Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe Illustrator
Design

Comment créer une illustration d'un Boston Terrier dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

French (Français) translation by New Lune (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Il y a quelque temps, un de nos lecteurs m'a demandé de lui apprendre comment dessiner un Boston Terrier. J'ai décidé de créer un tutoriel pour montrer à tout le monde comment le créer.

Outre le fait que je devais créer non seulement un chien, mais un chien d'une certaine race, ce tutoriel a également dû être adapté pour un niveau débutant d'illustrateurs. C'était un défi. Après avoir regardé à travers un grand nombre de photos de Boston Terriers, je suis venu à l'illustration présentée à vous aujourd'hui.

Comme toujours, nous allons utiliser des formes simples, et en appliquant une variété d'outils et d'effets, nous les transformerons en un chiot Boston Terrier mignon. Et vous pouvez décider si cela s'est avéré bien ou non.

Si vous ne savez pas ce qu'est un Boston Terrier ressemble, parcourez certaines images PhotoDune et inspirez-vous.

1. Comment créer la tête du chiot

Étape 1

Après avoir créé un nouveau document (850 x 850 px Width et Height), nous commencerons par former la forme de la tête du chiot. À l'aide de Rounded Rectangle Tool, créez un rectangle gris foncé arrondi. Pour obtenir un rectangle arrondi avec des coins très arrondis, créez d'abord le petit rectangle arrondi, puis étirez-le. Vous pouvez également accéder à View > Show Corner Widget et modifiez les coins en les faisant glisser à l'intérieur.

Maintenant, modifions la partie inférieure de cette forme. Nous utiliserons l'effet Fish: allez à Effect > Warp> Fish et entrez les options ci-dessous. Enfin, nous devons élargir cette forme. Sélectionnez-le et accédez à Object > Expand Appearance.

creating the head

Étape 2

Pour les yeux, créez une ellipse grise à l'aide de l'Ellipse Tool (L) et tournez-la légèrement vers la gauche. Ajoutez une ellipse noire légèrement tournée (pour la pupille), suivie d'un petit cercle blanc comme point culminant. Pour créer un cercle pair, dessinez-le à l'aide de l'Ellipse Tool (L) tout en maintenant la touche Shift enfoncée.

creating the eye

Étape 3

Placez l'œil sur la tête. Gardez tout l'œil gauche sélectionné, cliquez avec le bouton droit de la souris et sélectionnez Transform > Reflect. Une fois que vous obtenez une boîte de dialogue, sélectionnez Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees et appuyez sur Copy. Déplacez le nouvel œil vers la droite. Déplacez le cercle blanc vers le côté droit, parce que les points culminants doivent toujours être d'un côté.

Je sais que, actuellement, il ressemble à un alien mignon! Mais croyez-moi, ce sera un Boston Terrier.

placing the eye and creating another one

Étape 4

Maintenant créons le nez. Commencez par créer une ellipse horizontale grise avec l'Ellipse Tool (L). Ensuite, à l'aide de Direct Selection Tool (A), décalez un peu le point d'ancrage supérieur. Ajoutez un autre cercle gris derrière l'ellipse déformée dans la même couleur de remplissage.

Sur la partie supérieure de l'ellipse transformée, ajoutez une ellipse gris clair. Et enfin, créez deux minuscules ellipses noires pour les narines. Ces ellipses noires ne devraient pas avoir des traits blancs; je viens de les ajouter afin que vous puissiez le voir mieux. Vous verrez que cela changera à l'étape suivante.

creating the nose

Étape 5

À l'aide de Ellipse Tool (L), créez un ovale beige et placez le nez sur elle. Sélectionnez les deux points d'ancrage latéraux de l'ellipse avec le Direct Selection Tool (A) et déplacez-les vers le bas à l'aide de la touche Down Arrow de votre clavier.

