Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Patterns
Design

Создайте забаву, бесшовные дороги из желтого кирпича и мака в Adobe Photoshop 

Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Wizard of Oz.
How to Create Tin Man From The Wizard of Oz Using Adobe Illustrator
Draw the Cowardly Lion From the Wizard of Oz in Adobe Illustrator

Russian (Pусский) translation by Shaun Murphy (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Если вы когда-нибудь хотели, чтобы отправиться к колдуну, вам необходимо следовать по дороге из желтого кирпича.  И если вы не можете найти один рядом, вы всегда можете сделать один из ваших собственных.   Следуйте этого учебника, чтобы сделать плавный дороге из желтого кирпича и картина маковое поле, чтобы помочь вам канал ваш внутренний Дороти. Вы получаете бонусные очки для того, чтобы носить блестящие туфли в то время как вы рисуете. 

1. Все дороги 

Давайте немного извилистые линии будет представлять основу нашей дороге.  Технически дорога из желтого кирпича есть только один кружащийся начала, но форма была слишком веселой, чтобы не использовать, поэтому я решила включить его в шаблон. 

Шаг 1 

Сделать некоторые хорошая течет от руки завитками, чтобы служить в качестве основы для вашего пути.  Если вы не можете достичь линии гладкости вы хотите, когда вы рисуете от руки, увеличить и сгладить линию по крупицам, с помощью круглой твердой кисти и ластика, в свою очередь. 

Рисование кривых красиво не легко, но я призываю вас, чтобы практиковать его всякий раз, когда вы можете, вы будете лучше с усилием.

Yellow Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - drawing freehand curves

Шаг 2 

 Сделать копию вашей сучки нажмите Ctrl-J и сдвиньте их вправо, по прямой линии, удерживая клавишу Shift при перетаскивании.  Изменить цвет скопированного слоя, нажав на кнопку FX в нижней части панели слоев и выберите наложение в раскрывающемся меню. Это поможет вам увидеть, как края двух экземплярах подходят друг другу, и какие части нужно перерисовать, чтобы они плавно сливаются. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - lining up the curves

Шаг 3 

 После того, как два набора сучки текут вместе, аккуратно удалите слой копию и выберите нужный пункт из левой части основной вихревой слой. Мы хотим сложить завитки на себя, чтобы создать наши стартовые рисунок плитки. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - making the first repeat tile

Шаг 4 

Удерживая нажатой клавишу Shift, перетащите выделение в прямой линии, пока не достигнет правильного положения, т. е. пока он не совпадет с правой стороны завитками.  Теперь у вас есть повторяющейся по горизонтали конструкция с идеально прямыми краями, и вы можете разместить направляющие по бокам конструкции. 

На месте руководства, убедитесь, что ваши правители видны.  Если они не, вы можете сделать их, выбрав вид > линейки из меню.  Затем вы можете просто нажать на линейку и перетащите, чтобы вытащить руководство. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - making the first repeat tile pt 2

Шаг 5 

Когда вы сидите, ваши гиды, они часто привязываются к краю свои работы самостоятельно.  Однако, эта оснастка не всегда точны, так что это сэкономит вам много горя позже, если вы не торопитесь, чтобы увеличить максимально вниз с зумом инструмент и убедитесь, что направляющая установлена на идеально выровнять с краем линии. 

Если руководство еще только треть ширины пикселя, он может испортить вашу повторите позже. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - making sure your guides align

Шаг 6 

После того как вы переехали левый край вашей линии работы с правой стороны, вполне возможно, что некоторые фрагмент линий будет по-прежнему торчали за право руководства.  Используйте тот же метод, чтобы переместить его в левую сторону—выберите его с помощью инструмента прямоугольного выделения, и, удерживая клавишу Shift перетащите его, пока он не коснется внутренней стороне левой направляющей.

Вы эффективно сложить в стороны плитки, и теперь у вас есть готовые горизонтальные повторить.  Помню этот набор шагов, потому что вы будете использовать его еще несколько раз в течение урока. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - completing the repeat tile

Шаг 7 

 Отработать вертикальный повторяю, мы будем делать то же самое мы сделали с горизонтальной кнопкой управления-J, чтобы создать копию нашей работы, "Shift" и перетащите его вверх или вниз, пока они не комфортно отдыхать друг против друга, а затем изменить линии работа протекала более гладко в копию.

