1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe Illustrator

Wie kann man einen Graspinsel in Illustrator erstellen und anwenden?

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Katharina Grigorovich-Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Wenn Sie einen Graspinsel erstellen möchten, ist Illustrator der richtige Weg, und ich zeige Ihnen, wie einfach es sein kann. Wenn Sie nur drei einfache Illustrator-Pinsel verwenden und die Funktionsweise der Einstellungen verstehen, können Sie alles von minimalem Gras bis hin zu ziemlich realistisch aussehendem Gras erstellen. Ich werde Sie Schritt für Schritt begleiten, um dies zu erreichen. Lassen Sie uns beginnen!

Wenn Sie mehr Inspiration und Ressourcen benötigen, um Ihre Illustrationen zu verbessern, besuchen Sie GraphicRiver, wo Sie viele Illustrator-Pinsel, Vektoren und andere schöne Illustrationen finden, die Sie verwenden können.

Was werden Sie in diesem Graspinsel-Tutorial lernen? 

  • Wie kann man einen Pinsel mit einfachen Formen und Werkzeugen in Illustrator erstellen? 
  • Wie kann man einen Graspinsel in Illustrator speichern? 
  • Wie kann man einen Graspinsel anwenden und die Streupinsel-Einstellungen verstehen?
  • Wie kann man natürliches, realistisches Gras mit drei einfachen Illustrator-Pinseln erstellen? 
  • Wie können Sie Ihre Gesamtdarstellungen verbessern? 

Tutorial-Assets

Um das Tutorial abzuschließen, benötigen Sie die folgenden Assets:

1. Wie kann man ein neues Dokument öffnen? 

Starten Sie Illustrator und gehen Sie zu Datei > Neu, um ein schwarzes Dokument zu öffnen. Geben Sie einen Namen für Ihre Datei ein, legen Sie die Abmessungen fest und wählen Sie dann Pixel als Einheiten und RGB als Farbmodus.

Gehen Sie als Nächstes zu Bearbeiten > Einstellungen > Allgemein und stellen Sie das Tastaturinkrement auf 1 px ein. Gehen Sie dort zu Einheiten, um sicherzustellen, dass sie wie in der folgenden Abbildung eingestellt sind. Normalerweise arbeite ich mit diesen Einstellungen und sie werden Ihnen während des gesamten Zeichenprozesses helfen.

how to open a new document in illustrator how to open a new document in illustrator how to open a new document in illustrator

2. Wie kann man einen Graspinsel in Illustrator erstellen? 

Schritt 1

Einen Pinsel in Illustrator zu erstellen ist ziemlich einfach. Es beginnt mit der Definition eines Objekts, in diesem Fall eines einzelnen Grashalms. Kopien dieses Objekts werden entlang eines Weges verteilt und wir werden wunderschönes Gras erhalten.

Schnappen Sie sich das Zeichenstift-Werkzeug (P) und zeichnen Sie eine Form wie im Bild unten als erstes Gras. Verwenden Sie ein 20 x 320 px großes Rechteck als Größenreferenz und machen Sie diese Form ungefähr gleich groß. Auf diese Weise funktionieren die Einstellungen, die wir später im Tutorial vornehmen, auch für Sie und Sie erhalten ein ähnliches Ergebnis.

how to make a brush in illustrator to create grasshow to make a brush in illustrator to create grasshow to make a brush in illustrator to create grass

Schritt 2

Lassen Sie uns ein weiteres Stück Gras zeichnen und es etwas anders machen als das erste. Beachten Sie, dass dieser mehr gekrümmt ist.

how to make a brush in illustrator to create curved grasshow to make a brush in illustrator to create curved grasshow to make a brush in illustrator to create curved grass

Schritt 3

Das dritte Grasstück hat eine gebogene Spitze, die nach rechts zeigt, und wir werden dieses verwenden, um dem Gras Details hinzuzufügen.

how to make a brush in illustrator to create bent grasshow to make a brush in illustrator to create bent grasshow to make a brush in illustrator to create bent grass

