7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free! Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Halloween

如何在AI中使用混合以及图像描摹绘制一幅简单的猫咪情景插画

Read Time: 1 min

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Clare Liu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

经常浏览我教程的人一定知道我绘画通常有三个主题:人物肖像,猫,剪影。在本次教程里,无需使用到钢笔工具,应用混合模式和图像描摹,我将绘制一幅简单的日落猫景图。 如果你使用的 Adobe Illustrator 是CC之前的版本,图像描摹其实就是实时描摹,设置选项几乎是一样的,所以不必担心,一样也可以参与绘制。

这个教程对初学者来说,简单易学,那么我们现在就开始吧。

教程素材

完成此次作品,你还需要找到一张正在走路的猫图片。如果你不打算用自己的图片,我推荐你们使用下面现成的图片,你可以在PhotoDune购买到:

1.利用混合工具绘制日落景色

步骤1

在Adobe Illustrator新建一个文件之后,使用矩形工具(M)来绘制四个矩形。 我画了一个矩形,对它进行复制,粘贴在前面,使用自由变换工具(E),降低高度,颜色也改一下。 然后,重复这个动作,对另外两个矩形也这样做。这样做的话,能够使后面的矩形和最初的矩形宽度上保持一致,而且能够对齐到底部。

我用到以下三种颜色:

  • 黄色#f7931d
  • 红色#be1e2d
  • 蓝色#262261
  • 蓝色/黑色#0d0d12
Create four rectanglesCreate four rectanglesCreate four rectangles

步骤2

选中四个矩形,打开对象>混合>建立(Alt-Control-B),如果这时你并没有得到一个比较自然的渐变颜色,选中要混合组,打开对象>混合>混合选项,将间距改为平滑颜色

create a Blend with the four rectangles to create a gradientcreate a Blend with the four rectangles to create a gradientcreate a Blend with the four rectangles to create a gradient

2. 利用混合绘制一排篱笆

步骤1

使用矩形工具 (M) 在画板的一边,绘制一个细长的矩形,将它复制一个,并移到到另一边。如果你已经打开了智能参考线(Control-U) ,应该就很容易将它排成一行,但是如果不是这样的话,选中两个对象,打开对齐面板,选择垂直底对齐

create two rectangles either side of your artboardcreate two rectangles either side of your artboardcreate two rectangles either side of your artboard

步骤2

选中这两个图形,建立一个混合(Alt-Control-B),结果应该如下所示,但是不要担心,接下来我将告诉你如何对它进行调整。

create a Blend from the two rectanglescreate a Blend from the two rectanglescreate a Blend from the two rectangles

步骤3

怎么来改变混合的间距呢,选中整个混合组,打开对象>混合>混合选项,将间距改为指定的距离,单位为25 mm

change the Blend Optionschange the Blend Optionschange the Blend Options

3. 完成篱笆的绘制

步骤1

我想得到一个尖桩篱栅,为了达到这个效果,我将要对混合的两个图形进行调整, 在智能参考线(Control-U)的帮助下,选择钢笔工具,我要在两个矩形顶部的中间加一个锚点,现在,不必担心,我们只是用钢笔工具在两个形状上面分别加一个锚点。

add a point to the fence shapesadd a point to the fence shapesadd a point to the fence shapes

记得是在两个矩形都要加锚点,在同样的位置,这样混合起来就比较平滑。

然后使用方向键将锚点向上推动,两边挪动的步数要相同,这样篱栅顶部就是一个尖尖的三角形了。

the completed blendthe completed blendthe completed blend

步骤2

选中所有的尖桩,编成一个组,现在来绘制两个栏杆,打开矩形工具(M),画两个细长的栏杆,如下图所示。

create two railingscreate two railingscreate two railings

步骤3

这里有个问题...篱笆看起来像是悬浮在地面的上方,接下来,我们将要一些尖桩变成好像扎在地面上的木桩。

为了将一些尖桩调整成变成看起来比较真实的木桩,我们需要调整部分图形的长度,在混合中,你只能选中建立混合的对象,不能选中由混合创建的形状。因此,为了能选中我们需要调整的形状,首先要对混合进行拓展。

