Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design
Design

Comment Créer un Garçon de Café Minimaliste de Style Cartoon dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Vincent Quirin (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Vous aimez manger au restaurant ? Eh bien, lorsque vous allez dans un restaurant, votre humeur dépend souvent du professionalisme et de la personnalité du serveur ou de la serveuse. Aujourd'hui, nous allons créer un amusant garçon de café de style cartoon. D'ailleurs, il vous attend déjà avec un plateau repas.

Il est très facile de suivre les instructions et de concevoir le personnage. A la fin du tutoriel, vous obtiendrez un garçon de café amusant et élégant, qui bien entendu pourra être utilisé dans vos futurs projets sous la forme d'un policier, docteur, pompier, ... Vous aurez juste besoin de modifier ses vêtements. Mais pour le moment, allons au restaurant !

1. Dessiner la Tête

Étape 1

Comme d'habitude, nous allons commencer par la tête. Tout d'abord, définissez la couleur de remplissage à R=236 V=193 B=156, puis prenez l'outil Polygone et effectuez un simple clic sur votre plan de travail. A l'aide de la fenêtre de dialogue qui s'ouvre, créez un polygone à 3 Côtés avec n'importe quelle valeur de Rayon. Tout en gardant le triangle sélectionné, allez dans le menu Effet > Déformation > Renflement. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez les options que vous voyez dans l'image ci-dessous :

creating the head

Étape 2

Tout en gardant la même couleur de remplissage, dessinez une petite ellipse à l'aide de l'outil Ellipse (L). Faites la tourner un peu vers la gauche et placez-la sur le côté gauche de la tête. Cette ellipse représente l'oreille gauche. Pour créer l'oreille droite, effectuez simplement un miroir de l'oreille gauche à l'aide de l'outil Miroir (O). Après avoir sélectionné l'outil Miroir (O) et appuyé sur la touche Entrée de votre clavier, dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, paramétrez Vertical ou Angle de 90 degrés et appuyez sur Copier. Déplacez l'oreille droite vers la droite de la tête.

creating the ears

Étape 3

Nous allons maintenant créer des cheveux pour le garçon. Créez une ellipse avec l'outil Ellipse (L) et définissez la couleur de remplissage à R=86 V=58 B=43. Tout en gardant l'ellipse sélectionnée, prenez l'outil Conversion de point d'ancrage (Maj+C) et cliquez sur le point d'ancrage de droite pour le rendre pointu. Sélectionnez ensuite l'outil de Sélection directe (A), puis faites glisser les points d'ancrage haut et bas vers la gauche.

creating the side hair

Étape 4

Placez la forme que vous avez créée à l'étape précédente, comme ci-dessous. Gardez cette forme sélectionnée, sélectionnez l'outil Miroir (O) et appuyez sur la touche Entrée de votre clavier. Dans la fenêtre de dialogue qui s'ouvre, cochez Vertical et cliquez sur Copier. Déplacez cette nouvelle forme vers la droite. Ensuite il suffit d'ajouter une ellipse sur le dessus de la tête et la coupe de cheveux est terminée !

Pour tout aligner le long d'un axe vertical, procédez comme suit : groupez les deux oreilles (clic droit > Associer) et les deux parties latérales des cheveux (clic droit > Associer). Sélectionnez ensuite tous les éléments de la tête, puis dans le panneau Alignement (Fenêtre > Alignement), cliquez sur l'outil Alignement horizontal au centre.

creating the haircut

Étape 5

Pour les yeux, créez deux petites ellipses avec la même couleur de remplissage que les cheveux. Vous pouvez utiliser l'outil Pipette (I) pour prélever la couleur de remplissage des cheveux. Alignez les deux yeux avec le panneau Alignement : sélectionnez-les et cliquez sur Alignement vertical au centre.

creating the eyes

Étape 6

Nous allons maintenant créer les sourcils. Gardez toujours la même couleur de remplissage et dessinez une ellipse longue et étroite. Allez ensuite dans le menu Effet > Déformation > Arc et entrez les options ci-dessous. Décomposez la forme (Objet > Décomposer l'aspect).

creating the eyebrow

Étape 7

Créez le deuxième sourcil à l'aide de l'outil Miroir (O) et mettez-les à leur place. En tournant les sourcils, vous pouvez changer l'expression du garçon.

placing the eyebrows

Étape 8

Passons maintenant au nez. Définissez la couleur de remplissage à R=219 V=167 B=127 et tracez deux ellipses comme le montre l'image ci-dessous. Vous n'avez pas besoin d'appliquer le contour noir — je l'ai fait juste pour une meilleure visibilité.

