Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

Как создать космическую иллюстрацию в Omber

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Sponsored Content

This sponsored post features a product relevant to our readers while meeting our editorial guidelines for being objective and educational.

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Если вам нравится разглядывать глубины космоса так же, как и мне, то сегодня мы узнаем, как создать детальную космическую иллюстрацию в новой программе Omber от Wobastic.

В сравнении с другими программами, Omber доступна в онлайн-версии, а также её можно скачать абсолютно бесплатно.  

Выберите удобную для себя версию, и мы начнём! 

1. Как настроить новый файл проекта

Как обычно начнём с настройки нового документа. Перейдите в Параметры > Настройка страницы и введите следующие значения: 

  • Ширина: 800 пикселей
  • Высота: 600 пикселей

Т.к. нам нужно видеть страницу, отметьте галочкой «Показать контур страницы» и установите Фоновый цвет на белый, чтобы лучше видеть создаваемые фигуры. 

setting up a new document

2. Как настроить пользовательскую сетку

Когда речь заходит о сетках, программа предлагает вам вариант настройки и использования стандартной сетки, что я очень рекомендую, т.к. мы будем создавать иллюстрация в точных пикселях. 

Для этого перейдите в Настройки > Сетка и установите сетку через каждый пиксель, активировав функцию привязки к сетке, чтобы фигуры двигались с приростом в 1 пиксель вне зависимости от направления сдвига.  

setting up a custom grid

3. Как включить высокое качество изображения

Когда вы начинаете новый проект, нужно всегда включать функцию Изображения высокого качества, иначе создаваемые фигуры будут немного нестабильными.  

shape created without hq rendering

Если такое происходит, не бойтесь, т.к. это можно изменить, перейдя в Параметры > Изображения высокого качества. Когда вы включите эту функцию, все старые и новые фигуры станут гладкими, как видно на картинке. 

enabling hq rendering

Перед тем, как перейти к самой иллюстрации, я хотел добавить, что большинство настроенных функций автоматически вернутся к стандартным, когда вы закроете программу, поэтому активируйте их всякий раз, когда начинаете новый проект. 

4. Как создать фон

Когда закончите настраивать новый документ, начнём рисовать фон в виде кляксы. 

Шаг 1

Начните работать над большой областью, перейдя к Фигуре и выбрав Сплошную на верхней панели инструментов, чтобы создать объект со сплошной заливкой.  Установите цвет на (#82147f) и Инструментом «Кривая» нарисуйте фигуру как на картинке. Не беспокойтесь, если она выглядит странно – мы отредактируем её в следующих шагах.

drawing the main background section

Шаг 2

Перейдите к Редактированию точек и переместите опорные точки и их указатели, как показано на картинке. 

В зависимости от нарисованной фигуры можете добавить новую опорную точку Инструментом «Добавить», кликнув на контуре, или удалить точку, если она вам не нужна, кликнув на маленьком квадратике Инструментом «Удалить». 

Когда будет готово, поместите получившуюся фигуру в центре страницы. 

adjusting the main background shape

Шаг 3

Этот следующий шаг – один из моих любимых, т.к. демонстрирует чудесные возможности градиента в программе. Если вы привыкли к радиальному или линейному градиентам, в Omber градиенты выведены на совершенно новый уровень.  Здесь вы можете выделить любую существующую опорную точку и придать ей другой цвет, чтобы создать сложный градиент.  