先选中这个混合,然后打开对象>拓展,勾选所有设置,最后点击OK

expand the blendexpand the blendexpand the blend

步骤4

如果你打算使用自由变换工具拉长木桩,这样的话,会让尖桩的顶部三角形发生变形。整个看起来就不整齐了,因此,我们就要使用直接选择工具 (A) ,选中木桩底部的两个锚点,用方向键将它们向下移动。

turning pickets into poststurning pickets into poststurning pickets into posts

每四个做一个木桩。

every fourth picket is a postevery fourth picket is a postevery fourth picket is a post

4. 将置入的猫图片进行图像描摹

步骤1

现在是时候将猫加进来了,它悠闲的走在尖桩篱笆上面,你可以用自己家猫的图片,或者直接来画一个,但是我选择了一个现存的猫的图片

这种图片之所以比较合适,主要是它的背景比较干净,单一,同时这是一只黑猫,这对于图像描摹来说,简直太合适了(看到我做了什么吗?)

stock image of a catstock image of a catstock image of a cat

步骤2

打开文件>置入,选中猫的图片,将它置入到画板上,使用自由变换工具(E),重新调整图片的大小,脚爪踩在尖桩上。为了使得操作更为精确,将图片的混合模式改为叠加不透明度为100%,将天空背景隐藏,然后就可以将图片进行仔细调整。

lining up the stock image on the fencelining up the stock image on the fencelining up the stock image on the fence

步骤3

确定好猫的位置,我们选择顶部菜单栏的图像描摹按钮,弹出一个图像描摹选项,你可以参照下图的设置,来给形状添加线条轮廓。

Image Trace your catImage Trace your catImage Trace your cat

步骤4

眼尖的你可能会注意到,整个画面中,猫的轮廓线有点轻微的灰色,这是因为像素图转换成矢量图,会产生锯齿。 因此这些覆盖到背景层上的像素,如果设置混合模式为正常的话,它们的透明度就会降低,因而就会轮廓边上产生亮光。

由于我们只需要黑色填充的形状,所以我们将混合模式改为叠加,来去除掉发光的效果,在下图,你可以看到区别。

remove the halo effectremove the halo effectremove the halo effect

5. 使用混合绘制星星

步骤1

绘制一颗星星,我们使用椭圆工具 (L)画两个圆,外面的圆设置透明度为0%,填充颜色为米白色,这样做,混合就从中间部分透明度100%逐渐向外减小,从而产生一个发光的效果。

可是,如果把混合选项间距设置为平滑颜色,当你利用这两个形状建立一个混合的时候,得到的结果和通常操作的结果不太一样。

create a star from two blendscreate a star from two blendscreate a star from two blends

步骤2

这是因为两个形状的填充颜色一样,因此没什么变化!唯一的区别就是透明度不一样,因此,颜色上没有渐变的效果。 为了解决这个问题,你需要将间距设置为指定的步数,将渐变透明设置一定的参数,我这里用的是20步

change the Spacing to Specified Stepschange the Spacing to Specified Stepschange the Spacing to Specified Steps

步骤3

这颗星星的发光并不是很“真实”...因此我们在混合内再加一些形状。打开图层面板,找到星星的这组,复制其中一个圆。 然后使用自由转换工具 (E),将它放大一点,这个形状应该是夹在其他两个圆中间的。

接下来,将透明度改为30%,改变透明度的大小,达到一个光线过渡的效果,从而更像星星发光的效果。

create a more realistic star glowcreate a more realistic star glowcreate a more realistic star glow

步骤4

现在可以把这个星星复制多个到画布上,调整大小,这应该是最简单的方法...但还不是最有效的方法。然后,这里有个教程,我来教大家怎么使用散点画笔达到这个目的。

选中这个星星,打开画笔面板,点击新建画笔,在弹出的窗口里选择散点画笔,使用下面的设置参数,然后点击OK

create a Scatter Brushcreate a Scatter Brushcreate a Scatter Brush

步骤5

使用画笔工具(B),在天空中任意涂画三条线,来绘制星星。

add stars to the skyadd stars to the skyadd stars to the sky

步骤6

然后适时改变画笔的不透明度,星星就会明暗程度不同,因为是日落的时候,星星的能见度将会很微弱,最小的不透明度设为30%

alter the Opacity of the starsalter the Opacity of the starsalter the Opacity of the stars

6. 最后添加一些细节

步骤1

我们来完成场景的细节修饰。我们接下来要做的第一件事就是添加一个晕影的效果,其实我们可以使用渐变就可以达到,但是考虑到本次教程主要是混合的使用,我们还是用混合吧。

晕映的效果是,边缘部分比较暗,为了达到这个效果,我们使用椭圆工具(L)画两个圆,设置中间的圆填充为白色,外面的为黑色,然后建立一个混合(Alt-Control-B)

create a white to black gradientcreate a white to black gradientcreate a white to black gradient

