7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Icon Design

Ням! Создаем иконку вкусного сендвича-бублика в Адобе Иллюстратор

Scroll to top
Read Time: 10 mins
This post is part of a series called Learn Adobe Illustrator.
Create a Cute Raccoon Character in Adobe Illustrator
10 Essential Tips & Tools All Adobe Illustrator Beginners Should Learn

Russian (Pусский) translation by Mavka (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Следуйте этому уроку и узнайте, как создать иконку бублика в Адобе Иллюстратор. Вначале мы создадим обе части бублика, а затем изготовим все ингредиенты для бутерброда: кусочки салата, ломтики сыра и ветчины.

Самая интересная часть заключается в том, чтобы составить бутерброд из бублика, ведь здесь вы можете проявить творчество. Наконец, мы посыпем его сверху семенами кунжута с помощью дискретной кисти. Если вы любите уроки с продуктами питания, так же как я, давайте начнем развлекаться!

1. Начнем новый проэкт

Запустите Иллюстратор и перейдите к Файл > Новый, чтобы открыть пустой документ. Введите имя файла, настройте размеры, выберите Пиксели как Единицы и Цветовой режим как RGB.

Затем перейдите в меню Редактирование > Установки >Основные и установите Перемещение курсора на 1 рх, и перейдите к Единицам измерения, чтобы убедиться, что они установлены, как на следующем рисунке. Обычно я работаю с этими настройками, и они помогут вам в течение всего процесса рисования.

start new documentstart new documentstart new document

2. Создадим бублик

Шаг 1

Возьмите Эллипс (L) и нарисуйте два круга с указанными размерами. С выделенными кругами, нажмите Горизонтальное выравнивание по центру и Вертикальное выравнивание по центру в панели Выравнивание.

create bagel 1create bagel 1create bagel 1

Шаг 2

С все еще выделенными кругами, перейдите в меню Объект> Составной контур> Создать (Ctrl-8), а затем залейте полученную форму светло-коричневым цветом. Я назову ее «бублик-верх», и нам понадобятся дополнительные копии формы на протяжении всего урока.

create bagel 2create bagel 2create bagel 2

Шаг 3

С выбранной формой «бублик-верх», добавьте Новую заливку в панели Оформление над первой. Примените показанный радиальный градиент, и далее Эффект> Эскиз> Рельеф и примените параметры со следующего изображения. Установите Режим наложения на Рассеянный свет.

apply bas relief effect to bagelapply bas relief effect to bagelapply bas relief effect to bagel

Шаг 4

Добавьте Новую заливку в панели Оформление, используя коричневый цвет; затем установите Режим наложения на Рассеянный свет.

create bagel 3create bagel 3create bagel 3

Шаг 5

Опять добавьте Новую заливку и примените указанный цвет, а затем перейдите в меню Эффект> Эскиз> Почтовая бумага и примените параметры со следующего изображения. Установите этот атрибут заливки на Режим наложения Перекрытие и 15% Непрозрачности.

apply note paper effect to bagelapply note paper effect to bagelapply note paper effect to bagel

Шаг 6

Для того, чтобы избавиться от пикселизации края, созданной за счет эффекта Почтовая бумага, мы создадим маску. Выберите «бублик-верх», Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Ctrl - F), чтобы сделать копию, а затем удалите все существующие заливки. Теперь выберите обе фигуры и перейдите к Объект> Обтравочная маска> Создать (Control-7). Назовите полученную группу «Бублик Верх».

create mask for bagelcreate mask for bagelcreate mask for bagel

Шаг 7

Давайте создадим нижнюю часть бублика. Сделайте еще одну копию «бублик-верх» на вашей монтажной области и примените показанный радиальный градиент, чтобы залить ее. Нам не нужно добавлять больше деталей, поскольку большинство из них будет покрыто ингредиентами в бутерброде.

