1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design

Wie man eine Champagner-Feier-Illustration in Adobe Illustrator erstellt

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Celebration Week!.
How to Draw a Chibi

German (Deutsch) translation by Federicco Ancie (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Woran denken Sie, wenn Sie das Wort "feiern" hören? Ich denke an festliche Dinge wie Partys, Geburtstage, Menschen feiern und so weiter. Heute erstellen wir in Adobe Illustrator ein Bild eines feiernden Mannes. Wir werden grundlegende Formen, Effekte und Werkzeuge verwenden.

Hoffentlich lernen Sie etwas Neues in Adobe Illustrator. Für weitere tolle Bilder und Inspirationen besuchen Sie GraphicRiver. Es hat viele verschiedene Charaktere und wird Sie für zukünftige Kreationen inspirieren.

Lassen Sie uns anfangen!

1. Wie man den Kopf des Mannes erstellt

Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie nach dem Öffnen von Adobe Illustrator ein neues Dokument mit einer Breite und Höhe von 850 x 850 px.

Beginnen wir mit der Erstellung des Kopfes. Zeichne mit Hilfe des Rechteck-Werkzeugs (M) ein hellbraunes Rechteck. Stellen Sie die Füllfarbe wie in der Abbildung unten gezeigt ein. Um dieses Rechteck zu verformen, verwenden wir den Effekt Bogen oben. Während das Rechteck ausgewählt bleibt, gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmen-Werkzeug > Bogen oben.... Passen Sie im neuen Dialogfenster die Optionen an die im Bild unten an und drücken Sie OK. Wandeln Sie diese Form erneut um (Objekt > Aussehen umwandeln).

how to create the headhow to create the headhow to create the head

Schritt 2

Als nächstes verwenden wir das Polygon-Werkzeug, um eine Nase zu erstellen. Nehmen Sie das Polygon-Werkzeug und klicken Sie auf Ihre Zeichenfläche. Geben Sie im neuen Dialogfenster 3 Seiten ein. Klicken Sie dann auf OK. Wählen Sie nun dieses Dreieck aus und gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmen-Werkzeug > Bulge. Geben Sie im neuen Dialogfenster die Optionen ein, die Sie im Bild unten sehen. Wandeln Sie diese Form erneut um (Objekt > Aussehen umwandeln).

how to create the nosehow to create the nosehow to create the nose

Schritt 3

Verwenden Sie für das Auge das Ellipsen-Werkzeug (L), um eine dunkelbraune Ellipse zu erstellen und auf den Kopf zu legen. Machen Sie eine Kopie der Ellipse vorne (Strg-C, Strg-F), vergrößern Sie sie leicht und verschieben Sie sie nach oben. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie dies tun, während Sie die Alt-Taste gedrückt halten. Jetzt müssen wir die Farbe der oberen Ellipse auf die gleiche Farbe wie das Gesicht ändern. Nehmen Sie also das Pipettenwerkzeug (I) und klicken Sie, während die obere Ellipse ausgewählt bleibt, auf das Gesicht.

how to create the eyehow to create the eyehow to create the eye

Schritt 4

Erstellen Sie mit dem Ellipsenwerkzeug (L) eine dunkelbraune Ellipse und platzieren Sie sie dort, wo der Mund sein soll. Machen Sie eine Kopie dieser Ellipse vorne (Strg-C, Strg-F), vergrößern Sie sie leicht und verschieben Sie sie nach oben. Es ist besser, die Farbe in hellbraun zu ändern, ähnlich wie beim Auge, damit Sie sehen können, wie der Mund aussehen wird.

Jetzt schneiden wir den unteren Teil der Ellipse darunter ab. Halten Sie diese beiden Ovale ausgewählt und drücken Sie die Minus-Front-Taste im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld. Wir werden mit dem unteren Teil der Ellipse darunter enden. Wir brauchen diesen Mund immer noch, um innerhalb der Grenzen des Gesichts zu bleiben.

