7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. For Kids

Adobe Photoshop для детей: Смешные лица!

Scroll to top
Read Time: 8 mins
This post is part of a series called Adobe Photoshop for Kids!.
Photoshop for Kids: Fun Reflections!
Photoshop for Kids: Up, Up, and Away!

Russian (Pусский) translation by Marat Sadygaliev (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Павильоны смеха с кривыми зеркалами являются традиционными на ярмарках и фестивалях. Очень интересно и смешно наблюдать за своим лицом, искажённым в необычных пропорциях. Конечно, это доставляет удовольствие, и мы очень рады, что наши лица не остаются навсегда такими! Поэтому, меня и моих детей заинтересовало, как они будут выглядеть, если мы применим эффект "Кривых зеркал" в программе Photoshop!

Данный урок нацелен на совместную работу родителей и детей в создании этого интересного проекта. Время, проведенное вместе, так же важно, как и конечный результат. Первая часть урока отведена родителям, чтобы обсудить идеи, которые будут использованы при создании фотографий в самом начале. Следующая часть описывает работу с тремя различными инструментами, которые могут быть использованы для создания веселого эффекта кривых зеркал, и эта часть урока рассчитана на детей, которые смогут повторить все шаги. Далее, заключительная часть вновь будет посвящена родителям, чтобы создать заключительный эффект. Итак, давайте начнем!

1. Фотографируем Детей

Нельзя работать с образами, если у вас не таковых. Поэтому, давайте поработаем над их созданием!

Шаг 1

Обычный снимок крупным планом будет идеальным для данного проекта. Постарайтесь создать задний фон с однотонным цветовым оттенком и ровным освещением. При возможности, не используйте вспышку фотоаппарата, т.к. она создаёт жёсткую тень относительно заднего фона. Я понимаю, что не у каждого есть комплект осветительного оборудования, но если у вас есть, то используйте его! Я вместе с детьми оборудовал гостиную осветительными приборами, а также установил кусок белого картона между осветительными приборами, в качестве заднего фона.

Lights and foam board background setupLights and foam board background setupLights and foam board background setup

Шаг 2

Сделайте несколько снимков своих драгоценных моделей, чтобы освоиться с ситуацией. Это позволит вам откорректировать настройки вашего фотоаппарата, а также освещение по мере необходимости.

Проведите предварительную фотосъёмку, это подбодрит детей перед тем, как мы приступим к созданию смешных изображений. Очень важно показать детям, что их образ останется неизменным, и будет таким же милым, каким является в реальной жизни, а мы просто играем с цифровыми пикселями для своего удовольствия!

Take a few normal shots just to looen up and dial in the camera settingsTake a few normal shots just to looen up and dial in the camera settingsTake a few normal shots just to looen up and dial in the camera settings

Шаг 3

Теперь дайте команду строить смешные рожицы! Самый лучший результат - это самое смешное лицо из всех смешных образов, которые создаст ваш ребёнок. Воодушевите детей, чтобы они проявили креативность и показали глупые лица. Покорчите им рожицы, чтобы они покорчили вам рожицы в ответ! Сделайте столько снимков, сколько захотите, и получайте удовольствие вместе с детьми! Посмейтесь вместе с ними, поприкалывайтесь над всем этим, а также наслаждайтесь этим особым моментом , т.к. дети - это наше богатство!

Takes several shots and enjoy the photo shootTakes several shots and enjoy the photo shootTakes several shots and enjoy the photo shoot

Шаг 4

Итак, пришло время загрузить снимки в программу Photoshop и подготовить фотографии для наших маленьких артистов. Рассортируйте изображения, подберите те, которые вы вместе одобрите для дальнейшей обработки. Запомните, что самые лучшие результаты получатся из самых смешных лиц ваших детей. Перед тем, как притупить к работе с мышкой и клавиатурой, убедитесь, чтобы ваше исходное изображение было уже заранее кадрировано и откорректировано по цвету, если есть необходимость.

Choose a funny face photo to start withChoose a funny face photo to start withChoose a funny face photo to start with

Я покажу вам три техники для создания эффекта павильона смеха с кривыми зеркалами. Первая техника - самая простая, а последняя самая сложная, поэтому, выберите ту технику, которую на ваш взгляд ваш ребёнок сможет осилить с вашей помощью. Если вы хотите попробовать все три техники, то вам понадобится три отдельных документа, с которыми вы будете работать. Отлично, что мы сделали так много снимков!

