7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art

Как создать сцену чаепития Алисы в стране чудес в Adobe Illustrator

Scroll to top
Read Time: 10 mins
This post is part of a series called Alice in Wonderland Week.
How to Create a Furry Cheshire Cat Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Queen of Hearts Playing Card With Affinity Designer

Russian (Pусский) translation by Liliya (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

В этом уроке вы узнаете, как создать тематическую сцену чаепития на тему «Алиса в стране чудес». Многие из вас, возможно, слышали о маленькой девочке, падающей в кроличью нору в мир, полный приключений. Было чаепитие - странное, причудливое, смешное и необычное чаепитие. Для меня это был самый незабываемый эпизод. Вот почему я хочу показать вам, как создать такую ​​иллюстрацию.

Как всегда, мы будем использовать основные формы и эффекты деформации. В конце вы получите восхитительную иллюстрацию и кучу (я надеюсь!) новых хитростей, которые вы узнали в процессе ее создания.

Если вы хотите увидеть себя в нужном настроении, почему бы вам не взглянуть на GraphicRiver и посмотреть, как другие художники представляют этот причудливый мир Алисы в «Стране Чудес».

Если вы готовы, то идем дальше!

1. Как создать шляпу

Шаг 1

После того как открыли Adobe Illustrator, создайте новый документ с шириной и высотой 850 x 850 пикселей.

Начнем с иллюстрации шляпы. Используя Ellipse Tool (L), создайте темный серый овал. На изображении ниже вы можете увидеть, какой цвет заливки вам нужен. Создайте копию этого овала за оригиналом (Control-C, Control-B), немного растяните его и измените цвет на более светло-серый.

После этого, используя Rectangle Tool (M), добавьте прямоугольник под двумя овалами. Убедитесь, что этот прямоугольник остается в задней части (Control-X, Control-B). Чтобы изменить форму этого прямоугольника, перейдите в Effect> Warp> Bulge. В новом диалоговом окне введите параметры, которые вы видите на изображении ниже. Разверните эту фигуру (Object> Expand Appearance).

how to create the top hathow to create the top hathow to create the top hat

Шаг 2

Теперь сделайте копию двух эллипсов с верхней части шляпы (Control-C, Control-V), сделайте их более крупными и прикрепите их к нижней части.

Чтобы добавить ленту, создайте зеленый прямоугольник и деформируйте его: перейдите в Effect> Warp> Arc и введите следующие параметры. Всегда помните о расширении после деформирования фигуры (Object> Expand Appearance).

continue creating the top hatcontinue creating the top hatcontinue creating the top hat

Шаг 3

Давайте добавим украшение пера для шляпы. Создайте эллипс, используя инструмент Ellipse Tool (L). Возьмите инструмент Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) и нажмите на верхние и нижние опорные точки, чтобы сделать их острыми.

Для основы пера мы будем использовать очень тонкий вертикальный эллипс. Используя Direct Selection Tool (A), выберите правую и левую опорные точки этого эллипса и переместите их вниз, нажав клавишу со стрелкой вниз на клавиатуре.

Затем сохраните деформированный эллипс и перейдите в Object> Path> Add Anchor Points. Добавьте несколько опорных точек в несколько мест, как показано на рисунке ниже (отмечены синими кружками). Теперь, используя Direct Selection Tool (A), выберите среднюю опорную точку каждого триплета и переместите ее к середине пера. Для того, чтобы получить острый угол в точках крепления, возьмите Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) и нажмите на каждой точке крепления.

how to create the featherhow to create the featherhow to create the feather

Шаг 4

Чтобы деформировать перо, перейдите в Effect> Warp> Arc и введите параметры, показанные ниже. Разверните форму.

Сделайте меньшую копию пера и измените его цвет на синий.

Наконец, положите два пера на шляпу. Убедитесь, что они установлены за лентой.

how to create the another feather and place it on the hathow to create the another feather and place it on the hathow to create the another feather and place it on the hat

Шаг 5

Для бирки создайте голубой прямоугольник и деформируйте его с помощью параметра warp, как показано ниже.

