Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Global Influences

如何在Adobe Illustrator和Photoshop中创建阿姆斯特丹的城市风光

by
Read Time:1 minLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Yushine (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

城市、天际线和城市景观为这个设计和插图项目带来了灵感来源,带来有趣的形状和建筑。 今天,我们将来看看荷兰的首都阿姆斯特丹。

阿姆斯特丹的运河区(或同心环运河,当地称为Grachtengordel)是17世纪的城市规划和工程的壮举。 该地区许多标志性建筑排列在运河旁,运河建于17世纪和18世纪,商人们将阿姆斯特丹发展成为港口城市。 但是,由于这些年来经过翻新或重建,运河旁的建筑反映了当时流行的建筑风格,从而让我们今天能看到这不拘一格的建筑群。 2010年,该区被列入教科文组织世界遗产名录。

在本教程中,我们将通过设计平面城市景观来创造一个有趣的、多彩的阿姆斯特丹运河建筑。 我们将使用称为“Flat 2.0”的视觉风格 - 从简洁扁平的色彩明亮的形状开始,增加深度、细节和纹理,使平面设计趋势更进一步。

让我们开始吧! 但在我们做之前,请务必查看Envato Market上面所有为你而做的现成的扁平化城市图形设计和插图项目。

你需要

使用以下资源来补充本教程︰

1.设置你的文档和调色板

步骤1

在Illustrator中打开一个新文档。 尺寸并不是特别重要,但是A3尺寸和我们的主要参考照片非常相似。

new Illustrator documentnew Illustrator documentnew Illustrator document

步骤2

如果你想使用与此处相同的调色板,可以在下面找到十六进制代码。 只需在颜色选择器窗口中输入每个代码,点击确定,然后将颜色从工具栏中的填充框拖动到打开的色板面板。

color palettecolor palettecolor palette

2.创建背景

背景由四部分组成:水,人行道,房屋轮廓和天空。 我们将从底部展开工作。 首先在图层面板中创建一个新图层,并将其命名为背景

步骤1

使用矩形工具在文档底部放置一个矩形。 现在打开渐变面板(窗口>渐变)并做如下所示的设置。 使用的两种颜色是上一步中给出的调色板中的浅色和中等色调。 接着把极小的矩形(这次没有渐变)作为人行道; 两者一起应该填充的面积不到画板的一半。

placing background gradientplacing background gradientplacing background gradient

步骤2

将第一个参考图像(从 照片设置photo set 中的03.jpg)放在画板一侧的空白处。 减少图像的不透明度30%。 使用钢笔工具来抓取建筑的轮廓;不一定非常细致。 我们将把它变成背景中的一个轮廓,表示为主要房屋背后的第二排。

outlining with pen tooloutlining with pen tooloutlining with pen tool

步骤3

用填充颜色替换刚刚绘制的轮廓。 这里颜色深一点,效果会更好。 我使用的是调色板中最暗的水色调。 将形状放置在画板顶部附近并翻转其方向(对象 > 变换 > 反射 > 垂直)。 使用相同颜色的矩形工具填充轮廓和人行道之间余下的空白空间。

house silhouettes in backgroundhouse silhouettes in backgroundhouse silhouettes in background

步骤4

背景的最后一部分是天空,我们将使用另一种渐变。 首先,绘制一个矩形,从画板的顶部延伸,通过所有建筑轮廓的角落和缝隙,然后选择排列到最后一层(在 对象 > 排列 下找到)。

现在打开渐变面板,并使用另一种渐变(使用白色和最浅的粉红色)。 如果你喜欢,你可以用钢笔工具画一些蓬松的白云,作为最后一笔。 锁定背景图层。

渐变提示

Illustrator中的渐变默认以两种颜色开始,但可以通过将光标悬停在色谱底部附近,直到变为白色并显示添加符号; 只需点击添加另一个颜色命令(称为“渐变滑块”)。 新的渐变滑块将自动成为两种现有颜色之间的渐变,但你可以通过双击来更改它。

