7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Tools & Tips

Erstellen Sie ein klassisches amerikanisches Speiselokal mit Perspektive Zeichenwerkzeugen

Read Time: 11 mins

German (Deutsch) translation by Valentina (you can also view the original English article)

Mit der Veröffentlichung von Illustrator CS5 führt Adobe das neue Perspektive-Zeichnen-Werkzeugsatz ein, mit dem Sie Bilder in einer genauen 1-, 2- oder 3-Punkt-Perspektive erstellen können. Durch perspektivisches Zeichnen wird das mühsame Messen und Skalieren erleichtert, sodass Sie sich auf die Kunst konzentrieren können, nicht auf das Rechnen. In diesem Tutorial erfahren Sie, wie Sie ein Perspektivraster einrichten und mit den Perspektivwerkzeugen Formen zeichnen und ändern. Sie lernen, wie Sie Symbole und Live-Text perspektivisch verwenden und bearbeiten. Wir werden auch Best Practices für das perspektivische Zeichnen überprüfen.

Die Funktion zum perspektivischen Zeichnen ist sehr gewöhnungsbedürftig. Ich muss zugeben, dass ich mich beim ersten Mal so gefühlt habe, als hätte ich Illustrator zum ersten Mal verwendet - ich dachte, ich wüsste, was es tun sollte, hatte aber keine Ahnung, wie es funktionieren sollte. Aber wenn Sie eine Weile damit herumspielen und anfangen, in der Perspektive zu denken, wird es weniger einschüchternd. Dies ist ein fortgeschrittenes Tutorial und setzt ein hohes Maß an Illustrator-Erfahrung voraus. Lassen Sie uns anfangen!


Die Werkzeuge kennenlernen

Es gibt drei Hauptkomponenten der Funktion "Perspektive-Zeichnen": Die Werkzeuge, das Raster und das Widget. Das Perspektivraster-Werkzeug (Umschalt + P) wird verwendet, um ausschließlich mit dem Raster selbst zu arbeiten - es zu verschieben, seine Größe zu ändern und seine Einstellungen anzupassen. Das Perspektivauswahl-Werkzeug (Umschalt + V) wird zum Auswählen und Ändern von Objekten in der Perspektive verwendet. Beide sind Teil des Zeichnungssatzes im Werkzeuge-Bedienfeld und befinden sich unterhalb des Freie Transformation-Werkzeugs . Ich mag es, die Werkzeuge für einen einfachen Zugang abzureißen und mich daran zu erinnern, sie zu benutzen.

Wenn Sie auf das Perspektive-Werkzeug klicken, werden in Ihrem Arbeitsbereich zwei Dinge angezeigt: Das Perspektivenraster und das Widget für die aktive Layer. Sie können die Platzierung des Widgets ändern, indem Sie auf das Perspektivraster-Werkzeug doppelklicken, um dessen Optionen aufzurufen. Das Widget kann nur in einer der vier Ecken platziert werden - Sie können es nicht frei bewegen.

CS5 wird mit drei Standard-Perspektivgittern geliefert. Um sie anzuzeigen und zwischen ihnen zu wechseln, gehen Sie zu Ansicht > Perspektivisches Raster. Die Voreinstellungen sind "1P", "2P" und "3P_Normal View". Sobald Sie mit dem Ändern und Erstellen Ihrer eigenen Raster beginnen, können Sie diese als Voreinstellungen speichern, indem Sie im Menü Ansicht auf Raster definieren klicken. Hier können Sie auch einige Einheiten- und Farbeinstellungen anpassen.


Das Raster kennenlernen

Wenn Sie mit perspektivischem Zeichnen arbeiten, ist es wichtig, das Raster zu Beginn genau einzurichten. Sie werden alle Rastereinstellungen mit dem Perspektivraster-Werkzeug (Umschalt + P) vornehmen - das ist seine einzige Funktion, und die Raster-Steuerelemente sind nur sichtbar, wenn dieses Werkzeug ausgewählt ist.