 Всегда вносите коррективы на оригинальную плитку, потому что вы будете выбросить копию, когда этот шаг делается.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - the vertical repeat

Шаг 8

Когда линии хорошо, мы будем использовать инструмент выделения прямоугольник, чтобы захватить нижнюю часть рабочей линии и, удерживая клавишу Shift перетащите его вверх, пока он находится ровно на верхней части конструкции. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - the vertical repeat completed

Шаг 9 

Набор пары горизонтальных направляющих, на верхней и нижней линии работы, и ваша плитка будет официально завершена. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final starting tile

2. Определить кирпича 

Итак, у нас есть "дорожная карта" для укладки нашу дорогу из желтого кирпича.  Давайте попробуем воплотить ее в жизнь. 

Шаг 1 

С помощью функции наложения из меню FX в нижней части панели слоев, установить цвет фона и линии на что-то более подходящее для нашей темы.   Настройка цветов с помощью функции наложения означает, что вы всегда сможете отрегулировать их с помощью одного клика, так что вам не нужно слишком беспокоиться о точных тонов.

Используйте жесткую круглую кисть установлено относительно небольшого размера, чтобы закрыть свой водоворот фигур, так что вы можете заполнить их более легко.  Ваши гиды будут вам в пути, так что скрывать их (снять меню > Просмотр > показать > направляющие).  Вы также можете использовать сочетание клавиш Control-; чтобы скрыть направляющие. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adjusting the base colors

Шаг 2 

Используйте инструмент "волшебная палочка", чтобы выбрать места внутри теперь закрытые линии.  Затем перейдите к меню > выберите > Изменить > Expand и установите его расширить свой выбор на два или три пикселей.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - a trick to filling in shapes

Шаг 3

Нажми Alt-Delete, чтобы заполнить выделение.  Теперь у вас есть основание для дороги.  Потому что вы расширили ваш выбор, вы не получите никаких уродливых пикселей-тонкие зазоры между вашей линии и заливки. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - road base is ready

Шаг 4 

Включите направляющие снова (меню > Вид > Показать > направляющие) и использовать их, чтобы помочь вам аккуратно срезаем лишнее дорожного основания. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - trimming the excess

Шаг 5

Как только вы закончите удаление избыточного снаружи направляющих, используйте инструмент масштабирования, чтобы лишний раз убедиться, что направляющие установлены проверить.  Самый простой способ-это проверить в двух местах—в верхнем правом углу и нижнем левом углу.  Таким образом, вы проверите все четыре направляющие с двумя сигналит. 

Как видите, у меня был удален один пиксель слишком много от правой стороны дороги, так что я должен был вытащить мое право направлять на один пиксель внутрь. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - aligning the guides

Шаг 6 

Используя контрольно-Джей, сделайте восемь копий своей дорогой базовый слой и вставьте их в место вокруг вашей основной плитки.  Это поможет дать вам основу, когда вы лежите в подробности вашего пути, и он также покажет вам, если у вас есть какие-либо ошибки в вашей плитки повторить. 

 Объединить все это в один слой (удерживая нажатой клавишу Shift, чтобы выделить несколько слоев одновременно, а затем нажмите кнопку управления-E, чтобы слить) и установите его цвет на что-то похож на цвет фона, так что это не отвлекает.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - creating a framework

Шаг 7 

На новом слое, нарисуйте грубые линии, чтобы указать, как ваш кирпич будет течь.  Это поможет вам, когда вы увеличено закрыть и рисовать отдельные кирпичи. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - planning your brick flow

Шаг 8 

Используйте инструмент масштабирования, чтобы увеличить и начинаем рисовать в кирпичи на новый слой, следующие руководящие линии, которые вы нарисовали.  Как только все кирпичи нарисованы, можно удалить слой с руководящих линий.  

Есть много разных версий по дороге из желтого кирпича, некоторые с более аккуратный и однородный внешний вид и некоторые с более случайный и весело кирпича.  Я выбрал макет более гибкий кирпич чтобы сделать его проще подогнать кривых и сучки моей дороги. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - drawing the brick bases

Шаг 9 

После того как все кирпичи нарисованы, настроить цвета дорожной базовый слой и кирпич лицевой слой на любой вкус.  Основание должно быть темно, и кирпичный фасад должен быть средним тоном, который позволит нам добавлять тени и блики сверху. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adjusting the brick colors

Шаг 10

Сделайте копию кирпич лицевой слой и дать ему более темный цвет.  Переместить его от 10 до 30 пикселей ниже кирпичного лицевого слоя, чтобы создать некоторую толщину для вашего кирпича.  Выберите толщину, что выглядит лучше для вас. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - extruding your bricks into 3D

Шаг 11 

Так как он теперь выглядит, как будто кирпич лицевой слой парил над собственной тени, давайте закроем эту пропасть между ними.  Создайте копию нижнего слоя кирпича, и переместить его два или три пикселя вверх.  Затем сделайте еще одну копию и переместите ее вверх.   Продолжайте делать это, пока это выглядит, как будто кирпич стороны сплошной.

