Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Spring

Wie kann man eine Illustration eines Stars auf einem Zweig in Adobe Illustrator erstellen?

Scroll to top
Read Time: 12 min

German (Deutsch) translation by Katharina Grigorovich-Nevolina (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Der Frühling ist da und wir sind alle dran! Es ist die schönste Zeit des Jahres, wenn die Bäume und Blumen blühen, die Vögel zwitschern und Freude in der Luft liegt. Und das werden wir heute schaffen - einen Apfelblütenzweig und einen Star.

Bevor ich PhotoDune durchstöberte, wusste ich nicht, dass Stare in allen verschiedenen Farben sind, weil sie auf meiner Seite der Erde nur schwarz sind. Es ist interessant, ein paar Seiten zu durchsuchen und zu sehen, welche große Vielfalt es für gleichnamige Vögel gibt.

Da dieses Tutorial für Anfänger gedacht ist, müssen Sie kein Superkünstler sein, um es zu befolgen, da wir hier und da Grundformen und einige Verkrümmen-Effekte verwenden und Ihre Illustration fertig ist!

Lassen Sie uns gehen!

1. Wie kann man den Star erstellen?

Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie ein neues Dokument (Datei > Neu) mit einer Breite von 850 Pixel und einer Höhe von 850 Pixel.

Beginnen wir mit dem Kopf. Löschen Sie die Strichfarbe und stellen Sie die folgende Füllfarbe ein, die Sie im Bild unten sehen. Nimm als nächstes das Ellipse-Werkzeug (L) und erstelle eine dunkelgraue Ellipse.

Jetzt wenden wir den Aufblasen-Effekt auf diese Ellipse an. Gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Aufblasen. Geben Sie die Optionen ein, die Sie unten sehen. Erweitern Sie diese Form (Objekt > Aussehen umwandeln).

Um das Auge zu starten, erstellen Sie zuerst ein kleines hellgraues Oval (verwenden Sie das Ellipse-Werkzeug (L)) und drehen Sie es leicht nach links. Fügen Sie danach einen schwarzen Kreis und einen weiteren kleinen weißen Kreis hinzu, um das Auge hervorzuheben. Um einen perfekten Kreis zu erhalten, verwenden Sie das Ellipse-Werkzeug, während Sie die Umschalttaste gedrückt halten.

how to create the head and eyehow to create the head and eyehow to create the head and eye

Schritt 2

Zeichnen Sie zum Erstellen des Körpers eine dunkelgraue Ellipse mit dem Ellipse-Werkzeug (L). Ändern Sie es, indem Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Bogen gehen. In der Abbildung unten sehen Sie die Optionen, die Sie eingeben müssen. Erweitern Sie die Form (Objekt > Aussehen umwandeln).

how to create the bodyhow to create the bodyhow to create the body

Befestigen Sie den Körper am Kopf.

attaching the body to the headattaching the body to the headattaching the body to the head

Schritt 3

Erstellen Sie für den Schnabel eine gelbe Ellipse. Gehen Sie bei ausgewählter Option zu Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Bogen und geben Sie die unten angezeigten Optionen ein. Erweitern Sie die Form.

Erstellen Sie unter Beibehaltung der erweiterten Form eine neue Kopie (Strg-C, Strg-F). Nehmen Sie die Auswahl noch nicht ab und klicken Sie auf das Ankerpunkt löschen-Werkzeug (-). Löschen Sie die drei markierten Ankerpunkte, indem Sie darauf klicken. Jetzt sollten Sie die beiden Teile des Schnabels haben: eine hellgelbe Form oben und eine dunkelgelbe unten.

Dehnen Sie das leichtere Oberteil etwas nach rechts. Der Schnabel ist fertig!

how to create the beakhow to create the beakhow to create the beak

Geben Sie es dem Star.

placing the beakplacing the beakplacing the beak

Schritt 4

Auf zum Flügel. Erstellen Sie eine Ellipse, indem Sie dieselbe Füllfarbe wie der Star für Kopf und Körper verwenden. Gehen Sie bei ausgewählter Option zu Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Bogen und geben Sie die unten angezeigten Optionen ein. Erweitern Sie die Form.

