1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art

如何在Adobe Illustrator中創建Hello Kitty卡通形象

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Clare Liu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

因為我有壹個小女兒,我已經是草莓酥餅的粉絲了。Lillifee,我的小波尼,當然就是Hello Kitty,本次教程將幫助妳創建藝術畫,完全為了Hello Kitty。 我喜歡這個可愛的小貓!,對了,差點犯個錯誤,如果妳還不知道Hello Kitty是誰-看看這個官方網站吧。

Hello Kitty凱蒂貓是壹個有趣和快樂的小探險家,聰明,希望玩遊戲。 這就是我為什麽決定把它和糖果車,氣球聯想在壹起-遊樂場常見的常見。壹如既往,我們將使用基本的形狀,變形效果來完成這個場景繪制。

開始吧!

1. 繪制頭部和臉部

步驟1

新建壹個文件之後(Control-N),我們來畫頭部。選擇橢圓工具(L),畫壹個白色填充,黑色描邊的橢圓。 現在打開效果>變形>弧形。在彈出的對話框中,輸入下圖所看到的選項。

creating the head 1creating the head 1creating the head 1

步驟2

為了得到頭部完美的形狀,我們還需要壹點變形。打開效果>變形>弧形,輸入值:

creating the head 2creating the head 2creating the head 2

步驟3

現在頭部完成了,我們來添加眼睛,借助橢圓工具(L),畫兩個黑色橢圓,沒有填充。

然後,再次選擇黑色描邊,黃色填充色(R=245 G=237 B=96),畫壹只鼻子。

creating the facecreating the facecreating the face

步驟4

現在我們來畫耳朵,確保妳仍有白色的填充色,黑色描邊。使用橢圓工具(L),畫壹個橢圓。

選擇直接選擇韓劇(A),選中左右錨點,向下移動壹點。妳現在會得到壹個雞蛋的形狀。 記住這個簡單的移動,以後要用到—比如,妳需要創建壹個復活節主題的時候。

creating the earcreating the earcreating the ear

步驟5

我們再回到Hello Kitty,將上壹步創建的耳朵向左邊旋轉,把它放在下圖,不要忘記把這個耳朵放在頭部下面(Control-X, Control-B)。

選中耳朵,選擇鏡像工具(O);按住Alt鍵的同時,點擊臉部中間,得到耳朵鏡像, 在彈出的窗口中,勾選垂直90獨角,點擊復制,把右耳移到頭部的右側。

placing the earsplacing the earsplacing the ears

步驟6

刪除填充色,來看下描邊面板。勾選圓頭端點。然後使用鉛筆工具(N),在臉部左側畫三個胡須。 選中胡須,點擊鏡像工具(O)。和耳朵壹樣做壹個鏡像復制。

如果妳對鉛筆工具(N)不是很熟悉,可以使用直線段工具 (\)來畫胡須,然後使用直接選擇工具(A)移動手柄得到想要的結果。

creating the whiskerscreating the whiskerscreating the whiskers

2.創建蝴蝶結

步驟1

選中黑色描邊色,填充色為R=218 G=30 B=74,畫壹個圓。使用直接選擇工具(A),選擇上下兩個錨點,把它們向右移動,這就是蝴蝶結左邊部分。

creating the left part of the bowcreating the left part of the bowcreating the left part of the bow

步驟2

如下圖所示畫壹個畫。然後將左邊蝴蝶結進行壹個進行復制得到右邊的,方法和耳朵,胡須的壹樣。

creating the right part of the bow and the middle partcreating the right part of the bow and the middle partcreating the right part of the bow and the middle part

步驟3

把兩個橢圓放在中間圓和蝴蝶結左右側直接,完成執政官蝴蝶結的繪制。進行編組(右擊>編組)。

completing creating the bowcompleting creating the bowcompleting creating the bow

步驟4

把蝴蝶結放在貓咪的右耳朵上。

placing the bow on the headplacing the bow on the headplacing the bow on the head