Gardez les deux formes sélectionnées et dans le panneau Pathfinder (Fenêtre > Pathfinder) choisissez Soustraction. Si vous l'avez fait avec un contour, supprimez maintenant la couleur de contour.

Après cela allez dans le menu Effet > Déformation > Arc et entrez les options suivantes :

creating the nose

Étape 9

Mettez le nez à sa place.

placing the nose

Étape 10

Nous allons maintenant créer la bouche. Comme précédemment, nous avons juste besoin d'une couleur de remplissage blanc sans contour, mais j'ai gardé le contour pour afficher les limites de la bouche. Dessinez deux ellipses comme indiqué ci-dessous et alignez-les : appuyez sur le bouton Alignement horizontal au centre dans le panneau Alignement. Puis cliquez sur Soustraction dans le panneau Pathfinder. La bouche est faite. Supprimer la couleur de contour si vous en avez une.

creating the mouth

Étape 11

Donnez au garçon un large sourire.

placing the mouth

2. Créer le Costume du Garçon

Étape 1

Tous les serveurs élégants (ou quiconque pense qu'ils sont élégants) doivent porter un nœud papillon. Notre serveur est un gentleman très élégant, nous allons donc lui en créer un.

Définissez la couleur de remplissage à R=55 V=61 B=63. À l'aide de l'outil Polygone créez un triangle de la même façon que vous avez créé la tête du garçon, mais sans déformation. Appliquez un miroir vertical à l'aide de l'outil Miroir (O) puis ajoutez simplement une petite ellipse au milieu. Associez les deux triangles, puis sélectionnez le nœud papillon tout entier et appuyez sur Alignement horizontal au centre dans le panneau Alignement.

creating the bowtie

Étape 2

Mettez le noeud papillon à sa place.

placing the bowtie

Étape 3

Créez un triangle blanc sous le noeud papillon. Puis dessinez un petit cercle (couleur de remplissage R=55 V=61 B=63) sous le nœud papillon et sur le triangle blanc. Déplacez ce petit cercle vers le bas puis appuyez simultanément sur les touches Maj et Alt. Après cela, appuyez sur Ctrl-D pour répéter votre dernière action une fois de plus.

creating the top of the white shirt and three buttons

Étape 4

Un rectangle arrondi gris foncé (R=34 V=40 B=43) représentera le torse du garçon. Utilisez l'outil Rectangle arrondi pour le créer. Recouvrez le bas du torse avec un rectangle de n'importe quelle couleur. Sélectionnez les deux formes et cliquez sur Soustraction dans le panneau Pathfinder.

creating the suit

Étape 5

Placez-le sous le triangle blanc, et vous pouvez maintenant supprimer la couleur de contour de ce triangle.

placing the suit

Étape 6

Maintenant nous allons créer le bras. Gardez la couleur de remplissage R=34 V=40 B=43 et dessinez un rectangle. Allez ensuite dans le menu Effet > Déformation > Arc et entrez les informations suivantes :

 creating the left arm

Étape 7

Mettez le bras à sa place et décomposez-le (Objet > Décomposer l'aspect). Faites une copie du bras (copier-coller), faites pivoter cette copie et placez-la sur le côté droit du corps.

placing the arms

Étape 8

Les mains. Tout d'abord, prenez l'outil Pipette (I) et prenez la couleur de remplissage du visage. Maintenant dessinez deux ellipses au bout des manches.

creating the hands

3. Créer le Pantalon et les Chaussures du Garçon

Étape 1

Deux rectangles sous la veste représenteront le pantalon. Définissez la couleur de remplissage à R=20 V=24 B=25.

creating the pants

Étape 2

Les chaussures. Commencez par créer une ellipse et un rectangle (couleur de remplissage R=55 V=61 B=63). Puis appliquez une déformation à l'ellipse.

creating the left shoe

Étape 3

Faites une copie à l'aide de l'outil Miroir (O), mais changez les options de déformation de l'ellipse comme indiqué ci-dessous.

creating the right shoe

Étape 4

Placez les chaussures sous le pantalon du garçon.

placing the shoes

4. Le Plateau Repas

Étape 1

Changez la couleur de remplissage à R=209 V=188 B=195 et dessinez un cercle. Dessinez un rectangle par dessus avec n'importe quelle couleur de remplissage et cliquez sur Soustraction dans le panneau Pathfinder.

creating the lid of the tray

Étape 2

Un petit cercle sur le dessus (R=226 V=212 B=214) et un rectangle étroit en-dessous complèteront le plateau repas.

