1. Design & Illustration
  2. Text Effects

Comment créer un effet de texte avec une ombre longue rétro dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Read Time:8 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Retro Text Effect Tutorials.
How to Create a Warm, Retro Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator

French (Français) translation by Stephane Burlion (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Dans les prochaines étapes, vous allez apprendre à créer un effet de longue ombre rétro sur un texte dans Adobe Illustrator.

Pour les débutants, vous allez apprendre comment créer un texte. Grâce aux fonctionnalités du panneau aspect et en utilisant un effet de transformation soigné, vous apprendrez comment ajouter l’effet d'ombre portée sans avoir à vectoriser votre texte.  Quelques techniques basiques de mélange et un simple effet de flou gaussien vous permettront d'apporter la touche finales à votre effet.

Pour plus d’inspiration sur la manière de régler ou d’améliorer votre effet de texte final, vous pourrez trouver beaucoup de ressources à GraphicRiver.

1. Comment créer le texte

Étape 1

Appuyez sur CTRL-N pour créer un nouveau document. Sélectionnez Pixels dans le menu déroulant unités, entrez 850 dans la zone largeur et 610 dans la zone hauteur puis cliquez sur le bouton Paramètres supplémentaires. Sélectionnez RVB pour le Mode colorimétrique, régler les effets de pixellisation sur Ecran (72 ppi), puis cliquez sur le bouton Créer un Document. N’oubliez pas de définir l’unité de mesure en pixels via Edit > Préférences > Unités.

setup gridsetup gridsetup grid

Étape 2

Choisissez l’outil Texte (T) et ouvrez le panneau caractère (fenêtre > Type > caractère). Sélectionnez la police Insaniburger et définissez 200 px comme taille.

Placez-vous sur votre plan de travail, cliquez dessus et ajoutez votre morceau de texte tout comme illustré ci-dessous. Adjugez lui la couleur noir.

type tooltype tooltype tool

Étape 3

Utilisez les mêmes attributs de caractère et outils pour créer la dernière lettre de votre texte. Choisir bleu et placez-la juste au-dessus de l'original en noir.

Continuer à ajouter des lettres bleues séparées jusqu'à ce que vous couvrez tout votre texte noir. Une fois que vous avez terminé, allez dans le panneau Calques (Fenêtre > Calques) et supprimez votre texte en noir.

letterletterletter

2. Comment ajouter l’effet d'ombre longue

Étape 1

Sélectionnez l’une de vos lettres, et concentrez-vous sur la palette Nuancier (Fenêtre > Nuancier). Cliquez sur la teinte [Aucun] pour enlever la couleur du texte en bleu.

Occupez-vous maintenant du panneau Aspect (Fenêtre > Aspect) et ajouter un nouveau remplissage en utilisant le bouton Ajouter un nouveau remplissage. Sélectionnez ce nouveau remplissage, puis attribuez-lui la couleur : R = 255 G = 245 B = 225.

fill nonefill nonefill none

Étape 2

Assurez-vous que votre « S » est toujours sélectionné et concentrez-vous sur le panneau Aspect. Ajoutez un deuxième remplissage et sélectionnez-le. Faites-la glisser vers le bas du panneau, définissez la couleur sur R = 0 V = 146 B = 69 et cliquez ensuite sur Effet > Déformation & Transformation > Transformer. Faites glisser les deux curseurs de Déplacement à 0,5 px, entrez 700 pour la zone de Copies et puis cliquez sur OK.

long shadowlong shadowlong shadow

Étape 3

Assurez-vous que votre « S » est toujours activé et concentrez-vous sur le panneau Aspect. Ajouter un troisième remplissage et sélectionnez-le.

Faites le glisser entre les deux fonds existants et définissez la couleur sur noir. Réduisez l’opacité à 10 %, puis aller à Effet > Tracé > Décalage de chemin. Entrez un décalage de -10 px, cliquez sur OK puis allez à Effet > Distortion & Transformation > Transformation. Faites glisser les deux curseurs de Déplacement à 15 px, cliquez sur OK puis allez à Effet > Flou > Flou gaussien. Entrez un rayon de 5 px puis cliquez sur OK.

add new filladd new filladd new fill

Étape 4

Concentrez-vous sur le panneau Calques, ouvrez votre calque et utilisez ses icônes de cible pour appliquer facilement les attributs d’apparence utilisés pour votre première lettre au reste de vos lettres. Les icônes de cible sont les petites icônes rondes affichées à l’extrême droite de chaque calque ou forme.