2. Простая Деформация

Эй, дети! Вы готовы к созданию смешных рожиц? Данный метод самый простой и самый быстрый. Здесь мы будем использовать инструмент, который называется Деформация (Warp). Вы увидите, как это легко, а также как это смешно!

Create a Funny face using a simple warpCreate a Funny face using a simple warpCreate a Funny face using a simple warp

Шаг 1

Начнём с применения инструмента Прямолинейное лассо (Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) —данный инструмент похож на лассо с острыми углами. С помощью данного инструмента, создайте активное выделение вокруг головы. Будьте внимательны, когда будете создать контур вокруг воротника, контур должен быть выполнен, как это показано на скриншоте ниже!

Create an outline selection around the headCreate an outline selection around the headCreate an outline selection around the head

Шаг 2

Теперь нажмите клавиши (Ctrl+J), чтобы скопировать выделенную область на новый слой. Обратите внимание, что в палитре слоёв появился новый слой с выделенным изображением головы.

Notice the New LayerNotice the New LayerNotice the New Layer

Шаг 3

Далее, идём Слой – Смарт-объект – Преобразовать в Смарт-объект (Layer > Smart Object > Convert to Smart Object). Вы не увидите разницы в данный момент, но мы уже готовы приступить к созданию эффекта Деформации (Warp).

Turn the layer into a Smart ObjectTurn the layer into a Smart ObjectTurn the layer into a Smart Object

Шаг 4

Идём Редактирование – Трансформация – Деформация (Edit > Transform > Warp), чтобы появилась сетка трансформации в режиме деформация. В верхней части экрана находится панель настроек данного инструмента. Начнём с параметра Панцирем вверх (Shell Upper). Достаточно мы сделали изображение смешным?

Use the Shell Upper WarpUse the Shell Upper WarpUse the Shell Upper Warp

Шаг 5

Теперь поменяйте параметр деформации на Заказное (Custom). Обратите ещё раз внимание на сетку – вы видите маленькие точки на концах линий? Это точки деформации. Взяв эти точки, потяните их немного. Видите, как меняется фигура изображения?

Use the custom warp handlesUse the custom warp handlesUse the custom warp handles

Шаг 6

Теперь мы проделаем то же самое с линиями внутри сетки деформации. Взяв одну линию, сместите её немного. Мы получили ещё более смешную деформацию!

The line intersections can be manipulated tooThe line intersections can be manipulated tooThe line intersections can be manipulated too

Шаг 7

Когда вы завершите деформацию лица, нажмите значок с галочкой в верхней части экрана, чтобы выйти из режима Деформации (Warp).


3. Марионеточная Деформация

Данный инструмент имеет больше контрольных точек, чем просто деформация (warp), кроме этого, он немного сложен в применении. Данная техника начинается с тех же самых шагов, что и техника Простой Деформации (Simple Warp), которая была описана выше. Поэтому, если вам понадобиться вспомнить эти шаги, то вы можете вернуться к началу предыдущей техники!

Funny Faces using Puppet WarpFunny Faces using Puppet WarpFunny Faces using Puppet Warp

Шаг 1

Начнём с простого выделения и создания смарт-объекта, то же самое, что и в технике Простой Деформации (Simple Warp).

Create a selection and a Smart ObjectCreate a selection and a Smart ObjectCreate a selection and a Smart Object

Шаг 2

Активируйте инструмент Деформации (Warp), выберите параметр Выпуклый (Bulge), установите Изгиб (Bend) 50%.

Add a Bulge Warp with a Bend of 50Add a Bulge Warp with a Bend of 50Add a Bulge Warp with a Bend of 50

Шаг 3

Далее, идём Редактирование – Марионеточная деформация (Edit > Puppet Warp). Теперь смотрите на изображение, как на кусок материи стретч, который можно растянуть, чтобы получить смешные лица. Нам нужно добавить несколько контрольных точек на наш материал, чтобы можно было его растянуть. Расположите одну контрольную точку между глаз, а ещё одну в верхней части головы.