3.建立房屋的基础形状

步骤1

创建一个新图层并将其命名为Photo。 放置第二张参考照片并调整大小,使其宽度与画板相同。 将不透明度降低到35%,并拖动图像让照片中的房屋的底部边缘与人行道的顶部对齐。 这样会看起来像这样:

placing reference photoplacing reference photoplacing reference photo

锁定 Photo 图层。

步骤2

创建新的图层,命名为 House Shapes。 放大到200%,你可以看到照片中建筑的细节。

将照片作为参考线,使用形状工具如矩形工具椭圆工具开始遮挡每个房屋的基本形状。 不规则形状就使用钢笔工具。 一次画一个房屋,每个房屋都有它自己的形状。

outlining house shapesoutlining house shapesoutlining house shapes

我做了黄色的轮廓,所以你可以更容易看到,但这个颜色并不重要,因为我们将在下一步中用填充颜色替换轮廓。 现在,你可以忽略窗口等细节;只关注影响每个房屋整体外形的部分。

步骤3

使 Photo图层不可见(单击图层面板中图层名称旁边的小眼睛图标),并用所选择的填充颜色替换轮廓。 你看到所有都填充上色后,你可能需要进行一些微调,确保形状的边缘接上或对齐元素。

filling house outlines with colorfilling house outlines with colorfilling house outlines with color

对齐方式的提示

使用对齐面板(窗口 > 对齐),可以将对象与画板或你选择的其他对象对齐。 要尝试第二种方法,只需选择要对齐的元素,同时按住Shift,也可以选择要用作对齐参考的第二个对象。

同时选中,点击第二个对象将其指定为参考;当对象上出现一个超厚的轮廓时,你会知道这是有效的。 然后从面板中的第一行按钮中选择要应用的对齐类型(中心,左侧,顶部等)。

步骤4

在我们完成这一层之前,让我们重新调整房子的部分形状,在水中创造出倒影。 首先,选择所有主要的矩形片(按住Shift键一次全选)。 通过复制并粘贴来复制它们,然后转到 对象 > 变换 > 反射并选择水平

最后,仍然选中所有形状,打开透明度面板(窗口>透明度),然后从下拉菜单中选择硬灯,将不透明度更改为60%

creating reflection in water creating reflection in water creating reflection in water

步骤5

为了完成倒影效果,我们希望它能够在远离其来源的地方褪色。 为了实现这点,我们将使用一个渐变命令,称为渐变到黑色(这是渐变填充下拉菜单中的第二个选项)。

忽略它的名字,我喜欢把这个效果看作“淡出清除”:而不是两种或更多种颜色相互融合(如我们用于天空和水的加你版),这种渐变包括一种或多种颜色在渐变的一端渐渐完全透明。

applying gradient to reflectionapplying gradient to reflectionapplying gradient to reflection

你需要将相同的渐变设置应用到每个房屋形状,一次一个。 请注意,你可以点击第二个渐变滑块并输入其位置(我有60个),以确保每个形状的外观一致。

4.给房屋添加详细信息

现在到了好玩的部分:装饰你的房子。 我建议继续使用参考照片来获得安装窗户和其他装饰的灵感。 当然,这完全取决于你。 如果你有创意,就去做一些完全不同的事情。 使它像你想要的那样简单或复杂。

添加窗口是开始的好地方,你可以在其周围构建其他细节。 在此过程中保持这些技巧对你有帮助:

  • 不要忘记复制粘贴。 你可能会在房屋细节中至少使用一些重复元素。 不要忘记复制和粘贴这些,以节省自己的时间。
  • 利用对齐面板。 阿姆斯特丹的运河房子非常对称,有很多几何形状。 为了复制这个外观,对齐面板将是你的朋友,让所有内容都排列正确。 不要忘了,此面板还具有均匀间隔对象或线条的工具,可帮助你获得有序,对称的外观。 查看我们的60秒的视频指南对齐面板,快速获取所有功能。

