Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer
Design

Как создать летний сплошной узор в Affinity Designer

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Для многих из нас лето – самый любимый сезон.  Жаркое солнце, яркие одежды, тёплые морские волны и отпуск – всего этого мы ждём с нетерпением!  В этом руководстве мы будем создавать весёлый летний сплошной узор в Affinity Designer.  Мы нарисуем трендовые летние элементы в плоском стиле и затем объединим их в хорошо сбалансированную, повторяющуюся текстуру.  Давайте начнём!  

Обновить свой сайт или блог новым фоном к лету – это хорошая идея!  Описанные техники также будут полезны в создании любого другого сплошного узора в Affinity Designer, будь то плоский летний сплошной узор, цветочный повторяющийся узор, стильные плоские текстуры и всё в таком духе. 

Давайте попробуем!

1. Создаём стильные очки

Шаг 1

Для начала создадим Новый файл размером 600 х 600 пикселей.  Для элементов мы будем использовать пастельные цвета, чтобы сделать общую палитру нашего узора светлой и мягкой. 

make a new file and think on the palette

Шаг 2

Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс», удерживайте Shift и создайте круг 40 х 40 пикселей.  Вы можете установить размер на панели Трансформирования

Используйте панель Цвета для заполнения фигуры светло-голубым цветом.  Скопируйте (Command-C > Command-V) фигуру, удерживая Command-Shift, и увеличьте масштаб нижней копии до 55 х 55 пикселей.  Заполните новую фигуру мягким сиреневым цветом, сформировав оправу очков. 

make two circles for the glasses

Шаг 3

Теперь давайте создадим блик поверх очков.  Возьмите Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М), создайте пару узких полосок и сгруппируйте (Command-G) их.  Вращайте полоски, удерживая Shift, и поместите их поверх очков. 

make a highlight from two narrow rectangles

Шаг 4

Перейдите на панель Слоёв, выделите и перетащите полоски на слой с голубым стеклом до появления короткой голубой линии, означающей, что вы поместили один объект внутрь другого.  Таким образом мы можем спрятать ненужные часть блика внутрь очков. Посмотрите на скриншот ниже, чтобы увидеть, что должно получиться. 

place the stripes inside the circle

Шаг 5

Создайте копию (Command-C > Command-V) второй половины очков и соедините их горизонтальной линией Инструментом «Перо» (Р), установив Толщину обводки на 8, перейдя на верхнюю контрольную панель управления.  Примените такой же сиреневый цвет к обводке, как для оправы очков.

Если вы недавно начали работать с Affinity Designer или не знаете, как использовать пипетку, почитайте Часть 2, Шаг 1 этого руководства, чтобы узнать это.  

use the pen tool to connect the glasses

Шаг 6

Используйте Инструмент «Узел»(А), чтобы согнуть обводку, сделав её слегка дугообразной.  Добавьте два маленьких круга 10 х 10 пикселей по сторонам очков, сделав их вид завершённым. 

Давайте перейдём к следующему элементу нашего узора! 

Use the Node Tool A to bend the stroke

2. Создаём вкусное фисташковое мороженое 

Шаг 1

Давайте начнём формировать мороженое с конуса.  При помощи Инструмента «Треугольник» создайте жёлтую фигуру 60 х 70 пикселей и переверните её. 

make a triangle ice-cream cone

Шаг 2

Теперь давайте применим мягкую вафельную текстуру к нашему конусу.  Используйте Инструмент «Ромб» для создания фигуры 10 х 18 пикселей более тёмного жёлтого цвета, поместив её на конус.  Удерживая Option-Shift, перетащите вправо, создав копию фигуры.  Теперь дважды нажмите Command-J для создания ещё двух копий.  Сгруппируйте (Command-G) четыре ромба. 

use the diamond tool for the waffle texture

Шаг 3

Удерживая Option-Shift, перетащите группу вниз, создав копию.  Двигайте ромбы, создавая клеточный узор (вам нужно будет удалить один дополнительный кусочек из группы). Выделите конус и группу и перейдите на панель Выравнивания наверху, чтобы выровнять фигуры по Центру.  