Add Pins for the Puppet Warp toolAdd Pins for the Puppet Warp toolAdd Pins for the Puppet Warp tool

Шаг 4

Добавьте контрольную точку на кончик подбородка, потянув её вниз. Вы видите, как начинает увеличиваться подбородок? Насколько легко было? Таким образом, работает данная техника…..добавляем контрольную точку, а затем смещаем её!

Add a pin and stretch the chin downAdd a pin and stretch the chin downAdd a pin and stretch the chin down

Шаг 5

Продолжайте добавлять контрольные точки, пока не измените черты лица, и лицо не станет абсолютно смешным!

Add pins and move them to make the silliest of facesAdd pins and move them to make the silliest of facesAdd pins and move them to make the silliest of faces

Шаг 6

Нажмите значок с галочкой в верхней части экрана, чтобы выйти из режима Марионеточная Деформация (Puppet Warp) и увидеть свою работу. Отличная работа!

Use the Checkmark to apply the Puppet WarpUse the Checkmark to apply the Puppet WarpUse the Checkmark to apply the Puppet Warp

Результат после применения Марионеточной Деформации (Puppet Warp).

Final Puppet Warp imageFinal Puppet Warp imageFinal Puppet Warp image

4. Пластика

Последняя техника самая смешная, но в то же самое время и самая сложная! Данная техника известна, как Пластика (Liquify)!

Funny Face using LiquifyFunny Face using LiquifyFunny Face using Liquify

Шаг 1

Здесь нет необходимости создавать выделение, но лучшим решением будет вначале преобразовать слой с изображением в смарт-объект (как создать смарт-объект, см. раздел Простоя Деформация (Simple Warp).

Convert the background to a Smart ObjectConvert the background to a Smart ObjectConvert the background to a Smart Object

Шаг 2

Далее, идём Фильтр – Пластика (Filter > Liquify). Изменения, которые вносит данный фильтр, осуществляются с помощью набора инструментов похожих на кисть, которые расположены слева. Каждый инструмент немного отличается друг от друга, а мы в свою очередь используем большинство из них!

Open the Liquify FilterOpen the Liquify FilterOpen the Liquify Filter

Шаг 3

Первый инструмент – это инструмент Деформация (Forward Warp Tool (W). Данный инструмент смешает участки изображения! Убедитесь, чтобы Размер (Size) кисти был большой, примерно 250, а Нажим (Pressure) 50. Далее, попробуйте сместить центр области рта вверх. Повторяя действие, опустите уголки губ вниз.

Use the Forward Warp Tool to change the mouth shapeUse the Forward Warp Tool to change the mouth shapeUse the Forward Warp Tool to change the mouth shape

Шаг 4

Переключитесь на инструмент Вздутие (Bloat Tool (B). Теперь просто убедитесь, чтобы размер кисти был больше, чем размер глаз, примерно 300. Щёлкните кистью несколько раз в центре каждого глаза, чтобы увеличить их.

Use the Bloat Tool on the eyesUse the Bloat Tool on the eyesUse the Bloat Tool on the eyes

Шаг 5

Инструмент Сморщивание (Pucker Tool (S) – это инструмент, противоположный инструменту Вздутие (Bloat Tool). Итак, щёлкните кистью несколько раз по носу, чтобы немного его уменьшить.

Use the Pucker Tool to shrink the noseUse the Pucker Tool to shrink the noseUse the Pucker Tool to shrink the nose

Шаг 6

Ой! Переусердствовали и искривили лицо слишком сильно? Если вам понадобится что-то исправить, то воспользуйтесь инструментом Реконструировать (Reconstruct Tool (R). Просто прокрасьте кистью поверх области восстановления, чтобы волшебным образом всё привести в норму!

Use the Reconstruct Tool to undo mistakesUse the Reconstruct Tool to undo mistakesUse the Reconstruct Tool to undo mistakes

Шаг 7

Поиграйте с различными инструментами, растяните подбородок, а также увеличьте уши. Когда вас устроит результат, а также степень искажения изображения, нажмите кнопку OK для завершения работы фильтра.

Press the OK button when you are finishedPress the OK button when you are finishedPress the OK button when you are finished

Результат обработки фильтром Пластика (Liquify)! А насколько смешно выглядит ваша работа?

5. Заключительные Эффекты

Итак, пришло время для родительской части задания для проведения заключительных штрихов, чтобы завершить проект. Перед тем, как мы продолжим, убедитесь, чтобы у вашего ребёнка не было обид по поводу смешных рожиц. Главное, чтобы лица детей НЕ выглядели ужасными или противными – это просто способ создания смешного изображения, как в кривых зеркалах!

