Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

Comment créer une scène de ruelle arrière effrayante dans Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Ahmad Fauzan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Bienvenue dans un autre didacticiel Illustrator, dans lequel nous allons examiner de près le processus de création d’une scène effrayante. Vous verrez comme il est facile de le rassembler en n’utilisant que quelques formes et outils géométriques.

Donc, en supposant que vous ayez déjà pris une tasse de café, commençons!

De plus, n'oubliez pas que vous pouvez toujours ajouter de nouveaux éléments à l'illustration en vous rendant sur GraphicRiver, où vous trouverez une grande sélection de vecteurs effrayants.

1. Comment configurer un nouveau fichier de projet

En supposant que vous ayez déjà Illustrator opérationnel en arrière-plan, montez-le et configurons un nouveau document (Fichier> Nouveau ou Contrôle-N) que nous ajusterons comme suit:

  • Nombre de planches: 1
  • Largeur: 800 px
  • Hauteur: 600 px
  • Unités: Pixels

Et depuis l'onglet Avancé:

  • Mode couleur: RVB
  • Effets raster: écran (72ppi)
  • Mode d'aperçu: par défaut
setting up a new document

2. Comment configurer les calques

Une fois que nous avons terminé la configuration de notre fichier de projet, il serait judicieux de structurer notre document à l’aide de deux couches, car cela nous permet de maintenir un flux de travail constant en nous concentrant sur une section de l’illustration à la fois.

Cela dit, ouvrez le panneau Calques et créez un total de deux calques, que nous renommerons comme suit:

  • couche 1: arrière-plan
  • couche 2: premier plan
setting up the layers

Astuce: J'ai coloré tous mes calques en utilisant la même valeur verte, car c’est le plus facile à utiliser pour mettre en évidence les formes sélectionnées (qu’elles soient fermées ou ouvertes).

3. Comment créer la forme d'arrière-plan principale

Maintenant que nous avons fini de superposer notre document, nous pouvons commencer à travailler sur le projet et nous le ferons en construisant progressivement l’arrière-plan. Cela étant dit, assurez-vous de vous positionner sur le premier calque et laissez-vous aller droit au but!

À l’aide de l’Outil Rectangle (M), créez un rectangle de 800 x 600 px que nous colorerons à l’aide de #2A323D, puis positionnez-le au centre de l’Artboard sous-jacent en utilisant les options Horizontal Center et Align Center.

creating the main background shape

4. Comment créer le mur de briques

Avec la forme d'arrière-plan principale en place, nous pouvons nous concentrer sur le centre de l'Artboard, où nous allons créer la section visible du mur de briques.

Étape 1

Commencez par créer un rectangle de 480 x 396 px que nous colorerons à l’aide de #F76C5E, puis alignez au centre sur l’artboard sous-jacent, en le positionnant à une distance de 78 px de son bord supérieur.

creating and positioning the main shape for the brick wall

Étape 2

Ajustez la partie supérieure de la forme en sélectionnant individuellement ses deux points d'ancrage à l'aide de l'outil Sélection directe (A), puis en les poussant vers l'intérieur de 200 px à l'aide de l'outil Déplacer (clic droit> Transformer> Déplacer> Horizontal> +/- 200 px selon quel côté vous commencez.

adjusting the shape of the brick wall

Étape 3

Commencez à ajouter la première rangée de briques à l'aide de seize rectangles de 32 x 16 px avec un trait de 4 px d'épaisseur (#DD4C45), que nous regrouperons à l'aide du raccourci clavier Control-G, puis centrons vers le bas du mur. le contour inférieur tombe en dehors de sa surface.

creating the first row of bricks

Étape 4

Créez une copie (Control-C> Control-F) de la ligne que nous venons de regrouper, puis positionnez-la au-dessus, en veillant à la pousser de 16 px vers la droite en utilisant les flèches directionnelles ou l'outil Move ( clic droit> Transformer> Déplacer> Horizontal> 16 px).

adding the second row of bricks

Étape 5

Ajoutez les briques restantes en sélectionnant les deux lignes que nous avons actuellement et en les faisant glisser vers le haut tout en maintenant les touches Alt et Maj enfoncées, en vous assurant que leurs contours se chevauchent, comme indiqué dans l'image de référence.