create bagel bottomcreate bagel bottomcreate bagel bottom

3. Создадим кусок салата

Шаг 1

Возьмите Карандаш (N) и нарисуйте подобную форму, залив ее показанным радиальным градиентом. Воспользуйтесь инструментом Градиент (G), чтобы по необходимости отрегулировать направление.

create piece of lettuce 1create piece of lettuce 1create piece of lettuce 1

Шаг 2

С все еще выбранной формой салата, перейдите в Объект> Контур> Создать параллельный контур и примените 1.2 px Смещение для того, чтобы получить немного большую форму. Залейте эту новую форму показанным линейным градиентом, и убедитесь, что она расположена позади первой.

create piece of lettuce 2create piece of lettuce 2create piece of lettuce 2

Шаг 3

Теперь, возьмите Перо (P) и нарисуйте несколько фигур, как показано ниже, на листьях салата. Залейте их разными оттенками зеленого цвета (1). Чтобы добавить определенного объема нарисуйте несколько маленьких форм между «волнами» салата, но убедитесь, что вы отправили их на задний план. Примените темный оттенок зеленого цвета для заливки (2).

create piece of lettuce 3create piece of lettuce 3create piece of lettuce 3

4. Создадим кусочек сыра

Шаг 1

Используйте Прямоугольник (M), чтобы нарисовать прямоугольник 73 х 150 px, а также примените желтый для цвета заливки. Затем, нарисуйте несколько кругов с помощью инструмента Эллипс (L) и Сгруппируйте (Control-G) их.

Прежде чем продолжить, создайте копию этой группы, потому что она понадобится вам на следующем шаге. Теперь выберите прямоугольник вместе с группой кругов и нажмите Минус верхний в панели Обработка контуров, чтобы получить отверстия в сыре.

create slice of cheese 1create slice of cheese 1create slice of cheese 1

Шаг 2

Теперь вам понадобится группа кругов с предыдущего шага (1). Выделите ее и примените Копировать и Вставить спереди (Control-F), чтобы получить другую группу кругов (зеленые). Переместите их немного вниз и вправо (2).

Далее, выделите обе группы и нажмите Исключение в панели Обработка контуров, а затем Разгруппируйте (Shift-Control-G) в меню Объект (3). Удалите все полученные фигуры с нижней правой стороны отверстий, потому что нам они не нужны. Если некоторые формы выходят за край, просто выберите Удалить опорную точку (-) и удалите лишние опорные точки в конце, и сделайте небольшие корректировки в случае необходимости (4). Залейте эти фигуры указанным цветом (5).

create slice of cheese 2create slice of cheese 2create slice of cheese 2

5. Создадим ломтик ветчины

Шаг 1

С помощью инструмента Карандаш (N), нарисуйте форму, как на следующем изображении, а также воспользуйтесь показанным линейным градиентом, чтобы залить ее. Переместите некоторые из опорных точек в направлении изнутри с помощью Прямое выделение (A), чтобы создать более реалистичный вид.

create slice of ham 1create slice of ham 1create slice of ham 1

Шаг 2

Используйте Карандаш (N) еще раз, чтобы нарисовать фигуру в нижней части. Наконец, выберите форму ветчины и далее Копируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Ctrl-F) затем выберите эту копию вместе с черной формой и нажмите кнопку Пересечение в панели Обработка контуров. Залейте полученную форму показанным линейным градиентом.

create slice of ham 2create slice of ham 2create slice of ham 2

Шаг 3

Как и в предыдущем шаге, создайте две новые фигуры и заполните их линейным градиентом, показанным в следующем изображении.

create slice of ham 3create slice of ham 3create slice of ham 3

Шаг 4

Возьмите Перо (P) или Карандаш (N) и нарисуйте несколько случайных фигур на ветчине, чтобы добавить больше деталей. Заполните их линейным градиентом, показанным ниже.