Создайте ещё две копии, заполнив пустые пространства конуса и превратив их в текстурную вафлю.  Не забудьте сгруппировать (Command-G) части конуса.

add more diamonds to make the cone textured

Шаг 4

Давайте поместим на верх конуса порцию фисташкового мороженого.  Создайте зелёный круг 75 х 75 пикселей при помощи Инструмента «Эллипс» (М).  Нажмите Command-Shift-[ для перестановки объектов, поместив мороженое за конус.  

Начните формировать ряд маленьких кругов в нижней части мороженого.  Создайте круг 15 х 15 пикселей и, удерживая Option-Shift, перетащите его вправо, создав копию. 

make a green circle scoop of ice-cream

Шаг 5

Несколько раз нажмите Command-J для создания ряда кругов.  Если элементы не подходят друг другу, сгруппируйте (Command-G) круги и слегка их уменьшите.  Выделите все элементы и выровняйте их по Центру, перейдя на панель Выравнивания наверху. 

adjust the size and align the elements

Шаг 6

Используйте Инструмент «Эллипс» (М), чтобы добавить пару мягких бликов.  Теперь мороженое выглядит завершённым!  Идём дальше! 

add highlights to finish up with the icon

3. Создаём летний плодово-ягодный коктейль 

Шаг 1

Для начала создайте бокал для коктейля при помощи перевёрнутой конусообразной чаши.  Инструментом «Треугольник» создайте голубую фигуру 80 х 40 пикселей.  Создайте ещё один треугольник размером поменьше поверх этой фигуры и заполните её светло-жёлтым цветом, обозначающим сок. 

make a triangle cocktail glass bowl

Шаг 2

Закончим с бокалом, добавив треугольную нижнюю часть и длинную, тонкую ножку. 

При помощи Инструмента «Перо» (Р) создайте простую соломинку.  Установите Толщину обводки на 4. 

Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (М) и создайте маленький круг 29 х 29 пикселей для кусочка апельсина, прикреплённого к бокалу. Установите цвет его Заливки на оранжевый, а цвет Обводки – на тёмно-оранжевый. 

make a cocktail glass with straw

Шаг 3

Теперь создадим слои коктейля.  Инструментом «Прямоугольник» (М) создайте две полоски такой же высоты.  Заполните их оранжевым и красно-оранжевым цветами и используйте панель Слоёв, чтобы перетащить полоски в жёлтую треугольную фигуру, спрятав ненужные части.

Вот он – наш плодово-ягодный коктейль!  Давайте перейдём к следующему объекту. 

add rectangle stripes to make the cocktail layered

4. Создаём яркую морскую звезду 

Шаг 1

Как вы уже заметили, в Affinity Designer есть множество стандартных фигур, которые могут подойти для всего.  Кроме этого, любую фигуру можно легко отредактировать на контрольной панели инструментов наверху.  Таким образом процесс рисования и формирования дизайна происходит гораздо быстрее!  

Используйте Инструмент «Звезда» для создания 5-конечной звезды.  Перейдите на верхнюю панель инструментов, чтобы отредактировать звезду.  Установите Левую кривую на 20%, сделав концы звезды частично скруглёнными.  Затем проделайте то же самое с Правой кривой – сдвиньте слайдер на 20%, сделав звезду плавной и скруглённой. 

make a rounded star

Шаг 2

Используйте Инструмент «Эллипс» (М), чтобы нарисовать несколько пятен на звезде. 