Dès que vous avez les premiers doublons, ajoutez les autres en appuyant sur le raccourci clavier Control-D  jusqu'à ce que vous ayez rempli le mur. Une fois que vous avez terminé, retirez la rangée supérieure, puis sélectionnez et regroupez (Control-G) tous les autres ensemble avant de passer à l’étape suivante.

adding the remaining rows of bricks

Étape 6

Ensuite, nous allons masquer les lignes que nous venons de regrouper en utilisant une copie (Control-C) du mur sous-jacent, que nous collerons devant (Control-F), puis, avec les deux sélectionnées, simplement clic droit> Make Clipping Mask.

masking the brick rows

Étape 7

Prenez quelques instants et améliorez certaines des briques en double-cliquant dessus pour les isoler, puis ouvrez leur chemin supérieur ou inférieur, comme indiqué dans l'image de référence. Une fois que vous avez terminé, appuyez sur la touche Échap pour quitter le mode d'isolation, puis sélectionnez les briques et le mur et regroupez-les à l'aide du raccourci clavier Contrôle-G.

opening up the paths of some of the bricks

5. Comment créer le trottoir

Maintenant que nous avons fini de travailler sur le mur de briques, nous pouvons nous déplacer vers le bas du Artboard, où nous construirons rapidement le trottoir.

Étape 1

Créez la forme principale de la lumière projetée en utilisant une ellipse de 560 x 48 px, que nous colorerons à l’aide de #F76C5E, puis nous positionnerons sous le mur, comme le montre l’image de référence.

creating the main shape for the projected light

Étape 2

Ajoutez la section visible du trottoir à l’aide d’un rectangle de 560 x 24 px (#2A323D), que nous placerons sur la moitié supérieure de l’ellipse, en veillant à les sélectionner et les regrouper par la suite à l’aide du raccourci clavier Ctrl-G.

creating the main shape for the sidewalk

6. Comment créer le lampadaire suspendu

Avec le mur et le trottoir en place, nous pouvons maintenant nous concentrer sur le dernier élément de l’arrière-plan, que nous allons créer une forme à la fois.

Étape 1

Créez le corps vertical du poteau à l’aide d’un rectangle arrondi de 8 x 48 px (#2A323D) et d’un rayon d’angle de 4 px.

creating the vertical section of the light post

Étape 2

Ajoutez le segment horizontal tenant le poteau au mur à l’aide d’un rectangle de 16 x 12 px (#2A323D), sur lequel nous placerons 8 px à partir du bord inférieur de la forme précédente.

creating the horizontal section of the light post

Étape 3

Créez les petits détails latéraux à l’aide de deux rectangles de 2 x 4 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #2A323D puis que nous positionnerons comme indiqué dans l’image de référence. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez les quatre formes à l’aide du raccourci clavier Ctrl-G.

adding the side segments to the base of the light post

Étape 4

Ajoutez l’ampoule électrique à l’aide d’une ellipse de 28 x 16 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #FFE7C5, puis placez-la sur la partie supérieure du support de sorte que sa moitié supérieure sorte en dehors de la surface du mur.

creating the light bulb

Étape 5

Ajustez la forme que nous venons de créer en supprimant sa moitié supérieure. Vous pouvez le faire en sélectionnant son point d'ancrage supérieur à l'aide de l'outil de sélection directe (A), puis en appuyant sur Supprimer, en veillant à fermer le chemin résultant à l'aide du raccourci clavier Control-J. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez (Contrôle-G) toutes les formes composant la lumière, en procédant de la même manière pour tout l’arrière-plan avant de verrouiller le calque actif et de passer à la section suivante de l’illustration.

adjusting the shape of the light bulb

7. Comment créer l'entrée de la porte

Maintenant que nos antécédents sont en place, nous pouvons nous concentrer davantage sur le premier plan, où nous allons continuer à travailler sur notre scène. Donc, si vous vous êtes positionné sur la deuxième couche, commençons par travailler sur le petit cadre de porte.