Wählen Sie also die Kopfform und die Halbmondform aus und drücken Sie die Schaltfläche Teilen im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld (Fenster > Pathfinder). Klicken Sie danach mit der rechten Maustaste und klicken Sie auf Gruppierung aufheben. Die für den Mund verwendete Form wird an den Stellen, an denen er sich mit dem Kopf schneidet, in zwei Teile geteilt. Löschen Sie schließlich den Teil, der außerhalb der Kopfform liegt.

how to create the mouthhow to create the mouthhow to create the mouth

Schritt 5

Jetzt werden wir ein Ohr hinzufügen. Erstellen Sie erneut mit dem Ellipsenwerkzeug (L) eine hellbraune Ellipse und platzieren Sie sie an der Seite des Kopfes. Sie erinnern sich, wie Sie mit der Pipette (I) dieselbe Füllfarbe wie das Gesicht verwenden, oder?

Fügen Sie vorne eine weitere dunklere und kleinere Kopie der Ellipse hinzu. Schließlich fügen Sie eine dritte hellbraune Ellipse hinzu, die kleiner und leicht nach links verschoben ist. Dadurch entsteht ein Ohr.

how to create the earhow to create the earhow to create the ear

Schritt 6

Fügen Sie für das Haar zwei dunkelbraune Ellipsen hinzu. Sie haben die gleiche Füllfarbe wie das Auge. Vereinen Sie diese Ellipsen, indem Sie sie auswählen und auf die Schaltfläche Vereinen im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld klicken.

Als nächstes erstellen Sie eine Kopie der Kopfform vorne (Strg-C, Strg-F), und während Sie diese Kopie ausgewählt lassen, wählen Sie auch die vereinigten dunklen Ellipsen aus. Klicken Sie dann im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld auf die Schaltfläche Intersect. Am Ende erhalten Sie einen dunkelbraunen Satz vereinigter Ellipsen, die sich mit der Form des Kopfes überlappen.

Als nächstes fügen Sie eine weitere dunkelbraune Ellipse auf den Kopf. Jetzt werden wir diese Ellipse modifizieren, um eine ausgefallene Frisur für den Mann zu kreieren. Um die unten gezeigte Form zu erstellen, verschieben Sie die Ziehpunkte der Ellipse mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A), bis Sie das erforderliche Ergebnis erhalten. Um eine spitze Kante zu erhalten, halten Sie die Alt-Taste gedrückt, während Sie den Ziehpunkt bewegen. Auf diese Weise bewegen Sie jeweils nur einen Griff.

Eigentlich können Sie jede gewünschte Frisur kreieren – es wäre interessant für mich, Ihr Endergebnis zu sehen!

how to create the hairstylehow to create the hairstylehow to create the hairstyle

2. So erstellen Sie den Körper

Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie mit dem Rechteckwerkzeug (M) ein dunkelgraues Rechteck unter dem Kopf. Um eine geschwungene Brust zu erhalten, transformieren Sie diese Form: Gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmen-Werkzeug > Torbogen und geben Sie die unten gezeigten Optionen ein. Wandeln Sie es um (Objekt > Aussehen umwandeln).

how to create the bodyhow to create the bodyhow to create the body

Schritt 2

Löschen Sie die Füllfarbe und setzen Sie die Strichfarbe auf dieselbe Farbe wie seine Brust (drücken Sie Umschalt-X). Machen Sie das Gewicht dieses Strichs im Strichbedienfeld (Fenster > Strich) sehr dick (ca. 30–40 px). Füge eine gerade Linie als seinen linken Arm hinzu. Hier ist es besser, die Smart Guides einzuschalten (Ansicht > Smart Guides oder einfach Strg-U drücken), wenn der Arm an der Brust ausgerichtet werden soll.

