Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Patterns

如何在AI中创建龟背竹叶图案

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Clare Liu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

本次教程简单快速。然而尽管很简单,你仍然能够给自己的设计师生涯增加一项重要的技能。 我们将使用选项对象>图案>建立,会自动帮你创建图案。

如果你喜欢创建更多图案,那么打开GraphicRiver,在这里你会发现很多对你创建图案帮助的图片。

那么喝杯咖啡,我们开始吧!

1.如何创建龟背叶子

步骤1

新建一个文件(文件>新建),宽和高都为850px

我们先来创建图案的主要图形,就是叶子。你需要选择椭圆工具(L),绘制一个绿色的椭圆, 现在选中它,右击鼠标,选择变换>翻转。 这次会弹出一个翻转对话框,你需要输入垂直轴90度角,点击复制。把椭圆的副本移到右边,如下图所示。

之后,选择两个形状,打开路径查找器窗口>路径查找器),点击合并按钮,你会得到一个形状。形状就像一个心形。就是叶子的基本形状。

正如你看到的,这个形状的底部是圆的,我们不想这样。那么怎么得到一个尖锐的底部呢,点击直接选择工具(A),选中底部的锚点。然后向上看,就在画板的稍微偏左侧。 你会找锚点选项,你想要选择“将选中锚点转换为边角”,之后,使用直接选择工具(A)选中底部的锚点,选择“将选中锚点转为平滑”。

how to create the main shape of the monstera leaf

步骤2

现在,我们需要给龟背叶添加一些孔。我们将使用橡皮擦工具(Shift-E)。 为了设置选项,双击橡皮擦工具,输入0度角圆滑100%,大小为10pt(取决于你的叶子多大),然后点击OK。现在你可以开始从内到外拖拽橡皮擦工具。 不要从中间之间擦,而是从侧边。记得对叶子两侧进行这样做。擦除的线条不要完全对称,这样看起来更真实。

我们给叶子添加一些孔。这是龟背叶典型的特点。记得,你不要担心如果一些操作不满意怎么办,因为你可以一直点击Control-Z进行撤回

现在我们有了叶子的基本形状。纵观下这个教程。你会看到我们如何调整这片叶子,这样看出来更真实。

continue creating the main shape of the monstera leaf

步骤3

在这一步,我们将创建静脉。使用椭圆工具(L),创建一个深色的,细长,水平放置的椭圆。 然后点击直接选择工具(A),将顶部和底部的锚点向上提动。这会是我们作为叶子静脉之一。现在还不需要,把它放在一边。

how to create the side vein

步骤4

在这一步,我们将继续创建静脉。使用椭圆工具(L),画一个深色的,细长,垂直放置的椭圆,把它放在叶子的中间。就是叶子的主要静脉。

现在选中上一步创建的静脉,把它放在主要静脉的侧边。将静脉创建一些副本(Control-C, Control-V),把它放在叶子的左侧边。 如果有必要,你可以将其中的静脉缩小或者放大,适时调整大小。

之后,选中左侧的静脉,再次右击鼠标,选择变换>翻转,选择垂直轴,90度角,点击复制。把静脉副本移到右边。

how to create other veins

步骤5

将叶子复制一个,把它变小一点。你知道你可也改变叶子上洞的位置吗? 你还记得,这些孔不是我们一个个添加的形状,但是是擦除的叶子形状。为了改变位置,我们需要使用一种特殊的图像模式。

那么双击叶子的主体形状。你的图形将进入隔离模式。在这个模式内,你可以移动叶子的孔. 确保你选中孔的侧边能够移动它,不要点击孔的中间位置。完成调整之后,双击画布退出隔离模式。

现在将叶子进行编组(浅色和深色将单独编组)。(右击>编组),复制几个,朝不同方向进行旋转,任意调整大小。

how to create other monstera leaves

2. 如何创建图案

步骤1

把这些叶子按照下图进行放置。这就是我们的基本图案。如果在大叶子之间有缝隙,你可以用小的叶子进行填充, 创建更多叶子副本,把它们朝不同方向进行旋转。

forming the pattern base

步骤2

选中你创建的所有叶子,现在打开对象>图案>建立,你的插画就会出现在一个特殊的隔离模式,你会预览到最终的效果。 弹出一个对话框,就是图案选项。尝试调整选项得到满意的效果。

