Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

Comment créer le personnage Hello Kitty dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Jeane Jade (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Comme j'ai une petite fille, je suis devenue une fan de charlotte aux Fraises, n sharky, Mon Petit Poney, et bien sûr, Hello Kitty. Ce tutoriel va vous aider à créer un morceau de fan art, totalement dédié à Hello Kitty. J'adore ce mignon petit chaton! Si, par une horrible erreur, vous ne savez toujours pas qui Hello Kitty—découvrez le site officiel.

Hello Kitty est un petit explorateur de plaisir et de joie, et elle est toujours créatif et un jeu amoureux. C'est pourquoi j'ai décidé de vous la présenter avec panier de bonbons et des ballons—une petite scène au parc d'attractions. Comme toujours, nous allons utiliser des formes de base et des effets de déformation pour terminer cette scène.

Ne peut pas attendre pour commencer avec vous!

1. Le dessin de la Tête et du Visage

Étape 1

Après la création d'un nouveau document (ctrl + N), nous allons dessiner la tête de notre petit chaton. Prenez l'Outil Ellipse (L) et de dessiner une ellipse avec le blanc de la couleur de remplissage et contour noir. Maintenant, allez à Effet > Déformation > Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez les options que vous voyez dans l'image ci-dessous:

creating the head 1

Étape 2

Pour obtenir le parfait de la forme de la tête, nous avons encore besoin de fausser un peu plus. Aller à Effet > Déformation > Arc, et entrer dans les options:

creating the head 2

Étape 3

Maintenant, la tête est prête, nous allons donc ajouter deux yeux. Avec l'aide de l'Outil Ellipse (L), dessinez deux ellipses avec noir couleur de fond et pas de course.

Là encore, choisissez un contour noir de couleur et jaune (R=245 G=237 B=96) couleur de remplissage, et de dessiner un nez.

creating the face

Étape 4

Maintenant, nous allons tirer l'oreille. Assurez-vous que vous disposez toujours d'un blanc couleur de remplissage et contour noir de couleur; à l'aide de l'Outil Ellipse (L), de dessiner une ellipse.

Prendre l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A) et sélectionnez-le à droite et à gauche des points d'ancrage. Déplacer vers le bas un peu, et vous aurez une forme d'œuf. Rappelez-vous cette simple mouvement de vos projets pour l'avenir—par exemple, lorsque vous créez quelque chose sur le thème de Pâques.

creating the ear

Étape 5

Mais maintenant, nous allons revenir à Hello Kitty. Tourner l'oreille que vous avez créé à l'étape précédente sur la gauche et placez-la comme illustré ci-dessous. N'oubliez pas de placer cette oreille derrière la tête (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

Garder l'oreille sélectionné et prendre le reflet de l'Outil (O); tout en maintenant la touche Alt enfoncée, cliquez sur le milieu de la face. Vous venez de créer un reflet de l'oreille. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, cochez la Verticale, l'Angle de 90 degrés et appuyez sur Copier. Déplacer l'oreille droite sur le côté droit de la tête.

placing the ears

Étape 6

Supprimer la couleur de fond et regardez le panneau Contour. Cochez Tour de la Pac. Ensuite, à l'aide de l'Outil Crayon (N), tirer trois moustaches sur le côté gauche du visage. Garder les moustaches sélectionné et a frappé le reflet de l'Outil (O). Faire une verticale de la réflexion que vous avez fait avant avec les oreilles.

Si vous n'êtes pas familier avec l'Outil Crayon (N), vous pouvez utiliser l'Outil trait (\) pour dessiner les moustaches, puis déplacez les poignées à l'aide de l'Outil Sélection Directe (A) pour obtenir le résultat que vous souhaitez.

creating the whiskers

2. La création de l'Arc

Étape 1

Garder le contour noir de couleur, puis choisissez la couleur de remplissage R=218 G=30 B=74. Créer un cercle. À l'aide de l'Outil Sélection Directe (A), sélectionnez le haut et le bas des points d'ancrage et les déplacer vers la droite. C'est la partie gauche de l'arc.

