Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

Как создать иллюстрацию жуткого подвала в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Добро пожаловать в очередное руководство по программе Illustrator, из которого вы узнаете, как создать композицию жуткого подвала при помощи некоторых геометрических фигур и инструментов, с которыми вы, вероятно, уже сталкиваетесь ежедневно.

Не забудьте, что вы всегда можете расширить композицию, перейдя на GraphicRiver, где найдёте большой выбор векторных объектов.  

Откройте программу, сделайте глоток свежего кофе – и мы начнём! 

1. Как настроить файл нового проекта

Как обычно, начнём с настройки нового проектного файла, перейдя в Файл > Новый (или при помощи комбинации клавиш Control-N), а затем задайте следующие настройки: 

  • Количество монтажных областей: 1
  • Ширина: 800 пиксели
  • Высота: 600 пиксели
  • Единицы измерения: пиксели

На вкладке с Расширенными настройками: 

  • Цветовой режим: RGB
  • Растровые эффекты: Осветление (72 точек на дюйм)
  • Режим предпросмотра: по умолчанию
how to set up a new document

2. Как настроить слои

Когда закончите настраивать файл проекта, нужно структурировать наш документ при помощи пары слоёв, т.к. таким образом нам будет проще работать, фокусируясь на каждой области иллюстрации в отдельности. 

Откройте панель Слоёв и создайте три слоя, которые мы назовём следующим образом: 

  • слой 1: фон
  • слой 2: пол
  • слой 3: люк
how to set up the layers

Совет: я окрасил все слои в один и тот же оттенок зелёного, т.к. на нём лучше видно выделенные фигуры (цельные или с открытыми контурами). 

3. Как создать фон

Когда слои документа будут готовы, можем начать работать над иллюстрацией, создав фон. Убедитесь, что вы находитесь на первом слое – и начнём! 

Шаг 1

Возьмите Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М) и создайте прямоугольник 800 х 600 пикселей, который мы окрасим в цвет #21353A и расположим в центре Монтажной области при помощи функций Горизонтального и Вертикального выравнивания по центру на панели Выравнивания.  

creating and positioning the main background shape

Шаг 2

Когда фон будет на месте, можем заблокировать текущий слой и перейти к следующему (второму), где будет создаваться вторая часть композиции. 

locking the background layer

4. Как создать пол

Находясь на втором слое, создадим пол.  

Шаг 1

Создайте основную фигуру подсвеченной области пола при помощи прямоугольника 480 х 320 пикселей с цветом #FFB85A,  а затем выровняйте центр по нижнему краю Монтажной области. 

creating and positioning the main shape for the lighted floor

Шаг 2

Измените только что созданную фигуру, по отдельности выделив её нижние опорные точки Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А), а затем сдвиньте их внутрь на 128 пикселей при помощи Инструмента «Перемещение» (щелчок правой кнопкой > Трансформировать > Перемещение > По горизонтали > +/- 128 пикселей, в зависимости от того, с какой стороны вы начали). 

adjusting the shape for the lighted floor

Шаг 3

Продолжайте изменять фигуру, добавив новую опорную точку в центр верхнего края при помощи Инструмента «Добавить опорную точку» (+), которую мы затем сдвинем наружу на 160 пикселей (щелчок правой кнопкой >Трансформировать > Перемещение > По вертикали > -160 пикселей).

adjusting the upper section of the lighted floor

Шаг 4

Придайте верхней области получившейся фигуры изгиб, конвертировав её верхнюю опорную точку в плавную линию при помощи Инструмента «Преобразовать выделенные опорные точки в плавную линию», а затем установите её указатели на расстоянии 184 пикселей от центра, как показано на образце. 

adjusting the curvature of the lighted floor

Шаг 5

Создайте копию (Control-C) только что изменённой фигуры, а затем вставьте на передний план (Control-F) и превратите её в линейный градиент с Углом  90º. Установите оба краевых оттенка на #F75443, снизив Непрозрачность левого края до 0% и правого края – до 60%.  Когда закончите, выделите и сгруппируйте градиент и основную фигуру пола при помощи комбинации клавиш Control-G перед тем, как перейти к следующей фигуре. 

adding the gradient to the floor

Шаг 6

Далее начнём добавлять линии пола, которые помогут выстроить перспективу. Для этого мы создадим центральную линию при помощи прямоугольника 8 х 600 пикселей (#21353A) и выровняем по центру большой Монтажной области. 