3. Wie kann man einen Pinsel in Illustrator speichern? 

Schritt 1

Wählen Sie das erste Grasstück aus und drücken Sie unten im Pinsel-Bedienfeld auf „Neuer Pinsel“. Wählen Sie Streupinsel und klicken Sie auf OK, um das Fenster mit den Streupinsel-Optionen zu öffnen. Geben Sie dort einfach "Grass Brush 1" als Namen ein und wählen Sie als Einfärbung-Methode Farbtöne aus. Lassen Sie die restlichen Einstellungen vorerst unverändert und klicken Sie auf OK.

how to save a brush in illustrator to create grasshow to save a brush in illustrator to create grasshow to save a brush in illustrator to create grass

Schritt 2

Wählen Sie nun das zweite Grasstück aus, ziehen Sie es in das Pinsel-Bedienfeld und speichern Sie es als „Graspinsel 2“.

how to save a grass brush in illustratorhow to save a grass brush in illustratorhow to save a grass brush in illustrator

Schritt 3

Wiederholen Sie das gleiche für die dritte gezeichnete Form und speichern Sie sie als "Grass Brush 3".

how to save a scatter brush in illustratorhow to save a scatter brush in illustratorhow to save a scatter brush in illustrator

Schritt 4

Hier sind die drei einfachen Illustrator-Pinsel, gespeichert und einsatzbereit. Sie sollten ungefähr die gleiche Größe haben, aber etwas unterschiedlich sein, da dies uns am Ende ein realistischeres Aussehen verleiht.

Sind drei verschiedene Graspinsel wirklich notwendig? Die Antwort ist nein. Um schnelles, minimales Gras zu erreichen, sollte man normalerweise ausreichen. Wenn Sie jedoch in Ihren Illustrationen einen realistischen, zufälligen und natürlichen Look erzielen möchten, sind diese drei Illustrator-Pinsel genau das Richtige.

how to make illustrator brushes to create vector grasshow to make illustrator brushes to create vector grasshow to make illustrator brushes to create vector grass

4. Wie kann man Illustrator-Pinsel zum Erstellen von mittlerem Gras verwenden? 

Schritt 1

Nehmen Sie das Liniensegment-Werkzeug (\) und zeichnen Sie auf Ihrer Zeichenfläche einen geraden Pfad mit einer Länge von 2000 px. Streichen Sie es mit dem Graspinsel 1, indem Sie es einfach aus dem Pinsel-Bedienfeld auswählen, und halten Sie die Konturstärke bei 1 pt. Sie erhalten das Ergebnis aus dem Bild unten, wobei die Grashalme gleichmäßig über den Weg verteilt sind, aber das ist nicht genau das, was wir brauchen. Hier spielen die Einstellungen für Größe, Abstand, Streuung und Drehung eine große Rolle.

how to apply a brush in illustrator to make grasshow to apply a brush in illustrator to make grasshow to apply a brush in illustrator to make grass

Schritt 2

Öffnen Sie bei ausgewähltem Pfad das Fenster Konturoptionen, indem Sie auf den Pinsel doppelklicken, der im Aussehen-Bedienfeld angewendet wurde.

  • Größe steuert die Größe des Objekts. Wählen Sie „Zufällig“ und stellen Sie ihn dann zwischen 80% und 100% ein, da wir dadurch Grasstücke unterschiedlicher Größe erhalten.
  • Abstand steuert den Abstand zwischen Objekten. Wählen Sie „Zufällig“ und stellen Sie einen Wert zwischen 25% und 5% ein, um mehr Grasstücke entlang des Pfads zu erhalten.
  • Streuung steuert, wie nah Objekte dem Pfad unabhängig auf jeder Seite des Pfads folgen. Je höher der Wert, desto weiter sind die Objekte vom Pfad entfernt. Wählen Sie erneut Zufällig und legen Sie die Werte zwischen 5% und -15% fest.
  • Drehung steuert den Drehwinkel der Objekte. Wählen Sie Zufällig und legen Sie die Werte auf -10 Grad bis 10 Grad fest. Beachten Sie, wie das Gras jetzt natürlicher aussieht, und wir sind auf dem richtigen Weg.
how to make grass in illustrator with a scatter brushhow to make grass in illustrator with a scatter brushhow to make grass in illustrator with a scatter brush

Schritt 3

Lassen Sie denselben Pfad ausgewählt und klicken Sie unten im Aussehen-Bedienfeld auf Neue Kontur hinzufügen, um ein zweites Kontur-Attribut über dem vorhandenen hinzuzufügen. Verwenden Sie Graspinsel 2, indem Sie ihn im Pinsel-Bedienfeld auswählen, und behalten Sie die Konturstärke bei 1 pt.