create slice of ham 4create slice of ham 4create slice of ham 4

6. Составим бублик-бутерброд

Шаг 1

На этом этапе все элементы готовы. Перед тем, как продолжить, Сгруппируйте (Control-G) все формы, составляющие салата и назовите группу «салат»; Сгруппируйте (Control-G) все формы, которые составляют кусочек сыра и назовите группу «сыр», и, как вы уже догадались... сделайте то же самое для «ветчины». Поскольку они в векторной форме, вы можете масштабировать их, если захотите.

compose bagel sandwich 1compose bagel sandwich 1compose bagel sandwich 1

Шаг 2

В верхней части «бублик низ», начните располагать кусочки салата. Размножьте группу «салат» столько раз, сколько захотите, и организуйте их, как вам угодно. Вы можете креативить здесь. Также добавьте первый кусочек сыра.

compose bagel sandwich 2compose bagel sandwich 2compose bagel sandwich 2

Шаг 3

Давайте добавим несколько теней, по ходу действия, потому что в конце будет сложнее добавить все тени. Лучше работать в слоях.

С помощью Пера (P) или Карандаш (N), нарисуйте два пути вдоль наружного края сыра, но не выходите за край «бублика-низ». Примените к ним 2 pt Обводки, используя показанный цвет, затем выделите Эффект> Размытие> Гауссово размытие с Радиусом 2 px. Отправьте эти два пути позади группы «сыр».

Пока все пути выделены, нажмите Новый стиль графики в нижней части панели Стили графики, чтобы сохранить его для дальнейшего использования. Назовите его Графический стиль Коричневая тень.

compose bagel sandwich 3compose bagel sandwich 3compose bagel sandwich 3

Шаг 4

Теперь сделайте копию группы «ветчина» и расположите ее на бублике. При помощи Пера (P) или Карандаша (N), нарисуйте путь в верхнем углу, а затем просто выберите Графический стиль Коричневая тень в панели Стили графики, чтобы добавить тень. Переместите этот путь позади группы «ветчина», но на передний план группы «сыр».

compose bagel sandwich 4compose bagel sandwich 4compose bagel sandwich 4

Шаг 5

Нарисуйте еще один контур в нижнем углу, примените к нему 2 pt черной Обводки, а затем примените 2 рх Размытия по Гауссу. Переместите этот путь позади «ветчины», но перед «салатом».

Сохраните стиль в панели Стили графики и назовите его Графический стиль Черная тень.

compose bagel sandwich 5compose bagel sandwich 5compose bagel sandwich 5

Шаг 6

Расположите второй кусок ветчины над бубликом, нарисуйте два пути, как на следующем изображении и выберите Графический стиль Черная тень в панели Стили графики, чтобы добавить тени. Переместите эти два пути позади «ветчины».

compose bagel sandwich 6compose bagel sandwich 6compose bagel sandwich 6

Шаг 7

Расположите третий кусок ветчины и нарисуйте два пути, как показано ниже. Для черного пути, выберите Графический стиль Коричневая тень, а для синего пути выберите Графический стиль Черная тень. Не забудьте отправить их позади «ветчины», но на передний план первого кусочка (1).

Добавьте еще один кусочек сыра, нарисуйте зеленый путь и выберите для него Графический стиль Коричневая тень. Отправьте этот путь позади "сыра" (2).

compose bagel sandwich 7compose bagel sandwich 7compose bagel sandwich 7

Шаг 8

Теперь выделите группу «Бублик Верх» и расположите ее поверх ингредиентов. Не располагайте ее непосредственно над "бублик низ" но сдвиньте ее немного ниже и правее.

compose bagel sandwich 8compose bagel sandwich 8compose bagel sandwich 8

7. Добавим тень под верх бублика

Шаг 1

Выделите «бублик-верх» и далее Копировать и Вставить на том же месте (Shift-Control-V). Удалите все имеющиеся заливки и залив его белым цветом, затем перейдите к Эффект> Стилизовать> Тень и примените настройки, показанные ниже. Переместите эту копию позади группы «Бублик-верх».