creating the left part of the bow

Étape 2

Dessiner un cercle de plus, comme indiqué dans l'image ci-dessous. Ensuite, faire une verticale de la réflexion du côté gauche de l'arc pour créer le côté droit de l'arc, comme vous l'avez fait pour les oreilles et les moustaches.

creating the right part of the bow and the middle part

Étape 3

Placer deux points de suspension entre le cercle du milieu et les parties gauche et droite de l'arc, permettra de compléter l'ensemble de l'arc. Groupe (clic-droit > Groupe).

completing creating the bow

Étape 4

Place de l'archet sur la droite de l'oreille du chaton.

placing the bow on the head

3. La création de la Robe

Étape 1

Commençons par le cou. Dessiner un cercle sous la tête avec le blanc de la couleur de remplissage et contour noir.

creating the neck

Étape 2

Maintenant, prenez l'Outil Pipette (I) et cliquez sur la proue. Vous obtiendrez la même couleur rouge. Avec cette couleur, vous devez dessiner une robe. Alors, prenez l'Outil Rectangle (M) et de créer un rectangle, puis entrez les options que vous voyez ci-dessous:

creating the dress 1

Étape 3

Et la courbure de nouveau:

creating the dress 2

Étape 4

Placez la robe sous le cou du chaton.

placing the dress

4. La création de Jambes

Étape 1

Pour créer la jambe, nous allons commencer à partir d'une ellipse. Vous devriez déjà savoir quel outil utiliser pour créer cette! Maintenant, prenez l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A) et cliquez directement sur le coup, et vous verrez les poignées. Déplacez-les pour atteindre le résultat que vous voyez dans l'image ci-dessous. Après cela, faites une verticale de réflexion pour créer un autre à la jambe.

creating the legs

Étape 2

Mettre les jambes à leur place.

placing the legs

5. La création du Bras

Étape 1

Nous aurons besoin d'une rotation de l'ellipse et un petit cercle pour faire les bras. Sélectionnez l'une de ces deux formes et sur le panneau Pathfinder (Fenêtre > Pathfinder), appuyez sur les Unir bouton.

creating the arm

Étape 2

Placer le bras sur le côté gauche du corps, mais sous la robe. Ensuite, faire une verticale de la réflexion afin de créer un autre bras.

placing the arms

6. La création de Bonbons au Panier

Étape 1

Modifier la couleur de fond pour R=245 G=237 B=96, cliquez sur l'Outil Rectangle (M) et dessinez un rectangle. Ajouter un étroit rectangle rose sur le fond (couleur de remplissage R=247 G=170 B=188). Retour à la précédente jaune et couleur de remplissage à l'aide de l'Outil Rectangle Arrondi, ajouter un petit rectangle arrondi. Il Place derrière les deux rectangles (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

creating the base of the candy cart

Étape 2

Dessinons le volant maintenant. Créer deux cercles, un petit sur le plus grand, et de définir la couleur de remplissage R=163 G=165 B=16. Aller à la Pathfinder (Fenêtre > Pathfinder) panneau et appuyez sur l'Exclure bouton.

creating the wheel of the candy cart 1

Étape 3

Ajouter un petit cercle au milieu. Pour le placer exactement au milieu, sélectionnez tous les milieux et sur le panneau Aligner (Fenêtre > Alignement), appuyez sur l'alignement Horizontal du Centre et Verticale de l'Aligner au Centre des boutons.

Puis supprimer la couleur de fond et tracez une ligne à l'aide de l'Outil trait (\). Placez cette ligne arrière (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

Garder sélectionné, puis appuyez sur l'Outil de Rotation (R), et dans le même temps, appuyez sur la touche Entrée de votre clavier. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez l'Angle de 45 degrés et appuyez sur Copier. Continuez à appuyer sur Control-D sur votre clavier pour répéter le dernier mouvement. Arrêtez-vous lorsque vous avez rempli la roue.

Groupe de l'ensemble de la roue (clic-droit > Groupe).

creating the wheel of the candy cart 2

Étape 4

Place de la roue de la charrette.

placing the wheel

Étape 5

Maintenant, nous allons dessiner des décorations pour le panier de bonbons. À l'aide de l'Outil Pipette (I), prendre la couleur de remplissage de la roue et dessinez un petit cercle. Tout en maintenant enfoncée la touche Maj et Alt boutons, commencez à déplacer le cercle. Vous devriez obtenir deux cercles. Puis continuez à appuyer sur Control-D jusqu'à ce que vous avez une ligne de cercles.