最重要的是,玩得开心! 以下是我的最终结果:

adding details to housesadding details to housesadding details to houses

5.画一条船

接下来,我们将在画板画一条去巡航的船。 我们将使用与制作房屋相同的方法:从基本轮廓开始,然后添加颜色和细节。

步骤1

参考照片放在画板的一侧。 我们不会直接画在它的顶部,就像我们为房子做的一样,但是当你形成你的形状时,它会有帮助。 使用钢笔工具椭圆工具对船的各种形状进行分层。

outlining boat shapesoutlining boat shapesoutlining boat shapes

我只画了船的一部分,因为我想要从画面的左边出现。 如果你想在你的版本中使用完整的船,请随时继续。

步骤2

像之前一样,更改轮廓以填充颜色,并添加尽可能少的细节。 如果你添加了任何细节到形状的边缘(比如说船下面的线条,见下文),需要使用剪切蒙版来获得完美契合。 如果你需要剪贴蒙版如何工作的快速提示,请查看我们关于该主题的快速提示

adding details to the boatadding details to the boatadding details to the boat

作为最后一笔,你可以通过使用淡入淡出的渐变来增加水中的倒影,就像我们之前所做的房子倒影一样。

6.添加所有的最终细节

看看你的城市景观,看看还有什么你想添加的 - 也许是一条额外的船,房子的更多的细节,或街上行走的人。 我选择添加一些树木,盆栽植物和自行车,如下所示。

drawing final detailsdrawing final detailsdrawing final details

步骤1

树木和植物的主要形状是简单的圆圈和椭圆形,稍微有一点变化:最顶点的锚点已经转换成角点。 按照这个过程来创建树木:

  • 使用椭圆工具绘制一个圆。
  • 选择转换锚点工具(保持点击钢笔工具来完成),然后单击圆的最顶点的锚点(当你选择它时,出现在形状的边缘上的小方块就是锚点)。 这将平滑点转化为一个角点 - 换句话说,它变得尖锐。
  • 切换到直接选择工具,并将转换点向上拖动。
forming tree shapesforming tree shapesforming tree shapes

你就得到了树形。 植物的过程和这个是完全一样的,只是从椭圆形开始。

步骤2

如果你还想在你的城市景观中添加骑单车手,本教程的附件包含你在这里看到的相同图形。 你可以按原样放置,或根据您的喜好自定义颜色。 如果您想要更改自行车的颜色,请确保首先取消分组(对象>取消组合),以便可以选择其各自的形状。 如果你喜欢画自己的,就行动吧!

以下是我完成的城市景观:

7.切换到Photoshop添加纹理

做得不错! 我打赌你的城市景观看起来很棒。 如果你喜欢,你可以在这里停下来,但是如果你想把你的插图再多一些,给它一些额外的比萨饼,还有一件事要做:在Photoshop中添加纹理。 这将给你的插图更有纵深感和视觉趣味。

步骤1

启动Photoshop并打开与Illustrator文档相同大小的新文档。 不要关闭Illustrator。

new Photoshop documentnew Photoshop documentnew Photoshop document

回到Illustrator并解锁所有图层(Photo除外)。 将光标拖到画板上,选择其上的所有内容,然后按Command / Control-C进行复制。

步骤2

现在我们完成了Illustrator的操作,你可以返回到Photoshop。 按Command / Control-V将插图粘贴到Photoshop文档中。 在弹出粘贴为选项的对话框中,确保选中智能对象。 这将使你的作品保持矢量格式,并允许在Illustrator中将其从Photoshop中打开,在你决定需要更改任何内容时。 如有必要,将粘贴的图稿尺寸填满画布。

pasting as smart objectpasting as smart objectpasting as smart object

步骤3

我们将使用的Photoshop笔刷集有五套。 你需要加载的文件标记为ink_washes,dirt_smudgesgritty_borders。 要安装它们,请打开画笔面板,然后单击右上角的按钮。

loading Photoshop brushesloading Photoshop brushesloading Photoshop brushes

从出现的菜单中,选择载入画笔并找到计算机上的文件。 选择文件(你可以一次完成三个),然后单击载入;所有的画笔将被添加到你的面板中。

步骤4

让我们开始向房子轮廓添加一些纹理。 创建一个新图层;每次将纹理添加到新的部分时,都需要这样做,以便更容易地擦除任何不喜欢的内容。

选择魔棒工具,然后在显示在屏幕顶部的工具栏中选择“对所有图层取样”。 现在点击轮廓选择整个形状。 由于轮廓被最高的房子划分,你需要按住Shift并点击另一边将其添加到所选区域(按住Option可以删除所选区域)。 你将看到轮廓由周围闪烁虚线的形状所选中。

selecting with magic wand toolselecting with magic wand toolselecting with magic wand tool

