Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Retro

如何在AI中设计一个复古海报

by
Read Time:1 minLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Season Chou (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

没有咖啡就不能活? 这种快乐,复古风格的艺术将使您完美的添加到任何厨房 - 您的早晨酿造的视觉伴侣。

在本教程中,我们将在Illustrator中使用各种工具(包括钢笔,铅笔和路径查找器工具等),以创建简单的矢量插图。 我们还会修饰一些时尚的字体来完成我们的设计。

如果你对一个快速的项目有心情,你可以从这个矢量包开始。 您可以照​​咖啡壶和杯子现在的形状,或添加自己的装饰品。

为了更多的灵感,请查看Envato Market上的其他复古咖啡矢量

准备好了吗? 让我们开始吧!

1.设置您的文档

步骤1

首先我们将在Illustrator中打开一个新文档。 我将文档尺寸设置为A3,这是一种常见的海报尺寸,大约相当于美国测量中的11 x 17英寸。 您可以看到下面的设置:

Open new Illustrator documentOpen new Illustrator documentOpen new Illustrator document

步骤2

接下来,我们将选择我们的颜色。 如果您想像我一样使用相同的调色板,您可以插入下面列出的十六进制代码。 只需双击工具栏中的填充框(您的颜色选择出现),然后在窗口底部的框中​​输入一个代码,即前面带有数字符号(#)的框。

Choose color paletteChoose color paletteChoose color palette

步骤3

通过使用矩形工具来添加一个充满整个艺术板的背景,填充黄色/ #F9CF1C

将图层锁定在图层面板上,点击左边的空框。

2.放置字体设计

创建反映某个时间段的设计的关键之一是选择真实的字体。 对于这个项目,我们想要一种让人想起20世纪50年代和60年代(通常被称为“中世纪”或“中世纪现代”)的风格。 我选择了两个可以呼应这个时代的免费字体,你可以在下面的链接中下载:

步骤1

创建一个新图层,输入“Fresh” ,字体大小170 pt。 将字体更改为Carosello,颜色更改为橙​​色/ #F77823。 然后使F稍大一点,大约180pt

步骤2

输入“咖啡”,大小145pt。 将字体更改为Maiden Orange,将颜色更改为/#3BAD9D

这些字母在脚本字体的粗笔触旁边看起来有点太薄,所以给 ‘COFFEE’一个5pt的描边,并将间距改为50。 当您选择文本框时,这两个设置都可以在您的屏幕顶部扩展。

Add text strokeAdd text strokeAdd text stroke

将两个词拖到画板的右上角,我们将在那里整理它们。 这是我们目前为止所拥有的:

Place textPlace textPlace text

3.修改和润型

现在我们将对文本进行一些修改,给它一些特别的复古风格。

步骤1

首先,选择“Fresh”,然后转到效果>变形>上升,并将弯曲设置为18%

Warp textWarp textWarp text

接下来,使用Illustrator的默认画笔之一,我们将在“Fresh”下添加一些下划线用于强调,并填充它与“COFFEE”之间的空间。

步骤2

选择画笔工具。 从您的画笔库菜单中,选择艺术效果>艺术油墨,找到锥形圆角笔刷。

照字母的倾斜角度,在“Fresh”下绘制几个橙色斜线。 如果您的线条有点凹凸不平,请将平滑工具拖动到其上 (位于铅笔工具下方,并通过点击按钮进行访问)。 我将顶线的描边改为1.5pt,并将底线保持在1pt,所以它们之间会有一点变化,好像他们真的是用刷子画了一样。

Create swashes with paintbrush toolCreate swashes with paintbrush toolCreate swashes with paintbrush tool

一些Illustrator笔刷可能会与您分配给它们的笔触颜色略有不同。 在这里,您可能会注意到,这些线条似乎比“‘Fresh”文本更浅的橙色。 如果您在工作中注意到这个问题,只需选择看起来不正确的画笔笔触,请转到“ 对象”>“展开外观”,然后重新选择你想要的颜色样本。

步骤3

我们最后的点缀是给“COFFEE”添加一个微妙的阴影。 首先,我们想使字母形成一个全部的形状,所以我们不必再分别更改填充和描边颜色。 要执行此操作,请转到文字>创建轮廓,然后单击对象>扩展(保留默认设置)>确定。 要完成此过程,请选择窗口>路径查找器>联合