Шаг 1

При работе с инструментами Деформация (Warp) и Марионеточная деформация (Puppet Warp), изображение было скопировано на новый слой, который расположен поверх слоя с задним фоном. Во время деформации, края изображения были смещены, и теперь они могут не совпадать с задним фоном. Это особенно заметно на изображениях, где есть узорчатая рубашка. Чтобы исправить это, добавьте слой-маску к слою со смешным лицом и с помощью мягкой кисти чёрного цвета, обработайте на маске участки, которые необходимо исправить.

Шаг 2

Теперь нам нужно добавить интересные световые эффекты к изображению. Убедитесь, чтобы слой со смешным лицом был активным и далее, идём Фильтр - Camera Raw (Filter > Camera Raw Filter). Увеличьте параметр Чёткость (Clarity) до, примерно. 15, а параметр Вибрация (Vibrance) до, примерно, 10—ваши настройки могут отличаться, но вышеуказанные настройки вы можете взять за основу. Далее, нажмите кнопку ‘OK’, чтобы применить фильтр.

Use the Camera Raw Filter to enhance the Clarity and VibranceUse the Camera Raw Filter to enhance the Clarity and VibranceUse the Camera Raw Filter to enhance the Clarity and Vibrance

Шаг 3

Идём Слой – Новый слой (Layer > New Layer (Shift+Control+N) и в появившемся окне, дайте название новому слою Осветление / Затемнение (Dodge and Burn). Установите режим наложения на Перекрытие (Overlay), а также поставьте галочку в окошке Выполнить заливку нейтральным цветом режима “Перекрытие” (Fill with Overlay-neutral color). Таким образом, мы добавим новый слой с серой заливкой, которую не будет видно благодаря режиму наложения.

Add a new layer for the Dodge and BurnAdd a new layer for the Dodge and BurnAdd a new layer for the Dodge and Burn

Шаг 4

Выберите инструмент Осветлитель (Dodge Tool (O), в настройках данного инструмента, установите значение Экспозиции (Exposure) 7%. С помощью большой мягкой кисти, прокрасьте участки изображения, акцентируя световые блики, а также фокусируясь вдоль контура лица, волос, включая глаза.

Dodge the HighlightsDodge the HighlightsDodge the Highlights

Шаг 5

Теперь, переключитесь на инструмент Затемнитель (Burn Tool (O), в настройках данного инструмента, установите значение Экспозиции (Exposure) 7% для создания глубоких теней за счёт лёгких мазков кистью.

Burn the ShadowsBurn the ShadowsBurn the Shadows

Мы завершили урок!

Как у вас вышло? Мои результаты представлены ниже.

Final Warp Effect Funny FaceFinal Warp Effect Funny FaceFinal Warp Effect Funny Face
Final Puppet Warp Funny FaceFinal Puppet Warp Funny FaceFinal Puppet Warp Funny Face
Final Liquify Funny FaceFinal Liquify Funny FaceFinal Liquify Funny Face

Поздравляю и отличная работа! Надеюсь, что этот урок вдохновил вас, и вы попробуете создать свой павильон смеха с кривыми зеркалами.

Хотите ещё?

Надеюсь, что вы и ваш ребёнок получили массу удовольствия так же, как я и мои дети! Если вам нравятся уроки Photoshop детей, включая фотоманипуляции, уроки по созданию кистей, обучающие уроки, то вы можете посетить мой профиль здесь на сайте на Envato Tuts+.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. For Kids
Design

Adobe Photoshop for Kids: Funny Faces!

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Adobe Photoshop for Kids!.
Photoshop For Kids: Fun Reflections!
Photoshop For Kids: Up, Up, and Away!
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Fun house mirrors are a great tradition of county fairs and festivals. There's something particularly entertaining and humorous about seeing your face distorted into unnatural proportions. Of course, it's all in good fun, and aren't we all glad our faces don't stay that way! So my kids and I wondered what they would look like if we applied a "Fun House Mirror" effect with Photoshop!

