Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

Как создать тропическое бунгало на пляже с пальмами в Adobe Иллюстратор

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Mavka (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

В этом учебном пособии мы собираемся создать тропический бунгало на фоне пляжа с пальмами, используя базовые формы и инструменты Адобе Иллюстратор.

Если вы хотите пропустить урок и просто приобрести результат вместе с другими домами и фонами, просто заходите на GraphicRiver, чтобы получить мои Дом, Шале, Коттедж и Бунгало.

Lodge Chalet Cottage and Bungalow House Set preview

1. Как создать новый документ

Начнем наш проект, создав новый документ. Просто зайдите в Файл > Новый (или Control / Command-N) и настройте документ следующим образом:

  • Количество монтажных областей: 1
  • Ширина: 800
  • Высота: 600
  • Единицы: Пиксели

На вкладке Дополнительно:

  • Цветовой режим: RGB
  • Растровые эффекты: Экран
  • Режим предварительного просмотра: по умолчанию
  • Выровнять новые объекты по пиксельной сетке: снимите флажок
Setting up a new document

2. Как создать основную часть бунгало

Шаг 1

Начнем с создания боковой стены, на которой мы разместим различные части нашего уютного бунгало.

Выберите инструмент Прямоугольник (M) и создайте прямоугольник размером 410 x 155 px, установив цвет Заливки на #efb84a. Создайте еще один прямоугольник размером 130 x 155 px с цветом #614727.

Creating two rectangles for the middle section

Шаг 2

Выберите эти коричневый и желтый прямоугольник с помощью инструмента Выделение (V), удерживая Shift. Еще раз нажмите на желтую стену (вам не нужно удерживать Shift в этот раз!). У желтой формы появится синий контур, а на Панели управления и панели Выравнивание автоматически выберется параметр Выровнять по ключевому объекту

На панели Выравнивание меню (Окно> Выравнивание) или на Панели управления нажмите кнопку Горизонтальное выравнивание влево, а затем - кнопку Вертикальное выравнивание по центру.

Placing and aligning the rectangles

Шаг 3

Выберите коричневый прямоугольник с помощью инструмента Выделение (V) и нажмите Enter, чтобы открыть окно параметров Перемещение. Установите значение По горизонтали на 22 px и значение позиции По вертикали на 0 px. Затем нажмите кнопку Enter, переместив форму вправо.

Moving the doorway rectangle to the right

Шаг 4

Теперь мы сымитируем деревянную текстуру стены с помощью тонких вертикальных полос. Создайте тонкую полосу размером 2,5 х 155 px, и цветом #d98c2f, прикрепите ее левый край к правому краю коричневого прямоугольника. Затем нажмите Enter, чтобы вызвать окно Перемещение, установите значение По горизонтали на 10 px, а значение По вертикали на 0 px, переместив полоску вправо.

Создайте аналогичный тонкий прямоугольник, прикрепив правый край справа большой желтой формы. Откройте окно параметров Перемещение и установите значение По горизонтали на -10 px и значение По вертикали - 0 px, переместив полоску влево.

Creating two stripes on the wall

Шаг 5

Добавим к иллюстрации некоторую глубину, превратив наши полосы в деревянную текстуру с помощью команды Переход. Просто выделите обе полоски с помощью инструмента Выделение (V), удерживая клавишу Shift. Выберите Объект > Переход > Создать.

По умолчанию Иллюстратор создает плавный переход цветов. Мы исправим это, выбрав Объект> Переход> Параметры перехода или дважды щелкнув инструмент Переход. Измените параметр Оптимальные цвета на Заданное число шагов, установив значение на 20.

Creating wooden texture with the help of the Blend Options

Шаг 6

Давайте продолжим добавлять детали, создав два деревянных кресла посередине двери.

Сделайте прямоугольник размером 47 x 5 px и цветом #966a3a, используя инструмент Прямоугольник (M). Выберите форму с помощью инструмента Выделение (V) и нажмите Enter, чтобы открыть окно Перемещение. Установите значение По горизонтали на 0 px и значение позиции По вертикали на 16 px и нажмите кнопку Копировать.

Creating two brown rectangles

Шаг 7

Постройте вертикальный прямоугольник 4,5 х 65 px темно-коричневого цвета #7а5835. Выберите эту форму и верхний горизонтальный прямоугольник, который мы создали на предыдущем шаге, удерживая Shift. Еще раз нажмите на вертикальный объект (вам не нужно удерживать Shift в этот раз!). Вокруг вертикальной формы появится синий контур, а на Панели управления и панели Выравнивание автоматически выберется параметр Выровнять по ключевому объекту.