Als nächstes werden wir dem Flügel etwas Schattierung geben. Erstellen Sie eine Kopie dahinter (Strg-C, Strg-B) und verschieben Sie sie diagonal in die untere rechte Ecke. Machen Sie die neue Kopie etwas dunkler.

Behalten Sie die gleiche Füllfarbe bei und zeichnen Sie eine winzige Ellipse, da wir dem Flügel ein paar Federn hinzufügen möchten. Wählen Sie mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A) die oberen und unteren Ankerpunkte aus und verschieben Sie sie mit demselben Werkzeug ein wenig nach unten. Das ist eine andere Möglichkeit, eine Ellipse zu verziehen.

Erstellen Sie als Nächstes einige Kopien dieser Form und legen Sie sie unter die tatsächliche Flügelform. Der ganze Flügel ist jetzt fertig. Gruppieren Sie es.

how to create the winghow to create the winghow to create the wing

Platzieren Sie den Flügel an seiner Stelle.

placing the wingplacing the wingplacing the wing

Schritt 5

In diesem Schritt erstellen wir den Schwanz. Beginnen Sie mit einer Ellipse, gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Bogen und geben Sie die unten angezeigten Optionen ein. Als nächstes wenden wir einen weiteren Effekt auf dieselbe Ellipse an: Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Aufblasen. Da ich mit der Druckbildschirmoption auf meinem Computer nur ein Optionsfenster anzeigen kann, sehen Sie die folgenden Bogen-Optionen. Wenn Sie nun Optionen für den Aufblasen-Effekt benötigen, scrollen Sie nach unten, um sie anzuzeigen.

Um den Schwanz interessanter zu gestalten, erstellen Sie eine schmale horizontale Ellipse. Wählen Sie mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A) die oberen und unteren Ankerpunkte aus und verschieben Sie sie ein wenig nach unten. Machen Sie noch ein paar Kopien dieser schmalen Ellipse und platzieren Sie sie wie unten gezeigt. Das ist der fertige Schwanz, also gruppiere ihn.

how to create the tailhow to create the tailhow to create the tail

Das Fenster mit den Optionen zum Aufblasen:

Inflate options windowInflate options windowInflate options window

Geben Sie dem Star den Schwanz.

placing the tailplacing the tailplacing the tail

Schritt 6

Jetzt schaffen wir das Bein. Zeichne eine Ellipse. Drücken Sie das Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A), wählen Sie die oberen und unteren Ankerpunkte aus und verschieben Sie sie in die Richtung, die der Pfeil im Bild unten zeigt. Beachten Sie, wie die Griffe der Ankerpunkte ihre Position geändert haben.

Fügen Sie eine weitere Kopie hinzu, sodass Sie jetzt zwei Vogelzehen haben.

Fügen Sie eine dritte Kopie des Zehs hinzu, die in die entgegengesetzte Richtung zeigt.

Fügen Sie zum Schluss ein schmales Rechteck hinzu, das an den Zehen befestigt ist und das Bein sein wird.

how to create the leghow to create the leghow to create the leg

Schritt 7

Legen Sie das Bein hinter den Körper des Vogels. Fügen Sie eine winzige Ellipse mit der gleichen Füllfarbe wie der Körper hinzu. Diese Ellipse muss dort platziert werden, wo das Bein beginnt.

Erstellen Sie eine weitere Kopie des Beins und platzieren Sie es nahe an der ersten. Vergessen Sie dabei nicht die winzige Ellipse.

placing the leg and creating another oneplacing the leg and creating another oneplacing the leg and creating another one

Schritt 8

Erinnerst du dich, wie wir die "Federn" an Flügel und Schwanz des Vogels geschaffen haben? Erstellen Sie eine weitere Kopie dieser verzogenen Ellipse und stellen Sie sicher, dass sie dieselbe Füllfarbe wie der Körper des Stars hat (verwenden Sie die Pipette-Werkzeug (I), um dieselbe Füllfarbe wie der Körper zu verwenden). Da wir diese Form häufig verwenden, ist es besser, eine zusätzliche Kopie für die spätere Verwendung auf der Seite zu lassen. Ich werde diese Form einfach die Feder nennen. Legen Sie also drei Federn auf den Kopf des Vogels, um ihn unschärfer zu machen.