步骤2

设置混合模式为叠加。这会让白色的形状变透明,因此会生成一个渐变透明的效果,然后选中混合组,调整形状的大小和位置。

set the blend to Blending Mode Multiplyset the blend to Blending Mode Multiplyset the blend to Blending Mode Multiply

步骤3

为了使猫的部分更清晰点,进入到天空的混合组,稍微调整下蓝色矩形的高度,将猫咪背后的过渡颜色更为亮一点。

adjust the sky blendadjust the sky blendadjust the sky blend

做的不错,你完成了!

现在完成了!既然你已经把天空放在画板的界限之内,不要担心重叠的形状。

万圣节快乐,希望在下次的教程中能看到你们。

Halloween Sunset CatHalloween Sunset CatHalloween Sunset Cat
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Halloween

Play With Blends and Image Trace to Create a Simple Cat Scene in Adobe Illustrator

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Those who follow my tutorials will know there are three common themes: portraits, cats, and silhouettes. In this tutorial, I'll be creating a simple, Pen Tool-free sunset cat scene, using Blends and Image Trace. If you're using a version of Adobe Illustrator older than CC, Image Trace will be known as Live Trace with more or less the same settings, so don't worry, you can join in!

This one is perfect for beginners, so let's get stuck in.

Tutorial Assets

In order to complete this project, you'll need to find an image of a walking cat. If you're not using your own cat, I recommend using the following stock image which you can purchase from PhotoDune:

1. Create the Sunset Blend

Step 1

Once you've created a new landscape document in Adobe Illustrator, let's create four rectangles with the Rectangle Tool (M). I've created the first rectangle and then copy and pasted it in front, used the Free Transform Tool (E) and reduced the height of it and changed the colour. Then I repeated the process for the other two rectangles. This is so they keep the same width and are all aligned to the bottom of the initial rectangle.

I've used the following colours:

  • Yellow: #f7931d
  • Red: #be1e2d
  • Blue: #262261
  • Blue/Black: #0d0d12
Create four rectangles

Step 2

Select all four rectangles and create a Blend by going to Object > Blend > Make (Alt-Control-B). If you've not gotten a smooth gradient of colour, then keep the Blend group selected and go to Object > Blend > Blend Options and change the Spacing to Smooth Color

create a Blend with the four rectangles to create a gradient

2. Create a Fence From a Blend

Step 1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a long, thin rectangle at one side of your artboard. Then duplicate it and move it to the other side. If you've got Smart Guides (Control-U) enabled, then you should be able to line it up. However if this isn't the case, select both objects and go into the Align panel and select Vertical Align Bottom.

create two rectangles either side of your artboard

Step 2

Select both shapes and create a Blend with them (Alt-Control-B). This may create the result shown below, but don't worry, I'm going to show you how to correct it in the next step.

create a Blend from the two rectangles

Step 3

To change the Spacing of the Blend, while the Blend group is selected, go to Object > Blend > Blend Options and change the Spacing to Specified Distance and change the unit to 25 mm.

change the Blend Options

3. Complete Your Fence

Step 1

I want more of a picket fence look, so in order to do this I'm going to need to alter the two shapes in the Blend. With Smart Guides enabled (Control-U) and using the Pen Tool, I'm going to add points at the top middle of both rectangles in the blend. Now don't worry, we're only using the Pen Tool to add a single point on each of the two shapes.

add a point to the fence shapes

Remember to add the points to both the rectangles and in the same place to ensure you've got a smooth blend.

Then use your arrow keys to nudge the point upwards, an equal number for each of your posts, to create a triangle top to your pickets.

the completed blend

Step 2

To hold all of the pickets together you'll need to create a couple of railings. So with the Rectangle Tool (M), draw two long, slim railings as shown below.

create two railings

Step 3

There's one issue here... the fence is floating above the surface of the floor. We're going to have to turn some of these pickets into posts that are stuck in the ground.

In order to amend some of the pickets to be posts, we're going to have to change the length of some of the shapes. In a blend, you can only change the shapes creating the blend and not the shapes created by the blend. So to access the shapes we need, we're going to have to Expand the blend.