На панели Выравнивание меню (Окно > Выравнивание) или Панели управления нажмите кнопку Горизонтальное выравнивание влево, а затем кнопку Вертикальное выравнивание, вверх.

Сделайте последний цветной прямоугольник 47 x 8 px #966a3a. Разместите его примерно на 12 px вниз от нижней горизонтальной формы, выровняв его по центру всей конструкции. Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) все формы.

Finishing the chair

Шаг 8

Перетащите наш стул в дверной проем, разместив его ближе к левой стороне и прикрепив его нижний край к нижней части дверного прямоугольника. Выберите наш стул, а затем выберите инструмент Зеркальное Отражение (O) и, удерживая клавишу Alt, щелкните посередине прямоугольника. В окне параметров Зеркальное Отображение установите Ось на Вертикальная и нажмите Копировать, отразив стул справа от двери.

Putting the chair to the doorway

Шаг 9

Теперь мы создадим ограждение, и разместим его перед дверью.

Начнем с создания прямоугольника 130 x 3 px цветом #d4d1. Откройте окно Перемещение и скопируйте прямоугольник, установив значение позиции По горизонтали на 0 px и По вертикали на 40 px.

Постройте еще одну вертикальную форму размером 3,5 х 55 px, залив ее цветом #c4c2c0. Поместите ее ближе к левой части горизонтальных прямоугольников, выровняв по нижнему краю верхнего горизонтального объекта. Выделите фигуру и перейдите к пункту Объект > Монтаж > Переложить назад. Сделайте аналогичный вертикальный прямоугольник в правой части нашего забора.

Making the fence

Шаг 10

Добавьте четыре прямоугольника 3,5 х 1,5 px с цветом #a6a6a6 для тени, разместив их над вертикальными полосами и под горизонтальными фигурами.

Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) все части и поставьте забор в дверной проем, выровняв по центру и нижнему краю.

Adding the shadows to the fence

Шаг 11

Поскольку мы не совсем завершили детализацию дверного проема, начнем создание подвесного светильника, создав прямоугольник размером 37 х 35 px, и залив его цветом #bdae89.

Добавьте меньший прямоугольник размером 18 x 35 px цветом #d1c197 и выровняйте его по центру первого. Завершите строительство, добавив цветной тонкий прямоугольник размером 2,5 x 12 px #7a5835 для шнура, расположив его нижний край на верхней стороне больших прямоугольников. Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) и разместите светильник внутри дверного проема, прямо под верхней частью, и выровняйте его по центру двери.

Creating the pendant light

Шаг 12

Мы почти закончили основной раздел. Добавим окна.

Постройте прямоугольник размером 140 х 88 px и меньше, размером 64 х 54 px у первого, заполнив фигуры цветом #e8dfc3. Выберите прямоугольники, удерживая Shift. Щелкните на большом объекте (без удерживания Shift в этот раз!). На панели Выравнивание меню (Окно > Выравнивание) или Панели управления нажмите кнопку Горизонтальное выравнивание, вправо и кнопку Вертикальное выравнивание, вверх.

Выберите меньшую форму и нажмите Enter, чтобы открыть окно параметра Перемещение. Установите По горизонтали на -160 px, а По вертикали на 0 px.

Building two rectangles for the windows

Шаг 13

Выберите окна с помощью инструмента Выделение (V), удерживая Shift, и перейдите к Объект> Контур> Создать параллельный  контур. Введите 4 px в значение поля Смещение. Установите Заливку контуров #d1c197.

Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) формы и установите окна на стену, оставив промежуток около 5 px по направлению к верхней и правой стороне основной желтой формы.

Finishing the windows

3. Как создать нижнюю секцию бунгало

Мы создадим нижнюю часть дома отдельно от боковой стены. Лишь в конце мы добавим ее ко всей конструкции. Начнем!

Шаг 1

Вначале построим прямоугольник размером 400 x 26 px цветом #7а5835.

Затем нам понадобятся два прямоугольника, чтобы сделать несущие столбцы. Создайте квадрат 40 x 40 px цветом #d4d1cf и еще вертикальный прямоугольник размером 18 х 57 px, заполнив цветом #c4c2c0. Положите вертикальную форму под нижний квадратный контур, выровняв его по центру, и Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) оба объекта.

Выровняйте столбы по верху и левому краю большой коричневой формы.

Выберите наши столбы и выберите Зеркальное Отражение (O). Удерживая клавишу Alt, нажмите посередине большого прямоугольника. В окне параметра Зеркальное Отражение (O) установите Ось на Вертикальная и нажмите Копировать, отразив столбы по правой стороне коричневой формы.

