Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Manipulation
Design

如何在 Adobe Photoshop中創建蒸汽朋克貓頭鷹圖片

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Shu Wu (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

蒸汽朋克是一種有趣的科幻類型,將先進的技術特徵與歷史(通常是蒸汽動力)的機械相結合。在本教程中,我將向你展示如何使用大量庫存圖片的集合構建自己的貓頭鷹雕像。

喜歡蒸汽朋克設計?在 GraphicRiverEnvato Elements上查看蒸汽朋克設計和資源吧。

教程資源

在本教程的製作中使用了以下資源︰

1.如何繪製貓頭鷹

第 1 步

歷史上,貓頭鷹被認為是智慧和神秘的象徵,而且往往是保護秘密的人。受到這些古老神話的啟發,我將創建一個有著獨特的鎖孔和蒸汽朋克設計的金屬雕像。 關於更多風格的靈感,我會遵循Pinterest 上找到的蒸汽朋克貓頭鷹參考來製作這個貓頭鷹。

在Photoshop中創建一個1260 x 1000像素新的文檔,分辨率為100dpi。較高的分辨率可以讓我們在之後創造更多的細節。

選擇筆刷工具 (B) 並使用一個硬性的圓形不透明度筆刷(Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush)開始繪製你的貓頭鷹。

Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush in Photoshop

第2步

好好觀察你的參考圖。在這裡,我使用華麗的框架到首飾和盔甲,以構建最終的貓頭鷹。記住這一點,我將在草圖上繪製一些簡單形狀幫我記住這些參考圖。

Steampunk References
這裡只是我將要使用的幾個參考資料。你能告訴我如何把他們融入最後的貓頭鷹?

我還想確保我可以輕鬆地複制和翻轉這些形狀,在創建貓頭鷹的時候,使過程更容易。

第 3 步

雖然它是圖片處理,但草圖可以讓我們更加瞭解貓頭鷹的構造。它也會同時告訴我們我們需要多少素材來完成它。

當你繪製草圖的時候,用簡單的大的圓形來起草頭部和身體。然後在它們之上添加細節。 這個貓頭鷹將會有一頂高的禮帽,蒸汽朋克風格的護目鏡,鑰匙孔和皮帶。確保草圖中包含所有這些額外的細節,以確保在整個製作過程中無縫銜接。

Owl Sketch

但要記住的是,雖然它是由蒸汽朋克設計為靈感的,這隻貓頭鷹也是基於原本動物的形態來變化的。通過誇大某些細節,如喙,但同時保持其餘部分相對的小,可以為角色增加特色。

這是草稿的完成版。

Final Owl Sketch

2.如何構建貓頭鷹身體

第 1 步

現在,草圖已經完成了,我們可以開始我們的拼湊遊戲計劃了,了解如何將各部分零件拼湊在一起。在應用陰影和紋理之前,首先我們將所有素材銜接在一起,這樣我們才能了解我們的工作如何變得順利。

使用油漆桶工具(G)填充背景為深灰色#747474。 打開你的金屬球參考,使用橢圓選框工具(M)從照片中提取生鏽的球體。將球體複製粘貼到草圖下方的新圖層組別中。

Create the Owl Head

使用自由變換工具 (Control+T) 調整球體的大小,然後將其旋轉,讓球體的陰影在頭頂部位。選擇圖像 > 調整 > 色相及飽和度將降低飽和度-100 把球變成黑白色。

使用多邊形套索工具(L)選擇頭盔護甲的上半部分,然後將其複製粘貼,放置到身體之前,完成身體的下半部分。向頭盔添加一個快速的圖層蒙版,以遮蓋任何超出草圖邊緣的金屬。

Create the Owl Body

第2步

現在我們已經製作了身體簡單的部分,我們接下來完成一些細節。打開你的貓頭鷹參考,使用多邊形套索工具(L)從項鍊中提取金色的喙。 複製粘貼它到畫布上,將其放置在草圖層之上。使用自由變換工具(Control+T)調整喙的大小,將其放大,以突顯它。如果需要可以使用橡筆擦工具(E)擦去不需要的邊緣。

Add the Owl Beak

第 3 步

繼續在草圖上方的圖層上放置各種細節,直到你不再需要它。現在我們從銀色畫框的一邊提取金屬網格區域。 使用自由變換 (Control+T) 工具旋轉和調整這一部分,在使用扭曲功能前,將其放置在貓頭鷹身體的底部。