Перейдите в Type > Font и выберите свой любимый шрифт. Нажмите Type Tool (T) и введите нужные цифры. Поместите текст в бирку и слегка поверните текст вправо. Сгруппируйте его вместе (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши>  Group).

how to create the taghow to create the taghow to create the tag

Поместите бирку на шляпу, но за лентой.

how to place the taghow to place the taghow to place the tag

Шаг 6

Давайте украсим шляпу розой. Создайте красный эллипс и деформируйте его, используя эффект warp: перейдите в Effect> Warp> Fish и введите параметры, которые вы видите ниже. Всегда помните о расширении.

Используя инструмент Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C), сделайте верхнюю точку привязки острой. После этого сделайте копию (Control-C, Control-B), слегка сдвиньте ее вверх и измените цвет на красный. Выберите эти две фигуры и сгруппируйте их (щелкните правой кнопкой мыши> Group). Это будет лепесток для нашей розы.

how to create the petal of the rosehow to create the petal of the rosehow to create the petal of the rose

Шаг 7

Теперь, удерживая выбранный лепесток, нажмите Rotate Tool (R). После этого удерживайте кнопку Alt нажатой, нажмите ниже лепестка, где будут установлены оси вращения, и нажмите Enter. Введите 45 градусов в новое диалоговое окно и нажмите Copy. Таким образом, у вас будет еще один лепесток цветка. Чтобы закончить первый слой лепестков, нажмите Control-D еще четыре раза. Группируйте их вместе.

Теперь создайте копию этого слоя спереди (Control-C, Control-F), уменьшите его и немного поверните его, как показано на изображении ниже. Теперь у вас есть второй слой лепестков. Аналогичным образом сделайте третий, четвертый и пятый уровни, которые должны быть немного меньше и повернуты.

В середине розы мы добавим средние лепестки из кругов. Поэтому создайте круг (он не должен быть идеальным). В этом случае это будет более темный круг впереди, а за ним - более светлый, который должен быть слегка виден. Сгруппируйте эти два круга вместе, чтобы сделать средний лепесток. Сделайте несколько копий этого среднего лепестка и поместите их, как показано на изображении. Наконец, положите средние лепестки на остальные лепестки, которые вы создали раньше.

Для вашего удобства группируйте все вместе.

how to create the rosehow to create the rosehow to create the rose

Шаг 8

Теперь мы создадим лист. Начните с инструмента Ellipse Tool (L) и установите для него зеленый цвет заливки. Удерживая выбранный эллипс, возьмите инструмент Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) и нажмите на верхние и нижние опорные точки, чтобы сделать их острыми.

Чтобы отшлифовать края листа, выберите форму и перейдите в Effect> Distort & Transform> Zig Zag. В окне опций Zig Zag отрегулируйте размер и хребты на сегмент, чтобы добиться аналогичной шероховатости изображения ниже. Ваши цифры могут отличаться от моих, потому что это действительно зависит от размера вашего листа.

how to create the leafhow to create the leafhow to create the leaf

Шаг 9

Для стебля создайте очень тонкий вертикальный овал. Поместите стебель над листом, который вы создали на предыдущем шаге, как показано ниже. Теперь сделайте меньшую копию стебля и листа, поверните их влево и прикрепите их к основному стеблю. Сделайте еще одну копию стебля и листа и поместите эту копию на правой стороне главного стебля.

how to create more leaveshow to create more leaveshow to create more leaves

Шаг 10

Поместите листья за розу, как показано на рисунке ниже. Сделайте копию всей маленькой ветки и поместите ее на другую сторону розы. Роза готова украсить шляпу.

how to place the leaveshow to place the leaveshow to place the leaves

Поместите его перед лентой и перьями.

final illustration of the hatfinal illustration of the hatfinal illustration of the hat

2. Как создать чашки

Шаг 1

Чтобы создать чашку, мы начнем с зеленого прямоугольника. Измените этот прямоугольник эффектом warp: перейдите в Effect> Warp> Fish и введите параметры, которые вы видите ниже. Добавьте небольшой светло-зеленый овал перед формой для подсветки.

how to create the cuphow to create the cuphow to create the cup

Шаг 2

Добавьте немного прямоугольника внизу и деформируйте его с помощью эффекта (Effect> Warp> Arc Lower).