Étape 1

Créez la section intérieure de la pièce à l’aide d’un rectangle de 120 x 278 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #2A323D, puis centrer sur le bord supérieur du trottoir.

creating the inner visible section of the room

Étape 2

Commencez à travailler sur la partie droite du cadre de la porte en créant un rectangle de 18 x 278 pixels (#FFE7C5) que nous positionnerons à gauche de la forme précédente.

creating the main shape for the left section of the door frame

Étape 3

Ajouter l’insertion décorative de fond à l’aide d’un rectangle de 10 x 96 px (#2A323D), au sommet duquel nous allons ajouter une plus petite 2 x 88 px un (#FFE7C5), qui nous sera groupe (Ctrl-G), puis position 4 px de la forme précédente bas bord.

adding the bottom decorative insertion to the right section of the door frame

Étape 4

Créez l’insertion supérieure en utilisant une copie (Contrôle-C> Contrôle-F) de celle que nous venons de regrouper, que nous positionnerons ensuite sur le côté opposé du cadre, en veillant à conserver le même espace de 4 px.

adding the top decorative insertion to the right section of the door frame

Étape 5

Ajoutez les lignes de détail verticales à l’aide de trois rectangles de 2 x 70 px (#2A323D) que nous empilerons horizontalement de 2 px, en les regroupant (Contrôle-G), puis en les plaçant entre les deux insertions décoratives.

adding the decorative lines to the right section of the door frame

Étape 6

Terminez la section actuelle du cadre en ajoutant l’ombre dure à l’aide d’un rectangle de 18 x 8 pixels que nous colorierons à l’aide de #2A323D, puis que nous alignerons sur le bord supérieur du cadre. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et contrôlez (Control-G) toutes les formes qui le composent avant de passer à l’étape suivante.

adding the hard shadow to the right section of the door frame

Étape 7

Créez la section gauche du cadre en utilisant une copie (Contrôle-C> Contrôle-F) de celle sur laquelle vous venez de terminer le travail, que nous positionnerons du côté opposé de l’entrée.

adding the left section of the door frame

Étape 8

Commencez à travailler sur la partie supérieure du cadre en créant un rectangle de 172 x 18 px (#FFE7C5), que nous placerons au-dessus de l'entrée, comme indiqué dans l'image de référence.

creating the upper section of the door frame

Étape 9

Ajoutez les éléments décoratifs ronds à l’aide de deux cercles de 14 x 14 px (#FFE7C5), que nous placerons sur la partie supérieure du cadre, en veillant à les centrer sur les côtés du cadre.

adding the circular decorative pieces to the upper section of the frame

Étape 10

Créez l'insertion décorative à l'aide d'un rectangle de 164 x 10 px (#2A323D), auquel s'ajoutera un plus petit de 156 x 2 px (#FFE7C5), en regroupant (Control-G), puis en plaçant les deux au centre du cadre. section supérieure.

adding the decorative insertion to the upper section of the frame

Étape 11

Ajoutez la forme principale de la partie surélevée à l’aide d’un rectangle de 108 x 12 px que nous colorierons à l’aide de #FFE7C5, puis que nous positionnerons comme dans l’image de référence.

adding the raised segment to the upper section of the door frame

Étape 12

Créez les courbures latérales à l’aide de deux cercles de 6 x 6 px (#FFE7C5) que nous placerons sur les côtés de la forme précédente, puis ajusterons en sélectionnant leurs points d’ancrage supérieur et extérieur à l’aide de l’outil de sélection directe (A), puis en les supprimant. en appuyant sur Supprimer. Fermez les chemins résultants à l’aide de l’outil Plume (P), puis passez à l’étape suivante.

adding the round side sections to the raised portion of the door frame

Étape 13

Ajoutez les lignes d'insertion verticales à l'aide de treize rectangles de 4 x 8 px (#2A323D) empilés horizontalement à 4 px les uns des autres, en les regroupant (Contrôle-G), puis en les alignant au centre avec le bord inférieur de la section surélevée. Prenez votre temps et une fois que vous avez terminé, assurez-vous de sélectionner et de grouper (Contrôle-G) toutes les formes de la section en cours, en procédant de la même manière pour la porte entière par la suite.

adding the vertical insertion lines to the raised segment of the door frame

8. Comment créer la sonnette

Une fois que nous avons fini de travailler sur l’entrée, nous pouvons passer du côté droit et créer rapidement le petit carillon.