Add the Metal Mesh

抽取皮帶並在華麗的畫框圖片中抽取一些小的細節。通過將帶扣部分複制粘貼到皮帶上以使其重疊,使皮帶變短。然後我通過旋轉從畫框上擷取的細節來裝飾皮帶。

Add the Belt and Belt Detail

步驟4

我們繼續構建身體部分。提取鑰匙孔並將其放在皮帶下方身體的中心。然後使用多邊形套索工具(L)盔甲手套中提取其中一個金屬部件。

這種金屬將有助於組成翅膀。將一個粘貼到畫布上,Control+T進行自由變換旋轉,然後將其放置到如下位置。 然後點擊Control+J複製它,並通過編輯>變換>水準翻轉複製另一邊。

Create the Wings and Keyhole

第 5 步

銀色畫框裡面擷取裝飾線來創建眉毛。使用自由變換工具將這個裝飾線放大,並將其拉長。 將其放在草圖層之下,使用橡筆擦工具(E)來擦除邊緣讓眉毛的形態出來。就算和草圖不匹配,現階段也不要緊。

Control+J複製第一個眉毛,然後編輯 > 變換 > 水準翻轉,創建第二條眉毛。

Create the Owls Eyebrows

第 6 步

現在我們對貓頭鷹的身體有了一定的了解,我們可以來完成他的衣服。將下一個元素放入包含身體的組別中。首先,使用多邊形套索工具(L)高頂禮帽圖片中提取禮帽。 複製粘貼帽子到畫布上,使用自由變換工具(Control+T)來調節帽子的透視角度,讓它適合貓頭鷹的頭部。

Add the Top Hat

開始擦除草圖的部分以幫助執行此步驟。然後向帽子添加圖層蒙版,在蒙版上以黑色繪製進來一步調整帽子形狀。我們稍後會修復任何燈光或顏色問題。

目前,這種金屬設計太多了。由於蒸汽朋克設計經常包含其他材料,所以我將使用帽子的材料來裝飾貓頭鷹。 使用矩形選框工具(M)大量選擇帽子的閃亮黑色的材質,然後將其複制粘貼到畫布上。 將其放置在金屬的身體上,確保翅膀,鑰匙孔,皮帶還有網格細節依然可見。

Add the Hat Texture to the Body

蒸汽朋克角色一般都有一對護目鏡。所以使用多邊形套索工具(L)護目鏡從你的素材裡面抽出。 將其水平翻轉,然後使用Control+T自由變換,調整眼鏡,使其完美貼合在帽子上。要將護目鏡放置在帽子圖層內,請將其設置為帽子的剪裁遮色片 Clipping Mask

Add the Steampunk Goggles

3.如何創建貓頭鷹的眼睛

第 1 步

為了將圖片素材的使用量保持在最低限度,可以多次使用相同的圖片素材。這對於齒輪式的眼睛來說尤為重要。首先,創建一個新圖層,並使用畫筆工具(B)將黑色塗抹在眼睛上。

Black Out the Owl Eyes

我們將它們繪製成黑色,因為黑色將代表眼睛最黑暗的地方。

第 2 步

在添加齒輪之前,首先使用多邊形套索工具(L)齒輪參考中提取它們並將其粘貼新圖層上複製一個齒輪,並使用橢圓選框工具(M)選擇並刪除它的中心來創建一個新的齒輪形狀。

完成後,複製這些齒輪,以便你有多個副本。你也可以使用橡皮擦工具(E)輕鬆清理邊緣。

Extract the Gears
請確保所有的齒輪都是在自己的單獨的圖層上。

第 3 步

現在你準備好所有的齒輪,開始創造眼睛。將兩個齒輪放在眼睛左右兩側。

Create the Owl Eyes

選擇同一個齒輪複製六次。調整左側的副本,使它們幾乎疊加在眼睛上,然後將所有副本合併在一起。 複製這個副本組,選擇編輯>變換>翻轉水平翻轉以創建水平的另一隻眼。再次,將兩套副本合併在一起。

Create the Inner Gears

現在使用兩個主要的齒輪為真實的眼睛,並將兩層合併在一起。現在應該有三個主要的層次:外部的齒輪,主要的眼睛和眼睛後面的齒輪。

Create the Gear Eyes

第 4 步

在我們繼續繪製背景之前,我們再稍微點綴下貓頭鷹的外套。提取頭盔盔甲上找到的一個圓形螺栓。 然後複製粘貼到畫布。複製它七次,將小螺栓加入貓頭鷹左、 右兩邊的衣服上。

Add the Bolt Details

如果你想要更多的裝飾,你還可以向鑰匙孔添加兩個額外的螺栓!

