Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Brushes
Design

Как создать цветочную открытку к празднику Навруз в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

В данном руководстве мы создадим праздничную открытку с цветочным венком в честь Бахайского праздника весны - Навруза! Мы используем базовые фигуры и функции в Adobe Illustrator, чтобы создать цветочные элементы для ваших собственных элегантных кистей, с помощью которых можно создать приятную орнаментальную композицию.

Навруз отмечается в марте, в день весеннего равноденствия. Это первый день Бахайского календарного года и один из девяти священный дней для сторонников религии Бахаи. Обычно это праздничное мероприятие со встречами для молитв, музыки и танцев.

Наша цветочная композиция поможет создать простую, но красочную открытку, подарив ощущение весеннего настроения и праздничной атмосферы. Более того, техники, которые мы будем использовать, очень универсальны, поэтому возможно использовать такой стиль открыток не только для праздника Навруз, но также для свадебных приглашений, элегантных открыток ко дню рождения и всех видов весенних и летних шаблонов.

Давайте приступим!

1. Создаём листья и ветки для узорчатых кистей.

Шаг 1

Начнём с создания маленького гибкого стебля. Возьмите Инструмент "Отрезок линии" (\) и, удерживая клавишу Shift, сделайте вертикальную линию 150 пикселей в высоту. Перейдя на панель управления сверху, установите Толщину обводки на 4 и измените Профиль переменной ширины на один из профилей по умолчанию, что сделает линию выпуклой в середине и тонкой на концах.

make a stem with stroke

Шаг 2

Теперь придадим форму листку. Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) создайте овал 5 х 20 пикселей. Выделите нижнюю опорную точку Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А). Найдите меню Преобразовать на верхней панели управления и нажмите Преобразовать выделенные опорные точки в угол, сделав листок заострённым. Проделайте то же самое с верхней опорной точкой фигуры.

form a leaf from the ellipse

Шаг 3

Выделите стебель, который мы создали и примените к нему Объект > Разобрать, превратив обводку в фигуру. Слегка сожмите стебель, сделав его немного тоньше. Возьмите листок, который мы создали, уменьшите его и поместите на верхушку стебля.

expand the stroke

Шаг 4

Удерживая Alt-Shift, перетащите листок вниз, создав копию. Разместите его на левой стороне стебля. Выделив листок, дважды щёлкните на Инструменте "Зеркальное отражение" (О) и поверните фигуру на 180 градусов по Вертикальной оси. Кликните Копировать, чтобы добавить ещё один листок с правой стороны стебля.

Теперь можем сгруппировать (Control-G) эти два листка и сделать больше копий, изменяя размер и расстояние между группами листьев.

attach leaves to the stem

Скопируйте стебель и сделайте вариант: уберите листок на верхушке и измените цвет элементов на светло-голубой.

create two branches

Шаг 5

Создайте второй стебель, потом сформируйте ещё несколько листьев другой формы. Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) сделайте овал 2 х 10 пикселей с Обводкой 1 и без Заливки. Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) растяните указатели верхней опорной точки, чтобы расширить верхушку листка.

create stroke leaf

Шаг 6

Начните присоединять листья к стеблю и изменять их размер, сделав центральные листья немного больше тех, что на кончиках стебля.

attach leaves to the stem

Шаг 7

Теперь, когда у нас есть три ветки, давайте создадим кисти! Поверните ветки на 90 градусов, расположив их горизонтально. Выделите первый стебель и перетащите его на панель Кистей. В появившемся меню Новой кисти выберите Узорчатую кисть и взгляните на разнообразие Опций узорчатых кистей.

Установите Масштаб на 100% Фиксированный и Расстояние на 0%. Далее давайте установим Фрагменты внешних и внутренних углов на Авто-перекрытие. Установите Боковой фрагмент на Исходный по умолчанию. Установите параметр Подогнать на Растянуть. Что касается Метода окраски, можете установить его Отсутствие по умолчанию, если не хотите менять цвет мазка кистью. В ином случае, можете установить его на Оттенки и тени на панели Цвета, если хотите чередовать цвет. В любом случае, мы будем работать с цветами позже, поэтому вам не нужно беспокоиться о них на этом этапе.

create a pattern brush

Создайте ещё две Узорчатые кисти, используя оставшиеся стебли.

