Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

Comment créer une scène de thé Alice au pays des merveilles dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Alice in Wonderland Week.
How to Create a Furry Cheshire Cat Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Queen of Hearts Playing Card With Affinity Designer

French (Français) translation by Ahmad Fauzan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Dans ce didacticiel, vous apprendrez à créer une scène de thé autour du thème Alice au pays des merveilles. Beaucoup d'entre vous ont peut-être entendu parler de la petite fille qui est tombée dans un terrier de lapin dans un monde d'aventures. Il y avait un goûter - un goûter étrange, bizarre, ridicule et excentrique. Pour moi, c'était la scène la plus mémorable. C'est pourquoi je veux vous montrer comment créer une telle illustration.

Comme toujours, nous utiliserons des formes de base et des effets de déformation. À la fin, vous aurez une illustration adorable et un tas (j'espère!) De nouveaux tours que vous avez appris au cours du processus de création.

Si vous souhaitez vous mettre dans l'ambiance nécessaire, pourquoi ne pas parcourir GraphicRiver et voir comment d'autres artistes imaginent ce monde insolite d'Alice au pays des merveilles.

À chaque fois que vous êtes prêt, allons-y!

1. Comment créer le chapeau

Étape 1

Après avoir ouvert Adobe Illustrator, créez un nouveau document avec une largeur et une hauteur de 850 x 850 px.

Nous allons commencer par illustrer le chapeau. À l'aide de l'outil Ellipse (L), créez un ovale gris foncé. Dans l'image ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir la couleur de remplissage dont vous avez besoin. Créez une copie de cet ovale derrière l'original (Contrôle-C, Contrôle-B), étirez-le légèrement et changez sa couleur en gris plus clair.

Après cela, en utilisant l’outil Rectangle (M), ajoutez un rectangle sous les deux ovales. Assurez-vous que ce rectangle reste à l'arrière (Control-X, Control-B). Pour modifier la forme de ce rectangle, accédez à Effet> Déformation> Renflement. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez les options que vous voyez dans l'image ci-dessous. Développez cette forme (Objet> Développez l'apparence).

how to create the top hat

Étape 2

Créez maintenant une copie des deux ellipses du haut du chapeau (Control-C, Control-V), agrandissez-les et fixez-les à la partie inférieure.

Pour ajouter un ruban, créez un rectangle vert et déformez-le: accédez à Effet> Déformation> Arc et entrez les options suivantes. Rappelez-vous toujours de développer après avoir déformé une forme (Objet> Développer l'apparence).

continue creating the top hat

Étape 3

Ajoutons une décoration en plumes pour le chapeau. Créez une ellipse à l'aide de l'outil Ellipse (L). Prenez l'outil Convertir les points d'ancrage (Maj + C) et cliquez sur les points d'ancrage supérieur et inférieur pour les rendre plus nets.

Pour la tige de la plume, nous utiliserons une ellipse verticale très fine. À l'aide de l'outil de sélection directe (A), sélectionnez les points d'ancrage droit et gauche de cette ellipse et déplacez-les vers le bas en appuyant sur la touche Flèche bas de votre clavier.

Ensuite, laissez l'ellipse déformée sélectionnée et allez à Objet> Chemin> Ajouter des points d'ancrage. Ajoutez trois points d’ancrage à quelques endroits, comme indiqué dans l’image ci-dessous (indiquée par des cercles bleus). Maintenant, à l'aide de l'outil de sélection directe (A), sélectionnez le point d'ancrage central de chaque triplet et déplacez-le au centre de la plume. Pour obtenir un angle aigu dans les points d'ancrage, utilisez l'outil Convertir les points d'ancrage (Maj + C) et cliquez sur chaque point d'ancrage.

how to create the feather

Étape 4

Pour déformer la plume, accédez à Effet> Déformation> Arc et entrez dans les options indiquées ci-dessous. Développez la forme.

Faites une copie plus petite de la plume et changez sa couleur en bleu.

Enfin, placez deux plumes sur le chapeau. Assurez-vous qu'ils sont placés derrière le ruban.

how to create the another feather and place it on the hat

Étape 5

Pour la balise, créez un rectangle bleu clair et déformez-le avec l'option Warp, comme indiqué ci-dessous.

