Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Portrait

Comment créer un drôle de portrait au trait dans Adobe Illustrator

Difficulty:AdvancedLength:MediumLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Mireia Porta Arnau (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Je connais plein d'illustrateurs qui pratiquent leur métier avec leur propre visage. Bien que j'aie déjà essayé de me vectoriser auparavant, ça m'énerve de me regarder fixement le faciès pendant des heures.  J'ai commencé avec mon propre visage en le vectorisant à partir d'un selfie que j'avais pris sous un angle "impossible" (du type le émo de MySpace) mais avec une grimace.  Le but de l'opération était de ne pas me ressembler pour qu'après je puisse me concentrer sur le travail à faire plutôt que sur ma personne. Voici comment le projet du selfie drôle est né.

Awkward Selfies Series

Pendant les deux derniers mois, j'ai vectorisé mes amis dans des poses similaires. Le style que j'ai utilisé ressemble assez celui d'un de mes tutoriels populaires, comment créer un portrait spectaculaire aux grands traits.  J'avais envie de vous montrer ce style en incorporant de nouvelles techniques afin de répondre à des questions récurrentes qui m'arrivent pour les projets de dessin au trait comme, par exemple, comment reproduire une texture ou les poils sur le visage. 

Si vous cherchez à avoir votre portrait, il y a beaucoup de portraitistes talentueux sur Envato Studio capables de créer des portraits illustrés de qualité, quelque soit la pose !

Prenez votre pire selfie

Merci à Andrew Blackman d'avoir proposé son visage pour ce tutoriel. Si vous souhaitez le suivre au pied de la lettre, téléchargez sa photo à partir du lien fourni sur cette même page. Sinon, vous pouvez utiliser votre propre photo.

Utilisation de votre propre photo

Si vous voulez utiliser une photo de vous ou d'un ami, il faut qu'elle soit laide, gênante, provocatrice. Pas la peine d'utiliser une image rasante car vous en avez assez de traiter des portraits sous un angle ou profil banal et ennuyeux, pas vrai ?

Dans ce projet, il s'agit de vectoriser un angle drôle que l'on ne voit pas chaque jour dans l'illustration de portraits. Par conséquent, on sera assez indulgents avec les erreurs que l'on puisse faire ; inclinez la caméra vers le haut, vers le bas, à bout de bras ou extrêmement proche et prenez un selfie !

1. Comment organiser le document

Étape 1

Ce serait trop facile d'importer le selfie sur le plan de travail et le vectoriser directement de là. Cependant, si vous réfléchissez à la composition depuis le début, vous saurez dans quelle direction aller et cela réduira le flux de travail en vous évitant de vectoriser des détails superflus. 

Une façon de le faire, c'est de créer un encadrement en vidant un Rectangle (M) d'un autre avec le filtre Pathfinder > Soustraction.

Create a Frame

Étape 2

Puis ouvrez Fichier > Importer, localisez le selfie et placez-le derrière l'encadrement. Trouvez les meilleurs recadrage et composition du selfie. 

Songez que vous pouvez redimensionner et pivoter le portrait avec l'Outil de Transformation Libre (E). Utilisez aussi l'encadrement pour cacher des parties du visage au besoin...

Désolé Andrew, je ne vais travailler qu'une oreille car je n'aime pas les vectoriser.

Find your composition

Étape 3

Après, j'organise le panneau des Calques de façon à avoir un calque pour le rectangle rempli de blanc à 50 % d'Opacité au dessus du visage d'Andrew et un calque où ajouter mes tracés.

Setting up my layers

2. Comment commencer le dessin au trait

Étape 1

Avec l'Outil Plume (P), je vais commencer à créer des formes pour le dessin au trait. Pour cette partie du portrait, je n'utilise pas des tracés avec contour. Quand les portions de dessin sont larges, je crée des tracés remplis moins uniformes pour obtenir un aspect plus organique. 

Adding Line Art

Étape 2

Lorsque les lignes se joignent, il faut s'assurer qu'elles se chevauchent quand elles sont connectées à des lignes adjacentes. Comme ça, on évite que des vides apparaissent. 

Overlapping lines

Étape 3 

Je continue de tracer les formes plus larges pour créer la plupart du visage et des habits.

Adding the majority of the lines

3. Comment créer le dessin au trait pour les yeux

Étape 1 

Quant à l’œil, je crée un seul tracé pour le globe oculaire et la partie interne de l’œil. Puis je le duplique et le cache. Après, je crée un autre tracé qui couvre la forme globale de l’œil, y compris la ligne des cils.