Zeichnen Sie nun mit dem Bogenwerkzeug den rechten Arm des Mannes. Verschieben Sie die Griffe der Ankerpunkte mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A), um das gewünschte Ergebnis zu erzielen.

how to create the armshow to create the armshow to create the arms

Schritt 3

Löschen Sie die Strichfarbe und legen Sie die Füllfarbe wie unten gezeigt fest. Fügen Sie vor dem Körper ein graues Rechteck hinzu. Die Smart Guides helfen Ihnen, es direkt unter dem Kinn zu zeichnen. Nehmen Sie dann das Werkzeug Ankerpunkt löschen (-) und löschen Sie den im Bild markierten Ankerpunkt. Sie erhalten ein graues Dreieck.

Machen Sie eine Kopie dieses Dreiecks vorne (Strg-C, Strg-F), ändern Sie seine Farbe in Weiß und verkleinern Sie es. Als nächstes werden wir diese beiden Dreiecke modifizieren. Wählen Sie zuerst das dunklere Dreieck aus, gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmen-Werkzeug > Torbogen und geben Sie die unten im zweiten Bild gezeigten Optionen ein. Wandeln Sie diese Form um. Machen Sie dasselbe für das weiße Dreieck und passen Sie die im dritten Bild gezeigten Optionen an.

how to create the suithow to create the suithow to create the suit

Hier ist das zweite Bild, in dem die angezeigten Optionen für das graue Dreieck gelten:

how to create the collarhow to create the collarhow to create the collar

Hier ist das dritte Bild, in dem die angezeigten Optionen für das weiße Dreieck gelten:

how to create the shirthow to create the shirthow to create the shirt

Schritt 4

Dieser elegante Mann trägt eine Fliege. Wir beginnen mit der Erstellung eines Dreiecks. Stellen Sie die unten gezeigte Füllfarbe ein und nehmen Sie das Polygon-Tool. Klicken Sie nun auf Ihre Zeichenfläche. Machen Sie im neuen Dialogfenster 3 Seiten mit einem beliebigen Radius und drücken Sie OK. Drehen Sie es nach rechts.

Machen Sie eine vertikale Reflexion dieses Dreiecks: Klicken Sie auf das Spiegelungswerkzeug (O) und geben Sie im neuen Dialogfenster Vertikal, Winkel 90 Grad ein und drücken Sie Kopieren, während Sie die Eingabetaste gedrückt halten. Verschieben Sie die neue Kopie nach rechts. Erstellen Sie mit dem abgerundeten Rechteck-Werkzeug ein kleines abgerundetes Rechteck in der Mitte. Gruppieren Sie die beiden Dreiecke, wählen Sie dann die gesamte Fliege (alle drei Teile) aus und drücken Sie Horizontal ausrichten Center in Align. Stellen Sie sicher, dass in Ihrem Ausrichten-Bedienfeld Folgendes aktiviert ist: Ausrichten an: An Auswahl ausrichten (untere rechte Ecke dieses Bedienfelds).

how to create the bow tiehow to create the bow tiehow to create the bow tie

Schritt 5

Löschen Sie die Füllfarbe und legen Sie die Strichfarbe wie für das Gesicht fest. Wir erschaffen die Finger. Zeichne zuerst ein Oval. Nehmen Sie dann das Scherenwerkzeug (C) und klicken Sie an den im Bild gezeigten Punkten auf die linke und rechte Seite der Ellipse. Löschen Sie den oberen Teil der Ellipse, indem Sie die Entf-Taste auf Ihrer Tastatur drücken. Sie sollten einen Bogen haben. Erhöhen Sie das Strichgewicht und aktivieren Sie Round Cap im Strichbedienfeld (Fenster > Strich).

Verschieben Sie nun die Griffe des Bogens mit dem Direktauswahlwerkzeug (A), bis Sie das erforderliche Ergebnis erhalten. Fügen Sie mit dem Bogenwerkzeug zwei weitere Finger hinzu und vergessen Sie nicht, Round Cap im Stroke-Bedienfeld zu aktivieren.

how to create fingershow to create fingershow to create fingers

3. So erstellen Sie das Glas

Schritt 1

Beginnen wir mit der Erstellung einer weißen Ellipse. Sie brauchen den schwarzen Strich nicht – nur damit Sie ihn besser sehen können. Jetzt werden wir den oberen Teil wegschneiden. Erstellen Sie für den Cutter ein Rechteck mit einer beliebigen Füllfarbe. Stellen Sie sicher, dass das Rechteck den oberen Teil der Ellipse überlappt. Halten Sie diese beiden Formen ausgewählt und drücken Sie die Minus-Front-Taste im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld. Wir werden mit dem unteren Teil der Ellipse enden.