Ajoutez le même rectangle arrondi de couleur beige (utilisez le Rounded Rectangle Tool), en le posant horizontalement. Puis tournez-le vers la gauche, comme dans l'image ci-dessous. Effectuez une copie verticale de ce rectangle arrondi (Transform > Reflect, saisissez Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, puis Copy). Déplacez la copie vers la droite.

creating the muzzle

Tout en créant le rectangle arrondi, essayez d'éviter de l'avoir long et avec des coins qui ne sont pas bien arrondis. Pour obtenir un bon arrondi des angles, créez un petit rectangle arrondi puis étirez-le.

how do not make the muzzle

Étape 6

Gardez tous les objets beige sélectionnés (l'ovale déformée et les deux rectangles arrondis), unissez-les en appuyant sur le bouton Unite du panneau Pathfinder (Window > Pathfinder). Assurez-vous que vous travaillez uniquement avec le museau beige et ne touchez pas le nez noir.

Avec le museau beige sélectionné, appliquez l'effet Round Corners: allez à Effect > Stylize > Rounded Corners et sélectionnez les options présentées ci-dessous.

Ensuite, développez la forme (Object > Expand Appearance). Créer une autre copie du museau beige derrière l'original, le rendant légèrement plus sombre et déplacez-le vers le bas un petit peu pour obtenir une ombre.

creating the muzzle 2

Étape 7

Pour la bouche, créez une ellipse foncée avec la même couleur de remplissage que l'ombre du museau de l'étape précédente (utilisez Eyedropper Tool (I)).

Faites une autre plus grande ellipse beige de la même couleur que le museau de base, et assurez-vous qu'il est derrière la bouche (Control-C, Control-B).

Maintenant, faites l'ombre de cette ellipse beige: créez une ellipse légèrement plus grande derrière (Control-C, Control-B), rendez-le plus sombre et déplacez-le un peu plus bas.

creating the muzzle 3

Placez ce joli museau sur la tête de notre chiot.

placing the muzzle

Étape 8

Pour les oreilles, commençons par dessiner une autre ellipse grise. À l'aide de Direct Selection Tool (A), abaissez les points d'ancrage gauche et droit. Pour créer la forme ci-dessous, déplacez les poignées en utilisant le Direct Selection Tool (A). Faites une autre copie de cette forme, changez-la en une couleur rose, rendez-la un peu plus petite et placez-la dans la plus grande.

Nous placerons les oreilles sur la tête plus tard.

creating the ear

Étape 9

Pour faire une tache lumineuse au milieu de la tête de notre Boston Terrier, créez une autre ellipse beige. Saisissez le Direct Selection Tool (A) et déplacez les points d'ancrage gauche et droit vers le haut. Pour modifier davantage cette ellipse, nous utiliserons l'effet Fish: allez à Effect > Warp > Fish et entrez les options ci-dessous. N'oubliez pas d'étendre cette forme (Object > Expand Appearance).

creating the white line on Boston Terriers head

Étape 10

Dans cette étape, nous placerons la tache et les oreilles sur la tête de Boston Terrier.

Tout d'abord, placez l'endroit que nous avons créé à l'étape précédente au milieu de la tête. Aussi, placez l'oreille sur le côté gauche de la tête. Pour faire une autre oreille, prenez le Reflect Tool (O) et tout en maintenant la touche Alt enfoncée, cliquez sur le front (dans une nouvelle fenêtre, entrez Vertical, Angle 90 degrees et appuyez sur Copy).