Building the basic level and the bearing piles

Шаг 2

Постройте форму 420 x130 px и заполните ее цветом #966a3a. Используя панель Выравнивание, выровняйте объект влево и по верхней части темно-коричневого прямоугольника, который мы создали в предыдущем шаге.

Creating and aligning the second rectangle

Шаг 3

Теперь мы сформируем деревянную лестницу. Начните с прямоугольника размером 75 x 13 px, для которого применим цвет #b38f6a. Это будет первая ступенька лестницы. Добавьте две тонкие вертикальные фигуры размером 6 x 97 px цветом #966a3a на каждой внешней стороне ступеньки, выровняв их по верхнему краю горизонтальной формы.

Добавьте две тонкие вертикальные фигуры размером 6 x 97 px цветом #966a3a на каждой внешней стороне ступеньки, выровняв их по верхнему краю горизонтальной формы.

Making the ladder

Шаг 4

Удерживая клавишу Shift, выделите две тонкие горизонтальные ступеньки с помощью инструмента Выделение (V). Откройте меню Объект > Переход > Создать.

Иллюстратор по умолчанию создает плавный переход цветов. Мы исправим это, выбрав Объект > Переход > Параметры перехода или дважды щелкнув инструмент Переход. Измените параметр Оптимальные цвета на Заданное число шагов, установив значение на 3.

Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G), объедините все объекты лестницы и установите ее по левой стороной всего нижнего раздела, выровняв ее к верхней формы.Выберите все детали раздела нижней части здания, объедините их и поместите их под основную часть бунгало, выровняв их справа.

Выберите все детали секции нижней части здания, объедините их и поместите их под основную часть бунгало, выровняв их по правой стороне.

Finishing and positioning the ladder

4. Как создать крышу бунгало

Шаг 1

Начнем просто, создав прямоугольник размером 500 х 185 px (#966a3a), а затем добавим опорную точку прямо в центре верхнего края с помощью инструмента Добавить опорную точку (+). Далее, удалите левый и правый якоря (красные круги на изображении), нажав на них с помощью пункта Удалить опорную точку (-).

Forming the triangle roof shape

Шаг 2

Используя инструмент Прямое выделение (A), выберите углы объекта или просто нажмите в форме треугольника. Вы можете увидеть виджет Динамических Углов, показанный внутри углов. Потяните индикатор круга к центру формы, установив угловой радиус примерно на 12 px.

Добавьте маленький, тонкий прямоугольник размером 9 x 26 px #7a5835 для центральной стойки крыши, который мы будем выравнивать центре треугольника, скрыв нижнюю часть позади верхней части большой формы.

Making the corners rounded

Шаг 3

Выберите крышу инструментом Выделение (V) и Скопируйте ее с помощью Control / Command-C. Затем вставьте две копии прямо перед треугольником, дважды нажав Control / Command. Переместите верхнюю выбранную фигуру вверх на 20 px. Удерживая Shift, нажмите на копию второй кровли, добавив ее в выделение. Затем воспользуйтесь опцией Минус верхний на панели Обработка контуров и залейте полученную форму цветом #b38f6a, получив светлую часть кровли.

Creating the bottom roof section

Шаг 4

Теперь мы сымитируем соломоподобную текстуру крыши, добавив небольшие округлые прямоугольники. Создайте две формы размером 5 х 27 px, заполните одну из них цветом #7а5835 и вторую цветом #b38f6a. Закруглите углы прямоугольников, потянув за маркеры Динамических углов.

Скопируйте прямоугольники и распространите копии по форме кровли, чтобы сделать ее текстуру. Лучший способ сделать копию на этот раз - это выбрать форму, и Alt / Option - перетащить выделение (но не ручку ограничительной коробки). Вам нужно повторить действие несколько раз для каждого прямоугольника, пока результат вас не удовлетворит.

Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) все детали крыши и разместите часть крыши наверху, перед созданной частью дома, выровняв его по центру желтой стены.

Adding a texture to the roof

5. Добавим свет и тени на бунгало

Добавим несколько темных и светлых частей к дому, чтобы сделать его более детализированным и реалистичным.

Шаг 1

Выберите треугольник кровли с помощью инструмента Прямое выделение (A), а затем щелкните правой кнопкой мыши и выберите в выпадающем меню пункт Изолировать выбранный контур. Изолированный объект будет цветным, а остальная иллюстрация - темной.

Выделите треугольник и Скопируйте его, используя Control / Command-C. Дважды щелкните Control-Command-F, чтобы получить две копии наверху треугольника. Переместите верхнюю копию крыши на 10 px влево, выделите вторую вместе с этой и воспользуйтесь опцией Минус передний план на панели Обработка контуров, получив форму света. Заполните полученную форму цветом #a87741.