Как показано стрелками, есть области, где у нас нет ни салата, ни ветчины или сыра, торчащих из бублика, поэтому нет никакой необходимости в тени там. Чтобы сделать тень невидимой в этих конкретных областях, мы создадим маску в следующем шаге.

add shadow under bagel top 1add shadow under bagel top 1add shadow under bagel top 1

Шаг 2

Сначала заблокируйте группу «Бублик-Верх» в палитре Слои, или скройте ее в данный момент. Теперь выберите все ингредиенты вашего бублика (в моем случае: 3 х «салата», 3 х «ветчины» и 2 х «сыра»), но без контуров тени, а затем нажмите кнопку Соединение в панели Обработка контуров (1). В результате вы получите составной контур (2).

Далее, выберите белую форму из предыдущего шага вместе с этим составным контуром (который должен быть на передний план) и перейдите в Объект> Обтравочная маска> Добавить (Control-7) (3). Вы можете увидеть конечный результат на следующем изображении (4).

mask the shadowmask the shadowmask the shadow

Шаг 3

С помощью Эллипса (L), чтобы нарисуйте круг 57 х 57 px, а затем разместите его в центре бублика. Выберите белый как цвет заливки, затем перейдите к Эффект> Стилизация> Внутреннее свечение и примените настройки, показанные ниже. В панели Оформление, измените Режим наложения белой заливки на Умножение, чтобы сделать ее прозрачной. Нам нужно, чтобы просматривалась только тень.

add inner shadowadd inner shadowadd inner shadow

8. Добавьте семена кунжута на бублик

Шаг 1

Возьмите Перо (P) и нарисуйте кунжутобразную форму, а затем меньшую форму сверху. Воспользуйтесь указанными цветами для заливки этих форм, и создайте белое и черное зерно кунжута. В 100% просмотре семена очень мелкие, поэтому примите к сведению этот факт.

Перетащите белый кунжут в панель Кисти и выберите Новая дискретная кисть. Введите имя кисти и установите Поворот относительно Контура. Оставьте другие настройки, как есть, и нажмите кнопку ОК. Повторите то же самое с черным кунжутом.

create sesame seed scatter brushcreate sesame seed scatter brushcreate sesame seed scatter brush

Шаг 2

Возьмите Карандаш (N) и нарисуйте случайный контур поверх «Бублик Верх» и обведите его Дискретной кистью Кунжут, сохраненной ранее. Установите Толщину Обводки на 1 pt, цвет мазка не важен. Откройте окно Обводки в панели Оформление и измените настройки для того, чтобы рассеять семена как можно больше. Играйте с настройками, пока вам не понравится конечный результат.

apply sesame seed scatter brush 1apply sesame seed scatter brush 1apply sesame seed scatter brush 1

Шаг 3

С все еще выбранным путем, нажмите кнопку Добавить новую обводку в панели Оформление . Воспользуйтесь той же Дискретной кистью Кунжут, но откройте окно опций Обводки и выберите различные настройки. Это добавит больше семян кунжута на бублик.

apply sesame seed scatter brush 2apply sesame seed scatter brush 2apply sesame seed scatter brush 2

Шаг 4

Давайте добавим несколько черных семян кунжута. В панели Оформление нажмите Добавить новую обводку и на этот раз примените Дискретную кисть Черный кунжут, сохраненную ранее. Откройте окно Обводки и поиграйте с настройками.

apply sesame seed scatter brush 3apply sesame seed scatter brush 3apply sesame seed scatter brush 3

Шаг 5

С все еще выделенным путем, выберите Разобрать оформление в меню Объект . В результате три обводки превратятся в три группы семян. Дважды щелкните по одному из семян несколько раз, чтобы войти в Режим изоляции, пока вы не выберете отдельные семена и удалите те, которое идут по краю бублика.