这里你选中砖形网格,按砖排,等等。)都是自动选择的,那么久不要更改任何东西。一定要勾选按艺术移动砖。 你也可以尝试调整叠加副本。确保你候选了副本模糊到:50%(这会帮助你看到界限),显示砖边缘

在这个模式内,你可以任意移动叶子,删除或者放大缩小调整颜色或者创建其他的副本来调整叶子。对调整满意之后,点击窗口左上角的完成按钮。 现在图案已经保存在AI里面了。为了确保图案以及保存了,你可以到色板看一下(窗口>色板)。一旦图案保存了之后,你能删除画布上所有的叶子。

选中色板中的填充图案,选中矩形工具(M),点击画布,输入高和宽都为850 px,点击OK。最后,你会在正方形内得到一个无缝衔接的图案。

how to create the pattern

步骤3

因为我们的创建的图案有一个透明的背景,或者说根本就没有背景,你可以添加如何颜色背景,不改变图案。 使用矩形工具(M),创建一个宽和高850 px的米色正方形。正如我之前说的,你可以添加你想要的背景颜色,但是这里我选择了一个不错的米色。

how to create the background

步骤4

把背景放在图案后面(Control-X, Control-B)。最后,我们需要将背景和图案对齐到画布。怎么做呢,打开对齐面板(窗口>对齐), 设置对齐到对齐到画布(如果你看不到对齐到,打开扩展菜单,找到显示选项),确保你的图案和背景被选中,点击水平居中和垂直居中按钮, 我们就完成了!

placing the pattern on the background

总结

你做的不错!我希望本次教程很简单,清晰。现在你已经准备好去创建你想要的无缝图案,你可以可以使用其他的对象,重复本次教程的第二部分操作,你可创建出好看的无缝图案。

我真的很喜欢所有的龟背叶,可以让我们最终的图像看起来跟漂亮。我认为就像一块桌布,拼贴背景,或者就是一块布! 正如你可以看到的,一个无缝图案可以用到很多地方,你就会想要创建更多图案!

final image
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Patterns
Design

Quick Tip: How to Create a Monstera Leaf Pattern in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

This tutorial is very easy and quick. However, despite its brevity and simplicity, you will still be able to add a few important skills to your designer’s arsenal. We will use the option Object > Pattern > Make, which will automatically create a pattern for you.

If you are in a mood to create more patterns, then check out GraphicRiver. There you can find many images that you can use to create your new patterns.

So grab a cup of coffee, and let's start!

1. How to Create the Monstera Leaf

Step 1

Create a New Document (File > New) with 850 px Width and 850 px Height.

We will start by creating the main image of the pattern, which will be the leaf. For that, take the Ellipse Tool (L) and create a green ellipse. Rotate the ellipse slightly to the left. Now select it, right-click the mouse, and select Transform > Reflect. This will bring up the Reflect dialogue window, where you should enter Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy. Move the copy of the oval to the right, as shown in the image below.

After that, while keeping the two shapes selected, go to the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder) and press the Unite button, and you will get one shape from these two ovals. You will now get a heart-like shape, which will be the base of our leaf.

As you can see, the bottom of this shape is round, and we don't want that. So, to get a sharp bottom point, hit the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the bottom anchor point. Then look up, right over your artboard, and a bit on the left side. There you can find the Anchor Point options, where you want to select “Convert selected anchor points to corner”. After that, select the top anchor point using the same Direct Selection Tool (A), and select “Convert selected anchor points to smooth”.

how to create the main shape of the monstera leaf

Step 2

Now, we will add the holes for the monstera leaf. For that, we will use the Eraser Tool (Shift-E). To set the options, double-click on the Eraser Tool and enter Angle 0 degrees, Roundness 100%, Size around 10 pt (depends on how big your leaf is), and then hit OK. Now you can start to drag the Eraser Tool from the inside to the outside. Don't do it straight from the center, but rather more from the sides. Remember to do this on both sides of the oval. The erased lines don't have to be exactly symmetrical, as that will give us a more realistic look.