步骤5

现在我们已经选择了要添加纹理的区域,刷子将仅在该区域内应用 - 无需担心“线条内部着色”。 所以开始吧,选择一个污点涂抹或墨水刷。 对于颜色,选择吸管工具,然后单击轮廓形状以选择该颜色。 然后转到颜色面板并移动滑块以获得该颜色的较暗版本。

单击而不是单击并拖动的方式来应用纹理刷;这将保持画笔的粗糙质感,而不是使其看起来是脏的。 尝试叠加不同的刷子;你可以随时擦除你不喜欢的任何东西。 并且如果画笔没有沿着你想要的方向定向,你可以通过在“画笔”面板中选择“画笔提示形状”来翻转或更改角度。

applying texture brush to house silhouettesapplying texture brush to house silhouettesapplying texture brush to house silhouettes

步骤6

现在让我们重复这个过程,在人行道上添加一些纹理,以帮助区分它与房屋的底部边缘。 要选择人行道区域,首先使用矩形选框工具选择整个人行道,然后切换到魔棒工具(记住一直按住这个命令)可以取消选择与人行道重叠的区域(例如房屋前面的台阶,树木和骑自行车者)。

这一次,应用一个砂砾感的边框刷。 它们有一条直线边缘,我们可以排列到人行道的顶部边缘。

applying texture brush to sidewalkapplying texture brush to sidewalkapplying texture brush to sidewalk

步骤7

接下来,我们使用其中一个墨水刷给运河添加一些水的纹理。 为了确保你只选择了水域,船上没有任何纹理,我们将使用不同的选择方式,因为魔术棒工具对于多色的对象不能很好地实现。

选择快速选择工具(通过保持单击像对魔棒工具那样),然后将其拖动到水面附近,朝着船的边缘移动,但不会越过它们。 选择应该捕捉到矩形水域,不包括船。

applying texture brush to waterapplying texture brush to waterapplying texture brush to water

我选择了第七个墨水刷,全尺寸使用。 因为效果比我想要的要强一点,我也把画笔的不透明度改为约60%

步骤8

在任何你想要添加纹理的地方重复这些选择和刷新方法,请记住为每个新区域创建一个新图层。 以下是几个截图截图,以便你可以看到一些例子:

texturing example treestexturing example treestexturing example trees
texturing example housetexturing example housetexturing example house
texturing example buildingstexturing example buildingstexturing example buildings

当你对纹理量感到满意时,请缩小并欣赏你完成的作品!

Amsterdam cityscapeAmsterdam cityscapeAmsterdam cityscape

棒棒哒,你完成啦!

我希望你喜欢在Illustrator和Photoshop中使用工具来创建扁平化设计风格的城市景观。 Illustrator中的对齐面板和Photoshop中的选择工具等功能几乎可以用于任何项目,因此可以将它们贴在设计工具箱中,以备将来使用。

一如往常,您可以随时分享你的项目结果或在评论部分中提出问题。 设计愉快!

Amsterdam cityscape displayAmsterdam cityscape displayAmsterdam cityscape display
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Global Influences

How to Create an Amsterdam Cityscape in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Cities, skylines, and urban landscapes make great sources of inspiration for design and illustration projects, with their interesting shapes and architecture. Today, we'll be looking at Amsterdam, the capital city of the Netherlands.

Amsterdam’s canal district (or Canal Ring, known locally as the Grachtengordel) was a feat of city planning and engineering back in the 17th century. Many of the area’s iconic row houses that line the canals were built in the 17th and 18th centuries by merchants who had profited from Amsterdam’s growth as a port city. But as they were refurbished or rebuilt through the years, the canal houses reflected the architectural styles popular at the time—resulting in the eclectic collection of buildings we see today. In 2010, the district was added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

In this tutorial, we’ll be doing a fun, colorful take on Amsterdam’s canal houses by designing a flat cityscape. We’ll use a visual style sometimes referred to as “Flat 2.0”—starting with simple, flat shapes in bright colors, but adding depth, detail, and texture to take the flat design trend a step further.

Let’s get started! But before we do, make sure to check out Envato Market’s selection of ready-made flat city graphics for all your own design and illustration projects.