Öffnen Sie das Fenster Kontur-Optionen und ändern Sie die Einstellungen wie gezeigt. Aus optischen Gründen habe ich die Konturfarbe in Blau geändert, damit Sie besser sehen können, wie die verschiedenen Einstellungen zu einem unterschiedlichen Ergebnis führen.

how to create fuller grass in illustrator with a scatter brushhow to create fuller grass in illustrator with a scatter brushhow to create fuller grass in illustrator with a scatter brush

Schritt 4

Drücken Sie, während der Pfad noch ausgewählt ist, erneut auf Neue Kontur hinzufügen, um ein drittes Kontur-Attribut oben im Aussehen-Bedienfeld hinzuzufügen. Verwenden Sie Grass Brush 3 und ändern Sie dann die Einstellungen wie gezeigt. Beachten Sie, dass die Abstand-Werte dieses Mal größer sind, da wir weniger gebogene Grasstücke im Design haben möchten, mit nur wenigen Stücken, um ein natürliches Aussehen zu erzielen.

how to create more grass with an illustrator scatter brushhow to create more grass with an illustrator scatter brushhow to create more grass with an illustrator scatter brush

5. Wie kann man mit Illustrator-Pinseln hohes Gras erstellen? 

Verwenden Sie das Liniensegment-Werkzeug (\), um einen weiteren geraden Pfad mit einer Länge von 2000 px zu zeichnen. Fügen Sie drei Konturattribute hinzu und verwenden Sie die drei Graspinsel wie zuvor. Halten Sie das Konturstärke für alle bei 1 pt.

Um höheres Gras zu erhalten, müssen wir mit den Streuung-Einstellungen spielen. Je größer die Werte, desto weiter entfernen sich die Grasstücke vom Pfad, was am Ende den Eindruck von höherem Gras erzeugt.

how to make grass using illustrator brusheshow to make grass using illustrator brusheshow to make grass using illustrator brushes

Hier sind die Einstellungen für Graspinsel 1, Graspinsel 2 und Graspinsel 3 in der Reihenfolge:

settings for grass illustrator brushessettings for grass illustrator brushessettings for grass illustrator brushes

6. Wie kann man Illustrator-Pinsel zum Erstellen von gemischtem Gras verwenden? 

Schritt 1

Verwenden Sie das Liniensegment-Werkzeug (\), um auf Ihrer Zeichenfläche einen neuen Pfad mit einer Länge von 2000 px zu zeichnen. Fügen Sie wie zuvor drei Kontur-Attribute hinzu und verwenden Sie die drei Graspinsel separat. Halten Sie das Konturstärke für alle bei 1 pt.

Alle Einstellungen sind wichtig, um gemischtes, zufälliges Gras zu erstellen, da sie variiert werden müssen, aber die wichtigsten sind Streuung und Drehung. Dadurch erhalten wir zufällig verteilte Grasstücke, die in einem größeren Winkel als zuvor gedreht wurden.

how to make grass using illustrator scatter brusheshow to make grass using illustrator scatter brusheshow to make grass using illustrator scatter brushes

Hier sind die Einstellungen für die drei Illustrator-Pinsel:

settings for grass illustrator scatter brushessettings for grass illustrator scatter brushessettings for grass illustrator scatter brushes

Schritt 2

Schauen wir uns noch einmal die Grasarten an, die wir mit verschiedenen Einstellungen erstellt haben. Um zu demonstrieren, wie man sie verwendet, fügen wir Gras in eine schöne Illustration ein, aber Sie können sie auch in anderen Projekten verwenden.