Нажмите клавишу Esc, чтобы выйти из режима изоляции, или, воспользовавшись инструментом Выделение (V), дважды щелкните у выделенной группы.

Adding the highlight to the roof

Шаг 2

Выберите среднюю часть дома и введите режим изоляции. Возьмите инструмент Прямоугольник (M) и создайте два узких прямоугольника цветом #966a3a, расположив их под прозрачной формой крыши. Поскольку они будут действовать как тень, измените их Режим наложения на Умножение, снизив уровень Непрозрачности до 70% в панели Прозрачность.

Используя тот же метод, добавьте тень к шнуру фонаря и выйдите из режима изоляции.

Adding the shadows under the roof

Шаг 3

Изолируйте нижнюю часть бунгало. Сделайте узкую горизонтальную полоску 420 х 5 px цветом #7a5835 для тени и выровняйте ее по нижнему контуру верхнего коричневого прямоугольника, изменив его Режим наложения на Умножение и сбавив Непрозрачность до 40%.

Adding the first shadow to the bottom section

Шаг 4

Выберите группу несущего столба с помощью инструмента Выделение (V) и щелкните правой кнопкой мыши, снова выбрав Изолировать выбранный контур. Мы попадем в режим изоляции внутри режима изоляции.

Создайте прямоугольник размером 40 х 16 px, который мы заполним цветом #a6a6a6 и выровняйте его по центру и по верхней части верхней формы. Измените Режим наложения на Умножение, а на панели Прозрачность уменьшите Непрозрачность до 70%.

Создайте форму 18 х 20 px одного цвета, выровняв ее сверху и по центру формы нижнего столбца. Переместите нижнюю левую точку прямоугольника на 16 px, используя инструмент Прямое выделение (A), образуя тень.

Выйдите из режима изоляции и повторите то же для правого столба бунгало.

Выберите все части дома и объедините их вместе. Наше бунгало готово! Но мы еще должны выполнить определенную работу, чтобы закончить иллюстрацию.

Creating the shadows for the bearing piles

6. Как создать море

Шаг 1

Создайте прямоугольник размером 600 x 55 px любого цвета и добавьте черную линию без Заливки шириной 600 px, разместив ее под верхней частью прямоугольника, и оставьте промежуток примерно на 10 px от верхнего контура.

Выделите линию и перейдите в Эффект > Исказить и трансформировать > Зигзаг. Установите значение Размера на 9 px, Абсолютный. И установите Складки на 9. Выберите Опорные точки Гладкие и нажмите OK. Перейдите к Объект > Разобрать оформление, чтобы применить эффект, и переверните линию вверх ногами.

Сделайте одну копию линии на несколько px ниже, а затем создайте еще одну копию около 20 px вниз по сравнению с первой.

Creating the rectangle and the wavy lines

Шаг 2

Выделите прямоугольник и линии и используйте параметр Разделение в панели Обработка контуров, разделив наш прямоугольник на четыре части. Удалите верхнюю часть. Раскрасьте оставшуюся верхнюю фигуру с помощью #f2eeeb, измените цвет второй формы на #ffcf75, а затем заполните последнюю цветом #ffb259, создав волнистую поверхность моря.

Making the wavy sea surface

Шаг 3

Добавьте простых рыбок, чтобы сделать уровень моря более детализированным. Затем сгруппируйте все части вместе и поместите их под бунгало, перекрыв нижние столбы и лестницы. Сгруппируйте (Control / Command-G) бунгало и море.

Placing the sea level in front of the bungalow

7. Создадим тропический фон

Теперь мы должны создать соответствующий фон пейзажа для нашего уютного бунгало. Мы добавим несколько пальм, землю и сияющий месяц, что создаст атмосферу.

Шаг 1

Давайте начнем создание элементов фона, создав дерево пальмы. Постройте два разных эллипса, разместите больший из них над меньшим, и выделите оба.

Возьмите инструмент Создание фигур (Shift -M) и наведите курсор мыши на верхнюю область перекрестных кругов, пока не увидите серый выделенный фрагмент. Щелкнув один раз по форме, превратите ее в отдельную фигуру. Удалите две лишние части. Залейте оставшуюся часть цветом #e6783d и создайте вертикальный прямоугольник того же цвета для ствола. Скопируйте и поверните пальмовые листья, чтобы создать крону пальмы.

Выделите все части пальмы и объедините их в один объект, воспользовавшись параметром Соединение на панели Обработка контуров.

Creating the palm shape

Шаг 2

Постройте прямоугольник размером 600 х 70 px, раскрасьте его с помощью цвета #e6783d и скруглите два верхних угла.

