Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Designing
Design

在indesign中創建一個帶浮雕花並具有春天氣息的婚禮邀請卡

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called How to Create a Wedding Invite.
10 Design Tips for Creating Amazing Wedding Invitations
Create Beautiful Wedding Invitations Using Adobe InDesign and Typekit

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Shu Wu (you can also view the original English article)

在本教程中,妳將學習如何使用 Adobe InDesign做出自己的邀請卡設計。 我們將看看如何使用圖層設計切割刀模、 浮雕,這些都將增加妳設計的吸引力。

我會用我自己在 Adobe Illustrator中創造的裝飾,但你亦可以自由發揮創意並使用自己裝飾的設計。 本教程需要使用 Adobe InDesign 和 Illustrator。

Mock-up-Invitation

1.在InDesign中設置邀請卡的佈局

步驟 1

打開InDesign 並選擇文檔 > 創建新文檔。 在新建文檔視窗中設置意圖印刷,頁面數為 6取消選擇對開頁選項。 在頁面大小欄選擇自定義,從下拉式功能表中打開自定義頁面尺寸視窗。 確認在“婚禮邀請卡”名字下面,設置寬度和高度分別為165毫米。 選擇添加,點擊

保持空白空間處於它們的預設值,並設置出血位置各邊為3 毫米。 點擊

1.1

步驟2

確保在頁面面板處於打開的選擇視窗> 頁面。 進入頁面版面下拉式功能表在右上角的面板,然後取消選擇允許文檔頁面到改組。 我們正在創建一個不帶頁碼的創意文檔,我們可以隨意組合我們的頁面順序。

2.2

點擊并拖動頁面2到頁面1的旁邊。 拖動頁面3到頁面2的旁邊。 現在你有兩個跨頁,分別由三個頁面組成。 第一個跨頁為邀請卡內頁設計,第二個跨頁為外頁設計和折疊圖案設計。

2.2.2

2.選擇顏色

現在你可以創造色彩組合來完成妳的邀請卡。 對比會做到最好挑選高衝擊色板卡的內部和外部,但一個更微妙、 更中性色板可玩玩一些組合。

步驟 1

我選擇薄荷藍色 CMYK (C = 73,M = 0,Y = 35,K = 0) 和一個中性的奶油色以保持色彩平衡 (C = 1,M = 10,Y = 20,K = 0)。 從色板面板中選擇新建色板並輸入 CMYK 值,將這些顏色(或 妳選擇的兩個互補色)添加到色板面板。

2.1_
2.1_2

步驟 2

確保第一個跨頁選中,在頁面圖示上雙擊頁面 2。使用矩形框架工具 (F),並拖動以創建一個矩形框,使矩形上下兩邊到頁面2的出血位。 矩形框應該是165毫米171毫米。 將外邊框設置為填充顏色 C = 73,M = 0,Y = 35,K = 0 或妳自定義的其他顏色。 確認矩形框被選中,選擇編輯 > 副本

2.2_

步驟 3

頁面面板雙擊選擇第二個跨頁的頁面5。 選擇 編輯 > 粘貼到位置。 將填充顏色更改為 C = 1,M = 10,Y = 20,K = 0 或你自定義的顏色。

2.3

步驟 4

選擇 視窗 > 圖層 打開圖層面板。 雙擊默認“圖層 1"並重命名這一層為“顏色”。 點擊確定,通過按一下右側的眼睛圖標,鎖住這一層。

2.4

3.選擇字體和加入字體

在本教程中我們只會使用一種字體。 相比其他印刷品,如書籍、 摺頁冊和海報等,如果邀請卡字體僅用一種字體,這對整體設計是大有好處的。 我選擇一個現代字體,Sofia ,它給人一種優雅和浪漫的感覺。