creating and positioning the center floor line

Шаг 7

Добавьте оставшиеся линии при помощи четырёх копий (Control-C > Control-F четыре раза) только что созданной фигуры, а затем по отдельности сдвиньте их нижние опорные точки на 184 пикселей друг от друга, как показано на образце (щелчок правой кнопкой > Трансформировать > Перемещение > По горизонтали > +/- 184 пикселей в зависимости от того, с какой стороны вы начали).  Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте (Control-G) все пять фигур перед переходом к следующему шагу. 

adding the remaining floor lines

Шаг 8

Для создания бликов скопируйте фигуры (Control-C) и вставьте на заднем плане (Control-B). Затем установите их цвет на #FFCD5C и по отдельности увеличьте их Ширину на 4 пикселя для каждой стороны.  Когда будет готово, не забудьте выделить оба блика и нижние линии, нажав комбинацию клавиш Control-G.

adding the highlights to the floor lines

Шаг 9

Инструментом «Перо» (Р) нарисуйте маленькие трещины на полу, окрасив более тёмные фигуры в цвет #21353A и их блики - в цвет #FFCD5C.  Когда закончите, выделите и сгруппируйте все фигуры, нажав комбинацию клавиш Control-G.

adding the cracks to the floor

Шаг 10

Т.к. нам нужно, чтобы линии пола и трещины граничили с освещённой поверхностью, мы их замаскируем при помощи копии (Control-C) большой нижней фигуры, которую вставим на передний план (Control-F) и затем, выделив нужные фигуры и копию, нажмём правую кнопку мыши > Создать обтравочную маску.  

masking the details of the floor

Совет: сейчас мы собираемся перейти к следующему разделу, но после того, как закончим работать над входом в подвал, мы добавим ещё несколько трещин и бликов. 

5. Как создать вход в подвал

Т.к. мы почти закончили с полом, можем заблокировать этот слой и перейти к следующему (третьему), где начнём работать над центральной частью нашей композиции. 

Шаг 1

Создайте основную фигуру входа в подвал при помощи прямоугольника 244 х 128 пикселей (#21353A). По отдельности выделите и сдвиньте его верхние опорные точки к внутренней части на 40 пикселей (щелчок правой кнопкой > Трансформировать > Перемещение > По горизонтали > +/- 40 пикселей, в зависимости от того, с какой стороны вы начали). Когда закончите, выровняйте получившуюся фигуру по центру Монтажной области, расположив её на расстоянии 120 пикселей от верхнего края пола.   Когда закончите, выровняйте получившуюся фигуру по центру Монтажной области, расположив её на расстоянии 120 пикселей от верхнего края пола.  

creating and positioning the main shape for the cellar entrance

Шаг 2

Создайте основную фигуру опорной балки при помощи прямоугольника 244 х 36 пикселей, который мы окрасим в цвет #AA5D3F, а затем расположите его поверх предыдущей фигуры, как показано на образце.  

creating the upper support beam

Шаг 3

Добавьте петли при помощи двух прямоугольников 16 х 8 пикселей (#21353A), расположенных поверх прямоугольника 8 х 16 пикселей (#21353A), а затем по отдельности сгруппируйте  (Control-G) и расположите на расстоянии 84 пикселя друг от друга, выровняв их по верхнему краю балки. 

adding the hinges to the top support beam

Шаг 4

Нам нужно также нарисовать маленькие трещины (#21353A), блики (#D67C50)и верхнюю тень (#21353A),  выделив и сгруппировав всё это, нажав комбинацию клавиш Control-G. Когда закончите, не забудьте выделить и сгруппировать (Control-G) все фигуры, составляющие эту область, перед тем, как перейти к следующей. 

adding details to the top support beam

Шаг 5

Создайте вертикальные опорные балки при помощи двух прямоугольников 24 х 92 пикселей, которые мы окрасим в цвет #844438, а затем расположим по бокам верхнего прямоугольника, как показано на образце. 

adding the side support beams

Шаг 6

Добавьте деталей, нарисовав маленькие трещины (#21353A), блики (#AA5D3F) и тени (#21353A), выделив и сгруппировав их вместе (Control-G), а после этого сгруппируйте каждую балку.  

