Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fantasy
Design

Comment Créer une Illustration de la Licorne dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Desgardin Inna (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Une nouvelle demande de nos lecteurs — une illustration de la Licorne !

Comme avec tous mes tutoriels, je veux vous montrer que la création de jolies illustrations ne nécessite pas nécessairement l’utilisation d’outils complexes et la connaissance extraordinaire d’Adobe Illustrator. Aujourd'hui nous allons faire une illustration de la Licorne à l’aide de formes de base. Nous utiliserons beaucoup l'outil Ciseaux (C)  et l’effet  Déformation.

Peut-être vous êtes vous déjà demandé pourquoi j’utilise toujours l’effet de Déformation, c’est ma manière d’éviter l’Outil Plume, qui est un peu compliqué pour les débutants et nécessite habituellement des outils supplémentaires tels qu’une tablette graphique. Je veux prouver que dessiner dans Adobe Illustrator peut être simple et amusant !

Si vous avez besoin d’inspiration ou que vous n’êtes pas sûr à quoi ressemblent les licornes, n’hésitez pas à regarder les images d'adorables licornes de GraphicRiver.

Et maintenant, commençons !

1. Comment créer une Licorne

Étape 1

Ouvrez Adobe Illustrator et créez un nouveau document de 850 px x 850 px en Largeur et en Hauteur.

Nous allons commencer par créer la tête, le cou et le corps de la Licorne. Dessinez une ellipse à l’aide de l’outil Ellipse (L). Mettez la couleur de fond à Sans (vide) et choisissez une couleur quelconque pour le contour de cette forme.

Ensuite, faites un rectangle à l’aide de l’outil Rectangle (M), comme illustré dans l’image ci-dessous. Créez une ellipse légèrement plus grande, placez-la en bas de sorte qu'elle se supérpose avec le rectangle.

creating the head neck and body

Étape 2

Nous allons sélectionner le rectangle qui va être le cou de notre licorne. Allez à Effets > Déformation > Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre, réglez les options comme sur  l’image ci-dessous. Quand vous déformez le cou, il faut vous s'assurer qu’aucun des points d’ancrage ne dépasse de la tête.

warping the neck

Étape 3

Nous allons déformer l’ellipse inférieure en utilisant un autre effet : l’effet du Drapeau. Allez à Effet > Déformation > Drapeau. Entrez les options ci-dessous, puis regardez le résultat.

warping the body

Étape 4

Maintenant que nous avons déformé le rectangle et l’ellipse, nous allons décomposer ces formes irrégulières. Sélectionnez l’une de ces formes et allez à Objet > Décomposer l’Aspect. Répétez la même procédure pour la deuxième forme déformée. Sélectionnez les trois formes et réunissez-les en appuyant sur le bouton Réunion du panneau Pathfinder (Fenêtre > Pathfinder).

Pour finaliser la forme, utilisez l’Outil Conversion de Point d’Ancrage (Maj + C) et étirez les poignées jusqu'à ce que vous obteniez le résultat souhaité. Si vous souhaitez supprimer certains des points d’ancrage, utilisez l’Outil Suppression de Point d’Ancrage (-).

En outre, un détail important : vérifiez sur le panneau Contour, que vous avez selectionné Extrémité Arrondie dans la section Aspect et Sommet en Arrondi dans la section Angle. Il faut toujours s’assurer que ces boutons sur le panneau Contour sont sélectionnés.

uniting the head neck and body

Etape 5

Nous allons créer une forme qui peut être utilisée pour ajouter plus de détails sur notre Licorne. Dessinez une ellipse horizontale mince. Sélectionnez cette ellipse et avec l’outil Conversion de Point d’Ancrage (Maj + C) cliquez sur les points d'encrage gauche et droit afin de les rendre pointus.

Nous allons utiliser l’effet Drapeau  pour déformer cette forme. Allez à Effet > Déformation > Drapeau et appliquez les options comme dans l’image ci-dessous. N’oubliez pas de décomposer la forme définitive : en gardant la forme sélectionnée, allez à Objet > Décomposer l’Aspect.

creating the strand

Etape 6

Faites plusieurs copies de cette forme et placez-les sur le côté gauche de notre Licorne — il s’agit de la crinière. Si vous avez quelques espaces vides entre les formes, il suffit d’ajouter une ellipse (semblable à l’ellipse rouge insérée dans l’image ci-dessous).