3.創建衣服

步驟1

我們來繪制脖子。在頭下面畫壹個圓,白色填充,黑色描邊。

creating the neckcreating the neckcreating the neck

步驟2

現在選擇吸管工具(I),點擊蝴蝶結,會得到壹個同洋的紅色,然後需要畫衣服。那麼選中矩形工具(M),創建矩形,然後輸入下面的慘考值。

creating the dress 1creating the dress 1creating the dress 1

步驟3

再次進行變形。

creating the dress 2creating the dress 2creating the dress 2

步驟4

在貓咪的脖子下面放置衣服。

placing the dressplacing the dressplacing the dress

4.創建腿

步驟1

我們先來畫橢圓創建腿部。妳現在應該已經知道使用什麼工具了。現在選擇直接選擇工具(A),直接點擊描邊,妳會看到手柄。 把它們移動得到想要的結果,如下圖所示,之後再做壹個垂直鏡像,得到另壹條腿。

creating the legscreating the legscreating the legs

步驟2

把腿放在合這的位置上。

placing the legsplacing the legsplacing the legs

5.創建胳膊

步骤1

我們需要壹個旋轉的橢圓,還有壹個圓組成手臂。選中這兩個形狀,點擊路徑查找器窗口>路徑查找器)裏面的合並按鈕。

creating the armcreating the armcreating the arm

步驟2

把胳膊放在身體左側,但是位於衣服的後面,然後創建壹個垂直鏡像得到另外壹只胳膊。

placing the armsplacing the armsplacing the arms

6.創建糖果車

步驟1

將填充色改為R=245 G=237 B=96,點擊矩形工具(M)畫壹個矩形,在底部添加壹個粉色的矩形 (填充色為 R=247 G=170 B=188)。 回到最初黃色填充形狀,使用圓角矩形工具,添加壹個小的圓角矩形。把它放在兩個矩形後面 (Control-X, Control-B)。

creating the base of the candy cartcreating the base of the candy cartcreating the base of the candy cart

步驟2

我們現在來畫輪子。創建兩個圓,壹個放在大的上面,設置填充色色為R=163 G=165 B=16,找到路徑查找器窗口>路徑查找器)面板,點擊排除按鈕。

creating the wheel of the candy cart 1creating the wheel of the candy cart 1creating the wheel of the candy cart 1

步驟3

在中間添加壹個小圓,把它放在正中間。選中所有的圓,找到對齊密納巴(窗口>對齊),點擊水平居中,和垂直居中按鈕。

然後刪除填充色,使用直線段工具(\),把它放在後面(Control-X, Control-B)。

選中它,點擊旋轉工具 (R),同時按回車鍵。在彈出的窗口中,輸入45度角,點擊復制, 不停按Control-D重復上壹步的操作。填充整個輪子再停止。

對整個輪子進行編組(右擊>編組)。

creating the wheel of the candy cart 2creating the wheel of the candy cart 2creating the wheel of the candy cart 2

步驟4

把輪子放在車上。

placing the wheelplacing the wheelplacing the wheel

步驟5

現在我們來畫糖果車的裝飾品。使用吸管(I)拾取輪子的顏色,畫壹個小圓。 按住ShiftAlt鍵,開始移動圓。妳可以得到兩個圓。然後不停按Control-D直到得到壹串圓。

之後,刪除填充色,描邊任意,畫壹個矩形,和下圖壹致。選中矩形和綠色圓,點擊路徑查找器裏面的裁剪

保持選中得到的結果,因為我們現在需要進行清理。打開對象>路徑>清除。確保所有的區域都沒勾選,點擊OK。最後,使用吸管工具(I),選擇輪子的顏色。

creating the decorations for the candy cartcreating the decorations for the candy cartcreating the decorations for the candy cart

步驟6

將這個裝飾物按照下圖放置,添加兩個粉色垂直矩形(R=247 G=170 B=188)。

placing the decorationsplacing the decorationsplacing the decorations

步驟7

我們來畫手柄,壹個小的黃色矩形 (R=245 G=237 B=96),還有壹個粉色圓角矩形(R=247 G=170 B=188) 。

continuing creating the candy cartcontinuing creating the candy cartcontinuing creating the candy cart

步驟8 

現在來畫糖果車的頂棚,先畫壹個白色填充,黑色描邊的矩形,之後,刪除掉描邊色將填充色改為 R=218 G=30 B=74

參考下圖畫壹個矩形,按住Shift-Alt鍵進行復制,把它移到右邊,和之前壹樣。多次按Control-D。 確保紅色矩形位於白色矩形的中間,選中整個對象,進行編組(右擊>編組),找到效果>變形>弧形,輸入下面的選項。

creating the roof of the candy cartcreating the roof of the candy cartcreating the roof of the candy cart

