our corner to the right.

Making the yellow shape for the top van part

Step 3

Build one more rectangle with 490 x 25 px size, coloring it black or any other dark color. At the end we will recolor it to the same yellow as the base, but in this step it is better to make it stand out.

Using the previous method, move the upper right anchor point about 20 px to the left and the upper left anchor about 5 px.

Adding black shape for the roof

Step 4

Select one of the top corner anchor points of the black shape with the Direct Selection Tool. You can see the Live Corner widget shown inside the corner. Simply grab the widget and pull it until you get the right result. Dragging a widget makes the corner rounded. Repeat this action with another top anchor point.

Rounding the corner of the roof shape

3. How to Make the Sunroof and the Side and Rear Windows

Now we are going to work on our van's sunroof and windows. All of them will be placed on the middle of the yellow part of the van.

Step 1

Make a 205 x 85 px rectangle and fill it with #ABCFE7 color. Select this rectangle and the big yellow shape of the van, holding down Shift. Click again on the yellow object (you don't need to hold down Shift this time!). A blue outline appears around the yellow form. And Align to Key Object is automatically selected in the Control panel and Align panel.

In the Align panel (Window > Align) or Control panel, click on the Horizontal Align Right button and then on the Vertical Align Center button.

Making the window and placing it to the van yellow part

Step 2

Select the window that we added in the previous step with the Selection Tool (V) and press Enter to open the Move option window. Set the Horizontal Position value to -225 px and the Vertical position value to 0 px, and click on the Copy button. Now we have two similar rectangles. These are going to be our windscreen and the main side window.

Copying the window for creating the second one

Step 3

Build an 85 x 85 px square of the same light blue color. Select the square and the previously created window, while holding down Shift. Then click again on the big window (remember not to hold down Shift this time). Press Horizontal Align Right and Vertical Align Bottom on the Align panel. And then move the rectangle to the left by 225 px using the Move window. 

Then press Enter again and copy the square, moving it by 105 px to the left. It is going to be our rear window. You may notice that we have an equal distance between all windows, so our van will look neater. Besides, this will help us to create the doors of the van later.

Adding two squares for the side and rear windows

Step 4 

Create a copy (Control/Command-C > Control/Command-F) of the square that we created in the previous step, align it to the center of the big side window, and place it on the top of the van, making it overlap the black roof. It will be the sunroof.

Copying the square window and placing it to the top

Step 5

It's time to make the windows more detailed by adding outlines. Select all the windows with the Selection Tool (V) while holding Shift, and go to Object > Path > Offset Path. Enter 4 px into the Offset value field. Set the Fill color of the outlines to #E3E3D4.

Adding outlines for the windows with Offset Path

Step 6

Let's cut off the parts of the windows that stand outside the base van shape. Select the overlapping windows and their outlines together with the base of the van. Then use the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M). Hold down the Alt key, click and hold the left mouse button on a free area near the borders of the unwanted window part, drag along the outstanding part, and release the mouse to delete it. Repeat the action for all overlapping windows.

Cutting of the outstanding window parts with Shape Builder

4. How to Make the Wheels, Bumpers, and Side Step

Let's start working on the bottom part of the car.

Step 1

Create a 255 x 8 px rounded rectangle and fill it with #DAD8CC color. Align the rectangle to the middle of the central large window and the bottom of the red base by Align panel. It is the side step.

Create two 100 x 25 px rectangles of the same color, which we will align to the bottom edge and make extend about 10 px from each side of the van. These are the bumpers.

Then create a smaller rectangle, align it to the left and bottom edge of the front bumper, and send it backward using Object > Arrange > Send Backward. Select the overlapping corners of the bumpers with the Direct Selection Tool. Use the Live Corners widget to make the corners rounded by pulling the indicator to the center of the shape, setting the corner radius to about 10 px.

Creating narrow rectangles for the bumpers

Step 2

Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and create an 105 x 105 px circle of #4D4B4A color for the wheel. Add two smaller circles inside: one 70 x 70 px circle of #dad8cc color and a 62 x 62 px circle without Fill but with 2 px stroke of #b2ba6 color.

Add more details for the wheel by making two more circles inside for the alloys: a lighter circle of 22 x 22 px radius and #f1eee5 color, and a darker circle of 32 x 32 px radius and #b2ba6 color behind the first one. 