creating the rest of the tray

Étape 3

Ajoutons un reflet. Faites une copie du couvercle du plateau et changez sa couleur de remplissage à R=219 V=203 B=208. Déplacez cette forme vers la droite puis appuyez simultanément sur les touches Maj et Alt. Vous obtenez une troisième copie du couvercle. Agrandissez un peu la dernière copie et appuyez sur Soustraction du panneau Pathfinder.

creating the highlight of the tray

Étape 4

Mettez la forme précédemment créée à sa place.

placing the highlight on the tray

5. Créer le Torchon

Étape 1

Créez un rectangle avec la couleur de remplissage blanc et n'importe quelle couleur de contour. Tournez-le. Allez dans le menu Effet > Déformation > Drapeau et entrez les informations suivantes :

creating the napkin

Étape 2

Placez le torchon sur le bras du garçon.

placing the napkin

6. Créer le Fond

Étape 1

Dessinez un carré derrière le tout, de 600 px de côté, puis définissez la couleur de remplissage à R=160 V=141 B=141.

creating the background

Étape 2

Créez un triangle (R=140 V=122 B=122) derrière le garçon, mais par-dessus le carré créé précédemment. Faites tourner le triangle comme vous le souhaitez.

creating the background 2

Étape 3

Et la dernière chose. Prenez l'outil Conversion de point d'ancrage (Maj+C) et étirez les poignées des 3 points d'ancrage du triangle pour créer un triangle arrondi. Vous avez terminé !

creating the background 3

Conclusion

Beau travail, tout le monde ! Le garçon de café est terminé. Si vous souhaitez aller plus loin et relever le défi, ajoutez de la nourriture ou un verre de vin sur un plateau repas ouvert. Ou essayez, pourquoi pas, d'ajouter une pancarte avec le nom du restaurant. Soyez toujours créatifs !

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Character Design
Design

How to Create a Simple Cartoon Waiter in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Do you like to eat out in restaurants? Well, when you go to a restaurant, often your mood depends on the professionalism and personality of your waiter or waitress. Today, we will create a funny cartoon waiter, who is already waiting for you with a food tray. 

It's easy to follow the instructions and design the character. At the end of the process, you will have a funny, elegant waiter, which of course, can be used in your future projects as a policeman, doctor, fireman, etc. You just need to change his outfit. But in the meantime, let’s head over to the restaurant!

1. Drawing the Head

Step 1

As usual, we will begin with the head. First, set the fill color to R=236 G=193 B=156, and then take the Polygon Tool and click on your art board. In the new dialogue window, make 3 Sides with any Radius. Now, go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new dialogue window, enter the options you see in the image below:

creating the head

Step 2

Keep the same fill color and draw a tiny ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L). Rotate it a little to the left and place it on the left side of the head. This is the left ear. To create the right ear, just reflect the left ear using the Reflect Tool (O). After you've clicked on the Reflect Tool (O) and pressed Enter on your keyboard, in the new dialogue window, enter Vertical, Angle 90 degrees and press Copy. Move the right ear to the right.

creating the ears

Step 3

Let's create hair for the waiter. Start with the Ellipse Tool (L) and set the fill color to R=86 G=58 B=43. Keeping the ellipse selected, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and click on the right anchor point to make it sharp. Then select the Direct Selection Tool (A) and slide the top and bottom anchor points to the left.

creating the side hair

Step 4

Place the shape you created in the previous step as shown. Keep it selected, hit the Reflect Tool (O) and press Enter on your keyboard. Check Vertical in the new dialogue window and click Copy. Move the new shape to the right. Then just add an ellipse on the top of the head and his haircut is done!

To align everything, do the following: group the two ears (right-click > Group) and two side hair parts (right-click > Group). Then select the whole head, and in the Align panel (Window > Align) press Horizontal Align Center.

creating the haircut

Step 5

For the eyes, create two small ellipses with the same fill color as the hair. You can use the Eyedropper Tool (I) to take the same fill color from the hair. Align the two eyes in the Align panel; select them and press Vertical Align Center.

creating the eyes

Step 6

Now let's create the eyebrow. Still keep the same fill color and draw a long, narrow ellipse. Then go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the options shown below. Expand the shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

creating the eyebrow

Step 7

Create two eyebrows using the Reflect Tool (O) and place them where they should be. By rotating the eyebrows you can change the emotion of the waiter.

placing the eyebrows

Step 8

Now on to the nose. Set the fill color to R=219 G=167 B=127 and draw two ellipses as shown in the image below. You don't need to make the black stroke color—I just made it for better visibility. 