现在复制粘贴'COFFEE'来复制它。 将颜色更改为黄金色/ #F9B31C以及将副本稍微放置在原始单词的左侧。 现在点击回到蓝绿色的“COFFEE”,然后选择对象>排列>前移一层

Add shadow to textAdd shadow to textAdd shadow to text

现在我们完成了我们项目的排字部分。 您可能需要调整展示位置,直到单词以您喜欢方式坐落在一起。

4.创建插图

现在我们添加我们的主要艺术品:咖啡壶和杯子。 你可以你喜欢的处理这个部分,但一些技术你可能会考虑:

  • 使用预先存在的矢量形状,如链接的介绍
  • 手绘,先在纸上或直接在Illustrator中
  • 使用参考照片和钢笔工具

我选择了第三个选项,有几个原因。 一,我喜欢钢笔工具提供的用于创建曲面和几何形状的控置。 二,我有一个特别的咖啡壶的风格的想法,想要借助参考照片获得正确的形状。

如果您也想使用此方法,将会遵循一些基本步骤。 有关参考照片的建议,请参阅以下链接(Creative Commons许可的图片通过Flickr,由用户Jay Kaye提供)。 我将使用的是第一个选项,但您可以使用这些技术,无论您选择哪张照片。

  • 咖啡壶:123
  • 杯:123

步骤1

将您的参考照片放在您的画板的侧面,并将其不透明度降低到约 50%。 使用钢笔工具,勾勒出您的咖啡壶的基本形状。 如果您想要任何部分与主体不同的颜色,请将它们分开形状,以便以后轻松着色。 不用担心创建完美的直线; 稍微有点不规则的形状将会适合这种风格。

这里是我的轮廓概要。 即使喷嘴的颜色与其余的喷嘴相同,我给它自己的形状来创建它的轮廓鲜明的角度。

Outline coffee pot with pen toolOutline coffee pot with pen toolOutline coffee pot with pen tool

步骤2

通过单击交换填充和描边箭头或按Shift-X将轮廓更改为填充形状。 应用任何你喜欢的颜色。 您可能需要向后放置一些形状(如此处的手柄)。

Fill outlined shapesFill outlined shapesFill outlined shapes

将完成的咖啡壶放在左下角,把它放在文本下面大约三分之二的空间。 确保喷嘴指向右侧。 如果您使用的参考照片面向的是另一个方向,这是一个简单的修复。 只需拖动光标选择整个罐子,然后单击对象>变换>对称>垂直

步骤3

对杯子重复前两个步骤。 如果您需要剪掉一个形状,例如手柄内部,一个简单的方法是确保前面的形状或轮廓,选择它和背景形状(按住Shift),然后转到窗口>路经查找器 > 减去前面(就是第一行的第二个按钮)。

Outline cup with pen toolOutline cup with pen toolOutline cup with pen tool
Fill shapes with colorFill shapes with colorFill shapes with color

将杯子放在右边角落的壶对面(手柄朝外)。 对于杯子的内部,我选择了一个较浅的蓝绿色。

5.添加收尾工作

步骤1

不能忘记填满你的杯子!使用椭圆工具为咖啡添加深棕色椭圆形。 您可以使用直接选择工具拖动椭圆的锚点,直到其适合您的杯子内部。 用钢笔工具绘制一个较浅的棕色弯曲形状,以增添高光。

Fill coffee cup with ellipse toolFill coffee cup with ellipse toolFill coffee cup with ellipse tool

步骤2

创建一个新的图层,并将其移动到图层底部的第二层。 使用与上一步(椭圆工具和移动锚点)相同的技术,在罐和杯下面以金色添加阴影。

Create shadows with ellipse toolCreate shadows with ellipse toolCreate shadows with ellipse tool

步骤3

我们的最后一步是为咖啡壶画一些冒出来的蒸汽。 使用3pt的铅笔工具,笔画颜色为白色。 画一些波纹,重叠的线条,填充罐子上方和文本左侧的空间。 我发现创建流体,交叉线条的最佳方式是将它们绘制在两个循环中,在壶嘴开始和结束。

Draw lines with pencil toolDraw lines with pencil toolDraw lines with pencil tool

这就是全部,伙计们!

