Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer

Как создать набор плоских иконок в походной тематике в Affinity Designer

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Лето – прекрасная пора, чтобы ходить в походы и быть ближе к дикой природе.  Вы готовы к этому?  В этом руководстве мы будем создавать набор модных плоских иконок в походной тематике в Affinity Designer.  Мы применим различные техники для создания теней и будем переключаться между режимами («персонами»), применяя гранджевую текстуру к нашим иконкам.  Начнём! 

1. Создаём иконку с палаткой 

Шаг 1

Давайте создадим Новый документ 600 х 600 пикселей и начнём формировать нашу первую иконку.  Возьмите Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М) и создайте узкий прямоугольник, расположив его горизонтально.  (Его размер около 90.5 х 7.6 пикселей, но вы можете сделать его больше или меньше в зависимости от размера вашего документа. В этом руководстве я буду обозначать размеры, чтобы показать приблизительные пропорции объектов, которые мы будем создавать.)

Инструментом «Треугольник» создайте фигуру треугольника и поместите его на верх прямоугольника.  Выделите обе фигуры и Выровняйте их Горизонтально по Центру от верхней контекстной панели инструментов (область под переключателями «персон»). 

create the base of the tent from rectangle and triangle

Шаг 2

Создайте треугольник поменьше (около 31.8 х 34.1 пикселей) внутри первого, сформировав вход палатки.  Добавьте два маленьких колышка по обеим сторонам палатки и Выровняйте колышки и нижнюю часть палатки Вертикально к Нижней части. 

add the entrance of the tent

Шаг 3

Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и нарисуйте несколько прямых линий-верёвок, идущих от тента к обоим колышкам.

add the rope with the pen tool

Шаг 4

Давайте сделаем стороны нашей палатки слегка выгнутыми, добавив немного реализма нашей плоской картинке.  Выделите большой прямоугольник и Преобразуйте его в Кривые на верхней контекстной панели инструментов.  Теперь можем изменить фигуру.  Возьмите Инструмент «Узел» (А), захватите боковой треугольник и слегка сместите его вниз, согнув фигуру.  

bend the sides of the tent with the node tool

Шаг 5

Теперь, когда основа нашего тента готова, давайте его раскрасим!  Но сначала нам нужно сформировать цветовую палитру нашего документа.  Вы можете найти палитру, которую мы будем использовать, в материалах к этому руководству, но если хотите использовать свои цвета, вот краткая инструкция о том, как сделать свою палитру в несколько щелчков. 

Для начала создайте Новый пустой Документ и несколько фигур желаемых цветов (посмотрите на набор прямоугольников ниже).  Перейдите на панель Образцов, найдите иконку меню в верхнем правом углу панели и выберите Создать палитру из документа > Как палитру документа.

Теперь, когда у нас есть свои цвета в Образцах, давайте сохраним нашу палитру, чтобы её можно было использовать в любом документе.  Выберите «Экспортировать палитру» в выпадающем меню на панели Образцов и сохраните её где-нибудь на своём компьютере. 

Вернитесь к своему документу с походными иконками и перейдите в меню Образцов для перехода в Импортировать палитру > Как палитру документа.  Отлично!  Теперь мы можем выбирать созданные цвета прямо на панели Образцов

make document color palette in swatches

Шаг 6

Выделите основу палатки и заполните её светло-бежевым цветом, выбрав его на панели Образцов.  Раскрасьте другие части палатки в соответствующие цвета.  Примените тёмно-бежевый цвет к верёвке, применив его к Обводке.

start coloring the tent

Шаг 7

Выделите все элементы палатки (кроме верёвки) и удалите цвет Обводки, чтобы не было чёрных контуров. 

delete the outlines

Шаг 8

Давайте сформируем основу нашей иконки, создав круг 150 х 150 пикселей Инструментом «Эллипс» (М) (удерживайте клавишу Shift, чтобы фигура получилась ровной).  Заполните её зелёным цветом из нашей палитры. 

form the circle base of the icon

Шаг 9

Чтобы сделать иконку более затейливой, давайте добавим палатке эффект полупрозрачной тени.  Для начала Сгруппируйте (Command-G) все части палатки и затем скопируйте группу (Command-C > Command-V).  Выделите копию палатки, щёлкните правой кнопкой мыши и Разгруппируйте всё.

add shadow to the tent 1

Шаг 10

Выделив скопированные объекты, Преобразуйте их в Кривые и примените функцию «Добавить операцию» на верхней Панели инструментов для объединения всех частей в единую фигуру, сформировав силуэт нашей палатки. 