Затем добавьте зеленый овал поверх чашки. На изображении ниже этот овал имеет черный цвет штриха только для лучшей видимости; однако в конечном изображении цвет хода не останется. Создайте копию этого овала позади (Control-C, Control-B), сделайте его более легким и слегка растяните.

Теперь мы добавим чай в нашу чашку. Создайте большой коричневый овал спереди, который будет перекрывать зеленый овал в области, отмеченной красными линиями на изображении ниже. Затем сделайте копию зеленого овала спереди (Control-C, Control-F), и, сохраняя выбранную копию, выберите коричневый эллипс (вам нужно нажать кнопку Shift, чтобы выбрать более одной формы). Затем нажмите кнопку Intersect  на панели Pathfinder. У вас будет коричневая форма, которая является чаем.

how to create the teahow to create the teahow to create the tea

Шаг 3

Для рукоятки создайте зеленый овал без цвета заливки, просто зеленый цвет хода (нажмите Shift-X, чтобы изменить цвет заливки на цвет штриха). На панели Stroke сделайте так, чтобы Weight был очень толстым. Удерживая выбранный овал, перейдите в Effect> Warp> Arc и введите параметры, которые вы видите на изображении ниже. Разверните эту фигуру.

Прикрепите ручку к чашке.

Наконец, добавьте два зеленых круга в местах, где ручка прикреплена к чашке (используйте инструмент Ellipse Tool (L), удерживая клавишу Shift).

how to create the handle of the tea cuphow to create the handle of the tea cuphow to create the handle of the tea cup

Шаг 4

Создайте еще две копии чашки и измените их цвета, за исключением цвета чая.

how to create another colors cupshow to create another colors cupshow to create another colors cups

Шаг 5

Положим красную чашку на синюю. Сначала поставьте красную чашку перед синим, как показано ниже.

Затем выберите верхний синий эллипс из голубой чашки и сделайте над ним другую копию (Control-C, Control-F). Я обозначил эту новую копию черным штрихом для лучшей видимости. Вы также можете сделать эту новую копию черным штрихом, чтобы вы могли видеть лучше, что есть внутри.

С помощью Direct Selection Tool (A) переместите опорные точки внутри верхней части красной чашки. Кроме того, убедитесь, что нижняя часть деформированного овала остается в том же положении, что и раньше. Выберите красную чашку и деформированный эллипс черным штрихом. Затем перейдите в Object> Clipping Mask> Make (Control-7). Теперь красная чаша находится внутри синего цвета.

how to place one cup inside anotherhow to place one cup inside anotherhow to place one cup inside another

3. Как создать цветок для украшения стола

Сделайте копию розы и листьев, которые мы создали раньше для украшения шляпы. Обратите внимание, что есть только одна пара листьев. Теперь мы добавим стебель: удалим цвет заливки, зададим зеленый цвет штриха и проверим Round Cap на панели Stroke. Используя Arc Tool, нарисуйте дугу.

Затем возьмите инструмент Direct Selection Tool (A) и переместите ручки дуги, чтобы добиться нужного результата. Вы можете добавить больше листьев к стебельку.

how to create the rosehow to create the rosehow to create the rose

4. Как создать стол

Шаг 1

Сначала создайте бежевый прямоугольник с помощью Rectangle Tool (M). В верхней части этого прямоугольника добавьте овал с тем же цветом заливки. Для удобства обе формы отмечены здесь черным цветом хода.

Теперь выберите прямоугольник и деформируйте его: перейдите в Effect> Warp> Bulge. Попытайтесь поиграть с параметрами, чтобы иметь плавный переход от овала к новой фигуре. В зависимости от размера вашего овала и прямоугольника эти параметры могут немного отличаться от приведенных ниже. Не забудьте расширить эту форму (Object> Expand Appearance).

how to create the tableclothhow to create the tableclothhow to create the tablecloth

Шаг 2

Используйте инструмент Line Segment Tool (\), чтобы нарисовать линию по деформированной форме. Чтобы сделать линию прямой, удерживайте клавишу Shift во время ее рисования.