Erstellen Sie dann eine neue Kopie der Feder, die eine hellere Farbe haben sollte (dieselbe Füllfarbe wie die Feder am Schwanz), und legen Sie einige Kopien auf den Kopf und den Flügel des Stars.

Erstellen Sie zum Schluss eine neue dunklere Kopie der Feder (dieselbe Füllfarbe wie die Feder auf dem Flügel) und legen Sie einige Kopien davon auf den Bauch des Stars.

adding feathersadding feathersadding feathers

2. Wie kann man die Apfelblüte erstellen? 

Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie das Blütenblatt mit einer weißen Ellipse, gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Fischauge und geben Sie die unten angezeigten Optionen ein. Der schwarze Strich, den Sie unten sehen, soll Ihnen helfen, ihn besser zu sehen, sodass Sie ihn für Ihr Endergebnis nicht benötigen.

Nehmen Sie die Feder, stellen Sie sicher, dass sie schmal und rosa ist, und legen Sie dann einige davon auf das Blütenblatt.

Wählen Sie das gesamte Blütenblatt aus und gruppieren Sie es (Rechtsklick > Gruppieren).

how to create the petalhow to create the petalhow to create the petal

Schritt 2

Nehmen Sie nicht die Auswahl des Blütenblatts ab, sondern drücken Sie das Drehen-Werkzeug (R). Halten Sie danach die Alt-Taste gedrückt und klicken Sie unter das Blütenblatt, wo sich die Rotationsachse befinden soll. Ein neues Dialogfenster wird angezeigt. Geben Sie den Drehwinkel um 72 Grad ein und drücken Sie Kopieren. Um Ihre letzte Bewegung zu wiederholen, drücken Sie dreimal Strg-D, und Sie werden feststellen, dass Sie jetzt eine Blume mit fünf Blütenblättern haben.

Sie benötigen noch den Mittelteil für die Blume, also platzieren Sie einen gelben Kreis in der Mitte. Um diesen gelben Mittelteil natürlicher zu machen, verzerren wir ihn. Gehen Sie bei ausgewählter Option zu Effekt > Verzerrungs- und Transformationsfilter > Aufrauen ... Geben Sie im neuen Dialogfenster Optionen Größe und Detail mit einem nicht zu hohen Wert ein. Versuchen Sie einfach, den Schieberegler zu bewegen und das gewünschte Ergebnis zu finden. Vergessen Sie nicht, im Abschnitt Optionen die Option Absolut und im Abschnitt Punkte die Option Glätten zu aktivieren. Wenn Ihnen das Aussehen gefällt, drücken Sie OK.

how to create the white flowerhow to create the white flowerhow to create the white flower

Schritt 3

Um die Blume noch natürlicher zu machen, löschen Sie die Füllfarbe und stellen Sie die Füllfarbe ein. Zeichnen Sie mit dem Bogen-Werkzeug einige Kurven in den mittleren Teil der Blume. Wir schaffen die Staubblätter. Machen Sie dann eine weitere Kopie dieses mittleren Teils der Blume, stellen Sie sie vor alles (Strg-X, Strg-F), ändern Sie ihre Füllfarbe und machen Sie noch winzigere Kopien. Platzieren Sie diese wie unten gezeigt. Jetzt sieht unsere Blume aus wie eine Apfelbaumblüte!

how to create the stamenshow to create the stamenshow to create the stamens

Erstellen Sie eine Kopie Ihrer ersten Blume und ändern Sie ihre Farbe, um zwei verschiedene Blumen zu erhalten. Denken Sie daran, dass die weißen Blütenblätter im Endergebnis keinen schwarzen Strich haben.