步驟9

選中妳之前做的綠色裝飾物,復制壹個,把它和棚放在壹起。然後填充色改為紅色和白色,使用吸管工具(I)設置正確的顏色。

creating the decorations for the roofcreating the decorations for the roofcreating the decorations for the roof

步驟10

將棚頂放在糖果車上方,好了!完成了!

placing the decorated roofplacing the decorated roofplacing the decorated roof

7.創建冰泣淋

步驟1

畫壹個大圓和三個小圓在下面,填充色為R=250 G=166 B=52。全選,點擊路徑查找器裏的合並

creating the top of the ice creamcreating the top of the ice creamcreating the top of the ice cream

步驟2

我們來回到球果。繪制壹個黑色描邊的三角形。首先,設置填充色為R=187 G=129 B=59,點擊多邊形工具,在畫布上點擊, 彈出壹個新窗口,輸入3條邊,點擊OK。半徑任意。

將三角形進行水平翻轉,向下延長壹點,現在我們需要將邊角變圓,那麽打開效果>風格化>圓角。在彈出窗口內,輸入半徑10 px,點擊OK

我們來回到外觀面板,點擊右上角的小三角形,在彈出的菜單中,選擇添加新填充。現在我們來看下色板。 打開色板>圖案>基本圖形>基本圖形-紋理,為這個填充選擇鉆石紋理。設置不透明度柔光

creating the cone of the ice creamcreating the cone of the ice creamcreating the cone of the ice cream

步驟3

通過組合不同顏色的球果繪制不同顏色冰泣淋。我選擇的是藍色(R=164 G=215 B=244)和綠色(R=163 G=165 B=16)。

creating different colors of ice creamscreating different colors of ice creamscreating different colors of ice creams

8.創建棉花糖

步驟1

畫完圓之後 (R=183 G=0 B=80),打開對象>路徑>添加錨點。妳會多出四個不同錨點如下所示(第二個圖), 然後打開效果>扭曲和變形>褶皺和膨脹,設置滑塊到13%

creating the cotton candy creating the cotton candy creating the cotton candy

步驟2

使用圓角矩形工具添加壹個小的,細長的圓角矩形(填充色為R=187 G=129 B=59),再添加壹個亮粉色(R=247 G=170 B=188)的棉花糖, 它們不是懸在半空中的。不是嗎?那麽添加壹根棒子-黃色矩形(R=245 G=237 B=96)。

creating another cotton candy creating another cotton candy creating another cotton candy

9.在糖果車上放置冰泣淋和棉花糖

將所有的對象放在合適的位置,或者按照自己的想法放置。

placing all the items on the candy cartplacing all the items on the candy cartplacing all the items on the candy cart

10.繪制壹罐棒棒糖

步驟1

設置填充色為R=164 G=215 B=244,畫壹個圓角矩形,再頂部再畫壹個,然後在後面畫壹個橢圓,在頂部畫壹個圓。罐子就完成了!

creating the jarcreating the jarcreating the jar

步驟2

對於我們的棒棒糖,畫壹個粉色圓(R=247 G=170 B=188),壹個細長的圓角矩形,和之前棉花糖壹樣, 和之前棉花糖壹樣,和冰泣淋秋壹樣添加壹個新的填充(色板>圖案>基本圖形>基本圖形-直線,選擇10 dpi 50%),設置不透明度覆蓋

creating the lollipopcreating the lollipopcreating the lollipop

步驟3

改變填充色,繪制不同口味的棒棒糖。 這裏小小:在外觀面板上,妳需要選擇底部的圖層,進行更改,不是帶有線條的填充。我選擇的是粉色(R=198 G=0 B=111)和橙色(R=250 G=166 B=52)。

creating different colors of the lollipopcreating different colors of the lollipopcreating different colors of the lollipop

步驟4

現在把棒棒糖放在罐子內。

placing the lollipops in the jarplacing the lollipops in the jarplacing the lollipops in the jar

步驟5

把罐子放在糖果車上。

placing the jur on the candy cartplacing the jur on the candy cartplacing the jur on the candy cart

11.繪制氣球

步驟1

使用橢圓工具(L)畫壹個藍色橢圓,設置填充色為 R=164 G=215 B=244, 選擇直接選擇工具(A),選中左右兩邊錨點,向下移動,在頂部創建壹個圓,放大,我們完成率氣球的繪制。

creating the blue ballooncreating the blue ballooncreating the blue balloon

步驟2

使用同樣的方法,創建兩個不同顏色氣球。我選擇的是黃色R=245 G=237 B=96,和粉色R=247 G=170 B=188

creating another colors balloonscreating another colors balloonscreating another colors balloons