Теперь мы изменим эту строку; перейдите в Effect> Distort & Transform> Zig Zag. В окне опций Zig Zag отрегулируйте размер и Ridges per segment, чтобы получить аналогичную кривую, как на изображении ниже. Не забудьте выбрать Smooth Points. Для вашего удобства выберите Preview (Предварительный просмотр) при настройке этих параметров.

Затем, удерживая эту волнистую линию, перейдите в Effect> Warp> Arc. В новом окне отрегулируйте параметры на изображении ниже. Наконец, не забудьте Expand Appearance (Object> Expand Appearance).

continue creating the tableclothcontinue creating the tableclothcontinue creating the tablecloth

Вот окно параметров Arc:

warp options windowwarp options windowwarp options window

Шаг 3

Удерживая выбранную кривую Zig Zag, также выберите деформированный прямоугольник и нажмите кнопку Divide на панели Pathfinder. Поскольку у вас теперь есть два объекта, сгруппированные, разгруппируйте: щелкните правой кнопкой мыши и нажмите Ungroup.

Теперь вы можете просто удалить нижнюю часть, чтобы создать форму скатерти.

После этого создайте еще одну копию верхнего овала (Control-C, Control-B), сделайте его более легким и слегка растяните.

finishing creating the tableclothfinishing creating the tableclothfinishing creating the tablecloth

Шаг 4

Для ножки стола создайте светло-коричневый прямоугольник и поместите его за скатерть (Control-X, Control-B). Чтобы изменить этот прямоугольник, мы будем использовать эффект «Рыба»: перейдите в Effect > Warp > Fishи введите указанные параметры.

Наконец, добавьте светло-коричневый эллипс и еще один крошечный круг, как показано ниже.

how to create the leg of the tablehow to create the leg of the tablehow to create the leg of the table

Шаг 5

Добавьте еще один эллипс ниже и снова деформируйте его с эффектом Fish. Сделайте копию круга с предыдущего шага и прикрепите его под новым овалом. Обратите внимание, что новый круг немного меньше.

continue creating the leg of the tablecontinue creating the leg of the tablecontinue creating the leg of the table

Шаг 6

Теперь создайте горизонтально выровненный эллипс и примените эффект Flag: перейдите в Effect> Warp> Flag. Используйте параметры, показанные ниже, и не забудьте расширить окончательную форму.

continue creating the leg of the tablecontinue creating the leg of the tablecontinue creating the leg of the table

Шаг 7

Прикрепите новую форму к нижней части стопы стола. Добавьте коричневый круг с легким кругом к концу этой фигуры, как вы можете видеть ниже. Это левая часть стопы стола.

Теперь, сохраняя выбранную левую часть, возьмите инструмент Reflect Tool (O) и, удерживая клавишу Alt, щелкните по средней части ножки. В новом диалоговом окне выберите Vertical, Angle 90 degrees (угол 90 градусов)и нажмите Copy. Теперь у вас должна быть правая часть ножки стола. Стол готов для чаепития!

finishing creating the leg of the tablefinishing creating the leg of the tablefinishing creating the leg of the table

5. Как создать фон

Шаг 1

Расположите детали в верхней части таблицы, как показано ниже. Вы можете разместить детали так, как вам нравится.

placing all the objects on the tableplacing all the objects on the tableplacing all the objects on the table

Шаг 2

Создайте синий квадрат 850 px ширина и высота, используя инструмент Rectangle Tool (M). Сначала возьмите инструмент, а затем нажмите на свою монтажную область и введите необходимые параметры. Совместите фон с монтажной областью. Для этого откройте панель Align  (Window > Align). Установите Align To: Align to Artboard (откройте выпадающее меню и перейдите в меню Show Options, если вы не видите Align To :), убедитесь, что выбран ваш фон, и щелкните по кнопкам Horizontal Align Center (горизонтальный центр выравнивания) и Vertical Align Center (Вертикальное выравнивание по центру)

how to create the background how to create the background how to create the background