two flowerstwo flowerstwo flowers

Schritt 4

Zeichnen wir eine neue Blume, die halb offen ist. Dafür brauchen wir eine spezielle Form für das Blütenblatt. Beginnen Sie mit einer rosa Ellipse, verformen Sie sie dann (Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Bogen) und geben Sie die unten angezeigten Optionen ein. Nehmen Sie die Auswahl nicht ab und wenden Sie einen neuen Effekt an: Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Fischauge. Die Optionen für diesen zweiten Effekt finden Sie unten.

how to create the petal how to create the petal how to create the petal

Fenster Fischaugenoptionen:

Fisheye Options windowFisheye Options windowFisheye Options window

Schritt 5

Erinnerst du dich an die erste Blume, die wir heute geschaffen haben, die weiße? Machen Sie eine Kopie von einem Blütenblatt aus dieser Blume und ändern Sie ihre Füllfarbe in Pink. Schrumpfe dieses neue Blütenblatt ein wenig. Erstellen Sie eine weitere Kopie dieses Blütenblatts dahinter (Strg-C, Strg-B), um diese Kopie dunkler und breiter zu machen.

Als nächstes müssen Sie das erste Blütenblatt der halboffenen Blume nehmen, die wir zuvor erstellt haben. Platzieren Sie die beiden wie unten gezeigt.

Erstellen Sie zwei weitere Kopien des ersten Blütenblatts und platzieren Sie sie wie im Bild unten hinter allen Blütenblättern.

how to create the half open flowerhow to create the half open flowerhow to create the half open flower

Schritt 6

So wie wir die Staubblätter für die erste weiße Blume zeichnen, zeichnen Sie sie für diese halboffene Blume.

continue creating the half open flowercontinue creating the half open flowercontinue creating the half open flower

Schritt 7

Zeichnen wir die Stelle, an der alle Blütenblätter sitzen. Fügen Sie eine winzige grüne Ellipse hinzu, wählen Sie den oberen Ankerpunkt mit dem Direktauswahl-Werkzeug (A) aus und verschieben Sie diesen Punkt nach unten.

Nehmen Sie die Feder, machen Sie sie lang und schmal und verwenden Sie sie als Stiel.

finishing creating the half open flowerfinishing creating the half open flowerfinishing creating the half open flower

Schritt 8

Jetzt wollen wir die Knospe schaffen. Nehmen Sie das erste Blütenblatt von unserer zuvor erstellten halboffenen Blume. Fügen Sie zwei weitere rosa Blütenblätter dahinter hinzu. Fügen Sie dann hinter allem ein dunkleres Blütenblatt hinzu. Beachten Sie, dass das für die Knospe verwendete Blütenblatt nicht verkleinert wird.

Beenden Sie die Knospe wie bei der halboffenen Blume.

how to create the budhow to create the budhow to create the bud

Schritt 9

Erstellen Sie eine weitere Knospe mit den unten gezeigten Füllfarben.

how to create another budhow to create another budhow to create another bud

Schritt 10

Hier sind alle Blumen und Knospen, die wir bisher geschaffen haben. Gruppieren Sie jede Blume für Ihre Bequemlichkeit separat.

all flowers togetherall flowers togetherall flowers together

3. Wie kann man die Blätter erstellen?

Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie das Blatt aus einer grünen Ellipse. Wenden Sie einen Verkrümmen-Effekt an: Effekt > Verkrümmungsfilter > Fischauge. Erweitern Sie dann die Form.

Lassen Sie es ausgewählt, drücken Sie das Spiegeln-Werkzeug (O) und drücken Sie die Eingabetaste. Aktivieren Sie im neuen Dialogfenster die Option Achse horizontal, Winkel 0 Grad und drücken Sie Kopieren. Sie erhalten eine Kopie der vorherigen Form. Bewegen Sie diese Kopie mit der Abwärtspfeiltaste nach unten. In der Abbildung unten können Sie sehen, wie sich die beiden Formen überlappen sollten, aber tatsächlich benötigen Sie keine schwarze Kontur.

how to create the leaf shapehow to create the leaf shapehow to create the leaf shape

Schritt 2

Jetzt wollen wir das Blatt natürlicher machen. Vereinigen Sie diese beiden Formen, die Sie für das Blatt erstellt haben: Während Sie sie ausgewählt lassen, drücken Sie die Schaltfläche Vereinen im Pathfinder-Bedienfeld (Fenster > Pathfinder).