Слить все скопированные слои в один, и играть с их цветом еще раз, чтобы увидеть, что подходит им лучше всего. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - extruding the bricks pt 2

Шаг 12 

Теперь давайте добавим немного блеска на наши дороги!  Выберите кирпич лицевой слой (Ctrl + щелчок на иконке слоя на панели слоев) и затем скройте выбор, поэтому она не получить на вашем пути (контроль-Н).  Теперь вы можете рисовать на кирпичных лицах не затрагивая остальную часть. 

Выберите любую кисть брызг, кисти, текстуры, или мягкой щеткой вы хотите, и выбрать цвет чуть теплее и светлее, чем свой кирпичный цвет лица.  Слегка ходят над краем кирпичной дороге, которая ближе к вам. 

Я не буду повторять 'создаем новый слой, создаем новый слой, и вы не строго обязательно, но делать новый слой для каждого нового цвета, которые вы используете это лучший способ, чтобы убедиться, что вы всегда можете вернуться назад и все изменить легко.  Это может сохранить вам много душевной боли вниз по линии. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - highlights on the brick tops

Шаг 13 

 Теперь давайте сделаем наоборот—выбрать немного темнее цвет и перейти на другую сторону дороги. Это даст дорогу немного размера. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - shadows on the brick tops

Шаг 14 

Теперь создайте новый слой и установите его режим наложения на мягкий свет (слой панели > режимы наложения мягкий свет).   Установите ваш цвет переднего плана на белый (вы не можете сделать это при помощи наложения на этот раз, потому что режимы наложения не работают со слоями, наложение цвета). 

Подобрать жесткий круглый кисть и начните рисовать в моменты на отдельные кирпичи.  Это займет некоторое время, но они будут выглядеть так красиво потом!  Потому что ваш слой находится в смеси с цветами ниже, изюминкой будет выглядеть несколько иначе на каждый кирпич в зависимости от его цвета. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - shine on the brick tops

Как только все это сделано, у вас супер красивая желтая кирпичная дорога! 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - the finished road

3. Добавить Некоторые Травы 

Теперь дай мне немного приятной обстановке. 

Шаг 1 

Выбрать зеленый оттенок несколько темнее, чем фон, и с помощью инструмента жесткий круглую кисть начните рисовать в какой-то траве.  Вы не должны быть особенно дотошным об этом, так что не стесняйтесь, чтобы ехать быстро и не стремитесь сделать его слишком даже.  Это трава!  Он должен быть грязным! 

Убедитесь, что некоторые стебли достигают высоты кирпича на ближней стороне дороги, но никто не должен быть идущие по противоположной стороне дороги. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - first pass of grass

Шаг 2 

Выбрать новый оттенок зеленого, на этот раз чуть светлее, чем цвет фона.  Добавить больше травы. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - second pass of grass

Шаг 3 

В конце концов, выберет третий, самый темный оттенок зеленого.  Использовать его более экономно и беспорядочно, чем первые два, и рисовать короткие травинки.  Это добавляет немного глубины. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final pass of grass

Шаг 4 

Чтобы дать дорогу лишнего веса, давайте сделаем копию нашего кирпич лицевой слой, переместите его ниже всех слоев кирпича, и изменит свой цвет на что последний, темно-зеленым, которые мы использовали на траве. 

Переместите слой на несколько пикселей вверх и влево, и снизить его непрозрачность до 65%.  Это даст вам прекрасную тень на земле. 

Поскольку вы двигаетесь в этом слое, теперь его часть будет втык за пределами ваших гидов.  В любое время некоторые из ваших чертежей торчит за пределами направляющих, не забудьте сложить его обратно, как мы делали в первой части. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - brick shadows on the grass

4. Добавить Маки 

И, наконец, пришло время, чтобы добавить некоторые красивые цветы! 