Use the Ellipse Tool M to add spots

Шаг 3

Мы можем скопировать и изменить размер нашей морской звезды, чтобы заполнить пустые пространства нашего узора позже.  Чтобы добавить больше разнообразия, давайте узнаем, как можно перекрасить объект в несколько щелчков. Выделите одну из морских звёзд и откройте меню Коррекции в нижней части панели Слоёв.  Найдите функцию Изменения цвета и в окне Настроек изменения цвета сдвиньте слайдер Насыщенности влево или вправо, пока не найдёте нужный вам цвет.  Вот так просто! 

recolor the objects in the adjustments menu

5. Рисуем сочный арбуз

Шаг 1

Создайте розовый круг 150 х 150 пикселей для мякоти арбуза при помощи Инструмента «Эллипс» (М).  Создайте ещё один круг 160 х 160 пикселей, заполните его жёлтым цветом и поместите за розовый круг (Command-[).  Создайте третий круг побольше, заполненный зелёным цветом. 

make a watermelon from three circles

Шаг 2

Теперь нам нужно сгруппировать все части арбуза и разделить группу на половины.  Выберите Инструмент «Векторная обрезка» и обрежьте верхнюю половину арбуза.  Вы всегда можете отменить это действие или настроить размер обрезанной области при помощи Инструмента «Векторная обрезка». 

crop the shape with vector crop tool

Шаг 3

Давайте добавим арбузу семена, сделав их более реалистичными.  Создайте круг 7 х 7 пикселей. Заполните его тёмно-синим или тёмно-фиолетовым.  Не используйте чёрный, чтобы наш будущий узор был более спокойным и светлым. 

Перейдите на контрольную панель инструментов наверху и примените функцию «Преобразовать в кривые», чтобы можно было изменить наш круг.  Возьмите Инструмент «Узел» (А) и выделите верхний узел нашей фигуры.  Преобразуйте его в Острый угол при помощи функции Конвертирования на верхней панели инструментов.  Перетащите точку вверх, создав каплевидную форму. 

make a seed from a circle

Шаг 4

Теперь можем скопировать и распределить семена по поверхности арбуза, вращая их в разных направлениях. Для начала распределите семена по левой части арбуза и затем просто скопируйте семена и зеркально отразите копию на противоположной стороне при помощи функции «Отразить горизонтально» на контрольной панели инструментов наверху. 

add seeds to the watermelon

6. Создаём зонт от солнцa

Шаг 1

Теперь создадим последние элементы нашего узора: вид сверху на полосатый зонт от солнца.  Инструментом «Многоугольник» создайте восьмигранник (установите количество сторон на 8 на верхней контрольной панели инструментов).  Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и нарисуйте вертикальную линию поперёк восьмигранника.  Выделите обе фигуры и Выровняйте их по Центру

make an octagon

Шаг 2

Скопируйте обводку, удерживайте Shift и поверните её на 90 градусов, расположив линию горизонтально поперёк фигуры.  Создайте больше копий, повернув их на 45 градусов, разделив наш восьмигранник на сектора.  

Выделите все обводки, откройте панель Обводки (можете найти эту вкладку рядом с панелью Цвета) и установите значение Ширины на 0.1. 

make strokes to divide the octagon

Шаг 3

Выделите обводку на панели Слоёв и перейдите в Слой > Разобрать обводку, превратив её в фигуры.  Выделив линии, перейдите на панель Операций и нажмите на кнопку «Добавить», чтобы объединить линии в единую фигуру. 

expand and merge the lines

Шаг 4

Теперь давайте нарежем наш восьмигранник на части.  Выделите объединённые линии и восьмигранник и примените Операцию вычитания, чтобы сделать нарезку.  Части фигуры всё ещё соединены, поэтому давайте разделим их, перейдя в Слой > Геометрия > Разделить.  Как вы можете видеть на панели Слоёв, теперь у нас есть отдельный треугольник для каждого сегмента. 

subtract and divide the segments of the octagon

Шаг 5

Давайте заполним сегменты, чередуя розовый и светло-жёлтый цвета. 