步驟3

將所有的氣球和糖果車挨著。我們需要使用直線段工具 (\)給氣球畫繩子。選擇工具面板上的工具,畫壹條線。 選擇直接選擇工具(A),移動錨點和手柄,進行調整:壹端在氣球上,另壹端在糖果車上。

然後再畫壹條線,將錨點和氣球連接,還有糖果車。重復這個操作。把所有的繩子放在氣球後面(Control-X, Control-B)。

placing the balloons on the candy cartplacing the balloons on the candy cartplacing the balloons on the candy cart

12.組合和創建背景

步驟1

為了便於操作,將Hello Kitty進行編組,把它放在靠近糖果車的位置。

placing all the elements together placing all the elements together placing all the elements together

步驟2

給背景繪制壹個正方形,填充色為R=253 G=234 B=237,寬和高大小為600 px,確保背景層是置於底層的(Control-X, Control-B)

creating the background 1creating the background 1creating the background 1

步驟3

給背景添加壹個新的填充和之前棒棒糖,冰泣淋蛋卷壹樣(色板>圖案>基本圖形>基本圖形-點,選擇6 dpi 20%), 設置不透明度柔光。完成了!插畫現在完成了!總結萬歲!今天工程量大,但是妳完成了!

creating the background 2 creating the background 2 creating the background 2

總結

萬歲!今天工程量大,但是妳完成了!如果妳之前不喜歡Hello Kitty,希望現在喜歡了。

Final Hello Kitty imageFinal Hello Kitty imageFinal Hello Kitty image
关注我们的公众号
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

How to Create the Hello Kitty Character in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

As I have a little daughter, I've become a fan of Strawberry Shortcake, Lillifee, My Little Pony, and of course, Hello Kitty. This tutorial will help you create a piece of fan art, totally dedicated to Hello Kitty. I adore this cute little kitten! If, by some horrible mistake, you still don't know who Hello Kitty is—check out the official website.

Hello Kitty is a little explorer of fun and joy, and she is always creative and a game lover. That's why I decided to present her with candy cart and balloons—a little scene at the amusement park. As always, we will use basic shapes and warp effects to complete this scene.

Can't wait to start with you!

1. Drawing the Head and Face

Step 1

After creating a new document (Control-N), we will draw the head of our little kitten. Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and draw an ellipse with white fill color and black stroke. Now, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below:

creating the head 1

Step 2

To achieve the perfect shape of the head, we still need to warp a little more. Go to Effect > Warp > Arc, and enter the options:

creating the head 2

Step 3

Now the head is ready, so let’s add two eyes. With the help of the Ellipse Tool (L), draw two ellipses with black fill color and no stroke.

Then again, choose a black stroke color and yellow (R=245 G=237 B=96) fill color, and draw a nose.

creating the face

Step 4

Now we will draw the ear. Make sure that you still have a white fill color and black stroke color; using the Ellipse Tool (L), draw an ellipse. 

Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the right and left anchor points. Shift them down a little bit, and you will get an egg shape. Remember this simple movement for your future projects—for example, when you create something with an Easter theme.

creating the ear

Step 5

But now let's return to Hello Kitty. Rotate the ear you created in the previous step to the left, and place it as shown below. Do not forget to place this ear behind the head (Control-X, Control-B). 

Keep the ear selected and take the Reflect Tool (O); while holding the Alt key, click the middle of the face. You just created a reflection of the ear. In the new dialogue window, check Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. Move the right ear to the right side of the head.

placing the ears

Step 6

Delete the fill color and look at the Stroke panel. Check off Round Cap. Then using the Pencil Tool (N), draw three whiskers on the left side of the face. Keep the whiskers selected and hit the Reflect Tool (O). Make a vertical reflection as you did before with the ears. 