Шаг 1 

Сначала рисуем внешние лепестки—подобрать красивый яркий красный цвет и нарисуйте несколько лепестков формы.  Мак, как правило, имеет четыре лепестка, но некоторые из них будут обращены к нам, и некоторые из них смотрят в противоположную сторону от нас.  На этом этапе рисовать только лепестки, которые стоят от нас. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - outer poppy petals

Шаг 2 

 Теперь давайте выберем немного другой оттенок красного цвета и рисуем лепестки, которые обращены к нам. Вы можете выбрать, чтобы сделать внутреннюю сторону маков светлее или темнее, чем внешняя сторона—либо может работать.  Я сделал мои легкие изнутри. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - inner poppy petals

Шаг 3 

Теперь добавим немного черного вокруг центра каждого цветка, и на основании каждого лепестка.  Чисто черный выглядит немного грубо, поэтому я выбрала красивый шоколадный, а не коричневый. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - dark petal spots

Шаг 4 

Выбрать новый оттенок зеленого и рисовать в характеристике мака пестики.  Как я обратил мое было сначала покрасить их в твердое тело, а затем использовать инструмент жесткий ластик, чтобы высекал их детали. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding the pistils

Шаг 5 

Цветы все еще выглядят немного плоскими, так давайте дадим им еще некоторые детали.  Я выбрал несколько темнее оттенок красного, чтобы привлечь тончайшими прожилками на внутренних лепестках, и, чтобы добавить немного теней на наружные лепестки. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding petal details

5. Умножьте Маки и закончить 

Теперь мы нарисовали одну красивую партию маков, но мы не хотим, чтобы нарисовать сто больше.  Давайте распространять их вокруг немного более эффективно. 

Шаг 1 

Контроль-J используйте, чтобы сделать копию всех ваших слоев мака, а затем сгруппировать их все вместе и использовать Контрольно-E, чтобы объединить их в один.  Теперь у вас есть небольшая группа маки вы можете копировать и правка > трансформировать > перевернуть или повернуть, чтобы поставить их в несколько разных мест без необходимости их появляются самей. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - repeating the first batch of poppies

Шаг 2 

Сделать новый букет из маков, и использовать ту же технику, что и выше, чтобы переместить их в несколько разных мест. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding more poppies

Шаг 3 

Как только он становится трудно вписаться в новые букетики маков, взять одиночные цветки и распространяют их вокруг, чтобы заполнить все оставшиеся пробелы.  Вы можете выбрать, что вы хотите сделать ваше маковое поле, но я хотел бы предложить, оставляя некоторые части реже, чем другие, чтобы дать ему приятнее стока. 

Как только все ваши маки на месте, приблизьтесь и используйте самый темный оттенок зеленого вы использовали на траве, чтобы привлечь маковые стебли и листья.  Их нижние части будет выделяться неловко от окружающей травы, поэтому использовать инструмент жесткий ластик набор небольшого размера, чтобы съедать на нижней части стеблей, делая это казаться, как будто другие травы перед ними. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - working on poppy distribution

Шаг 4 

Ваш маковое поле выглядит очень мило!  Создаем новый слой, установите его режим смешивания на Overlay и установите цвет переднего плана на светло-желтый.  Выберите мягкую круглую кисть со скошенным краем и случайно краска в некоторых крупных пятен.  Если эффект слишком Старк, довести непрозрачность слоя, чтобы то, что кажется приятнее. 

Этот эффект, кажется, настолько тонко, что это может быть трудно обнаружить, но при попытке его включения и выключения, вы увидите изящную, богатую текстуру, он добавляет к части. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding subtle sunshine

Шаг 5 

Наконец, если вам это нравится, вы можете добавить еще один слой с режимом наложения ставим на Overlay и добавьте одну финального аккорда своей дороге, заставляя ее казаться более солнечной.   Краски в формы полумесяца вдоль кривые дороги с твердым круглой щеткой, а затем съедать их по краям, используя мягкую круглую кисть с непрозрачностью снижена до 30%.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding extra shine to the road

И Вот Оно! 

Вы сделали бесшовные дороге из желтого кирпича с рисунком "маковое поле".   Вы можете использовать его в качестве цифровой обои, вы можете распечатать и использовать для скрапбукинга, или вы могли бы напечатать на ткани или оберточной бумаги и сделать особый сюрприз для этого специального мастера фэн-Оз в вашей жизни.