Добавьте маленький розовый круг на каждом кончике нашего зонта, придав ему завершённый вид. 

color the segments and add minor details

Отлично!  Все объекты готовы, поэтому теперь мы можем объединить их в летний сплошной узор. 

elements of the summer seamless pattern

7. Формируем весёлый летний сплошной узор

Шаг 1

Теперь давайте изучим магию построения сплошного, повторяющегося узора!  Поместите арбуз в левом углу документа.  Пусть он частично выходит за край, чтобы одна половинка фигуры оставалась невидимой за пределами холста. 

Скопируйте (Command-C > Command-V) объект и сдвиньте копию на 600 пикселей (ширина документа) вправо, напечатав «+600» в Горизонтальном положении на панели Трансформирования.  

copy the object and move it

Шаг 2

Теперь поместите морскую звезду в верхней части документа, чтобы она заходила за верхний край холста.  Скопируйте морскую звезду и сдвиньте копию на 600 пикселей вниз (высота документа) при помощи панели Трансформирования, напечатав «+600» в Вертикальном положении. 

Это работает так: повторяющиеся копии по краям документа делают узор сплошным.  Всё, что пересекает края холста, нужно скопировать на противоположную сторону. 

copy and move the starfish

Шаг 3

Распространение объектов canvas, создания копий и перекрашивание некоторые из объектов, чтобы добавить разнообразие в нашей модели.

Я добавила ещё две копии мороженого разных цветов, а также ещё одну морскую звезду и отзеркаленный коктейль. 

arrange the objects building a pattern

Шаг 4

Создайте светло-голубой прямоугольник такого же размера, как наш документ (600 х 600 пикселей) и поместите его в самом низу панели Слоёв (Shift-Command-[).  Либо вы также можете создать Новый слой для голубого фона и поместить его туда. 

Я изменила цвет некоторых элементов (бокалов с коктейлями и внутренней части очков), чтобы сделать их видимыми на голубом фоне.  Я также добавила несколько второстепенных светло-голубых элементов, такие как маленькие солнца, круги, облака и зигзаги, чтобы заполнить пустые пространства узора, сделав его более наполненным и детальным. 

Наконец, Сгруппируйте (Command-G) все элементы нашего узора (за исключением фона) и перетащите группу на фигуру фона на панели Слоёв, поместив её внутрь прямоугольника.  

group the shapes and place them inside the rectangle

Шаг 5

Давайте убедимся, что наш узор сплошной.  Уменьшите прямоугольник, изменив его размер на 300 х 300 пикселей на панели Трансформирования.  Держите его в верхнем левом углу документа.  Скопируйте узор и используйте панель Трансформирования, чтобы сдвинуть копию горизонтально – на 300 пикселей вправо.  Как видите, узор уже подходит и представляет собой сбалансированную, повторяющуюся композицию. 

make the pattern smaller and copy it

Шаг 6

Давайте добавим ещё несколько частей в нижней половине нашего документа.  Создайте ещё две копии узора и поместите их рядом друг с другом.  Отлично!  Наш узор выглядит идеально сплошным и детальным. 

add more pieces making the pattern seamless

Шаг 7

Теперь мы можем экспортировать наш сплошной узор (Файл > Экспортировать) в любом формате, который нам нужен. 

File Export our seamless pattern in any format

Отлично! Наш летний сплошной узор готов! 

Отличная работа!  Мы следовали детальному процессу для создания плоских элементов и изучили несколько простых техник, которые помогли нам создать повторяющийся летний узор, который будет прекрасно смотреться на сайтах и блогах как фон.  Он также может быть использован для обёрточной бумаги, ткани, обоев и многого другого. 

Наслаждайтесь созданием новых сплошных узоров и ждите другие руководства для Affinity Designer!

Flat Summer Seamless Pattern is finished
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer

How to Design a Summer Seamless Pattern in Affinity Designer

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

For many of us, summer is the most exciting season. Hot sun, bright clothes, warm sea waves and vacations—these are what we’re waiting for with impatience! In this tutorial we’ll be creating a joyful summer seamless pattern in Affinity Designer. We’ll draw trendy flat-style summer elements one by one and then combine them intro a well-balanced repeating texture. Let’s begin! 

