Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design

Создаём кавайного фермера для сезона сбора урожая в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Easy Character Design.
How to Create a Cute Gingerbread Man in Adobe Illustrator
Create a Friendly, Futuristic Robot in Affinity Designer

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Прошлым августом я со своей семьёй переехала в США. До этого мы жили во разных странах, и в этот раз переехали в сельскохозяйственный штат Айова.  Мы живём в маленьком городке под названием Эймс, где фермеры и свиньи тусуются вместе.  Поэтому я решила показать вам как создать фермера и его свинку в сельской местности в кавайном стиле. 

Вы примените базовые формы и эффекты деформации, а также создадите несколько форм при помощи панели Обработки контуров. В итоге у вас получится чудесная иллюстрация, которая заставит вас задуматься о смене карьеры с графического дизайнера на фермера.

Если захотите пойти дальше, добавить больше деталей,  изменить финальную картинку, поднять её на уровень выше, посмотрите на дизайн других персонажей

Если вы хотите пропустить обучение и скачать финальный проект, можете купить его на Envato Market.

1. Рисуем голову

Шаг 1

Запустив Adobe Illustrator, создайте новый документ 600х600 пикселей в ширину и высоту. Начнём рисовать голову фермера. Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) нарисуйте овал. На картинке ниже можете увидеть, какой цвет вам нужен. Чтобы придать голове неправильную форму, перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Раздувание. Введите параметры, которые вы видите ниже.

creating the headcreating the headcreating the head

Шаг 2

Переходим к глазу. Для создания круга используйте Инструмент "Эллипс" (L), удерживая клавишу Shift.  Затем добавьте маленький круг потемнее внутри первого круга (Control-C, Control-F). Добавьте ещё два крошечных белых кружка для придания блеска глазам. Для удобства сгруппируйте элементы глаз вместе (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать).

creating the eyecreating the eyecreating the eye

Шаг 3

Расположите глаз на своём месте. Удерживая клавиши Shift и Alt, сдвиньте глаз вправо.  У вас появится копия первого глаза.

placing the eye and creating another oneplacing the eye and creating another oneplacing the eye and creating another one

Шаг 4

Теперь рот. Вам нужен абсолютно белый рот, но на картинке внизу я отметила его границы чёрной обводкой, чтобы было лучше видно (вам эта обводка не нужна в вашем рисунке).

Давайте создадим маленький белый эллипс и Инструментом "Преобразовать опорные точки" (Shift-C) сделайте левую и правую опорные точки острыми, нажав на них. После этого снова выделите эти две опорные точки (Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А)) и сместите их вверх, нажав Стрелку вверх на клавиатуре.

creating the mouthcreating the mouthcreating the mouth

Поместите рот почти между глазами, но немного ниже.

placing the mouthplacing the mouthplacing the mouth

Шаг 5

Добавим брови. Мы не будем создавать их с нуля, а просто используем рот, который только что создали! Скопируйте рот, измените цвет заливки (см.ниже) и переверните его. Можете также подвигать указатели опорных точек  Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) для достижения круглой формы. Поместите бровь над левым глазом.

Выделите левую бровь, выберите Инструмент "Зеркальное отражение" (О) и, удерживая клавишу Alt, кликните на лбе, прямо в середине лица. В новом диалоговом окне выберите Вертикально, Угол 90 градусов и нажмите Копировать. Теперь у нас должно быть две брови.

creating the eyebrowscreating the eyebrowscreating the eyebrows

Шаг 6

Крошечный эллипс под левым глазом покажет румянец на левой щеке.  Его нужно слегка развернуть вправо.  Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" (О) создайте правую щёку под правым глазом. 

creating the cheekscreating the cheekscreating the cheeks

Шаг 7

Создайте ещё два круга с цветом заливки щёк, они должны перекрывать друг друга, как показано ниже. Перейдите на панель Обработки контуров и нажмите кнопку Вычитание переднего. Теперь создайте круг со таким же цветом заливки, как на лице. Расположите окрашенный в цвет щёк полумесяц в круге, который вы только что создали.

creating the earcreating the earcreating the ear

Шаг 8

Это - левое ухо. Создайте правое ухо, как вы делали для правого глаза, правой брови и правой щеки.  Уши нужно разместить слегка ниже глаз.