Une fois que vous êtes satisfait de la longueur et de  la forme de la crinière, sélectionnez toutes les formes que vous avez créés et réunissez-les en appuyant sur le bouton Réunion sur le panneau Pathfinder (Fenêtre > Pathfinder).

creating the mane

Étape 7

En utilisant la même technique, nous allons ajouter une queue à notre Licorne. Faites quelques copies d'ellipses pointues, tournez-les comme nécessaire et réunissez-les pour faire une seule forme.

creating the tail

Étape 8

Passons aux jambes. Créez une ellipse verticale et puis appliquez l’effet Drapeau: allez à Effet > Déformation > Drapeau et utilisez les options ci-dessous. Décomposez cette forme (Objet > Décomposer l’Aspect).

Pour les sabots, ajoutez deux minuscules ellipses superposées, comme le montre l’image ci-dessous (regardez les ellipses rouges). Sélectionnez ces ellipses minuscules ensemble et réunissez-les: appuyez sur le bouton Réunion sur le panneau Pathfinder (Fenêtre > Pathfinder).

Vous devriez maintenant avoir deux formes : une ellipse longue et irrégulière pour la jambe et une forme de cœur pour le sabot. Faites une copie de la jambe (copier devant) (Ctrl-C, Ctrl-F). Tout en la gardant sélectionnée, maintenez la touche Maj enfoncée et sélectionnez le sabot. Puis cliquez sur le bouton Intersection sur le panneau Pathfinder. Une jambe est faite!

creating the leg

Étape 9

Ajoutez cette jambe à la Licorne. Puis faites trois copies et ajoutez-les aussi. Notez que les jambes à l’arrière sont placées légèrement plus haut en raison de la perspective.

placing legs

Étape 10

Nous allons faire une oreille. Prenez l’Outil Ellipse (L) et tracez une ellipse. Puis prenez l’Outil Sélection Directe (A), sélectionnez les points d’ancrage droit et gauche et faites-les glisser vers le bas. Copiez la forme créée, diminuez sa taille et placez-la à l’intérieur de la forme plus grande.

creating the ear

Placez les oreilles sur la tête de la Licorne.

placing the ear

Étape 11

Qu'est-ce qu'une licorne sans une corne ? Il est vraiment facile d'en ajouter une! Appliquez la même méthode que vous avez utilisé pour l’oreille. Dessinez une ellipse verticale et puis déplacez les points d’ancrage droit et gauche vers le bas à l’aide de l’Outil Sélection Directe (A) et la touche Flèche vers le Bas de votre clavier.

creating the horn

Placez la corne sur la tête de la Licorne.

placing the horn

Étape 12

Pour faire les yeux romantiques et rêveuses et une jolie bouche qui sourit, nous allons commencer par une ellipse. Puis prenez l'Outil Ciseaux (C) et cliquez sur la gauche et la droite de l’ellipse. Supprimez la partie supérieure d’ellipse. Ainsi vous vous trouvez avec un arc.

creating the eye

Étape 13

Nous allons placer l’arc comme l'œil et ajouter quelques cils à l’aide de l’Outil Trait (\).

Faites une copie de l’arc (l’oeil fermé sans cils) et placez-le comme la bouche de Licorne. Ajoutez deux petits cercles pour les narines. Tout en dessinant l’ellipse, veillez à maintenir enfoncée la touche Maj pour obtenir presqu'une cercle. Placez une autre copie de l’arc sur la corne pour faire semblant que la corne est à l’intérieur de la crinière.

creating the eyelashes mouth and nosdrils

Étape 14

Waouh - tenez vos licornes ! On y est presque ! Nous avons tout dessiné et placé ensemble. Maintenant nous allons rendre notre image plus naturelle, comme si elle avait été dessinée avec l’Outil Plume.

Mais avant de faire quoi que ce soit, dissociez tout : sélectionnez tout (Ctrl-A) et allez à Objet > Dissocier. Répétez cette dissociation plusieurs fois jusqu'à ce que la commande Dissocier n’est plus active.

Maintenant, il faut couper les parties inutiles à l’aide de l'Outil Ciseaux (C). Examinez votre Licorne soigneusement et décidez quelles parties doivent être coupées. Cherchez les intersections de deux lignes ou plus. Dans l’image ci-dessous, j’ai marqué avec la couleur rose les tracés que je vais couper.

cutting unneeded parts

Et voilà, elle est là! Notre Licorne !!

how the unicorn looks after cutting off

2. Comment Créer un Arc-en-Ciel et des Nuages

Étape 1

Première chose, nous avons absolument besoin d’un arc-en-ciel pour la Licorne, un lieu où vivent habituellement les licornes.