Когда вы закончите, выйдите из Режима изоляции, нажав на стрелку Назад на один уровень в левом верхнем углу монтажной области.

clean up sesame seedsclean up sesame seedsclean up sesame seeds

Шаг 6

Снова, выделите всю группу семян кунжута и перейдите в Эффект> Стилизация> Тень. Примените настройки с изображения ниже и нажмите кнопку OK.

apply shadow to sesame seedsapply shadow to sesame seedsapply shadow to sesame seeds

9. Добавим тень под бутерброд-бублик

Шаг 1

Выделите составной контур, который вы сделали в начале урока, используя все ингредиенты в бутерброде, а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте в то же место (Shift-Control-V). Отправьте новую копию на задний план, перейдя в Объект> Монтаж> На задний план (Shift-control-[) (1).

Теперь выберите «бублик-низ», а затем Скопировать и Вставить на задний план (Control-B) (2). Пока эти две копии выбраны, нажмите Соединение в панели Обработка контуров, чтобы получить новый составлен путь (3).

add shadow under the bagel 1add shadow under the bagel 1add shadow under the bagel 1

Шаг 2

Выделите «бублик-верх», и затем Скопируйте и Вставьте в то же место (Shift-Control-V). Отправьте новую копию назад, перейдя в Объект> Монтаж> На задний план (Shift-control-[) (1). Теперь выберите составной контур из предыдущего шага вместе с копией «бублик-верх» и снова нажмите кнопку Соединение в панели Обработка контуров (3).

add shadow under the bagel 2add shadow under the bagel 2add shadow under the bagel 2

Шаг 3

Форма теперь готова. Выберите черный цвет заливки, а затем перейдите к Эффект> Стилизация> Тень. Применить этот эффект дважды, используя настройки, показанные ниже. В панели Оформление, установите Непрозрачность для черной Заливки на 0%.

add shadow under the bagel 3add shadow under the bagel 3add shadow under the bagel 3

Шаг 4

Нарисуйте прямоугольник на новом слое позади бублика и примените показанный радиальный градиент, чтобы залить прямоугольник для создания фона (1). Вы, конечно, можете добавить еще один фон, если хотите.

С помощью Эллипса (L), нарисуйте новый круг 57 х 57 px, и расположите его в центре бублика. Отправьте круг позади всего, перейдя в Объект> Монтаж> На задний план (Shift-control- [). Выберите черный цвет заливки и установите его Режим наложения на Перекрытие (2). Это немного более затемнит площадь в центре бублика (3).

add shadow under the bagel 4add shadow under the bagel 4add shadow under the bagel 4

Поздравляю! Вы закончили!

Иконка бутерброда закончена. Я надеюсь, ее создание было для вас развлекающим, поэтому не забудьте поделиться изображением с нами. Я хотела бы   увидеть ваши повторные произведения. Также, дайте мне знать, если вы хотите получить больше уроков, связанных с едой в будущем.

Вы голодны сейчас?

bagel sandwich icon finalbagel sandwich icon finalbagel sandwich icon final
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Icon Design
Design

Yum! How to Create a Delicious Bagel Sandwich Icon in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Learn Adobe Illustrator.
Create a Сute Raccoon Character in Adobe Illustrator
10 Essential Tips & Tools All Adobe Illustrator Beginners Should Learn
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Follow this tutorial and learn how to create a bagel sandwich icon in Adobe Illustrator. At the beginning you will create the two bagel pieces, and then you will draw all the ingredients for the sandwich: pieces of lettuce, a slice of cheese and a slice of ham. 

The most fun part is to compose the bagel sandwich, because you can get creative here. The final thing is to sprinkle some sesame seeds on top with the help of a scatter brush. If you love food-related tutorials as much as I do, let's start the fun!

If you're looking for a quick-start alternative, we have a surprisingly large collection of bagel icons and vectors over at GraphicRiver, which you could customise as you need to!

