1. Design & Illustration
  2. UI Design

Трансформируем вашу панель меню в Зимний сказочный мир в Иллюстраторе.

by
Read Time:14 minsLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Mavka (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Следуйте этому уроку и узнайте, как трансформировать сайт в зимнюю страну чудес. Вы можете создавать полоски и кнопки меню с нуля, или воспользоваться этими методами и украсить любые другие предметы. Сначала вы создадите основную панель меню, а затем научитесь добавлять снег и сосульки, снежинки, блестки и другие зимние украшения. Наконец, мы будем экспериментировать с большим количеством цветов и дизайна, поэтому давайте начнем!

1. Начнем новый проект

Запустите Иллюстратор и перейдите к Файл > Новый, чтобы открыть пустой документ. Введите имя файла, настройте размеры, выберите Пиксели как Единицы и Цветовой режим как RGB. Убедитесь, что нет галочки выровнять новые объекты по пиксельной сетке.Затем перейдите в меню Редактирование > Установки >Основные и установите Перемещение курсора на 1 рх, и перейдите к Единицам измерения, чтобы убедиться, что они установлены, как на следующем рисунке. Обычно я работаю с этими настройками, и они помогут вам в течение всего процесса рисования.

New document settingsNew document settingsNew document settings

2. Создадим основную панель меню

Шаг 1

Возьмите Прямоугольник с закругленными углами и нарисуйте первую форму с приведенными размерами. Выберите фиолетовый цвет заливки.

Create menu bar 1Create menu bar 1Create menu bar 1

Шаг 2

Если прямоугольник все еще выделен, перейдите на панель Оформление, выберите атрибут фиолетовой Заливки и нажмите внизу значок Дублировать выделенный элемент. И вы получите второй атрибут Заливки выше. Примените бело-черный линейный градиент под углом -90 градусов и установите Режим наложения на Рассеянный свет.

Create menu bar 2Create menu bar 2Create menu bar 2

Шаг 3

С все еще выделенным прямоугольником снова дублируйте фиолетовый атрибут Заливки. Выберите новый атрибут Заливки внизу, оставьте тот же цвет заливки, выделите меню Эффект> Стилизовать> Тень и примените этот эффект четыре раза. Назовите эту форму «меню - основа».

Add shadow to menu barAdd shadow to menu barAdd shadow to menu bar

Это параметры эффектов Тень:

Drop Shadow effect settingsDrop Shadow effect settingsDrop Shadow effect settings

Шаг 4

Далее, Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F) "меню-основание", а затем удалите все существующие атрибуты, нажав значок Очистить оформление в нижней части панели Оформление. Выберите черный цвет заливки, далее Объект> Создать сетчатый градиент выберите Рядов 3 и Столбцов 6 и нажмите OK. В результате вы получите градиентную сетку, как на следующем изображении.

Create gradient meshCreate gradient meshCreate gradient mesh

Шаг 5

Теперь возьмите инструмент Прямое выделение (A) и выберите только три точки сетки, указанные ниже, и измените их цвет заливки с черного на соответствующий. После окончания примените к форме Режим наложения Рассеянный свет. Назовите ее «меню-сетка».

Color gradient meshColor gradient meshColor gradient mesh

Шаг 6

Возьмите инструмент Прямоугольник (M) и нарисуйте прямоугольник с такой же высотой, и панель меню, и разместите его в центре. Выберите светло-синий для заливки.

Create menu bar 3Create menu bar 3Create menu bar 3

Шаг 7

С выбранным синим прямоугольником, перейдите к меню Объект> Контур> Добавить опорные точки, чтобы добавить четыре дополнительные точки по сторонам (1). Воспользуйтесь Прямым выделением (A), чтобы выбрать только левую и правую точки изнутри и переместить их на 10 px внутрь, нажав Левую и Правую клавиши со стрелками на вашей (2) клавиатуре.