Étape 1

Créez la base de la cloche à l’aide d’un rectangle de 8 x 12 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #FFE7C5, puis positionnerons 14 px de la section droite du cadre de la porte et 16 px de ses trois lignes d’insertion verticales.

creating and positioning the main shape for the doorbell

Étape 2

Ajoutez les plus petites sections latérales à l’aide de deux rectangles 2 x 8 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #FFE7C5, puis que nous positionnerons comme indiqué dans l’image de référence.

adding the side sections to the doorbell

Étape 3

Créez les extrémités arrondies à l’aide de deux cercles px 4 x 4 (#FFE7C5), que nous positionnerons sur la forme centrale de la sonnette de manière à ce que leurs moitiés intérieures la chevauchent.

adding the circular endpoints to the doorbell

Étape 4

Terminez la sonnette en ajoutant le petit bouton à l’aide d’un cercle de 4 x 4 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #2A323D et que nous alignerons ensuite au centre du corps. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez (Ctrl-G) toutes les formes qui le composent, avant de passer à la section suivante de l’illustration.

adding the circular button to the doorbell

9. Comment créer le monstre effrayant

Dès que nous aurons fini de sonner à la porte, nous pourrons nous concentrer de nouveau sur l’entrée, où nous changerons l’atmosphère de la scène en ajoutant une présence à la fois sombre et amicale.

Étape 1

Commencez à travailler sur la bouche en créant une ellipse de 56 x 8 px, que nous colorierons à l’aide de #F76C5E puis centrerons sur l’entrée, en la positionnant à 84 px de son bord supérieur.

creating the main shape for the mouth of the monster

Étape 2

Ajustez la forme que nous venons de créer en la sélectionnant d’abord, puis en pinçant ses points d’ancrage gauche et droit à l’aide de l’outil Point d’ancrage (Maj-C).

adjusting the outer anchor points of the mouth

Étape 3

Sélectionnez le point d'ancrage supérieur de la forme obtenue à l'aide de l'outil Sélection directe (A), puis déplacez-le de 16 px vers le bas à l'aide de l'outil Déplacer (clic droit> Transformer> Déplacer> Vertical> 16 px).

adjusting the shape of the mouth

Étape 4

Avec la couleur de remplissage définie sur #2A323D, dessinez les dents tordues à l'aide de l'outil Plume (P), en vous servant de l'image de référence comme guide principal. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez la forme résultante et la bouche, puis regroupez les deux à l’aide du raccourci clavier Ctrl-G.

drawing the teeth

Étape 5

Créez la forme principale de l’œil droit à l’aide d’un cercle de 10 x 10 px (#F76C5E), que nous ajusterons en sélectionnant et en poussant ses points d’ancrage supérieur et inférieur sur le côté droit de 1 px et ceux de gauche et de droite vers le bas par encore 1 px. Une fois que vous avez terminé, positionnez la forme obtenue au-dessus de la bouche, comme indiqué dans l’image de référence.

creating the main shape for the right eye

Étape 6

Ajoutez l’iris en utilisant une ellipse de 2 x 6 px (#2A323D), que nous centrerons en alignant sur l’œil obtenu, en prenant soin de le positionner à 3 px de son bord droit. Une fois la forme en place, sélectionnez et regroupez les deux à l’aide du raccourci clavier Ctrl-G.

adding the iris to the right eye

Étape 7

Créez l'oeil gauche en utilisant une copie (Contrôle-C> Contrôle-F) de celle sur laquelle nous venons de travailler, que nous refléterons verticalement (clic droit> Transformer> Refléter> Vertical) puis que nous placerons sur le côté opposé de la bouche. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez (Contrôle-G) toutes les formes composant le monstre avant de passer à la section suivante.

adding the left eye

10. Comment créer la balle

Nous en sommes maintenant à la dernière partie de notre petite composition, ce qui nous aidera à atteindre le niveau de peur que nous souhaitons illustrer. Donc, en supposant que vous ayez fini de travailler sur le monstre, concentrez-vous sur la section inférieure de l’entrée et terminons les choses!