Maintenez la touche Alt de votre clavier, cliquez sur l’icône de cible de votre « S » et faites-la glisser dans l’icône de cible de votre « T ». Sélectionnez votre « T », concentrez-vous sur le panneau Aspect et remplacer le vert utilisé pour cette couleur de fond par R = 255 V = 154 B = 9.

target icontarget icontarget icon

Étape 5

Passez maintenant au « O » et appliquez les mêmes attributs d’aspect, mais remplacer le vert par R = 244 V = 54 B = 44.

Sélectionnez le « P » et appliquez les mêmes attributs d’aspect, mais remplacez le vert par R = 7 V = 132 B = 170.

red bluered bluered blue

3. Comment créer un fond et ajouter plus de texte

Étape 1

Choisissez l’outil Rectangle (M) et créez une forme qui couvre la totalité de votre plan de travail. Attribuez-lui la couleur R = 42 V = 27 B = 67 et disposez le vers l’arrière (Shift-Control-[).

backgroundbackgroundbackground

Étape 2

Choisissez l’outil de Texte (T) et concentrez-vous sur le panneau Caractère. Assurez-vous que la police Insaniburger est toujours sélectionnée et définissez la taille à 50 px.

Ajouter le texte « Don't » et venez le placer comme le montre l’image suivante. Encore une fois, enlevez la couleur du texte et se concentrez-vous sur le panneau Aspect. Ajouter un fond à l’aide de ce bouton Ajouter un fond, sélectionnez-le et définissez la couleur sur R = 255 V = 245 B = 225.

type tooltype tooltype tool

Étape 3

Assurez-vous que votre texte « Don't » est toujours sélectionné, concentrez-vous sur le panneau Aspect et ajouter un deuxième remplissage. Sélectionnez fond du dessus, définir sa couleur sur R = 255 V = 80 B = 145 et allez ensuite à Effet > Déformation & Transformation > Transformation. Entrer les attributs affichés dans l’image ci-dessous  puis cliquez sur le bouton OK.

add new filladd new filladd new fill

Étape 4

Assurez-vous que votre calque de texte contenant « Don't » est toujours sélectionné et regardez  le panneau Aspect. Ajouter un troisième fond et sélectionnez-le.

Faites-le glisser entre les deux fonds existants et définissez la couleur sur noir. Réduisez l’opacité à 10 %, puis cliquez sur Effet > Tracé > Décalage. Entrez un décalage de -2 px, cliquez sur OK et ensuite allez sur Effet > Distortion & Transformation > Transformation. Faites glisser les deux curseurs de Déplacement à 5 px, cliquez sur OK et ensuite allez sur Effet > Flou > Flou gaussien. Entrez un rayon de 3 px puis cliquez sur OK.

gaussian blurgaussian blurgaussian blur

Étape 5

Choisissez l’outil de Texte (T) et tapez le texte « Believing ». Définissez la couleur du texte à R = 255 V = 245 B = 225 et placez-le comme sur l’image suivante. Assurez-vous que ce nouvel élément de texte est sélectionné et allez à Effet > Spécial > Ombre portée. Entrer les valeurs affichées ci-dessous puis cliquez sur OK.

drop shadowdrop shadowdrop shadow

Félicitations ! Vous avez terminé !

Voici ce à quoi cela devrait ressembler. J’espère que vous avez apprécié ce tutoriel et que vous pourrez appliquer ces techniques dans vos projets futurs. N’hésitez pas à partager votre résultat final dans la section commentaires.

N’hésitez pas à personnaliser la réalisation finale et y apporter votre touche. Vous pouvez trouver quelques grandes sources d’inspiration sur GraphicRiver, avec des solutions intéressantes pour améliorer votre projets.

final productfinal productfinal product
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Text Effects
Design

How to Create a Retro Long Shadow Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In the following steps, you will learn how to create a retro long shadow text effect in Adobe Illustrator. 

For starters, you will learn how to create some text. Taking full advantage of the Appearance panel and using a neat Transform effect, you will learn how to add the long shadow effect without expanding your text. Some basic blending techniques and a simple Gaussian Blur effect will be the final touches for your text effect.

For more inspiration on how to adjust or improve your final text effect, you can find plenty of resources at GraphicRiver.