placing the ear and creating another oneplacing the ear and creating another oneplacing the ear and creating another one

Шаг 9

Теперь волосы. Выберите лицо, скопируйте его на задний план (Control-C, Control-B), измените цвет заливки и увеличьте его. Добавьте эллипс в зоне лба и убедитесь, что он расположен на переднем фоне. 

creating the haircreating the haircreating the hair

Шаг 10

Давайте создадим волосы сбоку.  Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) нарисуйте эллипс. Выделив его, выберите Инструмент "Преобразовать опорную точку" (Shift-C) и нажмите на нижнюю опорную точку, чтобы сделать её острой.  Затем возьмите Инструмент "Прямое выделение" (А), выберите правую и левую опорные точки и переместите их вверх.

creating the side haircreating the side haircreating the side hair

Шаг 11

После того, как слегка наклоните боковые волосы вправо, расположите их с левой стороны головы над левым ухом.  Затем Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" (О) сделайте вертикальную копию и сместите её вправо поверх правого уха.

Давайте выровняем всё, что мы создали, чтобы получилось идеально симметричное лицо. Выберите две части боковых волос, сгруппируйте их (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать), затем сгруппируйте две брови, два глаза, две щеки и два уха. После этого выделите всё, что вы создали в предыдущих шагах и на панели Выравнивание (Окно > Выравнивание) нажмите Центр горизонтального выравнивания.

Также рекомендую вам сгруппировать голову (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать).

placing the sida hairplacing the sida hairplacing the sida hair

2. Создаём шляпу

Шаг 1

Сейчас мы начнём делать фигуру фермерской шляпы.  Инструментом "Прямоугольник" (М) нарисуйте прямоугольник, идентичный фигуре, показанной ниже. Выделив его, перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Выпуклость. В новом диалоговом окне настройте опции, которые вы видите на картинке внизу.

После этого создайте ещё одну его копию на заднем фоне (Control-C, Control-B), сместите эту копию слегка вниз и сделайте её темнее.

creating the hatcreating the hatcreating the hat

Шаг 2

Сохраняя цвет заливки, нарисуйте эллипс в верхней части шляпы. Измените цвет заливки и нарисуйте ещё один эллипс в нижней части шляпы, поместите его позади всего остального (Control-X, Control-B). Сгруппируйте шляпу (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать).

creating the hat 2creating the hat 2creating the hat 2

Поместите её на голову фермера.

placing the hatplacing the hatplacing the hat

3. Делаем форму тела

Шаг 1

Измените цвет заливки и создайте два эллипса, перекрывающих друг друга.  Обратите внимание, что верх вертикального эллипса находится слегка позади головы, а горизонтальный эллипс покрывает верхнюю часть вертикального.

На панели Обработки контуров нажмите кнопку Пересечение. У вас получится форма, которая выглядит в точности как верхняя часть тела без ног, но у нас уже есть целое тело с ногами.

forming the body shapeforming the body shapeforming the body shape

Шаг 2

Нарисуйте маленький скруглённый прямоугольник Инструментом "Скруглённый прямоугольник" как на картинке ниже, затем нажмите кнопку Вычитание переднего на панели Обработки контуров. Таким образом вы разделите две ноги.

forming the body shape 2forming the body shape 2forming the body shape 2

Шаг 3

Перед переходом к следующему шагу вам нужно скачать шрифт, скругляющий любой угол. После скачивания вы сможете сделать отмеченные на картинке углы круглыми. Если не хотите этого делать, просто оставьте как есть.

forming the body shape 3forming the body shape 3forming the body shape 3

4. Создаём штаны

Шаг 1

Выделите тело фермера и скопируйте его на передний план (Control-C, Control-F). Затем снова выберите Инструмент "Скруглённый прямоугольник" и нарисуйте три скруглённых прямоугольника (конечно же, вам нужно нарисовать один и затем сделать две копии). Убедитесь, что между ними одинаковое расстояние. Выделите три скруглённых прямоугольника и копию тела и нажмите кнопку Вычитание переднего на панели Обработки контуров. Измените цвет заливки получившейся фигуры.