Используя инструмент Эллипс, создайте круг цветом #db6f37 под прямоугольником. Нажмите Alt-Shift и перетащите круг вправо, сделав копию. Нажмите Control / Command-D несколько раз, чтобы создать более подобных форм, заполнив большую часть ширины верхнего прямоугольника. Добавьте меньшие круги слева и справа, немного опустив их вниз.

Выберите все круги и Объедините их в панели Обработка контуров, скрыв полученную фигуру позади горизонтального прямоугольника и выровняв ее по центру. Сгруппируйте прямоугольник и волнистую форму вместе.

Creating the orange rectangle and the wavy shape

Шаг 3

Выберите все круги и Объедините их в панели Обработка контуров, скрыв полученную фигуру позади горизонтального прямоугольника и выровняв ее по центру. Сгруппируйте прямоугольник и волнистую форму вместе.

Добавьте сияющий месяц цветом #f2e9cb с помощью инструмента Эллипс (L), спрятав его за пальмами, и создайте квадратный фон, который мы раскрасим в цвет #fa8441.

Forming the palm groove adding the moon and the background

Шаг 4

Чтобы заполнить пустое пространство и добавить глубины в наш ландшафт, создайте форму облака позади месяца с помощью инструмента Перо (P) или инструмента Прямоугольник (М), чтобы закруглить углы полученной фигуры.

Добавьте простые силуэты летающих чаек, разместив их над кругом месяца.

Adding the cloud-like shape and the seagulls

Время для отдыха!

Поздравляю! Наша иллюстрация тропического бунгало на пальмовом пляже закончена!

Теперь вы можете использовать свое воображение и почувствовать атмосферу лунной ночи, брызги прибоя, когда вы отдыхаете на своем деревянном стуле, глядя за горизонт.

Я надеюсь, вам понравился процесс и вы получили что-то новое и полезное в течение урока.

The result of the work

Теперь вы можете создать свои собственные домики на основе замечательных мест, где вы однажды сможете путешествовать.

Эта тропическая иллюстрация бунгало является лишь частью моего сета с Домом, Шале, Коттеджем и Бунгало, а в моем портфолио гораздо больше путешествий и приключений.

Lodge Chalet Cottage and Bungalow House Set preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

How to Create a Tropical Bungalow on a Palm Beach in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial we are going to create a tropical bungalow on a palm beach background using the most basic shapes and tools of Adobe Illustrator.

If you would like to skip the tutorial and just purchase the result together with other houses and backgrounds, just go to GraphicRiver to get my Lodge, Chalet, Cottage and Bungalow House Set.

Lodge Chalet Cottage and Bungalow House Set preview

1. How to Create a New Document

Let's start our project by creating a new document. Just go to File > New (or Control/Command-N) and set up the document as follows:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 800
  • Height: 600
  • Units: pixels

From the Advanced Tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: Screen
  • Preview Mode: Default
  • Align New Objects to Pixel Grid: Uncheck
Setting up a new document

2. How to Create the Basic Section of the Bungalow

Step 1

Let's begin by creating a side wall onto which we will place the different parts of our cosy bungalow.

Pick the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a 410 x 155 px rectangle, setting the Fill color to #efb84a. Create another 130 x 155 px rectangle of #614727 color. 

Creating two rectangles for the middle section

Step 2

Select this brown rectangle and the yellow one with the help of the Selection Tool (V), holding down Shift. Click again on the yellow wall (you don't need to hold down Shift this time!). A blue outline appears around the yellow shape, and the Align to Key Object option is automatically selected in the Control panel and the Align panel.

In the Align panel (Window > Align) or the Control panel, click on the Horizontal Align Left button and then on the Vertical Align Center button.

Placing and aligning the rectangles

Step 3

Select the brown rectangle with the Selection Tool (V) and press Enter to open the Move option window. Set the Horizontal Position value to 22 px and the Vertical position value to 0 px. Then click on the Enter button, moving our shape to the right.

Moving the doorway rectangle to the right

Step 4

Now we are going to imitate the wooden texture of the wall with the help of thin vertical stripes. Make a 2.5 x 155 px shape of #d98c2f color, attaching its left edge to the right edge of the brown rectangle. Then press Enter to call out the Move window, setting up the Horizontal value to 10 px and the Vertical value to 0 px, moving the stripe to the right.

Create a similar thin rectangle, attaching its right edge to the right edge of the big yellow shape. Open the Move options window and set the Horizontal value to -10 px and Vertical value to 0 px, moving the stripe to the left.

Creating two stripes on the wall

Step 5

Start giving the illustration some depth by transforming our stripes into a wooden texture with the help of the Make Blend command. Just select both lines with the Selection Tool  (V) while holding down the Shift key. Choose Object > Blend > Make.