Затем перейдите на панель Оформление и дублируйте имеющийся синий атрибут Заливки. Для новой Заливки в верхней части выделите линейный градиент от белого к черному с углом -90 градусов и установите Режим наложения на Рассеянный свет (3).

Create menu bar 4Create menu bar 4Create menu bar 4

Шаг 8

Посмотрите ближе на правый бок голубой формы. Возьмите Перо (P), нарисуйте V-образный путь, следуя по опорным точкам синей формы, и предоставьте ему 1 pt белой Обводки. Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Ctrl + F) этот путь, а затем сдвиньте копию на 1 px вправо, нажав клавишу со стрелкой вправо один раз. Выберите 1 pt черной Обводки для второго пути. Теперь, Сгруппируйте (Control-G) оба пути и установите группы на Режим наложения Рассеянный свет.

Не забудьте сделать то же самое с левой стороны синей формы или просто отразить зеркально существующую группу.

Create menu bar 5Create menu bar 5Create menu bar 5

3. Создадим снег на верхней части панели меню

Шаг 1

Теперь, когда наша простая панель меню готова, мы можем продолжить создавать снег и другие украшения. Чтобы добавить снег, я рекомендую воспользоваться инструментом Карандаш (N), а не инструментом Перо (P), поскольку он проще, и мы также получим тот рукописно / естественный вид, который в данном случае для снега будет к лучшему.  Дважды щелкните инструмент Карандаш (N), чтобы открыть окно Настроек и изменить их. Вы можете увидеть ниже использованные мной, но не стесняйтесь корректировать Точность и Плавность на свой вкус.

После этого, увеличьте масштаб правой части панели меню и нарисуйте путь, подобный приведенному ниже. Он не должен быть слишком точным, чем случайнее, тем лучше.

Create snow 1Create snow 1Create snow 1

Шаг 2

С помощью инструмента Карандаш (N), нарисуйте другой случайный путь под первым и убедитесь, что вы только немного перекрываете панель меню. Если конечные точки двух путей не перекрываются, вы можете воспользоваться инструментом Прямое выделение (A), чтобы сместить их друг на друга, как показано крупным планом.

Далее, пора объединить два пути в один. Перетащите выделение с помощью инструмента Прямое выделение (A) на две конечные опорные точки справа (сначала заблокируйте меню) и нажмите Control-J, чтобы Объединить их. Проверьте параметр Угол и нажмите OK. После этого перетащите выделение на две конечные точки слева и Объедините их. Залейте полученную форму белым цветом.

Create snow 2Create snow 2Create snow 2

Шаг 3

С помощью Карандаша (N), нарисуйте новый белый путь под белой формой, очень близко к ней. Его длина должна быть примерно такой же, как и белая форма (1). В этом пункте выберите Перо (P) и закройте две опорные точки вверху, чтобы получить фигуру (2). Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F) белую форму и нажмите Shift-Control-], чтобы отправить ее поверх всего.  Выберите эту новую белую копию вместе с голубой форме и нажмите Минус верхний в панели Обработка контуров. Вы получите составной контур (3), но перейдите в меню Объект> Составной контур> Отменить и удалите меньшие фигуры в верхней части (4).

Create snow 3Create snow 3Create snow 3

Шаг 4

Заполните указанным цветом форму, полученную в предыдущем шаге, и теперь первая "часть" снега готова.

Create snow 4Create snow 4Create snow 4

Шаг 5

Снова возьмите Карандаш (N)  и нарисуйте меньшую форму на правом конце панели меню, залейте ее белым цветом (1). Нарисуйте другой путь под ней и убедитесь, что правая и левая конечные точки перекрываются (2), закройте путь в верхней части, как и раньше, с помощью функции Соединить или Пера (P) (3). Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F) маленькую белую форму и нажмите Shift-Control-], чтобы отправить ее поверх всего. Выделите эту белую копию вместе с голубой формой и нажмите Минус верхний в панели Обработка контуров. Залейте полученную форму таким же цветом (4). Это вторая "часть" снега.