J'enlève la forme plus petite à la plus grande avec Pathfinder > Soustraction. Ceci crée la forme globale de l’œil mais cela me donne une forme cachée que j'utiliserai plus tard pour un masque d'opacité.

Create the eye shape

Étape 2

Maintenant, attaquons-nous aux détails de l'iris. Pour créer un effet de dessin au trait, similaire à celui du tutoriel précédent mais plus uniforme, je vais aligner une série de triangles sur une ligne avec un contour.   La ligne a un Contour d'1 pt d'Épaisseur. J'ai placé les triangles tout le long de la ligne de façon équidistante.

Creating a brush

Étape 3

Avec cet objet, je crée alors une Nouvelle Forme de Motif. Selon il a été créé, il vous faut peut-être retourner à cette fenêtre pour altérer les réglages. Dans mon cas, j'ai dû cocher sur l'option Symétrie Verticale. Cliquez sur Ok pour finir.

Create a Pattern Brush

Étape 4

Voici le moment de créer plusieurs cercles. Tracez l'original avec l'Outil Ellipse (L) et dupliquez-le.  Cachez l'original car vous en aurez besoin plus tard si vous voulez ajoutez de la couleur aux yeux. Ajoutez un Contour de 3 pt d'Épaisseur à une des copies dupliquées autour de l’œil. 

Une autre copie sera pour la forme Détail de l’Œil. Cependant, comme les formes de motif se concentrent sur le contour, réduisez la taille du cercle avec l'Outil de Transformation Libre (E) de manière à l'aligner avec l’extérieur du plus grand cercle.   

Tracez alors des cercles pour la pupille et les reflets de lumière.

Eye details

Étape 5

Regroupez les tracés de l'iris et la de pupille (Contrôle-G). Dupliquez ce groupe pour l'autre œil.

Puis, affichez le tracé du globe oculaire et utilisez-le pour créer un Masque d'Écrêtage (Contrôle-7). Répétez l'opération pour l'autre œil. 

Both eyes

4. Comment créer du cheveux et du détail avec des Formes

Étape 1

Des détails plus précis, y compris les cheveux, seront créés grâce aux formes artistiques. Je vais commencer par deux formes artistiques. La première est un cercle aplati avec les extrémités effilées.  

Tapered Brush

Étape 2

La suivante forme artistique est créée à partir d'un triangle.

Triangle Brush

Étape 3

La forme triangulaire sert à imiter l'effet côtelé le long du cou du pull d'Andrew.

Lorsque le portrait parait trop simple, des petits détails comme celui-ci contribuent à élaborer une illustration plus travaillée.

Create the collar

Étape 4

A l'aide de l'Outil Pinceau (B) et la forme artistique effilée, j'ajoute des tracés pour les sourcils. La photo en bas m'indique la direction à suivre des poils pour qu'ils aient une apparence soignée.  

Adding the eyebrows

Étape 5

À l'aide de la forme triangulaire effilée, j'ajoute de la texture avec des plis et des traits à l'intérieur du cou et de la chemise.

Inside the collar

Étape 6

Je crée un Nouveau Calque en dessous du dessin au trait et je dessine un tracé avec un fond blanc qui suit la ligne des cheveux. Le but est de cacher les tracés que je dessine en-dessous de cette forme et créer une ligne nette.

Ci-dessous, on remarquera comment cette forme blanche nettoie mes traits. Je peux la laisser en blanc parce que la plupart du portrait sera dessin au trait sans d'autres ombres. Si vous souhaitez utilisez plusieurs couleurs, décomposez les tracés des cheveux avec contour, puis rognez la zone qui se chevauche avec la forme blanche. 

Adding the hair

5. Comment créer du dessin au trait pour les poils sur le visage

Étape 1

Puisque les poils du visage tombent sur la ligne du menton et lui donnent de la texture, je vais devoir chercher à les reproduire. Si je dessinais dessus des lignes, la ligne fine apparaîtrait quand-même en-dessous et cela manquerai de cohésion.

D'abord, je divise la ligne en deux avec l'Outil Tranche. Je coupe la ligne où les poils du visage commencent à déformer les lignes nettes du visage. Comme montré ci-dessous, c'est vers la partie inférieure de l'oreille. 

Using the Knife Tool

Étape 2

Pour ajouter de la texture à cette ligne, je la sélectionne et vais à Effet > Distorsion et Transformation > Esquisse. Puis, je trace plusieurs traits autour du menton et du nez au gré de la merveilleuse pose d'Andrew en vue de créer la même ligne bien définie et pourtant avec texture.

Create a textured line

Étape 3

À l'aide de l'Outil Pinceau (B) et la forme artistique effilée, je progresse alors vers le bas du visage, en disposant les traits lentement selon la direction des poils. C'est plus facile lorsqu'ils sont plus longs.