Machen Sie nun den gleichen Vorgang, um einen winzigen Fuß für das Glas zu erstellen: Erstellen Sie eine Ellipse, verwenden Sie ein Rechteck als Ausstecher und schneiden Sie den unteren Teil der Ellipse ab.

how to create the glasshow to create the glasshow to create the glass

Schritt 2

Für den Stiel des Glases ein Rechteck formen und unter der Glasschale befestigen. Fügen Sie den kleinen Glasfuß unten hinzu.

Machen Sie für den Champagner eine Kopie der Glasschale, ändern Sie ihre Farbe in Gelb und verkleinern Sie sie leicht. Jetzt schneiden wir einen Teil der gelben Form auf die gleiche Weise ab, wie Sie es für die Glasschale getan haben. Stellen Sie sicher, dass das als Cutter verwendete Rechteck den oberen Teil der gelben Form überlappt und dass während des Schneidvorgangs nur diese beiden Formen ausgewählt werden.

Danach werden wir ein paar Blasen hinzufügen. Erstellen Sie ein paar Lichtkreise unterschiedlicher Größe. Um einen geraden Kreis zu erstellen, verwenden Sie das Ellipsenwerkzeug (L), während Sie die Umschalttaste gedrückt halten. Legen Sie diese Kreise gleichmäßig auf den Champagnerteil.

how to create the glass with champagnehow to create the glass with champagnehow to create the glass with champagne

Legen Sie schließlich das Glas in die rechte Hand des Mannes.

how to place the glasshow to place the glasshow to place the glass

4. So erstellen Sie den Hintergrund

Schritt 1

Klicken Sie auf das Rechteckwerkzeug (M) und klicken Sie auf Ihre Zeichenfläche. Geben Sie 850 px Breite und Höhe ein und drücken Sie OK. Stellen Sie die gewünschte Füllfarbe ein. Stellen Sie sicher, dass der Hintergrund hinter allem bleibt (Strg-X, Strg-B).

how to create the background squarehow to create the background squarehow to create the background square

Schritt 2

Erstellen Sie eine Ellipse vor dem Quadrat.

how to create the background ellipsehow to create the background ellipsehow to create the background ellipse

Schritt 3

Stellen Sie sicher, dass der Mann mit dem Glas erweitert und gruppiert ist. Um das zu überprüfen, wählen Sie den Mann mit dem Glas aus und bewegen ihn etwas zur Seite. Wenn einige Teile des Mannes zurückbleiben, wird er nicht gruppiert und Sie müssen dies dennoch tun. Wenn Sie überprüfen möchten, ob der Mann erweitert ist, wählen Sie ihn mit dem Glas aus und sehen Sie unten im Werkzeugbedienfeld (links) nach. Wenn die Füllung mit einem Fragezeichen und ohne Strichfarbe ist, sollte es so sein, und es bedeutet, dass Ihr Mann erweitert ist. Wenn Sie noch eine Strichfarbe haben, gehen Sie zu Objekt > Erweitern, OK.

Stellen Sie das Bild des Mannes mit dem Glas wie unten gezeigt vor den Hintergrund.

how to place the man on the backgroundhow to place the man on the backgroundhow to place the man on the background

Schritt 4

Wählen Sie die Hintergrundellipse aus und erstellen Sie eine weitere Kopie davor (Strg-C, Strg-F). Löschen Sie die Füllfarbe dieser neuen Kopie, damit Sie etwas klarer sehen können, was sich darunter befindet.