Es gibt mehrere Steuerelemente im Raster, mit denen Sie es ändern können. Hier eine Übersicht: (Tipp: Ich finde es hilfreich, die Zeichenfläche beim Arbeiten mit Perspektive auszublenden. Auf dem Bildschirm befinden sich bereits viele Linien, und die Kanten der Zeichenfläche scheinen im Weg zu sein.

Jedes Gitter hat eine Grundlinie, die als der tatsächliche Boden angesehen werden kann, auf dem ein Objekt ruht. Wenn Sie die Grundlinie durch Ziehen des rautenförmigen Griffs verschieben, bewegt sich das gesamte Gitter. Die Horizontlinie entspricht der Augenhöhe des Betrachters. Wenn Sie die Horizontlinie näher an die Grundlinie ziehen, ist der Betrachter klein (relativ zur Gesamtkomposition) und schaut auf ein Objekt im Raster. Ziehen Sie die Horizontlinie vom Boden weg, und Sie können sich vorstellen, über einem Objekt zu sein, das darauf herabblickt.

In einem perspektivischen 2-Punkt-Raster gibt es sowohl linke als auch rechte Fluchtpunkte. Dies sind die Punkte am Horizont, an denen parallele Linien zusammenlaufen. Mit anderen Worten, wenn das Bild in der Ferne so weit zurückgeht, scheint es zu verschwinden. Diese Punkte werden nach links und rechts verschoben und bestimmen den Schweregrad der Perspektive.

Wenn Sie den Stationspunkt sperren (Ansicht > Perspektive > Stationspunkt sperren) und dann einen der Fluchtpunkte verschieben, bewegen sich die beiden Ebenen zusammen und scheinen sich um den Mittelpunkt zu drehen.

Der Diamant direkt über dem Stationspunkt wird verwendet, um die Zellengröße oder die Anzahl der Gitterlinien in jeder Ebene anzupassen. Bewegen Sie es nach Ihren Wünschen nach oben oder unten.

Die Steuerelemente für das linke und rechte Steuerelemente des Rasterfensters werden verwendet, um ihre jeweiligen Ebenen zu verschieben. Die Steuerung der linken Gitterebene befindet sich auf der rechten Seite. Wenn Sie sie bewegen, öffnen Sie ein Tor, dessen "Scharnier" der Fluchtpunkt ist. Gleiches gilt für die rechte Seite; seine Kontrolle ist auf der linken Seite.

Nachdem Sie ein wenig mit dem Raster herumgespielt haben, können Sie es auf die normale 2-Punkt-Perspektive zurücksetzen.


Teil I - Einrichten des Netzes

Natürlich können Sie eine der Voreinstellungen verwenden und einfach mit dem Zeichnen beginnen. Für die Zwecke dieses Tutorials verwenden wir jedoch eine fotografische Referenz und richten ein benutzerdefiniertes Raster ein. Beachten Sie, dass ein Foto oder eine Zeichnung, die Sie verwenden, wahrscheinlich nicht genau mit dem Raster übereinstimmt. Kameraobjektive verzerren sich und es ist nahezu unmöglich, ohne Messwerkzeuge in einer mathematisch präzisen Perspektive zu zeichnen.


Schritt 1

Platzieren Sie Ihr Foto oder Ihre Zeichnung auf einer eigenen Ebene und machen Sie diese Ebene zu einer Vorlage (Plus-Mitglieder können die Quelldatei für dieses Lernprogramm herunterladen, wobei das Foto bereits eingebettet ist). Machen Sie das Raster sichtbar, indem Sie auf das Perspektivisches Raster-Werkzeug  klicken. Bewegen Sie mit dem Perspektivisches Raster-Werkzeug die Grundlinie (und damit das gesamte Raster) etwa auf den unteren Rand des Bürgersteigs auf dem Foto. Bewegen Sie die Horizontlinie entsprechend auf etwa Augenhöhe.