Allez dans Type> Police et choisissez votre police préférée. Cliquez sur l'outil Texte (T), puis tapez les nombres nécessaires. Placez le texte sur la balise et faites légèrement pivoter le texte vers la droite. Regroupez-le (clic droit> Groupe).

how to create the tag

Placez la balise sur le chapeau mais derrière le ruban.

how to place the tag

Étape 6

Décorez le chapeau avec une rose. Créez une ellipse rouge et déformez-la en utilisant l'effet de chaîne: accédez à Effet> Chaîne> Poisson et entrez les options que vous voyez ci-dessous. Rappelez-vous toujours d'élargir.

À l'aide de l'outil Convertir le point d'ancrage (Maj + C), définissez le point d'ancrage supérieur plus net. Après cela, faites une copie derrière (Control-C, Control-B), déplacez-la légèrement vers le haut et changez de couleur vers le rouge clair. Sélectionnez ces deux formes et regroupez-les (clic droit> Groupe). Ce sera un pétale pour notre rose.

how to create the petal of the rose

Étape 7

Maintenant, tout en maintenant le pétale sélectionné, appuyez sur l'outil Rotation (R). Ensuite, maintenez le bouton Alt enfoncé, cliquez sous le pétale, où seront placés les axes de rotation, puis appuyez sur Entrée. Entrez 45 degrés dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue et appuyez sur Copier. Ainsi, vous aurez un autre pétale de la fleur. Pour terminer la première couche de pétales, appuyez sur Control-D quatre fois de plus. Regroupez-les.

Créez maintenant une copie de ce calque devant (Contrôle-C, Contrôle-F), réduisez-le et faites-le pivoter un peu, comme indiqué dans l'image ci-dessous. Vous avez maintenant une deuxième couche de pétales. De même, créez les troisième, quatrième et cinquième couches, qui doivent être légèrement plus petites et pivotées.

Au milieu de la rose, nous ajouterons les pétales du milieu faits de cercles. Alors créez un cercle (il ne doit pas nécessairement être parfait). Dans ce cas, il s'agira d'un cercle plus sombre devant et d'un cercle plus clair derrière, ce qui devrait être légèrement visible. Regroupez ces deux cercles pour former le pétale du milieu. Faites quelques copies de ce pétale central et placez-les comme indiqué sur l'image. Enfin, placez les pétales du milieu sur le reste des pétales que vous avez créés auparavant.

Pour votre commodité, regroupez l'ensemble de la rose.

how to create the rose

Étape 8

Nous allons créer la feuille maintenant. Commencez par l'outil Ellipse (L) et définissez une couleur de remplissage verte. Tout en gardant l'ellipse sélectionnée, utilisez l'outil Convertir les points d'ancrage (Maj-C) et cliquez sur les points d'ancrage supérieur et inférieur pour les rendre plus nets.

Pour rendre les bords rugueux de la feuille, sélectionnez la forme et accédez à Effet> Déformer et transformer> Zig Zag. Dans la fenêtre d’options Zig Zag, réglez Taille et Ridges par segment pour obtenir une rugosité similaire à celle de l’image ci-dessous. Vos chiffres pourraient être différents des miens, car cela dépend vraiment de la taille de votre feuille.

how to create the leaf

Étape 9

Pour la tige, créez un ovale vertical très fin. Placez la tige sur la feuille créée à l'étape précédente, comme indiqué ci-dessous. Faites maintenant une copie plus petite de la tige et de la feuille, faites-les pivoter vers la gauche et fixez-les à la tige principale. Faites une autre copie de la tige et de la feuille et placez cette copie sur le côté droit de la tige principale.

how to create more leaves

Étape 10

Placez les feuilles derrière la rose, comme indiqué dans l'image ci-dessous. Faites une copie de toute la petite branche et placez-la de l'autre côté de la rose. La rose est prête à décorer le chapeau.

how to place the leaves

Placez-le devant le ruban et les plumes.

final illustration of the hat

2. Comment créer les tasses

Étape 1

Pour créer la coupe, nous allons commencer par un rectangle vert. Modifiez ce rectangle avec l’effet de chaîne: accédez à Effet> Chaîne> Poisson et entrez les options que vous voyez ci-dessous. Ajoutez un petit ovale vert clair devant la forme pour le mettre en valeur.

how to create the cup

Étape 2

Ajoutez un petit rectangle en bas et déformez-le avec l'effet de chaîne (Effet> Déformation> Arc inférieur).