Étape 1

Créez la forme principale de la balle à l’aide d’un cercle de 28 x 28 pixels que nous colorierons à l’aide de #F76C5E puis que nous alignerons au bord inférieur de l’entrée.

creating and positioning the main shape for the ball

Étape 2

Ajoutez les petits anneaux en utilisant quatre ellipses de 32 x 16 px avec un trait de 2 px d'épaisseur (#2A323D), que nous ajusterons en sélectionnant et en supprimant leurs points d'ancrage supérieurs, en superposant verticalement les formes résultantes de 4 px. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez (Contrôle-G) tous les anneaux ensemble, puis procédez de la même manière pour le ballon entier.

adding the rings to the ball

Étape 3

Créez la forme principale du sang dégoulinant à l'aide d'un rectangle de 4 x 8 pixels (#F76C5E), que nous ajusterons en définissant le rayon de ses coins inférieurs sur 2 px depuis les propriétés Rectangle du panneau Transformer, en positionnant la forme résultante sur le trottoir de la manière suivante: vu dans l'image de référence.

creating the main shape for the dripping blood

Étape 4

Ajoutez les sections latérales à l’aide de deux cercles px 4 x 4 (#F76C5E), que nous ajusterons en supprimant leurs points d’ancrage inférieurs et extérieurs, en fermant et en positionnant les tracés résultants sur les côtés des formes précédentes, comme indiqué dans l’image de référence. Assurez-vous de les sélectionner et de les regrouper (Contrôle-G) par la suite.

adding the side sections to the dripping blood

Étape 5

Terminez la section en cours, et avec elle, le projet lui-même, en ajoutant l'ombre projetée, que nous allons créer à l'aide d'une ellipse de 24 x 20 px (#2A323D). Positionnez-le sur la partie inférieure du trottoir, à une distance de 10 px du bord inférieur de la lumière projetée. Une fois que vous avez terminé, sélectionnez et regroupez toutes les formes composant le premier plan à l’aide du raccourci clavier Control-G, avant de cliquer sur le bouton d’enregistrement.

finishing off the illustration

Super boulot !

Comme toujours, j'espère que vous avez eu du plaisir à travailler sur le projet et que vous avez surtout réussi à apprendre quelque chose de nouveau et utile en cours de route.

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à les poster dans la section commentaires.

finished project preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

How to Create a Scary Back Alley Scene in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Welcome back to another Illustrator tutorial, in which we’re going to take a close look at the process of creating a scary scene. You'll see how easy it is to put it together using nothing more than a few geometric shapes and tools.

So assuming you already grabbed a fresh mug of coffee, let’s get started!

Also, don't forget you can always add new elements to the illustration by heading over to GraphicRiver, where you'll find a great selection of scary vector assets.

1. How to Set Up a New Project File

Assuming you already have Illustrator up and running in the background, bring it up and let’s set up a New Document (File > New or Control-N) which we will adjust as follows:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 800 px
  • Height: 600 px
  • Units: Pixels

And from the Advanced tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: Screen (72ppi)
  • Preview Mode: Default
setting up a new document

2. How to Set Up the Layers

Once we’ve finished setting up our project file, it would be a good idea to structure our document using a couple of layers, since this way we can maintain a steady workflow by focusing on one section of the illustration at a time.

That being said, bring up the Layers panel, and create a total of two layers, which we will rename as follows:

  • layer 1: background
  • layer 2: foreground
setting up the layers

Quick tip: I’ve colored all of my layers using the same green value, since it’s the easiest one to view when used to highlight your selected shapes (whether they’re closed or open paths).

3. How to Create the Main Background Shape

Now that we’ve finished layering our document, we can start working on the actual project, and we will do so by gradually building the background. That being said, make sure you’ve positioned yourself on the first layer, and let’s jump straight into it!