Create snow 5Create snow 5Create snow 5

Шаг 6

Давайте добавим больше снега с левой стороны панели меню, применяя ту же технику. Сначала нарисуйте Карандашом (N) белую форму (1), а затем создайте форму под ней, отнимите (2), и залейте ее тем же светло-синим цветом (3).

Create snow 6Create snow 6Create snow 6

Шаг 7

Продолжайте добавлять еще "кусочки" снега, чуть больше и чуть меньше, пока вы полностью не покроете верхнюю часть панели меню. На следующем изображении вы можете увидеть конечный результат.

Create snow 7Create snow 7Create snow 7

Шаг 8

Воспользуйтесь Карандашом (N) или Пером (P), чтобы нарисовать форму, подобную приведенной ниже, и залейте ее линейным градиентом. Вы также можете нарисовать несколько небольших фигур рядом с ним, залитых одним градиентом, а затем выделить все фигуры и Сгруппировать (Control-G) их.

Add details on snow 1Add details on snow 1Add details on snow 1

Шаг 9

Используйте только что созданную группу форм, чтобы добавить больше снежных деталей. Сделайте больше копий группы и масштабируйте, вращайте их, располагая поверх снега.

Add details on snow 2Add details on snow 2Add details on snow 2

4. Создадим сосульки под панелью меню

Шаг 1

С помощью Карандаша (N), нарисуйте случайную форму в нижнем правом углу строки меню и выберите белый цвет заливки. Теперь возьмите инструмент Добавить опорную точку (+) и примените его, чтобы добавить несколько дополнительных точек внизу этой формы (1). Затем перейдите к инструменту Прямое выделение (A) и перетащите только три из этих точек вниз, чтобы создать первые сосульки (2). Добавьте больше точек с помощью инструмента Добавить опорную точку (+) по длине сосулек и поиграйте с их ручками, чтобы создать волнистый вид (3).

Create icicles 1Create icicles 1Create icicles 1

Шаг 2

Нарисуйте  новую случайную форму рядом с первой, а затем добавьте дополнительные точки внизу с помощью пункта Добавить опорную точку (+) (1). Примените инструмент Прямое выделение (A), чтобы перетащить две из этих точек вниз и создать две новые сосульки (2). Добавляйте больше опорных точек по длине сосулек и двигайте их ручки, чтобы создать волнистый вид (3).

Create icicles 2Create icicles 2Create icicles 2

Шаг 3

Я добавила еще одну белую форму рядом со второй, но вы можете добавить столько, сколько пожелаете. В этом уроке дизайн зависит от вас.

Create icicles 3Create icicles 3Create icicles 3

Шаг 4

Теперь выделите три белые фигуры в нижней правой части строки меню, а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте на задний план (Control-B). Переместите эти три копии немного вниз, нажав клавишу Стрелка вниз на клавиатуре один или два раза, и выберите светло-голубой цвет заливки.

Create icicles 4Create icicles 4Create icicles 4

Шаг 5

Для обеспечения глубины, нарисуйте с помощью Карандаша (N) или Пера (P) более тонкую форму на вершине каждой сосульки и заполните их все с помощью показанного градиента.

Create icicle 5Create icicle 5Create icicle 5

Шаг 6

Чтобы добавить больше деталей, нарисуйте несколько небольших фигур, в свободных местах, и залейте их указанным цветом.

Create icicles 6Create icicles 6Create icicles 6

Шаг 7

Нижняя правая часть панели меню готова, но вы можете добавить больше сосулек по левой стороне. Они меньше размером, поэтому не отнимут много времени. Воспользуйтесь той же техникою, что и выше. Сначала нарисуйте белую форму (1), а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте на задний план (Control-B) эту форму, сдвиньте ее немного вниз и измените цвет заливки (2). В конце, используйте небольшие формы, залитые тем же градиентом, чтобы добавить так много деталей, как пожелаете (3).

Create icicles 7Create icicles 7Create icicles 7

Шаг 8

С помощью той же техники, добавьте больше сосулек в нижнем левом углу строки меню, и теперь вы закончили со снегом и сосульками.