В моём случае я взял пару фиолетовых и оранжевых оттенков, и у меня получился космический фон, который вы можете видеть на картинке. 

adding the gradient to the main background shape

Шаг 4

Когда закончите работать над большой областью, нарисуйте маленькую таким же образом. Измените опорные точки получившейся фигуры Инструментом «Редактировать точки» и затем примените плавный градиент оранжевого цвета для левых опорных точек и фиолетовый – для правых. 

drawing the smaller background shape

Шаг 5

Нарисуйте левый завиток газа с белым цветом заливки (#FFFFFF) и поместите получившуюся фигуру на левую сторону большой фоновой области.  

drawing the left gas section

Шаг 6

Т.к. нам нужно, чтобы фигура была прозрачной и служила фоновым наложением, нужно открыть панель Информации (Параметры > Информация) и затем при помощи Инструмента «Редактировать точки» по отдельности выделите и измените Прозрачность каждой составляющей опорной точки. 

adjusting the transparency of the left gas section

Шаг 7

Когда закончите работать над левой газовой областью, создайте правую часть таким же образом. 

drawing the right gas section

Шаг 8

Начните работать над маленькими фоновыми звёздами, увеличив страницу колёсиком мышки и создав круг 6 х 6 пикселей светло-бежевого цвета (#F8DBBB),  который расположим на левой стороне большой фоновой области. 

adding the first background star

Шаг 9

Добавьте оставшиеся звёзды из копий, которые сделаем следующим образом: выделите только что созданный круг и при помощи функции Копирования на верхней панели инструментов создайте копии. Передвигайтесь по странице, удерживая пробел, и создавайте копии, пока не заполните ими фон, оставив центральную область пустой.  Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте все звёзды при помощи функции Группирования

adding the remaining stars to the background

Шаг 10

Нарисуйте основную фигуру правой кометы (#FFFFFF) Инструментом «Прямая линия». Кликните на странице, чтобы создать звезду и её лучи, а затем завершите создание линии при помощи функции «Концевая линия». 

drawing the right comet

Шаг 11

Установите ширину только что созданного отрезка на 2 пикселя, перейдя на панель Информации (Параметры > Информация > Ширина), установите цвет левой опорной точки на белый (#FFFFFF) и правой точки – на жёлтый (#FCD85C).

coloring the right comet

Шаг 12

Выделите правую опорную точку кометы Инструментом «Редактировать точки» и снизьте прозрачность до 100%, чтобы создать иллюзию движения. 

adjusting the transparency of the right comet

Шаг 13

Создайте левую комету из копии (Выделить > Копировать) правой кометы, зеркально отразите по вертикали, выделив центральный правый квадрат ограничительной рамки и перетащив его на левую сторону, пока опорные точки не поменяются местами.   

Затем повторите тот же процесс, но в этот раз отразите объект по горизонтали, изменив его длину и расположите получившуюся фигуру на противоположной стороне фона. 

adding the left comet

Шаг 14

Т.к. мы закончили работать с фоном, можем выделить все его фигуры (Control-A) и сгруппировать их (Выделить > Сгруппировать) перед тем, как перейти к следующей части иллюстрации.  

grouping the shapes of the background

5. Как создать основную планету

Т.к. мы закончили работать над фоном, можем перейти к центральной части иллюстрации, где поэтапно создадим большую жёлтую планету. 

Шаг 1

Начните с создания большой области внешнего свечения из жёлтого круга 240 х 240 пикселей (#FCD85C), который горизонтально выровняем по центру страницы. Для этого нам нужно сделать простые вычисления и вычесть ширину планеты из ширины документа, а затем разделить получившееся число на 2, чтобы найти координату Х.  

 (800 пикселей – 240 пикселей)/2=280 пикселей, в результате чего получается значение координаты Х, чтобы горизонтально выровнять фигуру по центру. Что касается выравнивания по вертикали, я провёл те же вычисления (600 пикселей – 240 пикселей)/2=180 пикселей и в результате сдвинул фигуру вниз ещё на 20 пикселей, чтобы она вписалась в фон.  

creating the larger outer glow

Шаг 2

Измените прозрачность только что созданной фигуры, установив левую и верхнюю опорные точки на 70%, а нижнюю и правую – на 0%. 

adjusting the transparency of the larger outer glow

Шаг 3

Создайте небольшое внешнее свечение из копии получившейся фигуры (Выделить > Скопировать), а затем измените её размер, выделив верхний правый квадрат ограничивающей рамки и перетащив его на противоположный угол, пока не получится круг 220 х 220 пикселей. Затем выровняйте его по центру большой фигуры при помощи координат и Y.