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create an 800 x 600 px rectangle, which we will color using #2A323D and then position in the center of the underlying Artboard using the Align panel’s Horizontal and Vertical Align Center options.

creating the main background shape

4. How to Create the Brick Wall

With the main background shape in place, we can shift our focus over to the center of the Artboard, where we will create the visible section of the brick wall.

Step 1

Start by creating a 480 x 396 px rectangle, which we will color using #F76C5E and then center align to the underlying Artboard, positioning it at a distance of 78 px from its top edge.

creating and positioning the main shape for the brick wall

Step 2

Adjust the upper section of the shape by individually selecting its two anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A), and then pushing them to the inside by 200 px using the Move tool (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > +/- 200 px depending on which side you start with).

adjusting the shape of the brick wall

Step 3

Start adding the first row of bricks using sixteen 32 x 16 px rectangles with a 4 px thick Stroke (#DD4C45), which we will group using the Control-G keyboard shortcut and then center align to the bottom of the wall, making sure that their bottom outline falls outside of its surface.

creating the first row of bricks

Step 4

Create a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the row that we’ve just grouped, and then position it above, making sure to push it to the right by 16 px using either the directional arrow keys or the Move tool (right click > Transform > Move > Horizontal > 16 px).

adding the second row of bricks

Step 5

Add the remaining bricks by selecting the two rows that we currently have and then dragging them to the top while holding down the Alt and Shift keys, making sure their outlines overlap as seen in the reference image. 

As soon as you have the first duplicates, add the remaining ones by pressing the Control-D keyboard shortcut until you've filled in the wall. Once you’re done, remove the extra top row and then select and group (Control-G) all the remaining ones together before moving on to the next step.

adding the remaining rows of bricks

Step 6

Next, we’re going to mask the rows that we’ve just grouped using a copy (Control-C) of the underlying wall, which we will paste in front (Control-F) and then, with both of them selected, simply right click > Make Clipping Mask.

masking the brick rows

Step 7

Take a couple of moments and enhance some of the bricks by double clicking on them to isolate them, and then opening up either their top or bottom paths as seen in the reference image. Once you’re done, press the Escape key to exit Isolation Mode, and then select both the bricks and the wall and group them together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

opening up the paths of some of the bricks

5. How to Create the Sidewalk

Now that we’ve finished working on the brick wall, we can move towards the bottom of the Artboard, where we will quickly build the sidewalk.

Step 1

Create the main shape for the projected light using a 560 x 48 px ellipse, which we will color using #F76C5E and then position below the wall as seen in the reference image.

creating the main shape for the projected light

Step 2

Add the visible section of the sidewalk using a 560 x 24 px rectangle (#2A323D), which we will position on the upper half of the ellipse, making sure to select and group the two together afterwards using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

creating the main shape for the sidewalk

6. How to Create the Suspended Street Light

With the wall and sidewalk in place, we can now focus on the last piece of the background, which we will create one shape at a time.

Step 1

Create the vertical body of the post using an 8 x 48 px rounded rectangle (#2A323D) with a 4 px Corner Radius, which we will center align to the wall’s top edge as seen in the reference image.

creating the vertical section of the light post

Step 2

Add the horizontal segment holding the post to the wall using a 16 x 12 px rectangle (#2A323D), which we will position 8 px from the previous shape’s bottom edge.

creating the horizontal section of the light post

Step 3

Create the little side details using two 2 x 4 px rectangles, which we will color using #2A323D and then position as seen in the reference image. Once you’re done, select and group the four shapes together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding the side segments to the base of the light post

Step 4

Add the light bulb using a 28 x 16 px ellipse, which we will color using #FFE7C5 and then position on the upper section of the stand so that its upper half goes outside of the wall’s surface.

creating the light bulb

Step 5

Adjust the shape that we’ve just created by removing its upper half. You can do that by selecting its top anchor point using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then pressing Delete, making sure to close the resulting path using the Control-J keyboard shortcut. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all of the light’s composing shapes together, doing the same for the entire background before locking the current layer and moving on to the next section of the illustration.

adjusting the shape of the light bulb

7. How to Create the Door Entrance

Now that we have our background in place, we can shift our focus over to the foreground, where we will continue working on our scene. So assuming you’ve positioned yourself on the second layer, let’s start working on the little door frame.