Create icicles 8Create icicles 8Create icicles 8

5. Создадим и применим кисть для рассеивания снежинок

Шаг 1

Перейдите к Снежинкам и загрузите набор векторных снежинок, созданный All-Silhouettes. Затем откройте файл иллюстратору в архиве и скопируйте снежинку, выделенную синим цветом, в документ. Выберите белый цвет заливки и перетащите снежинку на панель Кисти, чтобы сохранить ее как Новую дискретную кисть.  В окне Параметры дискретной кисти установите значение Поворот относительно Контура и оставьте остальные параметры как есть. Введите название кисти и нажмите ОК.

Create Snowflake Scatter BrushCreate Snowflake Scatter BrushCreate Snowflake Scatter Brush

Шаг 2

Нам снова нужен Карандаш (N), чтобы нарисовать несколько путей над снегом, как на следующем изображении. Обведите эти пути с помощью дискретной кисти, сохраненной ранее, и откройте окно Параметры Обводки в панели Оформление.  Измените настройки, как показано, и нажмите ОК. Установите Толщину обводки для этих путей на уровне 0,25 pt, 0,3 pt, 0,35 pt и 0,5 pt, чтобы получить снежинки разного размера.

Apply Snowflake Scatter BrushApply Snowflake Scatter BrushApply Snowflake Scatter Brush

6. Добавим разнообразные зимние украшения

Шаг 1

Скопируйте снежинки, выделенные синим и зеленым со снежинок, которые находятся в вашем документе. Затем залейте их белым, масштабируйте и расположите слева в строке меню.

Add snowflakes decorationsAdd snowflakes decorationsAdd snowflakes decorations

Шаг 2

Далее на панели Символы в меню Библиотеки символов, и в категории Природа найдите символ «Trees 1». Перетяните символ на артборд и нажмите значок удалить ссылку на символ в нижней части панели Символы, чтобы разобрать его. Масштабируйте и разместите деревья поверх снега и размножьте их по своему желанию.

Add trees on the barAdd trees on the barAdd trees on the bar

Шаг 3

Теперь приблизим деревья. Возьмите инструмент Карандаш (N) и нарисуйте несколько коротких путей, следуя за ветвями большого дерева.  Обведите эти пути художественной кистью Charcoal-Thin, которую можно найти в меню Библиотеки кистей> Художественный> Художественный_МелУголь. Установите значение Толщины обводки на 0,5 pt, а цвет на белый для всех путей.

Add snow on trees 1Add snow on trees 1Add snow on trees 1

Шаг 4

Повторите тот же процесс для других деревьев, но убавьте Толщину обводки, даже если деревья меньше.

Add snow on trees 2Add snow on trees 2Add snow on trees 2

Шаг 5

Размножьте созданные вами снежные деревья, и расположите их с другой стороны панели меню.

Add snow on trees 3Add snow on trees 3Add snow on trees 3

Шаг 6

Чтобы создать небольшой дом, сначала нарисуйте простую форму дома, заполненную белым цветом. Для крыши нарисуйте путь с Обводкой 1 pt и добавьте небольшое красную форму для дымохода. Для дверей и окон примените инструмент Прямоугольник (M) и показанный градиент. Чтобы создать снег на крыше, просто нарисуйте два пути на вершине крыши и обведите их с помощью кисти Charcoal-Thin, как с деревьями ранее.

Draw a small houseDraw a small houseDraw a small house

Шаг 7

Далее, возьмите инструмент Эллипс (L) и нарисуйте три эллипса, чтобы создать снеговика. Залейте их показанным радиальным градиентом, а затем добавьте маленькие черные круги для глаз и кнопок. Примените Перо (P), чтобы нарисовать нос и шарф, и вы закончили.

Draw a small snowmanDraw a small snowmanDraw a small snowman

Шаг 8

Теперь вы можете разместить небольшой дом и снеговика, где пожелаете.