Schritt 2

Positionieren Sie die obere Mitte des Gitters oben im ersten Stock des Gebäudes an der Ecke. Dadurch werden die beiden Gitterebenen mit dem Rand des Gebäudes ausgerichtet.


Schritt 3

Ziehen Sie den linken Fluchtpunkt so heraus, dass die Gitterlinien mit den Winkeln des Gebäudes übereinstimmen. Sie müssen wahrscheinlich weit herauszoomen, um den Punkt weit genug zu ziehen. In der Abbildung unten sehen Sie, wie weit Sie relativ zur Zeichenfläche verkleinern müssen.

Machen Sie dasselbe mit der linken Gitterebene. Wenn Sie sicher sind, dass das Raster übereinstimmt, möchten Sie es möglicherweise sperren (Ansicht > Perspektivisches Raster > Raster sperren).


Teil II - Zeichnen in der Perspektive

Jetzt sind wir bereit zu zeichnen. Es gibt zwei Gruppen von Werkzeugen, die mit perspektivischem Zeichnen arbeiten: Linienwerkzeuge (Liniensegment, Bogen, Spirale, Rechteckgitter, Polarraster) und Formwerkzeuge (Rechteck, Abgerundetes Rechteck, Ellipse, Polygon, Stern {aber nicht das Streulichtwerkzeug}). .

Wo Sie zeichnen, wird vom Active Plane Widget bestimmt. Es ist eine gute Idee, sich mit den für das Widget verwendeten Tastaturkürzeln vertraut zu machen. Sie sind einfach die Nummern 1 bis 5 auf der Tastatur. Sie beschleunigen Ihren Workflow und es gibt einige Fälle, in denen es keine Menüalternative gibt.


Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie ein neues Layer über der Vorlagenlayer und nennen Sie sie "Gebäudefront". Wählen Sie das Perspektivauswahl-Werkzeug (Umschalt + V) und klicken Sie im Widget auf die linke (blaue) Ebene. Das aktiviert die linke Ebene. Wählen Sie nun das Rechteck-Werkzeug (M) und beginnen Sie mit dem Zeichnen. Sie werden sofort feststellen, dass das Rechteck der Ebene entspricht. Sie werden auch feststellen, dass sich neben dem Cursor-Fadenkreuz jetzt ein nach links zeigender Pfeil befindet. Dies ist ein visueller Hinweis, der Sie darüber informiert, welche Ebene beim Zeichnen aktiv ist.

Wechseln Sie zurück zum Werkzeug Perspektivauswahl und verschieben Sie Ihr Rechteck. Beobachten Sie, wie es sich im Raum verändert. Beachten Sie, dass das Objekt auch dann perspektivisch bleibt, wenn Sie es über die Grenzen des sichtbaren Gitters hinaus bewegen. Ein weiterer visueller Hinweis beim Arbeiten in der Perspektive ist das Erscheinungsbild der Eckgriffe am Begrenzungsrahmen eines Objekts. Wenn ein Objekt an einer Ebene befestigt ist, sind die Griffe massiv und nicht hohl wie beim normalen Zeichnen.

Beginnen Sie mit dem Schruppen der Zeichnung und erstellen Sie das Gesicht des Gebäudes sowie der Türen und Fenster. Bleiben Sie vorerst bei den einfachen Rechtecken - wir kommen in einer Minute zu den gebogenen Fenstern. Verwenden Sie zum Skalieren oder Verschieben eines Objekts das Werkzeug Perspektivauswahl (Umschalt + V). Wenn Sie die Wahltaste/Alt-Taste gedrückt halten und ein Rechteck ziehen, wird die resultierende Kopie perspektivisch angezeigt.

Ihre Zeichnung sollte ungefähr so aussehen wie das Bild unten:


Schritt 2

Erstellen Sie ein neues Layer für die Seite des Gebäudes. Rauen Sie nach wie vor die Struktur der rechten Seite des Gebäudes und seiner Fenster auf.