It is a good idea to update your website or blog by making a new background for the summer season! The described techniques, however, will also be useful for creating any other kind of seamless patterns in Affinity Designer, whether it is a flat summer seamless pattern or floral repeating pattern or flat style textures—anything like this.

 Let's try it out!

1. Create Stylish Sunglasses

Step 1

First of all, let's make a New File of 600 x 600 px size. We’ll be using pastel colors for the elements to make the overall palette of our pattern light and gentle.

make a new file and think on the palette

Step 2

Take the Ellipse Tool (M), hold Shift and make a 40 x 40 px circle. You can set the size in the Transform panel.

Use the Colour panel to fill the shape with light-blue color. Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the shape, hold Command-Shift and scale the bottom copy up to 55 x 55 px. Fill the new shape with a gentle lilac color, forming the rim of the glasses.

make two circles for the glasses

Step 3

Now let’s make a highlight on top of the glass. Take the Rectangle Tool (M), make a couple of narrow stripes and group (Command-G) them. Rotate the stripes while holding Shift and place them above the glasses.

make a highlight from two narrow rectangles

Step 4

Head to the Layers panel, and select and drag the stripes above the blue glass layer until you see a short blue line, indicating that you're placing one object inside the other. This way we can hide the unneeded parts of the highlight inside the glass. Check the screenshot below to see how it works.

place the stripes inside the circle

Step 5

Make a copy (Command-C > Command-V) for the second half of the glasses and connect them with a horizontal line, using the Pen Tool (P) and setting the Stroke Weight to 8 pt in the control toolbar on top. Apply the same lilac color to the stroke as we have for the rim of the glasses.

If you’re new to Affinity Designer or feeling confused about using the color picker, then check Part 2, Step 1 of this tutorial to see how it works.

use the pen tool to connect the glasses

Step 6

Use the Node Tool (A) to bend the stroke, making it slightly arched. Add two small 10 x 10 px circles by the sides of the glasses to make them look completed.

And let’s move to the next element of our pattern!

Use the Node Tool A to bend the stroke

2. Make a Yummy Pistachio Ice-Cream

Step 1

Let’s start shaping an ice-cream from the cone. Use the Triangle Tool to make a yellow shape of 60 x 70 px size and rotate it upside down.

make a triangle ice-cream cone

Step 2

Now let’s apply a gentle waffle texture to our cone. Use the Diamond Tool to make a 10 x 18 px shape of a darker yellow color, placing it above the cone. Hold Option-Shift and drag to the right, making a copy of the shape. Now press Command-J twice to make two more copies. Group (Command-G) the four diamonds together.

use the diamond tool for the waffle texture

Step 3

Hold Option-Shift and this time drag the group down, making a copy. Move the diamonds, placing them in a chequer position (you will need to delete one extra piece from the group). Select the cone and the group and use the Align panel on top to align the shapes to Centre.

Create two more copies, filling the empty space of the cone and turning it into a textured waffle. Don’t forget to group (Command-G) the parts of the cone.

add more diamonds to make the cone textured

Step 4

Let’s place a scoop of pistachio ice-cream on top of the cone. Make a 75 x 75 px green circle, using the Ellipse Tool (M). Press Command-Shift-[ to rearrange the objects, placing the scoop beneath the cone.

Start forming a row of smaller circles at the bottom of the scoop. Make a 15 x 15 px circle, hold Option-Shift and drag to the right, making a copy.

make a green circle scoop of ice-cream

Step 5

Press Command-J several times to create a row of circles. If elements do not fit each other, then group (Command-G) the circles and make them a bit smaller. Select all the elements and align them to the Centre in the Align panel on top.

adjust the size and align the elements

Step 6

Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to add a couple of gentle highlights. Now the ice-cream looks completed! Let’s move on!

add highlights to finish up with the icon

3. Create a Summer Juice Cocktail

Step 1

First of all let’s create a cocktail glass with an upside-down cone bowl. Use the Triangle Tool to make an 80 x 40 px blue shape. Make another triangle of smaller size on top and fill it with light yellow for the juice.

make a triangle cocktail glass bowl

Step 2

Finish up with the glass by adding a triangle bottom part and a long thin neck. 