Шаг 8

Теперь посмотрим на наши кисти в действии! Возьмите Инструмент "Эллипс" (L) и, удерживая Shift, нарисуйте круг 370 х 370 пикселей. Выберите кисть на панели Кистей, применив её к кругу.

Прекрасно! Теперь у нас есть милый минималистичный венок.  Идём дальше. Добавим больше деталей, чтобы получился праздничный, украшенный венок.

apply the brush to the circle

Шаг 9

Создайте круг поменьше на верхушке первого. Теперь применим нашу вторую кисть с тёмно-голубыми листьями. И мы также можем изменить все настройки в окне Параметров узорчатых кистей, если дважды кликнем нашей кистью на панели Кистей.

Повысим Масштаб нашей тёмно-голубой кисти до 160% и установим Расстояние на 30%. Таким образом мы можем увеличить элементы и оставить между ними больше расстояния, придав воздушности нашему венку.

create and apply another pattern brush

Шаг 10

Сделайте ещё один круг и примените нашу третью кисть. Можете изменить размер каждого круга, объединив их друг с другом.

create a pattern brush 3

2. Создаём цветочные и ягодные элементы

Шаг 1

Добавим яркие цветочные элементы нашему венку, создав весеннее настроение праздника.

Начнём формировать лепесток из розового эллипса 10 х 30 пикселей. Дважды щёлкните на Инструменте "Поворот" (R), чтобы появилось окно с настройками, затем установите значение Угла на 10 градусов. Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" (О) создайте зеркальную копию повёрнутого лепестка. Выровняйте нижние части лепестков, чтобы они перекрыли друг друга и образовали стилизованную форму сердца.

make a petal from ellipse 1

Шаг 2

Сгруппируйте два лепестка, которые мы создали, и при помощи Инструмента "Зеркальное отражение" (О) разверните фигуру на 180 градусов, но уже по Горизонтальной оси, затем кликните Копировать, чтобы получить перевёрнутый лепесток в форме сердца.

Сгруппируйте (Control-G) оба элемента, Скопируйте их и Вставьте на передний план (Control-C > Control-F). Поверните копию на 45 градусов Инструментом "Выделение" (V), удерживая Shift. Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" создайте зеркальную копию.

Вуаля! Теперь у нас есть цветок. Давайте добавим центральный элемент!

make a petal from ellipse 2

Шаг 3

Возьмите Инструмент "Многоугольник" и создайте восьмигранник размером 15 х 15 пикселей. Заполните его жёлтым цветом.

Расположите фигуру в центре цветка и перейдите в Эффект > Исказить и трансформировать > Втягивание и раздувание. Передвиньте ползунок на 60%, сделав наш восьмигранник похожим на цветок. Кликните ОК и Объект > Разобрать оформление фигуры, чтобы применить эффект.

add a center to the flower

Шаг 4

Давайте сделаем ещё один цветок, применив ту же технику. Создайте эллипс нежного кремового цвета размером 10 х 30 пикселей. Удерживая Alt-Shift, перетащите эллипс вниз, создав копию. Сгруппируйте (Control-G) оба лепестка и скопируйте их, разместив копию горизонтально. Создайте ещё две копии лепестков, повернув их на 45 градусов и таким образом образовав цветок.

make a petal from ellipse for creme flower 1

Шаг 5

Наконец, украсьте центр цветка группой белых кругов разных размеров и расположения.

add circles to the middle

Шаг 6

Теперь, когда у нас есть пара цветов, создадим пару листьев. Начните создавать овал 30 х 70 пикселей ярко-зелёного цвета. Выделите его верхнюю и нижнюю опорные точки Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) и, используя функцию Преобразовать, Преобразуйте выбранные опорные точки в угол, сделав кончики листка заострёнными.