Jetzt müssen Sie es verformen, indem Sie seine Ankerpunkte verschieben, um ein Ergebnis ähnlich dem unten dargestellten zu erhalten. Platziere diese Form über dem Mann (Strg-X, Strg-F).

Wählen Sie als Nächstes die verformte Ellipse und den Mann aus und gehen Sie zu Objekt > Schnittmaske > Erstellen (Steuerung-7). Diese Aktion blendet alle Teile des Mannes aus, die sich jenseits der deformierten Ellipse befinden.

how to select the cutting areahow to select the cutting areahow to select the cutting area
how to cut the part of imagehow to cut the part of imagehow to cut the part of image

5. So erstellen Sie die Dekorationen

Schritt 1

Zeichnen Sie mit dem Liniensegmentwerkzeug (\) eine vertikale Linie. Vergessen Sie nicht, die Füllfarbe zu entfernen und eine Strichfarbe festzulegen, die der für den Champagner ähnelt. Um eine gerade Linie zu erhalten, halten Sie die Umschalttaste gedrückt, während Sie die Linie zeichnen.

Jetzt werden wir diese Linie so ändern, dass sie lockig wird und eher wie etwas, das wir auf einer Party sehen würden. Gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verzerren & Transformieren > Zick-Zack. Passen Sie im Zick-Zack-Optionsfenster die Größe und die Kanten pro Segment an, um ein gewünschtes Ergebnis zu erzielen. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie Glatte Punkte und Absolut auswählen. Wählen Sie der Einfachheit halber Vorschau, während Sie diese Optionen anpassen.

Gehen Sie als Nächstes, während Sie diese Linie ausgewählt lassen, zu Effekt > Verkrümmen-Werkzeug > Bogen. Passen Sie im neuen Fenster die Optionen an das Bild unten an.

how to create the serpantinehow to create the serpantinehow to create the serpantine

Schritt 2

Erstellen Sie ein paar weitere Zick-Zack-Kurven mit einem ähnlichen Verfahren wie im vorherigen Schritt: Verwenden Sie das Liniensegmentwerkzeug (\), um die Linie zu erstellen, und ändern Sie dann diese Linie: Effekt > Verzerren & Transformieren > Zig Zag. Verformen Sie es in verschiedene Richtungen: Gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmen-Werkzeug > Bogen.

Um diese Linien in verschiedene Richtungen zu biegen, können Sie den Bend-Schieberegler in verschiedene Richtungen verschieben. Denken Sie daran, das Aussehen am Ende umzuwandeln. Vermeiden Sie scharfe Blicke und machen Sie es lieber schön und lockig, wie ein Partyband.

how to create a few serpantineshow to create a few serpantineshow to create a few serpantines

Schritt 3

Jetzt können Sie die ersten paar Dekorationen auf Ihrem Bild platzieren.

how to place serpantines on the backgroundhow to place serpantines on the backgroundhow to place serpantines on the background

Schritt 4

Fügen wir dem Hintergrund ein paar funkelnde Sterne hinzu. Sie sollten eine gelbe Füllfarbe haben. Verwenden Sie das Sternwerkzeug, um die Sterne zu machen. Klicken Sie bei ausgewähltem Sternwerkzeug auf die Zeichenfläche und geben Sie 8 Punkte ein. Dein Stern wird beim ersten Mal wahrscheinlich nicht sehr gut aussehen. Erstellen Sie also einen weiteren, aber halten Sie diesmal beim Zeichnen die Strg-Taste auf Ihrer Tastatur gedrückt und beobachten Sie, wie sich die Ecken ändern.

Erstellen Sie als Nächstes einen Kreis und platzieren Sie ihn in der Mitte des Sterns. Um diese beiden Formen auszurichten, öffnen Sie das Bedienfeld Ausrichten (Fenster > Ausrichten). Ausrichten an: An Auswahl ausrichten (öffnen Sie das Flyout-Menü und gehen Sie zu Optionen anzeigen, wenn der hier gezeigte Abschnitt Ausrichten an: nicht angezeigt wird), stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre Formen ausgewählt sind, und klicken Sie auf Horizontal ausrichten Mitte und Vertikal Ausrichten der mittleren Tasten. Am Ende sollte sich Ihr Kreis in der Mitte des Sterns befinden.

