Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art

Как создать персонажа Hello Kitty в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Так как у меня есть маленькая дочь, я стала фанаткой сериалов Клубника поверх торта, Принцесса Лилифи, Мой маленький пони и, конечно же, Хелло Китти. В этом руководстве я помогу вам создать фанарт, полностью посвящённый Хелло Китти. Обожаю эту милую маленькую кошечку! Если каким-то чудом вы ещё не знаете, кто это - посмотрите на официальном сайте.

Хелло Китти - маленькая искательница веселья, она всегда изобретательна и любит игры.  Поэтому я решила изобразить её рядом с конфетной тележкой и шариками - маленькая сцена в парке развлечений. Как обычно, будем использовать базовые формы и эффекты деформации для её создания.

Не могу дождаться начала!

1. Рисуем голову и лицо

Шаг 1

Создав новый документ (Control-N), мы нарисуем голову кошечки. Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) нарисуйте эллипс с белым цветом заливки и чёрной обводкой. Теперь перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга. В новом диалоговом окне введите параметры как на картинке ниже:

creating the head 1

Шаг 2

Чтобы достичь идеальной формы головы, нам нужно немного её изменить. Перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга и введите параметры:

creating the head 2

Шаг 3

Голова готова, добавим глаза. Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) нарисуйте два эллипса с чёрной заливкой и без обводки.

Теперь снова выберите чёрный цвет обводки и жёлтый цвет заливки (R=245 G=237 B=96) и нарисуйте нос.

creating the face

Шаг 4

Теперь нарисуем ухо. Убедитесь, что цвет заливки до сих пор белый, а обводки - чёрный и Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) нарисуйте эллипс.

Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) выделите правую и левую опорные точки. Сместите их слегка вниз, и у вас получится форма яйца. Помните об этом простом действии для ваших будущих проектов - к примеру, когда будете создавать что-то на тему Пасхи. 

creating the ear

Шаг 5

Но вернёмся к Хелло Китти. Поверните только что созданное ухо влево и расположите его, как показано ниже. Не забудьте разместить это ухо за головой (Control-X, Control-B).

Выделите ухо и выберите Инструмент "Зеркальное отражение" (О). Удерживая клавишу Alt, кликните на середине лица. Вы только что создали отражение уха.  В новом диалоговом окне отметьте Вертикально, Угол 90 градусов и нажмите Копировать.

placing the ears

Шаг 6

Удалите цвет заливки и посмотрите на панель Обводки. Отметьте галочкой Скруглённые концы. Затем Карандашом (N) нарисуйте три вибрисса на левой стороне лица.  Выделите вибриссы и нажмите на Инструмент "Зеркальное отражение" (О). Создайте вертикальное отражение, как вы делали ранее с ушами.

Если вы не знакомы с Карандашом (N), можете использовать Инструмент "Отрезок линии" (\) для рисования вибриссов, а затем передвиньте указатели Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) для получения желаемого результата. 

creating the whiskers

2. Создаём бантик

Шаг 1

Сохраняя цвет обводки чёрным, выберите цвет заливки R=218 G=30 B=74. Создайте круг. Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) выделите верхнюю и нижнюю опорные точки и сдвиньте их вправо. Это - левая часть бантика.

creating the left part of the bow

Шаг 2

Нарисуйте ещё один круг, как показано на картинке ниже. Затем сделайте вертикальное отражение левой стороны бантика для создания правой стороны бантика, так же как вы делали это для ушей и вибриссов. 

creating the right part of the bow and the middle part

Шаг 3

Поместив два эллипса между средним кругом, левой и правой частями бантика, вы создадите завершённый вид. Сгруппируйте бантик (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать).

completing creating the bow

Шаг 4

Поместите бантик на правое ухо кошечки.

placing the bow on the head

3. Создаём платье

Шаг 1

Начнём с шеи. Нарисуйте круг под головой с белой заливкой и чёрной обводкой. 

creating the neck

Шаг 2

Теперь возьмите Пипетку (I) и кликните на бантике. Вы получите такой же красный цвет. Этим цветом вам нужно нарисовать платье. Инструментом "Прямоугольник" (М) создайте прямоугольник и введите опции, приведённые ниже:

creating the dress 1

Шаг 3

Снова измените его:

creating the dress 2

Шаг 4

Поместите платье под шею кошечки.