  • x: (800 пикселей – 220 пикселей)/2=290 пикселей
  • y: (600 пикселей – 220 пикселей)/2=190 пикселей (из которой вычтем ещё 20 пикселей
adding the smaller outer glow

Шаг 4

Добавьте основную фигуру планеты из жёлтого круга 200 х 200 пикселей (#FCD85C), которую мы расположим, взяв следующие координаты: 

  • x: (800 пикселей – 200 пикселей)/2=300 пикселей
  • y: (600 пикселей – 200 пикселей)/2=200 пикселей (из которой вычтем ещё 20 пикселей)
creating the main shape for the yellow planet

Шаг 5

Создайте плавный градиент на планете, выделив её нижнюю и правую опорные точки Инструментом «Редактировать точки», удерживая Shift для множественного выделения, а затем измените их цвет на тёмно-жёлтый (#F5A941).

adding the gradient to the yellow planet

Шаг 6

Начните добавлять детали на планете, создав большой кратер из эллипса 60 х 40 пикселей при помощи Инструмента «Овал», а затем окрасьте в тёмно-жёлтый цвет (#F5A941) и поместите на нижнюю правую сторону.  

creating the main shape for the larger crater

Шаг 7

Придайте кратеру глубину, выделив его нижнюю и правую опорные точки Инструментом «Редактировать точки», а затем измените их цвет на светло-жёлтый Инструментом «Пипетка» (создайте быстрое выделение на левой стороне большой фигуры планеты). 

adding a gradient to the larger crater

Шаг 8

Создайте маленький кратер из копии (Выделить > Копировать) только что созданной фигуры, затем измените её размер, перетащив ограничивающую рамку, пока не получится овал 30 х 20 пикселей. Когда будет готово, поместите фигуру на нижней левой стороне планеты, выделив и сгруппировав все фигуры при помощи функции Группирования (Выделить > Сгруппировать). 

adding the smaller crater

6. Как создать фоновую планету

Далее по нашему межзвёздному списку идёт маленькая фоновая планета, которая придаст баланса нашей композиции.  

Шаг 1

Создайте пояс из Овала 94 х 40 пикселей с шириной линии 2 пикселя, окрасьте в светло-синий цвет (#2DA3AF) и поместите на правую сторону большой планеты.  

creating the belt for the background planet

Шаг 2

Примените градиент к поясу, выделив каждую опорную точку Инструментом «Редактировать точки», а затем добавьте оттенки более тёмного цвета при приближении к задней части. Т.к. нам нужно, чтобы яркость эллипса снижалась по направлению к задней части, добавьте более тёмную опорную точку и снизьте Прозрачность задних точек до 50% и 34%.  

adding a gradient to the belt

Шаг 3

Создайте основную фигуру планеты из круга 48 х 48 пикселей, затем окрасьте его в светло-синий цвет (#31ABB8) и поместите на пояс. Т.к. активна сетка, вы можете просто перетащить фигуру.  

creating the main shape for the background planet

Шаг 4

Создайте приятный плавный градиент, сделав правую сторону темнее, чтобы придать глубину. Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте две фигуры (Выделить > Сгруппировать) перед тем, как перейти к следующей части иллюстрации. 

adding the gradient to the background planet

7. Как создать спутник

Переходим к последней части иллюстрации. 

Шаг 1

Создайте основную фигуру спутника из прямоугольника 8 х 16 пикселей, окрасьте его в светло-серый цвет (#DEF0F6) и расположите на левой стороне большого кратера. 

creating the main body for the satellite

Шаг 2

Создайте верхнюю и нижнюю части из квадратов 4 х 4 пикселей (#62808A), а затем расположите, как показано на образце.  

adding the top and bottom sections to the satellite

Шаг 3

Добавьте две прямоугольные детали на большой фигуре из прямоугольника 4 х 8 пикселей (#62808A) и маленькую деталь 4 х 2 пикселей (#62808A), которые расположим по вертикали на расстоянии 2 пикселя друг от друга, а затем поместим в центр. Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте все пять фигур (Выделить > Сгруппировать) перед тем, как перейти к следующей части.  