Keep the two shapes selected together and in the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder) choose Minus Front. If you made it with a stroke, then delete the stroke color.

After that go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following options:

creating the nose

Step 9

Place the nose in its place.

placing the nose

Step 10

Let’s now create the mouth. Again, we just need a white fill color without a stroke, but I marked it to show the boundaries of the mouth. Draw two ellipses as shown below and align them: press the Horizontal Align Center button in Align. Then press Minus Front in Pathfinder. That's the mouth. Delete the stroke color if you have one.

creating the mouth

Step 11

Give the waiter a wide smile.

placing the mouth

2. Creating the Waiter’s Uniform

Step 1

All elegant waiters (or whoever thinks that they are elegant) must wear a bowtie. Our waiter is a very elegant gentleman, so let's create one for him. 

Make the fill color R=55 G=61 B=63. Using the Polygon Tool create a triangle in the same way as you created the waiter's head, but without warping. Make a vertical reflection of this using the Reflect Tool (O), and then just add a small ellipse in the middle. Group the two triangles, and then select the whole bowtie and press Horizontal Align Center in Align.

creating the bowtie

Step 2

Place it where it should be.

placing the bowtie

Step 3

Create a white triangle under the bowtie. Then draw a tiny circle (fill color R=55 G=61 B=63) again under the bowtie and on the white triangle. Start to move this tiny circle down and then press the Shift and Alt buttons at the same time. After that press Control-D to repeat your last movement one more time.

creating the top of the white shirt and three buttons

Step 4

A dark gray (R=34 G=40 B=43) rounded rectangle will make the torso of the waiter. Use the Rounded Rectangle Tool to create it. Cover the bottom of it with a rectangle of any color. Select the two shapes and press Minus Front in Pathfinder.

creating the suit

Step 5

Place it under the white triangle, and now you can delete the stroke color from this triangle.

placing the suit

Step 6

Now we will create the arm. Keep the fill color R=34 G=40 B=43 and draw a rectangle. Then go to Effect > Warp > Arc and enter the following:

 creating the left arm

Step 7

Place the arm in its place and expand it (Object > Expand Appearance). Make another copy of the arm (copy-paste), rotate, and put it on the right side of the body.

placing the arms

Step 8

The hands. First, take the Eye Dropper Tool (I) and take the fill color from the face. Now let's draw two ellipses under the sleeves.

creating the hands

3. Creating the Pants and Shoes of the Waiter

Step 1

Two rectangles under the suit will be the pants. Set the fill color to R=20 G=24 B=25.

creating the pants

Step 2

The shoes. First, create an ellipse and rectangle (fill color R=55 G=61 B=63). Then warp it.

creating the left shoe

Step 3

Make a vertical reflection of it using the Reflect Tool (O), but change the warp options in the ellipse.

creating the right shoe

Step 4

Let’s place the shoes on the waiter.

placing the shoes

4. The Food Tray

Step 1

Change the fill color to R=209 G=188 B=195 and draw a circle. Draw an overlapping rectangle with any color and then press Minus Front in Pathfinder.

creating the lid of the tray

Step 2

A small circle on the top (R=226 G=212 B=214) and a narrow rectangle on the bottom will finish the food tray.

creating the rest of the tray

Step 3

Just add a highlight. Make a copy of the tray lid and change the color to R=219 G=203 B=208. Start to move this shape to the right, and press the Shift and Alt keys as you are moving. You will get a third copy of the lid. Make the third copy a little bigger and press Minus Front in Pathfinder.

creating the highlight of the tray

Step 4

Put the previously created shape in its place.

placing the highlight on the tray

5. Creating the Napkin

Step 1

Create a rectangle with white fill color and any stroke color. Rotate it. Go to Effect > Warp > Flag and enter the following:

creating the napkin

Step 2

Give the napkin to the waiter.

placing the napkin

6. Creating the Background

Step 1

Draw a square behind everything, 600 px width and height, and set the fill color to R=160 G=141 B=141.

creating the background

Step 2

Create a triangle (R=140 G=122 B=122) behind the waiter but before the background. Rotate the triangle as you want.

creating the background 2

Step 3

And the last thing. Take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and stretch the handles of the sharp anchor points of the triangle to create a smooth cornered triangle. You're done!

creating the background 3

Conclusion

Great job, everyone! The waiter is done. If you want to go further and challenge yourself, add some food or a glass of wine on the open food tray. Or even try a signboard with the name of the restaurant. Always be creative!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.