步驟 1

雙擊頁面2,打開第一個跨頁。 在圖層面板中,從下拉式功能表,選擇新建圖層。 雙擊預設圖層名稱,重命名為“文本”。

3.1

步驟 2

使用文本工具 (T) 來創建一個文字方塊寬為140毫米高度為28 毫米。 把它放在第 2 頁的正中心。在文字框鍵入 'You Are Cordially Invited (分段符) To The Wedding Of' 。 將字體設置為Sofia Regular,,文本顏色白色,并且将文本對齊方式改为居中對齊

突出"You Are Cordially Invited"並將字體大小設置為9pt。 突出顯示“To The Wedding Of”,並將字體大小設置為10pt行距15 pt

3.2

步骤 3

插入一個分段符,將行距設置為19.2pt。 插入第二個段落分隔符號和類型 ' [名稱] (分段符) & [名稱]。 將文本顏色設置為 Y = 20,M = 10,C = 1,K = 0。 将这两个名字的字體大小設置为21pt并将 '&'字體大小設置為28pt

3.3

步驟 4

使用文本工具 (T) 創建第二個文字框,高度為59毫米寬為6.4毫米。 輸入'Dear',將字體設置為 Sofia Regular,,將字體大小設置為 10pt,文本顏色白色。 保持文本默認對齊方式。 設置X軸為 218 毫米和 Y軸為39.6 毫米的位置。

3.4

步驟 5

再次使用文字工具 (T), 創建第三個文字框高度為59毫米寬為 14.5毫米。 設置X軸的位置為226.5 毫米Y軸位置為123.5 毫米。 輸入'[Day], [Date] 分段符 [Year](分段符)[Time] 並將字體設置為Sofia Regular。 設置文本顏色白色字體大小10pt行距14 pt。 從頂部控制面板選擇居中對齊。 選擇文字框,然後選擇 編輯 > 拷貝。

3.5

步骤 6

选择 編輯 > 粘貼。 調動這個文字框到第三個文字框的下面(從步驟 5開始)並調整X軸到225毫米的位置。 刪除文本,然後鍵入在 “at the [地點](分段符)[地址]”。 你可能想要降低文字的高度以適合兩行的文本。

3.6

步驟 7

工具面板中選擇線條工具 (/) 和按下 shift 鍵,畫出一條長度27 毫米的水平線 。 將描邊粗細設置為 0.25pt,描邊顏色為白色。 把這條線置於'Dear'的右側。

3.7

4嵌入背景圖片

步驟1

返回到圖層面板。 鎖定文字圖層,解鎖顏色圖層。 返回到顏色圖層並確認頁面 2在激活的狀態。

4

我們可以在卡片內側的背景上插入折疊藝術品的“鏡子”,讓邀請卡完美銜接並擁有優雅的外觀。 你可以使用EPS現存圖像或自己在Illustrator中創建圖案。 邊框應該設計成沿著右上方延伸,並且容易翻轉以沿著邀請卡的左下方延伸。

在這個例子中,我創建了一個兩層的EPS文件 - 背景層是一個奶白色的裝飾,在頂層有一些簡化的玫瑰裝飾(我們用一個專色,我們一會兒將探討為什麼這麼做)。 想想你的邀請卡的佈局,在應用折邊裝飾之前。如果你願意,可以創建一個模子。

4.1

步驟 2

返回到InDesign文檔和第一個跨頁的頁面2。 使用矩形框架工具 (F),在第 2 頁右上角拖動以創建框架。它應該延伸到頁面的中心並且一直延伸到上邊的出血位置。 選擇文檔 > 擺放,並選擇你的EPS或Illustrator檔案。 在Indesign上端控制項面板中你可以使用按比例填充框架的選項調整大小。

4.2

步驟 3

保持圖像框架選中,選擇 物件 > 效果和 選擇透明度......;將不透明度設置為 42%

4.3
4.3.1

步驟 4

選擇圖像並 選擇編輯 > 拷貝。 選擇編輯 > 粘貼。 保持這個新圖形為選中狀態,按 Control(Mac)點擊右擊 (PC) ,選擇變換> 水準翻轉。 選擇變換,並選擇垂直翻轉。 這創建了鏡像圖像。 將這個排在在第 2 頁左下角。鎖定顏色圖層。