Astuce : s'il s'agit d'une barbe de trois jours, on s'en tire souvent avec un motif de remplissage au lieu de dessiner tous les traits.  

Adding texture

Continuez d'ajouter des traits, surtout dans les zones plus denses autour du cou et du menton.

Adding facial hair

6. Comment apporter les retouches finales

Étape 1

Avec la forme effilée, j'apporte quelques retouches finales aux yeux, y compris d'autres lignes sur la peau et aux cils.

Adding eyelashes

Étape 2

À l'aide de l'Outil Forme de Tache (Majuscule-B), tracez des points autour du bout de la langue, ce qui lui donnera de la texture et un subtil ombrage.

Adding texture to the tongue

Quel travail épatant, c'est fini !

J'achève toujours mes portraits avec une paire de grains de beauté. J'ai aussi ajouté une touche de couleur en donnant à Andrew des yeux bleu pâle.

J'espère que vous avez apprécié ce tutoriel et retenu quelques astuces pour améliorer vos propres créations. Si vous avez des questions ou vous voulez exhiber ce que vous avez pondu avec ce tutoriel, n'hésitez pas à le faire dans les commentaires.

The finished portrait
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Portrait
Design

How to Create a Quirky Line Art Portrait in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

I know so many illustrators who practice their craft on their own face. Whilst I've tried in the past to vector myself, I can't stand to stare at my own face for a couple of hours. I started with my own face, vectoring it from a selfie I took at an "extreme" angle (think MySpace emo) but then pulling a face. The whole point was to not look like myself, so that then I would be able to focus on the craft rather than the person. This is where the awkward selfie project came to life.

Awkward Selfies Series

For the past couple of months, I've been vectoring my friends in similar poses. The style I've used is pretty similar to one of my popular tutorials, how to create a dramatic portrait with chunky line art. I thought I'd show you how to use this style with some added processes and help answer some common questions I get for line art projects, such as conveying texture and facial hair.

If you're looking to have your own portrait done, there are many talented portrait artists over on Envato Studio who are able to create quality illustrative portraits, whatever the pose!

Love vector art? Find more amazing Illustrator Brushes on Envato Market.

How to Pick Your Worst Selfie

Thank you to Andrew Blackman for stepping up and volunteering his face for this tutorial. If you'd like to follow along with this tutorial, you can download his photo from this page as the attachment. If not, you can use your own photo.

Using Your Own Photo

If you want to use a selfie of yourself, or of a friend, think ugly. Think awkward. Think challenge. You don't want to use a boring image as you've probably approached a portrait many times from a boring straight-on or profile angle. 

The whole point of this project is to vector an awkward angle, something you don't see every day with portrait illustration. Therefore it is very forgiving with any mistakes you make. So angle that camera high, low, at arm's length or uber close, and take a selfie!

1. How to Set Up Your Document

Step 1

It would be too easy to place your selfie onto your artboard and vector straight from there. However, working out your composition from the start will help you know the direction you're going in and may cut down on your workflow by cutting out vectoring any unnecessary details.

You can do this by creating a frame. I do this by removing a Rectangle (M) from another using Pathfinder > Minus Front.

Create a Frame

Step 2

Then use File > Place and locate your selfie and then position it behind the frame. You can use this to find the right crop and composition of your selfie.

Remember you can resize and rotate your portrait using the Free Transform Tool (E). You can also use the frame to hide parts of the face you want to avoid...

I'm sorry Andrew, I don't like vectoring ears, so I'm only vectoring one of them.

Find your composition

Step 3

I then set up my Layers panel to have a layer for a 50% Opacity white filled rectangle over Andrew's face and a layer to add my line art.

Setting up my layers

2. How to Start Your Line Art

Step 1

Using the Pen Tool (P), I'm going to begin creating shapes to create the line art. I'm not using stroked lines for this part of the portrait. For the large portions of line art, I'm going to create less uniform filled shapes to create a more organic look.

Adding Line Art

Step 2

When creating connecting lines, make sure that they overlap when they connect to adjacent lines. This prevents any gaps appearing.

Overlapping lines

Step 3

I continue to vector in the larger line forms to create the majority of the face and clothing.

Adding the majority of the lines

3. How to Create Line Art for the Eyes

Step 1

For the eye, I create a shape for the eyeball and inner eye as one shape. I then Duplicate it and hide it. Then create a shape which covers the overall shape of the eye, including the lash line.

I remove the smaller shape from the larger shape using Pathfinder > Minus Front. This creates the overall shape of the eye but also gives you a hidden shape which I'll use later on for a clipping mask.