Après cela, supprimer la couleur de fond et avec n'importe quel trait de couleur, dessinez un rectangle exactement comme il est montré dans l'image ci-dessous. Sélectionnez ce rectangle et tous les cercles verts. Appuyez sur la Culture dans Pathfinder.

Gardez votre résultat sélectionnée, parce que maintenant nous avons besoin de le nettoyer. Aller à l'Objet > Tracé > Nettoyer. Assurez-vous que toutes les cases sont cochées et cliquez sur OK. Et enfin, à l'aide de l'Outil Pipette (I), prendre la même couleur de la roue.

creating the decorations for the candy cart

Étape 6

La Position de cette décoration comme indiqué dans l'image ci-dessous. Ajouter rose deux rectangles verticaux (R=247 G=170 B=188).

placing the decorations

Étape 7

Nous allons tirer la poignée. Un petit rectangle jaune (R=245 G=237 B=96) et une rondeur en rose (R=247 G=170 B=188) rectangle de créer de la poignée.

continuing creating the candy cart

Étape 8

Nous allons placer un toit sur le panier de bonbons. Démarrer avec le blanc de la couleur de remplissage et contour noir et dessinez un rectangle. Ensuite, supprimez le trait de la couleur et de modifier la couleur de fond pour R=218 G=30 B=74.

Dessinez un rectangle comme dans l'image ci-dessous. Le dupliquer en maintenant enfoncées les touches Maj + Alt et en le déplaçant vers la droite dans le même temps, comme nous l'avons fait avant. Appuyez sur ctrl-D un peu de temps. Assurez-vous que les rectangles rouges sont dans le milieu de la blanche. Sélectionnez la chose entière et un groupe (clic-droit > Groupe). Aller à Effet > Déformation > Arc et entrez les options suivantes:

creating the roof of the candy cart

Étape 9

Prendre le vert décorations que vous faites pour les bonbons à la charrue avant, faire une autre copie et l'attacher sur le toit. Puis modifiez la couleur de remplissage de la décoration à l'alternance de rouge et de blanc. Utilisez l'Outil Pipette (I) pour définir la bonne couleur.

creating the decorations for the roof

Étape 10

Placez le toit sur le dessus du panier de bonbons. Voila! c'est prêt!

placing the decorated roof

7. La création de la Crème Glacée

Étape 1

Un grand cercle orange et trois petits cercles au fond de nous aider à commencer la création de notre crème glacée. La couleur de remplissage est de R=250 G=166 B=52. Sélectionnez-les tous et dans Pathfinder, la presse s'Unir.

creating the top of the ice cream

Étape 2

Passons sur le cône. Garder le contour noir de couleur et de créer un triangle. Tout d'abord, définir la couleur de remplissage R=187 G=129 B=59, et puis prendre l'Outil Polygone et cliquez sur votre art conseil d'administration. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, faire 3 Côtés et cliquez sur OK. Le rayon n'a pas d'importance.

En faisant une réflexion transversale, reflètent le triangle à l'envers et de l'étirer un peu. Maintenant, nous avons besoin de faire des coins arrondis. Donc, aller de l'Effet > Esthétiques > arrondis. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre, saisissez Rayon de 10 px et cliquez sur OK.

Concentrons-nous sur le panneau Aspect. Cliquez sur le petit triangle dans le coin supérieur droit et dans le menu contextuel, sélectionnez Ajouter un Nouveau fond. Maintenant, regardez le panneau Nuancier. Aller à Nuancier > Modèles > Graphiques de Base > de Base Graphics_Textures et sélectionnez le modèle de Diamant pour ce nouveau remplissage. Réglez l'Opacité à la Lumière Douce.

creating the cone of the ice cream

Étape 3

Faire quelques différentes saveurs de crème glacée en combinant différentes couleurs de boules avec des cônes. J'ai choisi le bleu (R=164 G=215 B=244) et le vert (R=163 G=165 B=16) des couleurs.