placing the dress

4. Создаём ноги

Шаг 1

Чтобы создать ногу, начнём с эллипса. Вы уже должны знать, какой инструмент мы будем для этого использовать! Выберите Инструмент "Прямое выделение" (А) и кликните прямо на обводке, после чего вы увидите указатели. Двигайте их до получения результата, который вы видите на картинке ниже. После этого сделайте вертикальное отражения для создания ещё одной ноги.

creating the legs

Шаг 2

Расположите ноги на своих местах.

placing the legs

5. Создаём руки

Шаг 1

Нам нужно повернуть эллипс и маленький круг, чтобы сделать руку. Выберите эти две фигуры и на панели Обработки контуров (Окно > Обработка контуров) нажмите кнопку Объединить.

creating the arm

Шаг 2

Расположите руку на левой стороне тела за платьем. Затем сделайте вертикальное отражения для создания другой руки.

placing the arms

6. Создаём конфетную тележку

Шаг 1

Измените цвет заливки на  R=245 G=237 B=96, кликните на Инструменте "Прямоугольник" (М) и нарисуйте прямоугольник. Добавьте узкий розовый прямоугольник в нижней части (цвет заливки R=247 G=170 B=188). Верните предыдущую жёлтую заливку и Инструментом "Скруглённый прямоугольник" добавьте маленький скруглённый прямоугольник. Поместите его за двумя предыдущими прямоугольниками (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the base of the candy cart

Шаг 2

Теперь нарисуем колесо. Создайте два круга - маленький поверх большого - и установите цвет заливки на R=163 G=165 B=16. Перейдите на панель Обработки контуров (Окно > Обработка контуров) и нажмите кнопку Исключение.

creating the wheel of the candy cart 1

Шаг 3

Добавьте маленький круг в середине. Чтобы разместить его точно в середине, выделите все круги и на панели Выравнивание (Окно > Выравнивание) нажмите на кнопки Центр горизонтального выравнивания и Центр вертикального выравнивания.

Затем удалите цвет заливки и нарисуйте линию Инструментом "Отрезок линии" (\). Расположите эту линию на заднем плане (Control-X, Control-B).

Выделите её и нажмите на Инструмент "Поворот" (R), одновременно нажмите клавишу Enter на клавиатуре. В новом диалоговом окне введите Угол 45 градусов и нажмите Копировать. Нажимая Control-D, повторите последнее действие. Остановитесь, когда заполните колесо.

Сгруппируйте всё колесо (right-click > Group).

creating the wheel of the candy cart 2

Шаг 4

Расположите колесо на тележке.

placing the wheel

Шаг 5

Теперь нарисуем декорации тележки. Пипеткой (I) выберите цвет заливки колеса и нарисуйте маленький круг. Удерживая клавиши Shift и Alt, начните двигать круг. У вас должно получиться два круга. Нажимайте Control-D, пока у вас не появится линия из кругов.

После этого удалите цвет заливки и с обводкой любого цвета нарисуйте прямоугольник точно так, как он показан на картинке внизу. Выделите этот прямоугольник и все зелёные кружки. Нажмите Кадрировать на панели Обработки контуров.

Выделите результат, т.к. теперь нам нужно привести его в порядок. Перейдите в Объект > Контур > Вычистить. Убедитесь, что все поля отмечены галочками, и нажмите ОК. Наконец, Инструментом "Пипетка" (I) выберите цвет колеса.

creating the decorations for the candy cart

Шаг 6

Расположите эту декорацию, как показано на картинке ниже. Добавьте два розовых вертикальных прямоугольника (R=247 G=170 B=188).

placing the decorations

Шаг 7

Нарисуем ручку. Она будет состоять из крошечного жёлтого прямоугольника (R=245 G=237 B=96) и скруглённого розового (R=247 G=170 B=188) прямоугольника.

continuing creating the candy cart

Шаг 8

Давайте установим крышу над тележкой. Нарисуйте прямоугольник с белой заливкой и чёрной обводкой. После этого удалите цвет обводки и измените цвет заливки на R=218 G=30 B=74.