Nachdem Sie eine Form haben, verzerren wir sie: Gehen Sie zu Effekt > Verzerrungs- und Transformationsfilter > Aufrauen ... Geben Sie abhängig von Ihrer Blattgröße die Option Größe um 2 px ein, aktivieren Sie Absolut, Detail um 20/in, und überprüfen Sie die Punkte Glatt und drücken Sie schließlich OK.

Nehmen Sie die Feder, machen Sie sie dunkelgrün und tragen Sie sie als Blattadern auf.

finishing creating the leaffinishing creating the leaffinishing creating the leaf

Schritt 3

Ich bin sicher, dass Sie in diesem Schritt bereits wissen, wie man das Blatt verzieht. Stellen Sie einfach sicher, dass Sie das gesamte Blatt gruppiert haben (Rechtsklick > Gruppieren).

warping the leafwarping the leafwarping the leaf

Es ist schön, drei verschiedene Blätter für Abwechslung zu haben. Sie sollten eine unberührt und zwei verzogen halten.

Gruppieren Sie jedes Blatt separat.

all leaves togetherall leaves togetherall leaves together

4. Wie kann man den Zweig erstellen? 

Schritt 1

Nehmen Sie das Abgerundete Rechteck-Werkzeug und zeichnen Sie ein langes braunes Rechteck.

Doppelklicken Sie nun auf das Verkrümmen-Werkzeug (Umschalt-R) und geben Sie die Optionen ein, die Sie im zweiten Bild unten sehen können. Dehnen Sie nach den Pfeilen im ersten Bild das abgerundete Rechteck, um den Zweig zu erhalten.

how to create the branchhow to create the branchhow to create the branch

Das Dialogfenster für die Verkrümmen-Werkzeug-Optionen wird hier angezeigt.

Warp Tool Options window Warp Tool Options window Warp Tool Options window

Schritt 2

Legen Sie zuerst die Blätter auf den Ast und fügen Sie dann die Knospen und halboffenen Blüten hinzu.

Zum Schluss den Rest der Blumen hinzufügen.

placing blossom and leaves on the branch placing blossom and leaves on the branch placing blossom and leaves on the branch

Schritt 3

Legen Sie den Star auf den Ast.

placing the starling on the branch placing the starling on the branch placing the starling on the branch

5. Wie kann man den Hintergrund erstellen? 

Schritt 1

Nimm das Rechteck-Werkzeug (M) und klicke auf deine Zeichenfläche. Geben Sie im neuen Dialogfenster 850 px Breite und Höhe ein und drücken Sie dann OK. Ändern Sie die Füllfarbe in Pastellblau.

how to create the backgroundhow to create the backgroundhow to create the background

Schritt 2

Nimm das Ellipse-Werkzeug (L) und erstelle mit gedrückter Umschalttaste einen gleichmäßigen Kreis in der Mitte.

how to create the backgroundhow to create the backgroundhow to create the background

Schritt 3

Setzen Sie das Quadrat und Ihren Kreis hinter den Star und den Ast.

placing the branch with starling on the backgroundplacing the branch with starling on the backgroundplacing the branch with starling on the background

Schritt 4

Erstellen Sie einige Ellipsen als Wolken. Der schwarze Strich, den Sie eigentlich nicht benötigen, zeigt Ihnen, wie sich die Ellipsen überlappen sollen. Beachten Sie, wie dieser Zweig und die Wolken den großen Kreis überlappen und der Star nicht.

how to create the cloudshow to create the cloudshow to create the clouds

Schritt 5

Nachdem Sie alles so platziert haben, wie Sie möchten, wählen Sie den großen Kreis in der Mitte aus und erstellen Sie eine neue Kopie davon vorne (Strg-C, Strg-F). Schneiden Sie dann die Kopie ab (Strg-X) und legen Sie sie vor alles (Strg-F). Diese Kopie vor allem ist durch den schwarzen Strich gekennzeichnet.