Инструментом "Отрезок линии" (\) сформируйте вертикальную жилку вдоль листка.

make a leaf from oval shape

Шаг 7

Добавьте линии поменьше, присоединив их к жилке, создав сосуды листка. Наконец, сгруппируйте все элементы листка.

Создайте копию основы листка (без элементов), заполнив её светло-зелёным цветом. Это будет второй вариант листка.

add strokes to the leaf

Шаг 8

Теперь давайте создадим некоторые отдельные элементы и частицы. Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) создайте круг для ягоды 15 х 15 пикселей.

make a circle for the berry

Шаг 9

Давайте добавим детали на верхушку ягоды Создайте овал 5 х 2 пикселя ярко-оранжевого цвета и поверните его на 45 градусов. Инструментом "Зеркальное отражение" (О) сделайте зеркальную копию, образовав крест. Поместите крест на верхушку ягоды.

add details to the berry

Шаг 10

Наконец, используем основу кремового цветка как крошечную зелёную частицу. Также используйте одну из веток с листьями из предыдущей части, чтобы создать маленькую жёлтую ветку с листьями побольше на конце и поменьше - на верхушке.

Отлично! Теперь у нас есть набор шаблонных элементов, которые помогут нам украсить наш венок, сделав его праздничным.

floral elements

3. Создаём дискретные кисти из цветочных элементов и ягод

Шаг 1

Перетащите розовый цветок на панель Кистей и в этот раз создайте Дискретную кисть  В окне Настроек давайте настроим следующие параметры:

  • Размер: Случайный от 50% до 100 %.
  • Расстояние: Случайное от 350% до 160%.
  • Дискрет: Установленный на -20%.
  • Вращение: Случайное от -70 градусов до 40 градусов

Создайте новый круг поверх нашего венка и примените новую дискретную кисть с цветком, чтобы посмотреть, как она выглядит.

Вы всегда можете дважды кликнуть на кисти на панели Кистей, открыть окно Параметров и поиграть с настройками, изменяя параметры по своему вкусу. На этом этапе ваш венок может отличаться от моего, т.к. мы установили некоторые параметры на Случайные. Двигайте ползунки, пока не получите желаемый результат, при котором венок выглядит сбалансированным.

make a scatter brush and apply it 1

Шаг 2

Теперь добавим венку листья. Создайте Дискретную кисть со следующими настройками:

  • Размер: Случайный от 40% до 100 %
  • Расстояние: Случайное от 340% до 100%
  • Дискрет: Случайный от -40% до 30%
  • Вращение: Случайное от 45 градусов до -10 градусов

Установите Вращение относительно Контура, выбрав его из маленького выпадающего меню ниже параметров.

Примените листовые кисти к новому кругу венка и сдвиньте их назад на одну позицию, нажимая Control-[, затем разместите ниже цветочного круга.

make a scatter brush and apply it 2

Шаг 3

Далее создайте ещё одну Дискретную кисть со светло-зелёными листьями. Поиграйте с параметрами, настроив их по своему вкусу или применив мои настройки, указанные на скриншоте ниже.

make a scatter brush and apply it 3

Шаг 4

Теперь давайте добавим те жёлтые ветки с листьями. Здесь я решила создать Узорчатую кисть, т.к. форма элементов очень похожа на голубые ветви, которые мы сделали ранее. В окне Параметров я решил увеличить Масштаб до 200% и настроить Расстояние на 80%, оставив достаточно места между элементами.

make a pattern brush and apply it 1

Шаг 5

Теперь пора добавить кремовые цветы. Сделайте новую Дискретную кисть. Равномерно покройте цветами круг, установив нужные параметры.

make a scatter brush and apply it 4

Шаг 6

Добавьте остальные элементы (ягоду и крошечный зелёный цветок) на панели Кистей, делая Дискретные кисти. В результате у нас есть четыре Узорчатые кисти с ветками и шесть Дискретных кистей с цветочными элементами.