Schritt 3

Bei abgerundeten Objekten ist es manchmal besser, sie direkt zu erstellen und dann in die richtige Perspektive zu rücken. Sie tun dies für die Bogenfenster. Für Objekte, die Sie mehrmals verwenden, empfiehlt es sich, sie zu Symbolen zu machen. Auf diese Weise verfügen Sie über eine Objektbibliothek, zu der Sie bei Bedarf zurückkehren können. Dies ist nicht zu verwechseln mit der Abbildung von Grafiken in 3D. Es ist lediglich eine Möglichkeit, "flache" Kopien bestimmter Objekte griffbereit zu halten. Denn sobald ein Objekt in die richtige Perspektive verschoben wurde, kann es nicht mehr in seinen ursprünglichen Zustand zurückversetzt werden. Ein weiterer Grund für die Verwendung von Symbolen besteht darin, dass Sie auf eines doppelklicken können, um dessen Erscheinungsbild zu bearbeiten. Bearbeiten Sie ein Symbol, und alle Instanzen dieses Symbols werden aktualisiert.

Da dies ein fortgeschrittenes Tut ist, gehe ich davon aus, dass Sie wissen, wie man die Fensterformen erstellt. Sie können eine Grundform und/oder solche mit etwas mehr Verzierung erstellen. Ziehen Sie jeden in das Symbolbedienfeld.


Schritt 4

Ziehen Sie ein Fenstersymbol auf die Zeichenfläche. Stellen Sie sicher, dass der linke Bereich aktiv ist, und ziehen Sie das Fenster mit dem Perspektivauswahl-Werkzeug an seinen Platz. Sie werden sehen, dass es in die Perspektive einrastet. Fügen Sie der linken und rechten Ebene weitere Bogenfenster hinzu. Ihre Zeichnung sollte ungefähr so aussehen wie das Bild unten:


Schritt 5

So wie Sie Symbole in die Perspektive ziehen können, können Sie dies auch mit normalen flachen Objekten tun. Klicken Sie für die Spalten mit hervorstehenden Steinen zuerst auf den Abschnitt "Keine Ebene" des Widgets für aktive Ebenen. Zeichnen Sie nun eine Reihe von Rechtecken und gruppieren Sie sie. Drücken Sie dann 1 oder klicken Sie im Widget auf die linke Ebene und ziehen Sie die Gruppe. Es wird in die Perspektive einrasten. Ziehen Sie bei gedrückter Wahltaste, um eine weitere Gruppe am Rand des Gebäudes zu positionieren.


Schritt 6

Um diese Gruppe auf der rechten Ebene zu platzieren, erstellen Sie eine Kopie davon und drücken Sie beim Ziehen die Taste 3, um zur rechten Ebene zu wechseln. Die platzierten Gruppen (grau hervorgehoben) sollten wie im Bild unten aussehen:


Schritt 7

Erstelle eine neue Ebene für das Schild. Aktivieren Sie die linke Ebene und zeichnen Sie ein Rechteck. Das Schild hat eine gewisse Abmessung und liegt nicht flach an der Wand an, sodass Sie es von der Wand wegziehen können (in Richtung des Betrachters), aber die Perspektive beibehalten können. Wählen Sie die Form mit dem Perspektivauswahl-Werkzeug aus, halten Sie die Taste '5' gedrückt und ziehen Sie sie etwas nach oben. Eine Linie zeigt an, dass Sie in der Perspektive senkrecht ziehen. Machen Sie dasselbe auf der rechten Seite und richten Sie das rechte Rechteck mit dem linken aus.


Schritt 8

Um dem Zeichen Text hinzuzufügen, geben Sie mit dem Textwerkzeug ein. Es handelt sich um einen normalen, nicht perspektivischen Typ. Wenn Sie jedoch zum Perspektivauswahl-Werkzeug wechseln, eine Ebene aktivieren und ziehen, wird der Text perspektivisch ausgerichtet. Bewegen und skalieren Sie es nach Bedarf. Es sieht so aus, als ob der Typ umrissen ist, aber er kann vollständig bearbeitet werden.