Ensuite, ajoutez un ovale vert sur le dessus de la tasse. Dans l'image ci-dessous, cet ovale a une couleur de trait noire uniquement pour une meilleure visibilité. Cependant, dans l'image finale, il ne restera aucune couleur de trait. Créez une copie de cet ovale derrière (Control-C, Control-B), rendez-le plus léger et étirez-le légèrement

Maintenant, nous allons ajouter du thé dans notre tasse. Créez un grand ovale brun devant qui recouvrira l’ovale vert dans la zone délimitée par les lignes rouges dans l’image ci-dessous. Ensuite, faites une copie de l’ovale vert devant (Control-C, Control-F) et, tout en maintenant cette copie sélectionnée, sélectionnez également l’ellipse brune (vous devez appuyer sur la touche Maj pour sélectionner plusieurs formes). Appuyez ensuite sur le bouton Intersection dans le panneau Pathfinder. Vous allez vous retrouver avec une forme brune, qui est le thé.

how to create the tea

Étape 3

Pour la poignée, créez un ovale vert sans couleur de remplissage, mais juste une couleur de trait verte (appuyez sur Shift-X pour changer la couleur de remplissage en couleur de trait). Sur le panneau Trait, donnez au trait Poids très épais. Tout en gardant l'ovale sélectionné, allez à Effet> Déformation> Arc et entrez les options que vous voyez dans l'image ci-dessous. Développez cette forme.

Fixez la poignée à la tasse.

Enfin, ajoutez deux cercles verts aux endroits où la poignée est attachée à la tasse (utilisez l'outil Ellipse (L) tout en maintenant la touche Maj enfoncée).

how to create the handle of the tea cup

Étape 4

Créez deux autres copies de la tasse et changez leurs couleurs, sauf la couleur du thé.

how to create another colors cups

Étape 5

Mettons la tasse rouge au-dessus de la tasse bleue. Placez d’abord la tasse rouge devant le bleu comme indiqué ci-dessous.

Ensuite, sélectionnez l'ellipse bleue du haut de la tasse bleue et faites une autre copie dessus (Contrôle-C, Contrôle-F). J'ai marqué cette nouvelle copie d'un trait noir pour une meilleure visibilité. Vous pouvez également créer cette nouvelle copie avec un trait noir afin de mieux voir ce qui se trouve à l'intérieur.

À l'aide de l'outil de sélection directe (A), déplacez les points d'ancrage à l'intérieur de la partie supérieure du bonnet rouge. Assurez-vous également que la partie inférieure de l'ovale déformé reste dans la même position qu'avant. Sélectionnez la coupe rouge et l'ellipse déformée avec le trait noir. Ensuite, allez à Objet> Masque d'écrêtage> Make (Control-7). Maintenant, la tasse rouge est à l'intérieur de la bleue.

how to place one cup inside another

3. Comment créer la fleur pour décorer la table

Faites une copie de la rose et des feuilles, que nous avons créées auparavant pour la décoration du chapeau. Notez qu'il n'y a qu'une seule paire de feuilles. Maintenant, nous allons ajouter une tige : supprimer la couleur de remplissage, définir une couleur de contour vert et vérifier la calotte ronde sur le Comité de course. À l’aide de l’outil Arc, dessiner un arc.

Ensuite, prenez l'outil de sélection directe (A) et déplacez les poignées de l'arc pour obtenir le résultat souhaité. Vous voudrez peut-être ajouter plus de feuilles à la tige.

how to create the rose

4. Comment créer la table

Étape 1

Commencez par créer un rectangle beige à l’aide de l’outil Rectangle (M). Au-dessus de ce rectangle, ajoutez un ovale avec la même couleur de remplissage. Pour plus de commodité, les deux formes sont marquées ici avec une couleur de trait noir.