Нарисуйте прямоугольник как тот, что на картинке внизу. Скопируйте его, удерживая Shift-Alt и двигая вправо, как мы делали ранее. Несколько раз нажмите Control-D. Убедитесь, что красные прямоугольники расположены в центре белого. Выделите весь объект и сгруппируйте его (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать). Перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Арка и введите следующие параметры:

creating the roof of the candy cart

Шаг 9

Возьмите зелёную декорацию, которую вы создали ранее, скопируйте её и присоедините к крыше. Затем измените цвет заливки декорации на чередующиеся красный и белый. Пипеткой (I) установите правильный цвет.

creating the decorations for the roof

Шаг 10

Поместите крышу на верхушку тележки. Вуаля! Она готова!

placing the decorated roof

7. Создаём мороженое

Шаг 1

Один большой оранжевый круг и три маленьких круга внизу помогут нам создать мороженое. Цвет заливки R=250 G=166 B=52. Выделите всё и на панели Обработки контуров нажмите Объединить.

creating the top of the ice cream

Шаг 2

Переходим к рожку. Оставив цвет обводки чёрным, создайте треугольник. Сначала установите цвет заливки на R=187 G=129 B=59, затем выберите Инструмент "Многоугольник" и кликните на монтажной области. В новом диалоговом окне установите 3 стороны и нажмите ОК. Радиус не имеет значения.

Сделав Горизонтальное отражение, переверните треугольник и слегка растяните его. Теперь нужно сделать скруглённые углы. Перейдите в Эффект > Стилизация > Скруглённые углы. В новом окне введите Радиус 10 пикселей и нажмите ОК.

Сконцентрируемся на панели Оформление. Кликните на крошечный треугольник в верхнем правом углу в выпадающем меню, выберите Добавить новую заливку. Теперь посмотрите на панель Образцы. Перейдите в Образцы > Узоры > Базовая графика > Базовая графика_текстуры и выберите узор Алмаз для новой заливки. Установите Непрозрачность на Рассеянный свет.

creating the cone of the ice cream

Шаг 3

Сделайте несколько разных вкусов мороженого, сочетая разные цвета верхушек с рожками. Я выбрала голубой (R=164 G=215 B=244) и зелёный (R=163 G=165 B=16) цвета.

creating different colors of ice creams

8. Создаём сладкую вату

Шаг 1

После создания круга (R=183 G=0 B=80) перейдите в Объект > Контур > Добавить опорные точки. У вас появится ещё четыре опорные точки, как на картинке ниже (второй круг). Затем перейдите в Эффект > Исказить и трансформировать > Втягивание и раздувание и установите ползунок на 13%.

creating the cotton candy

Шаг 2

Добавьте крошечный узкий скруглённый прямоугольник Инструментом "Скруглённый прямоугольник" (цвет заливки R=187 G=129 B=59) и ещё одну часть сладкой ваты светло-розового цвета (R=247 G=170 B=188). Но они не должны парить в воздухе, верно? Добавим палочку путём создания жёлтого прямоугольника (R=245 G=237 B=96).

creating another cotton candy

9. Размещаем мороженое и сладкую вату на тележке

Расположите все элементы на своих местах или так, как вам нравится!

placing all the items on the candy cart

10. Создаём банку с чупа-чупсами

Шаг 1

Установите цвет заливки на R=164 G=215 B=244 и нарисуйте скруглённый прямоугольник. Добавьте ещё один на верхушке. Затем нарисуйте эллипс позади них и маленький круг наверху. Банка готова!

creating the jar

Шаг 2

Для нашего чупа-чупса нарисуйте розовый (R=247 G=170 B=188) круг и узкий скруглённый прямоугольник, как вы делали для сладкой ваты. Добавьте новую заливку, как для рожка для мороженого (Образцы > Узоры > Базовая графика > Базовая графика_линии  и выберите 10 точек на дюйм 50%). Установите Непрозрачность на Перекрытие.

creating the lollipop

Шаг 3

Изменяя цвет заливки, сделайте разные вкусы чупа-чупсов. Но здесь будьте осторожны: на панели Оформление вам понадобится выделить нижний слой и просто изменить его, а не заполнить линиями. Я выбрала ярко-розовый (R=198 G=0 B=111) и оранжевый (R=250 G=166 B=52).

creating different colors of the lollipop

Шаг 4

Положите чупа-чупсы в банку.

placing the lollipops in the jar

Шаг 5

Поставьте банку на тележку.

placing the jur on the candy cart

11. Создаём шарики

Шаг 1

Нарисуйте голубой эллипс Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) и установите цвет заливки на R=164 G=215 B=244. Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) выделите левую и правую опорные точки и сдвиньте их вниз. Создайте круг наверху размером гораздо больше. Мы только что создали шарик!

creating the blue balloon

Шаг 2

Таким же образом создайте ещё два шарика разных цветов. Я выбрала R=245 G=237 B=96 для жёлтого и R=247 G=170 B=188 для розового.

creating another colors balloons

Шаг 3

Разместите все шарики рядом с тележкой. Ниточки шариков мы создадим Инструментом "Отрезок линии" (\). Выберите его на панели Инструментов и нарисуйте линию. Выберите Инструмент "Прямое выделение" (А) и, передвигая опорные точки и указатели, растяните эту линию: одним концом - к шарику, другим - к тележке.