Do this by selecting the blend, then going to Object > Expand and ticking all the settings, then clicking OK.

expand the blend

Step 4

If you were to use the Free Transform Tool to extend the length of the posts as they currently are, it would distort the triangle/pointed top of the pickets. They wouldn't all be uniform. So what you'll need to do is use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select the bottom two points of your posts, then use your arrow keys to nudge them down.

turning pickets into posts

I've made every fourth picket a post.

every fourth picket is a post

4. Use Image Trace on a Cat Stock Image

Step 1

It's time to add a cat casually walking along our picket fence. You can use your own cat for this or draw your own, however I've opted for a stock image of a cat.

What makes this image especially good is that it's on a nice clean background, and of course the cat itself is black. This makes it a purrfect candidate for Image Tracing (see what I did there?).

stock image of a cat

Step 2

Go to File > Place and locate your cat image and place it onto your artboard. You're going to need to resize the image using the Free Transform Tool (E), so the paws are touching the pickets. To do this accurately, change the image to Blending Mode Multiply, Opacity 100% and hide the sky background. Then you can line up the image.

lining up the stock image on the fence

Step 3

Now that your cat is lined up, let's select Image Trace from along the top bar. There's a button you can select which will give you the Image Trace options, and you can use the settings below to give a textured outline to the shape.

Image Trace your cat

Step 4

The eagle eyed of you will notice that with the picket fence and cat on top of the sky, there's a slight grey outline. This is because vectors are anti-aliased to a pixel screen. So those pixels overlapping onto the background are lower opacities of black set to Blending Mode Normal. This creates this halo effect around the shape.

As we're working with black filled shapes we can set these to Blending Mode Multiply to get rid of the halo effect. You can see the difference below.

remove the halo effect

5. Create Stars From Blends

Step 1

To create a star, you're going to need to draw two circles with the Ellipse Tool (L), with the outer circle set to Opacity 0% and filled with off white. This is so the blend changes from 100% in the middle to nothing on the outside to give a glowing effect. 

However, when you create a blend from these shapes you end up with a different result than you usually do when you set it to Spacing: Smooth Color.

create a star from two blends

Step 2

This is because both shapes are of the same fill colour, so there's no change! The only thing that is changing is the Opacity, so there's no smooth progression in colour. To get around this, you need to change the Spacing to Specified Steps and enter a value to create a smooth transition in opacity. I've used 20 Steps here.

change the Spacing to Specified Steps

Step 3

The glow from this star isn't that "realistic"... so let's add an additional shape inside the blend. In the Layers panel, go into your stars group and duplicate one of the circles. Then with the Free Transform Tool (E), make it just bigger than the smaller group. This shape should be sandwiched between the other two circles. 

Then change the Opacity to 30%. This then alters the transition in opacity and creates a more star-like glow effect. 

create a more realistic star glow

Step 4

Now you could duplicate this star across the canvas and alter the shapes in size, which would be the easiest thing to do... not the most effective though. However this is a tutorial and I want to show you how to do this via a Scatter Brush.

With the star selected, go into the Brushes panel and select New Brush. In the pop-up, select Scatter Brush and use the settings below, then click on OK.

create a Scatter Brush

Step 5

Using the Paintbrush Tool (B), add three scribbled lines in the sky to create your stars.

add stars to the sky

Step 6

Then alter the Opacity of the strokes to vary the brightness of the stars. The lowest line is set to Opacity 30% as the sun is still setting and the visibility of the stars will be faint.

alter the Opacity of the stars

6. Add the Finishing Details

Step 1

Let's finish off our scene. The first thing we're going to do is add a vignette effect. We could do this with a gradient, but since this is a tutorial based on blends, let's use those instead.

A vignette effect will darken the edges. In order to do this, we need to create two circles with the Ellipse Tool (L) and make the central shape white and the outer black. Then create a Blend (Alt-Control-B).

create a white to black gradient

Step 2

The set the blend to Blending Mode Multiply. This will make the white shapes transparent, thus creating a transparent radial gradient effect. You can then go into the blend and adjust the size and place of the shapes.

set the blend to Blending Mode Multiply

Step 3

To make the cat more visible, go into the blend group for the sky and simply adjust the height of the blue rectangle to allow a lighter transition in colour behind the cat.

adjust the sky blend

Awesome Work, You're Done!

You're now done! As you've placed your sky within the boundaries of your artboard, don't worry about the overlapping shapes. 

Happy Halloween and I'll catch you in my next tutorial.

Halloween Sunset Cat
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.