If you're not familiar with the Pencil Tool (N), you can use the Line Segment Tool (\) for drawing the whiskers and then move the handles using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to achieve the result you want.

creating the whiskers

2. Creating the Bow

Step 1

Keep the black stroke color and choose the fill color R=218 G=30 B=74. Create a circle. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the top and bottom anchor points and shift them to the right. That is the left part of the bow.

creating the left part of the bow

Step 2

Draw one more circle as shown in the image below. Then make a vertical reflection of the left side of the bow to create the right side of the bow, just as you did for the ears and whiskers.

creating the right part of the bow and the middle part

Step 3

Placing two ellipses between the middle circle and the left and right parts of the bow will complete the whole bow. Group it (right-click > Group).

completing creating the bow

Step 4

Place the bow on the right ear of the kitten.

placing the bow on the head

3. Creating the Dress

Step 1

Let’s start with the neck. Draw a circle under the head with white fill color and black stroke.

creating the neck

Step 2

Now take the Eye Dropper Tool (I) and click on the bow. You will get the same red color. With this color, you need to draw a dress. So take the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a rectangle, and then enter the options you see below:

creating the dress 1

Step 3

And warp it again:

creating the dress 2

Step 4

Place the dress under the neck of the kitten.

placing the dress

4. Creating the Legs

Step 1

To create the leg, we will start from an ellipse. You should already know which tool to use to create this! Now, take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and click directly on the stroke, and you will see handles. Move them to achieve the result which you see in the image below. After that, make a vertical reflection to create another leg.

creating the legs

Step 2

Put the legs in their place.

placing the legs

5. Creating the Arms

Step 1

We will need a rotated ellipse and a little circle to make the arm. Select these two shapes and on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder), press the Unite button.

creating the arm

Step 2

Place the arm on the left side of the body, but under the dress. Then make a vertical reflection to create another arm.

placing the arms

6. Creating the Candy Cart

Step 1

Change the fill color to R=245 G=237 B=96, click the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a rectangle. Add a narrow pink rectangle on the bottom (fill color R=247 G=170 B=188). Return to the previous yellow fill color and using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, add a small rounded rectangle. Place it behind the two previous rectangles (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the base of the candy cart

Step 2

Let's draw the wheel now. Create two circles, a small one over the bigger one, and set the fill color to R=163 G=165 B=16. Go to the Pathfinder (Window > Pathfinder) panel and press the Exclude button.

creating the wheel of the candy cart 1

Step 3

Add a small circle in the middle. To place it exactly in the middle, select all the circles and on the Align panel (Window > Align) press the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons. 

Then delete the fill color and draw a line using the Line Segment Tool (\). Place this line behind (Control-X, Control-B). 

Keep it selected and press the Rotate Tool (R), and at the same time press the Enter key on your keyboard. In the new dialogue window, enter Angle 45 degrees and press Copy. Keep pressing Control-D on your keyboard to repeat the last movement. Stop when you have filled the wheel.

Group the whole wheel (right-click > Group).

creating the wheel of the candy cart 2

Step 4

Place the wheel on the cart.

placing the wheel

Step 5

Now we will draw decorations for the candy cart. Using the Eye Dropper Tool (I), take the fill color from the wheel and draw a small circle. While holding down the Shift and Alt buttons, start moving the circle. You should get two circles. Then keep pressing Control-D until you have a line of circles.

After that, delete the fill color and with any stroke color, draw a rectangle exactly the way it is shown in the image below. Select this rectangle and all the green circles. Press Crop in Pathfinder

Keep your result selected, because now we need to clean it. Go to Object > Path > Clean Up. Be sure that all fields are checked and press OK. And finally, using the Eye Dropper Tool (I), take the same color from the wheel.

creating the decorations for the candy cart

Step 6

Position this decoration as shown in the image below. Add two pink vertical rectangles (R=247 G=170 B=188).

placing the decorations

Step 7

Let's draw the handle. A tiny yellow rectangle (R=245 G=237 B=96) and a rounded pink (R=247 G=170 B=188) rectangle will create the handle.

continuing creating the candy cart

Step 8

Let's place a roof on the candy cart. Start with white fill color and black stroke and draw a rectangle. After that, delete the stroke color and change the fill color to R=218 G=30 B=74

Draw a rectangle like the one in the image below. Duplicate it by holding down Shift-Alt and moving it to the right at the same time, as we did before. Press Control-D a few times. Make sure that the red rectangles are in the middle of the white one. Select the whole thing and group it (right-click > Group). Go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options:

creating the roof of the candy cart

Step 9

Take the green decorations you made for the candy cart before, make another copy and attach it to the roof. Then change the fill color of the decoration to alternating red and white. Use the Eye Dropper Tool (I) to set the right color.

creating the decorations for the roof

Step 10

Place the roof on the top of the candy cart. Voila! it is ready!

placing the decorated roof

7. Creating the Ice Cream

Step 1

One large orange circle and three little circles at the bottom will help us start creating our ice cream. The fill color is R=250 G=166 B=52. Select all of them and in Pathfinder, press Unite.

creating the top of the ice cream

Step 2

Let’s move on to the cone. Keep the black stroke color and create a triangle. First, set the fill color to R=187 G=129 B=59, and then take the Polygon Tool and click on your art board. In the new dialogue window, make 3 Sides and click OK. The radius doesn't matter. 