Sie können diesem Kreis auch eine schwarze Strichfarbe hinzufügen, damit Sie besser sehen können, was sich darin befindet.

Wählen Sie nun - seien Sie vorsichtig - alles außer dem hellblauen Quadrat (unserem Hintergrund) aus. Sie sollten den Star, den Zweig, die Wolken, den großen blauen Kreis in der Mitte und die oberste Kopie mit dem schwarzen Strich auswählen. Gehen Sie danach zu Objekt > Schnittmaske > Erstellen (Strg-7).

Sie sollten am Ende ein ähnliches Ergebnis wie im Bild unten erzielen.

how to make the Clipping Maskhow to make the Clipping Maskhow to make the Clipping Mask

Schlussfolgerung

Toller Job! Ich bin froh, dass Sie mit mir bis zum Ende gegangen sind, und ich hoffe, Sie haben in diesem Tutorial etwas Neues gelernt. Ich denke, dass dies eine wirklich schöne Illustration zum Thema Frühling ist, und ich hoffe, dass Ihnen Ihr Endergebnis gefällt. Bis zum nächsten Mal!

finalfinalfinal
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Spring
Design

How to Create an Illustration of a Starling on a Branch in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Spring is here, and we are all about it! It's the most wonderful time of the year, when the trees and flowers are blooming, the birds are chirping, and joy is in the air. And that is what we will create today—an apple blossom branch and a starling.

Before browsing PhotoDune, I didn't know that starlings are in all different colors, because on my side of the Earth they are just black. It's interesting to browse a few pages and see what a big diversity there is for birds with the same name.

As this tutorial is for beginners, you don't need to be a super artist to follow it, because we will use basic shapes, some warp effects here and there, and your illustration is ready!

Let's go!

1. How to Create the Starling

Step 1

Create a new document (File > New) with 850 px Width and 850 px Height.

Let’s start with the head. Delete the stroke color and set the following fill color you see in the image below. Next, take the Ellipse Tool (L) and create a dark grey ellipse.

Now, we will apply the Inflate effect to this ellipse. Go to Effect > Warp > Inflate. Enter the options you see below. Expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

To start the eye, first create a small, light grey oval (use the Ellipse Tool (L)) and rotate it slightly to the left. After that, add a black circle and one more tiny white circle to highlight the eye. To get a perfect circle, use the Ellipse Tool while holding the Shift button.

how to create the head and eye

Step 2

To create the body, draw a dark grey ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L). Modify it by going to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the image below, you can see the options you need to enter. Expand the shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

how to create the body

Attach the body to the head.

attaching the body to the head

Step 3

For the beak, create a yellow ellipse. While keeping it selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options you see below. Expand the shape.

While keeping the expanded shape selected, create a new copy in front (Control-C, Control-F). Don't take off the selection yet, and hit the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-) and delete the three marked anchor points by clicking on them. Now you should have the two parts of the beak: a light yellow shape on top and a dark yellow one on the bottom.

Stretch the lighter top part to the right a little bit. The beak is ready!

how to create the beak

Give it to the starling.

placing the beak

Step 4

On to the wing. Using the same fill color as the starling has for the head and body, create an ellipse. While keeping it selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options you see below. Expand the shape.

Next, we will give the wing some shading. Create a copy behind (Control-C, Control-B) and shift it diagonally to the bottom-right corner. Make the new copy a bit darker.

Keep the same fill color and draw a tiny ellipse, because we want to add a few feathers to the wing. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select its top and bottom anchor points and move them down just a little bit using the same tool. That's another way to warp an ellipse. 

Next, make few copies of this shape and put them under the actual wing shape. The whole wing is now completed. Group it.

how to create the wing

Place the wing in its place.

placing the wing

Step 5

In this step, we will create the tail. Start with an ellipse, and then go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options you see below. Next, we'll apply another effect to the same ellipse: Effect > Warp > Inflate. As the printscreen option on my computer allows me to show you just one options window, that's why you can see the Arc options below. Now, as you need options for the Inflate effect, scroll down to see them.