adding details to the vertical support beams

Шаг 7

Выделите и сгруппируйте (Control-G) все три опорные балки, замаскировав их при помощи копии (Control-C > Control-F) нижней фигуры (выделенные нужные фигуры > щелчок правой кнопкой > Создать обтравочную маску). Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте (Control-G) все фигуры, составляющие вход в подвал, перед тем, как перейти к следующему шагу. 

masking the cellar entrance

Шаг 8

Создайте люк при помощи копии (Control-C > Control-F) основной фигуры входа в подвал, цвет которой мы изменим на #FFA95C, а затем вертикально отразим (щелчок правой кнопкой мыши > Трансформировать >Отразить > По вертикали) и поместим сверху, как показано на образце.  

creating and positioning the main shape for the trap door

Шаг 9

Добавьте верхнюю область двери при помощи прямоугольника 244 х12 пикселей (#844438),  выделите и сдвиньте его верхние опорные точки внутрь на 12 пикселей (щелчок правой кнопкой мыши > Трансформировать > Перемещение > По горизонтали > +/- 12 пикселей, в зависимости от той стороны, с которой вы хотите начать) и поместите получившуюся фигуру на только что созданную фигуру.  

adding the upper section to the trap door

Шаг 10

Создайте верхний блик при помощи прямоугольника 244 х 2 пикселей с цветом #FFCD5C и затем выровняйте центр по верхнему краю двери, а после этого спрячьте под маской.  

adding the subtle highlight to the upper section of the trap door

Шаг 11

Далее возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и добавьте несколько деталей нижней области двери, нарисовав трещины (#21353A) и мягкие блики (#21353A), взяв образец за основу. Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте все получившиеся фигуры, нажав комбинацию клавиш Control-G.

adding details to the lower section of the trap door

Шаг 12

Для оккультного символа создайте внешний круг при помощи круга 72 х 72 пикселей с Обводкой толщиной 4 пикселя (#21353A), который мы выровняем горизонтально по центру большой двери, расположив круг на расстоянии 28 пикселей от верхнего края.  

creating the outer circle for the occult symbol

Шаг 13

Следуя образцу, нарисуйте перевёрнутую пентаграмму при помощи Обводки толщиной 4 пикселя (#21353A),  чтобы её опорные точки пересекали контур большого круга. Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте (Control-G) две фигуры, а затем перейдите к следующему шагу.  

drawing the pentagram

Шаг 14

Чтобы символ выглядел нарисованным от руки, нам нужно применить мягкий эффект огрубления к составляющим фигурам, перейдя в Эффект > Исказить и трансформировать > Огрубление, и установить Размер на 1 пиксель (Абсолютный), Детальность - на 15 и Точки – на Угол

applying a roughen effect to the occult symbol

Шаг 15

Далее добавим мрачности, нарисовав кровавые брызги при помощи стандартных кистей «Брызги чернил», которые можно найти на панели Кистей > Библиотека > Имитация > Имитация чернил. Когда кисть будет выбрана, возьмите Инструмент «Кисть» (В) и с установленным цветом Обводки #C63E2C кликните на любом месте люка, чтобы создать брызги. 

drawing the blood splatter

Шаг 16

Т.к. нам нужно будет изменить брызги, мы разберём их, перейдя в Объект > Разобрать оформление, что сделает нашу кисть набором объектов. Это сложная часть, т.к., чтобы установить Непрозрачность брызг на 100%, вам нужно изолировать получившиеся фигуры, дважды кликнув на них, а затем выбрать внешнюю прямоугольную рамку (невидимую) и удалить её клавишей Delete.   Затем нужно установить уровень Непрозрачности на верхний лимит, изменить размер и поместить брызги, как показано на образце. Т.к. мы закончили работать над люком, можно выделить и сгруппировать (Control-G) все фигуры, составляющие его, перед тем, как перейти к следующему шагу. 

adjusting the blood splatter

Шаг 17

Т.к. мы закончили работать над входом в подвал, можем вернуться ко второму слою и добавить мягкий горизонтальный блик при помощи прямоугольника 244 х 4 пикселей (#FFCD5C), а также несколько трещин (#21353A) и маленьких бликов (#FFCD5C), которые мы поместим внутрь Обтравочной маски, созданной для других деталей. 

adding the final cracks and highlights to the floor

6. Как создать пугающие глаза

Перейдите на третий слой, где мы создадим финальную часть композиции – взгляд жутких глаз. 