adding details to the body of the satellite

Шаг 4

Начните работать над антенной системой, создав узкую часть из прямоугольника 2 х 4 пикселей (#DEF0F6), а затем поместите её на верхнюю часть спутника.  

adding the neck section for the antenna assembly

Шаг 5

Добавьте антенную систему из круга 10 х 10 пикселей (#62808A), на который добавим маленький круг 6 х 6 пикселей (#DEF0F6) и круг 2 х 2 пикселей (#62808A). Выделите и сгруппируйте все четыре фигуры при помощи функции Выделить > Сгруппировать.  

adding the antenna to the satellite

Шаг 6

Начните работать над левым крылом с солнечной панелью, создав прямоугольник 4 х 2 пикселей (#62808A) на 1 пиксель выше более тонкого прямоугольника 4 х 1 пикселей  (#62808A) и расположите, как показано на картинке.  

adding the arms for the left solar wing

Шаг 7

Создайте основную фигуру крыла из прямоугольника 15 х 12 пикселей, окрасьте её в светло-серый цвет (#DEF0F6) и расположите на левой стороне  выдвижных частей.

adding the main shape for the left solar wing

Шаг 8

Добавьте фотоэлементы из четырёх прямоугольников 2 х 8 пикселей и расположите их на расстоянии 1 пиксель по горизонтали друг от друга (#62808A), а затем расположите в центре крыла. Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте все фигуры текущей секции (Выделить > Сгруппировать) перед тем, как перейти к следующему шагу.  

adding the solar cells to the wing

Шаг 9

Завершите создание спутника, добавив правое крыло из копии (Выделить > Копировать) левого крыла, затем отразите по вертикали и поместите на противоположную сторону большой фигуры. Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте все фигуры спутника (Выделить > Сгруппировать) перед тем, как перейти к последнему шагу. 

adding the right solar wing

Шаг 10

Завершите создание иллюстрации, добавив мягкую тень от спутника на планете при помощи копии спутника (Выделить > Копировать), затем окрасьте её в тёмно-жёлтый цвет (#EEA822). Измените прозрачность фигур тени, войдя в соответствующую группу при помощи функции «Войти в группу», выделите и опустите некоторые опорные точки (Выделить > Редактировать точки).  

Затем сдвиньте копию на несколько пикселей к нижнему правому углу, расположив её под спутником при помощи функции «В обратном направлении» (Выделить > В обратном направлении). Когда будет готово, выделите и сгруппируйте спутник и его тень (Выделить > Сгруппировать), а после этого сгруппируйте всю иллюстрацию.  

finishing off the illustration

Готово!

При помощи нескольких кликов и фигур нам удалось создать достаточно детальную, яркую космическую иллюстрацию, которую вы можете использовать в любом личном проекте. 

Как обычно, очень надеюсь, что вам удалось следовать каждому шагу и, самое главное, вы узнали что-то новое и полезное. 

finished project preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

How to Create a Space Illustration Using Omber

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Sponsored Content

This sponsored post features a product relevant to our readers while meeting our editorial guidelines for being objective and educational.

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

If you love gazing into the depths of outer space as much as I do, then buckle in since today we're going to learn how to create a detailed space illustration with the new Omber software from Wobastic.

Compared to some of the other solutions out there, Omber gives you the possibility of using either an online version or a downloadable one—which is something that I think more developers should be doing—and it's being distributed completely free of charge.

So whether you decide to go online or local, bring up the software and let's get started! 

1. How to Set Up a New Project File

As always, let’s start by setting up a new document. Head over to Options > Page Setup and adjust it as follows:

  • Width: 800 px
  • Height: 600 px

Since we want to be able to see the actual page, be sure to check show page outline and set the Background Color to white so that we can have a better view of the shapes that we’ll be creating.

setting up a new document

2. How to Set Up a Custom Grid

When it comes to grids, the software gives you the option of setting up and using a custom one, which I really recommend you do, since we want the illustration to be based on a pixel-perfect workflow.