Maintenant, sélectionnez le rectangle et déformez-le: allez à Effet> Déformation> Renflement. Essayez de jouer avec les options afin d’effectuer une transition en douceur de l’ovale à la nouvelle forme. En fonction de la taille de votre ovale et de votre rectangle, ces options peuvent être légèrement différentes de celles présentées ci-dessous. N'oubliez pas de développer cette forme (Objet> Développer l'apparence).

how to create the tablecloth

Étape 2

Utilisez l'outil Segment de ligne (\\) pour tracer une ligne sur la forme déformée. Pour rendre la ligne droite, maintenez la touche Maj enfoncée tout en la traçant.

Nous allons maintenant modifier cette ligne. Allez à Effet> Déformer et transformer> Zig Zag. Dans la fenêtre d’options Zig Zag, réglez Taille et Ridges par segment pour obtenir une courbe similaire à celle de l’image ci-dessous. N'oubliez pas de sélectionner Smooth Points. Pour votre commodité, sélectionnez Aperçu tout en réglant ces options.

Ensuite, tout en maintenant cette ligne ondulée sélectionnée, accédez à Effet> Déformation> Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre, ajustez les options de l'image ci-dessous. Enfin, n'oubliez pas de développer Apparence (Objet> Développer l'apparence).

continue creating the tablecloth

Voici la fenêtre d'options Arc:

warp options window

Étape 3

Tout en maintenant la courbe Zig Zag sélectionnée, sélectionnez également le rectangle déformé et appuyez sur le bouton Diviser du panneau Pathfinder. Puisque vous avez maintenant deux objets groupés, dissociez-les: faites un clic droit sur votre souris et appuyez sur Dissocier.

Maintenant, vous pouvez simplement supprimer la partie inférieure pour créer la forme de la nappe.

Après cela, créez une autre copie de l’ovale supérieur situé derrière (Control-C, Control-B), rendez-le plus léger et étirez-le légèrement.

finishing creating the tablecloth

Étape 4

Pour le pied de table, créez un rectangle brun clair et placez-le derrière la nappe (Control-X, Control-B). Pour modifier ce rectangle, nous allons utiliser l’effet Poisson: accédez à Effet> Déformation> Poisson et entrez les options affichées.

Enfin, ajoutez une ellipse brun clair et un autre cercle, comme indiqué ci-dessous.

how to create the leg of the table

Étape 5

Ajouter ci-dessous un autre ellipse et déformer à nouveau avec l’effet de poisson. Faites une copie du cercle de l’étape précédente et l’attacher dessous l’ovale de nouveau. Notez que le nouveau cercle légèrement plus petit.

continue creating the leg of the table

Étape 6

Créez maintenant une ellipse alignée horizontalement et appliquez l’effet Indicateur: accédez à Effet> Déformation> Indicateur. Utilisez les options présentées ci-dessous et n'oubliez pas de développer la forme finale.

continue creating the leg of the table

Étape 7

Fixez la nouvelle forme à la partie inférieure de la jambe de la table. Ajoutez un cercle brun avec un cercle de lumière à la fin de cette forme, comme vous pouvez le voir ci-dessous. C’est la partie gauche de la jambe de la table.

Maintenant, tout en maintenant cette partie gauche sélectionnée, prenez l’outil Reflect (O) et, tout en maintenant la touche Alt enfoncée, cliquez sur la partie centrale de la jambe. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, sélectionnez Vertical, Angle 90 degrés et appuyez sur Copier. Vous devriez maintenant avoir la bonne partie du pied de table. La table est prête pour un goûter!

finishing creating the leg of the table

5. Comment créer le fond

Étape 1

Disposez les détails en haut de la table comme indiqué ci-dessous. Vous pouvez placer les détails comme vous le souhaitez.