伟大的工作-我想你已经为自己赢得了一杯咖啡的休息时间。 我希望你有兴趣使用Illustrator的一些最基本的形状和绘图工具,以及一些方便的快捷键,创造简单的矢量插图。 如果您有兴趣了解更多关于创建正宗的前瞻性中世纪风格的设计,一定要看看我们的10个顶尖提示,创建复古灵感的设计。

随时在评论部分分享您的项目结果或提出问题。 和往常一样,快乐的设计!

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Retro

How to Design a Retro Poster in Adobe Illustrator

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Can’t live without your coffee fix? This cheerful, retro-style art would make the perfect addition to any kitchen—a visual companion to your morning brew. 

In this tutorial, we’ll be using a variety of tools in Illustrator (including the Pen, Pencil, and Pathfinder tools, among others) to create easy vector illustrations. We’ll also modify some stylish typefaces to complete our design.

If you’re in the mood for a quicker project, you can get a head start with this vector bundle. You can place the coffee pot and cup shapes as they are, or add your own embellishments to them.

For further inspiration, check out other retro and coffee vectors over on Envato Market

Ready? Let’s get to it!

1. Set Up Your Document

Step 1

We’ll start by opening a new document in Illustrator. I’ve set my document size at A3, a common poster size that’s roughly equivalent to 11 x 17 inches in U.S. measurements. You can see the setup below:

Open new Illustrator document

Step 2

Next, we’ll choose our colors. If you’d like to use the same color palette as I am, you can plug in the hex codes listed below. Just double-click on the Fill box in your toolbar (where your color selections appear) and enter a code in the box at the bottom of the window, the one that’s preceded by a number sign (#).

Choose color palette

Step 3

Add a background by using the Rectangle Tool to fill the whole art board with our yellow color / #F9CF1C.

Lock the layer it’s on in the Layers panel by clicking the empty box to the left.

2. Place the Typography

One of the keys to creating a design that reflects a certain time period is choosing authentic-looking typefaces. For this project, we want a style reminiscent of the 1950s and 60s (commonly referred to as “mid-century” or “mid-century modern”). I’ve chosen two free typefaces designed to echo this era, which you can download at the links below:

Step 1

Create a new layer and type out ‘Fresh’ at 170 pt. Change the font to Carosello and the color to orange / #F77823. Then make the ‘F’ slightly bigger, about 180 pt.

Step 2

Type out ‘COFFEE’ at 145 pt. Change the font to Maiden Orange and the color to teal / #3BAD9D.

The letters look a little too thin next to the thick strokes of the script font, so give ‘COFFEE’ a 5 pt stroke and change the Tracking to 50. Both of these settings are accessible in the Type toolbar that extends across the top of your screen when you select a text box. 

Add text stroke

Drag both words into the upper right corner of the artboard, where we’ll be arranging them. This is what we have so far:    

Place text

3. Modify & Embellish the Type

Now we’ll make some changes to the text to give it a little extra retro flair.

Step 1

First, select ‘Fresh’ and go to Effect > Warp > Rise and set the Bend to 18%.

Warp text

Next, using one of Illustrator’s default brushes, we’ll add some underlining under ‘Fresh’ for emphasis and to fill the space between it and ‘COFFEE’.

Step 2

Select the Paintbrush Tool. From your Brush Libraries Menu, select Artistic > Artistic_Ink and find the Tapered - Round brush.

Draw a couple of orange swashes under 'Fresh', following the tilting angle of the letters. If your lines turn out a little lumpy, drag the Smooth Tool across them (located under the Pencil Tool; access it with a click-hold). I changed the stroke of the top line to 1.5 pt and kept the bottom line at 1 pt so there would a little variation between them, as if they were really painted with a brush.

Create swashes with paintbrush tool

Some Illustrator brushes can vary slightly from the stroke color you assign to them. Here, you might notice that the lines appear to be a lighter orange than the ‘Fresh’ text. If you ever notice this issue in your work, just select the brush strokes that don't look right, go to Object > Expand Appearance, and re-select your desired color swatch.