As we want to make the tail more interesting, create a narrow horizontal ellipse. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select its top and bottom anchor points and move them down just a little bit. Make a few more copies of this narrow ellipse and place it as shown below. That's the completed tail, so group it.

how to create the tail

The Inflate options window:

Inflate options window

Give the tail to the starling.

placing the tail

Step 6

Now we'll create the leg. Draw an ellipse. Hit the Direct Selection Tool (A), select its top and bottom anchor points, and move them following the direction shown by the arrow in the image below. Notice how the handles of the anchor points changed their positions.

Add one more copy, so now you have two bird's toes.

Add a third copy of the toe, pointing in the opposite direction.

Finally, add a narrow rectangle attached to the toes, which will be the leg.

how to create the leg

Step 7

Place the leg behind the bird's body. Add a tiny ellipse with the same fill color as the body. This ellipse has to be placed where the leg begins.

Create another copy of the leg, putting it close to the first one, and don't forget about the tiny ellipse.

placing the leg and creating another one

Step 8

Remember how we created the "feathers" on the bird's wing and tail? Create another copy of this warped ellipse, and be sure it has the same fill color as the starling's body (use the Eyedropper Tool (I) to take the same fill color as the body). As we will use this shape a lot, it's better to keep one extra copy on the side for later use. I'll just call this shape the feather. So put three feathers on the bird's head, to make him fuzzier.

Then, make a new copy of the feather which should be a lighter color (the same fill color as the feather on the tail), and place some copies on the starling's head and wing.

Finally, make a new darker copy of the feather (the same fill color as the feather on the wing), and place some copies of it on the starling's tummy.

adding feathers

2. How to Create the Apple Blossom

Step 1

Start to create the petal with a white ellipse, and then go to Effect > Warp > Fisheye and enter the options you see below. The black stroke you see below is just to help you see it better, so you don't need it in your final result.

Take the feather, make sure it's narrow and pink, and then put few of them on the petal.

Select the whole petal and group it (right-click > Group).

how to create the petal

Step 2

Don't take off the selection of the petal, but hit the Rotate Tool (R). After that, holding down the Alt key, click under the petal, where you want the axis of rotation to be. A new dialogue window will pop up. Enter Rotate Angle 72 degrees, and press Copy. To repeat your last movement, hit Control-D three times, and you'll notice that now you have a flower with five petals.

You still need the middle part for the flower, so place a yellow circle in the middle. To make this yellow middle part more natural, let's distort it. While keeping it selected, go to Effect > Distort and Transform > Roughen... In the new dialogue window, enter Options Size and Detail at a value that's not too high—just try to move the slider and find the result you like. Don't forget to check Absolute in the Options section and Smooth in the Points section. Once you like how it looks, press OK.

how to create the white flower

Step 3

To make the flower even more natural, delete the fill color and set the fill color. Using the Arc Tool, draw a few curves on the middle part of the flower. We are creating the stamens. Then make another copy of this middle part of the flower, put it in front of everything (Control-X, Control-F), change its fill color, and make even more tiny copies. Place those as shown below. Now our flower looks like apple tree blossom!

how to create the stamens

Create a copy of your first flower, and change its color to get two different flowers. Remember that in the final result, the white petals won't have the black stroke.

two flowers

Step 4

Let's draw a new flower that is half open. For this, we need a special shape for the petal. Start with a pink ellipse, and then deform it (Effect > Warp > Arc), and enter the options you see below. Don't take off the selection, and apply a new effect: Effect > Warp > Fisheye. The options for this second effect can be found below.

how to create the petal

Fisheye Options window:

Fisheye Options window

Step 5

Remember the first flower we created today, the white one? Make a copy of one petal from this flower and change its fill color to pink. Shrink this new petal down a little. Create another copy of this petal behind (Control-C, Control-B), making this copy darker and wider.

Next, you need to take the first petal of the half-open flower, which we created previously. Place the two of them as shown below.