Doppelklicken Sie darauf, um den Typ in der Perspektive zu bearbeiten und den Isolationsmodus aufzurufen. Ändern Sie die Farbe, Schriftart oder geben Sie neuen Text ein und drücken Sie dann zweimal die Esc-Taste, um zur Perspektive zurückzukehren. (Hinweis: Aufgrund von Lizenzbeschränkungen für Schriftarten wurde der Typ in der Beispieldatei erweitert und kann nicht mehr bearbeitet werden.)

Platzieren Sie den Typ auf der rechten Seite des Schilds. Ihre Illustration sollte wie im Bild unten aussehen


Teil III - Die Details

Mit der Struktur der Abbildung ist der Rest alles Details. Dies ist keine kleine Aufgabe - es werden mehr als ein paar Füllungen und Striche benötigt, um die Abbildung vollständig abzurunden. Sie müssen alle Ihre Illustrator-Fähigkeiten einbringen, um eine mathematisch sterile perspektivische Zeichnung zu erstellen und zum Leben zu erwecken.

Die meisten dieser Details werden perspektivisch hinzugefügt. Hier sind einige Beispiele:

Der Block darunter besteht aus drei separaten Rechtecken, jedes auf seiner eigenen perspektivischen Ebene.

Die vernünftige Verwendung von Verläufen verleiht Ihrer Illustration Tiefe und Fülle, und eine sorgfältige Positionierung von Objekten verleiht Realismus:


Empfohlene Vorgehensweise

  • Lernen und verwenden Sie die Tastaturkürzel.

    Tastaturkürzel rocken in jeder Anwendung, aber für die Perspektive Zeichnen sind sie unerlässlich. Sie werden versucht sein, jedes Mal 'V' zu drücken, wenn Sie etwas bewegen möchten, aber es dauert nicht lange, bis Sie daran denken, Umschalt-V zu drücken. Und die Verknüpfungen für die aktive Ebene - 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - was könnte einfacher sein?

  • Verwenden Sie Smart Guides.

    Entscheidend, um Objekte auszurichten und Ihre Zeichnungen perfekt zu machen.

  • Verwenden Sie Symbole.
    Stellen Sie sich das Symbolbedienfeld als Bibliothek vor. Es kann Objekte in ihrem flachen, nicht perspektivischen Zustand speichern. Sie werden es gerne haben.
  • Definieren und speichern Sie Ihre eigenen Raster.
    Gehen Sie zu Ansicht > Perspektivisches Raster > Raster definieren. Wenn Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben, ein benutzerdefiniertes Raster einzurichten, speichern Sie es. Auf diese Weise haben Sie es immer zur Hand, wenn Sie jemals eine andere Illustration erstellen möchten, die auf diesem Raster basiert. Sollten Sie einen Absturz erleben oder auf andere Weise die Zeichnung verlieren, an der Sie arbeiten, können Sie das gespeicherte Raster erneut verwenden.

Abschluss

Nur wenn Sie der Meinung sind, dass Adobe Illustrator möglicherweise nichts Neues hinzufügen kann, ist dies der Fall. Und Sie fragen sich, wie Sie jemals ohne sie ausgekommen sind. Wenn Sie Zeit und Geduld hatten, war es immer möglich, mit Illustrator perspektivische Zeichnungen zu erstellen. Mit CS5 können Sie Illustrator jetzt die mühsame Arbeit überlassen, während Sie sich auf den unterhaltsamen Teil konzentrieren. Laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von CS5 bei Adobe herunter.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Scroll to top
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
Tools & Tips

Create a Classic American Diner with Perspective Drawing Tools

by

With the release of Illustrator CS5, Adobe introduces the new Perspective Drawing tool set, which allows you to create images in accurate 1-, 2- or 3-point perspective. Perspective Drawing alleviates tedious measuring and scaling, letting you concentrate on artistry, not arithmetic. In this tutorial, you'll learn how to set up a Perspective Grid and use the Perspective tools to draw and modify shapes. You'll learn how to use and edit Symbols and live text, all in perspective. We'll also review best practices for perspective drawing.