placing all the objects on the table

Étape 2

Créez un carré bleu foncé de 850 px de largeur et de hauteur à l'aide de l'outil Rectangle (M). Tout d'abord, prenez l'outil, puis cliquez sur votre plan de travail et entrez les options nécessaires. Alignez le fond sur la planche. Pour ce faire, ouvrez le panneau Aligner (Fenêtre> Aligner). Définissez Aligner sur: Aligner sur l'Artboard (ouvrez le menu déroulant et accédez à Afficher les options si vous ne voyez pas Aligner sur :), assurez-vous que l'arrière-plan est sélectionné et cliquez sur les boutons Aligner horizontalement le centre et Aligner verticalement .

how to create the background

Étape 3

Placez l'image en face de l'arrière-plan. Cependant, il sera plus facile de mettre l'arrière-plan derrière tous les objets (Control-X, Control-B).

placing all the objects on the background

Étape 4

Pour ajouter des dimensions à la scène, créez une ellipse plus sombre au bas du carré, derrière la table.

adding dimension

Un travail génial, vous avez terminé!

Et nous avons fini! Bien joué! J'espère que vous avez apprécié l'apprentissage de certains processus et raccourcis lors de la création de cette image dans Adobe Illustrator. Comme toujours, n'hésitez pas à partager votre projet et à poser des questions dans la section commentaires ci-dessous. Comme vous pouvez le constater, vous pouvez utiliser des formes de base pour créer des images étonnantes dans Adobe Illustrator. À la prochaine!

final
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

How to Create an Alice in Wonderland Tea Party Scene in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Alice in Wonderland Week.
How to Create a Furry Cheshire Cat Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator
How to Create a Queen of Hearts Playing Card With Affinity Designer
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial you will learn how to create an Alice in Wonderland themed tea party scene. Many of you may have heard of the little girl falling down a rabbit hole into a world full of adventures. There was a tea party—an odd, bizarre, ridiculous, and eccentric tea party. For me, it was the most memorable scene. That's why I want to show you how to create such an illustration.

As always, we will use basic shapes and warp effects. At the end, you will have an adorable illustration and a bunch (I hope!) of new tricks you've learned during the process of creating it.

If you would like to get yourself in the necessary mood, why don't you browse GraphicRiver and see how other artists imagine this quirky world of Alice in Wonderland.

Whenever you're ready, let's go!

1. How to Create the Hat 

Step 1

After opening Adobe Illustrator, create a new document with 850 x 850 px Width and Height

We’ll begin by illustrating the hat. Using the Ellipse Tool (L), create a dark grey oval. In the image below, you can see what fill color you need. Create a copy of this oval behind the original one (Control-C, Control-B), stretch it down a little, and change its color to a lighter grey.

After that, using the Rectangle Tool (M), add a rectangle under the two ovals. Be sure this rectangle stays in the back (Control-X, Control-B). To change the shape of this rectangle, go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below. Expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the top hat

Step 2

Now make a copy of the two ellipses from the top of the hat (Control-C, Control-V), make them larger, and attach them to the bottom part.

To add a ribbon, create a green rectangle and deform it: go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options. Always remember to expand after deforming a shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

continue creating the top hat

Step 3

Let’s add a feather decoration for the hat. Create an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L). Take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on the top and bottom anchor points to make them sharp.

For the stem of the feather, we will use a very thin vertical ellipse. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the right and left anchor points of this ellipse and move them down by pressing the Down Arrow key on your keyboard.

Next, keep the deformed ellipse selected and go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. Add three anchor points in a few places as shown in the image below (marked by blue circles). Now, using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the middle anchor point of each triplet and move it to the middle of the feather. To get a sharp angle in the anchor points, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on each anchor point.

how to create the feather

Step 4

To deform the feather, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options shown below. Expand the shape.

Make a smaller copy of the feather, and change its color to blue.

Finally, place two feathers on the hat. Be sure they are placed behind the ribbon.

how to create the another feather and place it on the hat

Step 5

For the tag, create a light blue rectangle and deform it with the warp option, as shown below.

Go to Type > Font, and choose your favorite font. Click on the Type Tool (T) and then type the necessary numbers. Place the text on the tag and slightly rotate the text to the right. Group it together (right-click > Group).

how to create the tag

Place the tag on the hat but behind the ribbon.

how to place the tag

Step 6

Let’s decorate the hat with a rose. Create a red ellipse and deform it by using the warp effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options you see below. Always remember to expand.