Step 1

Create the inner section of the room using a 120 x 278 px rectangle, which we will color using #2A323D and then center align to the upper edge of the sidewalk.

creating the inner visible section of the room

Step 2

Start working on the right section of the door frame by creating an 18 x 278 px rectangle (#FFE7C5), which we will position on the left side of the previous shape.

creating the main shape for the left section of the door frame

Step 3

Add the bottom decorative insertion using a 10 x 96 px rectangle (#2A323D), on top of which we will add a smaller 2 x 88 px one (#FFE7C5), which we will group (Control-G) and then position 4 px from the previous shape’s bottom edge.

adding the bottom decorative insertion to the right section of the door frame

Step 4

Create the upper insertion using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the one that we’ve just grouped, which we will then position on the opposite side of the frame, making sure to maintain the same 4 px gap.

adding the top decorative insertion to the right section of the door frame

Step 5

Add the vertical detail lines using three 2 x 70 px rectangles (#2A323D) which we will horizontally stack 2 px from one another, grouping (Control-G) and then positioning them between the two decorative insertions.

adding the decorative lines to the right section of the door frame

Step 6

Finish off the current section of the frame by adding the hard shadow using an 18 x 8 px rectangle, which we will color using #2A323D and then align to the upper edge of the frame. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all of its composing shapes together before moving on to the next step.

adding the hard shadow to the right section of the door frame

Step 7

Create the left section of the frame using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the one that we’ve just finished working on, which we will position on the opposite side of the entrance.

adding the left section of the door frame

Step 8

Start working on the upper section of the frame by creating a 172 x 18 px rectangle (#FFE7C5), which we will position on top of the entrance, as seen in the reference image.

creating the upper section of the door frame

Step 9

Add the round decorative elements using two 14 x 14 px circles (#FFE7C5), which we will position on the upper section of the frame, making sure to center align them to the frame’s side sections.

adding the circular decorative pieces to the upper section of the frame

Step 10

Create the decorative insertion using a 164 x 10 px rectangle (#2A323D), on top of which we will add a smaller 156 x 2 px one (#FFE7C5), grouping (Control-G) and then positioning the two in the center of the frame’s top section.

adding the decorative insertion to the upper section of the frame

Step 11 

Add the main shape for the raised portion using a 108 x 12 px rectangle, which we will color using #FFE7C5 and then position as seen in the reference image.

adding the raised segment to the upper section of the door frame

Step 12

Create the side curvatures using two 12 x 12 px circles (#FFE7C5), which we will position on the sides of the previous shape and then adjust by selecting their top and outer anchor points using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then removing them by pressing Delete. Close the resulting paths using the Pen Tool (P), and once you’re done, move on to the next step.

adding the round side sections to the raised portion of the door frame

Step 13

Add the vertical insertion lines using thirteen 4 x 8 px rectangles (#2A323D) horizontally stacked 4 px from one another, grouping (Control-G) and then center aligning them to the bottom edge of the raised section. Take your time, and once you’re done, make sure you select and group (Control-G) all of the current section's composing shapes together, doing the same for the entire door afterwards.

adding the vertical insertion lines to the raised segment of the door frame

8. How to Create the Doorbell

Once we’ve finished working on the entrance, we can move over to its right side and quickly create the little doorbell.

Step 1

Create the base of the bell using an 8 x 12 px rectangle, which we will color using #FFE7C5 and then position 14 px from the door frame’s right section and 16 px from its three vertical insertion lines.

creating and positioning the main shape for the doorbell

Step 2

Add the smaller side sections using two 2 x 8 px rectangles, which we will color using #FFE7C5 and then position as seen in the reference image.

adding the side sections to the doorbell

Step 3

Create the round endpoints using two 4 x 4 px circles (#FFE7C5), which we will position onto the doorbell’s center shape so that their inner halves overlap it.

adding the circular endpoints to the doorbell

Step 4

Finish off the doorbell by adding the little button using a 4 x 4 px circle, which we will color using #2A323D and then center align to the larger body. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all of its composing shapes, before moving on to the next section of the illustration.

adding the circular button to the doorbell

9. How to Create the Scary Monster

As soon as we’ve finished working on the doorbell, we can shift our focus back to the entrance, where we will change the mood of the scene by adding the dark yet friendly presence.