Шаг 1

Создайте основные фигуры для центральной пары глаз при помощи кругов 8 х 8 пикселей (#F2673D), поверх которых мы добавим маленький круг 4 х 4 пикселя (#21353A). По отдельности сгруппируйте (Control-G) и поместите круги на вход в подвал, как показано на образце.  

creating and positioning the center eyes

Шаг 2

Измените выражение глаз, поместив по прямоугольнику 8 х 6 пикселей (#21353A) на каждый из них, а затем выделите внешние нижние опорные точки Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А) и сдвиньте их на 6 пикселей вверх либо при помощи направляющих стрелок, либо Инструментом «Перемещение» (щелчок правой кнопкой >Трансформировать > Переместить >По вертикали > -4 пикселей).  Когда будет готово, выделите получившиеся фигуры и глаза и сгруппируйте их, нажав комбинацию клавиш Control-G.

adjusting the expression of the center eyes

Шаг 3

В конце добавьте по паре глаз сбоку, скопировав только что созданные глаза (Control-C > Control-F дважды), и разместите, как показано на образце. Когда закончите, выделите и сгруппируйте (Control-G) все области люка перед тем, как нажать на кнопку сохранения.  

adding the remaining eyes

Отличная работа!

Как всегда, надеюсь, что вам понравилось работать над проектом, и вы изучили что-то новое и полезное. 

Если есть какие-нибудь вопросы, можете задать их в комментариях, и я вернусь к вам как можно скорее! 

finished project preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

How to Create a Scary Cellar Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Welcome back to another Illustrator tutorial in which we’re going to learn how to put together a scary cellar scene, using some basic geometric shapes and tools that you probably already work with on a daily basis.

Oh, and don't forget you can always expand the composition by heading over to GraphicRiver where you'll find a great selection of vector assets.

So, assuming you already have the software up and running, grab a quick sip of that fresh coffee and let’s get started!

1. How to Set Up a New Project File

As always, we’re going to kick things off by setting up a new project file by heading over to File > New (or using the Control-N keyboard shortcut), and then adjusting it as follows:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 800 px
  • Height: 600 px
  • Units: Pixels

And from the Advanced tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: Screen (72ppi)
  • Preview Mode: Default
how to set up a new document

2. How to Set Up the Layers

Once we’ve finished setting up our project file, it would be a good idea to structure our document using a couple of layers, since this way we can maintain a steady workflow by focusing on one section of the illustration at a time.

That being said, bring up the Layers panel, and create a total of three layers, which we will rename as follows:

  • layer 1: background
  • layer 2: floor
  • layer 3: trap door
how to set up the layers

Quick tip: I’ve colored all of my layers using the same green value, since it’s the easiest one to view when used to highlight your selected shapes (whether they’re closed or open paths).

3. How to Create the Background

As soon as we’ve layered our document, we can start working on the actual illustration, and we will do so by creating the background. That being said, make sure you’ve positioned yourself onto the first layer and let’s jump straight into it!

Step 1

Grab the Rectangle Tool (M) and create an 800 x 600 px rectangle, which we will color using #21353A and then position to the center of the underlying Artboard using the Align panel’s Horizontal and Vertical Align Center options.

creating and positioning the main background shape

Step 2

Once we have the background in place, we can lock the current layer and then move on to the next one (that would be the second one), where we will focus on the second part of our composition.

locking the background layer

4. How to Create the Floor

Assuming you’ve already positioned yourself onto the second layer, let’s continue working on our composition by creating the floor section.

Step 1 

Create the main shape for the lighted section of the floor using a 480 x 320 px rectangle which we will color using #FFB85A, and then center align to the Artboard’s bottom edge.

creating and positioning the main shape for the lighted floor

Step 2

Adjust the shape that we’ve just created by individually selecting its bottom anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then pushing them to the inside by a distance of 128 px using the Move tool (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > +/- 128 px depending on which side you start with).

adjusting the shape for the lighted floor

Step 3

Continue adjusting the shape by adding a new anchor point to the center of its top edge using the Add Anchor Point Tool (+), which we will then push to the outside by 160 px (right click > Transform > Move > Vertical > -160 px).

adjusting the upper section of the lighted floor

Step 4

Give the upper section of the resulting shape a curvature by converting its top anchor to smooth using the Convert selected anchor points to smooth tool, and then repositioning its handles at a distance of 184 px from its center as seen in the reference image.