Step 3

Our last embellishment is to add a subtle shadow to ‘COFFEE’. First, we want to make the letters all one shape, so we don’t have to mess with changing the fill and stroke colors separately. To do this, go to Type > Create Outlines, then Object > Expand (leave the default settings) > OK. To finish the process, select Window > Pathfinder > Unite.

Now copy and paste ‘COFFEE’ to duplicate it. Change the color to gold / #F9B31C and position the copy slightly below and to the left of the original word. Now click back to the teal “COFFEE” and select Object > Arrange > Bring to Front.

Add shadow to text

And now we’ve completed the typographic portion of our project. You may want to adjust the placement until you like the way the words sit together.

4. Create the Illustrations

Now we get to add our main artwork: the coffee pot and cup. You can approach this part however you like, but some techniques you might consider are:

  • using preexisting vector shapes, like the ones linked in the introduction 
  • drawing them freehand, either on paper first or straight in Illustrator 
  • using a reference photo and the Pen Tool   

I chose the third option for a couple of reasons. One, I like the control the Pen Tool offers for creating both curved and geometric shapes. Two, I had a particular style of coffee pot in mind, and wanted to get the shapes right with the help of a reference photo.

If you’d also like to use this method, some basic steps will follow. For reference photo suggestions, see the links below (Creative Commons-licensed images via Flickr, courtesy of user Jay Kaye). The ones I’ll be using are the first options, but you can use these techniques no matter which photos you choose.

  • Coffee Pots: 1, 2, 3
  • Cups: 1, 2, 3

Step 1

Place your reference photo off to the side of your artboard and reduce its opacity to about 50%. Using the Pen Tool, outline the basic shapes of your coffee pot. If you want any parts to be a different color than the main body, make them separate shapes for easy coloring later. Don’t worry about creating perfectly straight lines; shapes that are a little off-kilter will suit this style fine.

Here’s how my outlining turned out. Even though the spout will be the same color as the rest of the pot, I gave it its own shape to create clean angles where it attaches.

Outline coffee pot with pen tool

Step 2

Change the outlines into filled shapes by clicking the Swap Fill and Stroke arrow or hitting Shift-X. Apply whatever colors you like. You may need to send some of your shapes backward (such as the handles here).

Fill outlined shapes

Place your finished coffee pot in the lower left-hand corner and size it to fill about two-thirds of the space below the text. Make sure the spout is pointing to the right. If the reference photo you’re using has it facing in the other direction, it’s an easy fix. Just drag your cursor to select the whole pot, then click Object > Transform > Reflect > Vertical.

Step 3

Repeat the previous two steps for the cup. If you need to cut out a shape, such as the inside of the handle, an easy way is to make sure that shape or outline is in front, select it and the background shape (holding down Shift), and go to Window > Pathfinder > Minus Front (that’s the second button in the top row).

Outline cup with pen tool
Fill shapes with color

Place the cup across from the pot in the right corner (handle facing outwards). For the inside of the cup, I chose a lighter version of our teal color.

5. Add the Finishing Touches

Step 1

Can’t forget to fill your cup! Use the Ellipse Tool to add a dark brown oval for the coffee. You can use the Direct Selection Tool to drag out the oval’s anchor points until it fits the inside of your cup. Finish it off by drawing a lighter brown curved shape with the Pen Tool for a highlight.

Fill coffee cup with ellipse tool

Step 2

Create a new layer and move it to be second from the bottom in the Layers Panel. Use the same technique as the previous step (Ellipse Tool and moving anchor points) to add shadows beneath the pot and cup in our gold color.

Create shadows with ellipse tool

Step 3

Our last step is to draw some steam coming out of the coffee pot. Use the Pencil Tool at 3 pt and with a stroke color of white. Draw some squiggly, overlapping lines that fill the space above the pot and to the left of the text. I found that the best way to create fluid, crisscrossing lines was to draw them in two loops that both begin and end at the spout of the coffee pot.

Draw lines with pencil tool

That's All, Folks!

Great work—I think you've earned yourself a coffee break. I hope you’ve had fun using some of Illustrator’s most basic shape and drawing tools, along with some handy shortcuts, to create easy vector illustrations. If you’re interested in learning more about creating authentic-looking mid-century-style designs, make sure to check out our 10 Top Tips for Creating Retro-Inspired Designs.

Feel free to share how your project turned out or ask questions in the comments section. As always, happy designing!

Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.