Using the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C), make the top anchor point sharp. After that, make a copy behind (Control-C, Control-B), shift it slightly upward, and its change color to the light red. Select these two shapes and group them (right-click > Group). This will be a petal for our rose.

how to create the petal of the rose

Step 7

Now, while keeping the petal selected, hit the Rotate Tool (R). After that, keep the Alt button pressed, click below the petal, where the rotation axes will be placed, and hit Enter. Enter 45 degrees in the new dialogue window and press Copy. Thus, you will have another petal of the flower. To finish the first layer of petals, press Control-D four more times. Group them together.

Now, create a copy of this layer in front (Control-C, Control-F), make it smaller, and rotate it a little as shown in the image below. You now have a second layer of petals. Similarly, make the third, fourth, and fifth layers, which should be slightly smaller and rotated.

In the middle of the rose, we will add the middle petals made from circles. So create a circle (it doesn't have to be perfect). In this case, it will be a darker circle in front and a lighter one behind it, which should be slightly visible. Group these two circles together to make the middle petal. Make a few copies of this middle petal and place them as shown in the image. Finally, put the middle petals on the rest of the petals you created before.

For your convenience, group the whole rose together.

how to create the rose

Step 8

We'll create the leaf now. Start with the Ellipse Tool (L) and set a green fill color for it. While keeping the ellipse selected, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on the top and bottom anchor points to make them sharp.

To roughen the edges of the leaf, select the shape and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag. In the Zig Zag options window, adjust the Size and Ridges per segment to achieve a similar roughness to the image below. Your numbers could be different than mine, because it really depends on the size of your leaf.

how to create the leaf

Step 9

For the stalk, create a very thin, vertical oval. Place the stalk over the leaf you created in the previous step, as shown below. Now make a smaller copy of the stalk and the leaf, rotate them to the left, and attach them to the main stalk. Make another copy of the stalk and the leaf and place this copy on the right side of the main stalk.

how to create more leaves

Step 10

Place the leaves behind the rose, as shown in the image below. Make a copy of the whole little branch, and place it on the other side of the rose. The rose is ready to decorate the hat.

how to place the leaves

Place it in front of the ribbon and feathers.

final illustration of the hat

2. How to Create the Cups

Step 1

To create the cup, we will start with a green rectangle. Modify this rectangle with the warp effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options you see below. Add a small, light green oval in front of the shape for the highlight.

how to create the cup

Step 2

Add a little rectangle on the bottom and deform it with the warp effect (Effect > Warp > Arc Lower).

Next, add a green oval on top of the cup. In the image below, this oval has a black stroke color only for better visibility; however, in the final image, no stroke color will remain. Create a copy of this oval behind (Control-C, Control-B), make it lighter, and slightly stretch it down.

Now we will add some tea to our cup. Create a large brown oval in front which will overlap the green oval in the area marked by the red lines in the image below. Then, make a copy of the green oval in front (Control-C, Control-F), and while keeping this copy selected, select the brown ellipse as well (you need to press the Shift button to select more than one shape). Then hit the Intersect button in the Pathfinder panel. You will end up with a brown shape, which is the tea.

how to create the tea

Step 3

For the handle, create a green oval with no fill color, just green stroke color (press Shift-X to change the fill color to stroke color). On the Stroke panel, make the stroke Weight very thick. While keeping the oval selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options you see in the image below. Expand this shape.

Attach the handle to the cup.

Finally, add two green circles in the places where the handle is attached to the cup (use the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding down the Shift key).

how to create the handle of the tea cup

Step 4

Create two more copies of the cup and change their colors, except the color of the tea.

how to create another colors cups

Step 5

Let’s put the red cup on top of the blue one. First place the red cup in front of the blue as shown below.

Then select the top blue ellipse from the blue cup and make another copy over it (Control-C, Control-F). I marked this new copy with a black stroke for better visibility. You can also make this new copy with a black stroke, so you can see what is inside better.