1. How to Create the Text

Step 1

Hit Control-N to create a new document. Select Pixels from the Units drop-down menu, enter 850 in the width box and 610 in the height box, and then click that More Settings button. Select RGB for the Color Mode, set the Raster Effects to Screen (72 ppi), and then click that Create Document button. Don't forget to set the unit of measurement to pixels from Edit > Preferences > Units.

setup grid

Step 2

Pick the Type Tool (T) and open the Character panel (Window > Type > Character). Select the Insaniburger font and set the size to 200 px.

Move to your artboard, click on it, and add your piece of text about as shown below. Make it black.

type tool

Step 3

Use the same tool and character attributes to create the last letter of your text. Make it blue and place it right above the black one.

Keep adding separate blue letters until you cover all your black text. Once you're done, go to the Layers panel (Window > Layers) and remove your black text.

letter

2. How to Add the Long Shadow Effect

Step 1

Select one of your letters, focus on the Swatches panel (Window > Swatches), and click that [None] swatch to remove the blue text color.

Move to the Appearance panel (Window > Appearance) and add a new fill using the Add New Fill button. Select that new fill and set the color to R=255 G=245 B=225.

fill none

Step 2

Make sure that your "S" is still selected and focus on the Appearance panel. Add a second fill and select it. Drag it to the bottom of the panel, set the color to R=0 G=146 B=69, and then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Transform. Drag both Move sliders to 0.5 px, enter 700 in that Copies box, and then click OK.

long shadow

Step 3

Make sure that your "S" is still selected and keep focusing on the Appearance panel. Add a third fill and select it.

Drag it between the existing two fills and set the color to black. Lower its Opacity to 10% and then go to Effect > Path > Offset Path. Enter a -10 px Offset, click OK, and then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Transform. Drag both Move sliders to 15 px, click OK, and then go to Effect > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Enter a 5 px Radius and then click OK.

add new fill

Step 4

Focus on the Layers panel, open your layer, and use those target icons to easily apply the Appearance attributes used for your first letter to the rest of your letters. Target icons are the little round icons displayed at the far right of each individual layer or shape.

Hold the Alt button from your keyboard, click the target icon that stands for your "S", and then drag it onto the target icon that stands for your "T". Select your "T", focus on the Appearance panel, and replace the green used for that bottom fill with R=255 G=154 B=9.

target icon

Step 5

Move to the "O" and apply the same Appearance attributes, but replace the green with R=244 G=54 B=44.

Select that "P" and apply the same Appearance attributes, but replace the green with R=7 G=132 B=170.

red blue

3. How to Create a Background and Add More Text

Step 1

Pick the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a shape that covers your entire artboard. Fill it with R=42 G=27 B=67 and send it to back (Shift-Control-[).

background

Step 2

Pick the Type Tool (T) and focus on the Character panel. Make sure that the Insaniburger font is still selected and set the size to 50 px.

Add the "DON'T" piece of text and place it as shown in the following image. Again, remove the text color and focus on the Appearance panel. Add a fill using that Add New Fill button, select it, and set the color to R=255 G=245 B=225.

type tool

Step 3

Make sure that your "DON'T" piece of text stays selected, focus on the Appearance panel, and add a second fill. Select the bottom fill, set its color to R=255 G=80 B=145, and then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Transform. Enter the attributes shown in the following image and then click that OK button.

add new fill

Step 4

Make sure that your "DON'T" piece of text is still selected and keep focusing on the Appearance panel. Add a third fill and select it.

Drag it between the existing two fills and set the color to black. Lower its Opacity to 10% and then go to Effect > Path > Offset Path. Enter a -2 px Offset, click that OK button, and then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Transform. Drag both Move sliders to 5 px, click that OK button, and then go to Effect > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Enter a 3 px Radius and then click that OK button.

gaussian blur

Step 5

Pick the Type Tool (T) and add the "BELIEVING" piece of text. Set the text color to R=255 G=245 B=225 and place it as shown in the following image. Make sure that this new piece of text is selected and go to Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow. Enter the attributes shown below and then click that OK button.

drop shadow

Congratulations! You're Done!

Here is how it should look. I hope you've enjoyed this tutorial and can apply these techniques in your future projects. Don't hesitate to share your final result in the comments section.

Feel free to adjust the final design and make it your own. You can find some great sources of inspiration at GraphicRiver, with interesting solutions to improve your design.

final product
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.