La tête de notre chiot est prête!

placing the ear and creating another one

2. Comment créer les lunettes

Étape 1

Supprimez la couleur de remplissage et définissez une couleur de trait noire. Cliquez sur le Rounded Rectangle Tool et dessinez un petit rectangle arrondi, puis appliquez un effet de déformation: allez à Effect > Warp > Arc. Développez cette forme (Object > Expand Appearance). Créez une copie verticale de cette forme. Déplacez la nouvelle forme vers la droite.

creating the glasses

Étape 2

Pour faire le pont des verres, placez un rectangle noir sans couleur de trait à l'aide de Rectangle Tool (M). Allez à Effect > Warp > Bulge et définissez les options warp. Développez-le.

creating the glasses 2

Étape 3

Maintenant, nous allons créer la charnière, la petite partie que vous voyez sur le côté des verres. Prenez le Rounded Rectangle Tool et placez un minuscule rectangle arrondi comme dans l'image ci-dessous. Ensuite, à l'aide du Direct Selection Tool (A), déplacez les points d'ancrage qui doivent être cachés derrière le cadre. Et puis créez une copie verticale de cette forme minuscule (vous savez déjà comment le faire, non?).

creating the glasses 3

Enfin, placez les lunettes sur le chien. Comme il est mignon et intelligent maintenant!

placing the glasses

3. Comment créer le corps du chiot

Étape 1

Commençons par tourner légèrement la tête de notre chiot. Maintenant, en utilisant l'Ellipse Tool (L), dessinez un ovale gris foncé. Prenez le Direct Selection Tool (A) et déplacez-le vers le bas dans les points d'ancrage droit et gauche. Placez le corps sous la tête (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the body

Étape 2

Créez une copie du corps au-dessus de l'original (Control-C, Control-F) et changez sa couleur de remplissage en beige. Enfin, faites cette forme plus petite et assurez-vous qu'il est en haut.

creating the body 2

Étape 3

Pour dessiner la patte avant, recommencez avec un ovale. Tout en maintenant cet ovale sélectionné, allez à Effect > Warp > Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre, ajustez les options de l'image ci-dessous. Développez cette forme. Ensuite, créez une petite ellipse ci-dessous et déplacez-la vers le bas de ses points d'ancrage latéraux à l'aide du Direct Selection Tool (A) et utilisez la touche Down Arrow du clavier pour l'aider.

creating the foreleg

Étape 4

Faites une copie de la petite ellipse déformée beige derrière l'original (Control-C, Control-B), rendez-la plus sombre et déplacez-la légèrement vers le haut. Utilisez la même couleur plus foncée que pour les ombres de la bouche (utilisez Eyedropper Tool (I)).

Ensuite, faites une autre copie d'un ovale déformé beige au-dessus de l'original (Control-C, Control-F), rendez-le plus sombre (utilisez le même Eyedropper Tool (I)) et plus étroit (utilisez le Selection Tool (V)). Gardez-le sélectionné et faites une copie devant lui (Control-C, Control-F), le rendant un peu plus étroit et plus léger. Développez la patte avant.

creating the foreleg 2

Étape 5

Pour créer une autre patte antérieure, faites une copie verticale de la précédente. Déplacez la copie créée de la patte avant vers la droite en utilisant le bouton Right Arrow de votre clavier.

placing the foreleg and creating another one

Étape 6

Créons la patte arrière. Prenez la copie de la patte de l'étape précédente, où vous avez créé les pattes antérieures. Dessinez une autre ellipse gris foncé et placez-le derrière la patte. En fin de compte, tournez légèrement la grande ellipse verticale vers la gauche.

creating the hind leg

Étape 7

Fixez la patte postérieure au corps du chiot. Placez-le devant le corps mais derrière les pattes antérieures. Pour créer une autre patte arrière, créez une copie verticale de celle existante. Déplacez cette nouvelle patte arrière vers la droite.