Ich werde sie im nächsten Teil des Tutorials als "mittleres Gras"(1), "hohes Gras"(2) und "gemischtes Gras"(3) bezeichnen natürliches, realistisches Ergebnis.

how to use grass brush in illustrator to make medium tall and mixed grass how to use grass brush in illustrator to make medium tall and mixed grass how to use grass brush in illustrator to make medium tall and mixed grass

7. Wie kann man Vektorgras in Illustrator erstellen? 

Schritt 1

Diese fröhliche Baumillustration von Envato Elements ist perfekt für uns. Der Platz vor diesem wunderschönen Baum ist ideal für etwas Gras.

Öffnen Sie die Datei in Illustrator und bereinigen wir die Illustration ein wenig, indem wir einige der Pflanzen vor und um den Baum entfernen. Die Ebenen sind sehr gut organisiert und entsprechend benannt, sodass dies leicht zu bewerkstelligen ist.

how to open and prepare an illustration from Envato Elementshow to open and prepare an illustration from Envato Elementshow to open and prepare an illustration from Envato Elements

Schritt 2

Schnappen Sie sich "mittleres Gras" und ordnen Sie es unten auf der Zeichenfläche an, wie in der Abbildung unten gezeigt. Der Pfad ist 2000 px lang, sollte also genau richtig passen (1).

Während der Pfad ausgewählt bleibt, gehen Sie zu Objekt  > Aussehen erweitern, um die Pinselkonturen in eine Gruppe einzelner, mit Schwarz gefüllter Grashalme zu verwandeln.

Sie werden feststellen, dass jedem Grashalm ein Rechteck ohne Kontur und ohne Füllung zugeordnet ist. Wir müssen alle vor dem Färben löschen. Verwenden Sie das Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A), um nur eines dieser Rechtecke (2) auszuwählen, und gehen Sie dann zu Auswählen > Gleich > Fläche und Kontur. Illustrator wählt automatisch alle Rechtecke für Sie aus; Drücken Sie einfach die Entf-Taste auf Ihrer Tastatur.

Jetzt können wir die Grasgruppe einfärben. Verwenden Sie einen linearen Verlauf von Hellgrün zu einem dunkleren Grün und stellen Sie den Winkel auf -90 Grad ein, damit die helle Farbe oben ist.

how to create the first row of grass with illustrator brusheshow to create the first row of grass with illustrator brusheshow to create the first row of grass with illustrator brushes

Schritt 3

Nehmen Sie als Nächstes "hohes Gras" und positionieren Sie den Pfad unten auf der Zeichenfläche. Schicken Sie es hinter die erste Grasgruppe. Gehen Sie zu Objekt > Aussehen erweitern und entfernen Sie dann alle leeren Rechtecke, die Sie nach dem Erweitern erhalten, genau wie im vorherigen Schritt. Danach können Sie die gesamte Gruppe mit dem linearen Verlauf in einem Winkel von -90 Grad einfärben.

how to make a second row of grass with illustrator brusheshow to make a second row of grass with illustrator brusheshow to make a second row of grass with illustrator brushes

Schritt 4

Kopieren Sie die zweite Grasgruppe und fügen Sie sie hinten ein (Strg-B) und erhöhen Sie das Gras, indem Sie den Begrenzungsrahmen mit dem Auswahl-Werkzeug (V) ziehen. Ändern Sie auch den Farbverlauf wie gezeigt in einen helleren. Unser Gras kommt schön zusammen, oder?

how to multiply the vector grass in illustratorhow to multiply the vector grass in illustratorhow to multiply the vector grass in illustrator

Schritt 5

Kopieren Sie die zweite Grasgruppe und fügen Sie sie vorne ein (Strg-F), und verkleinern Sie sie diesmal mit dem Auswahl-Werkzeug (V). Ändern Sie den vorhandenen Farbverlauf in einen viel dunkleren und beachten Sie, wie viel Tiefe dies im Design erzeugt.

how to make shadow grass in illustratorhow to make shadow grass in illustratorhow to make shadow grass in illustrator