Halten Sie nun diese beiden Formen ausgewählt und drücken Sie die Minus-Front-Taste im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld. Am Ende haben wir den Stern mit einem ausgeschnittenen Kreis in der Mitte.

how to create the starhow to create the starhow to create the star

Schritt 5

Verteilen Sie nun diese Sterne über das Bild, indem Sie die Alt-Taste gedrückt halten. Dadurch erhalten Sie Kopien der Sterne. Ändern Sie die Größe einiger Sterne, und das war's! Wir haben die fertige Abbildung!

how to place the stars on the backgroundhow to place the stars on the backgroundhow to place the stars on the background

Abschluss

Tolle Arbeit, du hast es geschafft! Jetzt sind Sie bereit, andere Bilder für zukünftige Feiern zu erstellen. Viel Spaß beim Erstellen eigener Illustrationen! Bis bald!

final imagefinal imagefinal image
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design
Design

How to Create a Champagne Celebration Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Celebration Week!.
How to Draw a Chibi
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

What do you think of when you hear the word "celebrating"? I think of festive things such as parties, birthdays, celebrating people, and so on. So today we are going to create an image of a celebrating man in Adobe Illustrator. We will be using basic shapes, effects, and tools.

Hopefully you will learn something new in Adobe Illustrator. For more amazing images and inspiration, feel free to visit GraphicRiver. It has a lot of different characters and will inspire you for future creating.

Let´s get started!

1. How to Create the Man's Head

Step 1

After opening Adobe Illustrator, create a New Document with 850 x 850 px Width and Height.

Let’s start by creating the head. Draw a light brown rectangle with the help of the Rectangle Tool (M). Set the fill color as shown in the image below. To deform this rectangle, we'll use the Arc Upper effect. While keeping the rectangle selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc Upper. In the new dialogue window, adjust the options to the ones you see in the image below and press OK. Expand this shape again (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the head

Step 2

Next, we will use the Polygon Tool to make a nose. Take the Polygon Tool and click on your artboard. In the new dialogue window, enter 3 Sides. Then click OK. Now select this triangle and go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below. Expand this shape again (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the nose

Step 3

For the eye, use the Ellipse Tool (L) to create a dark brown ellipse and place it on the head. Make a copy of the ellipse in front (Control-C, Control-F), and then slightly enlarge it and shift it up. Make sure to do this while holding the Alt key. Now, we need to change the color of the upper ellipse to the same color as the face. So take the Eyedropper Tool (I), and while the upper ellipse stays selected, click on the face.

how to create the eye

Step 4

Using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a dark brown ellipse and place it where you want the mouth to be. Make a copy of this ellipse in front (Control-C, Control-F), slightly enlarge it, and shift it up. It will be better to change the color to light brown, similarly to how you did it for the eye, so you can see how the mouth will look.

Now we will cut away the bottom part of the ellipse underneath. While keeping these two ovals selected, press the Minus Front button on the Pathfinder panel. We will end up with the bottom part of the ellipse underneath. We still need that mouth to stay within the boundaries of the face.

So select the head shape and the crescent shape and press the Divide button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder). After that, right-click your mouse and hit Ungroup. The shape used for the mouth will be divided into two parts in the places where it intersects with the head. And finally, delete the part which is outside of the shape of the head.

how to create the mouth

Step 5

Now we will add an ear. Again, using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a light brown ellipse and place it on the side of the head. You remember how to use the Eyedropper Tool (I) to take the same fill color as the face, right?

Add another darker and smaller copy of the ellipse in front. Finally, add a third light brown ellipse, which is smaller and shifted slightly to the left. This will create an ear.

how to create the ear

Step 6

For the hair, add two dark brown ellipses. They are the same fill color as the eye. Unite these ellipses by selecting them and hitting the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel.