What You'll Need

 The following resources were used to complete this tutorial: 

1. Set Up Your Document and Color Palette

Step 1

Open a new document in Illustrator. The dimensions aren’t especially important, but the A3 size works well with our primary reference photo.

new Illustrator document

Step 2

If you’d like to use the same color palette you see here, you’ll find the hex codes below. Just enter each code into the Color Picker window, hit OK, and drag the color from the Fill box in your toolbar over to your open Swatches panel.

color palette

2. Create the Background

The background will be composed of four parts: the water, sidewalk, house silhouettes, and sky. We’ll start at the bottom and work our way up. Start by creating a new layer in the Layers panel and naming it Background.

Step 1

Use the Rectangle Tool to place a rectangle at the bottom of your document. Now open the Gradient panel (Window > Gradient) and apply the settings you see below. The two colors used are the light and medium shades of aqua from the color palette given in the previous section. Follow that up with a skinnier rectangle (no gradient this time) for the sidewalk; the two together should fill up a little less than half the artboard.

placing background gradient

Step 2

Place the first reference image (03.jpg from this photo set) in the blank space off to the side of your artboard. Reduce the image’s Opacity to about 30%. Use the Pen Tool to trace the outline of several of the houses; it doesn’t have to be very detailed. We’ll turn this into a silhouette in the background that suggests a second row of houses behind our main ones.

outlining with pen tool

Step 3

Replace the outline you just drew with a fill color. A darker color will work better here; I’m using the darkest aqua hue from our color palette. Place the shape near the top of your artboard and flip its orientation (Object > Transform > Reflect > Vertical). Use the Rectangle Tool in the same color to fill in any empty space remaining between the outline and the sidewalk.

house silhouettes in background

Step 4

The last part of our background is the sky, for which we’ll be applying another gradient. First, draw a rectangle that extends from the top of the artboard down past any of the nooks and crannies created by your house silhouettes, and select Send to Back (found under Object > Arrange).

Now open the Gradient panel and apply another gradient (using white and our lightest pink color). If you like, you can draw a few fluffy white clouds with the Pen Tool as a finishing touch. Lock the Background layer.

A Tip on Gradients

Gradients in Illustrator start with two colors by default, but you can add more by hovering your cursor near the bottom of the color spectrum until it turns white and displays a plus sign; just click to add another color option (called a “Gradient Slider”). The new gradient slider will automatically be a shade halfway between the two existing colors, but you can change it by double-clicking it.

3. Build the Base Shapes of the Houses

Step 1

Create a new layer and name it Photo. Place the second reference photo and adjust the size so it’s the same width as your artboard. Lower the Opacity to about 35% and drag the image so the bottom edge of the houses in the photo align with the top of your sidewalk. This will look something like this:

placing reference photo

Lock the Photo layer.

Step 2

Create a new layer and call it House Shapes. Zoom in to about 200% so you can see the details of the architecture in the photo. 

Using the photo as a guide, use shape tools like the Rectangle Tool and the Ellipse Tool to start blocking out the basic shapes of each house. For irregular shapes, use the Pen Tool. Do one house at a time so each has its own set of shapes.  

outlining house shapes

I’ve done the outlines in yellow so you can see them a little better, but the color doesn’t matter, as we’ll be replacing the outlines with fill colors in the next step. For now, you can ignore details like windows; just focus on outlining the parts that affect the overall outer shape of each house.

Step 3

Make the Photo layer invisible (click the small eye icon next to the layer name in the Layers panel) and replace the outlines with fill colors of your choice. Once you see everything in color, you may need to make some small adjustments to make sure the edges of shapes meet up or to align certain elements.

filling house outlines with color

A Tip on Alignment

Using the Align panel (Window > Align), you can align objects to the artboard or another object of your choice. To try the second method, simply select the element you want to align, and then, while holding down Shift, also select the second object you want to use as a guide for the alignment. 

With both selected, click on the second object to designate it as the guide; you’ll know this has worked when an extra-thick outline appears around the object. Then just select the type of alignment you’d like to apply (center, left, top, etc.) from the first row of buttons in the panel.

Step 4

Before we’re done with this layer, let’s repurpose parts of the house shapes to create a reflection in the water. First, select all the main rectangular pieces (holding down Shift to select them all at once). Copy and paste to duplicate them, and then go Object > Transform > Reflect and select Horizontal. 