Schritt 6

Nehmen Sie nun "gemischtes Gras" und ordnen Sie es nach dem Erweitern am unteren Rand der Zeichenfläche an, wie in der Abbildung unten gezeigt. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie es hinter alle anderen Gruppen im Ebenen-Bedienfeld senden und auch mit einem dunkleren Verlauf färben, um Schatten im Hintergrund zu erzeugen.

how to add more grass with illustrator brusheshow to add more grass with illustrator brusheshow to add more grass with illustrator brushes

Schritt 7

Wir haben die drei Grasarten erfolgreich in unserem Design verwendet. Alle Schichten und Verläufe, die wir verwendet haben, geben uns ein ziemlich natürliches Aussehen. Je mehr Ebenen Sie hinzufügen, desto realistischer wird das Endergebnis, aber übertreiben Sie es nicht.

Um das Design zu verbessern, fügen wir vorne kürzeres Gras hinzu. Wählen Sie die Gruppe "gemischtes Gras" aus dem vorherigen Schritt und dann Kopieren und Einfügen (Umschalt-Strg-V), um eine Kopie davon vor allem zu erstellen. Ordnen Sie es unter der Zeichenfläche so an, dass nur die Grasspitzen sichtbar sind.

Machen Sie eine weitere Kopie vor dieser Grasgruppe und verkleinern Sie sie mit dem Auswahl-Werkzeug (V). Ordnen Sie es in der Mitte der Zeichenfläche an und stellen Sie sicher, dass nur die Spitzen sichtbar sind. Färben Sie beide Gruppen mit dem linearen Verlauf, der in einem Winkel von -90 Grad angezeigt wird.

how to create short grass with illustrator brusheshow to create short grass with illustrator brusheshow to create short grass with illustrator brushes

Schritt 8

Es ist Zeit, die Illustration aufzuräumen. Verwenden Sie das Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A), um nur den Hintergrund auszuwählen, und dann Kopieren und Einfügen (Umschalt-Strg-V), um eine Kopie vor allem zu erstellen. Setzen Sie diese Kopie auf Kontur: keine und Füllung: keine.

Lassen Sie die Hintergrundkopie zusammen mit allen Grasgruppen ausgewählt und gehen Sie zu Objekt > Schnittmaske > Erstellen (Strg-7). Sieht toll aus, oder?

how to clean up the grass illustration how to clean up the grass illustration how to clean up the grass illustration

8. Wie kann man die Illustration verbessern? 

Schritt 1

Es ist immer eine gute Idee, das Gras dem Rest der Illustration anzupassen. Wenn Sie diese Technik verwenden, um Gras in Ihren anderen Projekten hinzuzufügen, empfehle ich dringend, diesen kleinen Trick zu verwenden.

Ich habe einige der Braun-/Rost-Farben in der Illustration mit dem Pipette-Werkzeug (I) abgetastet und mit diesen Farben zusammen mit Grün aus dem Gras zwei neue Verläufe erstellt. Nehmen Sie nun das Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A) und wählen Sie zufällig ein paar Grasstücke aus, die Sie mit den neuen Farbverläufen neu einfärben können. Das Ergebnis seht ihr im Bild unten.

how to recolor the grass in illustratorhow to recolor the grass in illustratorhow to recolor the grass in illustrator

Schritt 2

Sie können auch leicht einen vom Wind verwehten Look kreieren. Wählen Sie nur eine der höheren Grasgruppen aus Ihrem Design aus und gehen Sie zum Transformieren-Bedienfeld (Fenster  > Transformieren). Geben Sie 10 Grad in das Feld Verbiegen ein, und dies wird Ihr Gras ein wenig biegen, als ob der Wind weht.

how to create a wind-blown grass in illustratorhow to create a wind-blown grass in illustratorhow to create a wind-blown grass in illustrator

Schritt 3

Das gleiche können Sie für eine der kürzeren Grasgruppen vor der Abbildung tun. Wenden Sie einen Verbiegen-Wert von 10 Grad an, und Sie sind fertig.

how to make a wind-blown grass in illustratorhow to make a wind-blown grass in illustratorhow to make a wind-blown grass in illustrator

Herzliche Glückwünsche! Sie sind fertig

Hier ist die letzte Grasillustration. Jetzt wissen Sie, wie Sie in Illustrator einen Pinsel erstellen und damit schönes, natürliches Gras erstellen. Sie können diese Techniken in zukünftigen Projekten anwenden und in vielen anderen Illustrationen Gras hinzufügen.