With the help of the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the anchor points inside the top part of the red cup. Also, be sure that the bottom part of the deformed oval remains in the same position as before. Select the red cup and the deformed ellipse with the black stroke. Then go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). Now the red cup is inside the blue one.

how to place one cup inside another

3. How to Create the Flower to Decorate the Table

Make a copy of the rose and leaves, which we created before for the hat decoration. Note that there is only one pair of leaves. Now we will add a stalk: delete the fill color, set a green stroke color, and check Round Cap on the Stroke panel. Using the Arc Tool, draw an arc.

Next, take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move the handles of the arc to achieve the result you like. You may want to add more leaves to the stem.

how to create the rose

4. How to Create the Table

Step 1

First, create a beige rectangle by using the Rectangle Tool (M). On top of this rectangle, add an oval with the same fill color. For convenience, both shapes are marked here with a black stroke color.

Now, select the rectangle and deform it: go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. Try to play around with the options in order to have a smooth transition from the oval to the new shape. Depending on the size of your oval and rectangle, these options might be a little different from the ones shown below. Remember to expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the tablecloth

Step 2

Use the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw a line over the deformed shape. To make the line straight, hold the Shift key while drawing it.

Now we will modify this line; go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag. In the Zig Zag options window, adjust the Size and Ridges per segment to achieve a similar curve as in the image below. Don't forget to select Smooth Points. For your convenience, select Preview while adjusting these options.

Next, while keeping this wavy line selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new window, adjust the options from the image below. Finally, don't forget to Expand Appearance (Object > Expand Appearance).

continue creating the tablecloth

Here's the Arc options window:

warp options window

Step 3

While keeping the Zig Zag curve selected, also select the deformed rectangle and press the Divide button in the Pathfinder panel. Since you now have two objects grouped, ungroup them: right-click on your mouse and hit Ungroup.

Now you can simply delete the bottom part to create the tablecloth shape.

After that, create another copy of the top oval behind (Control-C, Control-B), make it lighter, and slightly stretch it down.

finishing creating the tablecloth

Step 4

For the table leg, create a light brown rectangle and place it behind the tablecloth (Control-X, Control-B). To modify this rectangle, we’ll use the Fish effect: go to Effect > Warp > Fish and enter the options shown.

Finally, add a light brown ellipse and one more tiny circle as shown below.

how to create the leg of the table

Step 5

Add another ellipse below and deform it with the Fish effect again. Make a copy of the circle from the previous step and attach it below the new oval. Note how the new circle is slightly smaller.

continue creating the leg of the table

Step 6

Now create a horizontally aligned ellipse and apply the Flag effect: go to Effect > Warp > Flag. Use the options shown below, and remember to expand the final shape.

continue creating the leg of the table

Step 7

Attach the new shape to the bottom part of the table’s leg. Add a brown circle with a light circle to the end of this shape, as you can see below. This is the left side part of the table’s leg.

Now, while keeping this left side part selected, take the Reflect Tool (O) and, while holding down the Alt key, click on the middle part of the leg. In the new dialogue window, select Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. You should now have the right part of the table leg. The table is ready for a tea party!

finishing creating the leg of the table

5. How to Create the Background

Step 1

Arrange the details on top of the table as shown below. You can place the details in a way that you like.

placing all the objects on the table

Step 2

Create a dark blue square 850 px Width and Height, by using the Rectangle Tool (M). First, take the tool, and then click on your artboard and enter the necessary options. Align the background to the artboard. To do this, open the Align panel (Window > Align). Set Align To: Align to Artboard (open the fly-out menu and go to Show Options if you don’t see the Align To:), make sure that your background is selected, and click the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center buttons.

how to create the background

Step 3

Place the image in front of the background. However, it will be easier to put the background behind all the objects (Control-X, Control-B).

placing all the objects on the background

Step 4

To add some dimensions to the scene, create a darker ellipse at the bottom of the square, behind the table.

adding dimension

Awesome Work, You're Done!

And we are finished! Well done! I hope you enjoyed learning some of the processes and shortcuts while creating this image in Adobe Illustrator. As always, feel free to share your project and ask questions in the comments section below. As you can see, you can use basic shapes to create amazing images in Adobe Illustrator. See you next time!

final
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.