Затем нарисуйте ещё одну линию и протяните одну опорную точку к шарику, а другую - к тележке. Повторите это для последнего шарика. Не забудьте разместить все нитки позади шариков (Control-X, Control-B).

placing the balloons on the candy cart

12. Располагаем всё вместе и создаём фон

Шаг 1

Сгруппируйте Хелло Китти для удобства (щелчок правой кнопкой > Сгруппировать) и поместите её рядом с тележкой.

placing all the elements together

Шаг 2

Нарисуйте квадрат на фоне с цветом заливки R=253 G=234 B=237 размером 600 пикселей в ширину и высоту. Убедитесь, что фон находится позади всего остального (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the background 1

Шаг 3

Добавьте новую заливку фону, как вы делали это для чупа-чупсов и рожков (Образцы > Узоры > Базовая графика > Базовая графика_точки и выберите 6 точек на дюйм 20%). Установите Непрозрачность на Рассеянный свет. Вы это сделали! Иллюстрация готова!

creating the background 2

Вывод

Ура! Мы проделали большую работу, но вы справились. Если вы не любили Хелло Китти раньше, надеюсь, теперь полюбите.

Final Hello Kitty image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

How to Create the Hello Kitty Character in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

As I have a little daughter, I've become a fan of Strawberry Shortcake, Lillifee, My Little Pony, and of course, Hello Kitty. This tutorial will help you create a piece of fan art, totally dedicated to Hello Kitty. I adore this cute little kitten! If, by some horrible mistake, you still don't know who Hello Kitty is—check out the official website.

Hello Kitty is a little explorer of fun and joy, and she is always creative and a game lover. That's why I decided to present her with candy cart and balloons—a little scene at the amusement park. As always, we will use basic shapes and warp effects to complete this scene.

Can't wait to start with you!

1. Drawing the Head and Face

Step 1

After creating a new document (Control-N), we will draw the head of our little kitten. Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and draw an ellipse with white fill color and black stroke. Now, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below:

creating the head 1

Step 2

To achieve the perfect shape of the head, we still need to warp a little more. Go to Effect > Warp > Arc, and enter the options:

creating the head 2

Step 3

Now the head is ready, so let’s add two eyes. With the help of the Ellipse Tool (L), draw two ellipses with black fill color and no stroke.

Then again, choose a black stroke color and yellow (R=245 G=237 B=96) fill color, and draw a nose.

creating the face

Step 4

Now we will draw the ear. Make sure that you still have a white fill color and black stroke color; using the Ellipse Tool (L), draw an ellipse. 

Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the right and left anchor points. Shift them down a little bit, and you will get an egg shape. Remember this simple movement for your future projects—for example, when you create something with an Easter theme.

creating the ear

Step 5

But now let's return to Hello Kitty. Rotate the ear you created in the previous step to the left, and place it as shown below. Do not forget to place this ear behind the head (Control-X, Control-B). 

Keep the ear selected and take the Reflect Tool (O); while holding the Alt key, click the middle of the face. You just created a reflection of the ear. In the new dialogue window, check Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. Move the right ear to the right side of the head.

placing the ears

Step 6

Delete the fill color and look at the Stroke panel. Check off Round Cap. Then using the Pencil Tool (N), draw three whiskers on the left side of the face. Keep the whiskers selected and hit the Reflect Tool (O). Make a vertical reflection as you did before with the ears. 

