Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Effects

Как создать эффект Призрачной танцовщицы в Adobe Photoshop

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Music Video Inspired Effects.
How to Create a Time-Displaced Video Effect Like Adele's Send My Love
How to Create a Tous-Les-Memes-Inspired, Isometric Scene Effect in Photoshop

Russian (Pусский) translation by Katharina Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Поскольку мы продолжаем нашу серию эффектов, вдохновленные музыкальными видео, одним из эффектов, которые я нахожу восхитительно красивыми, является эффект призрачной фигуры. Один из лучших примеров этого эффекта наблюдается во всем музыкальном клипе Adele “Передай привет”.

Несмотря на то, что эффект простой и откровенный, он навязчиво красив.  Это не сложно, и поскольку Photoshop может обрабатывать видеофайлы, это может быть достигнуто без помощи более традиционной программы для редактирования видео, такой как Premiere или After Effects.  Для приключений я написал урок о том, как создать призрачный видеоэффект Adele с видео.

Эффект можно использовать практически для любого видео, но лучше всего для видео танцовщиц с широкими движениями на пустом фоне. На Envato Market есть несколько отличных примеров, таких как Club Dancer на прозрачном фоне, или Masked Dancer на белом фоне.  Даже эта большая энергия Street Race Dancer на черном фоне будет хорошо работать для этой техники.

1. Настройте проект

Вдохновляющим материалом для этого эффекта выступают несколько клипов песен Adele. Каждый клип очень похож, но также отчетливо отличается.  Если вы не снимаете собственное видео, может быть довольно сложно найти несколько клипов одной танцовщицы. Вместо этого подумайте об использовании довольно длинного видео танцовщицы. Таким образом вы можете вытащить кадры из видео и использовать их вместо альтернативных клипов.

Шаг 1

Чтобы продемонстрировать эффект, я решил использовать этот клип элегантной танцовщицы в струящемся красном платье на Envato Market.

Prestigious Elegant Red Dancer
Элегантная танцовщица в красном

Шаг 2

Запустите Photoshop и загрузите видео с помощью File > Open. Photoshop отобразит первый кадр видеофайла, а на панели Layers появится слой Video в Video Group.

Open the video file in Photoshop

Шаг 3

Если панель Video не открыта, перейдите в Window > Timeline, чтобы открыть его. Обратите внимание на дескриптор точки воспроизведения на временной шкале; перетащите его вправо, чтобы очистить видео, или нажмите кнопку Play, чтобы посмотреть воспроизведение видео.

Open the Timeline panel

2. Копирование неподвижных кадров

Подход здесь состоит в том, чтобы скопировать отдельные кадры видео и использовать их для создания изображений, призрачных изображений, видимых в конечном эффекте. Может показаться довольно противоречивым использование Photoshop для извлечения неподвижных кадров из видеофайла, но на самом деле это очень просто.

Шаг 1

Используйте дескриптор, чтобы очистить видео и найти большую и визуально интересную позу, как во временном коде 00:11:24.

Find the first frame to copy

Шаг 2

Теперь перейдите к Select > All, чтобы создать выделение всего холста. Затем перейдите к Layer > New > Layer Via Copy (Control-J), чтобы скопировать этот кадр на новый слой. Photoshop автоматически помещает этот слой в группу видео.  Используйте панель Layers, чтобы перетащить новый слой и поверх видеогруппы.

Create a new layer from the copied frame

Шаг 3

Обратите внимание, что на временной шкале, новый слой добавляется к концу времени видеослоя.  Возьмите его и перетащите обратно в начало временной шкалы, чтобы он появился на отметке 00:00:00.  Затем установите  слой Opacity на 50%.

Set the layer Opacity to 50

Шаг 4

Используйте ту же технику для создания нескольких других полупрозрачных кадров из видео.  Здесь вы можете увидеть рамки, снятые со следующих временных меток:

  • 00:30:22
  • 00:34:07
  • 00:48:21 
  • 01:06:21 
  • 01:28:26
Duplicate several frames in the same way

Шаг 5

Даже с уменьшенной Оpacity трудно увидеть все дубликаты копий.  Нижние копии могут быть визуально потеряны. Удерживая клавишу Shift, нажмите на панели Layers, чтобы выбрать все неподвижные кадры.  Затем измените режимы наложения на Multiply.

Batch change the blending modes to Multiply

Шаг 6

Некоторые элементы сложены слишком тесно вместе; композиция может немного выиграть от присутствия призраков.  Выберите один из слоев, который трудно увидеть, в этом случае самый верхний, Layer 2. Затем переместите его в сторону, пока он не станет более заметным.

move one layer to the side to be more easily visible

Шаг 7

Перемещение слоя показывает жесткую линию, где край этого слоя теперь отчетливо виден. Его можно легко удалить с помощью Layer Mask.  Перейдите в Layer> Layer Mask> Reveal All, чтобы добавить маску к этому слою.  Затем используйте Gradient Tool (G) с предустановленным градиентом от черного до белого в линейной форме.  Начните градиент в начале края слоя и потяните его внутрь в направлении центра.