Use the Pen Tool (P) to make a simple straw. Set the Stroke Weight to 4 pt. 

Switch to the Ellipse Tool (M) and make a small shape of about 29 x 29 px circle for the piece of orange, attached to the glass. Set its Fill color to orange and its Stroke color to a darker orange.

make a cocktail glass with straw

Step 3

Now let’s make our cocktail layered. Use the Rectangle Tool (M) to make two stripes of the same height. Fill them with orange and red-orange colors and use the Layers panel to drag and drop the stripes inside a yellow triangle shape in order to hide the unneeded pieces.

So here we have it: our summer juice cocktail! Let’s move to our next object.

add rectangle stripes to make the cocktail layered

4. Make a Vivid Starfish

Step 1

As you’ve already noticed, Affinity Designer has a lot of custom shapes, which can suit any need. Apart from that, any shape can be easily customized from the control toolbar on top. It makes the process of drawing and designing a lot faster!

Use the Star Tool to make a 5-pointed star. Head to the upper toolbar and let’s adjust our star. Set the Left curve to 20%, making the points of the star partially rounded. Then do the same for the Right curve—move the slider to 20%, making the star smooth and rounded.

make a rounded star

Step 2

Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to speckle some spots above the starfish.

Use the Ellipse Tool M to add spots

Step 3

We can copy and resize our starfish so that we can fill the empty spaces of our pattern later. In order to add more variety, let’s see how we can recolor the object in a few clicks. Select one of the starfishes and open the Adjustments menu in the bottom of the Layers panel. Find the Recolour function and in the Recolour Options window move the Hue slider left or right until you find the color you like. Easy as that!

recolor the objects in the adjustments menu

5. Shape a Juicy Watermelon

Step 1

Make a 150 x 150 px pink circle for the flesh of the melon, using the Ellipse Tool (M). Create another circle of 160 x 160 px, fill it with yellow and place it beneath the pink circle (Command-[). Finish up by creating a third, larger circle, filled with green.

make a watermelon from three circles

Step 2

Now we need to group all parts of the watermelon and divide it in half. Select the Vector Crop Tool and crop the upper half of our watermelon. You can always undo this or adjust the size of the cropped area using the Vector Crop Tool again.

crop the shape with vector crop tool

Step 3

Let’s add some seeds to our watermelon, making it look more true to life. Make a 7 x 7 px circle. Fill it with dark blue or dark violet. Avoid using black in order to make our future pattern more gentle and light.

Head to the control toolbar on top and use the Convert to Curves function to make our circle editable. Take the Node Tool (A) and select the top node of our shape. Convert it to Sharp corner, using the Convert function in the upper toolbar. Drag the point up, creating a drop-like shape.

make a seed from a circle

Step 4

Now we can copy and place the seeds above our melon, rotating them in different directions. First of all, speckle the seeds over the left part of the melon and then just copy the seeds and mirror the copy to the opposite side, using the Flip Horizontal function in the control toolbar on top.

add seeds to the watermelon

6. Make a Sun Umbrella

Step 1

Now we’re going to make the last elements of our pattern: a top view of a striped sun umbrella. Use the Polygon Tool to make an octagon (set the number of sides to 8 in the top control toolbar). Select the Pen Tool (P) and draw a vertical line across our octagon. Select both shapes and Align them to Centre.

make an octagon

Step 2

Copy the stroke, hold Shift and rotate it 90 degrees, placing the line horizontally across the shape. Make more copies, rotating each of them 45 degrees, thus dividing our octagon into segments. 