By default, illustrator creates a smooth color transition. We are going to fix it by choosing Object > Blend > Blend Options or double-clicking the Blend tool. Change the Spacing option to Specified Steps, setting the value to 20.

Creating wooden texture with the help of the Blend Options

Step 6

Let's continue adding details by creating two wooden chairs inside the doorway. 

Make a 47 x 5 px #966a3a colored rectangle using the Rectangle Tool (M). Select the shape with the Selection Tool (V) and press Enter to open the Move options window. Set the Horizontal Position value to 0 px and Vertical position value to 16 px, and click on the Copy button. 

Creating two brown rectangles

Step 7

Build a 4.5 x 65 px vertical rectangle of darker brown color, #7a5835. Select this shape and the upper horizontal rectangle that we created in the previous step, holding down Shift. Click again on the vertical object (you don't need to hold down Shift this time!). A blue outline appears around the vertical form, and Align to Key Object is automatically selected in the Control panel and the Align panel.

In the Align panel (Window > Align) or the Control panel, click on the Horizontal Align Left button and then on the Vertical Align Top button.

Make the last 47 x 8 px #966a3a colored rectangle. Put it about 12 px down from the lower horizontal shape, aligning it to the middle of the whole construction. Group (Control/Command-G) all shapes.

Finishing the chair

Step 8

Drag our chair to the doorway, placing it closer to the left side and attaching its bottom edge to the bottom of the doorway rectangle. Select our chair, and then choose the Reflect tool (O) and, holding the Alt key, click on the middle of the background rectangle. In the Reflect option window, set the Axis to Vertical and press Copy, reflecting the chair to the right side of the doorway.

Putting the chair to the doorway

Step 9

Now we are going to create the fence, which we will put in front of the doorway.

Start by building a 130 x 3 px rectangle of #d4d1 color. Open the Move window and copy the rectangle, setting the Horizontal Position value to 0 px and the Vertical value to 40 px.

Build another 3.5 x 55 px vertical shape, filling it with #c4c2c0 color. Place it closer to the left side of the horizontal rectangles, aligning to the bottom edge of the top horizontal object. Select the figure and go to Object > Arrange > Send to back. Make a similar vertical rectangle on the right part of our fence.

Making the fence

Step 10

Add four 3.5 x 1.5 px rectangles with #a6a6a6 color for shadows, placing them over the vertical stripes and underneath the horizontal figures. 

Group (Control/Command-G) all the parts and put the fence in the doorway, aligning to the middle and the bottom edge.

Adding the shadows to the fence

Step 11

Since we're not quite done with the doorway details, start creating the hanging light by making a 37 x 35 px rectangle, filling it with #bdae89 color. 

Add a smaller 18 x 35 px rectangle of #d1c197 color and align it to the middle of the first one. Finish the construction by adding a 2.5 x 12 px #7a5835 colored thin rectangle for the cord, positioning its bottom edge on the top side of the larger rectangles. Group (Control/Command-G) and place the light inside the doorway, right underneath the top, aligning it to the middle of the door.

Creating the pendant light

Step 12

We are nearly finished with the basic section. Let's add the windows.

Build a 140 x 88 px rectangle and a smaller 64 x 54 px figure near the first one, filling the shapes with #e8dfc3 color. Select the rectangles, holding down Shift. Click on the large object (without holding down Shift this time!). In the Align panel (Window > Align) or Control panel, click on the Horizontal Align Right button and then on the Vertical Align Top button.

Then select the smaller shape and press Enter to get the Move option window opened. Set the Horizontal Position to -160 px and the Vertical Position to 0 px.

Building two rectangles for the windows

Step 13

Select the windows with the Selection Tool (V) while holding Shift, and go to Object > Path > Offset Path. Enter 4 px into the Offset value field. Set the Fill of the outlines to #d1c197.

Group (Control/Command-G) the shapes and put the windows to the wall, leaving a gap of about 5 px towards the top and the right sides of the base yellow form.

Finishing the windows

3. How to Create the Bottom Section of the Bungalow

We will create the bottom section of the house separately from the side wall. Only in the end will it be added to the whole construction. Let's go!

Step 1

First build a 400 x 26 px rectangle of #7a5835 color.

Then we will need two rectangles to make a bearing pile. Create one 40 x 40 px square of #d4d1cf color and another 18 x 57 px vertical figure, filling with #c4c2c0 color. Put the vertical shape underneath the bottom square outline, aligning it to the middle and group (Control/Command-G) both objects together.

Align the pile to the top and the left edge of the large brown shape. 