To do this, simply go to Options > Grid and instruct it to use a gridline every 1 pixels, making sure to enable the snap to grid option so that the shapes will move using a 1 px increment no matter the direction in which you push them.

setting up a custom grid

3. How to Enable High-Quality Rendering

When you start a new project, you should always make sure that the HQ Rendering option is turned on, otherwise you might notice that the shapes that you've just created are a little bit choppy.

shape created without hq rendering

If this happens, don’t worry and keep calm, since this is due to the rendering engine that needs to be enabled by going over to Options > HQ Rendering. Once you turn it on, all your old and new shapes will instantly become smooth, as you can see for yourself from the reference example.

enabling hq rendering

Before we move on and start working on the actual illustration, I wanted to point out that most of the options that we’ve set up until this point will automatically return to their defaults once you close the software, so remember to go over them each and every time you start working on a new project.

4. How to Create the Background

As soon as we've finished setting up our new document, we’re going to kick things off by drawing the wobbly background, so take a quick sip of that hot coffee and let's get started!

Step 1

Start by working on the larger section, by going over to Shape and then selecting Solid from the top toolbar in order to create an object with a solid fill. Set the color to purple (#82147f), and then use the Curve tool to draw a shape similar to the one from the reference image. Don’t worry if it ends up looking weird, since we're going to fine-tune it in the following moments.

drawing the main background section

Step 2

Adjust the shape that we’ve just created by going over to Edit Points and then carefully repositioning the anchor points and their handles as seen in the reference image.

Depending on the shape that you’ve drawn, you can add new anchor points using the Add tool, by simply clicking on the path, or remove the ones you don’t need by clicking on their little square using the Delete tool.

Take your time, and once you’re done, position the resulting shape in the center of the underlying page.

adjusting the main background shape

Step 3

This next step is really one of my favorites, since it demonstrates the amazing capabilities of the software’s gradient engine. If you’re used to radial or linear gradients, Omber takes things to a completely new level. It allows you to select any of its composing anchor points and assign it a different color in order to create an intricate gradient. 

In my case, I went with a couple of purple tints and shades as well as orange ones, which gave me a nice smooth, space-like background that you can see below.

adding the gradient to the main background shape

Step 4

Once you’ve finished working on the larger section, take a couple of moments and draw the smaller one using the same process as before. Adjust the resulting shape’s anchor points using the Edit Points tool, and then apply a smooth gradient using orange for its left anchor points and purple for its right ones.

drawing the smaller background shape

Step 5

Next, draw the left gas swirl using white (#FFFFFF) as your fill color, positioning the resulting shape on the left side of the larger background section.

drawing the left gas section

Step 6

Since we want the shape to be transparent and act as a background overlay, we’ll have to bring up the Info panel (Options > Info) and then, using the Edit Points tool, individually select and adjust the Transparency of each of its composing anchor points.

adjusting the transparency of the left gas section

Step 7

Once you’ve finished working on the left gas section, create the right one using the same process.

drawing the right gas section

Step 8

Start working on the little background stars by zooming in on the page using the scroll wheel, and then creating a 6 x 6 px circle with the color set to a light beige (#F8DBBB), which we will position on the left side of the larger background section.

adding the first background star

Step 9

Add the remaining stars using some copies, which we will make by selecting the circle that we’ve just created and then using the Duplicate function found within the top toolbar. Move around the page by holding down the Space Bar, and then gradually create and reposition the copies until you've populated the background, making sure to leave the center section empty. Once you’re done, make sure to select and group all of the stars together using the Group function.

adding the remaining stars to the background

Step 10

Start working on the right comet by drawing its main body (#FFFFFF) using the Straight line tool. Simply click on the page to create the start and end points, and then end the line using the End Line function.