By making a Horizontal reflection, reflect the triangle upside down and stretch it a little. Now we need to make rounded corners. So go to Effect > Stylize > Round Corners. In the new window, enter Radius 10 px and click OK.

Let's concentrate on the Appearance panel. Click on the tiny triangle on the top right corner and in the pop-up menu, select Add New Fill. Now look at the Swatches panel. Go to Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Textures and select the Diamond pattern for this new fill. Set the Opacity to Soft Light.

creating the cone of the ice cream

Step 3

Make few different flavors of the ice cream by combining different colors of scoops with cones. I chose blue (R=164 G=215 B=244) and green (R=163 G=165 B=16) colors.

creating different colors of ice creams

8. Creating the Cotton Candy

Step 1

After you've created a circle (R=183 G=0 B=80), go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. You will get four more anchor points like in the image below (the second circle). Then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Pucker & Bloat and set the slider to 13%.

creating the cotton candy

Step 2

Add a tiny, narrow rounded rectangle using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (fill color R=187 G=129 B=59). And one more piece of cotton candy with a lighter pink color (R=247 G=170 B=188). But they shouldn't fly in midair, right? So let's add a stick—with a yellow (R=245 G=237 B=96) rectangle.

creating another cotton candy

9. Placing the Ice Creams and Cotton Candies on the Candy Cart

Put all the elements in their places. Or position them as you like!

placing all the items on the candy cart

10. Creating a Jar With Lollipops

Step 1

Set the fill color to R=164 G=215 B=244 and draw a rounded rectangle. Add one more on top. Then draw an ellipse behind them and a small circle on the top. The jar is ready!

creating the jar

Step 2

For our lollipop, draw a pink (R=247 G=170 B=188) circle and a narrow rounded rectangle, as you did for the cotton candy. Add a new fill as you did for the ice-cream cone (Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Lines and select the 10 dpi 50%). Set the Opacity to Overlay.

creating the lollipop

Step 3

Make different flavors of the lollipop by changing the fill color. But be careful here: on the Appearance panel, you need to select the bottom layer and just change that, not the fill with lines. I chose hot pink (R=198 G=0 B=111) and orange (R=250 G=166 B=52).

creating different colors of the lollipop

Step 4

Now put the lollipops in the jar.

placing the lollipops in the jar

Step 5

Place that jar on the candy cart.

placing the jur on the candy cart

11. Creating the Balloons

Step 1

Draw a blue ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L), and set the fill color to  R=164 G=215 B=244. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the left and right anchor points, and move them down. Create a circle on top, much bigger. We just created a balloon!

creating the blue balloon

Step 2

Using the same process, create two more balloons of different colors. I chose R=245 G=237 B=96 for the yellow one and R=247 G=170 B=188 for the pink.

creating another colors balloons

Step 3

Place all the balloons close to the candy cart. To create a string for the balloons, we will use the Line Segment Tool (\). Choose that tool on your Tools panel and draw a line. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and, by moving the anchor points and handles, stretch this line: one end to one balloon, the other to the candy cart. 

Then draw another line and move one anchor point to the balloon, and the other to the candy cart. Repeat this with the last balloon. Don't forget to place all the strings behind the balloons (Control-X, Control-B).

placing the balloons on the candy cart

12. Placing It All Together and Creating the Background

Step 1

Group Hello Kitty for convenience (right-click > Group), and place her close to the candy cart.

placing all the elements together

Step 2

Draw a square for the background, with the fill color R=253 G=234 B=237 and at size 600 px in width and height. Be sure that the background is behind everything (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the background 1

Step 3

Add a new fill to the background as you did for the lollipops and ice cream cones (Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Dots and select the 6 dpi 20%). Set the Opacity to Soft Light. You’ve done it! The illustration is now ready!

creating the background 2

Conclusion

Hooray! Today’s was a huge job, but you've made it. If you didn’t like Hello Kitty before, I hope you will now.

Final Hello Kitty image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.