1. Start a New Project

Launch Illustrator and then go to File > New in order to open a blank document. Type a name for your file and set up the dimensions, selecting Pixels as Units and RGB as Color Mode

Next, go to Edit > Preferences > General and set the Keyboard Increment to 1 px and while there, also go to Units to make sure they are set as in the following image. I usually work with these settings, and they will help you throughout the drawing process.

start new document

2. Create the Bagel

Step 1

Grab the Ellipse Tool(L) and draw two circles with the dimensions indicated. While having them selected, press Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center in the Align panel. 

create bagel 1

Step 2

With the circles still selected, go to Object > Compound Path > Make (Control-8) and then fill the resulting shape with light brown. I will name it “bagel-top”, and you will need extra copies of this shape throughout the tutorial.

create bagel 2

Step 3

With “bagel-top” still selected, add a New Fill in the Appearance panel above the first. Use the radial gradient shown, and then go to Effect > Sketch > Bas Relief and apply the settings from the next image. Set the Blending Mode to Soft Light

apply bas relief effect to bagel

Step 4

Add a New Fill in the Appearance panel and use the color brown; then set the Blending Mode to Soft Light.

create bagel 3

Step 5

Add a New Fill again and use the color indicated, and then go to Effect > Sketch > Note Paper and apply the settings from the next image. Set this Fill attribute to Blending Mode Overlay and 15% Opacity.

apply note paper effect to bagel

Step 6

To get rid of the pixelated edge that is generated by the Note Paper effect, we will create a mask. Select “bagel-top”, Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) to make a copy, and then remove all existing appearances. Now, select both shapes and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). Name the resulting group “Bagel Top”.

create mask for bagel

Step 7

Let's create the bottom piece of the bagel. Make another copy of “bagel-top” on your Artboard and use the radial gradient shown to fill it. We don't need to add more details because most of it will be covered by the ingredients in the sandwich.

create bagel bottom

3. Create a Piece of Lettuce

Step 1

Grab the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a similar shape, filling it with the radial gradient shown. Use the Gradient Tool (G) to adjust the direction if necessary.

create piece of lettuce 1

Step 2

With the lettuce-shape still selected, go to Object > Path > Offset Path and apply a 1.2 px Offset in order to get a slightly bigger shape. Fill this new shape with the linear gradient shown and make sure it's behind the first one.

create piece of lettuce 2

Step 3

Now, grab the Pen Tool (P) and draw some shapes like below on the lettuce. Fill them with different shades of green (1). To add some dimension, draw a few small shapes between the “waves” of the lettuce, but make sure you send them in back. Use a darker shade of green as the fill color (2).

create piece of lettuce 3

4. Create a Slice of Cheese

Step 1

Use the Rectangle Tool (M) to draw a 73 x 150 px rectangle, and use yellow as the fill color. Next, draw some circles with the Ellipse Tool (L) and Group (Control-G) them. 

Before you continue, make a copy of this group, because you will need it in the next step. Now, select the rectangle along with the group of circles, and press Minus Front in the Pathfinder panel to obtain the holes in the cheese.

create slice of cheese 1

Step 2

Now, you will need the copy of the group of circles from the previous step (1). Select it and Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) to get another group of circles (the green ones). Move them a little down and to the right (2). 

Next, select both groups and press Exclude in the Pathfinder panel, and then Ungroup (Shift-Control-G) from the Object menu (3). Delete all the resulting shapes from the bottom-right side of the holes because we don't need them. If some of the shapes go over the edge, just take the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-) and delete the anchor points at the end that are unnecessary, and make small adjustments if needed (4). Fill these shapes with the color indicated (5).

create slice of cheese 2

5. Create a Slice of Ham

Step 1

Use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw a shape like the one in the following image, and use the linear gradient shown to fill it. Move some of the anchor points towards the inside with the Direct Selection Tool (A) to create a more realistic look.

create slice of ham 1

Step 2

Use the Pencil Tool (N) again to draw a shape at the bottom. Next, select the ham shape and Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F); then select this copy along with the black shape and press Intersect in the Pathfinder panel. Fill the resulting shape with the linear gradient shown.

create slice of ham 2

Step 3

As explained in the previous step, create two new shapes and fill them with the linear gradient shown in the next image.