Step 1

Start working on the mouth by creating a 56 x 8 px ellipse, which we will color using #F76C5E and then center align to the entrance, positioning it 84 px from its top edge.

creating the main shape for the mouth of the monster

Step 2

Adjust the shape that we’ve just created by first selecting it and then pinching its left and right anchor points using the Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C).

adjusting the outer anchor points of the mouth

Step 3

Select the resulting shape’s top anchor point using the Direct Selection Tool (A) and then push it to the bottom by 16 px using the Move tool (right click > Transform > Move > Vertical > 16 px).

adjusting the shape of the mouth

Step 4

With the fill color set to #2A323D, draw the crooked teeth with the help of the Pen Tool (P), using the reference image as your main guide. Once you’re done, select the resulting shape and the mouth and group the two together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

drawing the teeth

Step 5

Create the main shape for the right eye using a 10 x 10 px circle (#F76C5E), which we will adjust by selecting and pushing its top and bottom anchor points to the right side by 1 px and its left and right ones to the bottom by another 1 px. Once you’re done, position the resulting shape above the mouth as seen in the reference image.

creating the main shape for the right eye

Step 6

Add the iris using a 2 x 6 px ellipse (#2A323D), which we will center align to the resulting eye, making sure to position it 3 px from its right edge. Once you have the shape in place, select and group the two together using the Control-G keyboard shortcut.

adding the iris to the right eye

Step 7

Create the left eye using a copy (Control-C > Control-F) of the one that we’ve just finished working on, which we will vertically reflect (right click > Transform > Reflect > Vertical) and then position on the opposite side of the mouth. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all of the monster’s composing shapes, before moving on to the next section.

adding the left eye

10. How to Create the Ball

We are now down to the last section of our little composition, which will help us achieve that level of scariness that we want our illustration to portray. So, assuming you’ve finished working on the monster, shift your focus over to the bottom section of the entrance, and let’s wrap things up!

Step 1

Create the main shape of the ball using a 28 x 28 px circle, which we will color using #F76C5E and then align to the entrance’s bottom edge.

creating and positioning the main shape for the ball

Step 2

Add the little rings using four 32 x 16 px ellipses with a 2 px thick Stroke (#2A323D), which we will adjust by selecting and removing their top anchor points, vertically stacking the resulting shapes 4 px from one another. Once you’re done, select and group (Control-G) all the rings together, doing the same for the entire ball afterwards.

adding the rings to the ball

Step 3

Create the main shape for the dripping blood using a 4 x 8 px rectangle (#F76C5E), which we will adjust by setting the Radius of its bottom corners to 2 px from within the Transform panel’s Rectangle Properties, positioning the resulting shape on the sidewalk as seen in the reference image.

creating the main shape for the dripping blood

Step 4

Add the side sections using two 8 x 8 px circles (#F76C5E), which we will adjust by removing their bottom and outer anchor points, closing and positioning the resulting paths on the sides of the previous shapes as seen in the reference image. Make sure to select and group (Control-G) all three of them afterwards.

adding the side sections to the dripping blood

Step 5

Finish off the current section, and with it the project itself, by adding the projected shadow, which we will create using a 24 x 20 px ellipse (#2A323D). Position it on the lower section of the sidewalk, at a distance of 10 px from the projected light’s bottom edge. Once you’re done, select and group all of the foreground’s composing shapes using the Control-G keyboard shortcut, before hitting that save button.

finishing off the illustration

Great Job!

As always, I hope you had fun working on the project and most importantly managed to learn something new and useful along the way.

If you have any questions, feel free to post them within the comments section, and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can!

finished project preview
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.