Add house and snowmanAdd house and snowmanAdd house and snowman

Шаг 9

Кажется необходимым добавить много блеска, верно? Я уже объясняла, как создать его в уроке Glitter Text Effect. Размножьте блеск и расположите столько, насколько хотите улучшить свой дизайн.

Add sparkles Add sparkles Add sparkles

7. Создадим и оформим веб-кнопки

Шаг 1

Если вам удалось добиться этого, то вы сможете создать и украсить простую кнопку, а не только ленту. Сначала нарисуйте меньший скругленный прямоугольник (1), а затем создайте сетчатый градиент, как в начале урока (2). Добавьте "кусочки" снега на вершине и сосульки внизу (3) и примените дискретную кисть снежинок, чтобы добавить больше снега (4). Приведите в порядок созданные вами украшения (5) и, наконец, добавьте несколько блесток (6). Все техники остаются теми же.

Create winter buttons 1Create winter buttons 1Create winter buttons 1

Шаг 2

Дублируйте или размножьте первую кнопку и просто меняйте расположение существующих украшений, чтобы получить больше кнопок.

Create winter buttons 2Create winter buttons 2Create winter buttons 2

8. Создадим дополнительные панели меню

Шаг 1

Дублируйте фиолетовую панель меню со снегом в верхней части, снежинки и сосульки, но без других украшений. Выберите «основу панели меню" и замените фиолетовый цвет на оттенки зеленого. Сохраните другие настройки как есть.

Create green menu bar 1Create green menu bar 1Create green menu bar 1

Шаг 2

Затем выделите форму по центру и замените светло-голубой на светло-зеленый. Расположите все украшения по-другому, и вы получите новую панель меню.

Create green menu bar 2Create green menu bar 2Create green menu bar 2

Шаг 3

Чтобы создать серую полоску меню, дублируйте фиолетовую панель меню. Выберите "основу меню" и замените ее фиолетовый цвет на указанный серый. После этого выделите форму по центру и замените светло-голубой в этот раз в розовый. Остальные параметры останутся неизменными. Наконец, расположите все декорации, как пожелаете.

Create gray menu barCreate gray menu barCreate gray menu bar

Ваша зимняя страна чудес готова!

Эта панель меню и кнопки достаточно просты, и они помогают демонстрации, но не стесняйтесь воспользоваться любыми другими элементами сайта, чтобы создать эту зимнюю страну чудес. Вы можете начать с нуля или применить лишь несколько элементов, чтобы украсить свои собственные меню и кнопки. При этом обязательно получите удовольствие, и если захотите поделиться своей зимней страной чудес, я охотно посмотрю на нее.

Final ResultFinal ResultFinal Result
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. UI Design
Design

Transform Your Menu Bar Into a Winter Wonderland in Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Follow this tutorial and learn how to transform a website into a winter wonderland. You can create the menu bars and buttons from scratch, or you can take these techniques and decorate your own items. At the beginning you will create a basic menu bar, and then you will learn how to add the snow and the icicles, snowflakes, sparkles and more winter-themed decorations. At the end, we’ll experiment with more colors and designs, so let’s get started!  

1. Start a New Project 

Launch Adobe Illustrator and go to File > New to open a blank document. Type a name for your file and set up the dimensions, and then select Pixels as Units and RGB as Color Mode. Next, go to Edit > Preferences > General and set the Keyboard Increment to 1 px and while there, go to Units & Display Performance to make sure that the Units are as in the following image. I usually work with these settings, and they will help you throughout the drawing process. 

New document settings

2. Create a Basic Menu Bar

Step 1

Grab the Rounded Rectangle Tool and draw the first shape with the dimensions shown. Select purple as the fill color. 