Next, create a copy of the head shape in front (Control-C, Control-F), and while keeping this copy selected, select the united dark ellipses as well. Then hit the Intersect button on the Pathfinder panel. You will end up with a dark brown set of united ellipses which overlap with the shape of the head.

Next, add another dark brown ellipse on top of the head. Now we will modify this ellipse to create a fancy hairstyle for the man. To create the shape shown below, move the handles of the ellipse by using the Direct Selection Tool (A) until you get the necessary result. To have a pointy edge, keep the Alt button pressed while moving the handle. In such a way, you will move only one handle at a time.

Actually, you can create any hairstyle you want—it would be interesting for me to see your end result!

how to create the hairstyle

2. How to Create the Body

Step 1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a dark grey rectangle under the head. To have a curved chest, transform this shape: go to Effect > Warp > Arch, and enter the options shown below. Expand it (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the body

Step 2

Delete the fill color and set the stroke color to the same color as his chest (press Shift-X). Make the Weight of this stroke very thick (around 30–40 px) on the Stroke panel (Window > Stroke). Add a straight line as his left arm. Here it would be better to switch on the Smart Guides (View > Smart Guides or just press Control-U) if you want the arm to be aligned to the chest.

Now, using the Arc Tool, draw the man's right arm. Move the handles of the anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to achieve the result you want.

how to create the arms

Step 3

Delete the stroke color and set the fill color as shown below. Add a grey rectangle in front of the body. The Smart Guides will help you out to draw it directly under the chin. Then take the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-) and delete the anchor point marked in the image. You will end up with a grey triangle.

Make a copy of this triangle in front (Control-C, Control-F), change its color to white and make it narrower. Next we will modify these two triangles. First, select the darker triangle, go to Effect > Warp > Arch, and enter the options shown below in the second image. Expand this shape. Do the same for the white triangle, adjusting the options shown in the third image.

how to create the suit

Here is that second image where the options shown are for the grey triangle:

how to create the collar

Here is that third image where the options shown are for the white triangle:

how to create the shirt

Step 4

This elegant man wears a bow tie. We will start by creating a triangle. Set the fill color shown below, and take the Polygon Tool. Now, click on your artboard. In the new dialogue window, make 3 Sides with any Radius, and press OK. Rotate it to the right.

Make a vertical reflection of this triangle: click on the Reflect Tool (O) and while keeping the Enter button pressed, in the new dialogue window enter Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. Move the new copy to the right. Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, create a small rounded rectangle in the middle. Group the two triangles, and then select the whole bow tie (all three parts) and press Horizontal Align Center in Align. Make sure that on your Align panel the following is checked: Align To: Align to Selection (lower right corner of this panel).

how to create the bow tie

Step 5

Delete the fill color and set the stroke color as you did for the face. We are creating the fingers. Draw an oval first. Then grab the Scissors Tool (C) and click on the left and right sides of the ellipse at the points shown in the image. Delete the upper part of the ellipse by pressing the Delete button on your keyboard. You should be left with an arc. Increase the stroke Weight and check Round Cap on the Stroke panel (Window > Stroke).

Now move the handles of the arc by using the Direct Selection Tool (A) until you get the necessary result. Add two more fingers using the Arc Tool, and don't forget to check Round Cap on the Stroke panel.

how to create fingers

3. How to Create the Glass

Step 1

Let’s start by creating a white ellipse. You don't need the black stroke—it's just so that you can see it better. Now we will cut away its upper part. For the cutter, create a rectangle with any fill color you want. Make sure that the rectangle overlaps the top part of the ellipse. While keeping these two shapes selected, press the Minus Front button on the Pathfinder panel. We will end up with the bottom part of the ellipse.

Now do the same operation to create a tiny foot for the glass: create an ellipse, use a rectangle as a cutter, and cut off the bottom part of the ellipse.

how to create the glass

Step 2

For the stem of the glass, create a rectangle and attach it below the glass bowl. Add the tiny glass foot at the bottom.