Use a gradient on a layer mask to hide the hard edge

Шаг 8

Продолжайте перемещать дублированные слои и добавляйте маски слоя с градиентами для удаления жестких краев.  Делайте это до тех пор, пока композиция не станет ясной и хорошо сбалансированной.

Arrange the rest of the figures too

3. Завершите эффект

Теперь, когда созданы “призраки", пришло время очистить окончательное изображение и завершить общий эффект.  Исходная фигура должна быть более заметной и видимой и легко различимой через тучу дубликатов. Кроме того, вся композиция должна быть ярче и менее мутной.

Шаг 1

Исходное изображение танцовщицы должно быть самым заметным.  Возьмите исходный слой видео и перейдите в Edit > Transform > Free Transform (Control-T) и Scale уровень видео примерно на 40% (обратите внимание: преобразование видео преобразует его в Smart Object).

Scale up the original video layer

Шаг 2

Перейдите к Select > All (Control-A), а затем Edit > Copy (Control-C). Затем нажмите на самом верхнем слое, чтобы сделать его активным и перейдите к Edit > Paste (Control-V), чтобы создать еще один слой из скопированного видеокадра.  Установите Opacity этого слоя на 22%

Copy the first frame of the video layer and move it to the top

Шаг 3

Перейдите на панель Adjustments и щелкните по иконке Curves, чтобы добавить корректирующий слой Curves.  На панели Properties отрегулируйте кривую так, чтобы верхняя правая контрольная точка совпадала с правым краем гистограммы.  Затем добавьте контрольную точку в центр кривой и подвиньте ее вверх, чтобы увеличить изображение. 

Brighten the image with a Curves adjustment layer

Шаг 4

Вернитесь на панель Adjustments и добавьте корректирующий слой Hue/Saturation.  С помощью инструмента On-Screen Adjustment щелкните по фону изображения и перетащите его влево.  Обратите внимание, что инструмент обнаруживает желтые тона фона и начинает их обесцвечивать. Опустите Saturation до -42 и установите Lightness около +60

Reduce the saturation of the yellow background with a HueSat adjustment layer

Вы закончили! 

Эффект призрачной танцовщицы завершен!  Это было совсем не сложно, не так ли? 

Альтернативный эффект смещения времени. 

Те же самые техники также могут применяться для создания эффекта стиля смещения времени с призрачными изображениями следующими за танцующей фигурой.  Он также известен как эффект "луковой кожи" в анимации или редактировании видео. 

Шаг 1

Откройте видео в новом файле снова с помощью команды File > Open.  Убедитесь, что панель Timeline легко доступна. 

Open the video file again

Шаг 2

Найдите несколько секунд видео, в котором есть очень большое движение, предпочтительно одно, которое занимает много горизонтального пространства.  Например, в этом ролике танцовщица выполняет вращение в пределах 10-13 секунд

Locate a large movement

Шаг 3

Используйте метод Select > All и Copy, Paste, чтобы скопировать кадры всего движения.  Техника будет работать лучше всего, если захват кадра равномерно распределен.  Каждые 15 кадров видео составляют половину секунды, и это хороший интервал. 

Когда вы вставляете в каждый кадр и перемещаете его в начало временной шкалы, назовите слой в соответствии с временным кодом и установите Opacity на 20%.  По мере наращивания слоев вы увидите, что эффект начинает формироваться. 

Generate layers in 15 frame intervals

Шаг 4

Используйте метод Shift-click, чтобы выбрать все слои на панели Layers (исключая группу видео) и перейдите к Layer > Arrange > Reverse.  Это изменяет порядок слоев, который помещает кадр из самого раннего в видео на верху. 

Reverse the layer order

Шаг 5

Установите Opacity нижнего слоя, названного 13:00, на 100%.  Каждый слой над ним будет иметь режим наложения Multiply, а параметр Opacity будет постепенно уменьшаться для каждого слоя: 

  • Слой 10:00 режим наложения Multiply, Opacity 5%
  • Слой 10:15 режим наложения Multiply, Opacity 10%
  • Слой 11:00 режим наложения Multiply, Opacity 20%.
  • Слой 11:15 режим наложения Multiply, Opacity 30%
  • Слой 12:00 режим наложения MultiplyOpacity 40%
  • Слой 12:15 режим наложения MultiplyOpacity 50% 
  • Слой 13:00 режим наложения Normal, Opacity 100% 
Decrease the layer opacities in gradual increments

Шаг 6

Убедитесь, что верхний слой является активным слоем, а затем перейдите на панель Adjustments и щелкните значок Curves, чтобы добавить корректирующий слой Curves. На панели Properties отрегулируйте кривую так, чтобы верхняя правая контрольная точка совпадала с правым краем гистограммы.  Затем добавьте контрольную точку в центр кривой и подвиньте ее вверх, чтобы осветлить изображение. 