creating different colors of ice creams

8. La création de la barbe à papa

Étape 1

Après avoir créé un cercle (R=183 G=0 B=80), allez dans Objet > Tracé > Ajouter des Points d'Ancrage. Vous obtiendrez plus de quatre points d'ancrage comme dans l'image ci-dessous (deuxième cercle). Ensuite, allez à Effet > Déformer Et Transformer > Contraction Et Dilatation et réglez le curseur à 13%.

creating the cotton candy

Étape 2

Ajouter un tout petit, étroit rectangle arrondi à l'aide de l'Outil Rectangle Arrondi (couleur de remplissage R=187 G=129 B=59). Et un plus de morceau de barbe à papa avec un briquet de couleur rose (R=247 G=170 B=188). Mais ils ne devraient pas s'envoler dans les airs, droit? Donc, nous allons ajouter un bâton avec un jaune (R=245 G=237 B=96) rectangle.

creating another cotton candy

9. Placer les coupes de Glaces et de Bonbons de Coton sur le Panier de Bonbons

Mettre tous les éléments à leur place. Ou de les positionner comme vous le souhaitez!

placing all the items on the candy cart

10. La création d'un Bocal Avec des Sucettes

Étape 1

Définir la couleur de remplissage R=164 G=215 B=244 et dessinez un rectangle arrondi. Ajouter un de plus sur le dessus. Ensuite, dessinez une ellipse derrière eux et un petit cercle sur le dessus. Le pot est prêt!

creating the jar

Étape 2

Pour notre sucette, dessiner une rose (R=247 G=170 B=188) cercle et un étroit rectangle arrondi, comme vous l'avez fait pour la barbe à papa. Ajouter un nouveau fond comme vous l'avez fait pour les cornets à crème glacée (Nuancier > Modèles > Graphiques de Base > de Base Graphics_Lines et sélectionner les 10 dpi 50%). Définir l'Opacité de Superposition.

creating the lollipop

Étape 3

Faire de différentes saveurs de la sucette en changeant la couleur de remplissage. Mais attention, ici: sur le panneau Aspect, vous devez sélectionner la couche de fond, et il suffit de changer, de ne pas le remplir avec des lignes. J'ai choisi rose chaud (R=198 G=0 B=111) et orange (R=250 G=166 B=52).

creating different colors of the lollipop

Étape 4

Maintenant mettre les sucettes dans le pot.

placing the lollipops in the jar

Étape 5

La Place que le pot sur le panier de bonbons.

placing the jur on the candy cart

11. La création de l'Ballons

Étape 1

Dessiner un bleu ellipse à l'aide de l'Outil Ellipse (L), et de définir la couleur de remplissage R=164 G=215 B=244. Prendre l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A), sélectionnez la gauche et la droite des points d'ancrage, et les déplacer vers le bas. Créer un cercle sur le dessus, beaucoup plus grand. Nous venons de créer un ballon!

creating the blue balloon

Étape 2

En utilisant le même processus, de créer deux ballons de différentes couleurs. J'ai choisi de R=245 G=237 B=96 pour le jaune, et R=247 G=170 B=188 pour le rose.

creating another colors balloons

Étape 3

Placer tous les ballons à proximité du panier de bonbons. Pour créer une chaîne pour les ballons, nous allons utiliser l'Outil trait (\). Choisir cet outil sur votre panneau Outils, puis dessinez une ligne. Prendre l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A) et, en déplaçant les points d'ancrage et des poignées, tronçon de cette ligne: une fin à un ballon, l'autre pour le panier de bonbons.