4.4

5.編輯內部圖稿刀模

步驟 1

返回到你在 Illustrator 的 EPS/Illustrator的文檔。 拷貝EPS文檔的并重命名它為"蓝色花卉边缘"。 在 Illustrator 中通過視窗並按一下圖層打開圖層面板,打開此新文檔。 確保白玫瑰的頂部圖層 (或任何你制作的裝飾)已被鎖定並且讓它們為不可見。 將填充的圖像顏色更改為 C = 73,M = 0,Y = 35,K = 0 並中將顏色描邊設置為黑色。 使描邊非常纖細(約 0.01pt);這將是用於刀模的邊緣的線。 保存文檔並返回到 InDesign

5.1

步驟 2

轉到圖層面板並創建一個新的圖層,命名為“刀模線”,並將其放置在顏色圖層組的下方。 所有的設計中用於刀模的部分將放置在這一層。

去到你的 InDesign 邀請卡的第 1 頁。 用矩形框架工具 (F)拖出一個矩形框,延伸到頁面右下角底部的出血位。 它可能有助於複製和水準翻轉第二頁左下角的圖像,當導入圖像時,請確保它們的大小完全相同。 如果你執行此操作,請確保所有透明度設置被都設置為 100%不透明度。 選擇 連結面板 (視窗 > 連結) 並使用在面板的底部中心上的重新連結圖標用來替換當前圖像:“藍色花卉邊緣”

選擇圖像,然後編輯並複製。

5.2

步驟 3

選擇 頁面 3 的文檔並選擇 編輯 > 粘貼。 按一下Control 鍵 (Mac) 或右擊 (PC) 並選擇變換,選擇水準翻轉。 再次選擇變換,選擇垂直翻轉。 將這個圖像置於頁面 3的頂部位置,並將它的上端放置在出血位上。

現在將視圖縮小一點,查看整個跨頁效果。 你開始可以看到頁面 2 和 3 上的花邊如何折到頁面1,當頁面一不完全打開時,文字有若隱若現的效果。

5.3

6.編輯外部刀模圖稿

步驟1

返回到Illustrator並複製“藍色花卉邊緣”文檔。 重命名複製的文檔為 “奶油色的花卉邊緣”。 在 Illustrator 中打開該檔,並設置填充顏色C = 1,M = 10,Y = 20,K = 0。 保存該文檔並返回到 InDesign。

6.1

步驟 2

確認 InDesign 中刀模圖層被選中,選擇第一跨頁的頁面1和頁面2。選擇編輯 > 副本。

選擇第二個跨頁 (第 4-6 頁)選擇編輯 > 粘貼到位置。 轉到連結面板 (視窗 > 連結) 使用重新連結圖標來替換你新的檔:“奶油色花卉邊緣” 。 這兩個圖像水準翻轉並安排在如下圖的位置。 在圖層面板鎖住刀模圖層

6.2

7.準備浮雕圖稿

準備浮雕圖稿涉及在Illustrator和 InDesign 的編輯。 首先,在 InDesign 中,在圖層面板創建一個新圖層。 命名為”浮雕內容“。 將這一層置於刀模和顏色圖層之間。

步驟 1

返回到Illustrator.。 我的“奶油色花卉邊緣” 文檔還有包含邀請卡折疊式部分的浮雕玫瑰裝飾 (當前不可見)。

將玫瑰圖層可見鎖定的背景層。 在這一階段,你可以選擇讓背景圖層可見或不可見。

7.1

步驟 2

任何浮雕的部分都需要應用專色,這會將會讓其他內容放入單獨的印刷版。 在 InDesign 文檔中,白玫瑰也可以在非專色的顏色圖層,在浮雕圖層之後,以提高白色在印刷中的份量。

Illustrator裏,拖動鼠標在整個頁面中選擇所有的玫瑰。 在頂部的控制面板,鼠標雙擊白色填充 (在這個例子中,則是當前的填充玫瑰的顏色)。 在顏色類型下確保選定專色CMYK作為顏色模式。 點擊確認