Use Curves to brighten the image

Шаг 7

Вернитесь на панель Adjustments и добавьте корректирующий слой Hue/Saturation.  С помощью инструмента On-Screen Adjustment Tool щелкните по фону изображения и перетащите его влево.  Обратите внимание, что инструмент обнаруживает желтые тона фона и начинает их обесцвечивать.  Опустите Saturation примерно до -52 и установите Lightness примерно на +55.

Reduce the saturation of the background with a HueSat adjustment layer

Вы закончили! 

Возможности видео в Photoshop не так сильны, как в таких программах как Premiere или After Effects, но тот простой факт, что Photoshop может открывать и управлять видеофайлами представляет новые возможности для цифрового дизайна.  Как у вас получился эффект смещения времени?  Можете поделиться им в комментариях ниже!

Final time offset effect
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Effects
Design

How to Create a Ghosted Dancer Effect in Adobe Photoshop

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:QuickLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Music Video Inspired Effects.
How to Create a Time-Displaced Video Effect Like Adele's Send My Love
How to Create a Tous-Les-Memes-Inspired, Isometric Scene Effect in Photoshop
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

As we continue our series on effects inspired by music videos, one of the effects I find entrancingly beautiful is the ghosted figure effect. One of the best examples of this effect is seen throughout Adele's "Send My Love" music video.

Even though the effect is simple and straightforward, it is hauntingly beautiful. It's not difficult to achieve either, and since Photoshop can handle video files, it can be accomplished without the assistance of a more traditional video editing program like Premiere or After Effects. For the adventurous, I've written a tutorial on how to create Adele's ghosted video effect with video, too.

The effect can be used on almost any video, but it works best on videos of dancers with large movements against a blank background. Envato Market has several great examples, like this Club Dancer on a transparent background, or this Masked Dancer against a white background. Even this high energy Street Race Dancer against a black background will work well for this technique.

1. Set Up the Project

The inspirational material for this effect features several clips of Adele singing. Each clip is very similar, but also distinctly different. Unless you are shooting your own video, it could be rather difficult to find multiple clips of a single dancer. Instead, consider using a fairly lengthy video of a dancer. That way you can pull frames from throughout the video and use them in place of the alternate clips.

Step 1

To demonstrate this effect, I decided to use this clip from Envato Market of an elegant dancer in a flowing red dress.

Prestigious Elegant Red Dancer
Elegant Red Dancer

Step 2

Launch Photoshop and load the video with File > Open. Photoshop will display the first frame of the video file, and the Layers panel will show a Video layer within a Video Group.

Open the video file in Photoshop

Step 3

If the Video panel is not open, go to Window > Timeline to open it. Notice the playhead handle in the timeline; drag it to the right to scrub through the video, or press the Play button to watch the video playback.

Open the Timeline panel

2. Copy Still Frames

The approach here is to copy individual frames of the video and use those to create the ghosted images seen in the final effect. It may seem rather counterintuitive to use Photoshop to extract still frames from a video file, but it's actually very easy.

Step 1

Use the playhead to scrub through the video to find a pose that is large and visually interesting, like around timecode 00:11:24.

Find the first frame to copy

Step 2

Now go to Select > All to create a selection of the entire canvas. Then go to Layer > New > Layer Via Copy (Control-J) to copy that frame to a new layer. Photoshop automatically places that layer within the video group. Use the Layers panel to drag the new layer out and over the top of the video group.

Create a new layer from the copied frame

Step 3

Notice in the Timeline that the new layer is added to the end of the video layer time. Grab it and drag it back to the beginning of the timeline so it appears at the 00:00:00 mark. Then set the layer Opacity to 50%.

Set the layer Opacity to 50

Step 4

Use the same technique to create several other semi-transparent frames from the video. Here you can see frames pulled from the following timestamps:

  • 00:30:22
  • 00:34:07
  • 00:48:21
  • 01:06:21
  • 01:28:26
Duplicate several frames in the same way

Step 5

Even with the reduced opacity, it's difficult to see all the duplicate copies. The lower copies can get visually lost. Hold down the Shift key while clicking in the Layers panel to select all the still frames. Then change the blending modes to Multiply

Batch change the blending modes to Multiply

Step 6

Some of the elements are stacked too tightly together; the composition can benefit from spacing out the ghosts a bit. Select one of the layers that is difficult to see, in this case the topmost one, Layer 2. Then move it to the side until it is more clearly visible. 

move one layer to the side to be more easily visible

Step 7

The movement of the layer reveals a hard line where the edge of that layer is now clearly visible. This can be easily removed with a Layer Mask. Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal All to add a mask to that layer. Then use the Gradient Tool (G) with a Black to White preset gradient in the Linear shape. Start the gradient at the beginning of the layer's edge and pull it inwards towards the center.