Выделите тело (коричневая фигура) и штаны (синяя фигура) и поместите их на задний план (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the pantscreating the pantscreating the pants

Шаг 2

Теперь нам нужно отделить штаны от обуви.  Нарисуйте овал, отмечающий, где должны располагаться ботинки. Можете нарисовать его с любым цветом заливки, т.к. вы удалите его позже.

Выделите его и затем выделите штаны. На панели Обработки контуров нажмите Разделение. Разгруппируйте получившуюся форму (щелчок правой кнопкой > Разгруппировать) и удалите ненужные части. Установите соответствующие цвета заливки.

dividing the pants from bootsdividing the pants from bootsdividing the pants from boots

Шаг 3

Создадим ещё одну деталь штанов - манжету. Начните с синего прямоугольника. Затем перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга и введите следующие параметры:

creating the cuffcreating the cuffcreating the cuff

Растяните эту фигуру (Объект > Разобрать оформление). Сделайте две её копии и поместите их в нижней части штанов. Вы можете слегка повернуть манжеты и выбрать ту позицию, которая больше всего подходит.

placing the cuffsplacing the cuffsplacing the cuffs

Шаг 4

Давайте добавим карман. Нарисуйте круг с таким же цветом заливки как и штаны (выберите цвет Пипеткой (I)). Затем скопируйте фигуру, которую мы только что создали в предыдущем шаге (манжету штанов) и поместите её в голубой круг. Снова выделите круг и сделайте копию на заднем фоне. Сместите вниз копию и сделайте её темнее. Сгруппируйте весь карман.

creating the pocketcreating the pocketcreating the pocket

Шаг 5

Расположите карман на штанах. Можете также добавить две маленьких пуговицы. 

placing the pocketplacing the pocketplacing the pocket

5. Создаём рубашку и руки

Шаг 1

Начнём с воротника.  Инструментом "Многоугольник" нарисуйте треугольник. Кликнув на монтажной области, появится новое диалоговое окно. Введите 3 стороны и радиус. Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) передвиньте опорные точки для получения результата, показанного ниже. Затем создайте вертикальную копию Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" (О).

creating the collarcreating the collarcreating the collar

Поместите воротник под головой. 

placing the collarplacing the collarplacing the collar

Шаг 2

Пипеткой (I) выберите такой же цвет заливки, как на лице. Теперь создадим руки. Нарисуйте овал за телом и измените его (перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга).

Не забудьте расширить недавно созданную фигуру.

creating the armscreating the armscreating the arms

Шаг 3

Теперь нужно показать рубашку. У вас уже есть её часть (зелёная фигура). Применив тот же зелёный цвет, нарисуйте овал. Этот овал должен отделить рукава от руки. Выделите руки (вы растянули фигуру, так?), скопируйте их на передний план и затем выделите этот зелёный овал. Нажмите Пересечение на панели Обработки контуров. Расположите всё за руками и рукавами.

creating the shirtcreating the shirtcreating the shirt

Шаг 4

Можете закатать рукава, как вы сделали это со штанами. Просто возьмите копию манжеты со штанов, измените цвет заливки и расположите её между рукой и рукавом. Повторите для другой руки.

creating the shirt 2creating the shirt 2creating the shirt 2

6. Создаём грабли

Шаг 1

Сначала Инструментом "Скруглённый прямоугольник" нарисуйте ручку грабель. Add a regular rectangle on top of it. Затем снова возьмите Скруглённый прямоугольник и создайте длинный горизонтальный прямоугольник на верхушке ручки.

creating the rakecreating the rakecreating the rake

Шаг 2

Добавьте маленький скруглённый прямоугольник на верхушку с левой стороны. Сдвиньте его вправо, одновременно удерживая клавиши Shift и Alt. Продолжайте нажимать Control-D, чтобы повторить последнее действие. Это - зубцы грабель. Выделите все зубцы и сгруппируйте их, т.к. мы хотим всё выровнять. Выделите грабли (с зубцами) и нажмите Центр горизонтального выравнивания на панели Выравнивание (Окно > Выравнивание).

creating the rake 2creating the rake 2creating the rake 2

Дайте грабли фермеру.

placing the rakeplacing the rakeplacing the rake

7. Создаём свинью

Шаг 1

Начнём рисовать свинку с розового эллипса. Измените его (вы уже знаете, как это делается, верно?)