4.如何創建背景

無論你是尋找背景圖片還是從頭開始創作背景,請盡可能地了解你之前的參考圖片。選擇與你的小雕像角度相同的背景,使其完美融入場景。

在這裡我將使用這個木制背景。將背景複製粘貼新圖層上,調整大小,使中間的框成為主要焦點。 還要確保這個立方體足夠大,足以容納小雕像,讓它看起來似乎坐在架子上。

Create the Wooden Shelf Background

5.如何添加光、 陰影和顏色

第 1 步

現在我們設置好了所有的場景,現在我們開始設置燈光效果了。 首先將“色調和飽和度”新調整圖層作為包含身體,帽子和頭部的圖層組的剪切蒙版。使用以下設置調整色相飽和度亮度

  • 色調︰ 48
  • 飽和度︰ 13
  • 亮度:-6
Add an Adjustment Layer of Hue and Saturation

第 2 步

現在帽子在這個場景裡面看起來比較暗。所以設置一個新的色階調整圖層的作為帽子的剪切蒙版。使用以下設置調整RGB綠色和藍色通道

Adjust the Hat Levels

現在,這頂帽子應該更清楚了。

Hat After Levels Adjustment

第 3 步

讓我們將帽子的光線與木制背景相匹配。將一個新的曲線調整圖層作為剪切蒙版設置到背景層。 如下圖所示為 RGB綠色和藍色通道調整曲線。首先,添加更多的光線,然後添加小小的綠色。

Adjust the Curves for the Background

我們之後還會再回到顏色這個環節,但現在,讓我們繼續開始繪製雕像的陰影。

第 4 步

現在將新圖層設置為將眉毛,齒輪和喙的剪切蒙版。使用深棕色或黑色,以軟圓筆刷在每層上繪製柔和的陰影。 由眼睛開始,通過繪畫更多陰影在背景齒輪上來創造實際眼睛的深度。

Paint Shadow on the Eyes

現在讓我們去到喙和眉毛部分。通過將筆刷刷到金屬邊緣來創建逼真的陰影,創建逼真的曲線。

Eyebrows and Beak Shadow

繼續完成你貓頭鷹的陰影部分。將陰影也繪製到頭上,使其看起來更加圓潤。在木製背景之上創建一個新的圖層,將陰影投射到後面的牆壁上。

Add More Shadows

第 5 步

為了獲得更和諧的色彩,請在圖層頂部添加一個顏色查找的新調整圖層。將3DLUT文件設置為Candelight(燭光)

Add a Color Lookup Adjustment Layer

接著創建另一個曲線調整圖層。調整RGB和綠色通道的曲線,以提高之前效果的強度。

Add a Curves Adjustment Layer

6.如何完成貓頭鷹場景

第 1 步

在最後一節中,我們仍然需要處理平衡燈光效果,清理細節,並調整顏色。為了簡單起見,我將在最後兩個調整圖層之上添加所有新圖層,以進行最終的調整。

首先,創建一個專門用於清理場景的新圖層。使用具有50-100%硬度硬性圓形筆刷使貓頭鷹的邊緣更加精確。

Clean Up The Owl With a Hard Brush

請注意,這也意味著我需要繪製更多的細節,如帽子的邊緣,帽子的頂部,以及喙下方的線條。

繼續改進你的圖片。創建清晰線條的另一個好方法是使用高亮的顏色來拆分一些黑暗陰影。 所以在這種情況下,你會看到喙,齒輪和眉毛周圍的高光,這些都有助於使貓頭鷹變得更加精細。

Sharpen the Owl Details

第 2 步

現在創建一個新圖層並將其設置為疊加。使用硬性圓形筆刷在金屬上添加白色的高亮度,然後切換到軟性圓筆刷,以增加更多的光線到背景和雕像。

我基本上是想確保貓頭鷹特別好,因為背景盒子很黑。

Add Light with Overlay

第三步

通過創建更逼真的陰影,進一步調整燈光。創建一個新圖層並將其設置為“色彩增值”Multiply。使用黑色或深棕色,在背景盒子周圍創建暈影效果。

Create a Vignette

燈光關鍵是尋求平衡效果。所以一旦你有不滿意的地方,就需要在小雕像的右側繪製更多的陰影。 這有助於貓頭鷹看起來像確實是站在這個架子。

Add More Shadows to the Scene

第 4 步

要完成此這個場景,請添加最後一個顏色查找Color Lookup的調整圖層。目前有太多的紅色的部分,所以將3DLUT文件設置為FoggyNight(霧化夜晚),並將不透明度降低到24%

Add A FoggyNight Color Lookup Adjustment Layer

根據步驟,你做到啦 !