drawing the right comet

Step 11

Adjust the line segment that we’ve just created by setting its width to 2 px from within the Info panel (Options > Info > width), setting the color of its left anchor point to white (#FFFFFF) and its right one to yellow (#FCD85C).

coloring the right comet

Step 12

Select the comet’s right anchor point using the Edit Points tool, and then lower its transparency all the way down to 100% to give it the illusion of movement.

adjusting the transparency of the right comet

Step 13

Create the left comet using a copy (Select > Duplicate) of the one that we’ve just finished adjusting, which we will vertically reflect by selecting the center-right square of its bounding box and dragging it all the way to the left side until the anchor points swap places. 

Then repeat the same process, only this time reflect it horizontally, adjusting its length and then positioning the resulting shape on the opposite side of the background.

adding the left comet

Step 14

Since we’re pretty much done working on the background, we can select all its shapes (Control-A) and group them together (Select > Group), before moving on to the next section of our illustration.

grouping the shapes of the background

5. How to Create the Main Planet

Once we’ve finished working on the background, we can move on to the center section of the illustration, where we will gradually create the larger yellow planet.

Step 1

Start by creating the larger outer glow section using a 240 x 240 px yellow circle (#FCD85C), which we will horizontally center align to the underlying page. To do this, we're going to do some simple math and remove the width of the planet from that of the document, and then divide the resulting number by 2 in order to find the X coordinate. 

So (800 px – 240 px)/2=280 px, which is the value that the X coordinate needs to show in order for the shape to be perfectly horizontally centered. When it comes to the vertical alignment, I’ve done the same math (600 px – 240 px)/2=180 px, but I’ve ended up pushing the shape to the bottom by an additional 20 px in order for it to fit inside the background.

creating the larger outer glow

Step 2

Adjust the transparency of the shape that we’ve just created, by setting its left and top anchor points to 70% and its bottom and right ones to 0%.

adjusting the transparency of the larger outer glow

Step 3

Create the smaller outer glow using a copy of the resulting shape (Select > Duplicate), which we will resize by selecting the top-right square of its bounding box and dragging it to the opposite corner, until you have a 220 x 220 px circle. Then, center align it to the larger one using the X and Y coordinates.

  • x: (800 px – 220 px)/2=290 px
  • y: (600 px – 220 px)/2=190 px (from which we will remove the additional 20 px)
adding the smaller outer glow

Step 4

Add the main shape for the actual planet using a 200 x 200 px yellow circle (#FCD85C), which we will position using the following coordinates:

  • x: (800 px – 200 px)/2=300 px
  • y: (600 px – 200 px)/2=200 px (from which we will remove the additional 20 px)
creating the main shape for the yellow planet

Step 5

Give the planet a smooth gradient by selecting its bottom and right anchor points using the Edit Points tool while holding down the Shift button to do a multiple selection, and then setting their color to a darker yellow (#F5A941).

adding the gradient to the yellow planet

Step 6

Start adding details to the planet by creating the larger crater using a 60 x 40 px ellipse made with the Oval tool, which we will color using a darker yellow (#F5A941) and then position on its lower-right side.

creating the main shape for the larger crater

Step 7

Give the crater some depth by selecting its bottom and right anchor points using the Edit Points tool, and then setting their color to a lighter yellow using the Eye Dropper tool (simply make a quick selection from the left side of the planet’s larger body).

adding a gradient to the larger crater

Step 8

Create the smaller crater using a duplicate (Select > Duplicate) of the one that we’ve just finished working on, which we will resize by dragging its bounding box until we have a 30 x 20 px oval. Once you’re done, position the shape on the lower-left side of the planet, selecting and grouping all its shapes together using the Group function (Select > Group).

adding the smaller crater

6. How to Create the Background Planet

Next on our interstellar list is the smaller background planet, which will give some balance to our composition.