Надеюсь, что вы весело делать это!  Вот окончательный образ еще раз: 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final

А вот уменьшенную версию показывает больше повторять.  Весело, правда? 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final repeat
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Patterns
Design

Create a Fun, Seamless Yellow Brick Road and Poppy Pattern in Adobe Photoshop

Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Wizard of Oz.
How to Create Tin Man From The Wizard of Oz Using Adobe Illustrator
Draw the Cowardly Lion From the Wizard of Oz in Adobe Illustrator
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

If you've ever wanted to set off to see the Wizard, you'll need to follow the Yellow Brick Road. And if you can't find one nearby, you can always make one of your very own. Follow this tutorial to make a seamless Yellow Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern, to help you channel your inner Dorothy. You get bonus points for wearing sparkly shoes while you draw. 

1. Set Up the Road

Let's get some curvy lines going to represent the base of our road. Technically the Yellow Brick Road has only one swirly beginning, but the shape was too fun not to use, so I decided to include it into the pattern. 

Step 1

Draw some nice flowing freehand swirls to serve as the base for your road. If you can't achieve the line smoothness you want when you're drawing freehand, zoom in and smooth out the line bit by bit, using the Hard Round Brush Tool and the Eraser Tool in turn. 

Drawing nice curves isn't easy, but I urge you to practice it whenever you can—you will get better with effort. 

Yellow Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - drawing freehand curves

Step 2

Make a copy of your swirls by pressing Control-J, and slide them to the right in a straight line by holding down the Shift key while you drag. Change the color of the copied layer by clicking on the Fx button at the bottom of the Layers panel and choosing Overlay from the drop-down menu. This will help you see how the edges of the two copies fit together, and which parts you need to redraw in order to make them seamlessly flow together.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - lining up the curves

Step 3

Once the two sets of swirls flow together neatly, delete the copy layer and select a section from the left side of your main swirl layer. We want to fold the swirls in on themselves to create our starting pattern tile. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - making the first repeat tile

Step 4

Holding down the Shift key, drag the selection in a straight line until it reaches the correct position, i.e. until it matches up with the right side of your swirls. You now have a horizontally repeating design with perfectly straight edges, and you can place Guides at the sides of your design. 

To place Guides, make sure your Rulers are visible. If they're not, you can make them appear by selecting View > Rulers from the Menu Bar. Then you can simply click on the ruler and drag to pull out a Guide

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - making the first repeat tile pt 2

Step 5

When you're setting your Guides, they will often snap to the edge of your artwork on their own. However, this snap is not always accurate, so it will save you a lot of grief later on if you take the time to zoom down as much as possible with the Zoom Tool and make sure the Guide is set to perfectly align with the edge of your lines. 

If the Guide is even just a third of a pixel's width off, it can mess up your repeat later on. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - making sure your guides align

Step 6

Once you have moved the left edge of your line work over to the right side, it's possible that some fragment of the lines will still be sticking out beyond the right Guide. Use the same method to move it over to the left side—select it with the Rectangle Selection Tool, and Shift-drag it until it touches the inner side of your left Guide

You've effectively folded in the sides of the tile, and now you have a finished horizontal repeat. Remember this set of steps, because you will be using it a few more times during the tutorial.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - completing the repeat tile

Step 7

To work out the vertical repeat, we'll do the same thing we did with the horizontal—click Control-J to make a copy of our line work, Shift-drag up or down until they rest comfortably against each other, and then adjust the original line work to flow more smoothly into the copy. 

Always make your adjustments on the original tile, because you will discard the copy when this step is done. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - the vertical repeat

Step 8

Once the lines are looking good, we'll use the Rectangle Selection Tool to grab the bottom part of the line work and Shift-drag it upwards until it lies smoothly against the top part of the design. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - the vertical repeat completed

Step 9

Set a pair of horizontal Guides against the top and bottom of the line work, and your tile is officially completed. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final starting tile

2. Define the Bricks

Ok, so we have a road map for laying down our Yellow Brick Road. Let's try to bring it to life. 

Step 1

Using the Overlay function from the Fx menu on the bottom part of the Layers panel, set the colors of the background and the lines to something more fitting for our theme. Setting colors through the Overlay function means that you will always be able to adjust them with a single click, so you don't need to worry too much about the exact tones. 