Wenn Sie mehr Inspiration und Ressourcen benötigen, um Ihre Illustrationen zu verbessern, besuchen Sie GraphicRiver, wo Sie viele Illustrator-Pinsel, Vektoren und andere gebrauchsfertige Illustrationen finden.

grass brush illustrator tutorial final illustrationgrass brush illustrator tutorial final illustrationgrass brush illustrator tutorial final illustration

Erweitern Sie Ihre Zeichenfähigkeiten

Lernen und zeichnen Sie weiter mit diesen empfohlenen Tutorials, die viele andere nützliche Techniken erklären:

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe Illustrator
Design

How to Create and Apply a Grass Brush in Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

If you want to create a grass brush, Illustrator is the right way to go, and I will show you how easy it can be. Using only three simple Illustrator brushes and understanding how the settings work, you can create anything from minimal grass to pretty realistic-looking grass. I'll guide you step by step to achieve this. Let's start!

If you need more inspiration and resources to improve your illustrations, make sure to head over to GraphicRiver, where you'll find plenty of Illustrator Brushesvectors, and other beautiful illustrations ready to use.

What You Will Learn in This Grass Brush Tutorial

  • How to make a brush in Illustrator using simple shapes and tools
  • How to save a grass brush in Illustrator 
  • How to apply a grass brush and understand the Scatter Brush settings
  • How to create natural, realistic grass using three simple Illustrator brushes
  • How to improve your overall illustrations

Tutorial Assets

To complete the tutorial, you will need the following assets:

 1. How to Open a New Document

Launch Illustrator and go to File > New to open a black document. Type a name for your file, set the dimensions, and then select Pixels as Units and RGB as Color Mode

Next, go to Edit > Preferences > General and set the Keyboard Increment to 1 px and while there, go to Units to make sure they are set as in the following image. I usually work with these settings, and they will help you throughout the drawing process. 

how to open a new document in illustrator

2. How to Make a Grass Brush in Illustrator

Step 1 

Making a brush in Illustrator is pretty easy. It begins with defining an object, in this case a single blade of grass. Copies of this object will be dispersed along a path, and we will obtain beautiful grass. 

Grab the Pen Tool (P) and draw a shape like in the image below as the first piece of grass. Use a 20 x 320 px rectangle as a size reference and make this shape about the same size. This way, the settings we will apply later in the tutorial will work for you as well, and you'll obtain a similar result.

how to make a brush in illustrator to create grass

Step 2

Let's draw another piece of grass and make it a little different than the first. Notice that this one is more curved. 

how to make a brush in illustrator to create curved grass

Step 3

The third piece of grass has a bent tip pointing to the right, and we will use this one to add details to the grass.

how to make a brush in illustrator to create bent grass

3. How to Save a Brush in Illustrator

Step 1

Select the first piece of grass and press New Brush at the bottom of the Brushes panel. Choose Scatter Brush and hit OK to open the Scatter Brush Options window. There, just type "Grass Brush 1" as the name and select Tints as the Colorization Method. Leave the rest of the settings as they are for the moment, and hit OK

how to save a brush in illustrator to create grass

Step 2

Now, select the second piece of grass, drag it into the Brushes panel, and save it as "Grass Brush 2". 

how to save a grass brush in illustrator

Step 3

Repeat the same thing for the third shape you have drawn, and save it as "Grass Brush 3". 

how to save a scatter brush in illustrator

Step 4

Here are the three simple Illustrator brushes, saved and ready to be used. They should be about the same size but slightly different as this will give us a more realistic look in the end. 