Примените к фигуре 50% Непрозрачности, Режим наложения «Умножение» в настройках панели Слоя, чтобы сделать её тёмной и полупрозрачной.  Затем добавьте треугольник, покрывающий правую часть палатки (цвет и непрозрачность прямоугольника не имеет значения, т.к. нам всего лишь нужно покрыть часть палатки). 

add shadow to the tent 2

Шаг 11

Теперь давайте применим Маскирующий слой для формирования тени.  Перейдите на панель Слоёв, выделите прямоугольник, который мы поместили поверх палатки, и перетащите его в область над просмотром эскизов силуэта палатки.  Вы увидите, что появился маленький синий квадрат рядом с эскизом. Отпустите кнопку мыши, объединив две фигуры и создав затемнённую часть палатки. 

add shadow to the tent 3

Шаг 12

Теперь добавим модный эффект длинной тени для основы иконки.  Создайте прямоугольник Инструментом «Прямоугольник» (М) и поверните его на 45 градусов. Преобразуйте фигуру в Кривые и при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А) настройте прямоугольник, спрятав его левую часть за палаткой, как показано на картинке ниже.  Можете добавить больше узлов, дважды кликнув на стороне фигуры Инструментом «Узел» (А), и удалить ненужные узлы, выделив их и нажав клавишу Backspace

create a long shadow 1

Шаг 13

Измените цвет тени на зелёный установите Непрозрачность на 50%, Режим наложения «Умножение».  Спрячьте ненужную часть тени внутри базы иконки при помощи Маскирующего слоя, как мы делали это ранее. 

Давайте добавим ещё одну деталь нашей палатке, чтобы она стала интереснее.  Дважды скопируйте основу палатки.  Выделите верхнюю копию и перетащите вверх её нижнюю часть, сжав фигуру.  Заполните фигуру снизу оранжевым цветом, сделав её похожей на яркую полоску.  Выделите две копии и используйте функцию «Операция вычитания» для отсечения ненужных частей. 

create a long shadow and add details to the tent

Давайте посмотрим на нашу завершённую иконку и перейдём к следующей. 

finished tent icon

2. Создаём иконку с рюкзаком 

Шаг 1

Начните формировать основу рюкзака, создав высокий прямоугольник (около 52.4 х 87 пикселей).  Добавьте больше прямоугольников размером поменьше в верхней и нижней частях основы и Выровняйте фигуры по Центру

make the backpack icon base

Шаг 2

Выделите верхний прямоугольник и сделайте его Углы скруглёнными на 23% на верхней контекстной панели инструментов.  Слегка вытесните фигуру вверх, двигая её верхнюю часть за пределы базового прямоугольника. 

make the backpack icon base 2

Шаг 3

Дважды скопируйте базовый прямоугольник и используйте "Операцию усечения" для отсечения ненужных частей. Добавьте больше элементов (крепёжные детали и карманы), сделав фигуру более похожей на туристический рюкзак.  Давайте также сделаем углы базовой фигуры скруглёнными, чтобы сделать фигуру более гладкой. 

add details to the backpack base

Шаг 4

Добавьте больше карманов по обеим сторонам рюкзака и примените яркие цвета с панели Образцов для оживления объекта. 

apply the colors to the backpack icon

Шаг 5

Давайте добавим тень, применив в этот раз другую технику.  Скопируйте группу элементов рюкзака, разгруппируйте все её части и Преобразуйте их в Кривые.  Используйте функцию «Добавить операцию» для создания силуэта рюкзака. 