Use a gradient on a layer mask to hide the hard edge

Step 8

Continue moving the duplicate layers and adding layer masks with gradients to remove hard edges. Do this until the composition is clear and well balanced.

Arrange the rest of the figures too

3. Finish the Effect

Now that the "ghosts" have been created, it's time to clean up the final image and finish the overall effect. The source figure needs to be more prominent and visible and easily discernible through the cloud of duplicates. Also, the entire composition needs to be brighter and less muddy.

Step 1

The original dancer image should be the most prominent. Grab the original video layer and go to Edit > Transform > Free Transform (Control-T) and Scale up the video layer up by about 40% (note: transforming the video will convert it into a Smart Object).

Scale up the original video layer

Step 2

Go to Select > All (Control-A) and then Edit > Copy (Control-C). Then click on the topmost layer to make it the active layer and go to Edit > Paste (Control-V) to create another layer from the copied video frame. Set this layer's Opacity to 22%.

Copy the first frame of the video layer and move it to the top

Step 3

Go to the Adjustments panel and click on the Curves icon to add a Curves adjustment layer. In the Properties panel, adjust the Curve so the top-right control point aligns with the right edge of the histogram. Then add a control point to the center of the curve and push it upwards to brighten the image.

Brighten the image with a Curves adjustment layer

Step 4

Go back to the Adjustments panel and add a Hue/Saturation adjustment layer. Use the On-Screen Adjustment Tool to click on the background of the image and drag it to the left. Notice that the tool detects the Yellow tones of the background and begins to desaturate them. Pull the Saturation down to around -42 and set the Lightness to around +60.

Reduce the saturation of the yellow background with a HueSat adjustment layer

You're Done!

The ghosted dancer effect is complete! That wasn't hard at all, was it?

Alternate Time Offset Effect

The same techniques can also be applied to create a time offset style effect that has the ghostly images following the dancing figure. This is also known as an "onion-skin" effect in animation or video editing.

Step 1

Open the video in a new file again with the File > Open command. Be sure the Timeline panel is readily available.

Open the video file again

Step 2

Locate a few seconds of the video that contains a very large motion, preferably one that covers a lot of horizontal space. For example, in this clip, the dancer does a twirl in the 10-13 second range. 

Locate a large movement

Step 3

Use the Select > All and Copy, Paste method to copy frames from throughout the movement. The technique will work best if the frame grabs are evenly spaced. Every 15 frames of video is half a second, and that works as a good interval. 

As you paste in each frame and move it to the beginning of the timeline, name the layer according to the time code and set the Opacity to 20%. As the layers build up, you will see the effect starting to take shape.

Generate layers in 15 frame intervals

Step 4

Use the Shift-click method to select all the layers in the Layers panel (excluding the video group) and go to Layer > Arrange > Reverse. The reverses the order of the layers, which puts the frame from earliest in the video at the top. 

Reverse the layer order

Step 5

Set the Opacity of the bottom layer, called 13:00, to 100%. Each layer above that will have a blending mode of Multiply, and the Opacity setting will decrease gradually for each layer:

  • Layer 10:00 blending mode of Multiply, Opacity of 5% 
  • Layer 10:15 blending mode of MultiplyOpacity of 10% 
  • Layer 11:00 blending mode of MultiplyOpacity of 20% 
  • Layer 11:15 blending mode of MultiplyOpacity of 30% 
  • Layer 12:00 blending mode of MultiplyOpacity of 40% 
  • Layer 12:15 blending mode of MultiplyOpacity of 50% 
  • Layer 13:00 blending mode of NormalOpacity of 100% 
Decrease the layer opacities in gradual increments

Step 6

Make sure the top layer is the active layer, and then go to the Adjustments panel and click on the Curves icon to add a Curves adjustment layer. In the Properties panel, adjust the Curve so the top-right control point aligns with the right edge of the histogram. Then add a control point to the center of the curve and push it upwards to brighten the image.

Use Curves to brighten the image

Step 7

Go back to the Adjustments panel and add a Hue/Saturation adjustment layer.  Use the On-Screen Adjustment Tool to click on the background of the image and drag it to the left. Notice that the tool detects the Yellow tones of the background and begins to desaturate them. Pull the Saturation down to around -52 and set the Lightness to around +55.

Reduce the saturation of the background with a HueSat adjustment layer

You're Done!

Photoshop's video capabilities are not nearly as robust as programs like Premiere or After Effects, but the simple fact that Photoshop can open and manipulate video files presents new opportunities for digital design. How did your time offset effect turn out? Feel free to share it in the comments below!

Final time offset effect
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.