Are three different grass brushes really necessary? The answer is no. To achieve quick, minimal grass, one should typically be enough. But if you want to achieve a realistic, random, and natural look in your illustrations, then these three Illustrator brushes are just the right thing. 

how to make illustrator brushes to create vector grass

4. How to Use Illustrator Brushes to Create Medium Grass

Step 1

Grab the Line Segment Tool (\) and draw a straight path on your artboard, 2000 px in length. Stroke it with the Grass Brush 1 by simply selecting it from the Brushes panel, and keep the Stroke Weight at 1 pt. You will get the result from the image below, with the blades of grass equally dispersed along the path, but this is not exactly what we need. This is where the Size, Spacing, Scatter, and Rotation settings play a major role. 

how to apply a brush in illustrator to make grass

Step 2

With the path still selected, open the Stroke Options window by double-clicking on the brush applied in the Appearance panel.

  • Size controls the size of the object. Choose Random and then set it between 80% and 100% as this will give us pieces of grass of different sizes.
  • Spacing controls the amount of space between objects. Choose Random and set it between 25% and 5% to obtain more pieces of grass along the path. 
  • Scatter controls how closely objects follow the path independently on each side of the path. The higher the value, the farther the objects are from the path. Choose Random again and set the values between 5% and -15%.
  • Rotation controls the angle of rotation of the objects. Choose Random and set the values to -10 degrees up to 10 degrees. Notice how the grass now looks more natural, and we are on the right track.
how to make grass in illustrator with a scatter brush

Step 3

Keep the same path selected and press Add New Stroke at the bottom of the Appearance panel to add a second Stroke attribute above the existing one. Use Grass Brush 2 by selecting it from the Brushes panel, and keep the Stroke Weight at 1 pt

Open the Stroke Options window and change the settings as shown. For visual reasons, I've changed the stroke color to blue so you can see better how the different settings generate a different result. 

how to create fuller grass in illustrator with a scatter brush

Step 4

With the path still selected, press Add New Stroke again to add a third Stroke attribute at the top of the Appearance panel. Use Grass Brush 3 and then change the settings as shown. Notice how the Spacing values are bigger this time because we want fewer bent pieces of grass in the design, with only a few pieces to create a natural look.

how to create more grass with an illustrator scatter brush

5. How to Use Illustrator Brushes to Create Tall Grass 

Use the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw another straight path 2000 px in length. Add three Stroke attributes and use the thee Grass Brushes as you did before. Keep the Stroke Weight at 1 pt for all of them. 

To obtain taller grass, we need to play with the Scatter settings. The bigger the values, the further from the path the pieces of grass will go, creating the appearance of taller grass in the end. 

how to make grass using illustrator brushes

Here are the settings for Grass Brush 1, Grass Brush 2, and Grass Brush 3 in order:

settings for grass illustrator brushes

6. How to Use Illustrator Brushes to Create Mixed Grass

Step 1

Use the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw a new path on your artboard, 2000 px in length. Just like before, add three Stroke attributes and use the three Grass Brushes separately. Keep the Stroke Weight at 1 pt for all of them. 

All of the  settings are important to create mixed, random grass as they need to be varied, but the most important are Scatter and Rotation. These will give us randomly dispersed pieces of grass rotated at a bigger angle than before. 

how to make grass using illustrator scatter brushes

Here are the settings for the three Illustrator brushes:

settings for grass illustrator scatter brushes

Step 2

Let's take another look at the types of grass we have created by using different settings. To demonstrate how to use them, we'll add grass in a beautiful illustration, but you can use them in other projects as well.

I will refer to them, in the next part of the tutorial, as "medium grass" (1), "tall grass" (2) and "mixed grass" (3), and it's all about layering and coloring them to obtain a natural, realistic result.

how to use grass brush in illustrator to make medium tall and mixed grass

7. How to Create Vector Grass in Illustrator

Step 1

This happy tree illustration from Envato Elements is perfect for us to use. The space in front of this gorgeous tree is ideal for some grass. 

Open the file in Illustrator, and let's clean up the illustration a little by removing some of the plants in front and around the tree. The layers are very well organized and named accordingly, so this will be easy to do. 

how to open and prepare an illustration from Envato Elements

Step 2

Grab "medium grass" and arrange it at the bottom of the artboard, as shown in the image below. The path is 2000 px long, so it should fit just right (1).