This tutorial is aimed at parents and children working together to create a fun project. The time spent together is just as important as the final results. The first part of the tutorial is aimed at parents and discusses ideas for getting the beginning shots. The next part goes through three different tools that can be used to generate the fun house mirror effect, and that portion is aimed at the kids being able to follow along with the steps. Then the final part is back in the hands of the parent to finish things up. So, let's get started!

1. Capture the Portraits

You can't exactly work with portraits you don't have. So let's work on getting some!

Step 1

That traditional head shot is ideal for this project. Try to get a solid color background and even lighting. If at all possible, avoid using the camera flash as it generates a harsh shadow against the background. I realize not everybody has a light kit, but if you do, put it to use! My kids and I took over our family room to set up some lights and rig a piece of white foam board between light stands to work as a background.

Lights and foam board background setup

Step 2

Have your precious model(s) take a few natural shots just to get comfortable with the situation. This also gives you the chance to adjust your camera settings and lighting as needed.

I also find that having a "normal" photo of the child is reassuring to them once we start distorting the funny photos. It's important to be able to show them their image unaltered as a reminder that they really are so cute in real life, and we are just playing around with digital pixels for fun!

Take a few normal shots just to looen up and dial in the camera settings

Step 3

Cue the funny faces! The final project works best if you exaggerate a funny face the kids already make. Encourage them to be creative and silly. Make faces at them so they will make faces back! Take as many shots as you want, and have fun with it! Laugh with your children at the silliness of it all and enjoy the moment—it's a special one. Kids are a treasure!

Takes several shots and enjoy the photo shoot

Step 4

Now it's time to take these shots into Photoshop and prepare the project for the little artist. Sort through the images and find ones you both agree to work with. Remember, the best results are when you can exaggerate a funny face they are already making. Before turning over the mouse and keyboard, make sure the image is already cropped and color corrected if that is needed.

Choose a funny face photo to start with

I'm going to show three different techniques for creating the Fun House Mirror funny face effect. The first one is the easiest, and the last one is the most challenging, so pick the technique you think your child will be most capable of following and help them work through it. If you want to try all three, you will need three separate files to work with. It's a good thing we took so many shots!

2. Simple Warp

Hey kids! Ready to have some fun making silly faces? This first method is the easiest and quickest. It uses a tool called the Warp. You will see just how easy and fun this is!

Create a Funny face using a simple warp

Step 1

Start by using the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L)—that's the tool that looks like a lasso with sharp corners. Use that to draw a selection around the head. Be careful as you trace along the collar area on this one!

Create an outline selection around the head

Step 2

Now press Control-J to copy the selection to a New Layer. Notice how the Layers Panel has a new layer in it for the head.

Notice the New Layer

Step 3

Go up to the menu Layer and select Smart Object > Convert to Smart Object. This won't look any different at the moment, but we are now ready to start with the Warp effect.

Turn the layer into a Smart Object

Step 4

Go to Edit > Transform > Warp to get the Warp Transformation Cage. At the top of the screen there's a menu with some presets in it. Start by trying the Shell Upper shape. How funny is that?

Use the Shell Upper Warp

Step 5

Now change the warp shape to Custom. Look at the cage again—do you see those lines with little circles at the end? Those are Warp Handles. Try grabbing those and pulling them around a little. See how it changes the way the picture is shaped?

Use the custom warp handles

Step 6

Now do the same thing using the lines inside the warp cage. Grab one of them and move it around. Even more funny warping!

The line intersections can be manipulated too

Step 7

When you are done changing the face shape, click on the Checkmark at the top of the screen to finish up the Warp effect.


3. Puppet Warp

This tool has more control than the simple warp, but is also a little bit more difficult to use. We actually start with the same few steps as the Simple Warp technique above. So if you need to look back at those steps, go right ahead!

Funny Faces using Puppet Warp

Step 1

Begin with the same type of Selection and Smart Object steps from the Simple Warp steps above.

Create a selection and a Smart Object

Step 2

Start with a Warp shape of Bulge, but adjust the Bend to 50%.

Add a Bulge Warp with a Bend of 50

Step 3

Now go to Edit > Puppet Warp. Think of the image now as a piece of stretchy cloth that can be pulled around to make funny faces. We need to start by placing a few Pins in this cloth to keep it from moving around too much. Place one pin between the eyes, and another near the top of the head.

Add Pins for the Puppet Warp tool

Step 4

Add a Pin to the tip of her chin and pull it downwards. See how it makes her chin grow? How easy was that? That's the way this technique works... add a pin and move it around!