Nous allons commencer par dessiner un grand cercle : utilisez l’Outil Ellipse (L) tout en maintenant la touche Maj enfoncée. Ensuite, nous allons faire cinq exemplaires de ce cercle, chacun avec une diminution constante de rayon. Allez à Effet > Distorsion & Transformation > Transformation. Entrez les options présentées ci-dessous. N’oubliez pas d’entrer le nombre d’exemplaires. Dans notre cas, il y en a cinq. Ainsi, vous obtiendrez un ensemble de cercles. Décomposez ces cercles : tandis que la forme est sélectionnée, allez à Objet > Décomposer l’Aspect.

creating the rainbow

Étape 2

Maintenant, nous allons apprendre comment dessiner un nuage. Dessinez tout simplement un cercle (Ellipse Tool (L) tout en maintenant la touche Maj enfoncée). Faites beaucoup de copies de ce cercle (Ctrl + C et Ctrl-V quelques fois). Distribuez ces cercles pour qu’ils se croisent et remplissent un peu partout votre nuage. Vous pouvez redimensionner certains des cercles pour arriver à une forme de nuage, comme le montre l’image ci-dessous.

Enfin, sélectionnez tous les cercles et réunissez-les en utilisant le bouton Réunion sur le panneau Pathfinder. Notre nuage est prêt.

creating the cloud

Faites une deuxième copie de ce nuage et placez-les sur les deux côtés de la Licorne.

placing clouds

Étape 3

Lors de cette étape, nous allons couper les lignes de l’arc-en-ciel qui se croisent avec l’image de la Licorne et les nuages. Avant de couper les lignes de l’arc-en-ciel, vous aurez besoin de les dissocier (Objet > Dissocier), peut-être même plusieurs fois.

Maintenant, sélectionnez l'Outil Ciseaux (C) et cliquez sur les chemins où les lignes d’arc-en-ciel se croisent avec les lignes de la licorne ou les nuages. Supprimez les parties inutiles des lignes pour faire apparaître l’image de l’arc-en-ciel derrière la Licorne et les nuages. Notre image est maintenant prête à être colorée !

cutting off

3. Comment Colorier l’Illustration

Étape 1

Sélectionnez tout (Ctrl-A), allez à Objet > Expand, dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, choisissez Contour, OK. Pour remplir l’objet avec une couleur, créez un rectangle (Outil Rectangle (M)), rempli de n’importe quelle couleur de fond. Placez ce rectangle en arrière-plan de l’illustration (Ctrl-X, CTRL-B).

Assurez-vous que toutes les parties de l’illustration sont couvertes par ce rectangle. Encore une fois, sélectionnez tout (Ctrl-A) et appuyez sur le bouton Pochoir du panneau Pathfinder. Puis dissociez l’illustration entière car elle sera regroupée et supprimez le cadre-rectangle.

coloring the illustration

L’image résultante devrait ressembler à ceci :

pressing the Trim button in Pathfinder

Étape 2

Maintenant vous pouvez changer les couleurs des différentes parties de l’image à votre goût. Je ne donne pas les codes de couleur pour l’illustration car il n’est pas aussi important qu'ils soient exactement les mêmes. Notre principal objectif ici est de reproduire une œuvre à l'aide des formes de base comme si on l'a dessiné avec l'Outil Plume. Comme toujours, j'aime vous donner plus de possibilités pour exprimer votre créativité!

colored illustration

Étape 3

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez ajouter quelques étoiles dans l’illustration. Pour faire les étoiles, utilisez l’Outil Etoile. Maintenez enfoncée la touche CTRL de votre clavier tout en dessinant l'étoile et regardez comment les coins changent!

adding stars

Étape 4

Ajouter un carré de 850 x 850 px en arrière-plan. Notre illustration de la licorne est prête !

adding the background

Travail Impressionnant, Vous Avez Terminé!

Oui!!! Nous l'avons fait!! Vous avez accompli une belle illustration de plus! Comme vous pouvez le voir, en utilisant une technique très simple et en transformant les formes simples, vous pouvez créer une illustration qui donne l'impression que vous avez utilisé des outils plus complexes.