While the path stays selected, go to Object > Expand Appearance in order to turn the brush strokes into a group of individual blades of grass filled with black.

You will notice that each blade of grass will have a rectangle associated with it, with no stroke and no fill. We need to delete all of them before coloring. Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select only one of these rectangles (2) and then go to Select > Same > Fill & Stroke. Illustrator will automatically select all the rectangles for you; just press the Delete key on your keyboard. 

Now, we can color the grass group. Use a linear gradient from bright green to a darker green, and set the Angle to -90 degrees so the light color is at the top. 

how to create the first row of grass with illustrator brushes

Step 3

Next, grab "tall grass" and position the path at the bottom of the artboard. Send it behind the first group of grass. Go to Object > Expand Appearance and then remove all the empty rectangles that you get after expanding, just like in the previous step. After that, you can color the entire group with the linear gradient shown at a -90 degrees Angle.

how to make a second row of grass with illustrator brushes

Step 4

Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B) the second grass group, and make the grass even taller by dragging the bounding box with the Selection Tool (V). Also, change the gradient to a lighter one as shown. Our grass is coming together beautifully, right?

how to multiply the vector grass in illustrator

Step 5

Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the second grass group, and this time, scale it down using the Selection Tool (V). Change the existing gradient to a much darker one, and notice how much depth this will create in the design. 

how to make shadow grass in illustrator

Step 6

Now, grab "mixed grass" and, after expanding, arrange it at the bottom of the artboard as shown in the image below. Make sure to send it behind all the other groups in the Layers panel, and color it with a darker gradient as well, in order to create shadows in the back. 

how to add more grass with illustrator brushes

Step 7

We have successfully used the three types of grass in our design. All the layers and gradients that we used give us a pretty natural look. The more layers you add, the more realistic the end result will be, but don't overdo it.

To improve the design, let's add shorter grass in front. Select the "mixed grass" group from the previous step and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy of it in front of everything. Arrange it below the artboard so that only the tips of the grass will be visible. 

Make another copy in front of this grass group, and scale it down with the Selection Tool (V). Arrange it in the middle of the artboard, and make sure that only the tips will be visible. Color both of these groups with the linear gradient shown at a -90 degrees Angle

how to create short grass with illustrator brushes

Step 8

It's time to clean up the illustration. Use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to select only the background, and then Copy and Paste in Place (Shift-Control-V) to make a copy in front of everything. Set this copy to Stroke: none and Fill: none

Keep the background copy selected, along with all the grass groups, and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). Looks great, right?

how to clean up the grass illustration

8. How to Improve the Illustration

Step 1

It's always a good idea to make the grass match the rest of the illustration. If you use this technique to add grass in your other projects, I highly suggest using this little trick. 

I have sampled some of the brown/rust colors in the illustration with the Eyedropper Tool (I) and created two new gradients using these colors, along with green from the grass. Now, grab the Direct Selection Tool (A) and randomly select a few pieces of grass that you can recolor with the new gradients. You can see the result in the image below.

how to recolor the grass in illustrator

Step 2

You can also create a wind-blown look easily. Select only one of the taller grass groups from your design, and go to the Transform panel (Window > Transform). Type 10 degrees in the Shear field, and this will bend your grass a little, as if the wind is blowing. 

how to create a wind-blown grass in illustrator

Step 3

You can do the same thing for one of the shorter grass groups in front of the illustration. Apply a Shear value of 10 degrees, and you are done. 

how to make a wind-blown grass in illustrator

Congratulations! You're Done

Here is the final grass illustration. Now you know how to make a brush in Illustrator and use it to create beautiful, natural grass. You can apply these techniques in future projects and add grass in plenty of other illustrations.

If you need more inspiration and resources to improve your illustrations, make sure to head over to GraphicRiver, where you will find plenty of Illustrator Brushes, vectors, and other illustrations ready to use.

grass brush illustrator tutorial final illustration

Expand Your Drawing Skills

Keep learning and drawing with these recommended tutorials, which will explain lots of other useful techniques:

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.