Finally, with all the shapes still selected, open the Transparency panel (Window > Transparency) and select Hard Light from the drop-down menu, changing the Opacity to 60%.

creating reflection in water

Step 5

To finish the reflection effect, we want it to fade as it moves further away from its source. To achieve this, we’ll use a gradient option called Fade to Black (which is the second option under the Gradient Fill drop-down menu). 

Despite its name, I like to think of this effect as “Fade to Clear”: instead of two or more colors blending into each other (like the gradients we used for the sky and water), this type of gradient involves one or more colors fading to complete transparency on one end of the gradient.

applying gradient to reflection

You’ll need to apply the same gradient settings to each house shape, one at a time. Note that you can click on the second gradient slider and type in its Location (I have mine at 60) to ensure that you have a consistent look for each shape.

4. Add Details to the Houses

Now it’s time for the fun part: decorating your houses. I recommend continuing to use the reference photo to get ideas for placing windows and other embellishments. Of course, that’s totally up to you. If you’re feeling creative, go ahead and do something completely different. Make it as simple or complex as you like.

Adding the windows are a good place to start, as you can build the rest of the details around them. Keeping a couple techniques in mind will help you along in the process:

  • Don’t forget to copy and paste. It’s likely you’ll be using at least some repeating elements in your house details. Don’t forget to copy and paste those to save yourself time. 
  • Take advantage of the Align panel. Amsterdam’s canal houses are very symmetrical, with lots of geometric shapes. To replicate that look, the Align panel will be your friend in getting everything lined up just right. Don’t forget that this panel also has tools for spacing out objects or lines evenly, which can help you get that orderly, symmetrical look. Check out our 60-second video guide to the Align panel to get up to speed on all its features.

Above all, have fun with it! Here’s what I ended up with:

adding details to houses

5. Draw a Boat

Next up, we’ll draw a boat to cruise on the canal. We’ll use the same method as we did for the houses: start with a basic outline, and then add color and detail.

Step 1

Place the reference photo off to the side of your artboard. We won’t be drawing directly on top of it as we did for the houses, but it will be helpful to have it there to look at as you form your shapes. Use the Pen Tool and Ellipse Tool to layer the various shapes of the boat.

outlining boat shapes

I only drew a portion of the boat because I want it emerging from the left side of the composition. If you’d like to feature the full length of the boat in your version, feel free to keep going.

Step 2

As before, change the outlines to fill colors and add as little or as much detail as you desire. If you’re adding any details that go to the very edge of the shapes (say, the lines on the hull of the boat you see below), you’ll want to use clipping masks to get a perfect fit. If you need a fast reminder of how clipping masks work, check out our Quick Tip on the subject.

adding details to the boat

As a finishing touch, you can add a reflection in the water by using a Fade to Black gradient, just as we did earlier for the houses’ reflections.

6. Add Any Final Details

Take a look at your cityscape and see if there’s anything else you’d like to add—maybe an extra boat, some more details on the houses, or some people walking down the street. I chose to add some trees, potted plants, and a bicyclist, as you can see below.

drawing final details

Step 1

The main shapes of the trees and plants are simply circles and ovals with one slight change: the topmost anchor point has been converted to a corner. Follow this process to create the trees: 

  • Use the Ellipse Tool to draw a circle.
  • Select the Convert Anchor Point Tool (access it with a click-hold on the Pen Tool) and click on the circle’s topmost anchor point (the little squares that appear on the edges of a shape when you select it are called anchor points). This converts the smooth point to a corner—in other words, makes it pointy.
  • Switch to the Direct Selection Tool and drag that converted point upwards.
forming tree shapes

And there you have it. The process is exactly the same for the plants, just starting with an oval instead.

Step 2

If you’d also like to feature a cyclist in your cityscape, this tutorial’s attachment contains the same graphic you see here. You can place it as is, or customize the colors to your liking. If you do want to change the colors of the bicycle, make sure to ungroup it first (Object > Ungroup) so you can select its individual shapes. If you’d prefer to draw your own, please do! 

Here’s what my finished cityscape looks like:

7. Switch Over to Photoshop to Add Texture

Good work! I’ll bet your cityscape is looking great at this point. And you can stop here if you like, but if you want to take your illustration a little bit further and give it a little extra pizzazz, there’s one more thing to do: add texture in Photoshop. This will give your illustration even more depth and visual interest.