adjusting the curvature of the lighted floor

Step 5

Create a copy (Control-C) of the shape that we’ve just finished adjusting, which we will paste in front (Control-F) and then turn into a linear gradient with a 90º Angle. Use #F75443 for both of its color stops, lowering the Opacity of its left one to 0% and its right one to 60%. Once you’re done, make sure to select and group both the gradient and the floor’s main shape together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut before moving on to the next one.

adding the gradient to the floor

Step 6

Next, we’re going to start adding the floor lines which will help build the perspective, and we will do so by creating the center line using an 8 x 600 px rectangle (#21353A), which we will center align to the larger Artboard.

creating and positioning the center floor line

Step 7

Add the remaining lines using four copies (Control-C > Control-F four times) of the one that we’ve just created, which we will then individually adjust by repositioning their bottom anchor points 184 px from one another as seen in the reference image (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > +/- 184 px depending on which side you start with). Take your time, and once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all five of them together before moving on to the next step.

adding the remaining floor lines

Step 8

Give the resulting lines a set of highlights by creating a copy (Control-C) of them which we will paste in back (Control-B). Then adjust them by setting their color to #FFCD5C and then individually increasing their Width by 4 px on each side. Once you’re done, don’t forget to select both the highlights and ground lines and group them together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding the highlights to the floor lines

Step 9

Grab the Pen Tool (P), and quickly draw the little cracks into the floor, coloring the darker shapes using #21353A and their highlights using #FFCD5C. Take your time, and once you’re done, make sure you select and group all of them together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding the cracks to the floor

Step 10

Since we want the floor lines and the cracks to remain confined to the lighted surface, we’re going to mask them using a copy (Control-C) of the larger underlying shape, which we will paste in front (Control-F) and then, with both the desired shapes and the copy selected, simply right click > Make Clipping Mask.

masking the details of the floor

Quick tip: for the moment, we’re going to be moving on to the next section, but we’ll be adding a few more cracks and some highlights once we’ve finished working on the cellar’s entrance.

5. How to Create the Cellar Entrance

Since we’re pretty much done working on the floor, we can lock its layer and move on up to the next one (that would be the third one) where we will start working on the center piece of our composition.

Step 1

Create the main shape for the cellar’s entrance using a 244 x 128 px rectangle (#21353A), which we will adjust by individually selecting and pushing its top anchor points to the inside by 40 px (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > +/- 40 px depending on which side you start with). As soon as you’re done, center align the resulting shape to the underlying Artboard, positioning it 120 px from the floor’s top edge.

creating and positioning the main shape for the cellar entrance

Step 2 

Start working on the support beam by creating the main shape for its upper section using a 244 x 36 px rectangle, which we will color using #AA5D3F and then position on top of the previous shape as seen in the reference image.

creating the upper support beam

Step 3

Add the hinges using two 16 x 8 px rectangles (#21353A) stacked on top of an 8 x 16 px rectangle (#21353A), which we will individually group (Control-G) and then position 84 px from one another, making sure to align them to the top edge of the beam.

adding the hinges to the top support beam

Step 4

As we did with the floor, we’re going to take a couple of moments and draw in the little cracks (#21353A), highlights (#D67C50), and top shadow (#21353A), making sure to select and group all of them together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut. Take your time, and once you’re done, don’t forget to select and group (Control-G) all of the current section’s composing shapes before moving on to the next one.

adding details to the top support beam

Step 5

Create the vertical support beams using two 24 x 92 px rectangles, which we will color using #844438 and then position on the sides of the top one as seen in the reference image.

adding the side support beams

Step 6

Give the shapes that we’ve just created some details by drawing in the little cracks (#21353A), highlights (#AA5D3F), and shadows (#21353A), making sure to select and group (Control-G) all of them together, doing the same for each beam afterwards.

adding details to the vertical support beams

Step 7

Select and group (Control-G) all three support beams together, masking them afterwards using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the underlying shape (desired shapes selected > right click > Make Clipping Mask). Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all of the cellar entrance’s composing shapes together before moving on to the next step.

masking the cellar entrance

Step 8

Create the trap door using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the cellar entrance’s main shape, which we will adjust by first changing its color to #FFA95C and then vertically reflecting (right click > Transform > Reflect > Vertical) and positioning it above as seen in the reference image.