Во время процесса формирования венка я иногда возвращаюсь к некоторым кистям, которые мы создали, и настраиваю их параметры, делая элементы больше или меньше, изменяя расстояние между ними или варьируя масштаб. Эта техника очень гибкая и с её помощью каждый венок выглядит особенным.

adjust the brush

Шаг 7

Добавьте крошечные цветы и ягоды на венок. Прекрасно! Наш венок уже выглядит сбалансированным и завершённым на этой стадии. Давайте двигаться дальше. Посмотрим, что ещё мы можем сделать, чтобы улучшить его.

make a scatter brush and apply it 5

4. Создаём открытки к Наврузу

Шаг 1

Теперь, когда мы сделали венок, он всё ещё состоит из мазков кисти. Сгруппируйте (Control-G) все круги венка и скопируйте (Control-C > Control-V) группу, сохранив копию на отдельном закреплённом слое на случай, если позже вы захотите изменить какие-нибудь опции кистей.

Выделите второй венок и примените Объект > Разобрать оформление для превращения наших мазков кисти в несколько групп объектов: группу цветов, группу листьев и т.д.

В некоторых поздних версиях Adobe Illustrator вы можете заметить прозрачную рамку без Заливки и Обводки вокруг каждого элемента. Чтобы избавиться от этих ненужных рамок, выделите всё и перейдите в Объект > Контур > Вычистить.

expand the brush strokes

Шаг 2

Теперь можем выбрать каждую группу элементов, дважды щёлкнуть на ней, чтобы изолировать и редактировать объекты внутри группы.

Здесь, к примеру, я подправляю расположение листьев, вращая их и помещая под цветами. Потом я также редактирую расположение жёлтых ветвей, изменяя их направление, чтобы венок получился более кустистым. 

move the elements

Шаг 3

При создании определённых комбинаций, например, цветочного букета, мне нравится размещать светло-зелёные листья под тёмно-зелёными. Я также увеличила розовые цветы, сделав их главными элементами венка, что привлекает внимание. Что касается кремовых цветов, их я использовала как второстепенные элементы, разместив возле розовых цветов, подчеркнув и дополнив их.

Теперь можем начать формировать элегантную, минималистичную открытку, символизирующую весёлую весеннюю атмосферу празднования Навруза! Давайте создадим фиолетовый квадрат размером 600 х 600 пикселей и расположим его прямо под венком, отправив на Задний план (Shift-Control-[).

add a dark background

Шаг 4

Чтобы венок гармонировал с фоном, давайте сделаем так, чтобы цвета хорошо сочетались друг с другом. Для изменения цвета одинаковых элементов быстро и легко мы воспользуемся Инструментом "Волшебная палочка".

Во-первых, откроем панель с настройками Волшебной палочки (Окно > Волшебная палочка) и установим Отклонение цвета заливки на 0. Таким образом, инструмент выберет элементы только одного и того же цвета без вариаций.

Волшебной палочкой (Y) выделите жёлтые ветки. Смените цвет на тёмно-оранжевый, снизив контраст между элементами.

Затем выберите одну из нижних ветвей. Инструментом "Пипетка" (I) выберите фиолетовый цвет фона. Перейдите на панель Цвета и сделайте фиолетовый оттенок слегка светлее, чтобы элементы стали видны. Переходим к следующим веткам. Измените их цвет с голубого на фиолетовый, сделав их ярче, чем предыдущая ветвь.

Измените цвет ягод с жёлтого на розовый, чтобы они гармонировали с фоном.

Поиграйте с другими цветами по своему усмотрению, чтобы общая палитра выглядела гармонично и нежно.

recolor the elements with magic wand tool

Шаг 5

Чтобы наша открытка смотрелась завершённой, поместим поздравление или какие-нибудь тёплые пожелания в её центр, чтобы мы могли отправить её своим друзьям или членам семьи.

Я использовала бесплатный шрифт Sophia, созданный из надписи кистью. Он добавил эффект сделанной вручную открытки, что выглядит уютно и искренне.

add hand letter text to our card

Шаг 6

Скопируем нашу открытку и попробуем другие цветовые комбинации. Заполните фон лёгким розовым цветом и измените цвет некоторых ветвей на белый, сделав открытку светлой и яркой. Также измените цвет букв на белый.

change the colors

Шаг 7

Мне нравится создавать более детальные открытки, добавляя текстуры, придающие ретро-эффект.