Как и прежде, настройте силуэт на 50% Непрозрачности, Режим наложения «Умножение».  Наконец, выделив силуэт, возьмите Инструмент «Векторная обрезка» и отсеките левую часть фигуры.  Вы не разрушите эту фигуру и всегда можете её отредактировать Инструментом «Векторная обрезка», т.к. он работает по такому же принципу, как Маскировочный слой, делая часть фигуры невидимой.  

create a shadow with the vector crop tool

Шаг 6

Скопируйте нашу предыдущую основу иконки и подстройте рюкзак под неё.  Наконец, добавьте длинную тень и примените синий цвет к основе иконки.

make the icon base

3. Изображаем иконку с компасом

Шаг 1

Начните с создания основы компаса – ровного круга.  Добавьте маленький прямоугольник в верхнюю центральную часть круга, сформировав отметку шкалы.  Выделите созданный элемент, удерживайте клавиши Option (Alt) и Shift и перетащите фигуру вниз, создав копию.  

make the compass base

Шаг 2

Создайте копию прямоугольников и вращайте их на 90 градусов, сформировав больше отметок шкалы.  Создайте маленький треугольник и поместите его внутри основы компаса, чтобы он указывал на верх.  Скопируйте треугольник и Отразите копию по Вертикали в меню Трансформирование на верхней Панели инструментов. Теперь у нас есть магнитная стрелка компаса! 

add magnetic compass needle with triangles

Шаг 3

Слегка повернём стрелку в сторону. 

rotate the compass needle

Можем начать раскрашивать наш компас!  Выделите базовую фигуру круга, скопируйте её и заполните Обводку тёмно-коричневым цветом, установив Толщину обводки на 5, сделав Конец и Стык закруглёнными и Выровняв Обводку по Внутренней стороне.  Установите цвет Заливки копии основы компаса на светло-бежевый и окрасьте все остальные элементы.

start coloring the compass

Шаг 4

Создайте полупрозрачный затемнённый силуэт нашего компаса и при помощи Инструмента «Векторная обрезка» сформируйте тень на правой стороне объекта. 

create a shadow on the compass

Шаг 5

Наконец, разместите наш компас на оранжевой основе иконки и добавьте длинную тень.  Вы можете сделать компас более объёмным, создав мягкую тень между коричневым контуром компаса и его бежевой базовой фигурой, создав маленький круг с тёмно-бежевой Обводкой

add the long shadow and the icon base

4. Создаём иконку с горами 

Шаг 1

Для начала давайте сформируем основу наших гор.  Создайте треугольник 93 х 73.2 пикселей и затем создайте треугольник поменьше, поместив его справа и сделав фигуры пересекающимися, также Выровняв их по нижнему краю. 

Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и сформируйте снежные шапки гор. Мы обрежем ненужные части, поэтому не обязательно быть точными.  Скопируйте треугольную часть гор, затем выделите копию и снежную шапку и используйте Операцию усечения, чтобы шапка подошла вершине. 

form the mountains base

Шаг 2

Теперь давайте раскрасим горы и сформируем простое плоское облако.  Создайте ровный круг и добавьте ещё два круга, варьируя их размер.

color the mountains and start forming a cloud

Шаг 3

Поместите узкий прямоугольник в нижней части облака и сделайте его Углы 100% Скруглёнными.  Объедините фигуры, чтобы они подходили друг другу и примените функцию «Добавить операцию» для объединения фигур.  Вы можете выделить ненужные узлы на контуре нашей новой фигуры Инструментом «Узел» (А) и удалить их, нажав клавишу Backspace, чтобы сделать облако более плавным и округлым.  Заполните облако голубым цветом из нашей палитры. 

Шаг 4

Добавьте больше облаков, создав копии и отразив их по горизонтали.  Сформируйте мягкую тень от каждой горы. Затем поместите созданную композицию на круглую базу иконки с длинной тенью. 

add shadows and create the icon base

5. Формируем иконку с машиной 

Шаг 1

Давайте сделаем раму машины, создав два прямоугольника – узкий (для бампера) и большой, а затем поместив их один поверх другого. Добавьте два маленьких прямоугольника со скруглёнными углами для колёс.  Мы формируем передний вид машины. 

make the base of the car bottom

Шаг 2

Добавьте два ровных круга для фар.  Скопируйте большой прямоугольник и поместите копию поверх оригинальной фигуры для формирования кабины.  Выделите верхний левый узел Инструментом «Узел» (А) и сдвиньте его вправо, несколько раз нажав клавишу «стрелка вправо», чтобы фигура стала наклонённой.  Повторите то же самое с верхним правым узлом и добавьте внутреннюю часть кабины, скопировав фигуру и немного её уменьшив.

create the drivers cabin

Шаг 3

Давайте добавим отражения на переднее стекло кабины.  Создайте два узких прямоугольника и изогните их, сдвинув все верхние узлы вправо.  Сделайте машину более детальной, добавив два прямоугольника со скруглёнными углами на крыше кабины, сформировав стилизованный багаж. 