Шаг 3

Поместите изображение перед фоном. Однако, будет проще разместить фон позади всех объектов (Control-X, Control-B).

placing all the objects on the backgroundplacing all the objects on the backgroundplacing all the objects on the background

Шаг 4

Чтобы добавить некоторые параметры к сцене, создайте темный эллипс внизу квадрата за столом.

adding dimensionadding dimensionadding dimension

Отличная работа, вы это сделали!

И мы закончили! Сделано отлично! Надеюсь, вам понравилось изучать некоторые процессы и ярлыки при создании этого изображения в Adobe Illustrator. Как всегда, не стесняйтесь делиться своим проектом и задавать вопросы в разделе комментариев ниже. Как вы видете, вы можете использовать базовые фигуры для создания потрясающих изображений в Adobe Illustrator. Увидимся в следующий раз!

finalfinalfinal
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

How to Create an Alice in Wonderland Tea Party Scene in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Alice in Wonderland Week.
How to Create a Furry Cheshire Cat Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Queen of Hearts Playing Card With Affinity Designer
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial you will learn how to create an Alice in Wonderland themed tea party scene. Many of you may have heard of the little girl falling down a rabbit hole into a world full of adventures. There was a tea party—an odd, bizarre, ridiculous, and eccentric tea party. For me, it was the most memorable scene. That's why I want to show you how to create such an illustration.

As always, we will use basic shapes and warp effects. At the end, you will have an adorable illustration and a bunch (I hope!) of new tricks you've learned during the process of creating it.

If you would like to get yourself in the necessary mood, why don't you browse GraphicRiver and see how other artists imagine this quirky world of Alice in Wonderland.

Whenever you're ready, let's go!

1. How to Create the Hat 

Step 1

After opening Adobe Illustrator, create a new document with 850 x 850 px Width and Height

We’ll begin by illustrating the hat. Using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a dark grey oval. In the image below, you can see what fill color you need. Create a copy of this oval behind the original one (Control-C, Control-B), stretch it down a little, and change its color to a lighter grey.

After that, using the Rectangle Tool (M), add a rectangle under the two ovals. Be sure this rectangle stays in the back (Control-X, Control-B). To change the shape of this rectangle, go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below. Expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the top hat

Step 2

Now make a copy of the two ellipses from the top of the hat (Control-C, Control-V), make them larger, and attach them to the bottom part.

To add a ribbon, create a green rectangle and deform it: go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options. Always remember to expand after deforming a shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

continue creating the top hat

Step 3

Let’s add a feather decoration for the hat. Create an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L). Take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on the top and bottom anchor points to make them sharp.

For the stem of the feather, we will use a very thin vertical ellipse. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the right and left anchor points of this ellipse and move them down by pressing the Down Arrow key on your keyboard.

Next, keep the deformed ellipse selected and go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. Add three anchor points in a few places as shown in the image below (marked by blue circles). Now, using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the middle anchor point of each triplet and move it to the middle of the feather. To get a sharp angle in the anchor points, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on each anchor point.

how to create the feather

Step 4

To deform the feather, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options shown below. Expand the shape.

Make a smaller copy of the feather, and change its color to blue.

Finally, place two feathers on the hat. Be sure they are placed behind the ribbon.

how to create the another feather and place it on the hat

Step 5

For the tag, create a light blue rectangle and deform it with the warp option, as shown below.

Go to Type > Font, and choose your favorite font. Click on the Type Tool (T) and then type the necessary numbers. Place the text on the tag and slightly rotate the text to the right. Group it together (right-click > Group).

how to create the tag

Place the tag on the hat but behind the ribbon.

how to place the tag

Step 6

Let’s decorate the hat with a rose. Create a red ellipse and deform it by using the warp effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options you see below. Always remember to expand.