Create menu bar 1

Step 2

With the rectangle still selected, go to the Appearance panel and with the purple Fill attribute selected, press the Duplicate Selected Item icon at the bottom. As a result you will get a second Fill attribute above. Use a white to black linear gradient at a -90 degrees Angle, and set the Blending Mode to Soft Light

Create menu bar 2

Step 3

With the rectangle still selected, duplicate the purple Fill attribute again. Select the new Fill attribute from the bottom, keep the same fill color, and then go to Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow and apply this effect four times. Let’s name this shape “bar‑base”. 

Add shadow to menu bar

These are the settings for the Drop Shadow effects: 

Drop Shadow effect settings

Step 4

Next, Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the “bar-base” and then remove all existing appearances by pressing the Clear Appearance icon at the bottom of the Appearance panel. Select black as the fill color, and then go to Object > Create Gradient Mesh, select 3 Rows and 6 Columns and hit OK. As a result you will get a mesh grid like in the following image. 

Create gradient mesh

Step 5

Now, grab the Direct Selection Tool (A) and use it to select only the three mesh points indicated below and change their fill color from black to the corresponding one. After you are done, set this shape to Blending Mode Soft Light. Let’s name this shape “bar-mesh”. 

Color gradient mesh

Step 6

Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a rectangle with the same height as your menu bar, and position it in the middle. Select light blue as the fill color. 

Create menu bar 3

Step 7

With the blue rectangle still selected, go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points in order to add four extra points on the sides (1). Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select only the left and right points from the middle and move them 10 px inwards by pressing the Left and Right Arrow Keys on your keyboard (2). 

Next, go to the Appearance panel and duplicate the existing blue Fill attribute. For the new Fill at the top, select a white to black linear gradient at a -90 degrees Angle and set the Blending Mode to Soft Light (3). 

Create menu bar 4

Step 8

Take a closer look at the right side of the blue shape. Take the Pen Tool (P), draw a V-path following the anchor points of the blue shape, and give it a 1 pt white Stroke. Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) this path, and then move the copy 1 px to the right by pressing the Right Arrow Key once. Select a 1 pt black Stroke for the second path. Now, Group (Control-G) the two paths and set the group to Blending Mode Soft Light.  

Don’t forget to do the same thing on the left side of the blue shape or simply reflect the existing group.

Create menu bar 5

3. Create the Snow on Top of the Menu Bar

Step 1

Now that our simple menu bar is ready, we can proceed with the snow and the other decorations. To add the snow, I recommend using the Pencil Tool (N) instead of the Pen Tool (P) because it’s easier and we will also get that freehand/natural look, which in terms of snow is a good thing. Double-click on the Pencil Tool (N) to open the Preferences window and change the settings. You can see below the ones that I've used, but feel free to adjust the Fidelity and the Smoothness to your liking.

Once set, zoom in on the right side of your menu bar and draw a path similar to the one below. You don’t have to be too precise: the more random the better. 

Create snow 1

Step 2

Still using the Pencil Tool (N), draw another random path under the first one and make sure that you cover only a little of the menu bar. If the end points of the two paths do not overlap, you can use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to move them on top of each other as shown in the close-up. 

Next, it’s time to merge the two paths into one. Drag a selection with the Direct Selection Tool (A) over the two end points from the right (just make sure to lock the menu bar first) and press Control-J to Join them. Check the Corner option and hit OK. After that, drag a selection over the two end points from the left and Join them as well. Fill the resulting shape with white. 

Create snow 2

Step 3

Still using the Pencil Tool (N), draw a new path under the white shape but very close to it. The length of this path should be about the same as the white shape (1). At this point, switch to the Pen Tool (P) and close the two end points at the top in order to get a shape (2). Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the white shape, and then press Shift-Control-] to bring it in front of everything. Select this new white copy along with the blue shape and press Subtract in the Pathfinder panel. You will get a compound path (3) but go to Object > Compound Path > Release and delete the smaller shapes at the top (4). 

Create snow 3

Step 4

Fill the shape that you have obtained in the previous step with the color indicated, and at this point the first “piece” of snow is ready.  