Once you're done, select the wheel shapes and group (Control-G) them together. Make a copy of the wheel and place the wheels on the bus, moving their center points a few pixels higher than the bottom fringe of the van.

Making the wheels and placing them to the van

Step 3

To make our wheels look more real, we are going to make some dark parts behind the wheels and add circle rims around them. 

Create two 130 x 130 px circles ( #333130). Select the wheels, and go to Object > Arrange > Bring to Front. Then align the black holes we have just created to the wheels with the help of the Align panel. Cut off the pieces of the holes that stand outside the base. Just select them together with the van's red shape and use the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M), holding down the Alt button and clicking the parts we want to delete.

Make two 150 x 150 px circles without Fill color but with 2 px stroke (#8f1e18). Align them to the wheels and then cut off the outstanding parts, as we did with the holes in the previous step. Hide the rims behind the bumpers and side step.

Adding dark parts behind the wheels and the circle rims

5. How to Design the Side Stripe and Modify the Body of the Van

Step 1

Select all the windows and the yellow part of the van and group (Control/Command-G) them together. Place the group over all other parts with the help of Object > Arrange > Bring to Front.

Grouping yellow shape with the windows and placing them to front

Step 2

Select the yellow part of the bus with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and add two anchor points on its bottom fringe with the Add Anchor Point Tool (+). Hold and drag the right anchor to the right and down with the Direct Selection Tool (A), placing it on the red shape's border.

Changing the yellow shape with the help of the additional points

Step 3

Select another anchor point and pull the Live Corners widget indicator to the left and down, making the corner rounded.

Rounding the corner of the new yellow shape

Step 4

Give the shape we have just created an outline of 8 px by selecting it and using the Offset Path method. Exchange the Fill and Stroke color (Shift-X) of the outline.

Adding the outline to the yellow shape and making it stroked

Step 5

Keeping the stroke selected, go to Object > Expand, check the Stroke option, and uncheck the Fill option. Press OK and our stroke will transform to the filled shape. Select this stripe and the biggest red part of the van. Cut off the stripe section that stands outside the red part of the van with the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M).

Expanding the stroke and cutting of the outstanding part

6. How to Create the Door, Side Mirror, and Small Details

Step 1

Let's make the side door. Select the middle window and go to Object > Path > Offset Path, setting the Offset value to 10 px. Switch the Fill color of the outline to None and the Stroke color to #e3b710 in the Color panel. Set the Stroke Weight to 2 px.

Creating the outline for the side window

Step 2

Click on the bottom side of the stroked rectangle with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then press Delete. Select both bottom points of the remaining figure and drag them to the bottom fringe of the yellow shape.

Deleting the bottom side of the stroke and aligning it to the yellow shape

Step 3

Use the Line Segment Tool (\) holding down Shift to make two straight vertical lines (#8f1e18). They go from the lower points, which we have dragged in the previous step, toward the top of the side step. 

Create a rounded rectangle (#87877d) for the door handle. Then add front and rear lights (#f99555) with the help of the Rectangle and Ellipse tools, placing the lights behind the van. 

Finishing the door with lines and creating the handle

Step 4

It's time to create a side mirror.

Selecting the Pen Tool (P), position it in the free area outside our car and click to define the first anchor point. Holding Shift, move the pointer a few pixels to the right and click again, finishing the first segment of the line. 

Then release Shift, move the Pen Tool down and to the right, and click again, creating an angled line. Set the Fill color of the line to None and the Stroke color to #52524c in the Color panel. Set the stroke weight to 6 px, and make the Caps of the line and the Corner rounded in the Stroke panel. It is going to be the mirror holder.

Add a small rounded vertical rectangle (#87877d) to the holder, group the objects, and place the mirror below the van's first window.

Put a narrow vertical rectangle (#87877d) across the window for the car's rubber strip.

Creating the side mirror and the rubber strip

Step 5

Add a small circle (#b82921) above the left wheel of the van for the fuel door. 

Now form the ventilation holes to the left of the fuel door. Start by making a narrow rectangle of 60 x 2 px size with rounded corners. Keeping the rectangle selected, press Enter, and in the Move window set the Vertical value to 6 px. Click the Copy button to duplicate the rectangle and press Control/Command-D several times to make six more copies.