If you're not familiar with the Pencil Tool (N), you can use the Line Segment Tool (\) for drawing the whiskers and then move the handles using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to achieve the result you want.

creating the whiskers

2. Creating the Bow

Step 1

Keep the black stroke color and choose the fill color R=218 G=30 B=74. Create a circle. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the top and bottom anchor points and shift them to the right. That is the left part of the bow.

creating the left part of the bow

Step 2

Draw one more circle as shown in the image below. Then make a vertical reflection of the left side of the bow to create the right side of the bow, just as you did for the ears and whiskers.

creating the right part of the bow and the middle part

Step 3

Placing two ellipses between the middle circle and the left and right parts of the bow will complete the whole bow. Group it (right-click > Group).

completing creating the bow

Step 4

Place the bow on the right ear of the kitten.

placing the bow on the head

3. Creating the Dress

Step 1

Let’s start with the neck. Draw a circle under the head with white fill color and black stroke.

creating the neck

Step 2

Now take the Eye Dropper Tool (I) and click on the bow. You will get the same red color. With this color, you need to draw a dress. So take the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a rectangle, and then enter the options you see below:

creating the dress 1

Step 3

And warp it again:

creating the dress 2

Step 4

Place the dress under the neck of the kitten.

placing the dress

4. Creating the Legs

Step 1

To create the leg, we will start from an ellipse. You should already know which tool to use to create this! Now, take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and click directly on the stroke, and you will see handles. Move them to achieve the result which you see in the image below. After that, make a vertical reflection to create another leg.

creating the legs

Step 2

Put the legs in their place.

placing the legs

5. Creating the Arms

Step 1

We will need a rotated ellipse and a little circle to make the arm. Select these two shapes and on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder), press the Unite button.

creating the arm

Step 2

Place the arm on the left side of the body, but under the dress. Then make a vertical reflection to create another arm.

placing the arms

6. Creating the Candy Cart

Step 1

Change the fill color to R=245 G=237 B=96, click the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a rectangle. Add a narrow pink rectangle on the bottom (fill color R=247 G=170 B=188). Return to the previous yellow fill color and using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, add a small rounded rectangle. Place it behind the two previous rectangles (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the base of the candy cart

Step 2

Let's draw the wheel now. Create two circles, a small one over the bigger one, and set the fill color to R=163 G=165 B=16. Go to the Pathfinder (Window > Pathfinder) panel and press the Exclude button.

creating the wheel of the candy cart 1

Step 3

Add a small circle in the middle. To place it exactly in the middle, select all the circles and on the Align panel (Window > Align) press the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons. 

Then delete the fill color and draw a line using the Line Segment Tool (\). Place this line behind (Control-X, Control-B). 

Keep it selected and press the Rotate Tool (R), and at the same time press the Enter key on your keyboard. In the new dialogue window, enter Angle 45 degrees and press Copy. Keep pressing Control-D on your keyboard to repeat the last movement. Stop when you have filled the wheel.

Group the whole wheel (right-click > Group).

creating the wheel of the candy cart 2

Step 4

Place the wheel on the cart.

placing the wheel

Step 5

Now we will draw decorations for the candy cart. Using the Eye Dropper Tool (I), take the fill color from the wheel and draw a small circle. While holding down the Shift and Alt buttons, start moving the circle. You should get two circles. Then keep pressing Control-D until you have a line of circles.

After that, delete the fill color and with any stroke color, draw a rectangle exactly the way it is shown in the image below. Select this rectangle and all the green circles. Press Crop in Pathfinder

Keep your result selected, because now we need to clean it. Go to Object > Path > Clean Up. Be sure that all fields are checked and press OK. And finally, using the Eye Dropper Tool (I), take the same color from the wheel.

creating the decorations for the candy cart

Step 6

Position this decoration as shown in the image below. Add two pink vertical rectangles (R=247 G=170 B=188).

placing the decorations

Step 7

Let's draw the handle. A tiny yellow rectangle (R=245 G=237 B=96) and a rounded pink (R=247 G=170 B=188) rectangle will create the handle.

continuing creating the candy cart

Step 8

Let's place a roof on the candy cart. Start with white fill color and black stroke and draw a rectangle. After that, delete the stroke color and change the fill color to R=218 G=30 B=74

Draw a rectangle like the one in the image below. Duplicate it by holding down Shift-Alt and moving it to the right at the same time, as we did before. Press Control-D a few times. Make sure that the red rectangles are in the middle of the white one. Select the whole thing and group it (right-click > Group). Go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options:

creating the roof of the candy cart

Step 9

Take the green decorations you made for the candy cart before, make another copy and attach it to the roof. Then change the fill color of the decoration to alternating red and white. Use the Eye Dropper Tool (I) to set the right color.

creating the decorations for the roof

Step 10

Place the roof on the top of the candy cart. Voila! it is ready!

placing the decorated roof

7. Creating the Ice Cream

Step 1

One large orange circle and three little circles at the bottom will help us start creating our ice cream. The fill color is R=250 G=166 B=52. Select all of them and in Pathfinder, press Unite.

creating the top of the ice cream

Step 2

Let’s move on to the cone. Keep the black stroke color and create a triangle. First, set the fill color to R=187 G=129 B=59, and then take the Polygon Tool and click on your art board. In the new dialogue window, make 3 Sides and click OK. The radius doesn't matter. 