add the reflections and the luggage on the top of the car

Шаг 4

Примените цвета к нашей кабине и добавьте ещё несколько деталей – ремень поперёк багажа и маленький прямоугольник между фарами для радиаторной решётки, сделав машину более реалистичной. 

color the car and add a minor detail

Шаг 5

Сформируйте затенённый силуэт нашей машины и при помощи Инструмента «Векторная обрезка» создайте мягкую тень. 

add shadow to the car

Шаг 6

Завершите создание иконки, поместив машину на зелёную основу и сформировав длинную тень. 

add the icon base with long shadow

6. Создаём иконку с костром 

Шаг 1

Начните формировать фигуру огня из круга.  При помощи Инструмента «Эллипс» (М) создайте ровную фигуру, Преобразуйте её в Кривые и перетащите её верхний узел вверх при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А), чтобы фигура напоминала яйцо.  Преобразуйте верхний узел в Острый угол, применив функцию на верхней контекстной панели инструментов. 

form the fire basic shape from ellipse

Шаг 2

Скопируйте фигуру огня и уменьшите её, сформировав внутреннюю часть.  Начните создавать деревянные поленья.  Создайте два маленьких ровных круга для передней части поленьев.  Далее нарисуйте вытянутую часть полена Инструментом «Перо» (Р). 

add wood logs to the campfire

Шаг 3

Сформируйте ещё два полена по обеим сторонам костра и сделайте их концы закруглёнными, согнув кривые Инструментом «Узел» (А).  Примените цвета к созданным контурам, создав яркий символ костра. 

apply the colors to the campfire symbol

Шаг 4

Возьмите Инструмент «Карандаш» (N) и нарисуйте спиральную линию на передних частях обоих поленьев, сделав поверхность более реалистичной.  Сформируйте мягкую тень на правой стороне костра, использовав Маскировочный слой или Инструмент «Векторная обрезка», как мы делали это ранее. 3. Как нарисовать цветочные элементы и травы 

add details and shadow to the fire and form the icon base

7. Используем Пиксельный режим для добавления гранджевой текстуры 

С начала этого руководства мы работали в Режиме рисования, что отлично подходит для векторной графики.  Однако, Affinity Designer позволяет нам объединять векторную и растровую графику, создавая необычный микс стилей. Давайте посмотрим, как это работает! 

Шаг 1

Найдите Переключатель режимов на верхней Панели инструментов и выберите Пиксельный режим (центральный).  Перейдите к нашей первой иконке – палатке – и выделите оранжевую полоску.  Найдите функцию «Вставить цель» на верхней Панели инструментов и выберите режим “Вставить внутри выделения». Теперь всё, что вы нарисуете, будет показано только внутри границ выбранной фигуры, как если бы вы применили Маскировочный слой. 

switch to Pixel persona

Шаг 2

Возьмите Кисть на панели Инструментов и перейдите на панель Кистей для выбора нужной кисти.  Используйте кисти «Текстура» или «Спрей» для создания гранджевого, «грязного» эффекта.  Нажмите на иконку «Добавить пиксельный слой» в нижней части панели Слоёв (иначе пиксельный слой будет создан автоматически), выберите тёмно-оранжевый цвет и создайте несколько штрихов, добавив пятна и сделав палатку более текстурной. 

Примените тот же метод для рисования поверх основы палатки, также создав «грязный» эффект. 

start drawing with grungy Paint Brush

Шаг 3

Примените гранджевую пиксельную текстуру ко всем иконкам. 

Add the grungy pixel texture to the other icons

Отличная работа, ребята! Мы готовы к походу! 

Поздравляю!  Мы закончили наш набор плоских иконок в походной тематике с гранджевой текстурой в Affinity Designer!  Надеюсь, вам понравилась эта программа так же, как и мне, и вы нашли полезные приёмы и советы для своих будущих работ. Удачи! 

finished flat hiking icons
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer
Design

How to Create a Set of Flat Hiking Icons in Affinity Designer

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Summer is a great season to go hiking and get closer to wild nature. Are you ready for it? In this tutorial we’ll be creating a set of trendy flat icons with hiking items in Affinity Designer. We’ll be using various techniques to create shadows and switching between the Personas, applying grungy texture to our icons. Let’s get started!