The perspective drawing feature takes a lot of getting used to. I must admit that the first time I laid hands on it, I felt like I did the very first time I used Illustrator — I thought I knew what it was supposed to do, but had no idea how to make it work. But once you play around with it for a while, and start to think in perspective, it will become less intimidating. This is an advanced tutorial and assumes a high level of Illustrator experience. Let's get started!


Getting to Know the Tools

There are three main components of the Perspective Drawing feature: The Tools, the Grid and the Widget. The Perspective Grid Tool (Shift + P) is used for working solely with the grid itself — moving it, changing its size, and adjusting its settings. The Perspective Selection Tool (Shift + V) is used for selecting and modifying objects while in perspective. Both are part of the Drawing set in the Tools panel, and are located below the Free Transform tool. I like to tear off the tools for easy access, and to remind me to use them.

When you click the Perspective Tool, two things appear in your workspace: The Perspective Grid and the Active Plane Widget. You can change the placement of the Widget by double-clicking on the Perspective Grid tool to bring up its options. The Widget can only be placed in one of the four corners — you can't move it freely.

CS5 comes with three standard perspective grids. To view each and switch between them, go to View > Perspective Grid. The "1P," "2P" and "3P_Normal View" are the presets. Once you start modifying and creating your own grids, you can save those as presets by going to Define Grid under the View menu. Here you can also adjust some unit and color preferences.


Getting to Know the Grid

When working with perspective drawing, it's important to set up the grid accurately at the outset. You will do all the grid set-up with the Perspective Grid Tool (Shift + P) — that is its sole function, and the grid controls will only be visible when this tool is selected.

There are several controls on the grid which allow you to modify it. Here's an overview: (Tip: I find it helpful to hide the Artboard when working with perspective. There are a lot of lines on the screen already, and the Artboard edges seem to get in the way)

Each grid has a Ground Line, which can be thought of as the actual ground on which an object is resting. When you move the Ground Line by dragging its diamond-shaped handle, the entire grid moves. The Horizon Line corresponds to the viewer's eye level. If you drag the Horizon Line down closer to the Ground Line, it is as if the viewer is small (relative to the overall composition), and looking up at an object on the grid. Drag the Horizon Line up away from the ground, and you can imagine being above an object looking down on it.

On a 2-point perspective grid, there are both left and right Vanishing Points. These are the points on the horizon at which parallel lines converge. In other words, where the image recedes so far in the distance it appears to vanish. These points slide left and right, and determine the severity of the perspective.

If you lock the Station Point (View > Perspective > Lock Station Point) then move one of the Vanishing Points, the two planes move together, and appear to rotate around the center point.

The diamond just above the Station Point is used to adjust the cell size, or how many grid lines are on each plane. Move it up or down according to your preference.

The left and right Grid Pane Controls are used to move their respective planes. The Left Grid Plane control is on the right — moving it is like opening a gate whose "hinge" is the vanishing point. Same with the right side; its control is to the left.

After you've played around a bit with the grid, you can re-set it to the normal 2-point perspective.


Part I - Setting up the Grid

Of course, you can use one of the pre-sets and just start drawing, but for the purposes of this tutorial, we'll use a photographic reference and set up a custom grid. Note that any photo or drawing you use will likely not match up with the grid exactly. Camera lenses distort, and it is nearly impossible to draw — without measurement tools — in mathematically-precise perspective.


Step 1

Place your photo or drawing on its own layer, and make that layer a Template (Plus members may download the source file for this tutorial, with the photo already embedded). Make the grid visible by clicking on the Perspective Grid tool. Using the Perspective Grid tool, move the Ground line (and thus the entire grid) to about the bottom of the sidewalk in the photo. Move the Horizon line accordingly, to about eye level.


Step 2

Position the top center of the grid at the top of the first floor of the building, at the corner. This will line up the two grid planes with the edge of the building.