create slice of ham 3

Step 4

Grab the Pen Tool (P) or the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a few random shapes on the ham in order to add more details. Fill them with the linear gradient shown below.

create slice of ham 4

6. Compose the Bagel Sandwich

Step 1

At this point all the elements are ready. Before you continue, Group (Control-G) all the shapes that compose the lettuce and name the group “Lettuce”; Group (Control-G) all the shapes that compose the slice of cheese and name the group “Cheese”, and you guessed it... do the same for the “Ham”. Since they are in vector form, you can also scale them if you want.

compose bagel sandwich 1

Step 2

On top of the “bagel-bottom”, start to arrange the pieces of lettuce. Multiply the “Lettuce” group as many times as you want, and arrange them as you desire. You can be creative here. Also add the first slice of cheese.

compose bagel sandwich 2

Step 3

Let's add some shadows as we go, because it will be more difficult to add all the shadows at the end. It's better to work in layers.

Use the Pen Tool (P) or the Pencil Tool (N) to draw two paths along the outer edge of the cheese, but don't go over the edge of the “bagel-bottom”. Give them a 2 pt Stroke using the color indicated, and then go to Effect > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply a Radius of 2 px. Send these two paths behind the “Cheese” group.

While the paths are still selected, press New Graphic Style at the bottom of the Graphic Styles panel in order to save it for later use. Name it Brown Shadow Graphic Style.

compose bagel sandwich 3

Step 4

Now, make a copy of the “Ham” group and arrange it over the bagel. With the Pen Tool (P) or the Pencil Tool (N), draw a path in the top corner and then simply select the Brown Shadow Graphic Style from the Graphic Styles panel to add the shadow. Move this path behind the “Ham” group but in front of the “Cheese” group.

compose bagel sandwich 4

Step 5

Draw another path in the bottom corner, give it a 2 pt black Stroke, and then apply a 2 px Gaussian Blur. Move this path behind the “Ham” but in front of the “Lettuce”.

Save this style in the Graphic Styles panel and name it Black Shadow Graphic Style.

compose bagel sandwich 5

Step 6

Arrange a second slice of ham over the bagel, draw two paths as in the following image, and select the Black Shadow Graphic Style from the Graphic Styles panel to add the shadows. Move these two paths behind “Ham”.

compose bagel sandwich 6

Step 7

Arrange the third slice of ham and draw the two paths like below. For the black path, select the Brown Shadow Graphic Style, and for the blue path select the Black Shadow Graphic Style. Don't forget to send them behind “Ham” but in front of the first slice (1).

Add another slice of cheese, draw the green path and select the Brown Shadow Graphic Style for it. Send this path behind "Cheese" (2).

compose bagel sandwich 7

Step 8

Now, grab the “Bagel Top” group and arrange it over the ingredients. Do not place it directly over “bagel-bottom” but a little down and to the right.

compose bagel sandwich 8

7. Add Shadow Under the Bagel Top

Step 1

Select “bagel-top” and Copy and Paste in place (Shift-Control-V). Remove all existing appearances and just give it a white fill; then go to Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow and apply the settings shown below. Move this copy behind the “Bagel Top” group.

As indicated by the arrows, there are areas where we don't have any lettuce, ham or cheese sticking out from the bagel, so there is no need for shadow there. To make the shadow not visible in those specific areas, we will create a mask in the next step.

add shadow under bagel top 1

Step 2

First lock the “Bagel Top” group in the Layers panel, or hide it for the moment. Now, select all the ingredients in your bagel (in my case: 3 x “Lettuce”, 3 x “Ham” and 2 x “Cheese”) but without the shadow-paths and then press Unite in the Pathfinder panel (1). As a result you will get a compound path (2). 