Making the fuel door and forming the ventilation holes

Step 6

Now we are going to give our van a surfboard and work on the roof.

First make a 445 x 12 px rectangle, and then move both top anchor points of the rectangle 60 px to the center with the Move option. Select the whole shape and go to Effect > Warp > Arch. Check the Horizontal option and set the Bend value to 4%

Keeping the board shape selected, go to Object > Expand Appearance.

Making the surfboard main shape

We need to add a fin to finish the surfboard.

Create a 40 x 75 px red ellipse with Ellipse Tool (L). Create two perpendicular lines crossing the middle of the ellipse with the help of the Line Segment Tool (\) and select them together with the shape. 

Go to the Pathfinder panel and use the Divide function. The ellipse gets cut into four pieces. Delete three of them, leaving the top right part, and place our fin on the board.

Make the color of the fin a bit darker than the larger shape and hide it behind the main figure.

Adding the fin to finish the surfboard

Step 7

Add two narrow rectangles (#b2b2a6) for the surfboard holders, making them overlap the board shape, and place them behind it. Select and Group (Control/Command-G) all the shapes and place them on the van's roof. The bottom line of the holders should be placed on the same line as the top fringe of the yellow shape of the van.

Put a narrow vertical rectangle (#e3b710) over the top fringe of the yellow base for the decorative rim, hiding the lower part of the holders behind it. Then change the Fill color of the black roof to #ffd633 in the Color panel. We are almost done.

Placing the surfboard to the van and recoloring the roof

7. How to Add Shadows and Highlights to the Van

To look more vivid and real, the van needs more shadows and shiny parts.

Step 1

Let's start by adding reflections to the central window. Select it with the Direct Selection Tool (A), and then right-click and choose Isolate Selected Path from the drop-down menu. The isolated window appears in full color, while the rest of the artwork appears dimmed. Create three long vertical rectangles (#abcfe7) of different widths outside the window shape. 

Isolating the side window and making the rectangles for the reflection

Select all the rectangles and choose Object > Transform > Rotate. Set the Angle value to 45%, press OK, and drag the angled rectangles to our window. Cut off the outstanding pieces. Press Esc to exit isolation mode or, using the Selection Tool (V), double-click outside of the isolated group.

Create reflections for the other windows the same way. Don't forget to isolate them before making other manipulations.

Placing the rectangles to the window and cutting them off finishing other reflections

Step 2

Choose the side mirror and enter isolation mode. Create the angled line crossing the mirror, select all the objects (Control/Command-A), and choose the Divide option on the Pathfinder panel. Set the Fill color of the right piece to #52524c, making the shadow. Exit isolation mode.

Creating the shadow for the side mirror

Step 3 

Select the bottom red part of the van and enter isolation mode. Create a bigger rectangle that overlaps about half of the red shape and delete the outstanding part with the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M). Exit isolation mode and set the Fill color of the shape we have just created to #b82921.

Adding the shadow to the red van shape

Step 4

Working the same way, add shadows to the side step, the bumpers, and the door handle. Make the bottom shadow, adding the dark rounded rectangle below and behind the wheels.

Creating the shadows for the bumpers and adding the ground shadow

Step 5

Choose one of the wheel tires with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and Copy it with Control/Command-C. Then click on the free area outside the van to remove the selection and paste the tire circle shape over the wheel, using Control/Command-F. Click Control/Command-F one more time to get the same circle on top of the first one.

Now we need to select the top anchor point of the circle with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and, holding Shift, drag it a few pixels down. Select both the circles we have just created and use the Minus Front option of the Pathfinder panel, getting the shadow. Fill the resulting shape with #454342 color.

Copy the shadow and place it over the second wheel, using the Align panel.

Creating the shadows for the wheels

Time to Travel!

Finally we have done it. Our van is ready to take us away to new places and adventures.

I hope you enjoyed creating this surfing van and learned some new tips and tricks, using the basic tools and shapes of Adobe Illustrator. 

The final result of our work

Now you can create your own vans of different styles and color. Experiment and have fun!

This surfing van is only part of my Travel Van Bus Collection, and there are far more travel and adventure illustrations in my portfolio!

Travel Van Bus Collection
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.