1. Create a Tent Icon

Step 1

Let’s create a 600 x 600 px New Document and start forming our first icon. Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a narrow rectangle, placing it horizontally. (Its size is about 90.5 x 7.6 px, but you can make it larger or smaller, depending on the size of your document. Throughout this tutorial I'll be mentioning sizes just to show the approximate proportions of the objects that we'll be creating.)

Use the Triangle tool to make a triangle shape and place it on top of the rectangle. Select both shapes and Align them Horizontal to the Centre from the upper context toolbar (the area below the Persona selectors).

create the base of the tent from rectangle and triangle

Step 2

Create a smaller triangle (about 31.8 x 34.1 px size) inside the first one, forming the entrance of our tent. Add two tiny pegs on both sides of the tent and Align the pegs and the lower tent side Vertical to the Bottom.

add the entrance of the tent

Step 3

Take the Pen Tool (P) and draw several straight lines from the tent to both pegs, depicting a rope.

add the rope with the pen tool

Step 4

Let’s make the sides of our tent slightly arched, adding a touch of realism to our flat image. Select the big rectangle and Convert it to Curves in the upper context toolbar. Now we can modify the shape. Take the Node Tool (A), grab the side of the triangle and pull it down a bit, bending the shape.

bend the sides of the tent with the node tool

Step 5

Now that the base of our tent is ready, let’s color it! But first we need to form the color palette of our document. You can find the palette that we’ll be using in the materials to this tutorial, but if you want to use your own colors, here are some brief instructions on how you can make up your palette in a few clicks.

First of all, make a New blank Document and form several shapes with the desired colors (see the set of rectangles below). Move to the Swatches panel, find the menu icon in the top right corner of the panel and select Create Palette From Document > As Document Palette. 

Now that we have our colors in the Swatches, let’s save our palette so that we can use it in any document. Select Export Palette from the drop-down menu in the Swatches panel, and save it anywhere on your PC.

Return to your hiking icons document and move to the Swatches menu to Import Palette > As Document Palette. Great! Now we can apply the created colors directly from the Swatches panel.

make document color palette in swatches

Step 6

Select the tent base and fill it with the light-beige color by selecting it in the Swatches. Color other parts of our tent accordingly. Apply the darker beige color to the rope by applying it to the Stroke.

start coloring the tent

Step 7

Select all the elements of our tent (except the rope) and switch the Stroke color to none, so that we have no black outlines.

delete the outlines

Step 8

Let’s form the base of our icon by making a circle of 150 x 150 px size with the Ellipse Tool (M) (hold down the Shift key to make the shape even). Fill it with the green color from our palette.

form the circle base of the icon

Step 9

To make the icon more intricate, let’s add a semi-transparent shadow effect to the tent. First of all, Group (Command-G) all parts of the tent and then duplicate the group (Command-C > Command-V). Select the tent copy, right click and Ungroup All.

add shadow to the tent 1

Step 10

Keeping the duplicated objects selected, Convert them to Curves and use the Add Operation in your upper Toolbar to merge all the parts into a single shape, thus forming a silhouette of our tent. 

Switch the shape to 50% Opacity, Multiply Blend Mode in the settings of the Layer panel, to make it dark and semi-transparent. Then add a rectangle, covering the right half of the tent (the color and the opacity of the rectangle doesn’t matter, because we only need it to cover part of the tent).

add shadow to the tent 2

Step 11

Now let’s use the Mask Layer to form a shadow. Head to the Layers panel, select the rectangle that we’ve placed above the tent, and drag it above the thumbnail preview of the tent silhouette. You will see that a small blue square appears next to the thumbnail. Release the mouse key, this way combining the two shapes and creating a darkened half of the tent.

add shadow to the tent 3

Step 12

Now we’ll add a trendy long shadow effect to the icon base. Make a rectangle with the Rectangle Tool (M) and rotate it by 45 degrees. Convert the shape to Curves and use the Node Tool (A) to adjust the rectangle, hiding its left part behind the tent, as shown in the screenshot below. You can add more nodes by double-clicking on the side of the shape with the Node Tool (A), and delete the unneeded nodes by selecting them and pressing the Backspace key.

create a long shadow 1

Step 13

Switch the shadow color to green and set its Opacity to 50%, Multiply Blend Mode. Hide the unneeded part of the shadow inside the icon base, using the Mask Layer, as we did previously.