Step 3

Drag out the left vanishing point so that the grid lines match the angles of the building. You'll probably have to zoom way out in order to drag the point far enough. In the image below, you can see how far you'll need to zoom out, relative to the art board.

Do the same with the left grid plane. Once you're confident the grid matches, you may wish to lock it (View > Perspective Grid > Lock Grid).


Part II — Drawing in Perspective

Now we're ready to draw. There are two groups of tools that work with perspective drawing, Line Tools (Line Segment, Arc, Spiral, Rectangular Grid, Polar Grid) and Shape Tools (Rectangle, Rounded Rectangle, Ellipse, Polygon, Star {but not the Flare tool}).

Where you draw is determined by the Active Plane Widget. It is a good idea to become familiar with the keyboard shortcuts used for the Widget. They are simply the numbers 1 through 5 on the keypad. They will speed up your workflow, and there are some instances in which there is no menu alternative.


Step 1

Create a new Layer above the Template layer and name it "Building Front". Choose the Perspective Selection tool (Shift + V) and click the left (blue) plane on the Widget. This activates the left plane. Now select the Rectangle tool (M) and begin to draw. You will notice immediately that the rectangle conforms to the plane. You'll also notice that the cursor crosshairs now has a left-facing arrow next to it. This is a visual cue that lets you know which plane is active as you draw.

Switch back to the Perspective Selection tool and move your rectangle. Observe how it changes in space. Note that even if you move the object beyond the bounds of the visible grid, it will still be in perspective. Another visual cue when working in perspective is the appearance of the corner handles on an object's bounding box. When an object is attached to a plane, the handles are solid, rather than hollow as they are for normal drawing.

Begin roughing out the drawing, creating the face of the building and doors and windows. Stick with basic rectangles for now — we'll get to the curved windows in a minute. To scale or move an object, use the Perspective Selection tool (Shift + V). If you hold down the Option/Alt key and drag a rectangle, the resulting copy will be in perspective.

Your drawing should look something like the image below:


Step 2

Create a new layer for the side of the building. As before, rough out the structure of the right side of the building and its windows.


Step 3

For rounded objects, it's sometimes better to create them straight on, then bring them into perspective. You'll do this for the arched windows. For objects that you'll use more than once, it's a good idea to make them into Symbols. That way you'll have a library of objects you can go back to when you need one. This is not to be confused with mapping art in 3-D, it's just a way to keep "flat" copies of certain objects handy. Because once an object is moved into perspective, it can't be reverted back to its original state. Another reason for using Symbols is that you can double-click on one to edit its appearance. Edit one symbol, and all instances of that symbol will be updated.

Since this is an advanced tut, I'm going to assume that you know how to make the window shapes. You can make a basic shape and/or ones with a little more embellishment. Drag each one into the Symbols panel.


Step 4

Drag out a window symbol to the art board. Make sure the Left Pane is active, and using the Perspective Selection tool, drag the window into place. You'll see that it snaps to perspective. Add more arched windows to the left and right planes. Your drawing should look something like the image below:


Step 5

Just as you can drag Symbols into perspective, you can do the same with regular flat objects. For the columns of protruding bricks, first click the "no plane" section of the Active Plane Widget. Now draw a series of rectangles and group them. Then press 1 or click the Left Plane on the Widget and drag the group. It will snap to perspective. Option-drag to position another group at the edge of the building.


Step 6

To place this group onto the right plane, make a copy of it, then as you drag, press the 3 key to switch to the right plane. The placed groups (highlighted in gray) should look like the image below:


Step 7

Make a new layer for the sign. Activate the left plane and draw out a rectangle. The sign has some dimension and doesn't lay flat against the wall, so you can pull it away from the wall (towards the viewer) but keep it in perspective. Select the shape with the Perspective Selection tool, hold down the '5' key and drag it up a bit. A line indicates that you are dragging perpendicularly, in perspective. Do the same on the right, lining up the right rectangle with the left one.