Create the eye shape

Step 2

Now to create the detailing in the iris. To create a line effect, similar to the previous tutorial but more uniform, I'm going to put together a series of triangles lined up on a stroked line. The line is set to Stroke Weight 1 pt. I've put the triangles along the line at equal distances apart. 

Creating a brush

Step 3

I then use this shape to create a New Pattern Brush. Depending on the way you've created these shapes, you may need to go back into this window to alter the settings. In this case, I needed to tick the Flip Across option. Click on OK once you're done.

Create a Pattern Brush

Step 4

Time to create multiple circles. Create the original with the Ellipse Tool (L) and duplicate it. Hide the original as you'll need that later on to add colour to the eyes, should you decide to. Then you'll have a duplicate to add a thick 3 pt Stroke Weight line around the eye. 

One will be for the Eye Detail brush. However, due to how pattern brushes are created (they are centralised on the stroke), you'll need to use the Free Transform Tool (E) to reduce the size of the circle so it aligns with the outside of the largest circle.

Then create circles for the pupil and light reflections.

Eye details

Step 5

Group together the shapes for the iris and pupil (Control-G). Duplicate this group for the other eye.

Then unhide the shape for the eyeball and use it to create a Clipping Mask (Control-7). Repeat this for the other eye.

Both eyes

4. How to Create Hair and Detail With Brushes

Step 1

Finer details in the portrait, including the hair, are going to be created using art brushes. So first I'm going to create two Art Brushes. The first is a squashed circle with tapered ends. 

Tapered Brush

Step 2

The next art brush is created from a triangle.

Triangle Brush

Step 3

The Triangle Brush is used to create the ribbing effect along the collar of Andrew's jumper.

If your portrait is looking too simple, small detailing effects like this can help you create a more polished illustration.

Create the collar

Step 4

Using the Paintbrush Tool (B) and the tapered art brush, I add strokes for the eyebrows. I use the photo underneath to help dictate the direction of the hairs so they look tidy.

Adding the eyebrows

Step 5

With the Triangle Tapered Brush, I add folds and lines inside the collar and shirt to create more texture. 

Inside the collar

Step 6

I create a New Layer underneath my line art and draw a white filled shape along the hair line. This is to hide strokes that I draw underneath that shape to create a clean hair line.

You can see the difference this white shape makes below in cleaning up my lines. As the majority of this portrait will be line art with no further shades, I can keep it as white. If you're going to use multiple colors, you can expand the strokes for the hair and then trim the overlapping area.

Adding the hair

5. How to Create Line Art for Facial Hair

Step 1

As the facial hair falls and adds texture to the line around the jaw line, I'm going to need to alter this to give the impression of facial hair. If I were to draw lines on top of this, it would still show a smooth line underneath and wouldn't look cohesive. 

First I'll split the line in two by using the Knife Tool. I cut the line where the facial hair starts to distort any clean lines of the face. You can see in the image below, this is around the bottom of the ear.

Using the Knife Tool

Step 2

To add texture to this line, I select it and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Roughen. I then create further lines around the chin and nose due to the wonderful pose Andrew is in, to create the same defined yet textured line.

Create a textured line

Step 3

Using the Paintbrush Tool (B) and the tapered brush, I then go on down the face. I build up the strokes slowly, being sure to pay attention to the direction of the facial hair. This is much easier to do when the facial hair is longer.

Tip: if the facial hair is stubble, you can often get away with using a pattern fill rather than drawing each stroke.

Adding texture

Continue adding lines, especially in the more dense areas around the neck and chin. 

Adding facial hair

6. How to Add the Finishing Touches

Step 1

Using the tapered brush, I add some finishing touches to the eyes. This includes further lines to the skin and eyelashes. 

Adding eyelashes

Step 2

To add further texture to the tongue and to add subtle shading, use the Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B) to create dots around the edge of the tongue.

Adding texture to the tongue

Awesome Work, You're Done!

I always finish my portraits off with a couple of moles on the skin. I've also added a splash of color, giving Andrew pale blue eyes.

I hope you've enjoyed this tutorial and picked up some tips to improve your own creations. If you've got any questions or want to show off what you've created using this tutorial, please do so in the comments!

The finished portrait

Adobe Illustrator Brushes from Envato Market

Looking for more great brushes to add to your design arsenal? Then make sure you browse our incredible selection over on Envato Market.

Ink Sketch Lines - 32 Illustrator Brushes

Create awesome line art of your own with this set of 32 Adobe Illustrator brushes. Perfect for giving your illustrations that hand drawn feel, this set includes various sizes and textures. Download this pack today to make the most out of your vector art!

Ink Sketch Lines - 32 Illustrator Brushes
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.