creating and positioning the main shape for the trap door

Step 9

Add the door’s upper section using a 244 x 12 px rectangle (#844438), which we will adjust by individually selecting and pushing its top anchor points to the inside by 12 px (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > +/- 12 px depending on which side you start with), positioning the resulting shape on top of the previously created shape.

adding the upper section to the trap door

Step 10

Create the top highlight using a 244 x 2 px rectangle, which we will color using #FFCD5C and then center align to the door’s top edge, making sure to mask it afterwards.

adding the subtle highlight to the upper section of the trap door

Step 11

Next, grab the Pen Tool (P) and quickly add some details to the lower section of the door by drawing the cracks (#21353A) and subtle highlights (#21353A), using the reference image as your main guide. Take your time, and once you’re done, make sure you select and group all of the resulting shapes together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding details to the lower section of the trap door

Step 12

Start working on the occult symbol by creating the outer circle using a 72 x 72 px circle with a 4 px thick Stroke (#21353A), which we will horizontally center align to the larger door, positioning it 28 px from its top edge.

creating the outer circle for the occult symbol

Step 13

Following the reference image as your main guide, draw the downward-facing pentagram using a 4 px thick Stroke (#21353A), making sure that its anchor points overlap the path of the larger circle. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) the two together before moving on to the next step.

drawing the pentagram

Step 14

Since we want the symbol to look hand-drawn, we’re going to apply a subtle roughen effect to its composing shapes, by heading over to Effect > Distort & Transform > Roughen and setting the Size to 1 px (Absolute) and the Detail to 15 / in, making sure to set the Points to Corner.

applying a roughen effect to the occult symbol

Step 15

Next, we’re going to be adding to the darkness of the scene by drawing the blood splatter using one of Illustrator’s default brushes called Ink Splatter, which can be found within the Brushes panel’s Library under Artistic > Artistic Ink. Once you have it selected, simply switch over to the Paintbrush Tool (B) and, with the Stroke color set to #C63E2C, click anywhere on the trap door in order to create the splatter.

drawing the blood splatter

Step 16

Since we want to be able to edit the splatter, we’re going to expand it by heading over to Object > Expand Appearance, which will turn our brush stroke into a set of objects. This is the tricky part since, in order to set the splatter’s Opacity to 100%, you’ll have to isolate the resulting shapes by double-clicking on them, and then select the outer rectangular frame (which is invisible) and remove it by pressing Delete. Then you should be able to set the Opacity level to the upper limit and resize and position the splatter as seen in the reference image. Also, since we’re done working on the trap door, you can select and group (Control-G) all its composing shapes before moving on to the next step.

adjusting the blood splatter

Step 17

Since we’re pretty much done working on the cellar entrance, we can go back to the second layer, and add the subtle horizontal highlight using a 244 x 4 px rectangle (#FFCD5C) followed by a few cracks (#21353A) and smaller highlights (#FFCD5C), which we will position inside the Clipping Mask that we’ve created for the other details.

adding the final cracks and highlights to the floor

6. How to Create the Spooky Eyes

Position yourself back on the third and last layer, and let’s finish the composition by adding the spooky staring eyes.

Step 1

Start by creating the main shapes for the center pair of eyes using two 8 x 8 px circles (#F2673D), on top of which we will add a smaller 4 x 4 px one (#21353A), individually grouping (Control-G) and positioning them on the cellar’s entrance as seen in the reference image.

creating and positioning the center eyes

Step 2

Change the expression of the eyes that we’ve just created by positioning an 8 x 6 px rectangle (#21353A) onto each and one of them, which we will adjust by selecting their outer bottom anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then pushing them to the top by 6 px using either the directional arrow keys or the Move tool (right click > Transform > Move > Vertical > -4 px). Once you’re done, select the resulting shapes and the eyes and group them together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adjusting the expression of the center eyes

Step 3

Finish off the project by adding the side pairs of eyes using two copies (Control-C > Control-F twice) of the ones that we’ve just finished working on, which we will position as seen in the reference image. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all of the trap door’s composing sections before finally hitting that save button.

adding the remaining eyes

Great Job!

As always, I hope you had fun working on the project and most importantly managed to learn something new and useful along the way.

That being said, if you have any questions, feel free to post them within the comments section and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can!

finished project preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.