Ensuite, dessinez une autre ligne et de se déplacer d'un point d'ancrage pour le ballon, et l'autre pour le panier de bonbons. Répétez cette opération avec le dernier ballon. N'oubliez pas de placer toutes les ficelles derrière les ballons (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

placing the balloons on the candy cart

12. Placer Tous Ensemble et de Créer l'arrière-plan

Étape 1

Groupe de Hello Kitty pour des raisons de commodité (clic-droit > Groupe), et de la placer à proximité du panier de bonbons.

placing all the elements together

Étape 2

Dessiner un carré pour le fond, avec la couleur de remplissage R=253 G=234 B=237 et à la taille de 600 px en largeur et en hauteur. Assurez-vous que le fond est derrière tout (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

creating the background 1

Étape 3

Ajouter un nouveau remplissage de l'arrière-plan comme vous l'avez fait pour les sucettes et les cônes de crème glacée (Nuancier > Modèles > Graphiques de Base > de Base Graphics_Dots et sélectionnez le 6 dpi 20%). Ajouter un nouveau remplissage de l'arrière-plan comme vous l'avez fait pour les sucettes et les cônes de crème glacée (Nuancier > Modèles > Graphiques de Base > de Base Graphics_Dots et sélectionnez le 6 dpi 20%).

creating the background 2

Conclusion Réglez l'Opacité à la Lumière Douce. Vous l'avez fait! L'illustration est maintenant prêt!

Hourra! Aujourd'hui était un travail énorme, mais vous l'avez fait. Si vous n'aimez pas Hello Kitty avant, j'espère que vous allez maintenant.

Final Hello Kitty image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

How to Create the Hello Kitty Character in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

As I have a little daughter, I've become a fan of Strawberry Shortcake, Lillifee, My Little Pony, and of course, Hello Kitty. This tutorial will help you create a piece of fan art, totally dedicated to Hello Kitty. I adore this cute little kitten! If, by some horrible mistake, you still don't know who Hello Kitty is—check out the official website.

Hello Kitty is a little explorer of fun and joy, and she is always creative and a game lover. That's why I decided to present her with candy cart and balloons—a little scene at the amusement park. As always, we will use basic shapes and warp effects to complete this scene.

Can't wait to start with you!

1. Drawing the Head and Face

Step 1

After creating a new document (Control-N), we will draw the head of our little kitten. Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and draw an ellipse with white fill color and black stroke. Now, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below:

creating the head 1

Step 2

To achieve the perfect shape of the head, we still need to warp a little more. Go to Effect > Warp > Arc, and enter the options:

creating the head 2

Step 3

Now the head is ready, so let’s add two eyes. With the help of the Ellipse Tool (L), draw two ellipses with black fill color and no stroke.

Then again, choose a black stroke color and yellow (R=245 G=237 B=96) fill color, and draw a nose.

creating the face

Step 4

Now we will draw the ear. Make sure that you still have a white fill color and black stroke color; using the Ellipse Tool (L), draw an ellipse. 

Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the right and left anchor points. Shift them down a little bit, and you will get an egg shape. Remember this simple movement for your future projects—for example, when you create something with an Easter theme.

creating the ear

Step 5

But now let's return to Hello Kitty. Rotate the ear you created in the previous step to the left, and place it as shown below. Do not forget to place this ear behind the head (Control-X, Control-B). 

Keep the ear selected and take the Reflect Tool (O); while holding the Alt key, click the middle of the face. You just created a reflection of the ear. In the new dialogue window, check Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. Move the right ear to the right side of the head.

placing the ears

Step 6

Delete the fill color and look at the Stroke panel. Check off Round Cap. Then using the Pencil Tool (N), draw three whiskers on the left side of the face. Keep the whiskers selected and hit the Reflect Tool (O). Make a vertical reflection as you did before with the ears. 

If you're not familiar with the Pencil Tool (N), you can use the Line Segment Tool (\) for drawing the whiskers and then move the handles using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to achieve the result you want.

creating the whiskers

2. Creating the Bow

Step 1

Keep the black stroke color and choose the fill color R=218 G=30 B=74. Create a circle. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the top and bottom anchor points and shift them to the right. That is the left part of the bow.

creating the left part of the bow

Step 2

Draw one more circle as shown in the image below. Then make a vertical reflection of the left side of the bow to create the right side of the bow, just as you did for the ears and whiskers.

creating the right part of the bow and the middle part

Step 3

Placing two ellipses between the middle circle and the left and right parts of the bow will complete the whole bow. Group it (right-click > Group).

completing creating the bow

Step 4

Place the bow on the right ear of the kitten.

placing the bow on the head

3. Creating the Dress

Step 1

Let’s start with the neck. Draw a circle under the head with white fill color and black stroke.