creating the pig bodycreating the pig bodycreating the pig body

Шаг 2

Посмотрите на панель Оформление (Окно > Оформление). Вы увидите текст: Деформация: Арка. Вам нужно захватить его и перетащить на иконку с корзиной. Затем нарисуйте другой эллипс и расположите так, как показано.

creating the pig headcreating the pig headcreating the pig head

Шаг 3

Для глаз используйте тёмно-коричневый круг и крошечный белый круг для блика. Выделите весь глаз и, удерживая клавиши Alt и Shift, сдвиньте его в сторону. Теперь у вас есть копия глаза.

creating the eyescreating the eyescreating the eyes

Пусть свинка видит!

placing eyesplacing eyesplacing eyes

Шаг 4

Сейчас мы создадим пятачок. Нарисуйте розовый эллипс и установите для него настройки деформации. После этого скопируйте его на задний фон и сделайте эту копию светлее. Добавьте два крошечных тёмных кружка. Сгруппируйте вместе все элементы.

creating the snoutcreating the snoutcreating the snout

Отдайте их свинке.

placing the snoutplacing the snoutplacing the snout

Шаг 5

Ухо будет в форме сердечка. Давайте снова создадим маленький розовый эллипс. Затем сделайте нижнюю опорную точку острой и переместите левую и правую опорные точки. Видите форму сердечка?

creating the earcreating the earcreating the ear

Создайте копию уха и расположите оба на голове свинки.

placing earsplacing earsplacing ears

Шаг 6

Я решила не усложнять ноги - создать всего лишь простой розовый эллипс, в котором вам нужно подвинуть опорные точки. Сначала сдвиньте вниз левую и правую точки, затем верхнюю сдвиньте вправо.  Вот и всё. 

creating the legcreating the legcreating the leg

Шаг 7

Поместите её на место. Затем скопируйте и разместите копию. Затем создайте две копии - они должны быть темнее - и разместите их за всем телом. Обратите внимание, что ноги на заднем плане слегка выше.

placing legsplacing legsplacing legs

Шаг 8

Хвост создайте таким же методом, какой вы применили к первой ноге. Сдвиньте опорные точки, отмеченные на картинке, и у вас получится хвост.

creating the tailcreating the tailcreating the tail

Расположите хвост там, где он должен быть.

placing the tailplacing the tailplacing the tail

8. Создаём сено

Шаг 1

Это тоже очень просто - в только что созданном жёлтом эллипсе сдвиньте вниз левую и правую опорные точки.

creating the haycreating the haycreating the hay

Шаг 2

Удалите цвет заливки и установите цвет обводки на тот цвет, который вы можете видеть на картинке ниже. Выберите Инструмент "Отрезок линии" (\) и нарисуйте линии. Если вам нужна обводка потолще, можете увеличить её на панели Обводка. После того, как закончите, сгруппируйте весь стог.

creating the hay 2creating the hay 2creating the hay 2

9. Создаём яблоко

Шаг 1

Удалите цвет обводки и установите цвет заливки на тот цвет, который вы видите ниже. Мы добавим маленькую милую деталь нашей картине - яблоко. Как обычно, начните с эллипса. Разверните его влево. Затем Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" (О) сделайте вертикальную копию.

creating the applecreating the applecreating the apple

Шаг 2

Сделайте правую и левую опорные точки зелёного эллипса острыми. Листок готов.

creating the leafcreating the leafcreating the leaf

Шаг 3

Применив тот же цвет заливки, создайте скруглённый прямоугольник - это будет черенок. Расположите стебель на верхушке яблоко и добавьте листок. Вы также можете создать одну фигуру из эллипсов, которые мы использовали для яблока. Выберите два красных эллипса и нажмите Объединить на панели Обработки контуров. Яблоко готово.

creating the apple 2creating the apple 2creating the apple 2

10. Объединяем все элементы вместе

Объедините все элементы.

placing all the elements togetherplacing all the elements togetherplacing all the elements together

11. Создаём задний фон

Шаг 1

Добавим картине немного объёма. Расположите жёлтый эллипс за всем остальным.

adding dimensions to the sceneadding dimensions to the sceneadding dimensions to the scene

Шаг 2

Затем добавьте квадрат. Выберите Инструмент "Скруглённый прямоугольник" (М) и кликните на монтажной области. Введите высоту и ширину 600 пикселей. Вы только что закончили!

creating the backgroundcreating the backgroundcreating the background

Вывод

Поздравляю с окончанием такого длинного урока и с прекрасным результатом! Надеюсь, вам понравилось, и вы насладились созданием этой картины. Если вам что-то не понятно, сообщите мне в комментариях ниже.