Notre mignon Boston Terrier est prêt.

placing the hind leg and creating another one

4. Comment créer la chaise

Étape 1

À l'aide du Rounded Rectangle Tool, créez un rectangle arrondi. Dans l'image ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir la couleur de remplissage dont vous avez besoin. Déformez légèrement cette forme pour faire l'arrière de la chaise. Sélectionnez le rectangle arrondi et allez à Effect > Warp > Inflate. Entrez les options que vous voyez ci-dessous.

creating the back of the chair

Pour une transformation ultérieure, sélectionnez le même objet et appliquez un autre effet. Aller à: Effect > Warp > Shell Upper. Les options nécessaires sont présentées ci-dessous. Enfin, développez cette forme.

creating the back of the chair 2

Étape 2

Maintenant, faisons le siège. Créez un rectangle arrondi et appliquez l'effet Arc (Effect > Warp > Arc et utilisez les options ci-dessous). Développez cette forme. Ajoutez une ellipse de la même couleur derrière, allez dans le panneau Pathfinder et appuyez sur le bouton Minus Front. Pour les deux formes, vous n'avez pas besoin d'un trait noir. Sur cette image, la couleur du trait noir n'est que pour une meilleure visibilité.

creating the seat of the chair

Étape 3

Continuons à créer la chaise. Pour faire des coins arrondis pour le siège, allez dans View > Show Corner Widget. À l'aide du Direct Selection Tool (A), sélectionnez ces deux angles vifs du siège et faites-le glisser à l'intérieur à l'aide des points qui apparaissent.

Fixez le dossier et le siège de la chaise ensemble. Pour faire une ligne de séparation visible, sélectionnez le siège et faites une copie derrière (Control-C, Control-B). Changez la couleur de celle-ci et déplacez cette partie vers le haut.

Faisons un siège de coussin. Ajoutez une nouvelle ellipse sur le dos du fauteuil, mais derrière le siège. La couleur de cette ellipse doit être la même que la couleur principale de la chaise. Créez une copie de cette ellipse derrière, rendez-la plus sombre, et déplacez légèrement vers le haut.

creating the seat of the chair 2

Étape 4

Pour la jambe de la chaise, créez un rectangle avec le Rectangle Tool (M) et attachez-le au bas de la chaise. Ensuite, nous utiliserons le Polygon Tool pour créer un triangle. Prenez le Polygon Tool et cliquez sur votre plan de travail. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, tapez 3 Sides avec n'importe quel Radius. Cliquez ensuite sur OK. Maintenant aplatissez ce triangle pour obtenir un résultat similaire à l'image ci-dessous.

creating the leg of the chair

Étape 5

Créez un petit cercle (pour un cercle pair, utilisez l'Ellipse Tool (L) tout en maintenant la touche Shift enfoncée). Après cela, derrière le cercle créez une ellipse très étroite, longue, verticale. Tout en maintenant l'ellipse sélectionnée, appuyez sur Rotate Tool (R), puis sur le bouton Enter de votre clavier. Dans la fenêtre contextuelle, saisissez 90 degrees et appuyez sur Copy.

Sélectionnez les trois formes et, tout en maintenant les touches Shift et Alt enfoncées, faites-les glisser vers la droite. De cette façon, vous allez créer une deuxième copie d'eux, qui seront alignés horizontalement. Pendant que les trois formes nouvellement créées sont sélectionnées, appuyez deux fois sur les touches Control-D pour répéter l'étape précédente et créez de nouveaux groupes de ces formes exactement à la même distance de la précédente. Maintenant, sélectionnez la ligne entière de ces formes et tout en maintenant les touches Shift et Alt, faites-les glisser vers le bas. Appuyez de nouveau sur les touches Control-D pour répéter l'étape précédente.

Si vous voyez que vous avez besoin de plus de lignes avec ces formes, n'hésitez pas à répéter en pressant Control-D jusqu'à ce que vous en avez assez. Cela dépendra de la forme de votre chaise.

creating the texture effect

Étape 6

Placez les objets groupés (clic droit > Group) sur le dos du fauteuil. Maintenant, en les maintenant sélectionnés, allez à Effect > Warp > Arc et utilisez les options ci-dessous. Notre chaise confortable est prête.

placing the texture effect

5. Comment créer le fond

Étape 1

Tout d'abord, nous voulons placer notre Boston terrier sur la chaise.

placing the Boston Terrier on the chair

Étape 2

Créez un carré beige clair derrière l'image, 850 px Width et Height, en utilisant le Rectangle Tool (M).

creating the background

Travail impressionnant, vous l'avez fait!