We will add a few holes to the leaf, which are also typical for a monstera’s leaves. Remember, you don't have to worry if something you have done does not satisfy you, because you can always hit Control-Z to Undo

Now we have the base of our leaf. As you go through the tutorial, you'll see how we will modify this leaf, so it will become even more realistic.

continue creating the main shape of the monstera leaf

Step 3

In this step, we will create the veins. Using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a dark green, thin, horizontally aligned ellipse. Then select the Direct Selection Tool (A) and slide the top and bottom anchor points up. This will be one of the veins that we will use for our leaf later on. As it is not needed right now, set it aside.

how to create the side vein

Step 4

In this step, we will continue to create veins. Using the Ellipse Tool (L), draw a dark green, thin, vertical ellipse and place it in the middle of the leaf. This is the primary vein of the leaf.

Now, take the vein created in the previous step, and place it on the left side of the primary vein. Make a few copies of the vein (Control-C, Control-V) and place them on the left side of the leaf. If necessary, you can make some of them slightly smaller or bigger, to make the size more appropriate for the base of the leaf.

After that, select all the veins on the left side, and again right-click your mouse, select Transform > Reflect, select Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy. Move the vein copies to the right.

how to create other veins

Step 5

Make a copy of the leaf and make it a little darker. Did you know that you can change the position of the holes in the new leaf? As you remember, these holes are not separate shapes that we added, but erased parts of the leaf shape. To change their positions, we need to use a special mode of the image.

So double-click on the main shape of the leaf. Your image will be in isolated mode. Being in this mode, you can move the holes of the leaf. Be sure you select the side of the hole to be able to move it, do not click in the middle of the hole. When you finish the modifications, double-click on the artboard to exit the isolated mode.

Now group the leaf (the light and dark one should be grouped separately), (right-click > Group), make a few copies of them, rotate them in different directions, and resize them as you want.

how to create other monstera leaves

2. How to Create the Pattern

Step 1

Place the leaves in a similar way to the image below. This will be the base of our pattern. If you have large gaps between the larger leaves, you can fill them up with small ones. To do that, create some more copies of the leaves, and rotate them in different directions.

forming the pattern base

Step 2

Select the set of leaves you've created. Now, go to Object > Pattern > Make. Your illustration will appear in a special isolated mode, which will give you a preview of your final pattern. A new dialogue window will appear, which is called Pattern Options. Play around with the options to get a result which satisfies you.

Here you can choose the Tile Type (Grid, Brick by Row, etc.). The Width and Height will be given to you automatically, so don't change anything here. Be sure to check Move Tile with Art. You can also play around with the Overlap and Copies here. Make sure you have checked Dim Copies to: 50% (it allows you to see the boundaries), and Show Tile Edge.

In this mode, you can also freely modify the pattern by moving the leaves, deleting or resizing them, and changing the color or making other copies of the leaves. When you like the pattern, hit the Done button on the top left side of the window. Now the pattern is saved in the buffer of your AI. To make sure the pattern is saved, take a look at the Swatches panel (Window > Swatches). As soon as your pattern is saved, you can delete all of the leaves from your artboard.

Select the pattern and in the Swatches panel for the fill color, grab the Rectangle Tool (M) and click on the artboard. Enter Height and Width 850 px, and press OK. As a result, you will get your seamless pattern to be in a square shape.

how to create the pattern

Step 3

As our created pattern has a transparent background, or it doesn't have a background at all, you can add any background color you want without changing the pattern. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a beige square with Height and Width of 850 px. As I said before, you can add any background color you want, but here I chose a pretty beige color.

how to create the background

Step 4

Place the background behind the pattern (Control-X, Control-B). Finally, we need to align the background and pattern to the artboard. To do this, open the Align panel (Window > Align). Set Align To: Align to Artboard (open the fly-out menu and go to Show Options if you don’t see the Align To:), make sure that your pattern and background are selected, and click the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons. And we are done!

placing the pattern on the background

Conclusion

You did a great job! I hope it was clear and easy for you. Now you are ready to create any seamless patterns you want. You can use other objects also, and by repeating the second part of the tutorial, you can create amazing seamless patterns.

I really like the look of all the monstera leaves, which give our final image a beautiful look. I think it looks a little bit like a tablecloth, a scrapbooking background, or even a piece of clothing! As you can see, a seamless pattern can be used for many things, which will hopefully put you in a mood to create more!

final image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.