7.2

步驟 3

請確保背景圖層不可見的和選擇另存為。 命名它為“單獨的白色玫瑰”

為了使玫瑰形狀可以在 InDesign 中編輯,可以直接複製並粘貼他們到 InDesign的文檔。 在Illustrator中拖動鼠標選擇那些玫瑰,選擇 編輯 > 拷貝。 返回到 InDesign,选择 編輯 > 粘貼頁面4,確保浮雕內容图層處於激活状态。

你可能需要調整大小,旋轉或翻轉玫瑰圖稿以使之完全與奶油色花卉边缘重合。

7.3

8.編輯的裝飾品來優化浮雕

步骤 1

确认玫瑰图像被選定,轉到視窗 > 輸出 > 從下拉式功能表中的屬性中选择打開屬性視窗

8.1

你可以看到,InDesign 將其視作有描邊和填充的形狀粘貼的圖像。 選中的疊印填充的对话框(要做到這一點,你將需要直接選擇圖像,而不是对话框)。 這將確保玫瑰花纹被視為獨立的元素,在下面的設計中不會改變其他圖層的顏色。

8.1.1

步驟 2

選擇編輯 > 拷貝玫瑰圖片並且選擇編輯 > 粘貼頁面 3。按Control鍵(Mac)右擊 (PC) ,選擇變換 > 水準翻轉。 選擇變換,選擇垂直翻轉。 這個新的映射到左上方的第 3 頁和重複上面的步驟 1,以確保它太手動設置為疊印的位置。

8.2

9 印前準備

InDesign圖稿設計完畢,你現在需要準備送去印刷的PDF文件。

步驟 1

選擇文檔 > 導出並從下拉式功能表中選擇 Adobe PDF (印刷)。 命名文檔為“婚禮請帖印刷“並按一下確定以打開導出Adobe PDF 的視窗。 在一般的選項中,設置預設新聞品質及其功能下跨頁被選中,而非頁面。 在選項部分,在導出圖層中的下拉式功能表中選擇所有圖層

9.1

步驟 2

標記和出血的選項中,勾選所有印刷標記,並在出血和輔助資訊功能表檢查使用文檔出血設定。 選擇導出

9.2

如果你有 Acrobat Pro,你可以從高級功能表查看不同的圖層的預覽模式。 當你向印刷廠發送 pdf,你應該明確闡述各個圖層的不同設置,最終產生美麗的結果 !

9.2.1

恭喜你!你的婚禮邀請卡完成了!

很好,現在妳準備好可以印刷的邀請卡啦 ! 享受春天的婚禮 !

9.2.1
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Create a Spring Wedding Invitation for Die Cutting and Embossing in InDesign

by

In this tutorial you'll learn how to set up your own fold-out invitation design using Adobe InDesign. We'll look at how using Layers can allow you to set up design elements intended for die cutting and embossing, which can add a really beautiful touch to your final cards.

I will be using my own vector assets created in Adobe Illustrator; but feel free to get creative with your own decorative designs. You will need Adobe InDesign and Illustrator for this tutorial.

Mock-up-Invitation

1. Set Up the Layout of the Invitation in InDesign

Step 1

Open InDesign and select File > New Document. In the New Document window set the Intent to Print and set the No. of Pages to 6. Deselect Facing Pages. Under Page Size select Custom... from the drop-down menu to open the Custom Page Size window. Under name type 'Wedding Invitation' and set both the Width and Height to 165mm. Click Add, and then OK.

Maintain the margins at their default value, and set the Bleed on all sides to 3mm. Click OK.

1.1

Step 2

Ensure the Pages panel is open by going to Window > Pages. Go into the Pages drop-down menu at the top right of the panel and deselect Allow Document Pages to Shuffle. As we are creating a creative document without page numbers, we can play around with the arrangement of pages.