Si vous souhaitez ajouter quelques décorations comme les plantes d'origine, vous pouvez suivre un de mes tutoriels précédents sur la façon de créer des plantes d'intérieur.

Superbe travail, vous avez terminé! J'espère que vous avez apprécié de suivre ce tutoriel. Maintenant, vous êtes prêt à créer vos propres illustrations intéressantes avec des personnages de fantaisie et des animaux de compagnie. Si vous avez des suggestions pour plus de tutoriels, s'il vous plaît laissez-moi savoir. Je vais essayer de faire un tutoriel adapté pour les débutants.

End Result
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe Illustrator
Design

How to Create a Boston Terrier Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Some time ago, one of our readers asked me to teach her how to draw a Boston Terrier. I decided to create a tutorial to show everybody how to create it. 

Besides the fact that I had to create not just a dog, but a dog of a certain breed, this tutorial also had to be adapted for a beginner level of illustrators. It was challenging. After looking through a large number of pictures of Boston Terriers, I came to the illustration presented to you today. 

As always, we will use simple shapes, and by applying a variety of tools and effects we will transform them into a cute Boston Terrier puppy. And you can decide if it turned out well or not.

If you don't know what a Boston Terrier looks like, browse some PhotoDune images and get inspired.

1. How to Create the Puppy's Head

Step 1

After creating a new document (850 x 850 px Width and Height), we will start by forming the shape of the puppy’s head. Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, create a dark grey rounded rectangle. To get a rounded rectangle with very rounded corners, create the small rounded rectangle first and then stretch it. Or you can go to View > Show Corner Widget and modify the corners by dragging them inside.

Now let’s modify the bottom part of this shape. We’ll use the Fish effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options below. Finally, we need to expand this shape. Select it and go to Object > Expand Appearance.

creating the head

Step 2

For the eyes, create a gray ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L) and slightly rotate it to the left. Add a slightly rotated black ellipse (for the pupil), followed by a small white circle as a highlight. To make an even circle, draw it using the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding the Shift key.

creating the eye

Step 3

Place the eye on the head. Keeping the whole left eye selected, right-click your mouse and select Transform > Reflect. Once you get a dialogue box, select Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy. Move the new eye to the right. Also move the white circle to the right side, because the highlights should always be on one side.

I know that currently it looks like a cute alien! But believe me, it will be a Boston Terrier.

placing the eye and creating another one

Step 4

Now let's create the nose. Start by creating a grey horizontal ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L). Then, using the Direct Selection Tool (A), shift the top anchor point a little bit down. Add another grey circle behind the deformed ellipse in the same fill color. 

On the top part of the transformed ellipse, add a light-grey ellipse. And finally create two tiny black ellipses for the nostrils. These black ellipses should not have white strokes; I just added them so you can see it better. You will see that it will change in the next step.

creating the nose

Step 5

Using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a beige oval and place the nose on it. Select the two side anchor points of the ellipse with the Direct Selection Tool (A), and move them down using the Down Arrow key on your keyboard. 

Add the same beige colored rounded rectangle (use the Rounded Rectangle Tool), laying it horizontally. Then rotate it to the left, as in the image below. Make a vertical copy of this rounded rectangle (Transform > Reflect, enter Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy). Move the copy to the right.

creating the muzzle

While creating the rounded rectangle, try to avoid having it long and with corners that are not well rounded. To achieve the proper rounding of the corners, create a small rounded rectangle and then stretch it.

how do not make the muzzle

Step 6

Keeping all the beige objects selected (the deformed oval and the two rounded rectangles), unite them by pressing the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder). Be sure that you work only with the beige muzzle and do not touch the black nose. 