一個精采的照片編輯的關鍵是要注意你的參考圖片。 不管你需要多少圖片素材,你都可以研究所有的光源,以便能夠構建一個栩栩如生的結果。

我希望你喜歡這個教程!請在評論中留下任何問題或疑慮,我樂意為你提供幫助。要獲得更多精美的照片操作教程,請在Envato Tuts +上查看我的教程作品。祝你好運!

Steampunk Owl Photo Manipulation Tutorial by Melody Nieves
Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Manipulation
Design

How to Create a Steampunk Owl Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Steampunk is a fun genre of science fiction that combines advanced technological features with historical (often steam-powered) machinery. And in this tutorial, I'll show you how to construct your own owl figurine using a collection of great stock images.

Love steampunk design? Check out our amazing selection of Steampunk Designs and Resources available through GraphicRiver and Envato Elements.

Tutorial Assets

The following assets were used in the production of this tutorial:

1. How to Draw the Owl

Step 1

Historically, owls are known to symbolize wisdom and mystery, and are often a protector of secrets. Inspired by the old mythology surrounding them, I'll create a metal figurine with a unique keyhole as well as steampunk-related features. For more style inspiration, I'll be basing the construction of this owl on Steampunk Owls I found on Pinterest.

Open a New Document in Photoshop at 1260 x 1000 pixels and 100 dpi. A higher resolution will allow us to retain some of the intricate details we create later on.

Select the Brush Tool (B) and use a Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush to begin sketching your owl.

Hard Round Pressure Opacity Brush in Photoshop

Step 2

Start by taking a good look at your references. Here I've used everything from ornate frames to jewelry and armor to construct the final owl. Keeping this in mind, I base the sketch on simple shapes that are related to these references.

Steampunk References
Here are just a few of the references I'll be using. Can you tell how I've incorporated them into the final owl?

I also want to make sure I can easily duplicate and flip these shapes to create balance for the owl and make the process much easier.

Step 3

Although it's a photo manipulation, a sketch will allow us to understand how to construct the owl figure. It will also tell us how many stocks we may need to finish it.

As you sketch, start with simple shapes like large circular ones for the head and body. Then begin to add more details. This owl will be outfitted with a top hat, steampunk goggles, a keyhole, and a belt. Make sure all these extra details are included in the sketch to ensure a seamless transition throughout this process.

Owl Sketch

Because it's inspired by steampunk design, keep in mind that this owl is only loosely based on the actual animal. Feel free to add character by exaggerating certain details like the beak, while keeping the rest of the design relatively minimal.

Here is the final sketch.

Final Owl Sketch

2. How to Construct the Owl Body

Step 1

Now that the sketch is done, we can move on to a solid game plan to understand how to piece the parts together. It's essential that we lay in each stock first, before applying shadows and texture so that we can understand how to make the lighting work harmoniously.

Use the Paint Bucket Tool (G) to Fill the background with a dark gray color #747474. Open your Metal Sphere Reference and use the Elliptical Marquee Tool (M) to extract the rusty sphere from the photo. Copy and Paste the sphere into a New Group underneath the sketch. 

Create the Owl Head

Use the Free Transform Tool (Control-T) to resize the sphere and Rotate it so that the shadow faces the top of the head. Follow up by going to Image > Adjustments > Hue & Saturation, and lowering the Saturation to -100 to turn the sphere black and white.

Finish the lower half of the body by using the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) to select the top half of the Helmet Armor, and then Copy and Paste it before positioning it for the body. Add a quick Layer Mask to the helmet to mask out any metal that goes outside the edges of the sketch.

Create the Owl Body

Step 2

Now that we've got the base of the body down, let's move on to more pertinent details. Open your Owl Reference and use the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) to extract the golden beak from the necklace. Copy and Paste it onto the canvas, positioning it above the sketch layer. Use the Free Transform Tool (Control-T) to resize the beak, making it large so that it stands out. If needed, clean up the edges with the Eraser Tool (E).