Create snow 4

Step 5

Take the Pencil Tool (N) again and draw a smaller shape on the right end of the menu bar filled with white (1). Draw another path under it and make sure that the right and left end points are overlapping (2), and then close the path at the top as you did before, using the Join function or the Pen Tool (P) (3). Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the small white shape and press Shift-Control-] to bring it in front of everything. Select this white copy along with the blue shape and press Subtract in the Pathfinder panel. Fill the resulting shape with the same color (4). This is the second “piece” of snow.

Create snow 5

Step 6

Let’s add more snow on the left side of the bar using the same technique. First draw the white shape with the Pencil Tool (N) (1), and then create the shape under it by subtracting (2), and fill it with the same light blue color (3). 

Create snow 6

Step 7

Continue to add more “pieces” of snow, some bigger, some smaller, until you completely cover the top of the menu bar. You can see in the next image the final result. 

Create snow 7

Step 8

Use the Pencil Tool (N) or the Pen Tool (P) to draw a shape like the one below, and fill it with the linear gradient shown. You can also draw a few smaller shapes next to it that are filled with the same gradient, and then select all the shapes and Group (Control-G) them.

Add details on snow 1

Step 9

Use the group of shapes that you have just created to add more details on the snow. Make more copies of the group and scale, rotate and arrange them on top of the snow.

Add details on snow 2

4. Create the Icicles Under the Menu Bar 

Step 1

Use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw a random shape in the bottom right corner of the menu bar, and select white as the fill color. Now, grab the Add Anchor Point Tool (+) and use it to add a few extra points at the bottom of this shape (1). Then switch to the Direct Selection Tool (A) and drag only three of these points downwards to create the first icicles (2). Add more points using the Add Anchor Point Tool (+) along the length of the icicles, and play with their handles to create the wavy look (3).

Create icicles 1

Step 2

Draw a new random shape next to the first one, and then add more points at the bottom with the Add Anchor Point Tool (+) (1). Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to drag two of these points downwards in order to create two new icicles (2). Add more anchor points along the length of the icicles, and move their handles to create the wavy look (3). 

Create icicles 2

Step 3

I added one more white shape next to the second one, but you can add as many as you want. In this tutorial the design is up to you.  

Create icicles 3

Step 4

Now select the three white shapes from the bottom right side of the menu bar, and Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B). Move these three copies down a little by pressing the Down Arrow Key on your keyboard once or twice, and select light blue as the fill color. 

Create icicles 4

Step 5

To add more depth, draw with the Pencil Tool (N) or the Pen Tool (P) a thinner shape on top of each icicle, and fill all of them with the gradient shown. 

Create icicle 5

Step 6

To add more details, draw a few smaller shapes where you have free space, and fill them with the color indicated. 

Create icicles 6

Step 7

The bottom right side of the bar is ready, but you can add more icicles on the left side. These are smaller so they won’t take a long time to make. Use the same technique as described above. First, draw the white shape (1), and then Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B) this shape, move it a little down and change the fill color (2). At the end, use smaller shapes filled with the same gradient to add as many details as you want (3). 

Create icicles 7

Step 8

Using the same technique, add more icicles on the bottom left corner of the menu bar and at this point you are done with the snow and the icicles.  

Create icicles 8

5. Create and Apply a Snowflake Scatter Brush

Step 1 

Go to Snowflake and download the vector snowflakes set created by All-Silhouettes. Then open the Illustrator file from the archive and copy the snowflake highlighted with blue into your document. Select white as the fill color, and drag the snowflake into the Brushes panel to save it as a New Scatter Brush. In the Scatter Brush Options window, set the Rotation Relative to Path and leave the rest of the settings as they are. Type a name for the brush and hit OK.

Create Snowflake Scatter Brush

Step 2

Now, take the Pencil Tool (N) again and draw some paths above the snow as in the next image. Stroke these paths with the Snowflake Scatter Brush saved earlier and open the Stroke Options window from the Appearance panel. Change the settings as shown and hit OK. Set the Stroke weight for these paths at 0.25 pt, 0.3 pt, 0.35 pt and 0.5 pt in order to get snowflakes of various sizes.  