Давайте скопируем прямоугольник фона и Поместим его на Передний план (Control-C > Control-F). Перейдите на панель Образцы, кликнув на иконке Меню библиотеки образцов. В выпадающем меню найдите Узоры > Базовая графика > Базовая графика_точки. Здесь кликните на образце 6 точек на дюйм 20%, чтобы применить приятный узор в горошек к копии фона.

apply polka dot pattern

Шаг 8

Давайте изменим цвет узора, чтобы он подошёл нашей мягкой палитре. Дважды щёлкните на применённом узоре на панели Образцы, чтобы изолировать его в Режиме образца. Теперь можем отредактировать отдельные элементы узора. Выберите чёрные точки и измените их цвет на светло-розовый (слегка светлее, чем фон).

Выглядит нежно!

recolor polka dot pattern

Шаг 9

Вот некоторые цветовые вариации, которые я сделала при помощи вышеуказанных техник. Надеюсь, они вдохновят вас на создание других цветовых гамм, объединяя цвета и подбирая их.

try other color schemes

Всем счастливого Навруза! Наша нежная цветочная открытка готова!

Прекрасная работа, друзья! Мы научились работать с простыми фигурами и базовыми операциями в Adobe Illustrator, что помогло нам создать эти цветочные кисти. Они пригодятся не только для открыток к Наврузу, но и для любого вида весенних цветочных приглашений и декораций.

Надеюсь, вам также как и мне понравилось создавать эту простую, но элегантную открытку. Желаю вдохновения и наслаждения весной!

Naw Ruz floral postcard
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Brushes
Design

How to Design a Naw-Rúz Floral Card in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial we’ll create a festive postcard with floral wreath to celebrate a lovely Bahá'í spring holiday—Naw-Rúz! We’ll be using basic shapes and functions in Adobe Illustrator to create floral elements for our own elegant brushes, forming a gentle ornamental composition. 

Naw-Rúz is celebrated in March, on the vernal equinox. It is the first day of the Bahá'í calendar year and one of nine holy days for adherents of the Bahá'í faith. It is usually a festive event observed with meetings for prayer, music and dancing. 

Our floral composition will help us to create a simple yet festive postcard, giving us a sense of the spring mood and the holiday atmosphere. What is more, the techniques we’ll be using here are very versatile, so it's possible to use such a style of cards not only for celebrating Naw-Rúz, but also for wedding invitations, elegant birthday cards, and all kinds of spring and summer templates.

Let’s try it out!

1. Create the Leaves & Branches for the Pattern Brushes

Step 1

Let’s start by creating a small flexible stem. Take the Line Segment Tool (\) and hold down Shift to make a vertical line of 150 px height. Head to the control panel on top, set the Stroke Weight to 4 pt, and change the Variable Width Profile to one of the default profiles, which makes the line bulgy in the middle and thin at the ends.

make a stem with stroke

Step 2

Now let’s shape a leaf. Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and make a 5 x 20 px oval. Select the bottom anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A). Find the Convert menu on the top control panel and click Convert selected anchor points to corner, making the leaf pointed. Do the same for the top anchor point of the shape.

form a leaf from the ellipse

Step 3

Select the stem that we’ve made and Object > Expand it, turning the stroke into a shape. Squash the stem a bit, making it somewhat thinner. Take the leaf that we’ve created, make it much smaller, and place it on top of the stem.

expand the stroke

Step 4

Hold Alt-Shift and drag the leaf down to make a copy. Place it on the left side of the stem. Keeping the leaf selected, double-click the Reflect Tool (O) and flip the shape over the Vertical Axis. Click Copy to add another leaf on the right side of the stem.