Using the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C), make the top anchor point sharp. After that, make a copy behind (Control-C, Control-B), shift it slightly upward, and its change color to the light red. Select these two shapes and group them (right-click > Group). This will be a petal for our rose.

how to create the petal of the rose

Step 7

Now, while keeping the petal selected, hit the Rotate Tool (R). After that, keep the Alt button pressed, click below the petal, where the rotation axes will be placed, and hit Enter. Enter 45 degrees in the new dialogue window and press Copy. Thus, you will have another petal of the flower. To finish the first layer of petals, press Control-D four more times. Group them together.

Now, create a copy of this layer in front (Control-C, Control-F), make it smaller, and rotate it a little as shown in the image below. You now have a second layer of petals. Similarly, make the third, fourth, and fifth layers, which should be slightly smaller and rotated.

In the middle of the rose, we will add the middle petals made from circles. So create a circle (it doesn't have to be perfect). In this case, it will be a darker circle in front and a lighter one behind it, which should be slightly visible. Group these two circles together to make the middle petal. Make a few copies of this middle petal and place them as shown in the image. Finally, put the middle petals on the rest of the petals you created before.

For your convenience, group the whole rose together.

how to create the rose

Step 8

We'll create the leaf now. Start with the Ellipse Tool (L) and set a green fill color for it. While keeping the ellipse selected, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on the top and bottom anchor points to make them sharp.

To roughen the edges of the leaf, select the shape and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag. In the Zig Zag options window, adjust the Size and Ridges per segment to achieve a similar roughness to the image below. Your numbers could be different than mine, because it really depends on the size of your leaf.

how to create the leaf

Step 9

For the stalk, create a very thin, vertical oval. Place the stalk over the leaf you created in the previous step, as shown below. Now make a smaller copy of the stalk and the leaf, rotate them to the left, and attach them to the main stalk. Make another copy of the stalk and the leaf and place this copy on the right side of the main stalk.

how to create more leaves

Step 10

Place the leaves behind the rose, as shown in the image below. Make a copy of the whole little branch, and place it on the other side of the rose. The rose is ready to decorate the hat.

how to place the leaves

Place it in front of the ribbon and feathers.

final illustration of the hat

2. How to Create the Cups

Step 1

To create the cup, we will start with a green rectangle. Modify this rectangle with the warp effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options you see below. Add a small, light green oval in front of the shape for the highlight.

how to create the cup

Step 2

Add a little rectangle on the bottom and deform it with the warp effect (Effect > Warp > Arc Lower).

Next, add a green oval on top of the cup. In the image below, this oval has a black stroke color only for better visibility; however, in the final image, no stroke color will remain. Create a copy of this oval behind (Control-C, Control-B), make it lighter, and slightly stretch it down.

Now we will add some tea to our cup. Create a large brown oval in front which will overlap the green oval in the area marked by the red lines in the image below. Then, make a copy of the green oval in front (Control-C, Control-F), and while keeping this copy selected, select the brown ellipse as well (you need to press the Shift button to select more than one shape). Then hit the Intersect button in the Pathfinder panel. You will end up with a brown shape, which is the tea.

how to create the tea

Step 3

For the handle, create a green oval with no fill color, just green stroke color (press Shift-X to change the fill color to stroke color). On the Stroke panel, make the stroke Weight very thick. While keeping the oval selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options you see in the image below. Expand this shape.

Attach the handle to the cup.

Finally, add two green circles in the places where the handle is attached to the cup (use the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding down the Shift key).

how to create the handle of the tea cup

Step 4

Create two more copies of the cup and change their colors, except the color of the tea.

how to create another colors cups

Step 5

Let’s put the red cup on top of the blue one. First place the red cup in front of the blue as shown below.

Then select the top blue ellipse from the blue cup and make another copy over it (Control-C, Control-F). I marked this new copy with a black stroke for better visibility. You can also make this new copy with a black stroke, so you can see what is inside better.