Select all the strokes, open the Stroke panel (you can find this tab next to the Colour panel) and set the Width value to 0.1 pt.

make strokes to divide the octagon

Step 3

Select the strokes in the Layers panel and go to Layer > Expand Strokes, turning them into shapes. Keeping the lines selected, head to the Operations panel in the control toolbar on top and click the Add button to merge the lines into a single shape.

expand and merge the lines

Step 4

Now let’s slice our octagon into pieces. Select both the merged lines and the octagon and use the Subtract Operation to slice the shape. The pieces of the shape are still connected, so let’s divide them in Layer > Geometry > Divide. As you can see in the Layers panel, now we have a separate triangle for every segment.

subtract and divide the segments of the octagon

Step 5

From here, let’s fill the segments, alternating between pink and light yellow.

Finally, add a small pink circle on every tip of our umbrella, giving it a completed look.

color the segments and add minor details

Great! All of our objects are ready, so now we can combine them into a summer seamless pattern.

elements of the summer seamless pattern

7. Design a Joyful Summer Seamless Pattern

Step 1

Now let’s learn the magic of making a pattern seamless and repeating! Place the watermelon at the left edge of the document. Make it cross the edge partially, so that one half of the shape is invisible outside the canvas. 

Duplicate (Command-C > Command-V) the object and move the copy 600 px (which is equal to the width of our document) to the right by typing “+600” in the Horizontal position in the Transform panel.

copy the object and move it

Step 2

Now place the starfish at the top of our document and let it cross the upper edge of the canvas. Make a copy of the starfish and move it 600 px down (which is equal to the height of our document), using the Transform panel and typing "+600" in the Vertical position.

This is how it actually works: the repeating copies at the edges of the document make the pattern seamless. Anything that crosses the edges of the canvas must be copied and placed on the opposite side.

copy and move the starfish

Step 3

Spread the objects over the canvas, making copies and recoloring some of the objects to add variety to our pattern. 

Here I've added two more ice-creams of different colors, as well as another starfish and a mirrored cocktail glass.

arrange the objects building a pattern

Step 4

Create a light-blue rectangle the same size as our document (600 x 600 px) and place it at the very bottom of the Layers panel (Shift-Command-[). Or you can also create a New Layer for the blue background and place it there.

I’ve recolored some of the elements (the cocktail glasses and the inner part of the sunglasses) to make them visible over the blue background. And I’ve also added some minor light-blue elements like tiny suns, circles, clouds and zigzags in order to fill the empty spots of the pattern, making it look more busy and detailed.

Finally, Group (Command-G) all the elements of our pattern (except the background) and drag the group over the background shape in the Layers panel, placing the group inside the rectangle.

group the shapes and place them inside the rectangle

Step 5

Let’s make sure that our pattern is seamless. Make our rectangle smaller, reducing its size to 300 x 300 px in the Transform panel. Keep it in the top left corner of the document. Duplicate the pattern and use the Transform panel again to move the copy horizontally 300 px to the right. As you can see, the pattern already matches, making a balanced, repeating composition.

make the pattern smaller and copy it

Step 6

Let’s add a few more pieces in the bottom half of our document. Make two more copies of the pattern and place them next to each other. Great! Our pattern looks perfectly seamless and detailed.

add more pieces making the pattern seamless

Step 7

Now we can File > Export our seamless pattern in any format, according to our needs.

File  Export our seamless pattern in any format

High Five! Our Summer Seamless Pattern Is Ready!

Great job, everyone! We’ve followed a detailed process to create flat elements and learned some simple techniques, which helped us to build a repeating summer pattern, which is perfect for websites and blogs as a background. It can also be used for wrapping paper, fabric, printed wallpaper and a lot more. 

Enjoy creating new seamless patterns, and stay tuned for more Affinity Designer tutorials!

Flat Summer Seamless Pattern is finished
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.