Let’s add one more detail to our tent to make it look more interesting. Duplicate the tent base twice. Select the upper copy and drag its bottom side up, squashing the shape. Fill the shape beneath it with orange color, making it look like a bright stripe. Select the two copies and use the Subtract Operation to cut off the unneeded parts.

create a long shadow and add details to the tent

Let’s have a look at our completed icon and move on to the next one.

finished tent icon

2. Make a Backpack Icon

Step 1

Start forming the backpack base by making a tall rectangle (about 52.4 x 87 px size). Add two more rectangles of smaller size on the top and bottom parts of the base, and Align the shapes to Center.

make the backpack icon base

Step 2

Select the upper rectangle and make its Corners Rounded by 25% in the upper context toolbar. Extrude the shape up a bit, moving its top part outside the basic rectangle.

make the backpack icon base 2

Step 3

Copy the basic rectangle twice and use the Intersect Operation to cut off the unneeded parts. Add more elements (fastenings and pockets), making the shape look more like a tourist's backpack. Let's also make the corners of the basic shape rounded as well, to make the shape smoother.

add details to the backpack base

Step 4

Add more pockets on both sides of the backpack, and apply the bright colors from the Swatches to enliven the object.

apply the colors to the backpack icon

Step 5

Let’s add a shadow, using another technique this time. Copy the backpack group, ungroup all of its parts and Convert them to Curves. Use the Add Operation to create the backpack silhouette. 

As previously, switch the silhouette to 50% Opacity, Multiply Blend Mode. Finally, keeping the silhouette selected, take the Vector Crop Tool and cut off the left part of the shape. You actually don’t destroy this shape and can always edit it with the Vector Crop Tool, as it works the same way as the Mask Layer, making part of the shape invisible.

create a shadow with the vector crop tool

Step 6

Copy our previous circle icon base and adjust the backpack to fit it. Finally, add the long shadow and apply blue color to the icon base.

make the icon base

3. Render the Compass Icon

Step 1

Start by making a compass base from an even circle. Add a small rectangle in the upper central part of the circle, forming a graduation line. Select the created element, hold down the Option (Alt) and Shift keys and drag the shape down, making a copy.

make the compass base

Step 2

Make a copy of the rectangles and rotate them by 90 degrees, forming more graduation lines. Make a small triangle and place it inside the compass base so that it points to the top. Duplicate the triangle and Flip the copy Vertical from the Transforms menu in the upper Toolbox. Now we have a magnetic compass needle!

add magnetic compass needle with triangles

Step 3

Let’s rotate the needle to the side a bit.

rotate the compass needle

And we can start coloring our compass! Select the basic circle shape, duplicate it and fill its Stroke with dark-brown color, setting the Stroke Width to 6 pt, making its Cap and Joint rounded and Aligning the Stroke to Inside. Set the Fill color of the compass base copy to light-beige and color all the rest of the elements.

start coloring the compass

Step 4

Create a semi-transparent darkened silhouette of our compass and use the Vector Crop Tool to form a shadow on the right half of the object.

create a shadow on the compass

Step 5

Finally, place our compass on the orange icon base and add a long shadow. You can all make the compass more dimensional by making a gentle shadow between the brown outline of the compass and its beige basic shape by creating a smaller circle with dark-beige Stroke.

add the long shadow and the icon base

4. Create the Mountains Icon

Step 1

First of all, let’s form the base of our mountains. Make a 93 x 73.2 px triangle and then create a smaller one, placing it at the right side and making the shapes overlap and Aligning them to the Bottom

Take the Pen Tool (P) and shape the snowcaps of the mountains. We will cut the unneeded pieces off, so you don’t have to be too precise and can draw outside the triangle base. Duplicate the triangle part of the mountain, and then select the copy and the snowcap and use the Intersect Operation to make the cap fit the top of the mountain.

form the mountains base

Step 2

Now let’s color the mountains and form a simple flat cloud. Start by making an even circle and then add two more circles, varying their sizes.

color the mountains and start forming a cloud

Step 3

Place a narrow rectangle at the bottom of the cloud and make its Corners 100% Rounded. Combine the shapes to make them fit each other, and use the Add Operation to merge the shapes. You can select the unneeded nodes on the outline of our new shape with the Node Tool (A) and delete them by pressing Backspace to make the cloud smoother and more rounded. Fill the cloud with the blue color from our palette.