Add the Owl Beak

Step 3

Continue to place each detail on layers above the sketch until you no longer need it. Now extract the metal mesh area from one of the sides of the Silver Frame. Free Transform (Control-T) to Rotate and adjust this part, positioning it at the bottom of the owl before using the Warp function to mold it to the body.

Add the Metal Mesh

Next, extract the Belt and the small detail from the Ornate Frame. I made the belt shorter by Copying and Pasting the buckle part onto the strap to overlap it. Then I decorated the belt by Rotating the small frame detail and placing it on top. 

Add the Belt and Belt Detail

Step 4

Continue building the body. Extract the Keyhole and place it on the center of the body underneath the belt. Then use the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) to extract one of the metal parts from the Armor Gloves.

This metal will help form the wings. Paste one onto the canvas, Control-T to Free Transform and Rotate it, and then position it in place. Then hit Control-J to Duplicate it, and Flip the copy for the other side by going to Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal.

Create the Wings and Keyhole

Step 5

To create the eyebrows, extract one of the ornamental swashes from the Silver Frame. Enlarge the swash with the Free Transform Tool and stretch it so that it's much longer. Place it underneath the sketch, and then use the Eraser Tool (E) to erase the edges in order to form the shape of an eyebrow. It's alright if it doesn't match the sketch completely.

Control-J to Duplicate the first eyebrow, and then Flip it by going to Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal.

Create the Owls Eyebrows

Step 6

Now that we have a general understanding of the owl's body, we can complete his entire outfit. Place the next elements into the Group that contains the body. First, use the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) to extract the Top Hat from its reference. Copy and Paste the hat onto the canvas and use the Free Transform Tool (Control-T) to adjust the perspective of the hat so that it fits perfectly on the owl's head. 

Add the Top Hat

Start Erasing parts of the sketch to help with this step. Then add a Layer Mask to the hat, painting black on the mask to adjust the shape even further. We'll fix any lighting or color issues later down the line.

Currently, this design has too much metal. Since steampunk often incorporates other materials, I'll be reusing the material from the hat to outfit the owl. Use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to make a large selection of the hat's shiny black material and Copy and Paste it onto the canvas. Position the material over the metal body, making sure that the wings, keyhole, belt, and mesh details are still visible.

Add the Hat Texture to the Body

Steampunk characters always have a pair of goggles on. So extract the Goggles from your reference using the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L). Flip them horizontally, and then Control-T to Free Transform the goggles, adjusting the perspective so that they fit perfectly onto the hat. To keep the goggles within the hat layer, set it as a Clipping Mask to the hat.

Add the Steampunk Goggles

3. How to Create the Owl Eyes

Step 1

To keep the number of stocks used to a minimum, feel free to use the same stock more than once. This is especially necessary for the gear-inspired eyes. First, create a New Layer and use the Brush Tool (B) to paint black onto the eyes.

Black Out the Owl Eyes

We paint them black because black will represent the darkest part of the eyes.

Step 2

Before you add the gears, first extract them from the Gear Reference with the Polygonal Lasso Tool (L) and Paste them onto New Layers. Make a Duplicate of one and use the Elliptical Marquee Tool (M) to select and Delete the center of it to create a new gear shape.

When you're finished, Duplicate these gears so that you have multiple copies. You can also easily clean up the edges with the Eraser Tool (E).

Extract the Gears
Make sure all the gears are on their own separate layers.

Step 3

Now that you have all the gears ready, begin creating the eyes. Place two of the gears with the open middle for the left and right sides of the eyes.

Create the Owl Eyes

Take that same gear and make six copies. Adjust the copies on the left side so that they almost cascade down the eye, and then Merge the copies together. Duplicate this set, and Flip it by going to Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal to create more balance. Again, Merge the two sets together.

Create the Inner Gears

Now use the two main gears for the actual eyes, and Merge the two layers together. There should be three main layers for the eyes now: the outside gears, the main eyes, and the gears behind the eyes.

Create the Gear Eyes

Step 4

Before we move on to the background, let's embellish the outfit a little more. Extract one of the round bolt details found on the Helmet Armor. Then Copy and Paste it onto the canvas. Duplicate it seven more times, adding small bolts to the left and right sides of the owl's outfit.

Add the Bolt Details

For even more decoration, you can also add two extra bolts to the keyhole as well!

4. How to Create the Background

Whether you're searching for a background image or creating one from scratch, try to be smart about your reference choices. Choose a background that is at the same angle and perspective of your figurine so that it fits perfectly into the scene.