Step 8

To add text to the sign, type with the Type tool. It will be normal, non-perspective type, but once you switch to the Perspective Selection tool, activate a plane and drag, the text will snap into perspective. Move and scale it as necessary. It will look as though the type is outlined, but it remains fully editable.

To edit type in perspective, double-click on it to enter Isolation Mode. Change the color, font or type new text, then press the Escape key twice to return to perspective. (Note: Due to font licensing restrictions, the type in the sample file has been expanded and is no longer editable)

Place type on the right side of the sign. Your illustration should look like the image below


Part III — The Details

With the structure of the illustration in place, the rest is all details. This is no small task — it will take more than a few fills and strokes to fully round out the illustration. You will need to bring all of your Illustrator skills to bear to take a mathematically-sterile perspective drawing and bring it to life.

Most of these details will be added in perspective. Here are some examples:

The block below is made of three separate rectangles, each on its own perspective plane.

Judicious use of gradients will add depth and richness to your illustration, and careful positioning of objects will lend realism:


Best practices

  • Learn and use the keyboard shortcuts.

    Keyboard shortcuts rock in any application, but for the perspective Drawing, they're essential. You'll be tempted to press 'V' every time you want to move something, but it won't take long to remember to press Shift-V. And the Active Plane shortcuts — 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 — what could be easier?
  • Use Smart Guides.

    Crucial for lining up objects and making your drawings perfect.
  • Use Symbols.
    Think of the Symbols panel as a library. It can store objects in their flat, non-perspective state. You'll be glad to have it.

  • Define and save your own grids.
    Go to View > Perspective Grid > Define Grid. When you've gone to the trouble to set up a custom grid, save it. That way if you ever want to make another illustration built on that grid, you'll have it handy. And should you experience a crash or otherwise lose the drawing you're working on, you can start over using the saved grid.


Conclusion

Just when you think Adobe couldn't possibly add something new to Illustrator, it does. And you wonder how you ever got along without it. It was always possible to make perspective drawings with Illustrator, if you had the time and patience. Now with CS5, you can let Illustrator do the tedious work, while you concentrate on the fun part. Download a free trial of CS5 at Adobe.

Related Posts
  • Design & Illustration
    Drawing
    Technical Drawing for Beginners: Three Point PerspectivePreview image2 3p
    Three point perspective is great when you wish to render objects or scenes from an abnormally high or low point of view. The distortions that the third vanishing point brings into your composition often has a very artistic effect and makes even the most simple concept more interesting.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Designing
    Present Your Artwork in a Vector Frame in Adobe IllustratorPosterframepreview
    In the following steps you will learn how to create a simple poster frame with a grungy brick wall background in Adobe Illustrator. Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Drawing
    Technical Drawing for Beginners: Two Point PerspectiveRetina preview 2p
    In this tutorial, we'll be looking at two point perspective. Two point perspective is by far the best suited perspective drawing styles available for rendering environment concept art. The reason for this is the fact that realism and proportions can be achieved fairly quickly, and the focus remains on the composition, rather than on the technical details. Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Drawing
    Technical Drawing for Beginners: One Point PerspectiveRetinal preview 1 point
    One point perspective is one of the easiest perspective drawing styles available. The reason for this is that all lines lead to a single point, and regardless of how complex your object is, it's easy to realize when you've made a mistake, and just as easy to correct it.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Drawing
    Technical Drawing for Beginners: An Introduction to PerspectiveRetinapreview intro perspective
    In this series, I will give you useful information about perspective drawing. Further down the line we will take a look at a few examples, and learn some basic terminology that will help you understand how to correctly draw in various perspective styles. Before we can learn how to build the various perspectives, let's have a look at the basics.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Web Roundups
    The A to Z of Adobe IllustratorPre400
    The Adobe Illustrator toolbar is jam-packed with useful tools you may have used a million times or that may be entirely unfamiliar to you. Add to that the numerous panels and effects, and this program can create most any type of artwork. This A–Z list breaks down every tool in the Illustrator toolbar, with a link to a quick tip here on Tuts+ or a description of what each tool can do.Read More…