Vous avez sans doute appris quelque chose de nouveau et pratiqué quelque chose que vous saviez déjà, mais j’espère que vous avez apprécié ce tutoriel! Impatiente de voir vos résultats! Si vous avez des questions, posez-les tout de suite dans les commentaires ci-dessous.

final image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fantasy
Design

How to Create a Unicorn Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

A new request from one of our readers—a unicorn illustration!

As with all my tutorials, I want to show you that creating cute illustrations does not necessary require usage of complicated tools and extraordinary knowledge of Adobe Illustrator. Today we’re going to make a unicorn illustration using basic shapes. We will use the Scissors Tool (C) a lot and the Warp effect.

If you ever wonder why I am always using the Warp effect, it's my way of avoiding the Pen Tool, which is a bit complicated for beginners and usually requires extra tools such as a drawing tablet. I like to prove that drawing in Adobe Illustrator can be simple and fun!

If you need some inspiration or are not sure how unicorns look like, feel free to check GraphicRiver's adorable unicorn images.

And now, let’s get started!

1. How to Create a Unicorn

Step 1

Open Adobe Illustrator and create a new document with 850 px x 850 px in Width and Height.

We’ll start by creating the head, neck, and body of the unicorn. Draw an ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L). Set no fill color and any stroke color for this shape.

Next, make a rectangle using the Rectangle Tool (M), as shown in the image below. Create a slightly larger ellipse, placing it at the bottom, overlapping the rectangle.

creating the head neck and body

Step 2

Let’s select the rectangle, which is going to be our unicorn’s neck. Go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new window, adjust the options from the image below. As you warp the neck, make sure that none of the anchor points are overlapping the head.

warping the neck

Step 3

Let’s warp the bottom ellipse by using another effect: the Flag effect. Go to Effect > Warp > Flag. Enter the options you see below and watch the result.

warping the body

Step 4

Now that we’ve warped the rectangle and the ellipse, we’re going to expand these irregular shapes. Select one of these shapes, and go to Object > Expand Appearance. Repeat the same procedure for the second deformed shape. Select all three shapes and unite them by pressing the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder). 

To finalize the shape, use the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and stretch the handles until you achieve the result you want. If you want to delete some of the anchor points, use the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-).

Also, one important detail: on the Stroke panel, check Round Cap in the Cap section and Round Join in the Corner section. Always make sure that these buttons on the Stroke panel are switched on.

uniting the head neck and body

Step 5

Let’s create a shape that can be used to add more details on our unicorn. Draw a thin horizontal ellipse. Select this ellipse, and using the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C), make the right and left anchor points sharp by clicking on them. 

Let’s use the Flag effect to warp this shape. Go to Effect > Warp > Flag and apply the options in the image below. Don't forget to expand the final shape: keeping the shape selected, go to Object > Expand Appearance.

creating the strand

Step 6

Make several copies of this shape and place them along the left side of our unicorn—this will be the mane. If you have some unfilled gaps between shapes, just add an ellipse (similar to the inserted red ellipse in the image below). 

Once you are happy with the length and shape of the mane, select all the shapes you've created and unite them by pressing the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder).

creating the mane

Step 7

Using the same technique, let’s give our unicorn a tail. Make a few copies of the pointy ellipses, rotate them as necessary, and unite them to make a single shape.

creating the tail

Step 8

Let’s move on to the legs. Create a vertical ellipse, and then apply the Flag effect: go to Effect > Warp > Flag, and use the options below. Expand the appearance of this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

For the hoofs, add two tiny overlapping ellipses as shown in the image below (see the red ellipses). Select both of these tiny ellipses and unite them: press the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder). 

You should now have two shapes: a long, irregular ellipse for the leg and a heart shape for the hoof. Make a copy of the leg in front (Control-C, Control-F). While keeping it selected, hold down the Shift key and select the hoof. Then hit the Intersect button on the Pathfinder panel. One leg is done!

creating the leg

Step 9

Give this leg to the unicorn. Then make three copies and give these to him as well. Notice that the legs in the back are positioned slightly higher due to perspective.

placing legs

Step 10

Let's make an ear. Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and draw an ellipse. Then take the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the right and left anchor points, and slide them down. Copy the created shape, make it smaller, and place it inside the larger shape.

creating the ear

Place the ear on the unicorn's head.

placing the ear

Step 11

What’s a unicorn without a horn? Adding one is really easy! Apply the same method as you did with the ear. Make a vertical ellipse, and then move the right and left anchor points all the way down by using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and the Down Arrow key on your keyboard.

creating the horn

Place the horn on the unicorn's head.