For the champagne, make a copy of the glass bowl, change its color to yellow, and slightly decrease its size. Now we will cut away part of the yellow shape in the same way you did for the glass bowl. Make sure that the rectangle that's used as a cutter overlaps the top part of the yellow shape, and that only these two shapes are selected during the cutting process.

After that, we will add a few bubbles. Create a few light circles of different sizes. To make an even circle, use the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding down the Shift key. Place these circles evenly on the champagne part.

how to create the glass with champagne

Finally, place the glass into the man's right hand.

how to place the glass

4. How to Create the Background

Step 1

Hit the Rectangle Tool (M) and click on your artboard. Enter 850 px Width and Height, and press OK. Set the necessary fill color. Be sure the background stays behind everything (Control-X, Control-B).

how to create the background square

Step 2

Create an ellipse in front of the square.

how to create the background ellipse

Step 3

Make sure that the man with the glass is expanded and grouped. To check that, select the man with the glass and move him a bit to the side. If some parts of the man are left behind, he is not grouped and you still need to do this. If you want to check if the man is expanded, select him with the glass and look on the bottom of the Tools panel (on the left). If the Fill is with a question mark and no Stroke color, that's how it should be, and it means that your man is expanded. If you still have a Stroke color, go to Object > Expand, OK.

Place the image of the man with the glass in front of the background as shown below.

how to place the man on the background

Step 4

Select the background ellipse and create another copy in front (Control-C, Control-F). Delete the fill color of this new copy so you can see what is underneath a bit more clearly.

Now you need to deform it by moving its anchor points to get a result similar to the one presented below. Place this shape over the man (Control-X, Control-F).

Next, select the deformed ellipse and the man and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). This action will hide all parts of the man that are beyond the deformed ellipse.

how to select the cutting area
how to cut the part of image

5. How to Create the Decorations

Step 1

Draw a vertical line by using the Line Segment Tool (\). Don't forget to remove the fill color and set a stroke color similar to the one you have for the champagne. To get a straight line, hold the Shift key while drawing the line. 

Now we will modify this line to make it curly, and more like something we would see at a party. Go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig-Zag. In the Zig-Zag options window, adjust the Size and Ridges per segment to achieve a result you like. Be sure to select Smooth Points and Absolute. For your convenience, select Preview while adjusting these options.

Next, while keeping this line selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new window, adjust the options to match the image below.

how to create the serpantine

Step 2

Create a few more Zig-Zag curves using a similar process to the previous step: use the Line Segment Tool (\) to create the line and then modify this line: Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag. Deform it in different directions: go to Effect > Warp > Arc

To make these lines bend in different directions, you can move the Bend slider in different directions. Remember to Expand Appearance at the end. Try to avoid sharp looks, and rather make it nice and curly, like party ribbon.

how to create a few serpantines

Step 3

Now, you can place the first couple of decorations onto your image.

how to place serpantines on the background

Step 4

Let's add a few sparkly stars to the background. You should have a yellow fill color. To make the stars, use the Star Tool. While the Star Tool is selected, click on the artboard and enter 8 points. Your star probably won't look very good the first time around. So create another one, but this time hold down the Control key on your keyboard while drawing and watch how the corners change.

Next, create a circle and place it in the middle of the star. To align these two shapes, open the Align panel (Window > Align). Set Align To: Align to Selection (open the fly-out menu and go to Show Options if you don’t see the Align To: section shown here), make sure that your shapes are selected, and click the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons. In the end, your circle should be in the middle of the star.

Now, while keeping these two shapes selected, press the Minus Front button on the Pathfinder panel. We will end up with the star with a cut-out circle in the middle.

how to create the star

Step 5

Now distribute these stars over the image by holding the Alt button. This will give you copies of the stars. Change the size of some stars, and that’s it! We have the completed illustration!

how to place the stars on the background

Conclusion

Awesome work, you did it! Now you are ready to create other images for future celebrations. Have fun creating your own illustrations! See you soon!

final image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.