Select our pile and choose the Reflect tool (O). Holding the Alt key, click on the middle of the large rectangle. In the Reflect option window, set the Axis to Vertical and press Copy, reflecting the pile to the right side of the brown shape.

Building the basic level and the bearing piles

Step 2

Build a 420 x130 px shape and fill it with #966a3a color. Using the Align panel, align the object to the left and the top of the darker brown rectangle we created in the previous step.

Creating and aligning the second rectangle

Step 3

Now we are going to form a wooden ladder. Start to make it from a 75 x 13 px rectangle, which we will color using #b38f6a. It is going to be the first upper step of the ladder. Add two thin vertical shapes of 6 x 97 px size with #966a3a color on each outer side of the step, aligning them to the top edge of the horizontal form. 

Add two more horizontal 75 x 6 px rectangles of #7a5835 color. Position one of them about 10 px down from the upper step, aligning to its middle. Put the second rectangle 10 px up from the bottom edge of the side vertical shapes. 

Making the ladder

Step 4

Holding down the Shift key, select two thinner horizontal steps with the Selection Tool (V). Go to Object > Blend > Make.

Illustrator creates a smooth color transition. Fix it by choosing Object > Blend > Blend Options or double-clicking the Blend tool. Change the Spacing option to Specified Steps, setting the value to 3.

Group (Control/Command-G) all the ladder objects together and place the ladder outside the left side of the whole bottom section, aligning it to the top shape.

Then select all the bottom house section parts, group them and place them underneath the basic section of the bungalow, aligning to its right side.

Finishing and positioning the ladder

4. How to Create the Roof of the Bungalow

Step 1

Let's start simple by creating a 500 x 185 px rectangle (#966a3a) and then adding an anchor point right in the center of its top edge with the help of the Add Anchor Point Tool (+). Next, remove the left and right anchors (red circles in the picture) by clicking on them with the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-).

Forming the triangle roof shape

Step 2

Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the corners of the object or just click inside the triangle shape. You can see the Live Corner widget shown inside the corners. Pull the circle indicator to the center of the shape, setting the corner radius to about 12 px.

Add a small, thin 9 x 26 px rectangle of #7a5835 color for the central roof rack, which we will align to the middle of the triangle, hiding its bottom part behind the top of the large shape.

Making the corners rounded

Step 3

Select the roof with the Selection Tool (V) and Copy it with Control/Command-C. Then paste two copies right in the front of the triangle, pressing Control/Command twice. Move the top selected figure up by 20 px. Holding down Shift, click on the second roof copy, adding it to the selection. Then use the Minus Front option of the Pathfinder panel and fill the resulting shape with #b38f6a color, getting the lighter roof section.

Creating the bottom roof section

Step 4

Now we are going to imitate the straw-like texture of the roof by adding smaller rounded rectangles. Create two 5 x 27 px shapes, filling one of them with #7a5835 color and the second one with #b38f6a color. Make the corners of the rectangles rounded, pulling the Live Corner markers. 

Copy the rectangles and spread the copies over the roof shape, making the roof textured. The better way to make a copy this time is to select the shape and Alt/Option-Drag the selection (but not a handle on the bounding box). You need to repeat the action a few times for each rectangle, until you're satisfied with the result.

Group (Control/Command-G) all the roof parts and place the roof section on the top of the previously created house sections, aligning it to the middle of the yellow wall.

Adding a texture to the roof

5. How to Add Shadows and Highlights to the Bungalow

Let's add some dark and light parts to the house to make it more detailed and real.

Step 1

Choose the roof triangle with the Direct Selection Tool (A), and then right-click and choose Isolate Selected Path from the drop-down menu. The isolated object appears in full color, while the rest of the artwork appears dimmed. 

Select the triangle and Copy it, using Control/Command-C. Click Control-Command-F twice to get two copies on top of the triangle. Move the top roof copy 10 px to the left, add the second copy to the selection, and use the Minus Front option of the Pathfinder panel, getting the highlight shape. Fill the resulting shape with #a87741 color. 

Press Esc to exit isolation mode or, using the Selection Tool (V), double-click outside of the isolated group.

Adding the highlight to the roof

Step 2

Select the middle section of the house and enter isolation mode. Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and form two narrow rectangles of #966a3a color, putting them beneath the transparent roof shape. Since these will act as shadows, change their Blending Mode to Multiply while lowering the Opacity levels to 70% in the Transparency panel. 

Using the same method, add a shadow to the cord of the lantern and then exit isolation mode.

Adding the shadows under the roof

Step 3

Isolate the bottom section of the bungalow. Make a narrow horizontal 420 x 5 px stripe of #7a5835 color for the shadow and align it to the bottom outline of the upper brown rectangle, changing its Blending Mode to Multiply and lowering the Opacity to 40%.