Now we can group (Control-G) these two leaves and make more copies, varying the size and the spacing between the leaves' groups.

attach leaves to the stem

Copy the stem and make a variation: take away the leaf on the top and change the color of the elements to lighter blue.

create two branches

Step 5

Create a second stem, and let’s form some new leaves of another shape. Use the Ellipse Tool (L) to make a 2 x 10 px oval with 1 pt Stroke and no Fill. Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to extend the handles of the upper anchor point to make the top of the leaf wider.

create stroke leaf

Step 6

Start attaching the leaves to the stem and varying their sizes, making the central leaves a bit larger than those at the tips of the stem.

attach leaves to the stem

Step 7

Now that we have three branches, let’s create our brushes! Rotate the branches 90 degrees, putting them horizontally. Select the first stem, and drag and drop it to the Brushes panel. In the pop-up New Brush menu, select Pattern Brush, and let’s take a look at the variety of the Pattern Brush Options.

Set the Scale to 100% Fixed and the Spacing to 0%. Further, let’s set the Outer and Inner Corners Tile to Auto-Overlap. Leave the Side Tile as Original by default. Set the Fit option to Stretch to Fit. As for Colorization Method, you can leave it as None by default if you don’t want to change the color of the brush stroke. Otherwise, you can set it to Tints and Shades if you want to alternate the color from the Color panel. In any case, we will be working with the colors later, so you don’t need to worry about the colors at this stage. 

create a pattern brush

Create two more Pattern Brushes, using the remaining stems.

Step 8

Now let’s see our brushes in action! Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and hold Shift to make a 370 x 370 px circle. Select our brush from the Brushes panel, applying it to the circle.

Great! Now we have a nice, minimalistic wreath. Let’s move on and add more details to make a festive, ornate wreath.

apply the brush to the circle

Step 9

Make a smaller circle on top of the first one, and let’s apply our second brush with dark-blue leaves. And we can still change all the settings in the Pattern Brush Options window if we double-click our brush in the Brushes panel.

Let’s increase the Scale of our dark-blue brush to about 160% and set the Spacing to 30%. This way we can make the elements larger and leave some more distance between them, adding more air to our wreath.

create and apply another pattern brush

Step 10

Make another circle and apply our third brush. You can vary the size of each circle, combining them with each other.

create a pattern brush 3

2. Create Floral & Berry Elements

Step 1

Let’s add bright floral elements to our wreath, creating a spring holiday mood. 

Start by forming a petal from a 10 x 30 px pink ellipse. Double-click the Rotate Tool (R) to open the pop-up options window, and set the Angle value to 10 degrees. Use the Reflect Tool (O) to create a mirrored copy of the rotated petal. Align the bottom parts of the petals, making them overlap and creating a stylized heart shape.

make a petal from ellipse 1

Step 2

Group the two petals that we’ve created and use the Reflect Tool (O) again, but this time flip the shape over the Horizontal Axis and click Copy to make an upside-down heart-shaped petal.

Group (Control-G) both elements, Copy them and Paste in Front (Control-C > Control-F). Rotate the copy 45 degrees by using the Selection Tool (V) and holding Shift. Use the Reflect Tool to create a mirrored copy.

Voila! Now we have a flower. Let’s add a central element!

make a petal from ellipse 2

Step 3

Take the Polygon Tool and create an octagon of 15 x 15 px size. Fill it with yellow color.

Place the shape in the center of the flower and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Pucker & Bloat. Move the slider to 60%, making our octagon look like a cute flower. Click OK and Object > Expand Appearance of the shape to apply the effect.  

add a center to the flower

Step 4

Let’s make another flower, using the similar technique. Create a 10 x 30 px ellipse of a gentle cream-beige color. Hold Alt-Shift and drag the ellipse down, making a copy. Group (Control-G) both petals and duplicate them, placing the copy horizontally. Create two more copies of the petals, rotating them 45 degrees and thus forming a flower.

make a petal from ellipse for creme flower 1

Step 5

Finally, decorate the center of the flower with a group of white circles, varying their sizes and position.

add circles to the middle

Step 6

Now that we have a couple of flowers, let’s also create a couple of leaves. Start by making a 30 x 70 px oval of a rich green color. Select its top and bottom anchor points with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and use the Convert function to Convert selected anchor points to corner, making the tips of the leaf pointed.