Step 1

Start by creating the belt using a 94 x 40 px Oval with a 2 px line width, which we will color using a light blue (#2DA3AF) and then position on the right side of the larger planet.

creating the belt for the background planet

Step 2

Apply a gradient to the belt by selecting each of its anchor points using the Edit Points tool, and then adding darker color values as you go round its back section. Since we want the ellipse to fade towards the rear, we’ll have to add a darker anchor point and lower the Transparency of its back anchors to 50% and 34%.

adding a gradient to the belt

Step 3

Create the planet’s main body using a 48 x 48 px circle, which we will color using a light blue (#31ABB8) and then position over the belt. As long as you have the grid up and running, you should be able to do it by simply dragging the shape around.

creating the main shape for the background planet

Step 4

Finish off the planet by creating a nice smooth gradient, making the right side darker in order to give it some depth. Take your time, and once you’re done, select and group the two shapes together (Select > Group) before moving on to the next section of the illustration.

adding the gradient to the background planet

7. How to Create the Satellite

We are now down to the last section of our illustration, so without wasting more time, let’s get ready to wrap things up.

Step 1

Create the satellite’s main body using an 8 x 16 px rectangle, which we will color using a light grey (#DEF0F6) and then position on the left side of the larger crater.

creating the main body for the satellite

Step 2

Create the top and bottom sections using two 4 x 4 px squares (#62808A), which we will position as seen in the reference image.

adding the top and bottom sections to the satellite

Step 3

Add the two rectangular details to the larger body using a 4 x 8 px rectangle (#62808A) followed by a smaller 4 x 2 px one (#62808A), which we will space 2 px vertically from one another, positioning them in the center afterwards. Once you’re done, select and group all five shapes together (Select > Group), before moving on to the next section.

adding details to the body of the satellite

Step 4

Start working on the antenna assembly by creating the neck section using a 2 x 4 px rectangle (#DEF0F6), which we will position on top of the satellite’s upper section.

adding the neck section for the antenna assembly

Step 5

Add the antenna assembly using a 10 x 10 px circle (#62808A), on top of which we will add a smaller 6 x 6 px one (#DEF0F6), followed by a 2 x 2 px one (#62808A). As we did with the previous section, make sure to select and group all four shapes together using the Select > Group function.

adding the antenna to the satellite

Step 6

Start working on the left solar wing by creating the two arms using a 4 x 2 px rectangle (#62808A1 px above a thinner 4 x 1 px one (#62808A), which we will position as seen in the reference image.

adding the arms for the left solar wing

Step 7

Create the main shape for the wing using a 15 x 12 px rectangle, which we will color using a light grey (#DEF0F6) and then position on the left side of the extending arms.

adding the main shape for the left solar wing

Step 8

Add the solar cells using four 2 x 8 px rectangles, horizontally spaced 1 px from one another (#62808A), which we will position in the center of the wing. Once you’re done, select and group all of the current section’s shapes (Select > Group) before moving on to the next step.

adding the solar cells to the wing

Step 9

Finish off the satellite by adding the right wing using a copy (Select > Duplicate) of the one that we’ve just finished working on, which we will vertically reflect and then position on the opposite side of the larger body. Once you’re done, select and group all of the satellite’s shapes (Select > Group) before moving on to the last step.

adding the right solar wing

Step 10

Finish off the illustration by adding the subtle shadow cast by the satellite onto the planet, using a copy of it (Select > Duplicate), which we will color using a dark yellow (#EEA822). Adjust the transparency of the shadow’s shapes by entering their respective group using the Enter Group option, and then selecting and lowering some of their anchor points’ (Select > Edit Points).

Then, move the duplicate a few pixels towards the bottom-right corner, making sure to position it underneath the satellite using the Backward One function (Select > Backward One). Once you’re done, select and group the satellite and its shadow together (Select > Group), doing the same for the entire illustration before hitting that save button.

finishing off the illustration

It’s a Wrap!

Using some clicks here and there and a few shapes, we've managed to create a pretty detailed and vivid space illustration that you can use in any personal project. 

As always, I really hope you've managed to follow each and every step and, most importantly, learned something new and useful along the way.

finished project preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.