Adding the first shadow to the bottom section

Step 4

Select the bearing pile group with the Selection Tool (V) and click with the right mouse button, choosing Isolate Selected Group again. We will get into an isolation mode inside the isolation mode. 

Build a 40 x 16 px rectangle which we will fill with #a6a6a6 color and align to the middle and the top of the upper shape. Change its Blending Mode to Multiply while lowering the Opacity to 70% in the Transparency panel. 

Create an 18 x 20 px shape of the same color, aligning it to the top and the center of the lower pile shape. Move the bottom left point of the rectangle up by 16 px, using the Direct Selection Tool(A), forming a shadow.

Exit isolation mode and repeat all the same for the right bungalow pile.

Select all the house parts and group them together. Our bungalow is ready!  But we still have to do some work to finish the illustration.

Creating the shadows for the bearing piles

6. How to Create the Sea

Step 1

Form a 600 x 55 px rectangle of any color and add a 600 px width black line without fill, positioning it under the top part of the rectangle, leaving a gap of about 10 px from the top outline.

Select the line and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag. Set the Size value to 9 px, Absolute. And set Ridges per segment equal to 9. Select Smooth Points and click OK. Go to Object > Expand Appearance to apply the effect, and then rotate the line upside down.

Make one copy of the line a few pixels lower and then create one more copy about 20 px down from the first one.

Creating the rectangle and the wavy lines

Step 2

Select the rectangle and the lines and use the Divide option of the Pathfinder panel, dividing our rectangle into four parts. Remove the top part. Color the upper remaining figure with #f2eeeb, change the second shape color to #ffcf75, and fill the last one with #ffb259 color, making the wavy sea surface.

Making the wavy sea surface

Step 3

Add simple fish to make the sea level more detailed. Then group all the parts together and place them underneath the bungalow, overlapping the bottom piles and the ladder. Group (Control/Command-G) the bungalow and the sea.

Placing the sea level in front of the bungalow

7. How to Create a Tropical Background

All we need now is a background landscape that suits our cozy bungalow. We will add a few palms, the ground, and a shining moon, which will create the atmosphere. 

Step 1

Let's start creating the background elements by making a palm tree. Build two different ellipses, place the bigger ellipse over the smaller one, and select them.

Take the Shape Builder Tool (Shift -M) and hover your mouse over the top area of the crossing circles until you see a grey selection. Single-click on the shape, transforming it into a separate figure. Delete the two remaining parts. Fill the remaining part with #e6783d color and create a vertical rectangle of the same color for the trunk. Copy and rotate the palm leaves to form the palm crown. 

Select all the palm parts and merge them into one object, using the Unite option of the Pathfinder panel. 

Creating the palm shape

Step 2

Build a 600 x 70 px rectangle, color it using #e6783d, and make the two upper corners rounded.

Using the Ellipse Tool, create a circle with #db6f37 fill color underneath the rectangle. Press Alt-Shift and drag the circle to the right, making a copy. Press Control/Command-D several times to create more similar shapes, filling most of the width of the top rectangle. Add smaller circles to the left and the right sides, letting them go down a little lower. 

Select all the circles and Unite them in Pathfinder, hiding the resulting shape behind the horizontal rectangle and aligning to its middle. Group the rectangle and the wavy shape together.

Creating the orange rectangle and the wavy shape

Step 3

Put our ground level group behind the bungalow, aligning it to the middle of the water level. Form a palm grove on the background by placing our palm at the back, duplicating it, and varying the sizes of the copies to form a well-balanced composition.

Add a shining moon of #f2e9cb color with the Ellipse Tool (L), hiding it behind the palms, and create a square background which we will color using #fa8441.

Forming the palm groove adding the moon and the background

Step 4

To fill the empty space and add depth to our landscape, create a cloud-like shape behind the moon with the help of the Pen Tool (P) or the Rectangle Tool (M), making the corners of the resulting figure rounded.

Add simple silhouettes of flying seagulls, placing them over the moon circle.

Adding the cloud-like shape and the seagulls

Time to Relax!

Congratulations! Our illustration of a tropical bungalow on a palm beach is finished! 

Now you can use your imagination and feel the atmosphere of the moonlit night, when the tide is splashing while you are relaxing on your wooden chair, looking beyond the horizon.

I hope you enjoyed the process and discovered something new and helpful along the way.

The result of the work

Now you are able to create your own houses based on the wonderful places where you may travel some day.

This tropical bungalow illustration is just a part of my Lodge, Chalet, Cottage and Bungalow House Set, and there are far more travel and adventure illustrations in my portfolio!

Lodge Chalet Cottage and Bungalow House Set preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.