With the beige muzzle selected, apply the Round Corners effect: go to Effect > Stylize > Rounded Corners and select the options presented below. 

Next, expand the shape (Object > Expand Appearance). Create another copy of the beige muzzle behind the original one, making it slightly darker and moving it down just a bit to get a shadow.

creating the muzzle 2

Step 7

For the mouth, create a dark ellipse with the same fill color as the shadow of the muzzle from the previous step (use the Eyedropper Tool (I)).

Make another larger beige ellipse the same color as the basic muzzle, and make sure it is behind the mouth (Control-C, Control-B).

Now make the shadow of this beige ellipse: create a slightly larger ellipse behind (Control-C, Control-B), make it darker, and move it down a little bit.

creating the muzzle 3

Place this cute muzzle on the head of our puppy.

placing the muzzle

Step 8

For the ears, let’s start by drawing another grey ellipse. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move down the left and right anchor points. To create the shape shown below, move the handles by using the Direct Selection Tool (A). Make another copy of this shape, change it to a pink color, make it a bit smaller, and place it inside the larger one.

We will place the ears on the head later.

creating the ear

Step 9

To make a light spot in the middle of our Boston Terrier's head, create another beige ellipse. Grab the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move the left and right anchor points up. To further modify this ellipse, we’ll use the Fish effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options below. Don't forget to expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

creating the white line on Boston Terriers head

Step 10

In this step we will place the spot and the ears on the Boston Terrier's head.

First, place the spot we created in the previous step in the middle of the head. Also, place the ear on the left side of the head. To make another ear, take the Reflect Tool (O) and while holding down the Alt key, click the forehead (in a new window enter Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy). 

The head of our puppy is ready!

placing the ear and creating another one

2. How to Create the Glasses

Step 1

Delete the fill color and set a black stroke color. Hit the Rounded Rectangle Tool and draw a small rounded rectangle, and then apply a warp effect: go to Effect > Warp > Arc. Expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance). Create a vertical copy of this shape. Move the new shape to the right.

creating the glasses

Step 2

To make the bridge of the glasses, place a black rectangle with no stroke color using the Rectangle Tool (M). Go to Effect > Warp > Bulge and set the warp options. Expand it.

creating the glasses 2

Step 3

Now let's create the hinge, the little part you see on the side of the glasses. Take the Rounded Rectangle Tool and place a tiny rounded rectangle as in the image below. After that, using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the anchor points which need to be hidden behind the frame. And then create a vertical copy of this tiny shape (you already know how to do it, right?).

creating the glasses 3

Finally, place the glasses on the dog. How cute and smart does he look now!

placing the glasses

3. How to Create the Puppy's Body

Step 1

Let’s first slightly rotate the head of our puppy. Now, using the Ellipse Tool (L), draw a dark grey oval. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move down its right and left anchor points. Place the body under the head (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the body

Step 2

Create a copy of the body on top of the original one (Control-C, Control-F) and change its fill color to beige. Finally make this shape smaller and make sure it's at the top.

creating the body 2

Step 3

To draw the foreleg, start with an oval again. While keeping this oval selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new window, adjust the options from the image below. Expand this shape. Next create a small ellipse below and move down its side anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and use the Down Arrow key on the keyboard to help.

creating the foreleg

Step 4

Make a copy of the small deformed beige ellipse behind the original (Control-C, Control-B), make it darker and move it slightly up. Use the same darker color as for the shadows from the muzzle (use the Eyedropper Tool (I)).

Next make another copy of a deformed beige oval on top of original (Control-C, Control-F), make it darker (use the same Eyedropper Tool (I)) and narrower (use the Selection Tool (V)). Keep it selected and make a copy in front of it (Control-C, Control-F), making it little narrower and lighter. Expand the foreleg.

creating the foreleg 2

Step 5

To create another foreleg, make a vertical copy of the existing one. Move the created copy of the foreleg to the right using the Right Arrow button on your keyboard.

placing the foreleg and creating another one

Step 6

Let's create the hind leg. Take the copy of the paw from the previous step, where you created the forelegs. Draw another dark grey ellipse and place it behind the paw. In the end, slightly rotate the big vertical ellipse to the left.

creating the hind leg

Step 7

Attach the hind leg to the puppy’s body. Place it in front of the body but behind the forelegs. To create another hind leg, create a vertical copy of the existing one. Move this new hind leg to the right side.