Create two more copies of the first petal and place them behind all the petals as in the image below.

how to create the half open flower

Step 6

In the same way as we draw the stamens for the first white flower, draw them for this half-open flower.

continue creating the half open flower

Step 7

Let's draw the place where all the petals sit. Add a tiny green ellipse, select its top anchor point by using the Direct Selection Tool (A), and move this point down.

Take the feather, make it long and narrow, and use it as the stalk.

finishing creating the half open flower

Step 8

Now we want to create the bud. Take the first petal from our previously created half-open flower. Add two more pink petals behind. Then, add one darker petal behind everything. Note how the petal used for the bud is not shrunk down.

Finish off the bud as we did for the half-open flower.

how to create the bud

Step 9

Create one more bud by using the fill colors shown below.

how to create another bud

Step 10

So here are all the flowers and buds we created so far. Group each flower separately for your convenience.

all flowers together

3. How to Create the Leaves

Step 1

Start creating the leaf from a green ellipse. Apply a warp effect for it: Effect > Warp > Fisheye. Then expand the shape.

Keep it selected, hit the Reflect Tool (O), and then press Enter. In the new dialogue window, check Axis Horizontal, Angle 0 degrees, and press Copy. You'll get a copy of the previous shape. Move this copy down using the Down Arrow key. In the image below, you can see how the two shapes should overlap, but actually you don't need the black stroke.

how to create the leaf shape

Step 2

Now we want to make the leaf more natural. Unite these two shapes you created for the leaf: while keeping them selected, press the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder).

Now that you have one shape, let's distort it: go to Effect > Distort and Transform > Roughen... Depending on your leaf size, enter Options Size around 2 px, check Absolute, Detail around 20/in, for the points check Smooth, and finally press OK.

Take the feather, make it dark green, and apply it as the leaf veins.

finishing creating the leaf

Step 3

In this step, I'm sure you already know how to warp the leaf. Just make sure you grouped the whole leaf (right-click > Group).

warping the leaf

It's nice to have about three different leaves for variety. You should keep one untouched and two warped.

Group each leaf separately for your convenience.

all leaves together

4. How to Create the Branch

Step 1

Take the Rounded Rectangle Tool and draw a long brown rectangle.

Now, double-click on the Warp Tool (Shift-R) and enter the options you can see in the second image below. Following the arrows in the first image, stretch the rounded rectangle to have the branch.

how to create the branch

The dialogue window for the Warp Tool Options is shown here.

Warp Tool Options window

Step 2

First, place the leaves on the branch, and then add the buds and half-open flowers.

Finally, add the rest of the flowers.

placing blossom and leaves on the branch

Step 3

Put the starling on the branch.

placing the starling on the branch

5. How to Create the Background 

Step 1

Grab the Rectangle Tool (M) and click on your artboard. In the new dialogue window, enter 850 px Width and Height, and then press OK. Change its fill color to a pastel blue.

how to create the background

Step 2

Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and, while holding the Shift key, create an even circle in the middle. 

how to create the background

Step 3

Put the square and your circle behind the starling and the branch.

placing the branch with starling on the background

Step 4

Create few ellipses as clouds. The black stroke, which you actually don't need, shows you how the ellipses should overlap each other. Notice how that branch and the clouds overlap the big circle, and the starling doesn't.

how to create the clouds

Step 5

After you've placed everything how you like, select the big circle in the middle and create a new copy of it in front (Control-C, Control-F). Then cut the copy off (Control-X) and place it in front of everything (Control-F). This copy in front of everything is marked by the black stroke.

You can also add a black stroke color for this circle so you can see what is inside a bit better.

Now—be careful—select everything except for the light blue square (our background). You should select the starling, the branch, the clouds, the big blue circle in the middle, and the top copy with the black stroke. After that, go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7).

You should end up with a similar result to the image below.

how to make the Clipping Mask

Conclusion

Amazing job! I'm happy that you went to the end with me, and I hope you learned something new in this tutorial. I think that this is a really nice spring-themed illustration, and I hope you like your final result. See you next time!

final
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.