creating the neck

Step 2

Now take the Eye Dropper Tool (I) and click on the bow. You will get the same red color. With this color, you need to draw a dress. So take the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a rectangle, and then enter the options you see below:

creating the dress 1

Step 3

And warp it again:

creating the dress 2

Step 4

Place the dress under the neck of the kitten.

placing the dress

4. Creating the Legs

Step 1

To create the leg, we will start from an ellipse. You should already know which tool to use to create this! Now, take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and click directly on the stroke, and you will see handles. Move them to achieve the result which you see in the image below. After that, make a vertical reflection to create another leg.

creating the legs

Step 2

Put the legs in their place.

placing the legs

5. Creating the Arms

Step 1

We will need a rotated ellipse and a little circle to make the arm. Select these two shapes and on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder), press the Unite button.

creating the arm

Step 2

Place the arm on the left side of the body, but under the dress. Then make a vertical reflection to create another arm.

placing the arms

6. Creating the Candy Cart

Step 1

Change the fill color to R=245 G=237 B=96, click the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a rectangle. Add a narrow pink rectangle on the bottom (fill color R=247 G=170 B=188). Return to the previous yellow fill color and using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, add a small rounded rectangle. Place it behind the two previous rectangles (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the base of the candy cart

Step 2

Let's draw the wheel now. Create two circles, a small one over the bigger one, and set the fill color to R=163 G=165 B=16. Go to the Pathfinder (Window > Pathfinder) panel and press the Exclude button.

creating the wheel of the candy cart 1

Step 3

Add a small circle in the middle. To place it exactly in the middle, select all the circles and on the Align panel (Window > Align) press the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons. 

Then delete the fill color and draw a line using the Line Segment Tool (\). Place this line behind (Control-X, Control-B). 

Keep it selected and press the Rotate Tool (R), and at the same time press the Enter key on your keyboard. In the new dialogue window, enter Angle 45 degrees and press Copy. Keep pressing Control-D on your keyboard to repeat the last movement. Stop when you have filled the wheel.

Group the whole wheel (right-click > Group).

creating the wheel of the candy cart 2

Step 4

Place the wheel on the cart.

placing the wheel

Step 5

Now we will draw decorations for the candy cart. Using the Eye Dropper Tool (I), take the fill color from the wheel and draw a small circle. While holding down the Shift and Alt buttons, start moving the circle. You should get two circles. Then keep pressing Control-D until you have a line of circles.

After that, delete the fill color and with any stroke color, draw a rectangle exactly the way it is shown in the image below. Select this rectangle and all the green circles. Press Crop in Pathfinder

Keep your result selected, because now we need to clean it. Go to Object > Path > Clean Up. Be sure that all fields are checked and press OK. And finally, using the Eye Dropper Tool (I), take the same color from the wheel.

creating the decorations for the candy cart

Step 6

Position this decoration as shown in the image below. Add two pink vertical rectangles (R=247 G=170 B=188).

placing the decorations

Step 7

Let's draw the handle. A tiny yellow rectangle (R=245 G=237 B=96) and a rounded pink (R=247 G=170 B=188) rectangle will create the handle.

continuing creating the candy cart

Step 8

Let's place a roof on the candy cart. Start with white fill color and black stroke and draw a rectangle. After that, delete the stroke color and change the fill color to R=218 G=30 B=74

Draw a rectangle like the one in the image below. Duplicate it by holding down Shift-Alt and moving it to the right at the same time, as we did before. Press Control-D a few times. Make sure that the red rectangles are in the middle of the white one. Select the whole thing and group it (right-click > Group). Go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options:

creating the roof of the candy cart

Step 9

Take the green decorations you made for the candy cart before, make another copy and attach it to the roof. Then change the fill color of the decoration to alternating red and white. Use the Eye Dropper Tool (I) to set the right color.

creating the decorations for the roof

Step 10

Place the roof on the top of the candy cart. Voila! it is ready!

placing the decorated roof

7. Creating the Ice Cream

Step 1

One large orange circle and three little circles at the bottom will help us start creating our ice cream. The fill color is R=250 G=166 B=52. Select all of them and in Pathfinder, press Unite.

creating the top of the ice cream

Step 2

Let’s move on to the cone. Keep the black stroke color and create a triangle. First, set the fill color to R=187 G=129 B=59, and then take the Polygon Tool and click on your art board. In the new dialogue window, make 3 Sides and click OK. The radius doesn't matter. 