Step 1

Launch Photoshop and open up a new document the same size as your Illustrator document. Don’t close Illustrator just yet.

new Photoshop document

Go back to Illustrator and unlock all your layers (except the Photo one). Drag your cursor around the artboard to select everything on it and hit Command/Control-C to copy.

Step 2

Now we’re done with Illustrator and you can return to Photoshop. Hit Command/Control-V to paste your illustration into your Photoshop document. In the dialog box that pops up with Paste As options, make sure Smart Object is selected. This will keep your artwork in vector format and allow you to open it back up in Illustrator right from Photoshop should you decide anything needs to be changed. If necessary, size the pasted artwork to fill the canvas.

pasting as smart object

Step 3

The Photoshop brush collection we’ll be using comes with five sets. The files you’ll need to load are labeled ink_washes, dirt_smudges, and gritty_borders. To install them, open up the Brushes panel and click on the button in the top right corner.

loading Photoshop brushes

From the menu that appears, choose Load Brushes and locate the files on your computer. Select the files (you can do all three at once) and click Load; all the brushes will be added into your panel.

Step 4

Let’s start by adding some texture to the house silhouettes. Create a new layer; you’ll want to this each time you add texture to a new section to make it easier to erase anything you don’t like.

Choose the Magic Wand Tool and select Sample All Layers in the toolbar that appears at the top of your screen. Now click on the silhouettes to select the whole shape. Since the silhouette is divided by the tallest house, you’ll need to hold down Shift and click on the other side to add that to your selected area (holding down Option lets you remove selected areas). You’ll see that the silhouettes are selected by the flashing dashed line that appears around the shapes.

selecting with magic wand tool

Step 5

Now that we have the area selected where we want to add texture, the brush will only be applied within that outlined area—no need to worry about “coloring inside the lines”. So to start, choose one of the dirt smudge or ink wash brushes. For the color, select the Eyedropper Tool and click on the silhouette shape to select that color. Then go to the Color panel and move the sliders to get a darker version of that color. 

Apply the texture brush with single clicks rather than clicking and dragging; this will preserve the rough quality of the brush instead of making it look smudged. Experiment with layering different brushes; you can always erase anything you don’t like. And if any of the brushes are oriented in a direction other than how you’d like, you can flip them or change their angle by selecting Brush Tip Shape in the Brushes panel.

applying texture brush to house silhouettes

Step 6

Now let’s repeat the process to add some texture to the sidewalk to help differentiate it from the bottom edges of the houses. To select the sidewalk area, first use the Rectangular Marquee Tool to select the whole sidewalk, and then switch to the Magic Wand Tool (remembering to hold down Option) to deselect any areas that overlap with the sidewalk (such as the houses’ front steps, the trees, and the cyclist). 

This time, apply one of the gritty border brushes. They have one straight edge that we can line up to the top edge of the sidewalk.

applying texture brush to sidewalk

Step 7

Next, let’s use one of the ink wash brushes to add some watery texture to the canal. To make sure you have only the water area selected and don’t get any texture on the boat, we’ll use a different selection method, since the Magic Wand Tool doesn’t work very well with multi-colored objects. 

Choose the Quick Selection Tool (accessed with a click-hold on the Magic Wand Tool) and drag it around the water area, moving in towards the edges of the boat but not going over them. The selection should snap to the rectangular water area, excluding the boat.

applying texture brush to water

I chose the seventh ink wash brush, using it at full size. Because the effect was a little stronger than I wanted, I also changed the Opacity of the brush to around 60%.

Step 8

Repeat these selection and brushing methods anywhere else you’d like to add some texture, remembering to create a new layer for each new area. Here are a few up-close screenshots so you can see some examples:

texturing example trees
texturing example house
texturing example buildings

When you're happy with the amount of texturing, zoom out and admire your finished work!

Amsterdam cityscape

Awesome Work, You're Done!

I hope you've enjoyed using tools in both Illustrator and Photoshop to create a cityscape in a flat design style. Features like the Align panel in Illustrator and selection tools in Photoshop can come in handy for almost any project—so stick those in your design toolbox for future use. 

As always, feel free to share how your project turned out or ask questions in the comments section. Happy designing!

Amsterdam cityscape display
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.