placing the horn

Step 12

To make the romantic, dreamy eyes and cute, smiley mouth, let’s start with an ellipse. Then grab the Scissors Tool (C) and click on the left and right sides of the ellipse. Delete the upper part of the ellipse. You should be left with an arc.

creating the eye

Step 13

Let’s place the arc as the eye, and add a few eyelashes using the Line Segment Tool (\)

Make a copy of the arc (the closed eye without the lashes) and place it as the unicorn’s mouth. Add two tiny circles as nostrils. While drawing the ellipse, be sure to hold down the Shift key to get a nice, even circle. Place another copy of the arc on the horn to make the horn look as if it's inside the mane.

creating the eyelashes mouth and nosdrils

Step 14

Whoa—hold your unicorns! We’re almost there! Here we have everything drawn and placed together. Now let's make our image more natural, as if it were drawn with the Pen Tool. 

But before we do anything, ungroup everything: select all (Control-A), and go to Object > Ungroup. Repeat this ungrouping a few times until the Ungroup command is no longer active.

Now we need to cut some unnecessary parts using the Scissors Tool (C). Examine your unicorn carefully and decide which parts need to be cut off. Keep an eye on the intersections of two or more lines. In the image below, I marked the paths that I’ll be cutting away with pink color.

cutting unneeded parts

And here he is! Our unicorn!!

how the unicorn looks after cutting off

2. How to Create the Rainbow and Clouds

Step 1

First thing—we definitely need a rainbow for the unicorn, a place where unicorns usually live.

We will start by drawing a large circle: use the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding down the Shift key. Then we will make five copies of this circle, each with consistently decreasing radii. Go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Transform. Enter the options presented below. Don't forget to enter the number of copies. In our case, there are five. As a result, you will get a set of circles. Expand appearance of these circles: while the shape is selected, go to Object > Expand Appearance.

creating the rainbow

Step 2 

Now we will learn how to draw a cloud. Simply draw a circle (Ellipse Tool (L) while holding the Shift key). Make a lot of copies of this circle (Control-C and Control-V for a few times). Distribute these circles to have them intersecting and to fill in all the areas of your cloud. You can resize some of the circles to achieve a cloud shape, as seen in the image below. 

Finally, select all circles and unite them by using the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel. Our cloud is ready.

creating the cloud

Make a second copy of this cloud and place them on both sides of the unicorn.

placing clouds

Step 3

In this step, we will cut the lines of the rainbow which intersect with the image of the unicorn and clouds. Before cutting the rainbow lines, you will need to ungroup them (Object > Ungroup), perhaps even a few times. 

Now select the Scissors Tool (C) and click on the paths where the rainbow lines intersect with the lines of the unicorn or clouds. Delete the unnecessary parts of lines to make the rainbow image appear behind the unicorn and clouds. Our image is now ready to be colored!

cutting off

3. How to Color the Illustration

Step 1

Select everything (Control-A), go to Object > Expand, and in the new dialogue window choose Stroke, OK. To fill the object with a color, create a rectangle (Rectangle Tool (M)), filled with any fill color. Place this rectangle behind the illustration (Control-X, Control-B). 

Be sure that all parts of the illustration are covered by this rectangle. Again, select everything (Control-A) and hit the Trim button on the Pathfinder panel. Then ungroup the whole illustration as it will be grouped, and delete the rectangle frame.

coloring the illustration

The resulting image should look like this:

pressing the Trim button in Pathfinder

Step 2

Now you can change the colors of the different parts of the image to your taste. I didn't list the color codes for the illustration as it’s not so important to be exactly the same. Our main focus here is using the basic shapes to replicate a Pen-Tool-drawn-like artwork. As always, I like to give you more room to express your creativity!

colored illustration

Step 3

If you wish, you can add a few stars around the illustration. To make the stars, use the Star Tool. Hold down the Control key on your keyboard while drawing the star and watch how the corners change!

adding stars

Step 4

Add an 850 x 850 px square behind everything as a background. Our unicorn illustration is ready!

adding the background

Awesome Work, You're Done!

Yayyyy!!! We've made it!! You’ve completed yet another beautiful illustration! As you can see, by using a very simple technique and transforming the simple forms, you can create an illustration that looks as if you have used more complex tools. 

You've probably learned something new and practiced something you already knew, but I sure hope that you enjoyed this tutorial! Looking forward to seeing your results! If you have any questions, ask away in the comments below.

final image
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.