Step 4

Add more clouds by making copies and flipping them horizontally, and form a gentle shadow for each mountain. Finally, place the created composition onto the round icon base with a long shadow.

add shadows and create the icon base

5. Form a Car Icon

Step 1

Let’s make the chassis of the car by creating two rectangles—the narrow one (for the bumper) and the larger one—and placing them one on top of the other. Add two smaller rectangles with rounded corners for the wheels. To make it clear, we’re forming the front look of our car.

make the base of the car bottom

Step 2

Add two even circles for the headlights of our car. Copy the big rectangle and place the copy above the original shape to render the driver’s cabin. Select the upper left node with the Node Tool (A) and move it to the right side by pressing the right arrow key several times to make the shape skewed. Repeat the same with the top right node, and add the inner part of the cabin by duplicating the shape and making it a bit smaller.

create the drivers cabin

Step 3

Let’s add the reflections on the front glass part of the cabin. Form two narrow rectangles and make them skewed by moving all the top nodes to the right. Make the car more detailed by adding two rectangles with rounded corners on the roof of the cabin, thus forming the stylized luggage.

add the reflections and the luggage on the top of the car

Step 4

Apply colors to our car and add a few more details—the belt across the luggage and a small rectangle between the headlights for the radiator grill, making the car more realistic.

color the car and add a minor detail

Step 5

Form a darkened silhouette of our car and use the Vector Crop Tool to form a subtle shadow.

add shadow to the car

Step 6

Finish up with the icon by placing the car on a green icon base and forming a long shadow.

add the icon base with long shadow

6. Create a Campfire Icon

Step 1

Start forming the fire shape from a circle. Use the Ellipse Tool (M) to make an even shape, Convert it to Curves and drag its top node up with the Node Tool (A), so that the shape resembles an egg. Convert the upper node to Sharp angle from the upper context toolbar.

form the fire basic shape from ellipse

Step 2

Duplicate the fire shape and make it smaller, forming the inner part. Move on and start making the wooden logs. Make two small even circles for the front part of the logs. Further, draw out the extruded part of the log with the Pen Tool (P).

add wood logs to the campfire

Step 3

Form two more logs on both sides of the fire and make their tips rounded by bending the curves with the Node Tool (A). Apply colors to the created outlines, making a bright campfire symbol.

apply the colors to the campfire symbol

Step 4

Take the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a spiral swirled line on the front parts of both logs, making the wood surface more realistic. Form a gentle shadow on the right part of the campfire, either using the Mask Layer or the Vector Crop Tool, as we did earlier. Finally, finish up with the icon by placing it on a blue circle base and adding a long shadow.

add details and shadow to the fire and form the icon base

7. Use the Pixel Persona to Add a Grungy Texture

Since the beginning of this tutorial we have been working with the Draw Persona, which is great for vector graphics. However, Affinity Designer allows us to combine vector and raster graphics, creating an extraordinary mix of styles. Let’s see how it works!

Step 1

Find the Persona switchers in the top Toolbox bar and select the Pixel Persona (the central one). Go back to our first icon—the tent—and select the orange stripe. Find the Insert Target function in the Toolbox on top and select Insert Inside the Selection mode. Now everything you draw will be shown only inside the boundaries of the selected shape, as if we were using a Mask Layer.

switch to Pixel persona

Step 2

Take the Paint Brush from the Tool panel and go to the Brushes panel to select the desired brush. Use one of the Texture or Spray-paints brushes to create a grungy, messy effect. Press the Add Pixel Layer icon in the bottom of the Layers panel (otherwise, the Pixel layer will be created automatically), select the darker orange color and make a few strokes, adding stains and making the tent more textured.

Use the same method to draw over the base of the tent, making it look messy as well.

start drawing with grungy Paint Brush

Step 3

Add the grungy pixel texture to the other icons as well.

Add the grungy pixel texture to the other icons

Great Job, Guys! We’re Prepared for Hiking!

Congratulations! We’ve finished our flat set of hiking icons with grungy textures in Affinity Designer! I hope you've enjoyed using this program as much as I do, and discovered some useful tips and tricks for your future works. Good luck!

finished flat hiking icons
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.