Use a Hard Round Brush Tool set to a relatively small size to close off your swirl shapes, so you can fill them in more easily. Your Guides will get in the way, so hide them (uncheck Menu Bar > View > Show > Guides). You can also use the shortcut Control-; to hide the guides.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adjusting the base colors

Step 2

Use the Magic Wand Tool to select the spaces inside your now closed lines. Then go to Menu Bar > Select > Modify > Expand and set it to expand your selection by two or three pixels. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - a trick to filling in shapes

Step 3

Click Alt-Delete to fill the selection. Now you have a base for your road. Because you expanded your selection, you won't get any ugly pixel-thin gaps between your line and your fill. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - road base is ready

Step 4

Turn on your Guides again (Menu Bar > View > Show > Guides) and use them to help you neatly cut away the excess road base. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - trimming the excess

Step 5

Once you're done removing the excess from the outside of the Guides, use the Zoom Tool to check once again that the guides are positioned correctly. The easiest way is to check in just two places—the top right corner and the bottom left corner. That way you check all four guides with just two zooms. 

As you can see, I had removed one pixel too many from the right side of my road base, so I needed to pull my right Guide one pixel inwards. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - aligning the guides

Step 6

Using Control-J, make eight copies of your road base layer and slot them in place around your main tile. This will help give you a framework when you're laying in the details on your road, and it will also show you if you have any errors in your tile repeat. 

Merge all of these into a single layer (hold down the Shift key while selecting to select multiple layers at once, and then click Control-E to merge) and set its color to something similar to your background color, so it's not distracting. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - creating a framework

Step 7

On a new Layer, draw rough lines to indicate how your bricks will flow. This will help guide you when you're zoomed in close and drawing the individual bricks. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - planning your brick flow

Step 8

Use the Zoom Tool to zoom down and start drawing in bricks on a new Layer, following the guiding lines you drew. Once all the bricks are drawn, you can discard the layer with the guiding lines. 

There are many different versions of the Yellow Brick Road, some with a more neat and uniform look and some with more random and fun bricks. I chose a more flexible brick layout to make it easier to fit the curves and swirls of my road. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - drawing the brick bases

Step 9

Once all the bricks are drawn, adjust the colors of the road base layer and the brick face layer to whatever looks best to you. The base should be dark, and the brick faces should be a medium tone that will let us add both shadows and highlights on top. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adjusting the brick colors

Step 10

Make a copy of the brick face layer and give it a darker color. Move it 10 to 30 pixels below the brick face layer, to create some thickness for your bricks. Choose a thickness that looks best to you. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - extruding your bricks into 3D

Step 11

Since it now looks as if the brick face layer is floating above its own shadow, let's close up that gap between them. Make a copy of the bottom brick layer, and move it two or three pixels up. Then make another copy, and move it up. Keep doing this until it looks as if the brick sides are solid. 

Merge all the copied layers into one, and play with their color once again to see what suits them best. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - extruding the bricks pt 2

Step 12

Now let's add some sparkle to our road! Select the brick face layer (Control-click on the Layer Thumbnail on the Layer panel) and then hide the selection so it doesn't get in your way (Control-H). Now you can paint on the brick faces without affecting the rest of your piece. 

Pick any spatter brush, texture brush, or soft brush you like, and choose a color slightly warmer and lighter than your brick face color. Lightly go over the edge of the brick road that is closer to you. 

I won't keep repeating 'make a new layer, make a new layer', and you don't strictly have to, but making a new layer for every new color you use is the best way to ensure that you can always go back and change things easily. It could save you a lot of heartache down the line.

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - highlights on the brick tops

Step 13

Now let's do the reverse—pick a slightly darker color and go over the other side of the road. This will give the road a bit of dimension. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - shadows on the brick tops

Step 14

Now make a new layer and set its Blending Mode to Soft Light (Layer panel > Blending Modes > Soft Light). Set your Foreground Color to white (you can't do it through Overlay this time, because Blending Modes don't work on layers with a Color Overlay). 

Pick up the Hard Round Brush Tool and start drawing in highlights on individual bricks. It does take a while, but they will look so pretty afterwards! Because your layer is set to blend with the colors below, the highlight will look slightly different on each brick depending on its color. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - shine on the brick tops

Once all this is done, you have a super pretty Yellow Brick Road!

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - the finished road

3. Add Some Grass

Now let's give it some nice surroundings. 

Step 1

Pick a shade of green slightly darker than your background, and with the Hard Round Brush Tool start drawing in some grass. You don't have to be particularly meticulous about this, so feel free to go fast and don't strive to make it too even. It's grass! It should be messy!