2.2

Click-drag the page icon for Page 2 and drop the page adjacent to the Page 1 icon. Drag the Page 3 icon and drop it adjacent to Page 2. Drag the Page 5 icon and drop next to Page 4, and drop the Page 6 icon to join with Page 5. You will now have two spreads made up of three pages each. Spread One will form the inside of the invitation, and Spread Two the Back of the card and the Outside of the Fold-out motifs.

2.2.2

2. Choose and Apply Color

Now you can get creative with the color scheme for your cards. Contrast will be best achieved by picking a high impact swatch for the inside of the card and a more subtle, neutral swatch for the outside, but have fun playing around with some combinations.

Step 1

I've gone for a minty-blue CMYK (C=73, M=0, Y=35, K=0) and a neutral cream tone to balance out the bright color (C=1, M=10, Y=20, K=0). Add these swatches (or two complementary swatches of your choice) to the Swatches panel by selecting New Swatch from the Swatches panel and entering the CMYK values.

2.1_
2.1_2

Step 2

Ensure the first spread is selected by double-clicking on the page icon for Page 2. Using the Rectangle Frame Tool (F), click and drag to create a frame that extends from the top of the bleed on Page 2 to the bottom edge of the bleed. The frame should be 165mm in Width and 171mm in Height. Set the Stroke to None and the Fill to C=73, M=0, Y=35, K=0, or your chosen brighter swatch. With the frame selected, select Edit > Copy.

2.2_

Step 3

Double click the Page 5 icon in the Pages panel to select the second spread. Go to Edit > Paste in Place. Change the Fill to C=1, M=10, Y=20, K=0, or your chosen neutral swatch.

2.3

Step 4

Go to Window > Layers to open the Layers panel. Double-click the default 'Layer 1' and rename this layer 'COLOUR'. Click OK and lock this layer for now by clicking once in the space to the right of the eye icon.

2.4

3. Select Fonts and Insert Text

For this tutorial we will be using just one font. Invitations, compared to other print items, like books, brochures and posters, will look much better if the font choice is restricted to one font, which is well-suited to the look of the card as a whole. I've gone for a modern scripted font, Sofia, to give an elegant and romantic look to the text.

Step 1

Double-click Page 2 to bring up the first spread on screen. In the Layers panel, select New Layer... from the drop-down menu. Double-click the default Layer name and rename this as 'TEXT'.

3.1

Step 2

Use the Text Tool (T) to create a text frame 140 mm in Width and 28 mm in Height. Place this in the dead center of Page 2. Type 'You Are Cordially Invited (paragraph break) To The Wedding Of' into the frame. Set the Font to Sofia Regular, the Text Color to White, and the text alignment to Align Center.

Highlight 'You Are Cordially Invited' and set the Font Size to 9 pt. Highlight 'To The Wedding Of' and set the Font Size to 10 pt and the Leading to 15 pt.

3.2

Step 3

Insert a paragraph break and set the Leading to 19.2 pt. Insert a second paragraph break and type '[Name] (paragraph break) & [Name]'. Set the Text Color to C=1, M=10, Y=20, K=0. Set the Font Size of the two names to 21pt and set the Font Size for '&' to 28pt.

3.3

Step 4

Use the Text Tool (T) to create a second text frame 59mm in Width and 6.4mm in Height. Type 'Dear', set the Font to Sofia Regular, set the Font Size to 10pt and Text Color to White. Maintain the default text alignment. Set the X position to 218 mm and Y position to 39.6 mm.

3.4

Step 5

Again, using the Text Tool (T) create a third text frame 59mm in Width and 14.5mm in Height. Set the X position to 226.5mm and the Y position to 123.5mm. Type '[Day], [Date] (paragraph break) [Year] (paragraph break) at [Time]' and set the Font to Sofia Regular. Set the Text Color to White, Size to 10pt and Leading to 14pt. Select Align Center from the top control panel. Select the text frame and Edit > Copy.

3.5

Step 6

Go to Edit > Paste. Maneuver this text frame below the third text frame (from Step 5) and adjust the X position to 225 mm. Delete the text and type 'at the [Place] (paragraph break) [Address]'. You may want to reduce the Height of the frame to fit the two lines of text.