Add a pin and stretch the chin down

Step 5

Keep adding Pins until you get the face all moved around and completely silly!

Add pins and move them to make the silliest of faces

Step 6

Click on the Checkmark to finish up the Puppet Warp and see your work. Nice job!

Use the Checkmark to apply the Puppet Warp

Here's how ours ended up looking after the Puppet Warp.

Final Puppet Warp image

4. Liquify

This last technique is the most fun, but it's also the most challenging to do! It's known as Liquify!

Funny Face using Liquify

Step 1

There's no need to create a selection, but it is a good idea to turn the photo layer into a Smart Object first (see the steps in the Simple Warp section for help on that).

Convert the background to a Smart Object

Step 2

Now go to Filter > Liquify. The way this tool works is that the changes are made by a set of brush-like tools you can see over on the left side. They each do something a little different, and we are going to use most of them!

Open the Liquify Filter

Step 3

The first tool is the Forward Warp Tool (W). It pushes areas of the picture around! Make sure the Brush Size is set to be something rather large, around 250, and the Pressure at 50. Then try pushing the center of the mouth upwards. Follow that by pushing each side downwards.

Use the Forward Warp Tool to change the mouth shape

Step 4

Switch to the Bloat Tool (B) and make sure the brush size is just larger than the eyes, around 300. Click a few times on the center of each eye to make it look much larger.

Use the Bloat Tool on the eyes

Step 5

The Pucker Tool (S) does the opposite of the Bloat Tool, so use it to click a few times on the nose to shrink it down a bit.

Use the Pucker Tool to shrink the nose

Step 6

Oops! Did you push something around too far? If you need to undo something, use the Reconstruct Tool (R). Then just brush over the mistake to magically bring it back to normal!

Use the Reconstruct Tool to undo mistakes

Step 7

Keep playing with the different brush tools to elongate the chin and make the ears larger too. When you are happy with how silly the picture looks, press the OK button to finish up.

Press the OK button when you are finished

Here's our result from the Liquify filter! How silly does yours look?

5. Final Effects

Now it's time for the parents to come back with some final touch-ups to complete the project. Before moving ahead, make sure there are no hurt feelings over the appearance of the funny faces. The point is NOT to make anybody look ugly or scary—it's a just way of making a silly picture, like those fun house mirrors!

Step 1

In the Warp and Puppet Warp projects, the image was copied to a new layer and sits over the background. This warping might have made the edges move around, and they may not line up with the background. This is particularly noticeable on images that have a patterned shirt. To correct this, add a Layer Mask to the funny face layer and use a Soft Edged Brush on the mask with black paint to hide the offending areas. 

Step 2

Now we want to create some interesting lighting effects on the image. Make sure the funny face layer is the active layer and go to Filter > Camera Raw Filter. Increase the Clarity to around 15 and the Vibrance to around 10—your settings may vary, but these are good starting values to work with. Then click OK to apply the filter.

Use the Camera Raw Filter to enhance the Clarity and Vibrance

Step 3

Now go to Layer > New Layer (Shift-Control-N) and in the New Layer dialogue box, change the name to Dodge and Burn. Set the Mode to Overlay and check the Fill with Overlay-neutral color box. This will add a new layer that is filled with gray, but is invisible because of the blending mode.

Add a new layer for the Dodge and Burn

Step 4

Grab the Dodge Tool (O) and set the Exposure setting to 7%. Using a large, soft brush, accentuate the highlight areas, focusing along the side of the face, hair, and in the eyes.

Dodge the Highlights

Step 5

Now switch to the Burn Tool (O) and use the Exposure set to 7% to deepen the shadow areas with light brush strokes.

Burn the Shadows

You Are Done!

How did yours turn out? Here are the results of each of ours.

Final Warp Effect Funny Face
Final Puppet Warp Funny Face
Final Liquify Funny Face

Congratulations and great work! It's my hope that this tutorial has inspired you to try to create your own Fun House Mirror themed effects on your own!

Want More?

I hope you and your child had as much fun with this project as my kids and I did! I've got more Photoshop for Kids! tutorials along with some photo manipulation projects, custom brushes, and even more Photoshop fun. Check out my profile here at Tuts+ for my other tutorials, quick tips, and courses.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.