By making a Horizontal reflection, reflect the triangle upside down and stretch it a little. Now we need to make rounded corners. So go to Effect > Stylize > Round Corners. In the new window, enter Radius 10 px and click OK.

Let's concentrate on the Appearance panel. Click on the tiny triangle on the top right corner and in the pop-up menu, select Add New Fill. Now look at the Swatches panel. Go to Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Textures and select the Diamond pattern for this new fill. Set the Opacity to Soft Light.

creating the cone of the ice cream

Step 3

Make few different flavors of the ice cream by combining different colors of scoops with cones. I chose blue (R=164 G=215 B=244) and green (R=163 G=165 B=16) colors.

creating different colors of ice creams

8. Creating the Cotton Candy

Step 1

After you've created a circle (R=183 G=0 B=80), go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. You will get four more anchor points like in the image below (the second circle). Then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Pucker & Bloat and set the slider to 13%.

creating the cotton candy

Step 2

Add a tiny, narrow rounded rectangle using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (fill color R=187 G=129 B=59). And one more piece of cotton candy with a lighter pink color (R=247 G=170 B=188). But they shouldn't fly in midair, right? So let's add a stick—with a yellow (R=245 G=237 B=96) rectangle.

creating another cotton candy

9. Placing the Ice Creams and Cotton Candies on the Candy Cart

Put all the elements in their places. Or position them as you like!

placing all the items on the candy cart

10. Creating a Jar With Lollipops

Step 1

Set the fill color to R=164 G=215 B=244 and draw a rounded rectangle. Add one more on top. Then draw an ellipse behind them and a small circle on the top. The jar is ready!

creating the jar

Step 2

For our lollipop, draw a pink (R=247 G=170 B=188) circle and a narrow rounded rectangle, as you did for the cotton candy. Add a new fill as you did for the ice-cream cone (Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Lines and select the 10 dpi 50%). Set the Opacity to Overlay.

creating the lollipop

Step 3

Make different flavors of the lollipop by changing the fill color. But be careful here: on the Appearance panel, you need to select the bottom layer and just change that, not the fill with lines. I chose hot pink (R=198 G=0 B=111) and orange (R=250 G=166 B=52).

creating different colors of the lollipop

Step 4

Now put the lollipops in the jar.

placing the lollipops in the jar

Step 5

Place that jar on the candy cart.

placing the jur on the candy cart

11. Creating the Balloons

Step 1

Draw a blue ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L), and set the fill color to  R=164 G=215 B=244. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the left and right anchor points, and move them down. Create a circle on top, much bigger. We just created a balloon!

creating the blue balloon

Step 2

Using the same process, create two more balloons of different colors. I chose R=245 G=237 B=96 for the yellow one and R=247 G=170 B=188 for the pink.

creating another colors balloons

Step 3

Place all the balloons close to the candy cart. To create a string for the balloons, we will use the Line Segment Tool (\). Choose that tool on your Tools panel and draw a line. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and, by moving the anchor points and handles, stretch this line: one end to one balloon, the other to the candy cart. 

Then draw another line and move one anchor point to the balloon, and the other to the candy cart. Repeat this with the last balloon. Don't forget to place all the strings behind the balloons (Control-X, Control-B).

placing the balloons on the candy cart

12. Placing It All Together and Creating the Background

Step 1

Group Hello Kitty for convenience (right-click > Group), and place her close to the candy cart.

placing all the elements together

Step 2

Draw a square for the background, with the fill color R=253 G=234 B=237 and at size 600 px in width and height. Be sure that the background is behind everything (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the background 1

Step 3

Add a new fill to the background as you did for the lollipops and ice cream cones (Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Dots and select the 6 dpi 20%). Set the Opacity to Soft Light. You’ve done it! The illustration is now ready!

creating the background 2

Conclusion

Hooray! Today’s was a huge job, but you've made it. If you didn’t like Hello Kitty before, I hope you will now.

Final Hello Kitty image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.