3.6

Step 7

Select the Line Tool (/) from the Tools panel and, holding Shift, drag a horizontal line 27mm in Length. Set the Stroke Weight to 0.25pt and the Stroke Color to White. Place this line to the right of the text saying 'Dear'.

3.7

4. Insert Background Artwork

Step 1

Return to the Layers panel. Lock the TEXT Layer and Unlock the COLOUR Layer. Return to the COLOUR Layer with Page 2 still up on screen.

4

We can insert a 'mirror' of the fold-out artwork on the background of the inside of the card to give a seamless, elegant look to the invitation. You can use a stock EPS image or create one of your own in Illustrator. The border should be designed to run along the top right and easily flipped to run along the bottom left of the card.

In this example, I've created an EPS file with two layers - the background layer is a cream border decoration, with a couple of simplified rose decorations in the top layer (which we will pull out in a Spot color, we will explore why a little later). Think about the layout of your card, create a mock-up if you like, before you apply decorative fold-out designs.

4.1

Step 2

Return to your InDesign file and Page 2 of the first spread. Drag to create a frame using the Rectangle Frame Tool (F) to extend over the top right corner of Page 2. It should extend down to the center of the page and up to the top bleed. Go to File > Place, and select your EPS or Illustrator file. You can adjust the size using the Fill Frame Proportionally option in the top control panel.

4.2

Step 3

With the image frame selected, go to Object > Effects and select Transparency...; set the Opacity to 42%.

4.3
4.3.1

Step 4

Select the image frame and Edit > Copy. Select Edit > Paste. With this new frame selected, Control-click (Mac) or right-click (PC) and under Transform select Flip Horizontal. Go to Transform again and select Flip Vertical. This has created a reflection of the image. Arrange this in the bottom left-hand corner of Page 2. Lock the COLOUR Layer.

4.4

5. Edit Your Die Cutting Artwork for the Inside of the Card

Step 1

Return to your EPS/Illustrator file in Illustrator. Make a duplicate copy of the EPS file and rename it as 'Floral Border_Blue'. Open this new file in Illustrator and open the Layers panel by going to Window and clicking Layers. Ensure the top layer with the white roses (or whatever decoration you have intended for embossing) is locked and not visible. Change the Fill of the image to C=73, M=0, Y=35, K=0 and set the Stroke Color to Black. Make the Stroke very thin (around 0.01pt); this will be the edge intended for die cutting. Save the document and return to InDesign.

5.1

Step 2

Go to the Layers panel and create a new layer, name this 'DIE STROKE', and move the layer below COLOUR, to the bottom layer of the document. All designs intended for die cutting will be placed in this layer.

Go to Page 1 of your InDesign invitation. Drag a frame using the Rectangle Frame Tool (F) which extends across the bottom right of the page, down to the bottom edge of the bleed. It may be helpful to copy and Flip Horizontal the image frame at the bottom left of page 2 to ensure that the image is exactly the same size when imported. If you do this, ensure that all Transparency settings are set to 100% Opacity. Go to the Links panel (Window > Links) and use the Relink icon at the bottom center of the panel to replace the current image with your new image, 'Floral Border_Blue'.

Select the image frame and Edit, Copy.

5.2

Step 3

Go to Page 3 of the document and select Edit > Paste. Control-click (Mac) or right-click (PC) and under Transform select Flip Horizontal. Go to Transform again and select Flip Vertical. Position this new frame to the top left of Page 3, with the top edge resting on the top bleed.

Zoom out a little to view the whole spread. You can begin to see how the decorations on Pages 2 and 3 will be able to fold over Page 1 before the invitation is opened fully, concealing some of the invitation text.

5.3

6. Edit your Die Cutting Artwork for the Outside of the Card

Step 1

Return to Illustrator and duplicate the 'Floral Border_Blue' file. Rename the copied file 'Floral Border_Cream'. Open the file in Illustrator and set the Fill color to C=1, M=10, Y=20, K=0. Save the file and return to InDesign.