Вы также можете увидеть мою финальную версию на Envato Market.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design

Create a Kawaii Farmer for the Harvest Season in Adobe Illustrator

This post is part of a series called Easy Character Design.
How to Create a Cute Gingerbread Man in Adobe Illustrator
Create a Friendly, Futuristic Robot in Affinity Designer
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

This past August, my family and I moved to the US. We have lived in many different countries in the past already—this time, we moved to the agricultural state of Iowa. We live in a small city called Ames, where many farmers and pigs hang out together. That's why I decided to show you how to create a farmer and his pig in a countryside scene, splashed with my love for the kawaii style. 

You will use basic shapes and Warp Effects, and will cut out a few shapes using the Pathfinder panel. In the end, you will have an adorable illustration which will make you consider changing your career from a graphic designer to a farmer.

If you want to go further, add more details or change the final illustration, to take it to another level, get inspiration with other character designs.

If you're wanting to skip ahead and download the final project, you can purchase it Envato Market.

1. Draw the Head

Step 1

After opening your Adobe Illustrator and creating a new document 600 x 600 px Width and Height, we will start to draw the head of the farmer. Using the Ellipse Tool (L), draw an oval. In the image below, you can see which fill color you need. To give the head an irregular shape, go to Effect > Warp > Inflate. Enter the options you see below.

creating the head

Step 2

On to the eye. To create an even circle, use the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding down the Shift key. Then add a smaller, darker circle inside (Control-C, Control-F) the first circle. Add two more tiny white circles to brighten the eyes. For your convenience, group the eye elements together (right-click > Group).

creating the eye

Step 3

Place the eye in its place. While holding the Shift and Alt keys, move this eye to the right. You will get another copy of the eye to complete the eyes.

placing the eye and creating another one

Step 4

Now, the mouth. You need a completely white mouth, but in the image below, I marked its boundaries with a black stroke so you can see better (you don’t need the strokes in your actual drawing).

So, let’s create a little white ellipse and using the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C), make the left and right anchor points sharp by clicking on them. After that, select those two anchor points again (with the Direct Selection Tool (A)) and move them up by pressing the Up Arrow on your keyboard.

creating the mouth

Place the mouth almost between the eyes, but just a bit lower.

placing the mouth

Step 5

Let’s add the eyebrows. We won't create the eyebrow from scratch—we will use the mouth that we just created! Make a copy of the mouth, change the fill color (see below) and rotate it, upside down. You can also move the handles of the anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to achieve a rounder shape. Place the eyebrow over the left eye.

While keeping the left eyebrow selected, take the Reflect Tool (O) and while holding down the Alt key, click the forehead, right in the middle of the face. In the new dialogue window, select Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. Now we should have two eyebrows.

creating the eyebrows

Step 6

A tiny ellipse under the left eye will show the blush on the left cheek. It has to be slightly rotated to the right. Using the Reflect Tool (O) again, create the right cheek under the right eye.

creating the cheeks

Step 7

Create two more circles with the fill color of the cheeks, which overlap each other as in the image below. Go to the Pathfinder panel and press the Minus Front button. Now, create a circle using the same fill color as the face. Place the cheek-colored crescent moon shape on the circle that you just created.

creating the ear

Step 8

This is the left ear. Create the right ear as you did for the right eye, right eyebrow and the right cheek. The ears have to be placed slightly lower than the eyes.

placing the ear and creating another one

Step 9

Now for the hair. Select the face, make a copy in back (Control-C, Control-B), change the fill color, and make it bigger. Add an ellipse in the forehead area, and make sure it’s in the front.

creating the hair

Step 10

Let's create the side hair for the farmer. Start with the Ellipse Tool (L) and draw an ellipse. While keeping it selected, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on the bottom anchor point to make it sharp. Then take the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the right and left anchor points and slide them up.

creating the side hair

Step 11

After slightly slanting the side hair to the right, place it on the left side of the farmer's head, over the left ear. Then using the Reflect Tool (O), make a vertical copy and move it to the right side, over the right ear.