By making a Horizontal reflection, reflect the triangle upside down and stretch it a little. Now we need to make rounded corners. So go to Effect > Stylize > Round Corners. In the new window, enter Radius 10 px and click OK.

Let's concentrate on the Appearance panel. Click on the tiny triangle on the top right corner and in the pop-up menu, select Add New Fill. Now look at the Swatches panel. Go to Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Textures and select the Diamond pattern for this new fill. Set the Opacity to Soft Light.

creating the cone of the ice cream

Step 3

Make few different flavors of the ice cream by combining different colors of scoops with cones. I chose blue (R=164 G=215 B=244) and green (R=163 G=165 B=16) colors.

creating different colors of ice creams

8. Creating the Cotton Candy

Step 1

After you've created a circle (R=183 G=0 B=80), go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. You will get four more anchor points like in the image below (the second circle). Then go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Pucker & Bloat and set the slider to 13%.

creating the cotton candy

Step 2

Add a tiny, narrow rounded rectangle using the Rounded Rectangle Tool (fill color R=187 G=129 B=59). And one more piece of cotton candy with a lighter pink color (R=247 G=170 B=188). But they shouldn't fly in midair, right? So let's add a stick—with a yellow (R=245 G=237 B=96) rectangle.

creating another cotton candy

9. Placing the Ice Creams and Cotton Candies on the Candy Cart

Put all the elements in their places. Or position them as you like!

placing all the items on the candy cart

10. Creating a Jar With Lollipops

Step 1

Set the fill color to R=164 G=215 B=244 and draw a rounded rectangle. Add one more on top. Then draw an ellipse behind them and a small circle on the top. The jar is ready!

creating the jar

Step 2

For our lollipop, draw a pink (R=247 G=170 B=188) circle and a narrow rounded rectangle, as you did for the cotton candy. Add a new fill as you did for the ice-cream cone (Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Lines and select the 10 dpi 50%). Set the Opacity to Overlay.

creating the lollipop

Step 3

Make different flavors of the lollipop by changing the fill color. But be careful here: on the Appearance panel, you need to select the bottom layer and just change that, not the fill with lines. I chose hot pink (R=198 G=0 B=111) and orange (R=250 G=166 B=52).

creating different colors of the lollipop

Step 4

Now put the lollipops in the jar.

placing the lollipops in the jar

Step 5

Place that jar on the candy cart.

placing the jur on the candy cart

11. Creating the Balloons

Step 1

Draw a blue ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L), and set the fill color to  R=164 G=215 B=244. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the left and right anchor points, and move them down. Create a circle on top, much bigger. We just created a balloon!

creating the blue balloon

Step 2

Using the same process, create two more balloons of different colors. I chose R=245 G=237 B=96 for the yellow one and R=247 G=170 B=188 for the pink.

creating another colors balloons

Step 3

Place all the balloons close to the candy cart. To create a string for the balloons, we will use the Line Segment Tool (\). Choose that tool on your Tools panel and draw a line. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and, by moving the anchor points and handles, stretch this line: one end to one balloon, the other to the candy cart. 

Then draw another line and move one anchor point to the balloon, and the other to the candy cart. Repeat this with the last balloon. Don't forget to place all the strings behind the balloons (Control-X, Control-B).

placing the balloons on the candy cart

12. Placing It All Together and Creating the Background

Step 1

Group Hello Kitty for convenience (right-click > Group), and place her close to the candy cart.

placing all the elements together

Step 2

Draw a square for the background, with the fill color R=253 G=234 B=237 and at size 600 px in width and height. Be sure that the background is behind everything (Control-X, Control-B).

creating the background 1

Step 3

Add a new fill to the background as you did for the lollipops and ice cream cones (Swatches > Patterns > Basic Graphics > Basic Graphics_Dots and select the 6 dpi 20%). Set the Opacity to Soft Light. You’ve done it! The illustration is now ready!

creating the background 2

Conclusion

Hooray! Today’s was a huge job, but you've made it. If you didn’t like Hello Kitty before, I hope you will now.

Final Hello Kitty image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.