With the help of the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the anchor points inside the top part of the red cup. Also, be sure that the bottom part of the deformed oval remains in the same position as before. Select the red cup and the deformed ellipse with the black stroke. Then go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). Now the red cup is inside the blue one.

how to place one cup inside another

3. How to Create the Flower to Decorate the Table

Make a copy of the rose and leaves, which we created before for the hat decoration. Note that there is only one pair of leaves. Now we will add a stalk: delete the fill color, set a green stroke color, and check Round Cap on the Stroke panel. Using the Arc Tool, draw an arc.

Next, take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move the handles of the arc to achieve the result you like. You may want to add more leaves to the stem.

how to create the rose

4. How to Create the Table

Step 1

First, create a beige rectangle by using the Rectangle Tool (M). On top of this rectangle, add an oval with the same fill color. For convenience, both shapes are marked here with a black stroke color.

Now, select the rectangle and deform it: go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. Try to play around with the options in order to have a smooth transition from the oval to the new shape. Depending on the size of your oval and rectangle, these options might be a little different from the ones shown below. Remember to expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the tablecloth

Step 2

Use the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw a line over the deformed shape. To make the line straight, hold the Shift key while drawing it.

Now we will modify this line; go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag. In the Zig Zag options window, adjust the Size and Ridges per segment to achieve a similar curve as in the image below. Don't forget to select Smooth Points. For your convenience, select Preview while adjusting these options.

Next, while keeping this wavy line selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new window, adjust the options from the image below. Finally, don't forget to Expand Appearance (Object > Expand Appearance).

continue creating the tablecloth

Here's the Arc options window:

warp options window

Step 3

While keeping the Zig Zag curve selected, also select the deformed rectangle and press the Divide button in the Pathfinder panel. Since you now have two objects grouped, ungroup them: right-click on your mouse and hit Ungroup.

Now you can simply delete the bottom part to create the tablecloth shape.

After that, create another copy of the top oval behind (Control-C, Control-B), make it lighter, and slightly stretch it down.

finishing creating the tablecloth

Step 4

For the table leg, create a light brown rectangle and place it behind the tablecloth (Control-X, Control-B). To modify this rectangle, we’ll use the Fish effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options shown.

Finally, add a light brown ellipse and one more tiny circle as shown below.

how to create the leg of the table

Step 5

Add another ellipse below and deform it with the Fish effect again. Make a copy of the circle from the previous step and attach it below the new oval. Note how the new circle is slightly smaller.

continue creating the leg of the table

Step 6

Now create a horizontally aligned ellipse and apply the Flag effect: go to Effect > Warp > Flag. Use the options shown below, and remember to expand the final shape.

continue creating the leg of the table

Step 7

Attach the new shape to the bottom part of the table’s leg. Add a brown circle with a light circle to the end of this shape, as you can see below. This is the left side part of the table’s leg.

Now, while keeping this left side part selected, take the Reflect Tool (O) and, while holding down the Alt key, click on the middle part of the leg. In the new dialogue window, select Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. You should now have the right part of the table leg. The table is ready for a tea party!

finishing creating the leg of the table

5. How to Create the Background

Step 1

Arrange the details on top of the table as shown below. You can place the details in a way that you like.

placing all the objects on the table

Step 2

Create a dark blue square 850 px Width and Height, by using the Rectangle Tool (M). First, take the tool, and then click on your artboard and enter the necessary options. Align the background to the artboard. To do this, open the Align panel (Window > Align). Set Align To: Align to Artboard (open the fly-out menu and go to Show Options if you don’t see the Align To:), make sure that your background is selected, and click the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons.

how to create the background

Step 3

Place the image in front of the background. However, it will be easier to put the background behind all the objects (Control-X, Control-B).

placing all the objects on the background

Step 4

To add some dimensions to the scene, create a darker ellipse at the bottom of the square, behind the table.

adding dimension

Awesome Work, You're Done!

And we are finished! Well done! I hope you enjoyed learning some of the processes and shortcuts while creating this image in Adobe Illustrator. As always, feel free to share your project and ask questions in the comments section below. As you can see, you can use basic shapes to create amazing images in Adobe Illustrator. See you next time!

final
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.