Next, select the white shape from the previous step along with this compound path (which must be in front) and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7) (3). You can see the end result in the following image (4).

mask the shadow

Step 3

Use the Ellipse Tool (L) to draw a 57 x 57 px circle and then place it in the center of the bagel. Select white as the fill color; then go to Effect > Stylize > Inner Glow and apply the settings shown below. In the Appearance panel, change the Blending Mode for the white Fill to Multiply to make it transparent. We only want the shadow to be visible.

add inner shadow

8. Add the Sesame Seeds on the Bagel

Step 1

Grab the Pen Tool (P) and draw a sesame-like shape followed by a smaller shape on top. Use the colors indicated to fill these shapes and create the white and black sesame seeds. At 100% View the seeds are very small, so take this fact into consideration. 

Drag the white sesame into the Brushes panel and choose New Scatter Brush. Type a name for your brush and set the Rotation relative to Path. Leave the rest of the settings as they are and hit OK. Repeat the same thing with the black sesame.

create sesame seed scatter brush

Step 2

Take the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a random path over the “Bagel-Top” and stroke it with the Sesame Scatter Brush saved earlier. The Stroke Weight is set at 1 pt but the stroke color is not important. Open the Stroke Options window from the Appearance panel and change the settings in order to scatter the seeds as much as possible. Play with the settings until you like the end result.

apply sesame seed scatter brush 1

Step 3

With the path still selected, press Add New Stroke in the Appearance panel. Use the same Sesame Scatter Brush but open the Stroke Options window and choose different settings. This will add more sesame seeds on the bagel.

apply sesame seed scatter brush 2

Step 4

Let's add a few black sesame seeds. In the Appearance panel, press Add New Stroke and this time use the Black Sesame Scatter Brush that you saved earlier. Open the Stroke Options window and play with the settings.

apply sesame seed scatter brush 3

Step 5

With the path still selected, choose Expand Appearance from the Object menu. As a result, the three strokes will turn into three groups of seeds. Double click on one of the seeds a few times to enter the Isolation Mode until you are able to select the individual seeds and delete the ones that go over the edge of the bagel. 

When you are done, exit Isolation Mode by pressing the Back one level arrow in the top-left corner of your Artboard.

clean up sesame seeds

Step 6

Next, select the entire group of sesame seeds and go to Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow. Apply the settings from the image below and hit OK.

apply shadow to sesame seeds

9. Add Shadow Under the Bagel Sandwich

Step 1

Select the compound path that you made earlier in the tutorial using all the ingredients in the sandwich, and then Copy and Paste in place (Shift-Control-V). Send the new copy behind everything by going to Object > Arrange > Send to Back (Shift-Control-[) (1). 

Now, select “bagel-bottom” and then Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B) (2). While these two copies are selected, press Unite in the Pathfinder panel to get a new compound path (3).

add shadow under the bagel 1

Step 2

Select “bagel-top” and then Copy and Paste in place (Shift-Control-V). Send the new copy behind everything by going to Object > Arrange > Send to Back (Shift-Control-[) (1). Now, select the compound path from the previous step along with the copy of “bagel-top” and press Unite in the Pathfinder panel again (3).

add shadow under the bagel 2

Step 3

The shape is now ready. Select black as the fill color and then go to Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow. Apply this effect two times using the settings shown below. In the Appearance panel, set the Opacity for the black Fill to 0%.

add shadow under the bagel 3

Step 4

Draw a rectangle in a new layer behind the bagel and use the radial gradient shown to fill it in order to create the background (1). You can, of course, add another background if you prefer.

Use the Ellipse Tool (L) to draw a new 57 x 57 px circle, and place it in the center of the bagel. Send the circle behind everything by going to Object > Arrange > Send to Back (Shift-Control-[). Select black as the fill color and set it to Blending Mode Overlay (2). This will darken the area in the center of the bagel a little more (3).

add shadow under the bagel 4

Congratulations! You're Done

The bagel sandwich icon is complete. I hope this was fun for you to create, and don't forget to share an image with us. I would love to see your re-creations. Also, let me know if you want more food-related tutorials in the future. 

Are you hungry now?

bagel sandwich icon final
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.