Here I'll be using this Wooden Background. Copy and Paste the background onto a New Layer, adjusting the size so that the middle box is the main focus. Also make sure that the cube is large enough to house the figurine, since it will appear to be sitting on a shelf by itself.

Create the Wooden Shelf Background

5. How to Add Light, Shadows, and Color

Step 1

Now that we have the whole scene set up, we can move on to the lighting scheme! First set a New Adjustment Layer of Hue & Saturation as a Clipping Mask to the Group that contains the body, hat, and head. Adjust the Hue, Saturation, and Lightness with the following settings:

  • Hue: 48
  • Saturation: 13
  • Lightness: -6
Add an Adjustment Layer of Hue and Saturation

Step 2

Currently, the hat is too dark for the scene, so set a New Adjustment Layer of Levels as a Clipping Mask to the hat. Adjust the RGB, Green, and Blue Channels with the following settings:

Adjust the Hat Levels

The hat should read more clearly now.

Hat After Levels Adjustment

Step 3

Let's match the lighting for the hat to the wooden background. Set a New Adjustment Layer of Curves as a Clipping Mask to the background layer. Adjust the curves for the RGB, Green, and Blue Channels like the ones below. Try to add more light first, and then add a slight green tint.

Adjust the Curves for the Background

We will come back to the color shortly, but for now, let's move on to the shadows of the figurine.

Step 4

Now set New Layers as Clipping Masks to the eyebrows, gears, and beak. Use either dark brown or black to paint soft shadows on each layer with a Soft Round Brush. Start with the eyes, creating depth by painting more shadow on the background gears than on the actual eyes.

Paint Shadow on the Eyes

Then move on to the beak and eyebrows. Create realistic shadow by sweeping the brush to the edges of the metal to create realistic curves.

Eyebrows and Beak Shadow

Continue shading your owl. Bring the shadow onto the head to make it appear more round. On a New Layer above the wooden background, cast shadows against the back wall of the shelf.

Add More Shadows

Step 5

For more color harmony, add a New Adjustment Layer of Color Lookup at the top of your layers. Set the 3DLUT File to Candelight.

Add a Color Lookup Adjustment Layer

Follow up with another New Adjustment Layer for Curves. Adjust the curves for the RGB and Green Channels to up the intensity of your previous result.

Add a Curves Adjustment Layer

6. How to Finish the Owl Scene

Step 1

In this last section we'll still need to balance out the lighting, clean up our details, and adjust the colors even more. To keep things simple, I'll be adding all New Layers above my last two Adjustment Layers for these final tweaks.

First, create a New Layer dedicated to cleaning the scene up. Use a Hard Round Brush with 50-100% Hardness to make the edges of the owl crisper. 

Clean Up The Owl With a Hard Brush

Notice that this also means that I'll need to draw certain details like the brim of the hat, the top of the hat, and the lines underneath the beak.

Continue refining your manipulation. Another great way to create sharp lines is to use highlight colors to break up some of the dark shadows you're seeing. So in this instance, you'll see highlights around the beak, gears, and eyebrows, which all help to make the owl sharper.

Sharpen the Owl Details

Step 2

Now create a New Layer and set it to Overlay. Use a Hard Round Brush to add white highlights to the metal before switching over to a Soft Round Brush to add more light to the background and figure.

I basically want to make sure that the owl is very well lit since the box is quite dark at the moment.

Add Light with Overlay

Step 3

Adjust the lighting even further by creating more realistic shadow. Create a New Layer and set it to Multiply. Use black or a dark brown color to create a vignette effect around the box.

Create a Vignette

Lighting is all about finding balance. So once you have the vignette in place, start painting more shadow onto the right side of the figurine. This helps to set the scene even further by allowing the owl to look as if it's actually standing on this shelf.

Add More Shadows to the Scene

Step 4

To finish this manipulation, add one last Adjustment Layer for Color Lookup. There's currently too much red showing through, so set the 3DLUT File to FoggyNight and lower the Opacity to 24%.

Add A FoggyNight Color Lookup Adjustment Layer

Like Clockwork, You're Done!

The key to a great photo manipulation is to pay attention to your references. Be smart with the ones you choose! And no matter how many stocks it takes, study all of their light sources so that you're able to construct a result that is practically lifelike.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! Feel free to leave any questions or concerns in the comments and I'll be happy to assist you. For more great photo manipulation tutorials, check out my Instructor Profile here on Envato Tuts+. And good luck!

Steampunk Owl Photo Manipulation Tutorial by Melody Nieves
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.