Make sure some blades reach up above the bricks on the near side of your road, but none should be reaching over the far side of the road. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - first pass of grass

Step 2

Pick a new shade of green, this time a little lighter than your background color. Add more grass. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - second pass of grass

Step 3

Finally pick a third, darkest shade of green. Use it more sparingly and randomly than the first two, and draw shorter blades of grass. It adds a nice bit of depth. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final pass of grass

Step 4

To give the road some extra weight, let's make a copy of our brick face layer, move it below all the brick layers, and change its color to that last, darkest green we used on the grass. 

Move the layer a few pixels up and to the left, and lower its Opacity to around 65%. This will give you a nice shadow on the ground. 

Since you're moving this layer, a part of it will now be sticking outside your guides. Any time some of your drawing sticks outside the guides, remember to fold it back in just like we did in the first section. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - brick shadows on the grass

4. Add the Poppies

And finally it's time to add some pretty flowers!

Step 1

First let's draw the outer petals—pick a nice bright red and draw some petal shapes. A poppy usually has four petals, but some of them will be facing towards us and some of them will be facing away from us. At this stage draw only the petals that are facing away from us. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - outer poppy petals

Step 2

Now let's pick a slightly different shade of red and draw the petals that are facing towards us. You can choose to make the inner side of the poppies lighter or darker than the outer side—either can work. I've made mine lighter on the inside. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - inner poppy petals

Step 3

Now add some black around the center of each flower, and on the base of each petal. Pure black looks a bit harsh, so I chose a nice chocolate brown instead. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - dark petal spots

Step 4

Pick a new shade of green and draw in the characteristic poppy pistils. The way I drew mine was to first paint them in solid, and then use a Hard Eraser Tool to chisel out their details. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding the pistils

Step 5

The flowers are still looking a bit flat, so let's give them some more details. I picked a somewhat darker tone of red to draw fine veins on the inner petals, and to add some shadows on the outer petals. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding petal details

5. Multiply the Poppies and Finish Up

Now we've drawn one nice batch of poppies, but we don't necessarily want to draw a hundred more. Let's spread them around a bit more effectively. 

Step 1

Use Control-J to make a copy of each of your poppy layers, and then group them all together and use Control-E to merge them into one. Now you have a little bunch of poppies you can copy and use Edit > Transform > Flip or Rotate to put them in a few different places without having them appear samey. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - repeating the first batch of poppies

Step 2

Make a new bunch of poppies, and use the same technique as above to move them to a few different places. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding more poppies

Step 3

Once it becomes difficult to fit in new bunches of poppies, take single flowers and spread them around to fill in any remaining gaps. You can choose how busy you want to make your poppy field, but I'd suggest leaving some parts sparser than others, to give it a nicer flow. 

Once all your poppies are in place, zoom in close and use the darkest shade of green you used on the grass to draw the poppy stems and leaves. Their bottom parts will stand out awkwardly from the surrounding grass, so use a Hard Eraser Tool set to a small size to eat away at the bottom parts of the stems, making it seem as if other blades of grass are in front of them. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - working on poppy distribution

Step 4

Your poppy field is looking really sweet! Make a new layer, set its Blending Mode to Overlay and set your Foreground Color to pale yellow. Pick a Soft Round Brush with a feathered edge and randomly paint in some large spots. If the effect is too stark, bring the layer opacity down to whatever feels nicer. 

This effect seems so subtle it can almost be hard to spot, but if you try turning it on and off you'll see the subtle, rich texture it's adding to the piece. 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding subtle sunshine

Step 5

Finally if you feel like it, you can add another layer with its Blending Mode set to Overlay and add one final highlight to your road, making it seem sunnier. Paint in crescent shapes along the curves of the road with a Hard Round Brush and then eat away their edges using a Soft Round Brush with its Opacity lowered to around 30%

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - adding extra shine to the road

And There It Is!

You've made a seamless Yellow Brick Road with Poppy Field pattern. You can use it as a digital wallpaper, you can print it out and use it for scrapbooking, or you could have it printed on fabric or wrapping paper and make a special surprise for that special Wizard of Oz fan in your life. 

Hope you had fun making it! Here's the final image once more:

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final

And here is a zoomed out version showing more of the repeat. Fun, right? 

Brick Road and Poppy Field pattern - final repeat

Don't forget, Envato Market also has a large collection of over a thousand different patterns for use in your own designs and creations!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.