Let's align everything that we created to make a perfectly symmetrical face. So, select two parts of the side hair, and group them together (right-click > Group), and then group the two eyebrows, two eyes, two cheeks, and the two ears. After that, select everything that we created in the previous steps and in the Align panel (Window > Align), press Horizontal Align Center.

I also recommend that you group the head (right-click > Group).

placing the sida hair

2. Create the Hat

Step 1

We will now start forming the shape of the farmer's hat. Hit the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a rectangle similar to the shape shown below. While keeping it selected, go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new dialogue window, adjust the options as you see in the image below.

After that, create another copy of it in back (Control-C, Control-B), shift down this copy down a bit and make it darker.

creating the hat

Step 2

Keep the same fill color and draw an ellipse on the top of the hat. Change the fill color and draw one more ellipse on the bottom of the hat and place it behind everything (Control-X, Control-B). Group the hat (right-click > Group).

creating the hat 2

Put it on the farmer’s head.

placing the hat

3. Form the Body Shape

Step 1

Change the fill color and create two ellipses which are overlapping each other. Notice that the top of the vertical ellipse is slightly behind the head and the horizontal ellipse covers the upper part of the vertical one. 

In the Pathfinder panel, press the Intersect button. You will get the shape which looks like just the upper body without the legs—but no no no—we already have the whole body with the legs.

forming the body shape

Step 2

Draw a small rounded rectangle using the Rounded Rectangle Tool as you see in the image below, and then press the Minus Front button in Pathfinder. Doing this will divide the two legs.

forming the body shape 2

Step 3

Before doing this next step, you will need to download the Round Any Corner script. Once you’ve done that, then you'll be able to make the marked corners in the image below round. If you don't want to do this, then just leave it as it is.

forming the body shape 3

4. Create the Pants

Step 1

Select the body of the farmer and make a copy in the front (Control-C, Control-F). Then take the Rounded Rectangle Tool again, to draw three rounded rectangles (of course, you just need to draw one and make two copies). Be sure to have the same distance between them. Select those three rounded rectangles and the copy of the body, and press the Minus Front button in Pathfinder. Change the fill color of the resulted shape.

Select the body (brown shape) and the pants (blue shape) and put them in the back (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the pants

Step 2

Now we need to divide the pants from the boots of the farmer. Draw an oval which marks where the shoes will be. You can draw this oval in any fill color, because you will delete it later. 

Keep it selected and then select the pants. In Pathfinder, press Divide. Ungroup the resulting shape (right-click > Ungroup) and delete the unnecessary parts. Set the appropriate fill colors.

dividing the pants from boots

Step 3

Let's create one more thing for the pants—the cuff. Start with blue rectangle. Then go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options:

creating the cuff

Expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance). Make two copies of it and place them on the bottom of the pants. You might want to rotate this cuff slightly—just find the position that fits well.

placing the cuffs

Step 4

Let’s add a pocket to the outfit. Draw a circle with the same fill color as the pants (use the Eyedropper Tool (I) to take this color). Then copy the shape we just created in the previous step (the cuff of the pants) and place it on the blue circle. Select this circle again and make a copy in back. Shift down the copy and make it darker. Group the whole pocket.

creating the pocket

Step 5

Place the pocket on the pants. You can also add two little buttons.

placing the pocket

5. Create the Shirt and the Arms

Step 1

Now for the collar. To draw a triangle, you will use the Polygon Tool. After you click on the art board, a new dialogue window will pop up. Enter 3 Sides and any Radius. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the anchor points to achieve the result you see below. Then create a vertical copy of it using the Reflect Tool (O).

creating the collar

Place the collar under the head.

placing the collar

Step 2

With the help of the Eyedropper Tool (I), take the same fill color as the face. Now we will create arms. Draw an oval behind the body and warp it (go to Effect > Warp > Arc).