Our cute Boston Terrier is ready.

placing the hind leg and creating another one

4. How to Create the Chair

Step 1

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, create a rounded rectangle. In the image below, you can see which fill color you need. Slightly deform this shape to make the back of the chair. Select the rounded rectangle and go to Effect > Warp > Inflate. Enter the options you see below.

creating the back of the chair

For further transformation select the same object and apply another effect. Go to: Effect > Warp > Shell Upper. The necessary options are presented below. Finally, expand this shape.

creating the back of the chair 2

Step 2

Now let’s make the seat. Create a rounded rectangle and apply the Arc effect (Effect > Warp > Arc and use the options below). Expand this shape. Add an ellipse of the same color behind, go to the Pathfinder panel and press the Minus Front button. For both shapes, you don’t need a black stroke. On this image, the black stroke color is only for better visibility.

creating the seat of the chair

Step 3

Let's continue to create the chair. To make rounded corners for the seat, go to View > Show Corner Widget. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select these two sharp corners of the seat and drag inside using the dots that appear.

Attach the back and seat of the chair together. To make a visible dividing line, select the seat and make a copy behind (Control-C, Control-B). Change the color of it and move this part up.

Let's make a cushion seat. Add a new ellipse over the chair’s back, but behind the seat. The color of this ellipse should be the same as the main color of the chair. Create a copy of this ellipse behind, make it darker, and move slightly up.

creating the seat of the chair 2

Step 4

For the leg of the chair, create a rectangle with the Rectangle Tool (M) and attach it to the bottom of the chair. Next, we will use the Polygon Tool to make a triangle. Take the Polygon Tool and click on your artboard. In the new dialogue window, type 3 Sides with any Radius. Then click OK. Now flatten this triangle to get a result similar to the image below.

creating the leg of the chair

Step 5

Create a small circle (for an even circle, use the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding down the Shift key). After that, behind the circle create a very narrow, long, vertical ellipse. While keeping the ellipse selected, press the Rotate Tool (R) and then the Enter button on your keyboard. In the pop-up window, enter 90 degrees and hit Copy.

Select all three shapes and while holding the Shift and Alt keys, drag them to the right. This way, you’ll create a second copy of them, which will be horizontally aligned. While the newly created three shapes are selected, press the Control-D buttons twice to repeat the previous step and create new groups of these shapes exactly the same distance from the previous one. Now select the whole line of these shapes and while holding the Shift and Alt keys, drag them down. And again, press the Control-D buttons to repeat the previous step.

If you see you need more lines with these shapes, feel free to repeat pressing Control-D until you get enough. It will depend on the shape of your chair.

creating the texture effect

Step 6

Place the grouped objects (right-click > Group) on the chair’s back. Now, keeping them selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and use the options below. Our comfortable chair is ready.

placing the texture effect

5. How to Create the Background

Step 1

First, we want to place our Boston terrier on the chair.

placing the Boston Terrier on the chair

Step 2

Create a light beige square behind the image, 850 px Width and Height, by using the Rectangle Tool (M).

creating the background

Awesome Work, You're Now Done!

If you wish to add some decorations like home plants, you can follow one of my previous tutorials on how to create some indoor plants.

Awesome work, you're done! I hope you’ve enjoyed following this tutorial. Now you are ready to create your own interesting illustrations with fancy characters and pets. If you have any suggestions for more tutorials, please let me know. I will try to make a tutorial adapted for beginners.

End Result
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.