Use the Line Segment Tool (\) to form a vertical midrib across the leaf.

make a leaf from oval shape

Step 7

Add smaller strokes, attaching them to the midrib, forming the veins of the leaf. Finally, group all the elements of the leaf together.

Make a copy of the leaf base (without its elements), filling it with lighter-green color. This will be the second variation of our leaf.

add strokes to the leaf

Step 8

Now let’s render some minor elements and particles. Grab the Ellipse Tool (L) and make a 15 x 15 px circle for the berry.

make a circle for the berry

Step 9

Let’s add details to the top of the berry. Make a 5 x 2 px oval of a bright-orange color and rotate it 45 degrees. Use the Reflect Tool (O) to make a mirrored copy, forming a cross. Place the cross on top of the berry.

add details to the berry

Step 10

Finally, use the base of the cream flower to make a tiny green particle. And use one of the branches with leaves from the previous part to make a small yellow branch with larger leaves at the bottom and smaller leaves on top.

Great! Now we have a set of generic elements that will help us to decorate our wreath, making it look festive.

floral elements

3. Create Scatter Brushes From the Floral Elements & Berries

Step 1

Drag and drop the pink flower to the Brushes panel and this time create a Scatter Brush. From here, in the Options window, let's try setting the following parameters:

  • Size: Random from 50% to 100%
  • Spacing: Random from 350% to 160%
  • Scatter: Fixed to -20%
  • Rotation: Random from -70 degrees to 40 degrees

Create a new circle above our wreath and apply the new flower scatter brush to see how it looks. 

You can always double-click the brush in the Brushes panel to open the Options window and play with the settings, changing the parameters to you liking. Your wreath may differ from mine at this stage, as we’ve set some parameters to Random values. Move the sliders until you get the look you want, making the wreath look balanced.

make a scatter brush and apply it 1

Step 2

Now let’s add the leaves to the wreath. Create a Scatter Brush with the following settings:

  • SizeRandom from 40% to 100%
  • Spacing: Random from 340% to 100%
  • Scatter: Random from -40% to 30%
  • Rotation: Random from 45 degrees to -10 degrees

Set the Rotation relative to Path, selecting it from the small drop-down menu beneath the parameters.

Apply the leaves brushes to a new circle on the wreath, and move it back to one position by pressing Control-[ and placing it beneath the flowers circle.

make a scatter brush and apply it 2

Step 3

Move on and create another Scatter Brush with the lighter green leaves. Play with the parameters, setting them either to your liking or using my settings from the screenshot below.

make a scatter brush and apply it 3

Step 4

Now let’s add those yellow branches with leaves. Here I’ve decided to make a Pattern Brush, because the shape of the elements is very similar to the blue branches that we made previously. In the Options window I’ve decided to increase the Scale to 200% and set the Spacing to 80%, leaving enough space between the elements.

make a pattern brush and apply it 1

Step 5

Now it's time to add those creamy flowers. Make a new Scatter Brush. Speckle the flowers evenly along the circle, setting the appropriate parameters.

make a scatter brush and apply it 4

Step 6

Add the rest of the elements (a berry and a tiny green flower) to the Brushes panel as well, making Scatter Brushes. As a result, all in all we have four Pattern Brushes with branches and six Scatter Brushes with floral elements.

During the process of forming the wreath, I sometimes go back to some of the brushes that we’ve made and adjust their settings, making the elements larger or smaller, changing the spacing between them or varying the scatter value. This technique is very flexible, and it makes every wreath look unique.

adjust the brush

Step 7

Add the tiny flowers and berries to the wreath. Great! Our wreath already looks balanced and completed at this stage. Let’s move on and see what else can we do with it to make a bit more balanced.

make a scatter brush and apply it 5

4. Create the Naw-Rúz Cards

Step 1

Now that we’ve formed our wreath, it still consists of brush strokes. Group (Control-G) all the circles of the wreath together and duplicate (Control-C > Control-V) it, keeping the copy on a separate locked layer in case you’d like to change some of the brushes' options later.