6.1

Step 2

With the DIE STROKE layer still active in InDesign, go to the first spread and select both the image frame on Page 1 and the frame on Page 2. Select Edit > Copy.

Go to the second spread (Pages 4-6) and select Edit > Paste in Place. Go to the Links panel (Window > Links) ad use the Relink icon to replace both images with your new file, 'Floral Border_Cream'. Flip both image frames Horizontal and arrange in the positions indicated below. In the Layers panel lock the DIE STROKE layer.

6.2

7. Prepare Artwork for Embossing

Preparing artwork for embossing involves two sets of edits in Illustrator and InDesign. Firstly, stay in InDesign and create a new layer in the Layers panel. Name this 'EMBOSSING CONTENT'. Place this layer between the DIE STROKE and COLOUR layers.

Step 1

Return to Illustrator. In my 'Floral Border_Cream' document I also have a (currently not visible) layer containing the rose decorations I want to have embossed on the fold-over sections of my invitation card.

Make the roses layer visible and lock the background layer. You can make the background layer visible or not visible at this stage.

7.1

Step 2

Any content of the image intended for embossing should be pulled out in a Spot color This will place the content on a separate printing plate to the other content. The white roses can also be repeated in a non-Spot color as part of the COLOUR layer in the InDesign document, behind the embossing layer, to enhance the white print color

In Illustrator, drag your mouse across the page to select all the roses. Double-click on the White Fill in the top control panel (which is the current Fill Color of the roses in this example). Under Color Type ensure Spot Color is selected and maintain the Color Mode as CMYK. Click OK.

7.2

Step 3

Make sure the background layer is not visible and go to Save As. Name the document 'White Roses_Alone'.

To make the rose shapes editable in InDesign, you can copy and paste them directly into the InDesign document. Drag your mouse across the roses in Illustrator and Edit > Copy. Return to InDesign and Edit > Paste onto Page 4, ensuring the EMBOSSING CONTENT layer is active.

You may need to adjust the size of and rotate or flip the rose artwork to line up exactly with the cream border.

7.3

8. Edit the Decorations to Optimize Embossing

Step 1

With the roses frame selected go to Window > Output > Attributes from the drop-down menu to open the Attributes window.

8.1

You can see that InDesign is treating the pasted images as shapes that have a stroke and fill. Check the box that says Overprint Fill (you will need to select the image directly, and not the frame, to do this). This ensures the roses are treated as stand-alone elements which won't knock out the colors of the design on any layers below.

8.1.1

Step 2

Edit > Copy the Roses artwork and Edit > Paste onto Page 3. Control-click (Mac) or right-click (PC) and under Transform select Flip Horizontal. Go to Transform again and select Flip Vertical. Position this new image to the top left of Page 3 and repeat Step 1 above to ensure it too is manually set to overprint.

8.2

9. Prepare the Invitation for Sending to Print

Your InDesign artwork is finished and you are now ready to prepare a PDF for sending to print.

Step 1

Go to File > Export and select Adobe PDF (Print) from the drop-down menu. Name the file 'Wedding Invitation_for print' and click OK to open the Export Adobe PDF window. Under General, set the Preset to Press Quality, and under the Pages menu ensure Spreads is selected, not Pages. Under the Options section select All Layers from the Export Layers drop-down menu.

9.1

Step 2

Under the Marks and Bleeds section, check All Printer's Marks and under the Bleed and Slug menu check Use Document Bleed Settings. Click Export.

9.2

If you have Acrobat Pro you can select the Separation Preview mode from the Advanced menu to view the different layers. When sending the pdf to the printer, you should communicate clear instructions on the set-up of the different layers to make things extra clear, and produce a beautiful end result!

9.2.1

Well Done, Your Invitations are Finished!

Nice work, you now have your invitation cards ready to be sent to the printers! Enjoy the Spring Wedding!

9.2.1
Advertisement