Apply Snowflake Scatter Brush

6. Add Various Winter Decorations

Step 1

Copy the snowflakes highlighted with blue and green from the snowflakes set into your document. Then fill them with white, scale them, and arrange them on the left side of the menu bar.

Add snowflakes decorations

Step 2

Next, from the Symbols panel open the Symbol Libraries Menu and in the Nature category find “Trees 1”. Drag the symbol into your artboard and press the Break Link to Symbol icon at the bottom of the Symbols panel in order to expand it. Scale and arrange the trees on top of the snow and multiply them if you want to add more. 

Add trees on the bar

Step 3

Now, take a closer look at the trees. Grab the Pencil Tool (N) and draw some short paths following the branches of the bigger tree. Stroke these paths with the Charcoal-Thin Art Brush that you can find in Brush Libraries Menu > Artistic > Artistic_ChalkCharcoalPencil. Set the Stroke weight to 0.5 pt and the color to white for all of them. 

Add snow on trees 1

Step 4

Repeat the same process for the other trees but reduce the Stroke weight even more since the trees are smaller. 

Add snow on trees 2

Step 5

Multiply the snow-covered trees that you have created and arrange more of them on the other side of the menu bar.

Add snow on trees 3

Step 6

To create the small house, start by drawing a simple house shape filled with white. For the roof, draw a path with a 1 pt red Stroke and add a small red shape as the chimney. For the door and windows use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the gradient shown. To create the snow on the roof, simply draw two paths on top of the roof and Stroke them with the Charcoal-Thin Art Brush as you did earlier for the trees. 

Draw a small house

Step 7

Next, take the Ellipse Tool (L) and draw three ellipses to create the snowman. Fill them with the radial gradient shown, and then add small black circles as the eyes and the buttons. Use the Pen Tool (P) to draw a nose and the scarf, and you are done. 

Draw a small snowman

Step 8

At this point you can arrange the small house and the snowman where you want. 

Add house and snowman

Step 9

It seems mandatory to add a lot of sparkles, right? I’ve already explained how to create one in the Glitter Text Art Effect tutorial. Multiply the sparkle and arrange as many as you want to enhance your design. 

Add sparkles

7. Create and Decorate Web Buttons

Step 1

If you've managed to get to this point, then you will be able to create and decorate a simple button instead of a bar. Start by drawing a smaller rounded rectangle (1), and then create the grid mesh as explained at the beginning of the tutorial (2). Add “pieces” of snow at the top and icicles at the bottom (3) and use the Snowflake Scatter Brush to add more snow (4). Arrange the decorations that you have created (5) and finally add a few sparkles (6). All the techniques remain the same.

Create winter buttons 1

Step 2

Duplicate or multiply the first button and simply rearrange the existing decorations to obtain more buttons. 

Create winter buttons 2

8. Create More Menu Bars

Step 1

Duplicate the purple menu bar with the snow at the top, the snowflakes and the icicles, but without the other decorations. Select “bar-base” and replace purple with the shade of green indicated. Keep the rest of the settings as they are. 

Create green menu bar 1

Step 2

Next, select the shape from the middle and replace the light blue with light green. Arrange all the decorations in a different way and you will get a new menu bar. 

Create green menu bar 2

Step 3

To create the grayish menu bar, duplicate the purple bar again. Select “bar-base” and replace purple with the shade of gray indicated. After that, select the shape from the middle and replace the light blue with pink this time. The rest of the settings remain the same. Finally, arrange all the decorations as you want. 

Create gray menu bar

Your Winter Wonderland is Ready!

These menu bars and buttons are pretty basic and they help with the demonstration, but feel free to use any other website elements to create this winter wonderland look. You can start from scratch or you can use just a few items to decorate your own menus and buttons. It is absolutely mandatory to have a lot of fun while doing so, and if you want to share your winter-wonderland-creation, I would love to see it.

Final Result
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.