Select the second wreath and Object > Expand Appearance, turning our brush strokes into several groups of objects: a group of flowers, a group of leaves, and so on.

In some of the latest versions of Adobe Illustrator, you may notice a transparent frame with no Fill and no Stroke around each element. In order to get rid of those unneeded frames, select everything and go to Object > Path > Clean Up.

expand the brush strokes

Step 2

Now we can select each group of elements, double-click to isolate it, and edit the objects inside the group. 

Here, for example, I adjust the position of the leaves, rotating them and placing them under the flower blossoms. Then I also edit the position of the yellow branches, changing their direction, to make the wreath bushier.

move the elements

Step 3

I like placing the light-green leaves right under the dark-green ones, creating a certain combination, like in a flower bouquet. I also make the pink flowers larger, making them the main elements of the wreath, which attract the viewers’ attention. As for the cream flowers, I use them as secondary elements, placing them next to the pink flowers to emphasize and supplement them.

Now we can start forming an elegant minimalistic postcard, symbolizing the joyful spring atmosphere of the Naw-Rúz celebration! Let’s make a purple square of about 600 x 600 px size and place it right under the wreath, Sending it to Back (Shift-Control-[).

add a dark background

Step 4

In order to make the wreath harmonize with the background, let’s make the colors blend nicely with each other. We'll be using the Magic Wand Tool (Y) to recolor the same elements quickly and easily. 

First of all, open the Magic Wand options panel (Window > Magic Wand) and set the Fill Color Tolerance to 0. This way, the tool will select the elements of only one and the same color, without variations.

Take the Magic Wand Tool (Y) and select the yellow branches. Switch the color to darker orange, reducing the contrast between the elements.

Then select one of the bottom branches. Take the Eyedropper Tool (I) and pick the purple color from the background. Head to the Color panel and make the purple tint slightly lighter, making the elements visible. Move to the next branches and change their color from blue to purple as well, making them brighter than the previous branch.

Change the color of the berries from yellow to pink to make them fit the background color.

Play with other colors to your liking, making the overall palette look harmonious and gentle.

recolor the elements with magic wand tool

Step 5

To make our card look complete, let’s place a congratulation message or some warm wishes in the center of our card, so that we could send it to our friends or family members.

I use Sophia Free Font, which is made from brush hand-lettering. It adds a handmade touch to our card, making it look cozy and sincere. 

add hand letter text to our card

Step 6

Let’s copy our card and try some other color combinations. Fill the background with a subtle pink color and switch some of the branches to white, making the card look light and bright. Change the color of the letters to white as well.

change the colors

Step 7

I like to make the postcards more detailed by adding textures, which give a certain retro look.

Let’s Copy the background rectangle and Place it in Front (Control-C > Control-F). Head to the Swatches panel, click the Swatch Libraries menu icon to open the drop-down menu, and find Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_dots. From here, click the 6 dpi 20% pattern to apply a nice polka-dot pattern to the copy of the background.

apply polka dot pattern

Step 8

And let’s change the color of the pattern to make it fit our gentle palette. Double-click the applied pattern in the Swatches panel to isolate it in Pattern Mode. Now we can edit the separate elements of the pattern. Select the black dots and change their color to light pink (slightly lighter than the background).

Looks tender!

recolor polka dot pattern

Step 9

Here are some other color variations that I’ve made, using the abovementioned techniques. I hope they will inspire you to try some other palettes, combining the colors and making them match.

try other color schemes

Happy Naw-Rúz, Everyone! Our Gentle Floral Postcard Is Ready!

Wonderful job, my friends! We’ve learned to work with simple shapes and basic operations in Adobe Illustrator, which helped us to create these floral brushes. They are handy not only for Naw-Rúz holiday cards, but for any kind of spring floral invitations and decorations

I hope you enjoyed creating this simple yet elegant card as much as I did. Be inspired and enjoy the spring!

Naw Ruz floral postcard
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.