Don’t forget to expand the newly created shape.

creating the arms

Step 3

Now we want to show the shirt. You already have a part of it (the green shape). Using the same green color, draw an oval. This oval has to divide the sleeves and the hand. Select the arms (you expanded the shape, right?), make a copy in the front and then select this green oval. Press Intersect in Pathfinder. Put everything behind the arms and sleeves.

creating the shirt

Step 4

You can roll up the sleeves as you did for the pants. Just take a copy of the cuff from the pants, change the fill color and place it between the hand and the sleeve. Then repeat for the other hand.

creating the shirt 2

6. Create the Rake

Step 1

First, with the help of the Rounded Rectangle Tool, draw the handle of the rake. Add a regular rectangle on top of it. Then again, take the Rounded Rectangle Tool and create a long, horizontal rectangle at the top of the handle.

creating the rake

Step 2

Add a small rounded rectangle on top, from the left side. Move it to the right, while holding the Shift and Alt buttons together. Then keep pressing Control-D to repeat your last movement. Those are the prongs of the rake. Select all the prongs and group them, because we want to align everything. Select the whole rake (with the prongs) and press Horizontal Align Center on the Align panel (Window > Align).

creating the rake 2

Give the rake to the farmer.

placing the rake

7. Create the Pig

Step 1

Let’s begin the pig with the pink ellipse. Warp it (you already know how to do it, right?)

creating the pig body

Step 2

Look at the Appearance panel (Window > Appearance). You should see the text, Warp: Arc. You just need to grab it and move it to the trash icon. Then draw another ellipse and place it as shown.

creating the pig head

Step 3

For the eyes, use a dark brown circle and a tiny white circle for the highlight. Select the whole eye and while holding down the Alt and Shift keys, move it to the side. Now you've got a copy of the eye.

creating the eyes

Make her see!

placing eyes

Step 4

In this step, we are going to create the snout. Draw a pink ellipse and set up the warp options for it. After that, make a copy in back and make this copy lighter. Add two tiny, dark circles to complete the snout. Group the elements together.

creating the snout

And give it to the pig.

placing the snout

Step 5

The ear will be in the shape of a heart. Let’s create a small pink ellipse again. Then make a sharp bottom anchor point, and move up the left and right anchor points. Can you see the heart shape?

creating the ear

Create another copy of the ear and place the two on the pig's head.

placing ears

Step 6

I decided to make the legs not very hard—just a simple pink ellipse where you need to move anchor points. First, the left and right move down, and then the bottom anchor point moves to the right. That's it.

creating the leg

Step 7

Give it to the pig. Then make a copy and give her another leg. Then create two copies—these should be darker and placed behind the whole body. Notice that the legs in the back are slightly higher.

placing legs

Step 8

For the tail, use almost the same method as you did for the first leg. Move the anchor points that are marked in the image and you will get the tail.

creating the tail

Put the tail where it should be.

placing the tail

8. Create the Hay

Step 1

This is also very easy—in the newly created yellow ellipse, move down the left and right anchor points.

creating the hay

Step 2

Delete the fill color, and set the stroke color to the color you can see in the image below. Take the Line Segment Tool (\) and draw the lines. If you need a thicker stroke, you can increase it in the Stroke panel. After you finish, group the whole pile.

creating the hay 2

9. Create the Apple

Step 1

Delete the stroke color and set the fill color to the color you see below. We will add just a little cute detail to the scene—an apple. As usual, start from ellipse. Rotate it to the left. Then make a vertical copy using the Reflect Tool (O).

creating the apple

Step 2

Make the right and left anchor points of the green ellipse sharp. The leaf is ready.

creating the leaf

Step 3

With the same fill color, create a rounded rectangle as the stem. Place the stem on top of the apple and add the leaf. You can also make one shape from the ellipses which we used for the apple. Select the two red ellipses and press Unite in Pathfinder. The apple is now ready.

creating the apple 2

10. Place All the Elements Together

Combine all the elements together.

placing all the elements together

11. Create the Background

Step 1

Let's add some dimensions to the scene. Add a yellow ellipse behind everything.

adding dimensions to the scene

Step 2

Then add a square. Hit the Rectangle Tool (M) and click on your art board. Enter the Height and Width 600 px. You just completed the entire scene!

creating the background


My big congratulations to you as you finished such a long tutorial and came up with such an adorable result! I hope you liked it and that you’ve enjoyed creating this scene. If you don't understand something, please tell me in the comments below.

You can also check out my final version over on Envato Market.

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.